Reviews for Sonic CD

96

Another timeless classic.

digiconner | May 10, 2014 | See all digiconner's reviews »

Sonic the hedgehog 1 and 2 are both fantastic, and this game is just as great. It introduces Metal Sonic and Amy Rose who are awesome characters and it also adds the main new innovative gameplay mechanic of being able to travel between the past, present and future, giving different versions of levels meaning that multiple playthroughs can feel different. This game is great, definitely buy it.

95

The most unique sonic game from the classic era.

Yanazake | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all Yanazake's reviews »

If you've ever played Sonic 1 through Sonic 3 & Knuckles, you'd better throw away anything you've learned in those games. While Sonic sports an even more classic look, unlike the improved graphics from Sonic 3 & Knuckles and none of the abilities from those games BESIDES the Super Spin Dash, this game has its own way to improve the looks of classic Sonic games and still gives the blue blur its own unique set of sprites and abilities, like Time Travel and "Figure 8" Super Peel-Out. Also unique are the stages themselves, for they have four different forms - Past, present, good future and bad future. While good and bad future have the same maps, saving the future of every zone is important to the story. Not only that, these stages have much more platforming and still have the crazy speeds Sonic is known for. Do you remember Labyrinth Zone? Think a bit worse than that. The game, originally released for Sega CD and PC, is likely one of the hardest games ever created for Sonic. The remake doesn't take that away by any means, but some of the options like changing the super spindash style, are very welcome. If ONLY the stage select screen was fixed in this version...

91

Faster than light

nikomaihurashi | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all nikomaihurashi's reviews »

Sonic CD was released on the Sega CD back in the day and even though it was released on PC the CD is still in the title which is cool, with 3D graphics for its time and the fast paced speed of Sonic whilst he has to deal with Metal Sonic one of his many foes he has had the pleasure to deal with even though this was released on the PC at the time you can admire that this is the only available Sega CD title on the Steam platform.

So buy this if you like sonic or even better the old school sonic.

95

Just like the old times... AWESOME

TGAlan | July 5, 2013 | See all TGAlan's reviews »

If you want any of the classic Sonic games on Steam, consider this one your priority. Sega's previous PC ports have been competent but nothing special and this one was the start of them taking things a little more above and beyond. The entire game was rebuilt from the ground up by Christian "Taxman" Whitehead and has some incredible new features. HD resolutions with full widescreen capability, both the original Japanese and alternate English soundtracks, online scoreboards and even a playable version of Tails that never existed in the original version. It's a very high quality remaster of a classic game, the only negative thing I can warn you about (if you can even call it negative) is that the game is a little different from other Sonic games in that it has some more emphasis on platforming. You can't go fast all the time, but when you do, hoo boy.

90

An interesting sonic game with time travel system

jazzelmejor | June 9, 2013 | See all jazzelmejor's reviews »

This is like other classic sonic games but with a new time travel system. You have the ability to travel to the past or future thought signs, with the only requeriment of running without stopping for about 20 seconds. When you travel thought time, you can see the beatiful past or the bad future of the current map, making sonic CD an interesting game.

A must buy for classic sonic fans.

86

A battle to save the FutureZ!

ResidentSectus | April 19, 2013 | See all ResidentSectus's reviews »

I'd like to think of this release as a sort of gift to the Sonic fan from Sega. Here's an older game that many may have missed. Sega wants fans to remember it because it was a high-quality release from them. They also would like those that missed it to experience one of the best games in the franchise. To miss Sonic CD would be to miss some of the franchise's best (and strangest) level designs. They were really creative with this one. You would also miss the race with Metal Sonic by not playing this game, and that would be a shame.

88

A classic sonic game from a system hardly anyone owned

mugaro | March 10, 2013 | See all mugaro's reviews »

Classic 2D Sonic game from 1994, never came out on Genesis so I never played it as a kid. The only modernization it has is the achievements & global leaderboards for zone times. As far as gameplay goes, it's really fun & worth getting on sale. All of the achievements are relatively easy to get with some time & skill, nothing too crazy. It's a good game & very similar to the Genesis Sonic 1/2/3 games without copying too heavily from them like Sonic 4 did.

The time travel parts are interesting, you can go to the past or the future of an area and they have a different look to them. The special zones have pretty bad controls & handling, but it's nothing too frustrating. The time trial achievement might seem hard, but it's actually not.

82

Great Sonic Game

Mrrickniel | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all Mrrickniel's reviews »

At first i was a little scared i saw somewhere this wasn't made by the sonic team and thought something like: what a sonic game not from the sonic team????

After i played it for a while i was surprised with the amazing fun levels. I never saw so much fun in levels in sonic games. There where some things that could've been better but overall a great games.

Btw. Keyboard controls are not that good play with gamepad :)

89

One of the Best 2D Sonic Games Has Returned!

videopower77 | Jan. 26, 2013 | See all videopower77's reviews »

This Sonic game has always had a special place in my heart. This is most likely due to the soundtrack which is fantastic! The 2D graphics look great and the game has been updated with increased resolutions, achievements, and other stuff you'd expect in a PC port.

This game is only second to Sonic 2 in my opinion as the best Sonic game ever.

75

Not as good as the other Sonic classics

lachking | Jan. 24, 2013 | See all lachking's reviews »

Sonic CD is a good Sonic game at heart, but all said, I prefer the other Sonic classics, namely Sonic 1,2 and 3. This game has a few twists that differentiate it from the other classic Sonic games however. One interesting feature is time travel. Occasionally throughout levels you’ll find past or future posts which can take you through time. Although time travel can be interesting, all it really does is change the aesthetics of the game through altering the colours and music, but it is a nice touch.

The environments are solid supported by good level design, although some puzzles can get quite annoying. The level Wacky Workbench isn’t so good however, and in fact is quite annoying as you'll bounce around everywhere, making it hard to get to where you want to.

The Robotnik bosses are decent in Sonic CD but are nowhere near as good or inspired as those in the other sonic classics. In one instance, Robotnik shields himself with bubbles underwater, which seems very silly to say the least. The end game boss is also rather anti-climactic as it is just a regular Robotnik boss which dies in 4 or 5 hits rather than the traditional end game super boss.

The visual style in Sonic CD is solid and the music is also quite good. You can switch between the Japanese and US soundtrack to add more variety to the in-game music. There are also numerous unlockables to be found, such as being able to play as Tails.

At the end of the day, Sonic CD is not as good as the other classic Sonic games but that does not make Sonic CD bad by any means. Time travel is interesting, and most of the levels are good. The unlockables also add more fun to the mix.

85

One of the best Sonic

Cavalieroscuro | Jan. 22, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

Sonic CD is one of the best Sonic you can play on PC. First, the CD version comes with a full motion video (two, to be precise, one opening and one ending) well realized. The gameplay is pretty much the same of the oldest title, but the game is very easy...until the race with Metal Sonic! This part is very hard, but after a few tries you will beat it. The game, sadly, is very short, maybe the shortest Sonic game at all, only two hours are required to beat it. But since the price is very low, this is really a deal you can't miss!

68

Time doesn't heal all wounds

DeweyDTruman | Jan. 20, 2013 | See all DeweyDTruman's reviews »

Sonic CD's port is great. It takes the original game (and all it's faults, I try to discuss this in a minute), adds some good features such as playing as tails and switching from the US and JP soundtracks at your whim, and of course the usual Achivements to make a delightful title.

However, it didn't really fix some problems the original had. The level design of it feels like a total mess at times, and not just because rings stick out of walls occasionally as some will lead you to think. If you don't understand what I mean, look up Wacky Workbench, either act, or the part of Collision Chaos near the end of Act 2 where the floor is nothing but bumpers. Time Travel is odd. Not because it's hard to pull off (though it can be, due to the level design as I mentioned above) but because really outside of a trip to the past when you want to destroy the machines, there's no reason to bother with it. And even then, if you know how to do the special stages (which personally I found to be a pain) it's not even worth it for that.

Regardless, the look of the game stands out from other genesis-era titles, and the music is still great to this day, both US and JP. For only five dollars, it's definitely worth it, just be aware the actual genesis games are better designed for the most part.

80

Great price, great fun

Scorpy | Jan. 14, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Sonic CD is one of the best 2D sonic games. I'll admit, I didn't even bother trying to learn about the time travel stuff, but I still had a blast. The port is fine, no slowdown, controls are fine. Definitely play with a gamepad, as the keyboard controls are atrocious.

Still, for this price, you cannot complain.

93

One of the best 2D sonics, now made available to modern day fans

stormx360 | Jan. 11, 2013 | See all stormx360's reviews »

An amazing remake of a game that was sadly not played by many due to being on the failed Sega CD add on, however, don't let the quality of this add on base your opinion on this game, as this is in my opinion the best 2D sonic game available and at this price you'd be a fool to pass, Its also a very good remake with gamepad support, widescreen resolutions, Steam achievements, Tails as a extra character and more. Why are you still reading this? Buy it!

90

How To Make Time Travel Fun

CrimsonWizard | Jan. 9, 2013 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

Sonic CD is one of the lesser known, but still fantastic Sonic games, released as a killer app for Sega Genesis' add-on, the Sega CD. The basic outline is Dr. Robotnik is messing around with time to make his industrial empire in the future. Thankfully for you, you can zip through time as well and thwart his plans before they can take hold.

Sonic CD's basic mechanics aren't unfamiliar. You run and jump across levels with multiple routes, crunch some robots, and play through some special stages to get the gems (Time Stones) to beat Robotnik for good...this time around. The unique mechanic as listed before is time travel however, done by zipping quickly past by one of the conveniently placed time period sign posts. This isn't a half baked mechanic however, with the Past giving the whole level a prehistoric atmosphere, while the Future shows a gritty, grim industrial future (or a shiny, colorful future if you thwart Robotnik's plans in the area). You will also need to explore time in order to progress through several of the levels when you reach a dead end, and it's helpful for getting more rings and lives.

The music also deserves a lot of praise, whether you're playing with the US or Japanese/European soundtrack as the CD quality music sounds really nice, and each time zone for each level gets a tune. I'd also praise the US version of Robotnik's boss theme, which is probably the creepiest theme he's ever had in the series.

Sonic CD is a spectacular entry in the Sonic series, offering plenty for the player with tense moments like the race against Mecha Sonic, or with all the secrets hidden through the stages various time periods. The music is engaging and works well, and keeps true to Sonic's roots as a fast and furious platformer. If you haven't tried out Sonic CD, I highly recommend this title. The main game is loads of fun, and you won't see everything in just one playthrough, giving you a reason to go back.

80

Classic Sonic, Godly Soundtrack

Bickeru | Jan. 7, 2013 | See all Bickeru's reviews »

As far as the classic Sonic titles go, Sonic CD definitely deserves more respect than it gets. Though the stage design isn't much different than its Genesis brethren, there is something to be said for the time travel mechanic which adds a certain bit of variety, and makes some stages much more challenging. Controls are simple and work great with a keyboard for the strange folk who don't have a gamepad for this sort of thing, and the system requirements are low enough you could probably run it on a toaster. Definitely stick with the JP soundtrack though, US is beyond disappointing.

60

Terrible port

MorphineBear | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all MorphineBear's reviews »

It's the same exact controls as you would expect. Jump and move.

But there's major problems. You can't change the controls (and you can't tell which key controls jump). In the options, you see a picture of an Xbox controller which makes no freaking sense.

If you're feeling nostalgic, this is definitely a good buy for the price.

92

My favorite 2D Sonic

nintendo97 | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all nintendo97's reviews »

I've been waiting years for this to come out on PC, and it has Tails! The platforming is top-notch and this is quite simply one of the best Sega platformers, and possibly the best platformer not on the SNES. You can play it for hours, and you can choose the Japanese soundtrack if you desire. I've played it multiple times and it is one of the better games in my library.

82

Classic Sonic, ported well

Lunk | Nov. 28, 2012 | See all Lunk's reviews »

I grew up on the early Sonic games and Sega in general, but never played Sonic CD, so I was excited to discover a PC release. Previous experiences with the ports of the Genesis Sonic games had conditioned me to expect a pretty bare-bones port that was basically just a rom packed with a slightly prettified emulator, but I figured I could deal with that to check out a highly regarded game, especially when it only had a $5 base price.

The game itself was pretty much exactly what I had expected and hoped for, providing classic Sonic gameplay with some very minor new touches. It did feel a bit easier than some of the other early games in the series, but not glaringly so.

The thing that really shocked me was how well it was ported. Contrary to what I had been conditioned to accept, this is a fully featured update, including things like widescreen support, instant recognition of my gamepad, achievements, and more.

I expected a good game, and I got more than I expected, all for $5. Hard to find anything not to like about that!

84

Toot Toot Sonic Warrior

Xkhaoz | Nov. 4, 2012 | See all Xkhaoz's reviews »

Considered by many to be the best 2D entry in the Sonic series, I'd be hard pressed to disagree. Amazing level design, a unique time travel mechanic, and a kickin soundtrack leads up to a great platformer. Also, note that this is a great rerelease. Steamworks DRM, achievements, options for both NA and EU soundtracks, extra modes, its a steal at $5

85

Great port, Great Game, Great Price

kairegister | Oct. 25, 2012 | See all kairegister's reviews »

Any fan of Sonic CD will enjoy this port. It looks the same yet fits to your screen without and making it look ugly. Controls great with both keyboard and Xbox360 controller. Both US and JP soundtracks. If you enjoyed the original Sonic CD, you'll enjoy this.

88

Greatest Sonic on 2D.

DukePaul | Oct. 22, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

After years of waiting finally we have Sonic CD on PC.

This version of the game was made by a fan and published by Sega, and they make the best version of the game, this port has features like possibility to choose between the original japanese soundtrack or the american one, I like both so it is nice to have both in only game.

The game is one of the best platform games ever made, with fast paced gameplay, good desing of levels with variants like past, future and bad future because of the time travels, you will need to play a lot if you want discover all the secrets on this game, also it has various endings,

For this cheap price it is an absolute buy.

89

At Last!

Engin33r | Oct. 5, 2012 | See all Engin33r's reviews »

It was way past time for one of the best, and most obscure Sonic games to become available to a new, and much wider, audience. With a slew of innovations, and huge, complex but brilliantly designed levels, Sonic fans should make playing this game priority number one! Every fan of platforming should put this game on their short list too. One minor complaint: It's a bit tough to get maximum speed for a substantial amount of time unless you really get to know the layout of a level well. But there is a solution to that; Get to know the layout of each level really well, it's fun and rewarding!

93

Amazing port, amazing game

Neohoodman | Sept. 28, 2012 | See all Neohoodman's reviews »

Sonic CD was my first experience with Sonic. It is also one of the best experiences of Sonic to be had. The first game to introduce iconic characters such as Amy and Metal Sonic, this game has an awesome atmosphere that has been missing from alot of other Sonic games; there's a dark omnious feeling to Sonic CD that makes this game so special.

Sonic CD is one of the better examples of speedy platform gameplay, a thing that has been missing from recent Sonic games. The time travel element is the cherry on top that will make each playthrough a different experience thanks to the multiple paths that can be taken.

In the end, this short but sweet Sonic game is great and thanks to the greatness of this port allows for alot of replayability thanks to achievements, two amazing optional soundtracks and gameplay that doesn't bore.

90

One of the best Sonic games

panz3r88 | July 14, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

I think this is one of the best Sonic game. If you are a Sonic fan you must play it. There are some features that make this game very good. The most important is the possibility to travel in time.This feature allow us to explore three different versions of the same level increasing the longevity of the game.
This feature eliminate one of the weak point of the game, because in this case our objective isn't only to press forward and reach the goal sign, but we must explore the levels to find the next time travel sign to reach the past and destroy Eggman robots. An other interesting aspect of this Sonic game is that is more similar to a classic platform game, so you will not have only to run through the level at high speed.

86

Great Game

Tebeku | June 18, 2012 | See all Tebeku's reviews »

This is an incredibly fun 2D platformer, but I personally found it rather difficult and had to repeat several stages several times. I do however like a good challenge and that is exactly what the difficulty level gives me.

The porting is excellent, the controls works like a charm, and it's cheap. 4.99 dollars? It's a definite buy.

88

Well done Sega

Wolfear | June 2, 2012 | See all Wolfear's reviews »

Sega did a great job porting this game. It has all the usual things in the menu it needs and more. You can choose between the Japanese and American soundtrack which is a really nice thing they did. You can also change the way the game looks between sharp smooth and nostalgic, which is a nice touch. The gameplay itself is like the good ol' sonic games with a twist, because it's less based on speed but more on platforming. The soundtrack is like a bit of a mix with the old sonic and the new sonic which means, you'll like it or you won't. If you liked the old sonic this is a definite buy.

80

Very Nice Game

satyakun | June 1, 2012 | See all satyakun's reviews »

This game bring so much memory. This game show that even 2D has it golden age. This game also has been an icon for Sega for long time. The gameplay is simple. The job is to collect coin along with passing enemies and trap. very brilliant platformer that can take many time to play. Enjoy!

85

An incredible port of a timeless classic.

duke1212 | March 5, 2012 | See all duke1212's reviews »

Sonic CD is often heralded as the best 2D Sonic game by some people, and while opinions are always subjective it's easy to see where they're coming from with this game. Sega's porting jobs have been notably poor lately, but this one goes above and beyond the call of duty. Sixty frames per second, widescreen support, the ability to unlock Tails as playable, and two soundtracks you can switch on the fly. Christian "Taxman" Whitehead really shows off his programming ability with this title.

Gameplay wise, it's a Sonic game focused more on the platforming aspect, and while speed is definitely still a major component, you'll often find your self slowing down or even backtracking to find various secrets. Whether or not you prefer this kind of Sonic game is purely subjective, but as a "platformer" game in a broad definition, it stands out as one of the greats.