Reviews by zhack075

70

Nice 2D MOBA game.

zhack075 | Sept. 20, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts

Awesomenauts is fun and has great 2D art style. Character are very differents from each others and got their own way to be played exactly like in any MOBA game.

Like in every moba game you need to learn how to play the hard way by losing a lot of games in front of more experienced players. I really dislike that but well, it's my opinion. What I really don't like is the tons of skins or even character that developpers sell...

If you like MOBA and 2D sidescrolling action games, well, you'll probably like this game.

80

I'm not that found of metal but...

zhack075 | Sept. 19, 2013 | Review of Brutal Legend

This game is really nice to play !

First of all, what I love about this game is that you feel that the developpers wanted to create a fun, honnest game. Jack Black offers a great performance. I add a special "wow" to the game menu which is really awesome !

So, the game itself ! Well Graphics are nice, not perfect but nice ! Character are well stereotyped and are really fun and the vast open world is pleasant to explore.

If the game doesn't specially shine by its classic combat system it remains really funny to play thanks to the Jack black performances and all the funny metal cliché well used that create a really interesting universe.

I recommend it but keep in my, this is not the greatest game in the world, this is just a tribute... to heavy metal mostly.

100

One of the best RTS avalaible in my opinion

zhack075 | Sept. 19, 2013 | Review of Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion

Why do I say that ?

Besides the graphics which are really good, the game is really well optimized and the game doesn't require a NASA computer to run. Even with a poor internet connection it's still possible to join games online. I don't pretend there isn't any freeze or lag online, but there is only few times where it happens.

On a gameplay side, you have to select one of the three races, then an allegiance (rebel or loyalist) each sides have its own way to be played. Then you will have to create an empire. And that's where SoaSE is great. Even if the military option is the more common, it is possible to win thanks to diplomacy or even by spreading your culture accross the systems.

And that's why I love this game, dipomatic aspect is by far one of the best for an RTS game. Here there is no "ally or enemy", in this game your can be neutral, you often star neutral and you have to gain the trust of other faction in order to offer "cease fire", "alliance" or even pacts that will help you and your ally.

There is also an economy within the game. You can buy or sell ressources but the market follow the offer and demand logic, if you sell too much metal for example, metal price will crash down. Pirates (if activated) will also regularly raid the faction which as the highest bounty on it creating tension within the game.

Sins of shines thanks to those many aspect that create a great playing experience and I definitly recommand this game to any RTS fan.

95

Still a great game !

zhack075 | Aug. 20, 2013 | Review of Mirror's Edge (EU)

This game is absolutely fantastic.

Despite the fact that it has been released in 2009, the game still looks amazingly great and still feels pleasant to play.

What i particulary loved in this game is the fact that violence isn't the point of the game. You have to run, neutralize some policemen on the way and escape as quickly as possible to understand what is happening is this city. The soundtrack is amazing too and the motion awareness gives a unique feeling.

I think this is trully a must play.

85

Beautiful but lack of storyline

zhack075 | Aug. 20, 2013 | Review of Crysis 2: Maximum Edition (EU)

This game is absolutely beautiful and well optimized and it's a real pleasure to explore those environements.

Still, I don't really see the connection with the first game adn the storyline is very hard to follow in my opinion. I really enjoy the gameplay thought, customizing weapons, use optic camo etc. Enemies are really dumb in my opinion, you know the "oh my god ! he's dead, I better check the corpse and get in the exact position he died in few seconds ago to investigate" thing as usual.

Well Crysis 2 is a good game, not excellent but really beautiful with a really pleasant gameplay. Still the storyline is quite disapointing. Oh and I recommend to play in hard mode.

80

A dive in the McMillen Universe.

zhack075 | July 28, 2013 | Review of The Basement Collection

I got this collection mostly because of Indie Game the movie. Mcmillen speaks a lot about his first games and i was curious.

Well i'm not disappointed because every game of this bundle is really interesting. Edmund Mcmillen has a very unique universe and original ideas.

If you're curious and you want to experience something new this collection definitly worth its price !

70

Challenging and interesting

zhack075 | July 22, 2013 | Review of 10 000 000

This game is the combination of Rogue Like dungeon crawling and tile match games. It's impressive and addictive. The game is hard as this is a die and retry game but it's really great and not as frustrating as a super meat boy for example.

This game is really great to kill time and I would recommend to get it on mobile device.

65

Cynical but interesting.

zhack075 | July 22, 2013 | Review of Defcon: Everybody Dies

Yup, this game as an interesting sense of humor. It makes you dive into those terrible moments of the cold war, the fear of a nuclear armageddon.

As soon as Defcon 1 is engaged there's no rules, you have to be sure that your defense will work and to inflict your enemy as many casualties as you can. We're not talking about military casualties but civilian. You kill people by millions and the more you kill the closer you get from victory.

But this game is really clever and requires a lot of tactics. The graphic style is really simple but really great as it contributes to the atmosphere. It's not the kind of game I play during hours but it is cool.

80

Nice Point'n Click game

zhack075 | July 22, 2013 | Review of Wallace and Gromits: Grand Adventures

This game is really close to other telltale games as usual but it is really fun as it is set in the Wallace and Gromit Universe. There are tons of reference to the old movies and a lot of new inventions and gags. It made me feel like I was watching a whole new adventure and I was really pleased that they keeped the animation style of the movie even thought everything is (obviously) in 3D.

75

Good addition to the game

zhack075 | July 22, 2013 | Review of Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion - Forbidden Worlds

This DLC is great and add many envoyable options to the game. More planets type, the ability to choose between industry or social improvement for each one. Moreover, if you own this DLC, your friend will be able to get those new features as long as you are the game host.

This DLC isn't vital yet it remain really good.

90

Little bit short but really great !

zhack075 | July 22, 2013 | Review of Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall Nexway

This DLC adds 3 missions to the original game.

Game mechanics are basically the same than the original game but some gadgets and powers are new. I really enjoyed playing it and if you liked the original adventure, i recommend you to get this DLC which is pretty good !

80

Great Mario Kart on PC.

zhack075 | July 7, 2013 | Review of Sonic & SEGA All-Stars Racing

Sonic all star racing is definitely the only mario kart like which worth be playing.

Graphics are really nice and colorful, sound track is great as there are many themes from old game such as afterburner, panzer dragoon and many old games. Powerups are quite different from Mario Kart which is a great thing after all. The transformation thing is fun but not that important in fact.

If you are looking for an arcade kart game on pc, go for it, the game is cheap and really nice to play.

50

Helping but noth that useful

zhack075 | June 27, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite: Columbia's Finest

Those objects are helpful but you can play the game without them. They are not the best gear items you can find in the game but it's true that money and lockpick are helping at the beginning of the game.

You can buy it to ehance your game experience but this isn't really useful actually.

100

A real gamebook in the walking dead universe.

zhack075 | June 24, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

I didn't know what to expect from this game the first time I launched it but the reviews where true, this game is a masterpiece.

The story takes place in the comics universe, for those who don't read it, basically, everything takes place near Atlanta right after the zombie apocalypse started. As in the comics, the zombies are only here to create an atmosphere in which human relation become much more complex as humans become much more dangerous than the dead.

I'm not found of point'n click games, yet I really enjoyed playing this one. Eveything is dynamic, no days spent trying to combine items to find the solution, the game is simple and focuses on character and storyline as every choice you make impact on the following events during the game. To sum it up, this game is much more like a gamebook than a point'n click.

Pros : very great character, epic storyline, simple but really deep, great replayability.

Cons : The only point I would mention are the graphics. Even if they are mostly great, they are sometimes messy and some visual bugs happened sometimes but in general everything's fine.

If you like point'click or if you want to play a great story driven game, go ahead, this game is trully a masterpiece.

80

Nice Game but lacks multiplayer

zhack075 | June 24, 2013 | Review of Poker Night at the Inventory

Poker night is a really nice game and even though it's only a singleplayer game, it's still pretty fun to play with famous video game characters. Dialogs get redundant really fast still they are funny to hear. I would say that the point of this game is mostly to unlock items for TF2 but if you like poker, it remains nice to play.

75

Interesting Combat and Survival System

zhack075 | March 3, 2013 | Review of I AM ALIVE

In this game you play as a man who travel across the ruins of a city in order to go back to his family as "the event" separated them.

What I loved about this game is the survival aspect which is realistic. You have a stamina bar decreasing each time you try to climb. The longer you remain climbing, the more dangerous it get. The other aspect that is really amazing ( even if it get quite repetitive ) is the combat system based on the intimitation. The main character tells you "I have a rope and a empty gun". Well the empty gun is a really dissuasive weapon and can help you a lot as long as you enemies doesn't guess you're bluffing. This system create tension during fights which is a great point, it's not about finding ammo and shooting everything around. There isn't enough ammo anyway. Like the resources, they are very uncommon.

This is a great game for anyone who loves survival ( by the way, there are no zombies in this game. Only humans. ) and original tomb raider like.

100

Poetic but Require skill !

zhack075 | Feb. 27, 2013 | Review of Dustforce

Dustforce is an amazing game.

the story involve 4 characters who need to clean dust in many differents level. You need to choose 1 character and use skill in order to get rid of the dust and the enemies. The faster you are, the better grade you get. In order to do so you can jump and do many beautiful moves in the air or on walls.

The game is hard to handle. In fact, it's like a time attack based super meat boy. death is rare in this game but every mistakes make you loose time.

If you like 2D platformer, this game is a must have. With Super Meat Boy, it's trully the best 2D platformer available on the market.

90

best 4X series available.

zhack075 | Feb. 26, 2013 | Review of X3 Superbox

It's easy, the X series is the best 4X (explore, expand, exploit, and exterminate) games available.

You have to know, this isn't a casual game, It's more a simulation. Some people consider you need to play almost 100h to begin understanding how the game really works. You need to manage ship, fleets, diplomacy and all those aspects take some time to be handled correctly. If this is the kind of things you're into, this pack is a great value.

X2 and X3 are really beautiful and probably endless. I regret the fact that cockpits have been removed from X3 but still the game is deep and really interesting. Flying your sheep in space is a really enjoyable experience and the fight are really dynamic even though they are tough if you play as a beginner. Even if fights are fun, you can chose to focus on trading which is a HUGE aspect of the series. You can create a real corporation by creating fleets, buying station or even factories in order to earn your living.

This game is a harcore sim version of freelancer in my opinion. So if you're into that kind of game, this is probably the best game of the genre available on the market. I trully worth it price as it is endless, beautiful and got a very deep game mechanics !

75

Funny content

zhack075 | Feb. 26, 2013 | Review of Far Cry 3: Deluxe Bundle DLC Pack

This DLC add some fun to the main adventure.

The monkey buisiness pack add four missions and Hurk, a really funny character which loves to teach how explosives work to monkey (and sometimes, tries to defuses them, not the explosives, the monkeys). They are really quick quest but still does the trick.

Lost expeditions are also quick quests but contains a lot of references including portal and a mystery corporation some Ubisoft's game players will recognize easily. Moreover, the environements are great and they last longer than monkey buisiness.

Predator and warrior pack are more cosmetic but since they are included with the 2 missions pack, this is a good deal.

I would recommend to wait for the pack to be cheaper during sales or so, because I think 7£ is quite expensive for this pack, but if you want to add more fun in the FC3 adventure, this pack is pretty cool.

50

Not bad, but far from the other DLC's fun.

zhack075 | Feb. 26, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2: Sir Hammerlock's Big Game Hunt

I love borderlands 2, I had a lot of fun playing it mostly with my friend. We achieved the scarlett and torgue DLC and they are probably the best DLC I've ever paid for. Long enough, very funny, well, great DLCs.

Hammerlock's DLC isn't that great. In fact, it is quite boring. The new area and monster are really nice, but the quests are BOOORING. Go kill X insert monster name. On the other hand, New Tribal bandits are a real challenge are they are very hard to kill even with the best lvl 50's loot. The DLC is less funny than the previous one too.

I think this is the kind of "middle" DLC, decent to make you wait the next one, but below the others. Remember if you really want the DLCs, buy the season pass, the previous DLCs trully worth it !

90

One of the best puzzle game available. And it never gets old.

zhack075 | Feb. 26, 2013 | Review of World of Goo

In World of Goo, you need to use little ball of various goo ( each color has its own utility ) in order to reach a pipe and "save" as many "non used" goo. It is a physic puzzle game as you need to build structure in order to reach the pipe. Beside the campaign, there is a Multiplayer competitive mode in which you have to build the higher goo structure using the goo balls you saved during the campaign.

The concept is really simple but the game is really addictive. 2D Graphics are the kind of graphics that never get old and are still great. If you like physic based puzzle game, or just puzzle game, this is definitely a must have !

90

Far better experience than AC1

zhack075 | Feb. 26, 2013 | Review of Assassin's Creed 2 Deluxe Edition

To my mind, AC1 was a prototype, and incomplete experience. The game was repetitive, the character were pointless...

In AC2, they overcame all those issues.

Ezio is nice character, the background is deeper and the cities are gorgeous. The game is much more enjoyable due to the fact that objectives aren't as repetitive as AC1. Moreover the little management aspect with equipement and incomes is pretty nice and permit to acess different way of playing this game. AI is still pretty dumb but does the trick.

If you enjoyed AC1, you cannot be disapointed by AC2, if you though AC1 was boring, don't worry, AC2 isn't. It is clearly one of the best game of the franchise !

80

Hard but interesting

zhack075 | Feb. 25, 2013 | Review of Space Pirates And Zombies

In SPAZ, you start with a few ships and a mothership. During your journey, you'll have to do mission, to buy equipement, to fight bounty hunters and to complete the main quest ( even though you can choose not to do it ).

This game is great. Even though it is quite hard sometimes, it is really fun to play. Graphics are good and even though some of the sprite are a bit "raw" ( character portrait for example. The game is dynamic and the 2D shooter view is really nice. You can customize the hull you unlock with a tons of ship parts too, which is a great thing as you can design your own fleet.

If you enjoyed games such as freelancer for example, you'll love this game even if it's more a shooter than an elitesque game.

80

Great storyline, great atmosphere

zhack075 | Feb. 25, 2013 | Review of Call of Juarez: Bound in Blood

There aren't many western shooters on the market. Call of Juarez Bound in Blood is a great one.

Graphics are nice even today it does the trick really well. Anyone who loves westerns will love this game's atmosphere. During the game it's all about colt, winchester and dynamite ! During the cutscene, there is a lot of emotion thanks to great storyline and amazing characters.

There aren't many western games on PC, this one is really good and if you like westerns, you won't regret it !

90

Band of brothers in a game.

zhack075 | Feb. 25, 2013 | Review of Brothers in Arms: Road to Hill 30 Capsule

This game is a must have for anyone who loves the WW2.

Moreover, if you liked series such as Band of brothers and you want to experience the same atmosphere as an actor and not only a spectator, go ahead, this game was made for you.

Graphics are good, maybe a little old now but still good. Gameplay is awesome and much more realistic than COD or MOH. You need to use cover and suppression fires to progress, you can't avoid it. Weapons aren't as precise as COD but it feel much more realistic too. The characters feel liveful and the storyline strongly reminds the best film or series about this conflict.

This is a great game.

50

Not as good as I expected.

zhack075 | Jan. 28, 2013 | Review of Ace Combat Assault Horizon Enhanced Edition

I really like modern aircraft simulation. But I want to have fun when I play, that's why I don't play Lock On. I don't want to learn how to pilot a jet fighter, I want to have fun dodging missiles, engaging enemy aircraft.

What really disapointed me in this game is that, even if it isn't a simulation, the lack of realism really got me mad. My plane bounce against a skycrapper, got "critical damage" and repair itself few seconds later. Plane react without any realism to. As soon as you engage an enemy in close combat, your plane will make an impossible manoeuver to tail the enemy aircraft. Don't worry, you'll just have to shoot, your fighter will pilot itself during this close combat.

Dogfight are quite boring in my opinion. I didn't feel any sensation or excitement. I mean, you defeat one wave after a long and quite boring dogfight, then another wave appear from nowhere... I expected more fun, more excitement but it felt really repetitive to me.

Here are some things that I don't like but maybe it is just a matter of taste. Character design is awful. It's the kind of character, you don't know if they are japanase or american because the artists wanted them to be american, but designed them with japanese standard. It's weird to see.

Pros : - A lot of Beautiful Planes from various countries - Graphics are nice - Easy to handle - Not many games like that one the market.

Cons : - Lack of realism, even for an arcade game... - Character design - Railshooting phase are boring. - Avionic is awful ( plane bouncing, no collision between planes... )

To conclude, I hoped more of this game. I played hawx 1, I enjoyed it but it feels like unachieved and unrealistic to me. Many people told me Ace combat was a great licence with all the thing hawx does not have. I prefered Hawx even if it wasn't a good game either. If you want an arcade action dogfight game with a lot of explosions, maybe you'll like it.

95

An Experience...

zhack075 | Jan. 7, 2013 | Review of Far Cry 3 Deluxe Edition

I liked far cry 2 even if it was kind of boring sometimes. In fact, I didn't expect anything from Far Cry 3, I thought "great, another ubi shooter... not bad, not good"... I was wrong.

First of all, Graphics are amazing. Body awareness is nice, character animation too. Diving into water is amazing. There is some graphic bug sometimes but compares to the beauty and the size of the map, I don't really care about that. There is a really great actor's perfomance in this game. Characters feel really alive.

Gameplay is awesome. Weapon's feeling is really great ! Playing stealth is really great too. Compares to Far cry 2 where killing someone with silencer or machete leads to alarm, here you can clean up a camp without any gunshots easily. The only survival skills you'll learn is crafting seringes of items with plants or animal skin. Driving is quite pleaseant. The way you have to survive in this living world is amazing. Predator will attack you, some animals defend their territory. There are little details like that which makes this world astonishing. Morevover the AI is really nice !

Multiplayer is good, not excellent, just good and basic.

Pros : - Very Colorful, Beautiful, huge and Living open world. - You're free to do whatever you want ! - Great characters and actor performance. - IA is nice ! - Weapons and takedown's feeling - Many many many things to do !

Cons : - Weapons unlock is too easy and really fast. - Capturing an outpost considerably reduces chances of meeting an enemy patrol but gives you missions to do... Cruel Dilema. - Multiplayer could have been awesome but unfortunately it is really basics. - Uplay

Really one of the (many) best game realeased in 2012 and an excellent surprise for me.

90

Simple concept, awesome game !

zhack075 | Jan. 1, 2013 | Review of VVVVVV

This game is cheap. It is made of cheap 8bits graphics, cheap concept, Cheap music... but it's a really good game. In fact it's the example that you don't need Cryengine or 300 employees to get a great game. The concept is simple, you can reverse gravity. This simple features leads to a tons of really interesting levels and for it price, I definitely recommend you to buy this awesome game ! Moreover, the soundtrack is incredible !

75

Cynical but really tactical game.

zhack075 | Jan. 1, 2013 | Review of Defcon: Everybody Dies DNS

Defcon is a tactital RTS in which you need to set up your defenses and units and be ready for a nuclear warfare. The ultimate goal is to endure the less casualties possible but to destroy as many enemy cities as you can.

This game is pretty disturbing. The music for example makes you feel unconfortable during the game it's really amazing. It isn't a bad game at all, it is cynical but remains very tactical. Graphics are very nice even thought they are very simple.

75

Casual Rainbow Six.

zhack075 | Jan. 1, 2013 | Review of Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas

First of all, i'm a true fan of the Raven Shield game, I spent a lot of time on it and I love the Rainbow Six spirit.

Well, this game is totally different. I mean, it isn't bad at all, but it isn't as hard and realistic as a real rainbow six. In fact, it's more a casual FPS than a tactical FPS. Graphics are good, not impressive, the unreal engine still does its job nicely. What was really impressive at the time was the cover system which is really awesome. I know, nowadays, every FPS/TPS got their own cover system thanks to Gears of War but it was nice to have a FPS using it on PC. The weapon customization system is very poor compares to what we have in the last Ubisoft game (1 accessory and the silencer you can attach or detach whenever you want during the missions). The AI uses cover system very well. Even thought they aren't really smart, they aren't bad either. However, I would recommend to play Rainbow Six Vegas 2 because it contains more weapons, few improvement and the story is a prequel to this story. Coop is nice to play, not Revolutionnary but nice. Even thought I prefer Raven Shield and its tactical aspect, I really enjoyed playing this game. However, keep in mind that there are plenty of better game using same features nowadays !

85

Awesome bundle

zhack075 | Dec. 30, 2012 | Review of THQ 5-Pack

Dawn of war and Company of heroes are similar in some ways but still fun to play. Metro is really great. there are a lot of interesting ideas and the atmosphere is really amazing ! Saint Row 2 is considered to be the best and Red faction guerilla is an open world sandbox which allow you to play with physics and destruction. In my opinion, this is a great bundle as these 5 games are really great.

75

nice zombie game.

zhack075 | Dec. 30, 2012 | Review of Dead Rising 2

If you like to get into huge zombie crowd armed with a weapons crafted on your own, you'll like this game.

Pc port isn't bad even if it could have been better but graphics are still good. The core of the game is the humor and the crafting system which allows you to create many useful or stupid weapons to make a real slaugther. The thing I hate about this game, and It is THE thing that really bothered me is the permanent countdown during the game. You have a certain amount of time to achieve the as many quest as you can during the game and this is really a dumb feature in my opinion as it is really fun to go into crowds. But still, it's a great game !

81

Didn't get the success it deserved.

zhack075 | Dec. 30, 2012 | Review of Bloody Good Time

This game is trully awesome. I had a lot of fun playing online with human player. But I think they released it too soon as the developpers had a lot of troubles. It's a shame because is was really fun to play and this game had a huge potential even if there are only four maps.

The game is divided in many gamemode randomly chosen during a game. Of course the main one remains the "hunter/hunted" which is really interesting as you have one target you need to kill but one hunter you need to escape. You aren't allowed to kill anybody else. You have natural needs such has eating, sleeping or even go to the toilet, these action take time and make you a very easy target. You need to deal with all these factor and this is why this game was really refreshing among many multiplayer FPS based on frag system.

Graphics are good and the non sense humor is nice. I wouldn't recommend you to buy this game as servers are quite empty now, but between friend it's still really fun to play.

90

A masterpiece which doesn't get old.

zhack075 | Dec. 30, 2012 | Review of Beyond Good and Evil

This game is trully a must have for everyone who loves adventure game.

Don't worry, the graphics are still good today and the game still looks gorgeous ! The game is mostly based on infiltration as you play a young reporter who tries to find out what happen on her planet. I think everyone should play it at least once as this is a game which didn't get old at all.

I think it totally worth it price even after all this years.

35

Get Duke Nukem 3D instead.

zhack075 | Dec. 30, 2012 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever

Honestly, this game doesn't worth it price. It's a standard FPS, there are a lot of naked girls, some funny joke sometimes but it is boring as hell moreover the vehicles phases are completely useless and bring no fun into the game. I think if you really wanna play Duke Nukem, go back to the old Duke Nukem 3D which is still great !

85

King Size Real time Strategy

zhack075 | Dec. 30, 2012 | Review of Supreme Commander

What is the most impressive part of Supreme Commander is probably the size of the battles. You can lead hundreds of units on a gigantic battlefield. I really enjoyed the little details that simplify your RTS experience such as the Estimated Time of Action which tells you in real time how long an action will take depending on multiple factors. I think if you like RTS, you must play this game at least once. But If you really want to play this game, try Forged Alliance instead which contains much more content and improvements !

90

Still good with or without Mod

zhack075 | Dec. 29, 2012 | Review of Battlefield 2 Complete Collection Cap

Well, this is one of the best game i've ever played. I think i even like it more than BF3 for simple reasons.

First, the strategic aspect. On the battlefield, your team is led by a commander who can provide support to the troops such as artillery support, logistic, vehicle or recon. You can avoid enemy commander sending this by destroying key devices on the battlefiedl !

Graphics are still good and the game is still played. Moreover there is a ton of mods which ehance the game experience. Forgotten Hope 2 for example is amazing.

This is still a great game !

100

Shogun 2 is great, Shogun 2 with all the dlc is even better !

zhack075 | Dec. 28, 2012 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2 Collection

This game is a turn based strategy game with real time battle. It takes place in the feodal japan during the sengoku jidai. There are many historical references and as this era isn't well know in western culture, I really enjoyed playing Shogun 2. turn based part involve diplomacy, economy and army movement wereas real time part is only battle. The graphics are amazing and the game's engine can display over 35k character during a battle !

As there are all factions and units included, this is an awesome deal and I recommend this game to every strategy fan as it is really a great game !

100

Totally worth it !

zhack075 | Dec. 28, 2012 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2 - Fall of the Samurai Collection

As all the content is included, it totally worth it price !

Fall of Samurai is a standalone that is quite different from the original game as the combat focus on rifles more that blades. Moreover it enhance many gameplay mechanics of the original game. If you like Total War, or even Turn Based strategy with great Real time battle, go ahead, this game is really awesome !

80

Many different way to play this character

zhack075 | Dec. 28, 2012 | Review of Borderlands 2: Mechromancer Pack Steam

This character is really great. I mean that because, besides the fact that she's really funny, her skills are way different to other character and there are many different ways to play with her. The "stack" concept is really new and make Gaige one of the most deadly character of the game as every reloading can boost the damage you do or even create and explosion !

Buy this character and add some anarchy into pandora !

90

Worth it price.

zhack075 | Dec. 28, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - The Full Package dns

I bought Saint Row 3 with the season pass and genki dlc included. The season pass was nice but like all the SR3's Dlc, it was overpriced and wasn't really worth it.

Getting ALL SR3 for such a price is way more interesting to my mind !

About the game, this is a GTA like except that it's way more funny to play. You can run naked, surf on the roof of a car, fight mascots... this game is really hilarious. I really enjoyed playing it. I would recommend to play it coop in order to add more fun. The graphics are nice ! even if the map is smaller than GTA or Just Cause 2, it's pretty big anyway. The soundtrack contains many songs from various artist.

If like me, you enjoyed Just Cause 2, or just played GTA to mess arround in the city, you'll enjoyed this game.

95

Poetic and beautiful

zhack075 | Dec. 28, 2012 | Review of Botanicula

This game really amazed me.

The soundrack is incredible. Songs are build from sounds and mouth sounds but remains really nice to ear ! Graphics are awesome. Everything is handdrawn and the character design is really great. Even if the game require reflexion sometimes, it's not really tricky. In fact, it's more contemplative to my mind. You explore this fantastic world and listen to an awesome music by solving different puzzles. If you liked machinarium, don't hesistate, and even if you aren't into that kind of game, this world deserves to be explored !

85

This isn't a FPS. This is a simulation !

zhack075 | Dec. 28, 2012 | Review of ARMA II: Combined Operations

You're warned, this game require the time and patience to learn how it deserves to be played !

Every Decision have to be considered because 1 bullet can kill you and trust me, the enemy ( AI or player ) won't miss their shots ! Besides of that, graphics are pretty good as the map is huge. There are a lot of interesting mods too like DayZ for example. I really enjoyed playing coop. Conquer cities with a lot of player was really fun to play. The gameplay need a little time to be learned as their are plenty keys to assigned to many function, but when you know how it works it's not a problem.

Remember, this is more a simulation than a game ! If you are aware of that and you like that then don't miss this game !

20

Not enough content for such an expansive price.

zhack075 | Dec. 18, 2012 | Review of Borderlands 2: Collectors Edition Pack

Where other DLC give you epic 4-5hours campaign, This pack only contains 4 head, 4skins and 1 grenade. To my mind, it's overpriced.

95

Shorter than Captain Scarlett, but much more intense !

zhack075 | Dec. 16, 2012 | Review of Borderlands 2: Mr Torgue's Campaign of Carnage

And I mean that...

Torgue is one of the funnier character of borderlands. I think this DLC definitly worth a shot.

What does it add ?

  • New currency : Torgue Token which permit to buy badass torgue weapons in the torgue vending machines.
  • New Tiny Tina and Moxxis missions which are extremly funny !
  • New head for evey characters event the mechromancer.
  • New extremly hard boss.
  • A lot of Explosions !

Basically it adds some missions and new content, but as it's borderlands 2, you will laugh for almost 3-4 hours with or without friend ( i recommend to play this with friends ) so, I think it worth is price. I recommend you to buy the season pass as Borderlands 2's DLC are really great. They adds contents, long new storylines and real fun for a great price unlike many DLC on the market.

Remember, Baddass people don't look at explosions !

90

An Amazing Atmosphere...

zhack075 | Dec. 16, 2012 | Review of Metro 2033 PRE

I got this game recently and the first things that amaze me is the atmosphere. Those kind of little cities in the underground, the gasmask, crafted weapons, mutants... This game as a really unique Universe.

The game isn't really scary. Sure Mutant are ugly and really dangerous, but this isn't a survival horror or even an Horror game. The way you have to manage your gasmask and your light's battery is really cool. If you like post-apocalypse universe and FPS in general, this is a great choice !

75

Hattori of Meiji Era

zhack075 | Dec. 7, 2012 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2 - Fall of the Samurai - Tsu Faction Pack

Tsu faction is nice to play, it is quite similar to hattori in my opinion as they start on the center of Japan main island and the first moves are quite difficult. If you're looking for some additional fun with FotS, it can do the trick ! However, I recommend to wait for sales as shogun's dlc tends to be overpriced.

95

Very Greatu addon !

zhack075 | Nov. 27, 2012 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2 - Fall of the Samurai

This new Era brings a lot of new challenges in Shogun 2. More guns, less sword fight, new alliance and strategic possibilities, better naval battle...

Moreover, it's great to play a game which is set in this era !

If you enjoyed Shogun 2 and you want to renew the experience, you won't be disapointed !

100

Game of the year.

zhack075 | Oct. 9, 2012 | Review of Dishonored (FR)

I was curious when Dishonored was announced. I love Viktor Antonov's work and i'm not disapointed !

The game is beautiful. I was expecting average graphics with a good art direction but no, the game looks wonderful. Dunwall is unique even though it made me think of City 17 sometimes which isn't a bad thing at all. Gameplay is great too ! I like to blend into the shadow even though it is possible to rush. AI are pretty good. A guard even noticed that one of his friend was missing and that is pretty amazing to see in a game nowadays.

I think, and I truly do, that dishonored is the kind of game you see once in a decade. Just like Deus ex or Half life 2 back in time. It is so rare to find game like this one today, you HAVE to play it. This is a real Masterpiece as everything is almost perfect in it !

90

One of my favorite RTS.

zhack075 | Sept. 16, 2012 | Review of R.U.S.E.

Why is it one of my favorite RTS ?

Because I've played many strategy game and most of the time, the bigger army wins. In Ruse, you can elaborate tactics using "ruse cards". You can hide troops, deceive the enemy with decoy... There are many ways to take advantage on your enemy. The score is based on points you earn by destroying enemy units. In fact, you can win by using cheaper units than other players.

The graphics are awesome. You can have a general view of the battlefield as if you were in a command room or zoom in and get close to the action.

It's trully a great FPS and a must have to my mind !

90

A great RTS that as no equal.

zhack075 | Sept. 16, 2012 | Review of Company of Heroes THQ

This game is a must have if you love RTS and WW2.

Graphics are beautiful even if the game has been release several years ago. The gameplay is very similar to Dawn of War 2 but more realistic. Campaign is good even if i mostly play coop online against computer players (which can be really challenging, I even suspect them to cheat... ) The cover system is great and add a real tactical aspect to the game. Morevover, this is a realistic game. Infantry are very useful but very weak and can be easily suppressed for example. Tank shells can bounce against tanks sometimes as they can rip off the canon. Randomness add realism.

I recommend you to play this game with the addons even if Tales of Valor isn't as great as opposing front it can be found at low price since the game isn't really new.

87

Probably the best Multiplayer FPS available.

zhack075 | Sept. 15, 2012 | Review of Battlefield 3 (EU)

If you are looking for a great military Multiplayer oriented FPS, buy it.

The solo isn't mindblowing but it's a good experience. The F-18 railshooter flight is kind of boring but the atmosphere and feelings you get during this mission are amazing. it's probably due to the fact that graphics are great and sound is trully amazing. I recommend you to play BF3 using a headset in order to get into the game more easily as sounds are very realistic.

Multiplayer is probably one of the best available. I don't think you can compare it to Call of duty as this game is more based on team effort wereas COD is much more based on skill in my opinion. The weapon system is great. Unlike the solo, in multiplayer you can unlock many items to customize your weapons (flashlight, holosight, reflex, silencer... ) and the different items available for each classes allow you to help your team the way you want. By the way the bodyawareness is amazing too !

The only things I don't like with BF3 is the fact that EA tends to adopt the same selling techniques as Activision and I found the premium system very expensive for was it is. Otherwise, it's one of the best FPS i've ever played !

85

Awesome game but is that a sequel ?

zhack075 | Sept. 13, 2012 | Review of Mass Effect 2 (EU)

Mass Effect 2 is Awesome !

I'm a true fan of this IP but ME2 isn't my favorite one. Oh don't worry, it is an awesome game as ME1 and ME3 but I consider that the story isn't really the sequel of ME1 so i was a bit disapointed by this ME.

Still, it remains a must have. The Fights are much more dynamic and are much more fun than Mass effect 1. Except the action phase, the gameplay doesn't change from Mass Effect 1. You do quest, speak to people but the space travel has changed a bit. No more Mako exploration. Once you found a signal you're dropped and picked up as soon as you finished the job. That is a great and a bad thing as Mako exploration was kind of boring. I've never enjoyed driving rubber tank on moon and planet during 20minutes... but it was fun to found a cave or base and to explore it. Zombie Cave... brrrrrr. Weapon system is different too, no more mods or special ammunition ( these are skill now ) and the skill system has been simplified too.

Don't misundertood my words, You need to play this game as you need to play the 1 and the 3 but this game isn't the best one in my opinion. There aren't the same atmosphere. I was mindblown during the first Mass Effect scene with Nilhus on the Normandy Bridge and I was mindblown during the end of Mass effect 3 that I really enjoyed ( I trully did ! ), Mass Effect 2 despite of its awesomeness didn't do that. But still, it remains great and definitly deserves to be play !

80

A great parody.

zhack075 | Sept. 13, 2012 | Review of Magicka: Vietnam DLC

This DLC is quite fun.

Fireweapons is a strange addition and are a little beat cheated even though they are really funny to use against goblins.

As usual there are a lot of references to many movies and games and many jokes that will make you laugh. Be warned though this isn't a new campaign, it is a bundle of new weapons, 1 new robe and 2 map : 1 Coop mission and 1 arena both set in the Vietnam Jungle !

70

Easier than Uplink.

zhack075 | Sept. 3, 2012 | Review of Hacker Evolution DNS

this game is fun to play. I'm not a hacker but it's still nice todive in this particulary atmosphere of hacking. To my mind this game is easier than uplink but remains challenging. If you want a nice puzzle game and you like those kind of universe this game is made for you. If you want something more challenging try uplink.

60

Better than buying DLC alone.

zhack075 | Sept. 3, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - Season Pass

Still the same content. Nothing really cool added to the game but you may enjoy the extra time you will spend on the original game if you liked it. I think this pack isn't necessary at all, you can have fun on SR3 without it, but if you really wan't some extra mission...

However, I recommend you to buy the season pass because DLC alone are trully worthless.

20

Really funny but overpriced

zhack075 | Sept. 3, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - Funtime Pack DLC

I loved the nonsense of this DLC. The manapult is really funny to use and the genki costume is absurd but honnestly I wouldn't pay 1.99£ for that ( I had it include when I bought the game ).

Don't waste your money on that... There's so much thing you can do with 1.99£...

35

Nope, still not impressed

zhack075 | Sept. 3, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - The Trouble with Clones DLC

I expected this DLC to be more complete than the other ones. But no, it still adds nothing except another mate to call and a useless car with a bell on it. The storyline is pointless and the missions are short and not even funny.

I regret that they didn't give an object which permit the player to become overpowered like he is in one of the DLC's missions.

Anyway, avoid this DLC, except if it's a gift... You can't refuse a gift...

10

Useless...

zhack075 | Sept. 3, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - Invincible Pack

Why is it useless ?

You can already become invincible and have infinite ammo in the game on ly by purchasing the right upgrade. I had not to buy this in my game in order to prevent the game from being to easy... You can be invincible to bullets, fire, explosion, chute, even prevent weapons' reloading in the original game.

In my opinion this DLC is really worthless.

65

Armed and Dangerous...

zhack075 | Sept. 3, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - Shark Attack Pack

Sure, 1.49£ is really expansive for a gun and a hat, I hate that... but on the other hand, it reminds me the old "Armed and Dangerous" game which has exactly the same non-sense weapon and I love that.

Buy it only if you want the most stupid weapon in the game !

30

Not necessary at all...

zhack075 | Sept. 3, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - Gangstas in Space DLC

Except 1 airbike and a spaceship, this DLC adds nothing worthy to the game.

The story is basic, mission very repetitive and all the lasers weapons remain locked after you complete this new content. The only case I should recommend you to buy this is if you want to play SR3 a little longer despite the fact that you will not necessary enjoy this DLC as you enjoyed the original game.

35

Fun but overpriced and not necessary.

zhack075 | Sept. 3, 2012 | Review of Saints Row The Third - Genkibowl VII

Genkibowl is a fun content but it's just not new enought to justifity its price.

You have some skin for 4 car and a very funny flamethrower genki car. Some new backup are added too but except that, the new "mission" are some basics genki activities and do not form a real DLC content.

Except a few laughts more, this DLC add notingh worthy to the original game.

75

More than a game, an experience !

zhack075 | Sept. 3, 2012 | Review of Zeno Clash

This game is unique. Graphics are good ( source engine ) and the universe is really pleasant to discover. However, gameplay needs a time of adaptation as the first person melee combat isn't really easy to handle in the first time.

This game should be playing once because I've never seen such a game before in my life !

65

Good but Warband is better.

zhack075 | Sept. 3, 2012 | Review of Mount & Blade: With Fire and Sword DNS

I bought the Mount and blade collection and I was really curious.

Well, I prefer warband which stay the best M&B. I disliked the era and the atmosphere of this game. In fact I think that firearms are little bit cheated and you can die easily by taking a shot from nowhere. I definitly prefer the Medieval era of Warband.

Moreover, all the mods are released for warband and not Fire and sword.

Buy it only if you want another mount and blade experience after Warband but if it's your first M&B, try warband first !

80

Vlad isn't a vampire !

zhack075 | Sept. 3, 2012 | Review of Magicka

This game totally worth it price.

The gameplay is pretty much unique and the game itself is hilarious. There are multiple references such as 300, star wars even some movie or games you thought you were the only one to know !

I recommend to play this game with friend as the friendly fire adds a funnier dimmension to the game. However, the "robes" and "items" DLCs seems really expansive for what they add and they regulary add free ones such as the "spacemarine" robe, the tron robe or even a reservoir dog robe !

If you want to have fun a low price, this game is for you !

30

I didn't liked it at all...

zhack075 | Sept. 3, 2012 | Review of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

Yes... I dislike this game. I used to play a lot on COD 1 and I loved Modern Warfare 1, but this one is just way far from the fun I had on his ancestors. Michael Bayish Single player with useless and excessive violence such as the airport scene which is TOTALLY useless. I'm not against violence in video game, but it has to be correctly used to create the right atmosphere. The plot isn't good at all. I trully hate the weapons' feeling of this game. Moreover the game isn't hard, they send you as many stupid AI soldier as the game can handle until you reach a trigger zone. It's as simple as that. I disliked multiplayer but this is a matter of taste. I'm not fan of Skill-based FPS. And as i told, I hate the weapons' feeling of COD so...

85

Way better than GTA!

zhack075 | Sept. 3, 2012 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Limited Edition

I expected another GTA like but in fact, this game is really great.

Graphics are very good and the city looks very liveful. This is really great because it create an awesome atmosphere. Combat system reminds Assassin's creed's counter system and this is great to see that applied to a GTA like. Moreover there's a full list of combo you can learn to defeat your enemies Bruce lee's style !

If you like Open world game such as GTA or saint-row, you'll love Sleeping Dogs !

90

Maximum Awesome !

zhack075 | Sept. 2, 2012 | Review of Crysis

Graphics are... well... are crysis. In fact it became a reference since its release in 2007. This game is one of the most beautiful one you can play.

The gameplay is great, the suit allows you to play the way you want ! You can sneak using stealth and speed, destroy anything using maximum force and armor... Moreover, even if there is a path to follow, you are free to move the way you want on the island. I liked the story but to be honnest, I the first part of the game because it's much more fun to play against soldiers. the universe is interesting too not far from Halo concerning the US soldiers and I love that.

This is a great game, probably better than Crysis 2.

80

Releaaaaase the daaarknesss jackieee !

zhack075 | Sept. 2, 2012 | Review of The Darkness II dns

This game was a pleasant surprise !

It's a nice FPS with the demonic touch that gives you the feeling of being a real predator. The light weakness is a great Idea and even if you're overpowered by the darkness, you're far from invincible.

The story even if you guess the end easily is really nice and the characters too. Graphics are good but not amazing. Even if the game is really violent ( in the uncensored version ) the gore works perfectly well in the dark atmosphere of the game and the desire of vengeance of jackie.

A nice FPS with an interesting feature that allow you to unleash youre wrath upon the ennemies !

85

Didn't get the success it deserves...

zhack075 | Sept. 2, 2012 | Review of Brink (UK)

Splash Damage gave us one of the best multiplayer FPS but thanks to an awful release ( thanks to bethesda ), it is now empty.

The customisation is great. Even if character's one is quite simple, weapons' customisation is awesome and permit you to create your own play style. Graphics are quite good, not perfect but good. A french review consider this game as "the best team based FPS since Team fortress 2" and in my opinion it's true. You can't win without teamplay and each of the 4 classes are useful and different. Actually this is a powerful feature of this game.

Even thought bots aren't as stupid as they're told, it's a shame that most of the servers are now empty. I trully think this awesome game didn't get the success it deserves.

100

Poetic, beautiful... Mindblowing...

zhack075 | Sept. 2, 2012 | Review of Trine

Trine is amazing !

Graphics are gorgeous even though it's an independant game and their engine seems to be a little older than other game. The story is great and reminds the old fairy tales without being too childish. The music are beautiful thanks to Ari Pulkkinen, in fact, it's one of the most beautiful soundtrack in videogames.

Despite the fact that there is no online coop ( only local ), to my mind this game is a must have !

80

Fun Fun Fun !

zhack075 | Sept. 2, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third dns

There is nothing serious in this game !

You can do whatever you want ! You can even save the city Naked and appears naked on TV in the cutscene ! ( actually I was wearing sunglasses... )

Graphics are good and the map is a bit small for a GTA-like ( compares to Just Cause 2 for example ). DLC's don't add anything worthy to game in my opinion but the game worth a shot if you play GTA only to have fun for example.

78

Nice to play with friends

zhack075 | Aug. 30, 2012 | Review of Sanctum

The concept of mixing FPS and Tower Defense is really nice ! In fact I bought it with friends and we had a great time on this game ! It is difficult and the coop mode is a great experience.

The only thing I can regret is the lack of feelings you get by shooting weapons and the many DLC that adds Maps, weapons or even tower. Except this what can i say ? It's not the best game in the world, but it's still fun to play it if you're not alone !

90

Amazing...

zhack075 | Aug. 30, 2012 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

This game is trully amazing !

Too easy in my opinion even in "Deus ex Difficulty" but the atmosphere is unique ! Even if it's not the most beautiful game in the world, the attention paid to small details contribute to compensate this and the atmosphere is trully amazing. Voice acting is amazing too such as musique and artistic direction... Trully a game you should play once in your gamer life !

87

Worth it !

zhack075 | Aug. 30, 2012 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution – The Missing Link

The missing link doesn't change the game, but it helps to understand what belltower is and the story in general. I finished this DLC in approximatively 6 hours which is pretty great for this price ! If you liked Deus Ex HR, this DLC is a great addition to the original game !

90

Not another brainless shooter.

zhack075 | Aug. 29, 2012 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line dns

Specs ops isn't The best TPS in the world, in fact, even if it is pleasant to play, it remains a standard game. But this game is really good because of his storyline and the way it is told.

Besides the fact that many scenes are unrealistic, the events told in this games are toughs. Innocent people dies, you don't know who to trust. In fact you try to do your best in a situation that overcomes you. I think this game worth a shot because it's not another brainless shooter, this game makes you think of war and its consequences.

The only thing I can blame in this game is the fact that sometime, the game forces you to take bad decision even if you want to avoid them. except that, it's a great game.

75

Rainbow Six without action phase.

zhack075 | Aug. 29, 2012 | Review of Frozen Synapse DNS

This indie game is awesome but really hard. If you want a good comparison, this game is an old Rainbow six without the action phase. You need to plan, anticipate and think a lot in order to master the action.

Singleplayer is endless as you can generate random action and the campaign is really hard. Moreover, Multiplayer is huge, you can play on the internet or even by using mail... yes, you can play this turn based game using mail in order to play your turn.

If you like tactical game, this is a must have !

90

Thank You Edmund !

zhack075 | Aug. 29, 2012 | Review of Super Meat Boy

This game is difficult, you will fail, fail, and fail again...

But I've never been mad about that, in fact I laughted most of the time. This game require patience, precision and skill and remember me Super Mario World on SNES back in the time. Ok, Super Meat Boy is far more difficult than mario but trust me, this is a GREAT game!

95

An end once for all...

zhack075 | Aug. 29, 2012 | Review of Mass Effect 3 (EU)

Mass effect is probably one of the best video game series ever made in my opinion and Mass Effect 3 is a great ending to this 3 games which I particulary enjoyed.

Many people dislike this ending but trust me but i don't. The cutscenes, the ost, the characters... everything's perfect. I can't even tell this game is a TPS nor a RPG, it's far more than that. I consider it as what video game should be. Storytelling as good as a novel, directing as good as a movie, but you decide what happened.

Outside the singleplayer mode, the multiplayer is pleasant and bioware create event every 2 weeks.

Mass effect definitly worth a shot !

85

Not as difficult as the first one, but more fun!

zhack075 | Aug. 27, 2012 | Review of Driver San Francisco

Driver SF is a great game even if many aspects make it closer from a burnout than the first Driver ( PS1... damn, i'm old... ).

Cutscene are amazing, game graphics are good but event if I love the "tv show" style of the game the storytelling isn't clear at the beginning of the game and the "shift" feature is a kind of cheat to me even if it's quite funny to use after all !

In my opinion, it's a really good game for those who love cars game with a great atmosphere. Unfortunately, the Multiplayer mode is empty. :(

90

Wonderful

zhack075 | June 20, 2012 | Review of Bastion Cap

Firts of all this game is beautiful ! All Hand drawn 1080p texture give this game a wonderful cartoon atmosphere. But the story isn't childish at all !

The story is well told by the narrator. Moreover His speech depends on what you do. The fights are easy as long as you don't use the temple which allows you to increase the difficulty that will satisfy hardcore players.

Last point, the soundtrack is AMAZING... this game is trully a must have !

80

It's a great spin off

zhack075 | June 19, 2012 | Review of Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction

First of all, I'm a huge fan of Splinter Cell Chaos Theory ( the best one In my opinion ). It introduced the coop part which was really awesome.

Even If this one is different, I like it. Of course I regret the fact that now, it's more a question of killing without being noticed more than infiltrate something. I mean you can't drag corpse to hide them for example. But The feeling of being a real predator hiding in the shadow, waiting for his prey to make a mistake is really great ! Moreover, the deniable ops are fun to plus alone or in co-op and they can be re-played over and over.

The story is nice and well told. In fact we discover a new face of sam fisher who remains one of the greatest game character to me.

It isn't a splinter cell game compares to Chaos Theory and the others, but it remains a great spin off, a different way to play splinter cell.