Reviews for Dragon Age: Origins – Ultimate Edition

79

A little overrated, but still good

geist_der_sonne | May 29, 2014 | See all geist_der_sonne's reviews »

Dragon Age Origins beginning is majestic and probably the best part of the game. When you choose your character you also choose a specific "origin" which is a different beginning of the story, specific for your race and background! There are several origins available and they are very well structured quests. Probably you'll want to try them all before choosing the character you'll actually use. From here to the end the game gets a little worse. Still entertaining, but not as good as you can expect if you played masterpieces such as Baldur's Gate or Planescape: Torment. The storyline is very simple and trivial. Quite epic, but nothing new. The greater evil is coming and you are the chosen one who will stop it. That's it. NPCs are a little disappointing and no one is very memorable. This should be one of the best part of an RPG and DA:O falls short. Some quests are very cool (the mages quest is absolutely AWESOME) some are very boring (the endless tunnels of the dwarves...), some are average. I can say DA:O is a good game, probably a very good game in an absolute scale, but it disappoints in some important aspects that prevent it to be a true masterpiece.

96

Majestic - should be on every gamer's hard drive

nemesis44uk | Aug. 22, 2013 | See all nemesis44uk's reviews »

This Ultimate Collection is sublime. It contains Dragon Age: Origins and it's add-on pack Awakenings. Plus all the DLC available.

I have no idea how many hours it would all add up to, but if you try different characters and different conversation responses, you really could have a game that lasted forever.

Graphically it is beautiful and the voice-acting is as good as any you will see at the cinema. The NPCs are extremely memorable and bicker between each other as you walk. The storyline is immense and actually quite mature for a "Tolkien-esque" setting.

There are a couple of nits, whilst I'm picking them - some of the quests are a little dull, you encounter an Ent, complete with Ent-ish voice, which is an absolute rip-off from the Lord of the Rings movies and the difficulty is pitched on the wrong side of hard.

All that is a bit like dating a supermodel, then complaining that she uses hairspray. Not terrible problems.

It is offered up on sale here at GMG occasionally, but to be honest, even at full price, it is still an absolute steal.

96

One of the best RPG ever

metalos1 | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all metalos1's reviews »

The Bioware made a lot of cult game. Baldurs Gate 1-2, Neverwinter Nights, Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic, Mass Effect trilogy and more. The Dragon Age is an impressive gaming experience. This complete DA pack is recommended if you are an RPG fan. The whole adventure is very long, if you look in every corner the play time is almost 100 hours, this is very impressive. The gameplay is the classical D&D system. It have some minor bugs, and some nerve-trying ones. If you play couple of hours, the game began to slowing, or quit to the desktop with error message. But if you not play it through, you miss an epic and very good RPG experience.

96

Great RPG!

spiken0 | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all spiken0's reviews »

This is one of my favorite games. Extremely interesting story, with a lot of replayability. I ripped through it, and then instantly started again, one of the only times I have done that on any game.

89

very enjoyable

odren | July 25, 2013 | See all odren's reviews »

This is certainly the version of the game that you want to buy. First thing it includes all the DLC which if you bought the standard version you would still be required to buy of course if you wanted the DLC (also to note that this version and the standard are virtually the same price anyway) it also includes the expansion which while not as good as the base game added plenty more hours to the game and it is enjoyable. Highly recommended

100

Dragon Age the Ultimate RPG

g_reaper1666 | June 8, 2013 | See all g_reaper1666's reviews »

This is a fun game which has a really long game play on some forums people have said that just the vanilla game play can take you 60-80 hours. Then the awakening dlc can take you 10-15 hours with the rest of the dlc taking 9-12 hours to complete. One of my favorite armors in this game is the blood dragon armor which you also unlock in mass effect 2 by having it on this game, this armor also unlocks on dragon age ii. There are many dialogue choices that you can make which will affect the storyline of the game there are also consequences for your actions such as losing a party member if you take a action that they do not approve of.

This game has you trying to stop a unstoppable force of evil called the darkspawn which only rises from the underground system in this game during blights which will be led by an arch demon. The game also has religious elements, such as the chantry which seems to be a more extreme version of the church with their Templar's whose job it is to hunt down rouge mages.

I bought this game on steam while it was on steam and that meant that i managed to buy it 75% off at £4.99 although now that i have played it i would have quite happily paid the full price for it. This is because of the replay value which i feel a lot of games are missing which makes you feel cheated especially when the games storyline can't be affected by your choices. this is what games need cause and effect which makes them more fun because you feel like the world is evolving around you instead of staying static.

Storyline

The origin stories on this game can differ greatly although so far i have only played as a female human mage and a male human noble just these two choices are excellent with the fact that you start in completely different locations. when you are a human noble you are a cousland while as a mage you start out by entering the fade which is explained as where you go when you dream. the different types of characters also offer you more background on characters you did not know much about on your last playthrough. there is also the choice to be a dwarven noble or commoner as well as i believe the choice to be a elf either living in the dalish forest or being a elven mage.

There is also continuity other all of the origins because no matter what you are introduced to Duncan the Grey Warden. You are always selected as a potential Grey Warden recruit and you will eventually during the game play end up choosing to go with him because the current characters might want to get rid of you for a crime or they might want to betray you. some origin stories might actually close of choices for you because of the prejudice of the NPC's.

The storyline has lots of plot twists which can happen at unexpected moments, which will be explained to you eventually. With this game when you just think that the game has ended more events happen which drags you back in. I will not go into too much detail about this because i will most likely end up releasing spoilers which is something i would like to avoid. In my opinion this is one of the best games that bioware have ever produced, if you like Zaeed Massani from Mass Effect 2 and 3 then i a sure that you recognize his voice for the mayor of Redcliffe villiage.

you can also roam around the map although you should make sure that you get the Lothering quests done before a certain point in the game as the darkspawn will attack and then make it inaccessible to you. you will be able to unlock new areas along the way which also gives you the chance to find new NPCs and new characters that might join your party. you will find it difficult to make money in this game which is why I like the fact that a merchant will set up at your camp which will mean that you can sell the excess items in your items so that you can pick up other items on quests instead of destroying items in your inventory.

The battle system is very different from other games that i have played in that you right click on the enemy you want to battle and your player will keep on attacking and then you can use powers such as bashing your enemy with your shield which is fun because as well as dealing some damage it has the chance to disorientate your enemy. what i don't like about the battle system is the way in which you can be stunned and if your health is near depletion then there is a chance that you could die this is why i would recommend to make quick saves often so that you are not pushed too far back.

Why buy the Ultimate Edition?

If you do not own the normal version of Dragon Age Origins then in my opinion it is worth buying it as the ultimate edition because it comes with all of the downloadable content, which includes awakening which i have not played yet which is why i have not reviewed that part of the game yet. In the future once i have i will add that onto this review, most of the DLCs add new story lines and campaigns to the game which makes the world much more interesting it also makes you appreciate how much time and effort Bioware have put into this game of theirs.

Final thoughts

This game is a must have game for any gamer who likes RPGs and likes to immerse themselves in the game world like the Mass Effect series there is a codex that you can read which really pulls you further into the game lore. in my opinion you have to have a tactical mind to complete some parts of this game because it gives you a interesting view of the world. I have not really played any other RPGs other than the Mass effect series but this game uses the technology available excellently.

92

Great game!

lazygamer559 | May 14, 2013 | See all lazygamer559's reviews »

Being made by Bioware this game has some great writing. It's the inly game where I would talk to an npc knowing that they had no quest to offer, just because I wanted to know more about the story.

It's not an open world game unfortunately, although for once I didn't mind. It let's Bioware get a tighter grasp of the story. Controlling four characters at once was confusing at the start, although I got the hang of it and it was pretty fun being able to use all the classes on the fly.

Overall it has a fantastic atmosphere and characters I could believe. Possible downside is facial expressions look a bit odd, although it could be much worse.

98

One of the Best Games of the Genre I've Ever Played

georgecopos | Feb. 27, 2013 | See all georgecopos's reviews »

I absolutely loved this game. The story was very well written, the voice acting is terrific, the music is amazing and the choices you get to make feel meaningful. Gameplay was generally smooth and very fun and the controls made sense. Graphics were nice for their time as well.

The characters were very well developed. You really felt something for them and it was nice to see how the relationships played out. Not just the main characters either but even supporting characters who had smaller roles were really fun and fascinating. I really enjoyed how your actions directly impacted how the other characters viewed you. One of the nice things is that there's not necessarily a right answer. Its not black and white. Two people might view your actions as a good thing and the other 3 might think you're a jerk. You can't please everyone you know.

I played this game 2 or 3 years ago and loved it. I also played the Awakening expansion pack which was fun and I think its included in this edition, but it was definately missing that close relationship feeling of the original. Dragon Age 2 was also missing a lot but thats a different review.

If you enjoy very well scripted games with great stories, good graphics and just terrific immersive fun, this will keep you entertained for hours and hours. I strongly recommend it!

100

The big one

Stebsis | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

If you like RPG's, you shouldn't be even reading these reviews, just buy the game. The core game already can be hundreds of hours long with multiple characters, different origin stories and different endings and all kinds of little stuff that changes along the way as you make choises. But add all the extra content in Ultimate Edition and you truly get an Ultimate Edition, it doesn't get better than this.

You get to choose what kind of character you make: elf, dwarf or human all with their own little stat bonuses, dwarf is stronger and elf can use magic a bit better and humans are a combination of those two, but ultimately you choose it and the stat bonus is only minor, leaving you a lot of chance to mix and match. I first played the game with warrior elf, and it worked perfectly. You can then choose a class: warrior, rogue or mage, and each has 4 specializations, and 2 more that the Awakening DLC adds, that further mold your character the way you want. You can choose 2 of these specializations and they all have powerful and useful spells, my favorite being arcane warrior for a mage, that changes spellpower to strength and lets your mage become the strongest "warrior" of the group with tons of magic buffs for you and your group, and later on taking spirit healer that lets you heal your group efficiently, making you a one man powerhouse that can heal, support and attack.

Combat is a lot of fun. You manage a group of 4 and later on you can choose who you want to bring with. You can, and you almost must, pause the combat at some points to take a look at the battlefield so that you can easily position your group so that they're most efficient. You can this way quickly assign commands, tell them to attack and with what, and so on. I'd call the combat strategic action, it's still an rpg, not strategy game but there's that nice level of depth in it.

Graphics are where the game falters a bit. I'd dare to say that this is an ugly game. Weapons look like they're made out of some styrofoam or wood and taped around, they're so bulky and more like a toy sword than actual weapon. And some of the places and things, especially the trees look just bad.

The best thing in DA:O are the characters and quests you do. The main story is a bit uninspired and just dull, but in DA:O it's all about the characters and journey, not where it ends. You gather a group to take down the big bad guy, an archdemon, this giant dragon. But the quests that you do to achieve this goal are the main thing. You need to decide wheter you align yourselves with werewolves or elfes, what side do you take in dwarven powerstruggle, do you side with little racist templars and take down the mages that are kind of like the victims, they didn't choose to be that way but could destroy the world if let loose, and that kinds of things. They're interesting and long quests filled with many interesting little quests. Your choises have weight, and the outcome depends on these choises. Characters are top notch, the best ever, and I mean ever, especially your companions. They all have interesting stories, voice acting is perfect and they're just fun people to talk with, and depending on your sex you can even have a romance subplot with one of them.

There isn't anything really bad to say about DA:O aside from some of the not so good graphics, but good graphics don't make a good game. This is the RPG of RPG's, one of the best games ever made.

100

Fantastic

xydanus | Jan. 14, 2013 | See all xydanus's reviews »

Dragon age is one of the best single player RPG games ever made. Gameplay is pure gold: Tactical thinking with strategic gameplay elements.

I have played this game three times for just because it has so much content, different choises in bioware style, different characters and damn good DLC packs. There is at least 60 hours of gameplay for those that are interested to know more about characters and places around the fantasy world.

Dragon Age's world is full of fantasy creatures like orcs, elfs, humans, mages and dwarves. Player is part of group which starts campaing against evil forces, called blight. Story guides our hero to gather everyone that are willing to help him/her in this quest.

I do recommend Dragon Age for everyone. It has so much content...

97

Definitely a must buy

julio77777 | Dec. 12, 2012 | See all julio77777's reviews »

This compilation contains every DLCs (and Bioware is giving away all promotional items on their social network).

This is absolutely amazing, with a unique dark medieval atmosphere, a classic but good story and good characters and interactions beetween them. The DLCs are mostly meh (except the expansion which is really enjoyable) but still worth playing as they add some backstory.

To top it all the modding community has made this game even more enjoyable. You can buy this one with your eyes closed !

96

Perhaps the best RPG I played in years

abelfs | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all abelfs's reviews »

What can I say about it?? A wonderful story and atmophere, the gameplay is the perfect heritage of Baldur's Gate. even better. Long and plenty of possibilities. The visuals are not its best but serve their purpose. Just buy it and you won't regret it!!

97

A must buy

darthmagister | Nov. 12, 2012 | See all darthmagister's reviews »

Dragon Age Ultimate edition is an absolute must-buy. The game has an excellent plot, with more than 40 hours worth of activity. Decision-making and carefully planned tactics are essential. A great party management system, customizing each member's items and a rather well designed tactics system where you can issue commands to program their behaviour. What's even better with that edition it comes fully packed with the expansion Awakening and all the DLCs which have nice additions like Leliana's Song and Witch hunt. DA: O is definitely one of the best RPGs we've seen in a few years, nice atmosphere, a great universe to learn about, balanced and challenging gameplay.

96

Great game

Zinzun | Sept. 24, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

This is one of the greatest RPG of the last decade.A lot of quests,great story,very good tracks...and the Ultimate Versions contains ALL the DLC,including Dragon Age Awakening,the first "great" expansion,that is about 30 hours long. There are also other characters like the Golem,and a little DLC,Witch Hunt,that takes place after the main game. Buy this,is a very good game and you never regret it.

95

Buy this, instead of getting them separated.

Gh0st233 | June 8, 2012 | See all Gh0st233's reviews »

Dragon Age: Origins is one of the best RPG games I have ever played, because of the story mode and the storytelling itself, and the characters who you can get to know.

The length of the original game is about 50 hours on one playthrough, however, as there are tons of different decisions to be made to influent the game's storyline and three different classes, that offer different gameplay and playstyle, you may be looking at over 100 hours if you're dedicated enough. The Awakening expansion adds another 15 or 20 hours, not really sure about the length of that. And there are other mini-story dlcs, that should add another 5 or 10 hours to the mix, which then comes out as a great pack for a great price for a dedicated RPG fan, like yourself.

I rarely recommend getting games for the full price, but I have honestly enjoyed this game to it's fullest, and would recommend it, any time.