Reviews by xydanus

70

Lara Croft

xydanus | Jan. 26, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider: Anniversary DNS

Tomb Raider Anniversary is good adventure game. Maybe modern look has done bad things to Tomb Raider series, but Anniversary is probably best Tomb Raider game in the 2000's. Still I think it lack's that adventure feeling that I used to have when I played first Tomb Raider games. Anniversary is that kind of game that you return to play when you have nothing else to do.

If you think of buying Tomb Raider Anniversary, get gamepad. Keyboard/mouse combo is no fun to play with.

75

Just Cause 2

xydanus | Jan. 26, 2013 | Review of Just Cause 2

Like in GTA series, in Just Cause player has freedom to move around open world and explore it's secrets. Just Cause 2 has a huge amount of places to explore. Even more than in any GTA. Player can destroy buildings, invade army bases, fly, explore, destroy oil platforms and cause chaos. Main character has nice hook weapon which makes moving, climbing and jumping more fun. Storyline is not much, in the fact when I played Just Cause 2, I did not care it much since this game is more like sandbox. There are also factions that player can help to claim territory.

I recommend Just Cause 2 to those players that want to destroy things and cause chaos.

75

turn-based RPG

xydanus | Jan. 25, 2013 | Review of Disciples III: Resurrection Capsule

Disciples III: Resurrection is turn-based RPG like Heroes Of Might And Magic series. My opinion is that Disciples III is better game than new Heroes games but still far from perfect.

Atmosphere dark as I like it to be in medieval-fantasy games. Graphics look good and gameplay is, well not unique but still at least good as in Heroes games. In Resurrection you play as a Evil horde, and game is even darker than original Renaissance. I did not play much attention to the plot because I concentrated on testing new units until I got bored. Maybe they should have made story telling more interesting way.

70

Soon to be F2P

xydanus | Jan. 25, 2013 | Review of TERA (EU)

I do play some mmo games like SWTOR, EVE and LOTRO. When I heard Tera is going to be F2P I downloaded trial version and started playing it for few weeks. Graphics are simply awesome. It is kinda big jump from LOTRO to play Tera since everything looks much better. Combat is something that I have not seen in mmo before since it is action based. Evade system makes gaming different. Different classes offer different gameplay tactics since there are some major differences.

But I can see why Tera went F2P. After few hours doing same grinding quests it just gets boring, no matter if there were fantastic combat system. World is too restricted so player cannot choose route for example through forest or over the mountains, but to just follow the road.

83

Solid RPG

xydanus | Jan. 25, 2013 | Review of The Lord of the Rings: War in the North

War in the North is one of the best Action-RPG games out there. Lord of the Rings universe is always interesting and War of the North takes well advantage of it by using characters that are not yet introduced well in any other game and using interesting locations. Action driven combat is fun especially with friends.

Technically War in the North is working well. I or my friends never had issues or glitches with this game.

85

Good game

xydanus | Jan. 24, 2013 | Review of Blades of Time

Blades of Time is interesting game. Simple gameplay with nice little elements that makes this game better than many other games in this genre. Player can travel back in time to make clones from character. This allows player to think different tactics. Combat is simple, but game was sometimes bit difficult and that is good thing. Graphics are beautiful and so is level design.

One thing I still miss is real cooperative mode. There is Coop, but it is only tower defence-like.

I strongly recommend Blades of Time. It is really entertaining game.

70

Tennis

xydanus | Jan. 21, 2013 | Review of Virtua Tennis 4

Tennis games are not usually what i'm looking for, but i must admit that Virtua Tennis 4 is good game. Of course Tennis games are hard to make too addictive, because the nature of the sport. There could be more micro managing things and minigames, but Virtua Tennis 4 is pretty much just tennis game. Is fun to play sometimes but not for hours. Controller is must for this game.

80

Magicka

xydanus | Jan. 21, 2013 | Review of Magicka

Magicka is action game with RPG elements, comedy and coop. Magicka makes jokes about different subjects. Magicka has many DLC packs that expand gaming experience, so i recommend to buy collection.

Gameplay is very different from other games: player combines different magic skills with his/her own skills or other players skills and then happens something fancy. It sound funny and that it is. Graphics are colorful and full of effects. This also makes game quite heavy to run.

One of the must-have coop games surely.

45

Where is the real Gothic 4?

xydanus | Jan. 21, 2013 | Review of ArcaniA DNS

I did expect Arcania to be fantastic game, when i first saw few trailers. Then the game was released and given bad reviews. Well... I gave it a try and noticed those reviews were right.

You are in island and of course want to marry some girl. So you must do few quests to get her fathers approval. This is kinda tutorial island.

First I notice that Arcania is heavy. I needed to upgrade my GPU (HD3870x2) before it was playable. Even when I did lower settings, game did not run any better. Graphics did look good in some way (rain is pretty) but still it is nothing like in Two Worlds II. Character voice overs are terrible and animations are not better than in Gothic 3. Combat is clumsy but it could be worse. World is open as it was in Gothic games, but still I did not get same feeling.

I would play many other game over this. Morrowind, Oblivion, Skyrim, Risen 1&2, Gothic 3 (not Forgotten Gods), Two Worlds II and Witcher 1&2. They all are better games than this.

77

beat 'em up

xydanus | Jan. 21, 2013 | Review of Devil May Cry 4 dns

Devil May Cry 4 is typical beat 'em up console game. This time game presents new hero called Nero. Nero looks like typical JRPG character, who has demonic arm. DMC4 does not forget about Dante, who follows things from distance.

DMC4 combat feels somehow smoother than in DMC3 and is full of action. Graphics are good and story... well it is bit cornish. Enemies are repetitive but maybe it if curse of this genre where you grind them.

PC version is very good. Requirements are low and keyboard-mouse combo works well. Gamepad is not needed.

70

Evil Kid

xydanus | Jan. 18, 2013 | Review of Lucius Cap

Lucius is mean evil kid that reminds me of movie called "The Omen". He is also main character of the game.

Lucius has "superpowers", which will help him in his quest to kill people in many creative ways. Unfortunately player has no option to choose which way to kill. This is sad, because game gets boring after few hours as it repeats itself. If every kill suppose to be a puzzle, it is very easy to figure out. Game sets in a mansion but it has various places like garage, cellar and garden in it.

Gameplay is adventure like. Lucius sneaks int he shadows of the mansion and sometimes does good deeds for his mother so no one suspects anything. Lucius can touch different objects with or without "superpowers".

There is not much player can do in this game, but if you think it sounds interesting and you like just play without adrenaline in your veins, Lucius may be for you.

85

Max Payne 3

xydanus | Jan. 18, 2013 | Review of Max Payne 3 DNS

Max Payne 3 is welcomed addition to the Max Payne series. Third game honors previous games, even though it is not made by Remedy.

Story goes like this: Max is an old drunk. He leaves from his apartment only to bar where he meets a friend that wants to help Max to get back to live his life by offering a job as a security person.

Max Payne 3 still has bullet time events, but it adds few new tricks to it. Graphics are excellent and accurate. Max can carry only few weapons and those weapons are not in Max's pocket, meaning that player can see weapons Max is carrying. Game has some weird glitches, like when Max gets stuck behind cover. Also random bullet time jumping may end in same result.

I recommend Max Payne 3 for those how like great story telling and have already played previous Max Payne games.

82

Survival

xydanus | Jan. 17, 2013 | Review of Killing Floor

Killing Floor is horror survival game that has many well designed levels. Basically Killing Floor is meant to be cooperative survival, so it needs at least 2 players to be any fun. Coop is up to six players, so some maps may be difficult to pass with fewer friends unless you drop down the difficulty. After few levels game gets bit repeatable since the only catch is to survive. Also all weapons may have been tested in those levels.

Nevertheless Killing Floor is fun game to play. Endless waves of zombies and zombie like creatures are always interesting enemy to be slayed.

Graphics are dark and atmospheric and level design is awesome. Especially Santa's Evil Lair was creepy map. There are much more maps to be downloaded from different sources.

50

Sanctum

xydanus | Jan. 16, 2013 | Review of Sanctum

Sanctum is old fashion tower defence from different perspective. FPS adds more action to original concept that tower defence games usually have.

Firstly you build your defences, like turrets and walls, and then comes the horde that you try to stop. Player has his/hers own weapons so that game does not get boring. Cooperative mode is best thing that this game has to offer. If you play this alone, you will be missing big part of the game.

Graphics are somehow bad or cheap looking. And then there are terrible animations in both weapons and mobs. On the other hand, sounds are actually good and dude moves smoothly.

I recommend Sanctum only if you have already played Orcs Must Die 2 and still want more things to defend with your buddies.

75

Dragon Age 2

xydanus | Jan. 16, 2013 | Review of Dragon Age 2

Dragon Age 2 is like a dumb version of Dragon Age Origins. Bioware took away tactical gameplay and put more casual friendly combat system to its place. Combat is not bad at all, but since i was big fan of the first game, second one does not feel like a real Dragon Age.

Game design is the most idiotic that I have ever seen. They really re-used same areas constantly and did not even try to hide it by putting different objects here and there. And you will notice that way too often.

But Dragon Age 2 is a good game. Story is interesting and there are new companions that have a story to tell. New gameplay is smooth and more action than it was before. Some may like it more.

I suggest to buy Dragon Age Origins, but if you already played that, this one is worth of its price.

65

Short

xydanus | Jan. 16, 2013 | Review of Anna

Anna is indie horror game from Italy. First I must warn everyone that this game is VERY short. I player it through in about 3 hours.

Even when it is short, those moment what i spent in Anna, where pure gold. Atmosphere was really creepy and game has few very surprising moments that are required from a good horror game. I did like the horror events that happened in game.

Gameplay is all about solving riddles and puzzles. Those are sometimes hard, but not frustrating. Game does not have many areas, so it is easy to find things that you need and then trying to solve a riddle.

If you are horror fan like me, i do recommend you to buy this game.

55

COOP was the only reason

xydanus | Jan. 16, 2013 | Review of The First Templar DNS

I gave this game a chance, because i do like COOP games and games that are set in medieval times. First thing you notice, is that First Templar is low budget game. Animations are pretty bad and combat is clumsy as it is boring. Atmosphere is kinda medieval but the world seems somehow empty or soulless.

Since this is not a fantasy game, enemies are humans with swords and bows. AI is also pretty dumb. Player may sneak past enemies easily.

So, First Templar is also cooperative game. Other player may join your quest to find the Holy Grail. However it may be hard to find someone that wants to play this game.

95

Massive RTS

xydanus | Jan. 16, 2013 | Review of Supreme Commander

Supreme Commander is the best RTS game that I have played. Battlefields are massive and so is the unit count. AI works pretty well in land maps, but when map contains islands, AI makes land units that cannot get off the islands they are on. Also when playing with multiple factions over the network, game gets too heavy, so that no matter how powerful your computer is, game runs in slowmo. Of course you can limit unit count so that game runs smoothly, but this tells you that you can push the game to its limit, if you want. This is what PC game is.

Community has made many great mods that improves gaming experience in many aspects. Mods can add new units, new maps, balance gameplay, improve graphics etc.

One of the best thing in Supreme Commander is dual monitor- support. It allows player to use multiple cameras, so that he/she always knows what is going on.

80

Space and Horror

xydanus | Jan. 16, 2013 | Review of Dead Space 2

Dead Space reminds me about few good Science Fiction films like Event Horizon and Pandorum. It was interesting to find out what horrors are on board this time.

There are only few good Scifi-horror games and Dead Space 2 is certainly one of those. Combat still feels a bit clumsy and movement is slow and heavy, but these are elements that seems to be a part of good horror game. That is when I think about Resident Evil and Silent Hill series.

Again, game is brutal. Isaac cuts every enemy in pieces, and they are still moving. This game certainly does not lack gore.

75

Risen

xydanus | Jan. 15, 2013 | Review of Risen (Capsule)

Risen is an RPG game made by Piranha Bytes, makers of Gothic series.

I like good RPG games where you can wander and discover places. So I did end up playing Risen. Gameplay is bit better than in Gothic 3 and does not bother you while you are playing. Some gamers tell that combat in Gothic 3 was so terrible, that they could not play it. I did not find it bad at all, so there is posibility that you don't like this one any better.

Graphics are good for an old game and surely not reason not to play this. However animations are little bit rough.

For those gamers that are looking for new RPG series, Risen is the one you want to give a try.

75

Crysis

xydanus | Jan. 15, 2013 | Review of Crysis

Even after few years, Crysis has graphics that will stun people. Physics engine is even more impressive when you can chop trees in peaces with your AK. One day I tried to pile up barrels with map editor and then blow them up. That was heavy.

Some people say that Crysis is more like technology demo than an actual game. It may be true that story is not the very strong point in this game, but its really not the worst one that i've seen.

As a game, Crysis is decent. Gameplay is ok, story is acceptable but what you end up doing is destroying and throwing stuff because it is fun.

75

Battlefield 3

xydanus | Jan. 15, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 3: Premium Edition

Battlefield 3 is another FPS multiplayer. Sometimes I think why this kind of games are so popular. Maybe it is because these games are easy to play for many reasons. You can just select game from the list, choose weapon and just start to kill people. And so that it is not so pointless, Battlelog keeps logs from every game you play and every dude you kill. You even can have their dogtags. And then there is archievement hunting. Matches are short and it is easy to drop out and pop in whenever you want. There is always someone to be killed.

Game looks pretty good and physics are fancy. You can even destroy woods and buildings. Thats cool.

85

Sacred

xydanus | Jan. 15, 2013 | Review of Sacred 2: Gold Edition DNS

Sacred 2 is open world hack'n slash game. It has beautiful graphics, but it also requires much from computer.

Playing Sacred 2 with friends is most fun. Together beating badass bosses, questing, discovering secrets, exploring the world of sacred. All this with fantastic soundtrack, featuring one of the greatest Power Metal bands: Blind Guardian.

Ah...yes there are also funny stuff written in the grave stones.

77

Great singleplayer and COOP experience

xydanus | Jan. 15, 2013 | Review of Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction

Conviction is one of those games that makes me wish there were more games with cooperative campaign. Sometimes cooperative play is not so sneaky as it should be in Splinter Cell but it is very entertaining. Coop campaign is different than singleplayer campaign, but they are both well made.

Gameplay is more action based than it was in previous Splinter Cell games. Still there are some maps that must be played using stealthy tactics.

In my opinion, Splinter Cell Conviction is worth of trying, especially for those gamers who loves good stories.

100

Fantastic

xydanus | Jan. 14, 2013 | Review of Dragon Age: Origins – Ultimate Edition

Dragon age is one of the best single player RPG games ever made. Gameplay is pure gold: Tactical thinking with strategic gameplay elements.

I have played this game three times for just because it has so much content, different choises in bioware style, different characters and damn good DLC packs. There is at least 60 hours of gameplay for those that are interested to know more about characters and places around the fantasy world.

Dragon Age's world is full of fantasy creatures like orcs, elfs, humans, mages and dwarves. Player is part of group which starts campaing against evil forces, called blight. Story guides our hero to gather everyone that are willing to help him/her in this quest.

I do recommend Dragon Age for everyone. It has so much content...

65

Duke

xydanus | Jan. 14, 2013 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever

Development process of Duke Nukem Forever was not pretty, but it finally came out.

Duke is still same man he was in first Duke Nukem game, but maybe his time is over. Single player FPS genre has not shown much new stuff for a long time. Duke is not anything you have not seen before. Game offers bad humor and maybe 6-8 hours of gameplay. Gameplay is one of the rare pluses in this one.

55

not the best RPG

xydanus | Jan. 14, 2013 | Review of Two Worlds: Game of the Year

Two Worlds is not bad RPG game, but it has many flaws. Some of those came from bad gameplay balance. Last thing I did in this game was creating immortality potion. It was not really everlasting, but i think i'm not playing this game for next 100 years. That was the time what my personally crafted immortality potion lasted. Other thing that made me see red was horses animation. Not really that beautiful.

Anyway it was decent RPG few years back when there was not many options for this kind of open world games. However Two Worlds 2 is very different game and anyone should not judge it after this one.

75

Interesting gaming experience

xydanus | Jan. 14, 2013 | Review of ARMA II: Combined Operations

ARMA II is interesting in many ways. It is hard to take this game seriously, especially when it is full of different bugs. Not all the bugs are bad thing and game is great fun. Also game has maybe the most active modding community for a simulator game.

Game has many different multiplayer modes, including COOP. The most funniest thing, I spent in this game, was when i respawned as a crow.

It does offer something for those who are looking for war simulator. Maps are large and you feel kinda like in a battlefield.

100

Cruel world

xydanus | Jan. 14, 2013 | Review of The Witcher II: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition

The Witcher 2 is cruel game. And it is the very best thing of it. Finally videogame for adults. The Wither contains violence, blood, cruelty, brutality and sex. Of course player is the one that chooses what really happens in the game. My point is that player really can do what he/she really chooses. Story is the main reason to why I enjoy this game.

Gameplay is very different from the first Witcher and that is a good thing. Gameplay feels more freely and advanced than before. Also camera is way better.

80

Side-scrolling platformer from Finland

xydanus | Jan. 14, 2013 | Review of Trine

Trine is cooperative puzzle-solving platformer with stunning graphics. Honestly i have not seen any other game in this genre that looks this good. World seems to be alive behind the main characters. Trine tells a story of how three main characters met each other.

So Trine has three main characters: Thief, wizard and knight. Every character has different ability, so player needs to think, what char would be needed to solve a puzzle ahead. Even better then there are at least two players solving these puzzles.

86

Crazy world

xydanus | Jan. 14, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 DNS

Borderlands was one of the best cooperative games ever made. I dare to say that Borderlands 2 is at least twice the game.

Borderlands had everything that coop fan can hope for: open world, 4 player coop, randomized item stats (for every weapon, shield and other stuff), RPGFPS gameplay, interesting characters and beautiful graphics. Borderlands 2 has these things too, but like every sequel should do, it improves without changing the core of the game. World of Borderlands feels like it has came more alive.

80

Borderlands brings something new to the FPSRPG-genre.

xydanus | Jan. 14, 2013 | Review of Borderlands

Cartoonish graphics, randomized weapon stats, crazy characters, open world with Cooperative gameplay. All this is as awesome as it sounds. Game contains many hours of intensive gameplay and if it is not enough, different character classes will each provide unique gaming experience.

Even though i'm not a fan of cartoonish styles, Borderlands looks beautiful and atmospheric, so it is easy to throw yourself in this wasteland.

And one last thing: If you are looking for COOP, then this is definitely worth of every penny.

80

HC space

xydanus | Dec. 13, 2012 | Review of EVE Online - 14 Day Free Trial

I liked X-universe games (X3 Reunion, TC) so it motivated me to try EVE Online. EVE has player-drive economy system, which is difficult for new players. Game is few years old and has solid a player base, so new players are way behind. Because of that new players must have a lots of time to study how the game works. Once you get away from start sectors, you will get killed multiple times by older players. If you get into mechanics, then this surely is fantastic game.

81

Metro 2033

xydanus | Dec. 13, 2012 | Review of Metro 2033

Metro 2033 is STALKER-like post-apocalyptic game, minus the open world. First thing that gets my attention is FOV. I do not know why they woud set it 45 by default. Anyway you can change that without having a great issues within game. Game is GPU hungry as it is full of blur effects etc.

Game sets in Russia where dark creatures are lurking behind every corner. Player is sent to metro tunnels, where bandits and creatures dwell. Athmosphere is very creepy especially when you hear voices in those dark tunnels realising that you are out of ammo.

Overall, very good horror/FPS shooter.

65

Earth 2160

xydanus | Dec. 13, 2012 | Review of Earth 2160 Capsule

Earth 2160 is a solid RTS game, where you gather resources and build units. Unit design is interesting and game has nice scifi-feeling. I personally would have wanted more different kind of units. Earth 2160 is nothing you haven't seen before, but it's nice to have options once you have played C&C and Starcraft games enough.

82

the best FEAR

xydanus | Dec. 13, 2012 | Review of F.E.A.R -

Horror and FPS is a difficult combination, but FEAR does it right. Game is not scary, but it's dark and Alma may surprise you sometimes. Shooting is fun and weapons are interesting. In the fact gameplay is quite smooth. Key for successful horror is to have a dark, cruel world with gore(as long as it does not go too far), and FEAR has some of that. Also game takes about 15h to complete, so it's very impressive amount of gameplay.

I would recommend this game for those, who likes horror-action games.

65

Nice coop

xydanus | Dec. 13, 2012 | Review of F.E.A.R. 3

FEAR 2 was bad game and i had no real expectations about FEAR 3. Still when i heard it has cooperative mode, i gave it a try. Few hours of shooting evil bastards with your buddy is what you get. Sadly this game is far apart from horror genre.