Reviews for Defcon: Everybody Dies DNS

55

Too complex

Jorgel | Feb. 22, 2013 | See all Jorgel's reviews »

I have been thinking on buying Defcon for some time, the strategic focus attracted me, but the visual always kept me from buying it. Finally I get the game, and I have to say I am disappointed. First of all, this game is complex, but this itself shouldn't be a bad thing. You will have to pass through the tutorial if you want to start to understand how the game works, and it can be quite boring. The interface and gameplay is very non-intuitive, and you will find yourself trying to remember how to do the most simple stuff. The game is also only multiplayer, what can discourage alone players(like me). I only recommend this game if you can grab it in a bundle, then you can try it and make your own judgment.

75

Cynical but really tactical game.

zhack075 | Jan. 1, 2013 | See all zhack075's reviews »

Defcon is a tactital RTS in which you need to set up your defenses and units and be ready for a nuclear warfare. The ultimate goal is to endure the less casualties possible but to destroy as many enemy cities as you can.

This game is pretty disturbing. The music for example makes you feel unconfortable during the game it's really amazing. It isn't a bad game at all, it is cynical but remains very tactical. Graphics are very nice even thought they are very simple.

80

Only for multiplayer

nerull7 | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all nerull7's reviews »

This game is basically only for multiplayer. There is option to play with AI but no one plays singleplayer. Game is about what would happened if cold war was real war. People still plays this game online so you should find someone to play.

85

Quite Scary About World Resources, but Amazing in Tactics

ZeeFreeman | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all ZeeFreeman's reviews »

I first played this, I found it disturbing on how it showed the death count, and the mere idea of implementation of this in the real world is...worrying at the least. But, beyond it's near prophetic human self-destruction, the tactical side of the game is very well played out, and you can easily lose if you cannot either quickly counter the enemy, or be one step ahead of them. A true challenge (against capable enemies) and a disturbing lesson to humans to reform their ways.

80

Interesting Tactical Game

lachking | Oct. 12, 2012 | See all lachking's reviews »

Defcon is a strategy game that takes place on the world map and has interesting tactical elements. The objective is to kill as many civilians as possible through nuking enemy cities. You get fighters, bombers and naval units as well as tactical nukes to help you in world domination. There are a large array of game modes available such as office mode and large world mode, although the basic premise of the game doesn’t change much through the different game modes.

For the most part, the layer of strategic depth is quite good. You choose where to place your units and silos in your countries, and where you place them can dictate how well you will do. For example, do you place your nuke silos together to be able to pound a particular opponent more easily or do you place them all around your countries to have a broader defence? Decisions such as these give the game a strong level of strategical depth.

The visual and audio style is quite good as well. The soft scary style of music suits the premise of world domination by nukes well, and the graphics engine, while not outstanding looks quite solid, and performs extremely well too (even my netbook could run this game with no problems). Overall, Defcon is a solid game with various strategical elements coming together quite well.

29

A Minimalist Armageddon Simulator

das_regal | Oct. 7, 2012 | See all das_regal's reviews »

Defcon plays out from solitary game to game, like of like a board game. Each experience is standalone, and uses the game's rules and engine to provide a challenge.

Before each entry you can set basic details about the scenario that governs how the AI behaves, game speed, and other things.

The game itself is incredibly basic in all ways. It is also very counter-intuitive. It took me awhile to determine what clicks where did what.

There are also some bug problems with modern system (64 bit, windows 7) that makes the game damn near unplayable on a modern gaming machine.

I can't recommend Defcon to many people, if anyone.

80

LOVE defcon

Genericllama | Oct. 5, 2012 | See all Genericllama's reviews »

I use to play this awhile back with two friends, had some extremely fun games. Its kind of like Real-time Civilization with the "i want to screw over this person" factor of any Mario Party. Cant believe its only 50 cents!.

The bad : Your not given a steam key - not a problem for most:only bugs me personally

The good: If you download the demo on steam, load it up and input the key GreenmanGaming give you into the Authentication spot. It will work as the full version and still be within steam even if steam see's it initially as only the demo.

Great game, would recommend it for anyone with at least two friends who want to have some fun

80

Hypothetical genocide has never been so fun or so evil.

fable2 | Oct. 5, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

DEFCON has a great title, really. Everybody Dies. It's fantastic, because it shows the key idea behind the game. Ever bored in the office and in need of something over than Football Manager? DEFCON is your game.

It's got a certain degree of beauty to it, whether its the wonderfully crafted visual style, like a neon sign of terror, or just the sheer giddiness you get when you destroy a city and '6.5 million dead' pops up on screen. It's such a simple strategy game, but the essence is so deep, almost like modern warfare itself, with its laser targeting and almost AI-controlled bombs, it still requires a degree of skill to know just what the hell you are doing. Playing a power-hungry genocider has never been this fun.

There are setbacks, however. The fact that this is multiplayer focused means that single player is just not as fun, almost boring. It also seems a little confusing at first, I struggled with the general concept and took a while to understand what was going on.

Overall, DEFCON is a great game to run in the background, it's fun, it's great to look at, and it turns you into a temporary mass murderer. What's not to like?

70

A dark game

Fkpuz | Sept. 8, 2012 | See all Fkpuz's reviews »

There is something quite unsettling about this game. Just to imagine an all out nuclear war where the only thing that matters is the millions of people you kill is something that should stir up some concerning thoughts. And the background music which includes, very faintly, children laughing (or crying when you're under attack) adds to the feeling.

But you can't spend too long feeling weird or else you'll just get blown up immediately. They don't phrase this game "everybody dies" for nothing. You have to arm your nuclear silos to defend and attack at the right times, set up your nuclear war submarines, and get your aircraft carries ready. The game can be as fast paced as you want it to be or as slow as you want it to be (there is a mode that lets you play in pretty much real time, so a match would take days).

A great buy, especially at the low price.

80

Great strategy game

CJV | Aug. 18, 2012 | See all CJV's reviews »

In this game you have to try to defend your territories from becoming a nuclear wasteland. And as the best defense is a good offense you might as well nuke your enemies first. But keep in mind that this is a slow game where every move must be carefully planned, if you try to play it like an action game you will lose, a lot.

Did I mention you can nuke Santa? That's right, worth it for that alone!

80

Interesting premise, confusing gameplay.

Creatix | Aug. 18, 2012 | See all Creatix's reviews »

Starting playing this I liked the visuals and premise, a strategy game only about destroying each other.Interesting concept, but after a few matches i've seen how the game is just a snowball fight with little to no strategy involved, it's that or the game has a incredible steep learning curve.

With every game start, you are forced to quickly think of where to put your supplies like radars, silos, air bases and sea units, with every DEFCON level, you gain access to more of your equipment, until the counter reaches 1.Nukes racing each other in mid air, destroying the town they landed on. Game does a good job portraying the horrors of war and how people ruling the countries only see the map, with background sounds and info on the screen on how many people died.

As somebody else pointed out, this game really feels like a new "chees" and i really am glad Introversion made this game.

94

Introversion's best game to date

Cooberstooge | Aug. 7, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

Pairing the graphics of a quasi-80s war game sim with total nuclear holocaust was a brilliant move on the part of the devs. Defcon is simply the best indie title I've ever played.

Five hour matches rip past in the blink of an eye, with allegiances between friends and enemies alike changing faster than most folks can change their undies. Watching your lone surviving nuke squeaking its way through enemy defenses, all the while watching all your cities being wiped out because of poor planning on your part, is simply awe inspiring.

The soundtrack fits so well, being eerily calm during the lead up to nuclear annihilation, then changing to an "All is lost!" vibe that is totally freaky and a little distracting.

Sitting in a darkened room while playing Defcon is highly recommended - you'd almost think you're in a hardened bunker, safe from the end world you've helped create.

Multiplayer matches are great but, sadly, few and far between due to the game's age now. Single against bots works well enough, with the computer sometimes being very unpredictable.

Definitely, totally recommend this one. Can't go wrong with it.

89

Simple, Yet Surprisingly Deep

Vinderax | Aug. 6, 2012 | See all Vinderax's reviews »

Defcon is the kind of game that really takes your breath away. It plays completely different from most RTS games. Instead of micromanagement and resource harvesting, Defcon simplifies everything by giving you only the bare essentials you need to win. This lets you focus on large-scale strategies, rather than small-scale tactics. Although the simple mechanics do lack a bit of variety, the pacing of the game is what really makes Defcon epic and fun to play.

Right from the start, you are plunged in and forced to immediately set up your units and defensive structures. Then, gradually, but quickly, enemy units start showing up and conflicts start to rise, eventually leading to worldwide chaos. This gives the game a sense of scale and urgency, and really makes the gameplay shine. Games can range from quick lunch-break skirmishes to lengthy strategic bouts, giving Defcon the sort of depth that is unexpected from the simplicity of the game.

All in all, Defcon is an amazing strategy game that has unique and refreshing gameplay. The simple mechanics make it really easy to get the hang of the game. However, it's the pacing and scale of the game that makes it deeper and more complex than the mechanics show. In other words, "Come for a battle, stay for the war."

80

I love this game!

StewartX | Aug. 3, 2012 | See all StewartX's reviews »

I love this game! I always play as the defender and try not to get any of my cities nuked but that just isn't this game. You'll get nuked, again and again. Your anger rises and you push the big red button, launching everything you've got at the aggressor until the whole world glows green. It isn't called everyone dies for nothing. You can play against AI or friends, a lot of fun is to be had here and strategy will determine if your land is less green glowing than your neighbours. At $1.99 it is a no brainer, purchase and enjoy the chaos that is DEFCON.

Graphics: 4/10 (Indie) Gameplay: 8/10 Story: 1/10 Mulitplayer: Yes

90

One of a kind

Finka_Karfein | June 13, 2012 | See all Finka_Karfein's reviews »

I did not expect much while getting this one from an indie bundle. Then I played it out of curiosity. Why killing millions of people has to be so amusing? The gameplay could not be better designed. All the graphics offer is the world map, icons of your and your enemies' defences and units and tracks of nukes. Sound offered in Defcon is a quiet humming and alerts. Need more chaos? Introduce more players to the war. The game requires strategic skills but it is rewarding. Surviving the war is quite an achievement. And is highly satisfactory. I recommend the game to all those fans of strategies who seek something different. Defcon has no rivals at the moment in my opinion. Well, the price could be a bit lower, that is all.

85

Play your own cold war!

Needlemouse | March 20, 2012 | See all Needlemouse's reviews »

When I played Defcon for the first time, I thought "What is this?"

After a little more familiarization with it, I was quite surprised how many hours I ended up playing. The objective of the game is to kill as many of your enemies while saving your own. This is done by nuking enemy cities.

I was very literally on the edge of my seat; face inches from the monitor, waiting to see if my missile would make it though their defenses. It felt real, it felt exciting, but most importantly, it was a whole lot of fun.

I think it's like a new kind of "chess". It's very exciting and a bit creepy too of course.The graphics are very simple and there is really no sound, but it does not matter when the game mechanics are super. You can play it with AI or with friends. Very fun!

85

A Wonderful Long-Term Strat Game

ETank | Sept. 3, 2011 | See all ETank's reviews »

Defcon will get a lot of hype for its obvious features - impressive visual customizations, haunting atmosphere, its sacrificial approach to RTS casualties, etc - but one of its most impressive features is often under appreciated. Defcon can be played in real-time (1second in game = 1 second in reality), which means that a full game of Defcon can take roughly a full work day to complete...and you can ALT-TAB out of it...and it can be played on a network...

Basically, this game is designed to be played in high tension strategy, and nothing makes a lunch hour more intense than wondering how many millions are going to die while you're in the McDonald's drive-thru.

88

Unique and Wonderful game

wengart | July 28, 2011 | See all wengart's reviews »

Defcon is a wonderful game full of tension with every player on a knifes edge seconds away from launching the world into a nuclear war where the question isn't who one, but who's alive?

Defcon's map is reminiscent of Cold War planning rooms with a pared down strategic map that gives you the information you need. While it keeps the tension up with one of the most haunting soundtracks I've heard in a game. Beyond the nuclear poker game there is a conventional arms side inviting players to battle for superior position at sea and in the air.

90

Create a nuclear fallout

KittJJ | July 10, 2011 | See all KittJJ's reviews »

Defcon is a simple strategy game. Kill as many enemy people while trying to avoid losing your own. Amazing sounds and atmosphere and it's so chilling when you see all the nuclear missiles you launched hit the enemy cities. Amazing game, totally worth the money

81

Start nuclear war!

Wooler | May 7, 2011 | See all Wooler's reviews »

Defcon is a strategy game from Introversion, developer known for many orginal games, for example Darwinia or Uplink. Defcon is also game different than others. We are controlling one of the continents to win a global, nuclear war. We have to choose proper tactic - invest in antirocket systems, to have better defence or in rocket launchers to send a lot of missles towards enemies. It can be really attractive, but the real game starts when you are playing with friends. It gives a lot of fun!

79

Have fun with destroing entire world!

fearon | April 8, 2011 | See all fearon's reviews »

Defcon is strange game. Funny and scary. Funny - because this little strategy game brings you a lot of easy to learn gameplay and hours of matches with other players. Defcon is best in multiplayer. You can play with AI, but treat it like a practice before the real game. Game rules are easy, but before you'll begin beating armies of enemies, you'll spend lot of time practicing. And you'll have fun all the time. This little game is very addcicting. So why Defcon is scary? Because killing entire continent never was so fun.

85

Kill 1000000 people and be proud of it...

djsound | April 7, 2011 | See all djsound's reviews »

Original, unique, awesome. Title says everything - everybody will die. Simple but nice graphics and creepy, wierd sounds (remember - sometimes quiet is better than the best music) create unforgettable atmosphere. You can play with CPU but this game is like Worms. It's great when fighting with AI, but it's much better when playing whith others. So chose your nation, place your launch pads, and prepare to count some numbers: 100 000 people died... 250 000 died... 2 million... 10 million... 25 million people died... I can't understand one thing. Why killing so many innocent people is so fun?

70

An original game

mikim | April 4, 2011 | See all mikim's reviews »

The game is one of the most original games I've ever played. Even though graphics are really not good, the gameplay makes the game fun. I didn't like the sounds. Well, the game is good for like 5$, but not more.