Reviews by xAFBx

88

Great remake of a classic Genesis game.

xAFBx | June 9, 2014 | Review of Castle of Illusion

If you like Disney and platformers, you'll love this game. It's a great platform title (especially since there aren't a whole lot on PC these days) and it's a really, really well done port and remake. It's a bit short, but it's an old Genesis game. Finding collectibles for costumes and unlockables is fun too. Very nostalgic as well if you played the old one.

25

Not for me, at least..

xAFBx | June 9, 2014 | Review of Avencast: Rise of the Mage

It's really not a fun game, in my opinion. the skill trees are boring, combat is weird/bad, the script lame to me, and the controls are really bad. Maybe I expected too much, but it's just not a game for me. I'd recommend watching a lot of walkthroughs or "Let's Play"'s before purchasing. I guess I was expecting a game like Diablo. Just didn't live up to my wishes and I didn't put a lot of time into it due to being bored and frustrated.

90

Amazing port of an amazing game

xAFBx | June 9, 2014 | Review of Jet Set Radio

(play with a controller, keyboard will ruin the experience)

I may be blinded by nostalgia, because Dreamcast was and is one of my favorite consoles and memories. But this is an amazingly fun game. the soundtrack is a 10/10 for sure, crazy songs i never heard before growing up but I always loved them and they really set the atmosphere. The camera will make you really mad at times and be your worst enemy. but this game is so much fun and a great game to just pick up and kill time with. I'd recommend it to anyone for sure.

I give it a 90 based on just, fun. not the story, controls, camera, etc. Just plain fun, don't read too deep into it :)

65

Fun but gets old quick

xAFBx | Nov. 22, 2013 | Review of Brink Complete Pack

Like my title says, it gets old. It's pretty fun because it's different. The RPG elements are pretty nice. Unlocking stuff is fun. There are a lot of weapons and mods, which is nice. You get some cool ones like DOOM guns with this bundle. But nobody plays it anymore so you have to just play with Bots. You can't pause single player which gets annoying since games/matches usually last around 20-30 minutes. It could've been a great game, but, fell short.

If you can grab the complete pack for around $5 or so, I'd recommend it. Especially if you can get a few of your friends to purchase it and play with you. Otherwise, not so much.

100

One of the greatest games and RPGs of all time, for 12 bucks

xAFBx | Nov. 22, 2013 | Review of FINAL FANTASY VII

Really if you don't know anything about FF7 at this point I'd be shocked. But I'll go into it a little. It's amazing. Tons of areas to explore, tons of optional missions and bosses that give you weapons for the final boss fight, an amazing story with really unexpected twists, romance/dating aspect, tons of minigames in a huge full blown casino-type place, really interesting characters and dialog, amazing music, amazing atmosphere, and for the time amazing visuals. You really can't go wrong with FF7. My only gripe is that this version is the one that syncs to Square's servers and it gets annoying when 80% of the time it can't connect and you have to wait for it to sync, which lasts maybe 45-60 seconds, then it says it can't so it was all useless. But it doesn't matter as long as you have your saves locally.

97

Amazing, what the base game should've been.

xAFBx | Nov. 22, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization V: Brave New World (NA)

This is what the base game should've been. Way more features and everything, literally everything, is a lot more in-depth. Trade routes are fun and add a whole new economic system, and combined with the religion aspect can get pretty interesting. The new civs are amazing, Shoshone is probably my favorite since their special unit is awesome but kinda overpowered tbh. I really don't like the new cultural/tourism aspect but it's because I'm just not really used to it yet. This DLC is a must have, though. And if you're like me and usually just do Cultural or Domination victories, this will teach you how to calm yourself down and do a lot more things diplomatically.

90

Amazing strategy game

xAFBx | Nov. 22, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's CivilizationĀ® V

One of my favorite games, super fun once you learn to play it. You really need all the DLC to get the full/real experience though in my opinion since they left out a few things that were in previous Civ games, and didn't add them til later with DLC's. I'd highly recommend the game, though, and really recommend going on youtube and watching some "Let's Play"s of the game so you can learn how to not rage at it. The late-game gets a little annoying, though, since it takes forever for the AI to take their turns and you have to spend a lot of time on your own turns. Still a great game and if you run it in windowed-borderless, you can just tab-out and go do other things while it's taking it's turn like I do

85

Very fun character

xAFBx | July 11, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2: Mechromancer Pack

The Mechromancer is a fun character to play. It might be a bit easier, having a big robot going around killing stuff for you, but it's really fun. She's a bit overpowered but, not too bad. Too bad they patched when deathtrap (your robot) would refill enemies' shields. That was hilarious everytime it happened.

Should've been included in the Season Pass though. Really irritating it wasn't

I'd recommend this over the Psycho DLC most likely

95

NOSTALGIA!

xAFBx | July 11, 2013 | Review of Doom 3 BFG Edition Pre

It's DOOM. it's really fun, gory, kinda scary at times, and a classic. This comes with all the DOOM games and expansions so it was definitely worth it. Works surprisingly well with a controller too, for when you're lazy and want to lie in bed in the dark slaying demons.

Definitely would recommend this.

I'd recommend playing it in the dark with headphones, late at night. It's the best experience (if you like getting creeped out)

75

It's a love-hate kinda thing.

xAFBx | July 11, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Absolution

First off, I love the Hitman series. But this one is a little different. They've made it easier first of all, but also the depth of field is kind of irritating. No matter how high you set it, it just doesn't seem as far enough as it should be. They've also changed it to feel more...mainstream, for lack of a better term. They've made it easier to approach for newbies to the series and for those of us that have played/cherished the other Hitman games, it seems to lack. It forces you to keep going, when in the old ones you could explore a bit and learn people's routes. They've also added this system where you use your "instincts" to see through walls, see where people are walking, etc. You don't have to use it but it does kinda break the whole immersion of being a hitman. I did love playing it, though. The main thing I miss the most is being able to customize your guns and loadout before the missions. That was really fun and I really felt like that not being here was a huge mistake. The story is pretty good and it brought back memories of me coming home from school and playing the first couple Hitman games in my room with friends. Thinking it was hilarious to sneak up and murder someone for money. Ahh, memories.

Overall though, I'd recommend it if you think you'd like this sort of game and if it's on sale. I, unfortunately, paid full price and pre-ordered it though.

85

Different from the other SE games, but good

xAFBx | July 11, 2013 | Review of Sniper Elite: Nazi Zombie Army

I picked this up when it was on sale for about 5 bucks because a friend of mine has it and wanted to play co-op together. I'm pleased to say it exceeded my expecations. Some of the enemies (like the skeletons) are kinda...out there, and irritating, but it's a zombie game so I guess it can't be TOO serious. It's fun though, and always a good time when the kill cam animations occur when you snipe one from 200 yards away. Overall I'd recommend it, especially if you have someone to play online with.

70

Good co-op but could've been better

xAFBx | July 11, 2013 | Review of Dead Island: Game of the Year

The trailers for this game got me super excited, but ultimately was let down. It's a decent game if you have someone to play co-op with. But other than that, it's just so-so. Also, you should probably use it with a controller. It's much better, as it was obviously built around the consoles. Overall, though, it's pretty decent. The RPG elements adds a lot to it. It'd be better, for me anyways, if you didn't have to repair your weapons after 4-6 hits. It gets real old real quick.

85

A great add-on for Civ V players

xAFBx | July 11, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization V: Gods & Kings

Adds a lot to the game, new mechanics and civs, wonders, ways to win the game and more. I'd definitely recommend this. Maybe not for full price, though. And it was a bit different at first, since I spent a good 200 hrs in the original Civ V game. but it was well worth it after getting used to it

90

a must for owners of BL2

xAFBx | July 11, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 Season Pass (NA)

If you own Borderlands 2, you obviously need this! The DLC's are fun and add new guns, areas, stories, currency, bosses, etc. They're funny, too, which adds to the value.