Reviews by xboxer

76

Not bad!

xboxer | Aug. 29, 2012 | Review of World of Goo

Well, this game is cheap right now. It's one of those puzzle games you get into to waste your time.

It requires a fair amount of creativity and wit to link the bubbles together.

I think it's more suited on one of those tablets or mobile phones.

75

Not as bad as what the reviews say but not too good either.

xboxer | Aug. 29, 2012 | Review of Sniper: Ghost Warrior PRE

I'm neutral towards this game.

The sniping aspect is fun enough. But the AI is ridiculously smart and they seem to have supersonic eyes. Even when you are a fair distance away in the bush they can still spot you.

But the sniping part is pretty amazing. Except, being a good shooter isn't what makes a sniper. The stealth element plays a crucial role too and that is what makes this game a little unbalanced.

Graphics are quite good though. The story is nothing to shout about.

Overall, I had a good time being a sniper in this game but I just wish the AI can be a little more balanced.

59

Great story but just a typical shooter.

xboxer | Aug. 29, 2012 | Review of Homefront

Homefront tells the rather far fetched story of Noth Korea successfully invading the US and you end up as a member of the resistance. For once the Americans are the underdogs.

The gameplay is challenging enough but relatively straight forward. You get from A to B and kill everything in between. It's a been there done that formula.

The lousy thing is how short the campaign was and there is little replay value. The MP is touted to be as good as MW and BF games but I didn't try that.

Graphics are acceptable for today's standard but nothing to shout about.

79

One of my favourite indie game.

xboxer | Aug. 28, 2012 | Review of Beat Hazard

I got this almost 2 years back and I must say it's a really enjoyable indie shooter.

It makes your music interesting and it's really rewarding to shoot spaceships to the beat of your music. The tempo of the game depends on the tempo of your music.

There is enough challenge and enemies to keep you entertained for a long time. This is a hard game. It requires intense focus and extremely nimble fingers. Enemies will come at you from all corners and many times you will find yourself swarmed by enemies but that is what makes this fun.

85

Good basher/shooter/action game.

xboxer | Aug. 28, 2012 | Review of Warhammer 40000: Space Marine (THQ)

This game captures the feel of the Warhammer universe very well and this time it's unique in the sense that you are on the ground instead of viewing it from above from an RTS perspective.

The story is pretty straightforward Warhammer stuffs. Kill the Orks and save your universe.

It's the action that makes this game stands out. There is never a dull moment and you never run out of Orks. The weapons and combos are more than enough to keep you wanting to kill more Orks.

The online play is fantastic if you can find the right people to play with and the online play is what you should be looking at. It's really fantastic.

95

Awesome basher! Really feels like a Batman game.

xboxer | Aug. 28, 2012 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum

Batman AA is awesome. It's a must buy for any Batman or basher fan.

The action and gameplay is tight. The atmosphere captures the Batman universe very well.

The inclusion of stealth really adds to the game otherwise it will end up being another mindless basher. There are enough variety of enemies to make this interesting enough.

It's hard to put down once you start.

86

Good game but works best with a 360 controller.

xboxer | Aug. 28, 2012 | Review of Renegade Ops

One of the best top down shooter I've played. Great story and great gameplay.

You play as someone who's saving the world from a mad man and your tool is a vehicle with special abilities.

You're given several characters to choose from and each one has their own unique ability and there is even a skill tree that really makes a difference in the game.

The game takes you to various locations from the jungle to inside an industrial building to a snowy location. Most of the time you will be rushing from A to B taking out many enemies along the way and while the clock is ticking there are other side missions you can undertake for extra points. This adds alot to the challenge.

The gameplay is extremely unforgiving and it certainly requires alot of skills. It's best done with a friend.

The sad thing is this game works best with a 360 controller. Keyboard and mouse just won't cut it.

65

It's a unique game and one of it's kind.

xboxer | Aug. 28, 2012 | Review of L.A. Noire Capsule

LA Noire is special. Nothing like it has ever been done before.

It is an open world game. But instead of action packed missions, you get to play detective which means you don't do alot of run and gun.

Instead you are made to observe suspects facial expressions and judge for yourself if they are lying or not and whether you can squeeze more information out of them.

It's interesting enough but it gets repetitive and most of the time you end up playing a guessing game.

It's kind of boring to me.

91

A very good action RTS game.

xboxer | Aug. 28, 2012 | Review of Warhammer 40000: Dawn of War II: Retribution THQ

Retribution is a huge improvement over its two predecessors.

The story is much better and the various factions in the game means you can experience the campaign using different factions which adds variety. This time Relic improved the story and the missions get a little more variety than the earlier two.

The action is also more intense this time.

The MP is satisfying enough.

61

Not as bad as what the review says. It's a generic and OK FPS.

xboxer | Aug. 28, 2012 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever

It's an average FPS game. Nothing fantastic. It's a been there done that formula with a Duke Nukem theme.

The story is about some muscle guy saving the planet from aliens.

You get from point A to B shooting everything along the way and listening to some lame humorous crap from Duke.

Basically, if you go into this game without expecting too much and accepting the fact that it's a brainless shooter you won't be too disappointed.

70

Nothing spectacular but not too bad.

xboxer | Aug. 28, 2012 | Review of RAGE: Special Edition (International)

RAGE has a pretty normal wasteland story. World got destroyed, only a few humans left, mutants everywhere, lawless society emerges from the shadow. It's pretty generic and nothing to excite you too much. And it's not really an open world game. There isn't much places in the game you can go to. And even if you did there isn't anything much there.

The gameplay is pretty tight but the missions are almost all the same. Go to A to get mission then go to B to retrieve something then return to A for reward. Rinse and repeat. The enemies are highly challenging though. And the low ammo in the game and the various kinds of ammo for different situations and enemies make this a challenging shooter.

There were some graphical glitches in the game as well although I'm not sure if the developers have fixed this yet. I haven't touched this game in awhile.

I will only recommend you getting this during a sale.

88

An awesome open world game!

xboxer | Aug. 28, 2012 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Limited Edition

One of the best game I've played in 2012.

The graphics are amazing and you don't even need a high end PC to run this. The story constantly keeps you on the edge of your seat. It's like being in a triad movie except you control your character instead of watching a movie. It's not like the pop culture kind of atmosphere you see in other open world games like SR3 or GTA but this one is dark and very real and you get a true sense of what it's like being in a triad and being a bad guy.

The missions in this game are some of the best open world missions I've seen and I've played many of them. It ties the story together nicely and there is a nice variety to it instead of the usual car chases, assassinations missions so common in other open world games.

The side missions keep you entertained but this area clearly loses to games like SR3. There isn't much side missions in Sleeping Dogs. It's just enough to get by.

Overall this is a must buy if you like open world games.

90

The best co-op I've ever played.

xboxer | Aug. 10, 2012 | Review of Killing Floor

Nothing even comes close to this game aside from L4D2 in the co-op genre and I have almost all great co-op games on my Steam account already.

The classes make this game unique in that everyone has a role to play and your team needs to have a set of various classes to survive to the end.

The leveling up makes you come back for more. The map list is huge and you never get bored easily.

96

This game is epic.

xboxer | Aug. 10, 2012 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (NA)

Skyrim is one of the most immersive open world games I've played. The amount of weapons, upgrades, items are just mind boggling.

The quests are varied and plentiful so you never run out of things to do and you never get bored.

The only downsides I will say is that it can be quite confusing to beginners and people not too familiar with Elder Scrolls or RPG and it is almost like a more complex and medieval version of Fallout.

Highly recommended.

79

A good hack and slash but kind of short....

xboxer | Aug. 10, 2012 | Review of Bastion Cap

Very very good hack and slash. Graphics are good enough.

Gameplay involves very satisfying hack and slash and it does have some interesting and varied upgrades and weapons for your character.

Reminds me of those hack and slash games I've played on old consoles like Gameboy.

100

Best RTS I've ever played.

xboxer | Aug. 10, 2012 | Review of Company of Heroes THQ

The best RTS I have ever played. In campaign, the story captures the mood and events in WW2's ETO quite while.

The tactical aspect is ahead of it's time and nothing else has ever come close to COH.

MP has many modes to keep you entertained for a long time and there is no lack of players.

100

This is my GOTY of 2011.

xboxer | Aug. 10, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third dns

One of the best open world games I've played. The levelling up system is a nice change from other franchises like GTA.

Missions and gameplay are rock solid. The side missions will make you want to keep playing it. Story is amazing. I would say this sets a high benchmark for future open world games.

Co op is awesome. You can always hook up with a friend and go stir up some trouble or do some missions.

76

Awesome zombie basher!

xboxer | Aug. 10, 2012 | Review of Dead Island

This is a good zombie survivor game. I think everyone should get it. The story, atmosphere will keep you hooked. Combat is satisfying. Instead of guns in most zombie games, this game is focused on melee combat. There is plenty of looting to be done and plenty of weapons you can find and create.

Two things to take note of though. It's not as open world as it's hyped to be. Most of the time you will want to get from A to B asap in order not to get swarmed and killed by wondering around. GTA and Saints Row this is not.. The second thing to note is that this game only has a few zombie types that you can get bored with after awhile.

But overall, this is certainly a great game. You can even play co op with a friend or some stranger.

80

Hard as hell!

xboxer | Nov. 15, 2011 | Review of Super Meat Boy

You've got to have extreme patience to play SMB.

First of all SMB is a huge nod to classic side scrollers like Super Mario Bros. Even the name's initials is a spoof of Mario.

But this is a darker, more sinister version of Mario and it is hard as hell.

There are many levels in this game and almost all of them require multiple play throughs to get through because you have to be really really precise in your moves and a graded timing to meet.

Overall, I will only recommend this if you are a really patient person. Or someone in need of extreme gaming challenge.

70

Not too bad but not exceptional as well.

xboxer | Nov. 15, 2011 | Review of Mafia II dns

The story and atmosphere of Mafia II is excellent. It really captures the 1940s and 1950s post-war years really well. The music changes according to which era you are currently at to add to the atmosphere.

Gameplay is pretty bland. It all comes down to go here and kill someone or shoot your way out most of the time. It lacks the variety that their competitors like GTA have. But overall, a fun but mindless sandbox game overshadowed by larger games its supposed to compete against.

But still, it is great in atmosphere and story and this is Mafia II largest selling point.

70

Fun but brainless shooter.

xboxer | Nov. 11, 2011 | Review of Killing Floor

Killing Floor is a zombie game. A zombie survival game.

I've had 20 hours in this game and the only thing I've done is surviving multiple hordes of zombies with variable difficulty.

There are several character classes you can choose from with a levelling up system to make it more powerful and obtain weapons at cheaper prices.

This isn't a bad game. But neither is it overly interesting like some other games in this genre.

But it is a really fun and mindless shooter where you can just go in and blast away at zombies for a round or two with your friends.

By the way, the zombies in KF are called Specimens.

95

One of the best FPS/RPS I've ever played.

xboxer | Nov. 11, 2011 | Review of Borderlands Game of the Year Edition dns

Indeed, Borderlands is one of the best video games I've played.

This game is so fun I've beaten it 3 times already.

Gameplay is tight. Mission elements and variety are as good as it can get. I've rarely seen a game which provide such interesting missions in any game. The number of weapons in this game is just mind boggling. There is a weapon for any kind of gameplay.

You'll also get to choose between various character classes with it's own unique skill tree. Bordelands demand various playthroughs with different characters.

The GOTY edition easily offers 30 hours of gameplay if you choose to do all the missions.

90

Very fun zombie killer.

xboxer | Nov. 11, 2011 | Review of Dead Island

Dead Island is a highly unique zombie killing, survival game. Instead of surviving hordes of zombies like most games of this genre, Dead Island is mission based and has a tinge of RPG elements through skill upgrade trees.

The gameplay is extremely fun and challenging and you get to customize your weapons. There is rarely a dull moment in this game. There are a good amount of zombies everywhere and you always have to choose whether you want to fight or run. If you fight, your weapon degrades and requires repairs and you will face the risk of dying which penalizes you by deducting your money. But if you fight, you may get more and better loot and also earn XP to upgrade your weapon.

Graphics are as true to a jungle setting as possible for modern video game technology. The missions are never boring. Even the side quests are interesting. This game took me around 40 hours to beat the missions and most of the side quests.

The bad: Limited type of zombies and you don't really need a partner to complete the game. I completed the entire game alone.

85

Awesome game.

xboxer | Nov. 11, 2011 | Review of Bastion Cap

Bastion is a huge nod towards classic top down slashers like Diablo and Zelda.

The gameplay will definitely keep you entertained from beginning to end. You'll get a rather large variety of upgradeable weapons at your disposal. The enemies are varied and the boss fights are challenging. The missions are generally the same, getting to the end to get some crystals but it's still very entertaining because the levels are so varied.

The art work in this game is one of the best I've seen and the music and narration is also top notch.

The weapon challenges are some of the best challenges I've seen in any game so far.

Bastion is highly recommended.

The bad thing: The story is over in like 8 hours max.

82

Amazing open world game.

xboxer | July 27, 2011 | Review of Just Cause 2

AWESOME open world game. Fantastic graphics and solid gameplay elements. Very lengthy campaign too. I've spent so many hours on it and I'm only half way through. Missons are varied and interesting. You'll always find something to do in this game.

THE BAD:

1) This game reeks console all over it. The mouse movements are so cranky somethings it is a bitch to play. It's too insensitive but despite that you can hardly make small and precise movements with it.

2) The non-mission stuffs can get very repititive.

3) Needs a good PC to see it in all it's glory.

Overall, it is still a great game despite these minor nuances.

TIP: Learn to fly a helicopter asap. It will save you lots of pain and give you tons of fun.