Reviews by zipnox

83

A different XCOM

zipnox | Aug. 25, 2013 | Review of The Bureau: XCOM Declassified

After the recent success of XCOM: Enemy Unknown comes The Bureau: XCOM Declassified. This time however it’s not the strategy game you might expect, instead you get to play as an agent tasked with the defense of the world in a third person shooter perspective. The story presented in the game is engaging, accompanied by excellent sound direction and voice acting.

The graphics and overall atmosphere are well done and the game offers lots of tactical thinking in shape of squad management. The biggest issue with the game in my opinion is that it tries to approach several genres at the same time while never reaching its expected potential in either category; this is accompanied by the fact that the game has been developed for optimal play on a console device. I feel that this severely limited the game potential, trying to reach all audiences at the same time is an improbable mission.

Overall, the game is enjoyable as long as you don’t expect the same turn based strategy that we’re used to get. It’s a different game and well worth trying out if you’re into third person action games.

71

Short and sweet

zipnox | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Papo & Yo

Papa & Yo is a puzzle-adventure set in a fictional world that tells a story about a boy and his troubles. I found the story to be quite predictable but it still managed to be a touching one as it was presented in a proper manner. My only problem with it is its length, the game is fairly short and can be breezed through in a couple of hours.

The art style and sound direction is well done, the setting as a whole feels right. The gameplay is smooth and has few elements to it, the puzzles, in my opinion, are too easy. The simplistic nature of the puzzle elements makes the game feel even shorter, I think the price is a bit too high considering the length of the game.

Nonetheless this is a good game, it is well made, but I'd recommend you to buy it when it's on sale.

88

Humorous adventure

zipnox | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Deponia

Deponia is an adventure game set in a quite different setting, the universe of Deponia is pretty unique. The gameplay contains nothing new really, it’s another point & click game but hey, that doesn’t mean that this is a bad game. On the contrary this is a great game, featuring an awesome story about the genius idiot named Rufus and other likeable characters.

The art style is a well made cartoony style that fits with the wonky setting, the sound and voice-acting is good with dialogue to match. The game’s puzzles are neat but sometimes a bit too far-fetched, the overall atmosphere is a bit crazy and that’s great, but when the solutions make no sense at all it can get frustrating.

I had a good time with Deponia, it’s always nice to play a game that manages to put a smile on your face.

85

Good co-op zombie survival

zipnox | Aug. 5, 2013 | Review of Dead Island

Dead Island is a first person action-RPG hybrid where your goal is to survive during a virus outbreak that’s turning everyone into zombies. The game features tons of weapons and the ability to craft new stuff from scavenged items, I really liked the big arsenal of weapons but I’d prefer it if they were a bit more balanced, as some weapons just kick too much ass.

The game has suffered from various bugs since launch, most of which have been solved by now. Despite the bugs, Dead Island is a blast to play, especially co-op. The story is good and takes place on a beautiful island, previously a paradise, now with a very eerie atmosphere. The graphics are good, the sound and soundtrack is nice.

Dead Island has its issues, but not enough to keep me from having a great time with it. If you can, try to play this with three friends, the more the merrier!

91

Action-adventure done right

zipnox | Aug. 5, 2013 | Review of Darksiders

Darksiders is a game with various gameplay elements meshed nicely together and used in various puzzles and combat situations. It’s an action-packed adventure where you get to follow War in a thrilling story with plenty of exciting boss battles. The story is good and feels alive through the great voice-acting, graphics and animations, not to mention the excellent soundtrack.

The combat is satisfying and you can experiment with various unlockable combos to execute some nice moves. The overall pacing of the fighting is great but I felt that even on the hardest difficulty the game was slightly too easy and I wish it was a bit more complex. The game also felt clunky when I tried playing it without a gamepad, the game has been ported to PC and it shows.

If you have a gamepad available and feel like playing an awesome action-adventure game, then don’t hesitate to give this one a go!

93

One adventure to remember

zipnox | Aug. 4, 2013 | Review of Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition (NA)

It didn't take long for me to fall in love with Dark Souls, the challenge and thrills of the game kept me going for countless hours. It's an action role-playing game featuring strategic combat and providing intense situations around every corner. The big problem however was the poorly ported PC version, the optimization is terrible and I have no idea what they were thinking shipping the game like that.

Thanks to various community members, most of the problems were solved and I'm truly thankful they were because this game is brilliant. The atmosphere is mysterious and the scenery is beautiful, the soundtrack is stellar and once fixed, the graphics in high resolution looks great as well. I welcome the challenges that comes with Dark Souls, they make the victories even more glorious.

If you're up for the challenge, you have no excuse to miss out on this game, with the community fixes it's easily one of my must plays in recent years.

83

Back to school

zipnox | Aug. 4, 2013 | Review of Bully: Scholarship Edition

Never before has education been this much fun. In Bully, you're just another student trying to get by, however as it turns out you'll take part in some major events at Bullworth Academy. Bully features an open world filled with side missions and mini-games to play through, some more fun than others but overall very enjoyable.

I think Rockstar did a great job in taking a different setting and making it fun and exciting, the story is great with plenty of memorable characters and moments. The music, sound and graphics are all fine, but the game does have a few fault; namely some poor optimization and a few bugs occurring every now and then.

Despite falling short on the optimization, it's still a game worth playing. Rockstar tried a new setting and they really nailed it.

91

What a ride

zipnox | Aug. 4, 2013 | Review of Brutal Legend

Brutal Legend. Where to begin?

This game is one seriously kickass action-adventure, hell, it even has real-time strategy in it. The plot is very humorous and revolves heavily around rock & roll, which in itself is a great concept. This obviously means the soundtrack is absolutely stacked with great songs and the game contains various cameo appearances from rock stars.

The game is played in a big open explorable world with great scenery and different environments, it feels great to cruise around and get some roadkills with your car but traveling feels a bit slow in the later part of the game. The combat is very satisfying and smooth, you can do all kinds of crazy stuff with the power of rock! The main story is great, but I would've liked for it to be a bit longer.

Some people got turned off by the strategy portion of the game, I rather enjoyed it. If you like rock & roll, action, strategy and general demonslaying, get this game!

84

Lots of guns, tons of fun

zipnox | Aug. 4, 2013 | Review of Borderlands

Borderlands is an action-packed RPG, surely catering to every gun nut out there. In all seriousness this game is great fun, especially while playing as four, the game itself gets more challenging when in greater numbers. The game is quite humorous if a bit dark, the plot is decent and there are numerous side quests in the big world of Pandora.

The game has its faults, mainly in terms of optimization, which is something that can get frustrating quite fast. The side quests get a bit tedious halfway through the game as they're more of the same as the guy in the previous town asked of you. On a bright note however, the co-op is great and very enjoyable, cruising through Pandora as a rag-tag crew of four is awesome.

If you want to get the most enjoyment out of this game, I'd recommend you play this together with three friends. It's a good game, better with company though.

94

Fantastic game

zipnox | Aug. 4, 2013 | Review of Beyond Good and Evil

Beyond Good and Evil is one of those games that everyone should play, it's a beautiful experience and incredibly enjoyable. The game is a mix of stealth, action, adventure and exploration with various gameplay elements and sequences that mesh perfectly. Personally, I enjoyed the adventure and exploration parts the most, the world feels vibrant and full of life, the setting is just awesome.

The gameplay is accompanied by an engaging story filled with great dialogue and likeable characters, it's truly excellent and keeps you going until the very end. The plot is all about twists and conspiracies, truths and lies, it does sound a bit cliché but it's unforgettable. The graphics and sound are well produced and fit together with the atmosphere of the game.

This is one game that is hard to dislike, I can barely find anything faulty with it and I recommend everyone to try this game out, don't be alarmed by the outdated visuals, just sit back and enjoy.

93

Excellent Anno game

zipnox | Aug. 4, 2013 | Review of Anno 2070

The climate has changed, sea levels have risen… What a great time for a strategy game! Anno 2070 is a futuristic real-time strategy game focused on city management and colonization. The game provides a good campaign that deals with the kind-of-steep learning curve. Harvest resources, explore new land and waters, engage in diplomacy and much more.

The gameplay is very smooth and well made, the graphics and sound quality is excellent. There are global community votes that actually effect how the game is played, I found this to be a nice little feature to include. Developing your cities takes time, this does get tedious during certain moments of the game, but usually you can find something to do while you wait for whatever it is you're doing.

Anno 2070 is a great strategy game and has me going for several hours at a time, even though the game asks me to take a break every hour I find it hard to put down!

89

A fantastic sequel

zipnox | Aug. 2, 2013 | Review of Assassin's Creed 2 Deluxe Edition

Assassin's creed 2 holds the same concept as the first game, it's an open world action adventure although this time, set in Italy. The new setting has great atmosphere, the art and sound direction keeps the high quality standard that the first Assassin's Creed gave us. The side missions and activities have also been improved.

The story is awesome, it's filled with plenty of memorable characters and conspiracies. Gameplay still holds up and it's an absolute blast to roam around renaissance Italy. Sadly, some of my previous concerns with the series still exist; the side missions do get quite repetitive after a while and traveling long distances is a time sink I'd sometimes want to avoid when I've already seen the beautiful scenery one time too many.

The game continues the epic story and introduces even more mechanics that are fun to play around with. It's a solid game and I recommend you try it out, might want to check the first one aswell.

85

Awesome experience

zipnox | Aug. 1, 2013 | Review of Assassin's Creed

Assassin's creed is the first game in a series, and what a way to propel into greatness it is. It's an open world stealth action-adventure hybrid set in the Holy Land of the 12th century, a great era for this kind of game. The plot is awesome and has lots of memorable moments, the protagonist and antagonist are very well made, great voice-acting overall not to mention the superb sound, graphics and music.

It has a few faults though, one being that missions and other than main quest activities do get repetitive after a while. My second gripe is that the traveling is a bit slow at times, the world is huge, and that's great, but it does get tedious to get from A to B in certain scenarios. Disregarding that, the gameplay is a blast and you can keep yourself entertained for hours in the cities.

Stellar production, very enjoyable and hard not to recommend, I had tons of fun being an assassin.

84

Great game

zipnox | Aug. 1, 2013 | Review of Two Worlds II Cap

After playing Two Worlds, a decent RPG, I was unsure if I'd enjoy the sequel. In hindsight I'm relieved I bought it, because it's absolutely awesome. This roleplaying gem features a big open world to explore, filled with tons of quests and beautiful scenery. The story is engaging and enough to keep you going, accompanied by good dialogue and decent voice-acting, you're set for a great adventure.

The game did feel a bit sluggish at times though. But the graphics are good and the music is great, and the thing I liked most was probably the challenging combat. It's not another hack & slash your way to victory, rather you have to prepare and execute properly to scrape by even some of the easier fights. At least until you become an unstoppable beast that is.

A very fun game overall, certainly a tremendous improvement on the first game. This game provides plenty of hours of entertainment.

91

Crazy good

zipnox | July 31, 2013 | Review of Saints Row: The Third

In Saint’s Row: The third you play as the boss of a street gang and throughout this crazy adventure you get to meet a ton of ridiculous characters as you fight your way through gang rivalries. The game features a big city to explore, conquer, various mini-games to try out and a lot of civilians to harass. The mini-games do tend to get a bit repetitive after a while though.

The plot is very humorous and never takes itself too seriously; this is a wacky game that really manages to put a smile on my face. I found myself cruising around and doing all kinds of shenanigans rather than rushing through the main quest.

Get ready to pull off some crazy stunts and enjoy your time with this game, as long as you don’t want a deep and serious story, this game is all sorts of fun.

93

Intense turn-based strategy

zipnox | July 31, 2013 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown

XCOM: Enemy Unknown is a science-fiction strategy game where you combat invading aliens to save Earth. Playing the game, you feel like you're part of an action movie, the turn-based combat provides many intense moments and hard to make decisions. Who lives and who dies in your heroic squad of soldiers?

The graphics and soundtrack are great, they mesh well with the rest of the game. The only downside to the game is how quickly you can get run over, the randomness of the game can mess with you, big time, especially on the harder difficulties. But don't let that stop you from buying this gem, there are a variety of difficulties to suit your preference.

XCOM: Enemy Unknown is an excellent strategy game that will entertain you for countless hours. If strategy games are your thing, don't miss this one!

91

Beautiful adventure

zipnox | July 30, 2013 | Review of Syberia

Syberia is a point & click style adventure game set in modern time Europe and Russia. The game features a touching story with plenty of lovable characters, enhanced by the great voice-acting. The game is fairly lengthy and while not particularly difficult, the puzzles provide a good deal of satisfaction upon completion.

The world and aesthetics are simply beautiful, the overall atmosphere is very well made and the graphics for its time are great. The sound and music tracks are excellent and fit together greatly with the setting. Sometimes the game does feel unnecessarily slow though, traveling time between objectives and missed objects isn't all that fun.

Put up with the slow traveling, it's definitely worth it. Brilliant game.

92

One adventure you don't want to miss

zipnox | July 30, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

The Walking Dead is a game that will eat away at you for many hours, it's an adventure game set in a post apocalyptic setting where most of the human population has been turned into mindless zombies. This game is very well thought out and played in an episodic setting, the choices you make during your playthrough carry over between the episodes and changes the outcome of certain events and dialogues.

The characters are truly well made, you will start to care for your friends and loathe your enemies, the soundtrack is great and the voice-acting is stellar. The game is made with a comic book look that works perfectly for the setting. The only downside to the game is the somewhat clunky movement, but you get used to it after a while.

This game is fantastic, I'd recommend it to you even if you never liked adventure games. It's not your every day point & click.

90

Simply loveable

zipnox | July 30, 2013 | Review of Tales of Monkey Island

Tales of Monkey Island is the newest installment in the Monkey island series and it manages to hold its own amongst the prior amazing adventures. The episodic layout of this title is played akin to chapters in a book, each one features approximately 2-4 hours of playtime making the full game a good 10 hours at least.

The story is great, has very humorous dialogue with excellent voice-acting and the characters are very likeable. The game is filled with memorable moments and puzzles, always try to play these kind of games without using guides, as this ruins half the fun! That said, I think the game has a good difficulty setting and most puzzles can be solved with some logical, and sometimes illogical thinking.

Tons of fun from start to finish, had an absolute blast playing through this game.

90

Just one more turn...

zipnox | July 29, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® V

Civilization V is one of those games that just keeps you going until you suddenly realize it's morning. It's a grand strategy game where you set out to build your own civilization while up against barbarians and other threatening civilizations. There are plenty of ways to advance your empire, through cultural means, diplomacy, war and more. My only gripe with the game is that sometimes the AI acts questionably.

I really enjoy the art direction and the well made soundtrack, you just have to sit back and get comfortable while ordering your minions around. This game has excellent replayability and no playthrough is ever the same, you can play around with different settings and difficulties to suit your needs. Civilization V also has a great modding community providing lots of additional scenarios.

I have a hard time finding anything I dislike about this game. It's excellent, if you're a fan of turn-based strategy then definitely pick this up.

91

Excellent post-apocalyptic RPG

zipnox | July 29, 2013 | Review of Fallout: New Vegas DNS

Welcome to Vegas. Or what's left of it anyway.

Fallout: New Vegas is an open world roleplaying game set in a dystopian future where every man fights for survival. It features a grim world to be discovered and experienced, a great story with tons of side quests to guide you through the wasteland, all while listening to the radio jangle in the background. That or the awesome musical score that is available when the radio is off.

The game does suffer from some bugs but I found it to be a minor nuisance that could in no way hinder my enjoyment. You have a lot of different skills at your disposal, allowing for various solutions to the problems set before you. The combat is great with a wide variety of guns and other goodies for you to experiment with.

This is no doubt a game I'd recommend to just about anyone, I had a blast playing through it.

87

Beautiful RPG

zipnox | July 29, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Nexway

Skyrim is an open world roleplaying game offering loads of exploration possibilities for the adventurous spirit. It's filled with tons of side quests, lore and dungeons to keep you busy for a long time, that is, unless you're only doing the main quest. The main game is actually quite short, but if you allow yourself to get involved with the conflicts of the world, you'll find that countless hours of fun awaits.

The aesthetics are great, beautiful areas await and the musical score is excellent. The game does feature quite a few bugs however, and if you're in the wrong spot at the wrong time, the game might break. The combat is great fun and allows for versatility in dispatching various enemies through magic, swords, stealth and more. The game also has a great modding community, providing more free content daily.

Overall, the Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim will give you hours upon hours of entertainment and the game makes up for its shortcomings, no problem.

82

Truly a great action packed strategy game

zipnox | July 28, 2013 | Review of Mount & Blade: Warband

Mount & Blade: Warband at first sight looks quite poorly, visually. The music and sounds are quite lackluster as well. However, this is one of the most fun war games I've ever played. The game is a mix of strategy and action, with RPG features on top of it, you command your troops and fight epic battles, lay siege to castles and dethrone kings.

The combat is a ton of fun with various techniques to execute and plenty of weapons to choose from. Although fun, it feels a bit clunky at times and can get frustrating in certain situations. There's a big modding community for this game as well, it adds a lot of free value thanks to the awesome creators of various mods.

This is one game that can keep me going for hours, tons of crazy fun. A fine mix of strategy, action and RPG.

78

Stale combat, good game!

zipnox | July 28, 2013 | Review of Risen 2: Dark Waters

In the sequel to Risen you play as an aspiring pirate, oh and you have to save the world again. The game features a great story with humorous dialogue set in a colorful world filled with beautiful scenery. You visit several islands and encounter plenty of likeable characters, some of which even joins you in your quest!

The game's low point for me personally apart from the occasional bugs was the combat, it felt awfully unpolished and was very hard to get into. The voice acting felt goofy at times as well. One thing I absolutely loved though, was the soundtrack, the music is excellent and fits well with the rest of the game.

While Risen 2 has its faults, I really enjoyed my overall experience with the game. Once you get the hang of the combat you're all set for a great adventure across the seas!

87

Challenging and tons of fun

zipnox | July 28, 2013 | Review of Risen

Risen is one of those games that is weighed down by bugs but still manages to shine through. You play as the unnamed man who turns out to be the hero who's supposed to save the world. Despite the cliché, the game's story is quite good and contains a lot of side quests that add more depth throughout the journey.

As I mentioned, the game does feature a few bugs that may or may not affect you, if you're lucky they're barely noticeable, and if not then pull through anyways, it's worth it! The overall scenery is great and the world feels alive, the music is excellent and fits well with the setting. The voice-acting felt a bit stiff at times though.

This is a great game despite its problems and I consider it one of my favorite fantasy-rpgs. Well recommended!

80

A charming take at the god-genre

zipnox | July 28, 2013 | Review of Reus

Reus is an excellent strategy game where you play as a planet who controls four giants. Your main goal is to make yourself habitable and let humans thrive on your natural resources, and not brutally murdering each other. The gameplay really doesn't seem complex at first but then you realize that there are tons of combinations and ways to satisfy the human needs, this allows for a lot of experimenting and adds replayability to the game.

The graphics are easy on the eyes, the giants and humans are all quite charming. I found the music and sounds to be a bit too subtle though, I didn't feel they added very much to the overall experience. Developing the human villages takes a while, and it does feel a bit slow at times, but do not fret; there's tons of things to do and no playthrough is the same.

All in all I had a blast with this game, and still have. If you like strategy and simulations I'd definitely suggest you try it out!

88

Action-packed crime fighting

zipnox | July 27, 2013 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

Yet another entry in the Batman franchise, how do they keep making it exciting? The game is set in the Arkham Asylum where Batman has to fight all his old enemies and then some to once again put them behind bars. This is one action-packed game full of opportunities to execute deadly combos or take down enemies by stealth.

The graphics, sound and music all work very well together and makes for lovely scenery that is fully exploreable. The combat is initially tons of fun, but after a while it gets a bit repetitive beating up the same old anonymous henchmen that litter the asylum. As such, some areas are amazing and others, a bit lackluster.

I had tons of fun playing through Batman; Arkham Asylum. If you're up for exploring a world of raving lunatics then I'm sure you will too!

90

An enchanting action-adventure

zipnox | July 27, 2013 | Review of Bastion Cap

Step into the colorful world of the Calamity and prepare yourself for a story like no other. Bastion is an action-adventure game where you play as the Kid, guided by a lone soothing voice to solve the wrongs of yesterday. The story is explained as you play, because a narrator is constantly narrating your actions, this makes for an enthralling experience.

The game has a stunning art direction featuring beautiful scenery and an unique look with very memorable characters. The musical score is excellent, with several memorable songs playing as you smash your way to victory. The gameplay is smooth and a lot of fun, although simple in its mechanics the game still provides plenty of challenge.

I have a hard time finding things I dislike about this game, I'd recommend it to anyone as it's easy to get into and a game that's hard to forget.

81

Exciting espionage-rpg

zipnox | July 27, 2013 | Review of Alpha Protocol

At first I had no idea what Alpha Protocol would bring to the table but I soon realized I was in for one hell of a ride. This game features stealth based action together with several role-playing features expertly woven together, accompanied by a great story about conspiracies, betrayal and the occasional love interest.

Alpha Protocol has its flaws, mostly in terms of poor optimization, camera control and other minor nuisances, however the rest of the game makes up for it, big time. The dialogue provides multiple choices and an engaging dialogue system in which the conversations are time based, this allows for a more dynamic and action-based experience.

I found this game to be one of my personal favorites over the last couple of years, very enjoyable and well recommended.

84

A great adventure

zipnox | July 27, 2013 | Review of A New Beginning: Final Cut

A New Beginning is a slightly humorous yet serious thriller/drama point & click adventure regarding the end of the world. The plot revolves around two characters, Bent and Fay, on their quest to hinder the global warming that threaten the planet. The game features a great story that will keep you going for hours, visualized as a well made 2D-graphic novel style.

The musical score is excellent and further enhances the experience, the voiceovers however felt a bit stale in comparison, sometimes accompanied by quite tacky dialogue. There are also decent puzzle mini-games throughout the game providing enough challenge to be enjoyable. A New Beginning delivers a great mix of humor and thriller and it had me hooked until the very end.

I thoroughly enjoyed my time with the game and if you’re a fan of adventure point & clicks, this is one of the more recent must-plays!

69

Fun, for the well-versed gamer

zipnox | July 25, 2013 | Review of DLC Quest

DLC Quest is a short but sweet platform game which heavily revolves around current gimmicks within the game industry, specifically, making fun of them. If you get your hands on this ridiculous game, prepare yourself for a heap of references. If you aren't very knowledgeable of the gaming scene then this game probably isn't for you.

The game's price is suitable for the couple of hours of fun it provides, its biggest driving point is being ironic and humorous, and it plays those parts well. However I feel that the comedy tries to carry the game too hard and leaves the rest of it lacking, the graphics are dull and the music gets repetitive quite fast. The gameplay is fine but very simple, the game provides no challenge.

Overall it's a short but sweet game for a good price. But I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who hasn't been playing enough to get the references.

72

Entertaining while it lasts

zipnox | July 24, 2013 | Review of 10 000 000

Put on your best puzzle t-shirt and gear up for the simple, yet addictive puzzle/rpg hybrid that is 10 000 000. The game is fairly straightforward, your goal is to accumulate 10 000 000 points during a single dungeon run where you overcome monsters and various locks by matching tiles and using items.

The game is cheap albeit fairly short, the rpg and puzzle elements mesh nicely and form a smooth gameplay experience. The graphics work well in its simplicity if but a bit uninspiring, the music and sound effects add a nice touch but tend to get quite repetitive toward the endgame, as does the gameplay.

It makes for a fun experience and deals with its shortcomings by providing entertainment at a reasonable price. Definitely a catch if on sale!