Reviews for Red Faction Guerilla

88

Perfect destruction

SinisterDragon | March 15, 2014 | See all SinisterDragon's reviews »

The destruction engine in this game is second to none. Literally everything can be destroyed and always in spectacular ways. It is so much fun to sneak in and carefully place explosives on an enemy building's supports and then detonate and watch the it all collapse very realistically in my opinion. Its just as much fun to jump inside a mech (think power loader from Aliens) and run through buildings, vehicles and enemies.

It also features multiplayer which can be good at times. Its the frantic madness that makes it fun rather than the tactical shooting. There is also a mode where you try to beat others scores by causing as much destruction as possible in a given time limit.

This is a very fun game that you could easy sink hours into just blowing things up and watching the pieces fly.

70

An interesting experience...

damienjameswebb | Jan. 30, 2014 | See all damienjameswebb's reviews »

Red Faction Guerilla takes the IP to a whole new level of what a sandbox game is. The story line isn't the most interesting and the missions can be somewhat mundane, but when you can throw away hours of your time by blowing up convoys or finding new ways to destroy a building brick by brick you know that this isn't any ordinary game. The new engine they brought to the table was one to marvel over. Almost perfect physics and random particular deconstruction come together in a way that is almost poetic to watch while you blow the bridge supports and watch as a whole army falls hundreds of feet to their deaths in a fiery explosion at the bottom of a cavernous ravine. Your selection of weapons is OK at best however. Don't get me wrong, a few timed explosives and maybe a sledgehammer is really all you need... however you only get four weapon slots, and your ammo seems very limited at times. The "ammo crates" that are spread around the map are placed at least in places where you will be blowing stuff up, but there's not enough of them. Once it gets used that's it, you can't go back and use it again. There are vehicles as well in this game, and although the driving mechanics aren't the greatest, they are very useful. each vehicle has health on top of your own health, so if your about to die, you can just jump right into a new vehicle and BOOM full heath again.

All in all, the game is good. It's not great, mind you (it still needs a lot of work and a decent modding capability) but its passable. Regardless of how mundane the story and missions are. All i really wanted to do was grab a few pounds of C4 and see just how big of a mess i could make (and really thats all that should matter).

70

I can't stop detroying stuff

jrod7405 | Jan. 15, 2014 | See all jrod7405's reviews »

Honestly, this title is so-so until you factor in the open world destruction factor. I think I spent an extra 15-20 hrs just purposely destroying as many things as possible, it's addictive. With a sledgehammer is best, although the bombs are fun too. Not as cool with a bazooka, much more fun with hand to hand hammer-time. Beyond that, the story is weak...the shooting controls a little wonky compared to say Far Cry 3. Some missions are unreasonably hard for what you are supposed to do and others surprisingly easy even though it should be harder. Last mission took me a awhile - not because it was super hard but because I didn't know how to approach it off the bat. Rule of thumb - go in guns a blazing and don't stop moving. That's the fastest way to finish the game. You may need to disable the DirectX 3D if you lots of annoying lens flares.

80

Quite entertaining

Gmen | Jan. 10, 2014 | See all Gmen's reviews »

The first Red Faction game made a splash because of its destructible environments, which was something new in games at that time. Red Faction Guerrilla does away with the first person camera which was used in the first two games, and opts for a third person approach instead.

The gameplay is pretty much the same, and allows you to blow up almost everything in the game with detpacks, rocket launchers – or you could take a sledgehammer to it if you’re in the mood. Destructible environments and mind-blowing physics are the order of the day here.

Guerrilla is a lot more similar to Grand Theft Auto, but minus a lot of the silliness of GTA. But the sandbox style of play is much the same. You are able to hijack vehicles and use them to accomplish a variety of missions which you'll get from different characters strewn across the rather large game map.

I had mixed feelings getting into it, but it has proved itself to be one of the better entries in an otherwise lacklustre series of games.

80

Great game with fun physics

gforcesa | Jan. 1, 2014 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

This game was really fun a couple of years ago.I remember playing it for hours and doing all the challenges just because it was fun to destroy buildings and watch them fall to the ground.It's still really fun and a good game to play.I mostly liked destroying stuff with the hammer and the acid type liquid which destroys the walls of buildings in seconds.Get this game it's worth the price, you'll thank me later.

70

A real "Jack of all trades, master of none" game

SeanBahamut | Dec. 26, 2013 | See all SeanBahamut's reviews »

When the Red Faction series decided to go open world, I was dubious. The strength of the original was the directed levels & narrative fused with this really fun destruction element.

RF Guerilla was a game I therefore waited to buy until the price was a bit lower, and I have to admit, I enjoyed it very much for the amount of money I paid. I logged 30 hours in this game while 100% completing the campaign. The game allows you to do a variety of tasks while exploring different themed zones of Mars like desolate wastelands and a built-up urban area, all the while you are encouraged to break or blow-up stuff to collect resources.

Each idea in this game is relatively well implemented, but nothing really stands out as a unique and very polished feature. For example the destruction seems a bit off as sometimes buildings are left standing when there is virtually no support left. The game is also presented well enough without looking superb. However, I did really enjoy exploring the well presented landscape of Mars, and the story was just about strong enough to keep me interested to the end.

My one and only warning, the "Games for Windows Live" DRM. I personally have no issues with it, but many people do. Also the service is rumoured to stop at some time during 2014, so this game is best purchased and played ASAP as you may find yourself unable to in the future.

90

More story, more destruction

maces006 | Oct. 5, 2013 | See all maces006's reviews »

This being the first red faction game i played, i went into playing with an open mind. The game is very good at delivering an interesting story, as well as providing a satisfying amount of building destrutcion, although after playing the original Red Faction the lack of environment destruction did disapoint me a little bit. Guerilla comes packed with a wide variety of weapons that are changable at the HQ, although being restricted to only 4 weapons at a time is a bit redundant. Overall Red Faction Guerilla delivers what it was set out to do and it delivers it very well.

60

Open world game with repetitive and tedious missions

Desidiosus | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all Desidiosus's reviews »

RF: Guerrilla is an open world action game set in Mars, which is controlled by the Earth Defense Force. The main character joins the Red Faction resistance after the introduction/tutorial level and the goal of the game is to free Mars from the tyranny of EDF.

Gameplay is pretty standard 3rd-person shooter, but the twist is the destructible environment. The ground isn't destructible but all buildings etc. can be destroyed. There are also vehicles to drive around, but most of them are quite slow and not tha fun to drive around in. The story progresses through missions, which aren't very long or even that innovative. There are also several side missions available, but they repeat the same pattern and get tedious very quickly. The story isn't very good either.

Difficulty-wise the game is kinda hard, because you die quite quickly even on normal and it takes some time for the health to regen. However, you could just go to a vehicle for a few seconds, which regenerates your health quite quickly. You also run out of ammo for the weapons very quickly and then you have to pick up one of the enemies' weapons or resort to the melee weapon. Alternatively you could go to an ammo crate, but those sparsely scattered around the world and they don't even have that much ammo in them.

There is a small upgrade system in the game, which can be used to buy a few new weapons and then some upgrades to them. The "currency" in the game is salvage, which can be obtained by destroying EDF buildings, completing missions or by mining ore deposits.

I would imagine that people, who like to roam around the world and just do random stuff, would enjoy the game more, but I don't really enjoy doing that so I didn't have that much fun playing the game. The game is best played in short bursts, because there isn't much to do in the game unless you really like destroying virtual buildings.

I finished the game in about 13 hours and I did about 45 of the 104 side missions the game has. The main story doesn't take that long to beat, but you must do some side missions for each area before the final story mission for the area unlocks.

It's just an average open world action game that isn't much fun to play. It also has GFWL, which can cause problems for some people.

70

A dissapointing sandbox with great destruction mechanics.

lushteinas | Jan. 17, 2013 | See all lushteinas's reviews »

Red Faction Guerilla comes from a series of games famous for their enviroment destruction mechanics. Guerilla takes the sand box approach to things. The setting is colonial Mars. You play as one of the rebels that fight the EDF for... I guess freedom? Really the story failed to capture my interest, the missions all were your run of the mill shoot'em, blow up that building, do that or that. And while it is fun to mess around in the sandbox the same thing repeated over and over in the missions and in time between them gets old very quickly. While you might have a few laughs with your buddies at great building destruction mechanics, you can easily get bored by lack of any other interesting features. The shooting mostly lacks the ummph, and while there are some interesting weapons you have to go through quite some tedious mission gameplay to unlock them and wreck havoc. But those are only my two-cents. If you're a fan of destruction sandboxes - try it out. If you're looking for a shooter/GTA style game - avoid.

80

The physics engine makes this game.

Teix | Jan. 7, 2013 | See all Teix's reviews »

Geo-Mod 2.0.

This incredible game engine is what makes RFG so much fun to play. Forget gunplay, plot, writing, characters, soundtrack, graphics! All those things are superfluous when you're using your sledgehammer to break apart a building, entering houses through the walls while driving a truck, and smashing everything in your path with a giant mech.

Everything in RFG can be completely destroyed. The game knows that is exactly what you want to do, and is happy to oblige, providing fun side missions and guns that make great use of the game engine's power. Unfortunately, the "Mars Police" can be a big annoyance, taking away some of the fun and they keep trying to kill you.

85

Oddly addicting and beautiful game

Scorpy | Jan. 7, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Although Red Faction Guerilla's setting seems bland and boring, there is a certain prettiness about it. Mars' landscapes are barren and red, but I had no trouble spending as much time as I wanted in there.

Red Faction Guerilla's main gimmick is its destructible environments. It's very fun for the first few hours, but it eventually becomes somewhat old once you get used to see massive structures tumble at your feet. That's not to say it's not fun, it's just that the charm wears off fast.

The story is corny and cheesy, with dialogue often cringe-inducing and never that great. You most likely won't play for the story, though.

Red Faction Guerilla is an interesting addition to the series. It tries to be different while still being the same and that's a hard thing to accomplish. For that, I admire it quite a lot and had a great time playing it.

84

Utter demolition!

DonVercetti | Jan. 5, 2013 | See all DonVercetti's reviews »

This is an aged game by now, It's not expensive anymore and is a definite must-get! I got this game just for one single reason: Demolition. You're placed upon Mars, and you have the ability to absolutely demolish everything that is build upon Mars. You start off with the best tool to do so, a big sledgehammer! Later on in the game you unlock things like explosives, big rifles, big explosive gun, vaporizing weapons. I for one enjoy this title more than it's follower Armageddon! And even if you are a huge Red Faction fan and already have some hours into Armageddon, I do advice you to quickly look in to this title!

79

Red Faction Guerilla - review

carlyle | Jan. 4, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

Red Faction: Guerrilla is a real sand-box to the GTA. The gameplay, tested and intuitive, while allowing the player a fair amount of freedom, remains linear main missions assigned by the Red Faction to our alter ego aim to weaken the EDF and reduce its control over one of the six areas of Mars in which we are operating. They are definitely the most intriguing and varied, from simple demolition of buildings in the race to the destruction of transmitters on board a vehicle, chased by dozens of enemies - than the quest outline, all aimed at reducing the influence of EDF and increase fame: the gratitude of civilians will lead them to give us a hand in the crossfire while we do very careful not to harm our allies to avoid becoming a bit 'too unpopular. The missions are quite similar boundary between them, destruction of plants and buildings or support the rebels attacked by EDF in places and times completely random. The real reason the saga remains the total annihilation, which is at the discretion of the player: you can throw on a farm and begin to tear down all the walls, or that single center, realistic point which is the key to the whole structure . A couple of shots, and a whole building will collapse in front of you. It 's all in real-time. Bridges, towers and vehicles: all falls apart when struck by hammers, controlled detonation explosives, rockets, lasers and more.

75

Explosive gameplay

Lekes | Jan. 4, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

An amazing premise and fun combat that's only hampered by a lack of polish and mission diversity. The weapons and geo-mod physics are pretty amazing and combine to form some great thrills, such as crashing your dump truck into a jail in order to free a couple of bound prisoners. Plus, this game is a collector's dream with tons of signs to destroy and items to seek out and collect. On the downside, the driving mechanics are maddeningly unresponsive, the world is a bit too spread out and the game's sandbox-style missions can get repetitive as there's only a handful of different types of missions across a largely monochromatic setting. Though, if you enjoy mayhem, destruction and improvisation its easy to overlook these shortcomings and I really hope they add co-op to the next one as this game begs for it.

80

I destroy everything!

Darder | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all Darder's reviews »

The simple concept of being able to destroy everything is an argument that should make you buy the game instantly. It is fun to blow up every buildings or smash through them with a giant, gravity hammer on mars. The storyline is good to follow, and the multiplayer is sure fun!

95

Play this game

teedle | Nov. 10, 2012 | See all teedle's reviews »

This game has surpassed all of my expectations. Nothing beats the satisfaction of hacking away at a bunch of space buildings with a big hammer. Anyone who has fun with physics will adore tearing down every last building in Red Faction Guerilla. The game has a lot to do in its open world map. Almost everything though is about destroying things because that's the gimmick of the game. And it's an awesome gimmick. The shooting in the game is also competent but you wont care because it is just so damn fun to wreck buildings.

And if you are a fan of the original red faction then I cant suggest this game enough. The strategy of destroying the ground in the original is translated great in this sequel. For example, instead of strategically burrowing into a wall in the original you now find yourself busting a hole in a building and jumping in. Guerilla gets to keep its shooter chops too as there are plenty of guns to choose from. The controls are tight, the graphics are great, the game is really fun. Just go play it!

89

Grab this before you decide to grab Armageddon

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

It's like GTA4 on Mars. Except the setting is a bit boring, there isn't really much to do besides the usual sidemissions and it's reddish all over the place. But the fun part is blowing up everything, LITERALLY EVERYTHING. Never had such a good time :D The sledgehammer kills look very satisfying and the multiplayer is tons of tun as well. Too bad it's a sloppy port so there were basically no people playing when it was just released (the controls are a bitch). The only downsides for me were the accidental kills (like when parts of the building fall down on you, thus killing you) and the extremely frustrating endsequence. Man, that part was tough. All in all I have really high hopes for Armageddon (they're handling the PC version with care this time), and I seriously hope they can pull it off to hook me once more.

70

Interesting gameplay, fun while it lasts.

fable2 | Oct. 29, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

This game can be a lot of fun, it's based around the concept of fully destructible buildings, basically everything that is human-buildt can be destroyed. Then you add an open map, some cover mechanics, the usual set of secondary missions and a decent main plot, and BAM Red faction.

This game has two big issues though, and they become bigger the more you play. First, the game is solely supported by the destructive gameplay, and once you get bored of blowing up things, you get bored of the game.I think more games should include destructible environments, but it should be something to spice up the game, not the basis of it. And second, half-way through the game you become a colossal force of nature that can blow up pretty much anything in sight, so it feels like playing with cheats on and you get tired faster.

Still, It's a lot of fun for the first 10 hours, and that's a very good point.

91

Think Saints Row on Mars

Cooberstooge | Aug. 28, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

Open world destruction is really all you need to know about this game. Don't care for how something looks? Blow it up, shoot it up, drive through it, or rip it down! This game is so awesome it's just crazy.

Fight to free hostages, take back bases, steal intelligence, and cause general mayhem. Permanent destruction ensures that bridge you blew to bits yesterday will still be causing problems for the powers that be today. Humanity is not alone, but the true alien threat is quite possibly the guy driving past you. Everything on wheels can be driven and destroyed, and you'll gain access to mining walkers later on in the game, which can stomp stuff to bits and toss cars and trucks as though they were toys.

There is some micro-stutter present while I'm playing the game, but it's not due to anything obvious and is quite easily ignored. I've never once had the game crash on me, and the multiplayer component, while pretty quiet nowadays, still sees active games most hours. Guerilla does use Games for Windows Live DRM, but it's never caused me a problem on this title.

I wholeheartedly recommend Red Faction: Guerilla. You cannot possibly go wrong with a purchase of it, if you even remotely like games with lots of destruction in them. This one is off the scale good.

90

Now this is the Bomdizzle

WalrusKing171 | Aug. 23, 2012 | See all WalrusKing171's reviews »

The game is fun to play and has great destructable environments. I spent hours and hours loading towers with C4 and blowing them sky high. This game is fun and when I mean fun I mean its like hanging out with Jay Wilson. The sledge hammer sends things flying and the building crashing down. The missions are fun and never get old for me. Overall: It is the most solidest game.

85

Decent game

Gh0st233 | Aug. 20, 2012 | See all Gh0st233's reviews »

Red Faction: Guerilla is a decent third-person action game, with an interesting setting. Unlike the first Red Faction game, it is no first person shooter, but instead, an open-world action game with engaging combat and some good destructible environment, and vehicles to drive around the surface of the Mars. What it also features, is the multiplayer mode, which is not that bad. It certainly is a cool feature to have, and can extend the gametime by a fair amount.

Red Faction: Guerilla is, while different from it's predecessors, is not a bad game, at all. It is worth playing and checking out. Definitely recommended.

79

Decent 3rd person Shooter/ Demolisher

TheGreatTomato | Aug. 20, 2012 | See all TheGreatTomato's reviews »

In Red Faction Guerilla you are a man named Alec who has been sent to mars on a mission to rid Mars of the Earth Defense Force by destroying everything they own. You are given plenty of demo tools which you have the power to use on anything you see fit. After a while the game does get boring there are tons of repetitive missions that you have to do just to take control of small parts of mars. Being that you can drive pretty much any care you find help when you have to trek over such a large area. On another note the games multiplayer is not worth the effort they put into making it, it is just another generic deathmatch/CtF game types you will easily forget. Overall the game is worth it, even though the landscape is rather ugly and boring, who doesn't want to sneak into giant military bases and destroy everything in a massive explosion!

85

Take back Mars!

FreeMan85 | Aug. 20, 2012 | See all FreeMan85's reviews »

Red Faction Guerrilla is the true sequel of first Red faction game! Forget that terrible Red Faction II. Set in around 50 years later then the first game there's a new menace too the Miners and Mars. Now not Ultor, but the first game saviors, the EDF are playing the oppressive corporation. Play as Alec Mason a new worker who just arrived Mars for hope of a better life just got pulled into the new revolution. Since we highly outnumbered the gameplay focuses to guerrilla tactics: attack a strategic location, hit it hard then get away fast! Use your sledgehammer to deemolish virtually everything! Destroy walls, buildings, barracks, vehicles or the enemy itself. Or hijack some big vehicle and smash an EDF installation. Nothing can stand in your way. But be careful, the enemy AI is quite good and they spawning in swarms. We got a little danger meter, if it goes to green they gave up and we can take a deep breath. But how we progress in the game and collecting scraps our lovely technician can develoop new weapons, armor upgrades or special gadgets. Mars regions are big and named after the first game heroes! Just like many other thing in the game, if you played the first one you will love Guerrilla! We got nice CGI cut scenes and very good voice-acting. The upgraded Geo-Mod works just fine, but we can demolish only the buildings and vehicles. The rocks are not taking any kind of damage. So we can't rearrange the look of Mars Maybe the only let down of the game. The graphics is awesome! well detailed and artistry designed. And you doesn't high-end PC too run in smootly. My PC a 2,6 GHz dual-core with a 8600 GT just runs fine on High settings. Even the bigger explosions can't effect the gameplay. The Havok engine working well too. A nicely developed game. The game is using Games for Windows LIVE for achievement sand stats, and for mutilplayer. Sadly the MP is very dead, even if can give much as fun as like any other AAA title. The game also contains almost every, if not all DLCs. Like the one which set before Alec's story.

If you ever played Red Faction you can't miss Guerrila! Created by the original developer RFG is an awesome sequel. With a GTA type of gameplay.