Reviews for Mass Effect 3 (EU)

85

The least best Mass Effect

Funtaine | April 16, 2014 | See all Funtaine's reviews »

With each entry in the series, the Mass Effect games have become worse. However, near-perfection becoming worse doesn't make it a bad game. In the science fiction RPG genre, Mass Effect 3 is a light in the dark.

Your choices from former games barely feel important. Others might criticize the ending but after the new DLC ending, it doesn't leave a bad taste in my mouth. The journey towards the ending is worth it all and the ending can be enjoyable if you do stay open minded.

Worth buying if on sale!

89

Mass Effect 3

blueberry10 | March 28, 2014 | See all blueberry10's reviews »

Mass Effect 3 is the third and final sequel of trilogy. The game is great, but not as great as previous Mass Effect's, combat mechanics are great, graphics too, and story is like I'm playing some good movie.

Bad side of this game is that Mass Effect 3 lost some feeling, like atmosphere in gameplay, which its predecessors had, but overall the game is very good and cheap nowdays to get it.

85

Fun as always with great multiplayer

SinisterDragon | March 15, 2014 | See all SinisterDragon's reviews »

Mass Effect 3 is a very well made game. It takes the story telling from ME1 and the gameplay from ME2 and creates an experience that is hard to come by. The ending is disappointing for series fans but I'm just going to focus on gameplay.

The fighting in this game has been perfected since the original game. Its fast paced and exciting. It can also be quite challenging, but in a good way. Every fight feels like you are fighting for your life and makes you feel like a real hero. The writing is also great too. The second game featured a lot of missions where you help your squad mates with their problems while holding their hands, but ME3 puts you back on front of the Reapers in an attempt to save the galaxy.

It also comes with multiplayer that I was totally against when I first heard of it but after I gave it a go I became hooked. The multiplayer mode is so well made that it could be a stand alone game all by itself. You have the choice of multiple versions of the standard classes as well as the chance to play as multiple races which hasn't been done in a Mass Effect game before. You play with 3 other players in a survival mode with side missions included and then if every one survives you must fight and defend yourselves until your ship arrives for extraction.

This is a very well made and exciting game and in all honesty I would buy it for the multiplayer alone.

85

The reapers are here.

gforcesa | Dec. 24, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

A really good game but the ending was a disappointment to a lot of people including me but nonetheless i really enjoyed playing through it.The story is simply amazing and the voice acting of Sheppard and everyone else was really good as always.Of course you will see familiar faces along the way of defeating the reapers, depending on how you played the previous two games.You can expect around 10 hours of gameplay depending on how you play the game, but i recommend you take your time and explore everything if you are a hardcore fan.

85

Good TPS, bit anticlimactic after the others.

abelegu2 | Dec. 15, 2013 | See all abelegu2's reviews »

I was expecting more from this part then we got. If you're a fan of the series though, it's definitely something you cannot miss. Do not forget to order the Day-1 DLC as well, and a selective others. Not all are worth your time and money but some of them are good enough. It focuses more on multiplayer gameplay so I guess we can't be surprised at how this part turned out... Either way, worth to get on sale, and if you can get it on a pack with other games it should be a do-not-miss opportunity. Definitely worth it if you're a fan of RPG games.

83

A great game flawed by a very lackluster ending

commanderhavoc | Dec. 2, 2013 | See all commanderhavoc's reviews »

ME3 was to be the final game in the Shepard trilogy and we were promised that every choice we had made in the previous two would matter, but alas we were not given the ending that we had hoped for. But aside from the very poor and lackluster ending, it still is a great game with some really memorable characters and moments, you even get to see the characters that survived the Suicide Mission in ME2 during certain missions. It also features a rather fun co-op horde mode where you and 3 other players must fight against Cerberus, Reaper, Geth and Collectors (the Collectors are added in the free multiplayer DLC Retaliation) over several increasingly tough waves until they are given the green light to be extracted from the battlefield. A really cool thing is that you can play as not only humans but also Asari, Turians, Salarians, Drells, Geths, Quarians, Krogan, Batarian, Volus, former Cerberus operatives and even Collectors that are no longer under the control of the Reapers but now fight to preserve the memory of the race they once were. Completing these co-op missions allow you to improve Shepard's chances against the Reapers in the final battle along with what armies he or she are able to muster during the single player campaign. It is generally a very fun multiplayer mode that will make you come back for more and it feels really good when you and your friends manage to complete a mission on the hardest setting. ME3 is a really good game that could have ended a lot better then it did, but it is still worth a playthrough for the characters AND addictive multiplayer co-op mode.

92

Not the best in trilogy, but still really good!

Kordas | Nov. 28, 2013 | See all Kordas's reviews »

Mass Effect Trilogy surely has been one of those game series that will be remembered for long. Mass Effect 3 is a great ending to the series.

Gameplay is definitely the best out of all three games, Shepard can now roll, go from cover to cover and fighting is smoother. AI is improved a lot as well, companions and enemies change their positions, try to flank you and make you get out of your position

Upgrading weapons is great addition too! Now not only you can upgrade weapons for credits but you can also install new viewfinder, lighter elements and a lot more!

Plot is very decent and has some incredibly moving moments! Ending was criticised by many, but in my opinion it is really good with addition of free Extended Cut DLC. Of course soundtrack is still amazing and it's definitely one of the best game soundtracks you'll find.

Overall, I recommend this game to everyone, doesn't matter if you're Mass Effect fan or not. If you aren't though, I highly recommend to play first two before this one, as they introduce you to the characters, plot and the whole universe, and they also let you influence the third game by taking into account your actions throughout Mass Effect 1 & Mass Effect 2 thanks to save import feature.

90

Great, but the end ruins it

Jossuda | Nov. 6, 2013 | See all Jossuda's reviews »

I have been with the mass effect series through all the games and I must say, that Mass effect 3 is the best one. It has exciting gameplay although it can get a little repetitive and the story is very strong and determined. The graphics are good and I have always loved, that in the Mass Effect games, when you re-play the game you can make different decisions and the story can change, thanks to it. Now th ending. It's a little sad, how Bioware made an excellent game, but they fail with the ending so bad. It's like choose the colour of the explosions and the ending is done. When i downloaded the extended cut dlc, it did make the ending better, but still why we must go through so much pain and effort to rally the forces and then we see our hero just die like he's some expendable character. All in all the gameplay and narration is excellent and the story is one of the best, but this game lacks the ability to end the story of commander Shepard and makes us fel empty.

90

Flawed by poor decisions, but stellar outcome

vipc | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all vipc's reviews »

The ending of this game had some serious controversy, enough to bring people up in arms with petitions and harassment of the developers. Eventually the developers had to release additions to the ending to appease some of these fans.

However if you treat Mass Effect 3 as the ending to the trilogy, then it certainly provides a great sense of closure. My problem with the game is the false sense the game gives you with decisions. Throughout the game, you are given choices, but the payoff leaves much to be desired. The journey on the other hand certainly makes up for it though. The storytelling is stellar as usual, and the gameplay is as robust as the previous iterations of the game. Ideally, one should play at least Mass Effect 2 first, but even newcomers can get right into this game and enjoy the hell out of it.

Here's the real kicker though. EA is up to it's usual antics with day one DLC, and subsequent DLC that is story critical. That certainly puts a dint in my opinion of the game. The game is iteratively more streamlined, and should be easy for anyone to get into. Even though it is streamlined for the masses, there is still something there for those long time fans from the first or second game.

Overall, the game is great in my opinion. If you are a fan of the previous games, then ME3 is more of the same, but better. The storytelling, the voice acting, the graphics and the gameplay are all stellar and iteratively better than the previous.

90

The final

MarcoCav | Oct. 2, 2013 | See all MarcoCav's reviews »

Mass Effect is Mass Effect! Despite all the criticism he has received from the public, this third episode must not be neither underestimated nor ignored by those who are still involved in the plot of the first two. The interaction with the characters and the world of Mass Effect is always at the highest levels, as well as the feeling that the fate of the universe depends on us.

91

Really good

rjb789 | Sept. 25, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

This game is the final chapter to the trilogy of Mass Effect which follows Captain Shepard and his attempts to stop an alien threat from attacking various planets. This provides a hero that I was very happy to control and make choices in the game with. The graphics are brilliant! Planets each have their own individual amazing locations and vistas you look out upon. The voice acting and musical score is just as great as you'd expect from a Mass Effect game and the new shooting mechanics and cover system really reinvents the games core ideas. The story drives the game and,despite the disappointing ending, is a great platform for Shepard to run and gun.

74

Good but expected better

Glyndwr | Sept. 21, 2013 | See all Glyndwr's reviews »

This is where the trilogy ends. I really liked the first two games but this one felt more like a chore than enjoyment compared to the other two. The same core gameplay features are there but it just feels like more of the same and the characters seem to have had less work put into them this time around which loses some of the interest. It may be because actions across the games mean some characters could be dead that we have met in the other games but they all seem to pretty much have a short dialogue tree and very little else, I guess the developers didn't want to put much work into what maybe 50% of players would not see. Unfortunately this impacts on the whole experience and leaves this game feeling hollow and rushed compared to the stronger first two games in the series, pick it up on sale.

80

Great game, sadly rushed

Mates1500 | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all Mates1500's reviews »

I love all the games in the Mass Effect series, but how good is exactly the third one? To start off, the shooting mechanics, effects, cover and all that stuff, it's polished the most, and the most satisfying in all of those 3 games, it's simply great. I never expected a multiplayer of this game, it's not really anything mindblowing, but it's still a pretty damn good job by Bioware, to extend the playtime of this game. It's simply waves of enemies coming at you, there are 4 difficulty levels, if I recall correctly. You can choose from all possible different races and classes, every combination has something unique in terms of the abilities/spells. Overall a satisfying experience, but the netcode is written very badly. When I wanted to play with two of my friends, I just couldn't, it never connected, even after 10 minutes of the boring "connecting..." screen. Don't count on playing this game's multiplayer with friends from countries far away from yours.

The visuals are gorgeous, this game is very well optimized. It's kind of a paradox, that this game looks the best from the series, and actually runs at the highest framerate of the 3. The only problem with the port to PC I've got is that many actions are bound to your spacebar and you can't separate them without modding the game's .ini files, why would you do that if you've got so many keys available on a keyboard compared to controller's buttons?

I really liked the story until the last 20 minutes. It all went nuts and a lot of stuff there didn't really make any sense from a lore standpoint if you think about what happened in the last 2 games. The ending was clearly rushed. Bioware has released a free DLC to explain why some things happened and some didn't, I give them props for that, but it doesn't change the fact that everyone just expected something more from the ending, the game was very clearly rushed.

The ending was kinda meh, but otherwise this game is just epic, recommended to all the Mass Effect fans. You can play it even if you didn't play the previous 2 games, but I wouldn't recommend it, there are lots of things you wouldn't know about in the story if you even in the slightest manner care about it.

100

Awe-struck

kr1sEboi | Aug. 20, 2013 | See all kr1sEboi's reviews »

When I was sitting in my class at University, my friends talked non-stop about the mass effect series and I often ignored it as it wasn't "my type of game". Along came a sale and I decided why not. I played my way from the first Mass Effect to this one and I can honestly say without a doubt how wrong I was. This gaming series is one of the best that I have ever played. This gaming series was truly an extraordinary experience and is extremely rewarding to fully complete every game in the series. The plot is truly exceptional, graphics are amazing, gameplay is fun but the major stand out for me was re-playability of the game. You can play the game several times over with a male or female protagonist with different agendas and each play-through will feel different with the in-game characters reacting to each decision you have made in the past. It was so good, I wish i could blank my mind and replay it just so I could experience it all over again. Couldn't recommend it highly enough.

75

It's all about the journey, not the destination

The_Hostage | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all The_Hostage's reviews »

Yes, the ending to the game / series is a big let down. But for me, it was always about the journey - meeting new characters, visiting new worlds, the trials and tribulations of Commander Shepherd are just as good in this game as they were back in ME1. Well, not quite as good - they feel more streamlined, easier and the overall experience feels watered down. Where it should have bounded it took baby steps, and not all of them in the right direction. The multiplayer was a fun diversion, but I hated how it was tied into the Single Player story. It didn't have strong enough writing or scenarios - this is a war, not a bunch of arena scraps. But was it fun? yes. Did it look great? yes. Am i glad I played it? yes. Just prepare to be disappointed in how far a great franchise can fall.

89

Awesome

xSh4d0wXx | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all xSh4d0wXx's reviews »

This game was great. I really enjoyed the game as a whole and the tough decisions were indeed tough. A great end to a great trilogy.

85

Good game

systeemid | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all systeemid's reviews »

Mass effect 3 is a good game. Had some really nice features. But it's not good as ME 2, but it's about same good as ME 1. Gameplay is good. Story is enthralling. There is a big minus and it's ending. The ending was just so disappointing. I hoped something cooler. It's pretty long game, it took me to complete this game about 35 hours. One good plus is environment, it looked so beatiful and there was many awesome places.

88

The trilogy ends, but is this a good end?

metalos1 | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all metalos1's reviews »

In my ME2 review, i described that, the ME2 is the best in the series. Unfortunatelly the ME3 not reach above it. The game is good, the gameplay is same what we got used to in the previous games, Shepard is still badass, his/her new teammates not so interesting like in the ME2, but they are ok. Firstly in the series, the ME3 got a muliplayer mode, a co-op mode, where you team up with 3 friends and survive the enemies's waves. The graphics and sounds are still professional, the story is good.

The End.

Wait, wait. The end? Yes, the game has a divisive end. The Bioware made an extended cut dlc, what was explain some thing, and modified the anagnorisis. I think, the original end was good, i haven't got any problem with that. But many gamers don't understood that, so they got this dlc, what isn't change too much. We got some new cinematic, and an alternative end changing. So, this game is good, like the other 2 games, just it has some problem with the ending.

92

Shepard, it's time to come back home...

Warning_origina | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all Warning_origina's reviews »

Mass Effect 3 is the final chapter of the Shepard's trilogy set in an awesome universe, created by Bioware. You're going to discover new planet never seen in the previously games, with a lot of new characters to meet and find out their fantastic new story. But sooner or later, all things must come to an end, and despite all, if you're a true fan of Mass Effect saga, you MUST play this game, you have to finish your job and save galaxy, if you can! If you haven't never played a Mass Effect saga game, please, play all the three episodes, and you'll fall in love certainly, not only with an alien! And remember, take Earth back!

88

Great trilogy = great end? No...

garlo79 | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all garlo79's reviews »

The Shepard story ends with this third chapter, Bioware says that in the next chapters the main character will change. The game is very similar to the second chapter, both for the RPG section (only dialogue) and for TPS section (same of the other chapter). The story is interisting but, in my opinion, the ending isn't the best of what Bioware can do. The graphics is the same and the Unreal Engine feels the times but is clean and playable on old machine. Sounds at the top. PRO: story, involvement, it is Mass Effect ODDS: very similar to the second chapter, the end...

85

Fun gamae!

spiken0 | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all spiken0's reviews »

In my opinion Mass Effect 3 wasn't the best in the series(Mass Effect 2), but it is still an outstanding bit of video game entertainment. My score would usually have been 8.5 but the amount of hate that the game is getting for its ending is just absurd. I think the people who are giving it 1-5 are being immature, if they can honestly say that they did not enjoy the 20+ hours leading up to the ending then they are totally blinded by fanboy hate and entitlement and feel that the IP is more theirs than it's Bioware's. Well done Bioware for another stellar role playing experience.

93

the end of the trilogy

balbo79 | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all balbo79's reviews »

The game begins after the events of the DLC for Mass Effect 2: Advent. Shepard is on trial for destroying a galactic gateway, but the alliance after noticing that the threat of raiders has become bigger and bigger Shepard summons to face the enemy. But during these moments, in an unexpected way, the raiders attack the earth and Shepard manages to escape and flee with the help of 'Admiral Anderson. The beginning is not very original and represents the classic start of the series, but the story that follows these events is told in a decidedly fantastic with a narrative that reaches the highest point of the series and with a really deep characterization and treated. Return to moral choices made ​​by Shepard that will allow the character to have a bad or good reputation and be seen in the eyes of her crew in negative or positive ways. This is one of the strengths of the game and in this way the dialogues are more numerous than the previous. The gameplay takes advantage of all the new features introduced in the second chapter by inserting a number of improvements, such as more RPG elements and an even more spectacular and dynamic combat with, in this regard we note the addition of the omniblade, the new melee attack, to be used carefully because it significantly exposes the character to enemy fire. From this point Mass Effect 3 is almost perfect, only flaw the character animations sometimes are imperfect. Mass Effect 3 is not only the best installment of the series but also the conclusion of the seamless one of the best trilogies of this generation, an essential purchase for any player, an epic adventure and engaging from 'beginning to end that will be remembered for many years.

95

Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hunork | July 31, 2013 | See all Hunork's reviews »

So this week I decided its finally time to put out my review for Mass Effect 3, but why so late you ask? Well with all the fuss that surrounded this game at its time of release, I decided to look the other way for a while and let things die down, not to mention muscle my way through my backlog of titles that I haven’t finished yet. I figured it wasn’t worth playing the third title of this grand trilogy until I can spare the time to do the game justice, not just because I wanted to review it, but because I wanted to enjoy it, so here goes. Mass effect 3 has of course been with us since March this year, going from strength to strength in sales with its multi-format release, despite the controversy about its conclusions, re-released endings, patches and DLC packs, none of which I will be discussing beyond this paragraph, given that is already ground well trodden, because in my opinion, if you put 100+ hours (200+ in my case) into a trilogy that you love only to debunk it as rubbish because of the last scene, then I don’t know what to make of that. Love it or hate it, this game, its developers, or its publishers, you can’t deny the numbers, Mass Effect 3 is one of the biggest sensations of this gaming generation, a multi-million selling masterpiece of modern RPG, so lets take a look at what’s new in Mass Effect 3 and see how far Shepard has come in his many fights across the galaxy.

88

all is well that ends well

il_joe | July 3, 2013 | See all il_joe's reviews »

This is the third chapter in the saga of Mass Effect, and that's the final. After a thousand adventures faced in the first two chapters (with ups and downs) you can expect an ending as it should. But before we talk about the plot, talk about the game itself. First, there is the continued metamorphosis from action-RPG in action and just ... I want to say that the RPG aspects are minimized, and almost marginal. We are therefore faced with a shooter with covers, no frills and no major strengths. The companions managed by the AI ​​is pretty good, the enemies sometimes know how to be tough and with some tactics refined, but this does not always happen. We are always with the same weapons and the same psychic powers, and the way you play is very similar to the second chapter. The story is well told, as always, the plot twists are there, and also the inevitable romance. The dialogues are well-written and interesting, and the whole narrative keeps glued to the monitor. Unfortunately, as is well known, all stumble right in the end, that does not match to close a saga so important and so fascinating as Mass Effect. We had accepted the change to a game more action and less RPG, compared with an intriguing and well told story. But this kind of ending.... we would not have wanted ....

85

Great ending of Shepard story.

Matis221 | June 18, 2013 | See all Matis221's reviews »

Shepard story ends in this game, and it's ends very great. Reapers attacks, and Shepard must find allies to help him fight them back where they come from. That game have everything what previous Mass Effect's have. Great story, difficult choices, awesome combat system and many planets to explore in war-torn galaxy.

This is must-heve game if you played previous parts of Mass Effect trilogy. And the ending, it's just perfect, you must see it.

93

Excellent story with a fixed ending

g_reaper1666 | June 12, 2013 | See all g_reaper1666's reviews »

This is an excellent game which does justice to the previous games, Although the original ending was a epic failure i believe that the extended cut has fixed this. I did not like the idea that after all of the time that i put into the game that my character would just sacrifice himself.

The game has a vast graphical improvement over the previous games with the levels looking much more realistic. The ability to see a realistic looking burning earth was just superb and it was the perfect motivator to get me to play the game and try and defeat the reapers. I also like the consquences for not completing missions when you should with events not turning in your favour and not being able to save characters from the previous game.

I also feel like the effort that you spent in the previous games to develop all the different characters pays off in this game because the more that you know about characters like Wrex the more influence that you seem to have over the events happening throughout the game. There is also the fact that you can perform underhanded methods to achieve your goals without other characters knowing for example if wrex died in the first game then it is easier to trick the Krogan into believing that you have cured the genophage.

95

great game

dman19901 | May 7, 2013 | See all dman19901's reviews »

Mass effect is one of my favorite series of games, i have enjoyed every game for its different reasons and 3 has a nice mix of story, game-play and even a co-op mode to kill a few hours in.The ending feels right to me as it fits well to end the series. overall one of the best games i have played in a long time, i was happy to pre order it for pc but now its cheap and well worth the money and time.

93

A fitting end to a fantastic story

gecko92 | April 20, 2013 | See all gecko92's reviews »

Mass Effect 3 is the end of a trilogy of games that tell the story of Commander Shepard. Shepard can be a man, a woman, a hero or a renegade, the choice is up to you. The most important aspect of the game is choice: in some moments you are asked to make important choices that influence the course of events around you, making you feel much more involved in the game and care about the story and the characters. This is why so many people were angry about the ending: it doesn't leave much choice. Despite that, I liked the ending nontheless and felt sad when it was all over, and that happens rarely to me. The game is an action 3rd person shooter with (very) light RPG elements (The previous chapters had a more prominent RPG part), so it can be enjoyed by anyone who likes cover shooters. You can choose at the beginning to let the game automatically make decisions for you, making the game much more linear, but I strongly discourage you from doing that. The best part of the game (and the whole trilogy) is it's interactive story, and if you don't care about that there's no point in playing Mass Effect 1, 2 or 3.

100

Probably the game with the best story I have ever played

STJ | Feb. 4, 2013 | See all STJ's reviews »

Before I get to Mass Effect 3 I have to advise you to play the first and second games,because as people have mentioned it's not the same without the attachment to the characters that you build up in the previous titles.

The Start of the game - Is in my opinion the weakest bit of the game,and I found it quite hard to play the game as it was (As much as I like it) just dragging on.There are however certain missions that you can miss unless you do them right away.All in all I expected more from the beginning however it does introduce a extremely important character* that you will rarely ever see.

The Mid-Way Mark - Is the best bit of the game..The bit where the story develops,where you meet up with your crew* and the main and side missions are most interesting.You want to,like in the beginning,do everything you can do now because you will need all of the help you can get for the end.This bit of the game is introduced by something that will likely leave you very sad assuming you played the previous games.I don't quite remember ever shedding a tear because of a game.

The Ending - You need to pay attention to this bit of the game and do what you came to do originally*.You should also download the free DLC (Extended Cut) because it's a crying shame it wasn't included from the beginning and in my opinion the ending should not be played without it.

A quick heads up considering the Multiplayer - You have to play it for a bit to get the most out of the support you manage to rally.But you shouldn't regret playing it as the multiplayer is quite nicely done.Just about every weekend there is a challenge that will net you nice loot if completed and overall there is plenty to see and do in the Multiplayer.Not to mention it gives you the chance to roughly see what the other classes you could've picked are like.

To sum it up - Mass Effect 3 is an amazing if slightly flawed game and the only thing which I see people complaining about nowadays is the 'forced' multiplayer which you can avoid but should not because it will come back to haunt you.It has superb characters and I can say i came out of the game without hating even one of them.The story does go weird sometimes but is overall still amazing.I can praise this game all day long but let's end it with this.

It's superb and it's worth the money,just remember to play the previous titles first.

92

A near perfect story...

alphalegion | Jan. 30, 2013 | See all alphalegion's reviews »

Mass Effect 3. The end of arguably the best RPG franchise of this decade, or in fact, ever. - But does it hold up to its expectations?

Well, you start on trial, charged with slaughtering over 250,000 Batarians (an event from Mass Effect 2), when suddenly Earth is invaded by the dreaded Reapers. This story starts in a dramatic, emotional and thrilling way, and is somehow kept, throughout your next 40+ hours of play, in this epic adventure.

Never before has I been to drawn into a game such as this. - I would even go so far as to say, it is comparably better than Skyrim, or Deus Ex, two other fantastic RPG’s.

Now, the ending. (don’t worry, spoiler free!) - There has been much controversy surrounding the Mass Effect 3 ending, however! However, there is now a FREE fix for this, and honestly makes the game absolutely brilliant. If we had been given that ending to start with, I would probably be giving this game near 100 points right now, it’s only the fact that it caused so much heart break and controversy, that I had to bring the score down a little.

Needless to say, an absolutely wonderful RPG, set in a fantastic sci-fi world, with an astounding plot line, and brilliant story telling. - You just simply couldn’t ask for better.

80

A worthy ending... to some degree

Stebsis | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

Ok, everyone already knows the ending in ME3 is bad, and it really is even with the added stuff in the free DLC. It just contradicts everything ME is about, but enough about it. The game itself is a worthy entry to a great action RPG series, not quite on par with ME2 though. ME3 definitely isn't a game where you want to start the ME series even though the developers have said you can catch on just fine. Well, maybe you can, but the emotional bonds that you carry over all the way from the first game are what make this game so worthwile even when considering the ending. You just will not get the same feeling with just ME3. There are some really emotional moments, and even though you can choose what Shepard does and how his story unfolds, you're not in control of the other characters and their destinies, and they make some emotional and heartbreaking decisions and it feels if you've been with them the whole time.

There are some amazing set pieces, particularly the Krogan home planet where a Thresher Maw attacks a Reaper, it's just epic and awe inspiring. The first moments of the game as Reapers arrive to Earth are are also just epic, almost no game has ever done it at the scale ME3 has, and the final moments at the ruins of Earth are unforgettably awesome.

It's just a shame that the choises you make don't really seem to have any meaning, you at least don't visibly see the results from the people and races you saved or destroyed.

Combat has been improved from ME2 and skill system has been made a bit deeper, though not nearly as deep as in ME1. There are various new enemies with different tactics, like a brute that rushes towards you. They're challenging foes on higher difficulties and you have to really strategise at some battles.

Graphically the game is superb, the setpieces of crumbling Earth, deserts of Tuchanka, moon of a Turian homeworld that Reapers have conquered and you see the planet in the sky. Everything is so big and epic.

ME3's problems come with the story, characters and lack of choises, and they're what made ME2 such a masterpiece. If you've played previous ME games, don't let the bad ending throw you off from this. ME3 is worthy all the way and who knows, you might love the ending more than most.

80

Great way to finish the trilogy

Takeshi_K | Dec. 25, 2012 | See all Takeshi_K's reviews »

Mass Effect 3 unfortunately isn't the game I was hoping for. I was hoping for more RPG customization when it came to combat instead of only having choices and consequences as the RPG elements.

The combat is more direct and aggressive which suits the franchise. There's good moments for the characters we've followed for years and the voice acting is as impeccable as ever. The graphics are okay for this generation although titles such as The Witcher 2 and Uncharted 3 really makes it painful just how far behind the Bioware are in utilizing new technology. Still the graphics do what they must.

All in all, it was a joy to play the game despite my disappointments.

90

Don't know why the controversy

abelfs | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all abelfs's reviews »

It's incredible that a game that is the zenith of one of the best modern sagas could have been defenestrated by the majority of its fans ONLY by the ending. I know, it could have been improvable, but what about the other 99% of the game??? Absolutely a masterpiece, I missed the RPG component of the first part, but it was something that I expected after the second Mass Effect.

95

An end once for all...

zhack075 | Aug. 29, 2012 | See all zhack075's reviews »

Mass effect is probably one of the best video game series ever made in my opinion and Mass Effect 3 is a great ending to this 3 games which I particulary enjoyed.

Many people dislike this ending but trust me but i don't. The cutscenes, the ost, the characters... everything's perfect. I can't even tell this game is a TPS nor a RPG, it's far more than that. I consider it as what video game should be. Storytelling as good as a novel, directing as good as a movie, but you decide what happened.

Outside the singleplayer mode, the multiplayer is pleasant and bioware create event every 2 weeks.

Mass effect definitly worth a shot !

92

An almost appropriate finale

Cynaris | July 20, 2012 | See all Cynaris's reviews »

Mass Effect 3 is absolutely amazing. From the beginning to the... End minus 30 minutes. Yes, the ending has no redeeming quality for me, even the extended cut couldn't satisfy, but hopefully I'm the minority. And with that out of the way, I must say, everything else about the game feels fantastic. Even though the ending itself does not necessarily reflect your choices, the whole game itself does. And does so very frequently. It's satisfying to watch how your choices in the prior two games impact the happenings in the third. All of this with satisfying combat, great dialogues, very solid voicework, and (we are talking about Mass Effect here) incredible soundtrack ties together into a journey filled with tears, laughs, ups and downs. It really does get to the audience.

Enjoy the game, it does worth your attention, and try to make the best out of the ending.

85

The Reapers have arrived, I should go

ACCESSALLAREAS | June 1, 2012 | See all ACCESSALLAREAS's reviews »

Mass Effect 3 is a good game. It is an understandably bleak wartime story but the mood is occasionally lightened. The weapons have a good punch to them, and the powers have impact. A particular mechanic makes you wary of the 'weight' you are carrying as this affects your power recharge times. I'm not a fan of this as I like to have the best weapons and powers, but instead I had to 'compromise'.

Thankfully there is no planet mining that plagued ME2 but there is no Mako (or any other vehicles to use) and this decreases the variety in the main campaign. Personally I was hoping to pilot the Normandy or man its weapons but it doesn't happen.

A multiplayer first for the series ends up lacking variety but is still enjoyable and addictive none the less. And the free multiplayer DLC packs help prolong the interest. It's also worth mentioning that ME3 is no more demanding on your PC than ME2 was.

87

It's the journey.

scottnat | April 20, 2012 | See all scottnat's reviews »

A lot has been made on forums about the ending of Mass Effect 3 being not much scratch, and they're right there are... problems. But I wouldn't let that dissuade from what there is good about the game - it's the journey that counts. The series is one of the best written, most engaging ones out there. The combat etc isn't top shelf, but is more than adequate. Graphics, technically and on a design level though are top shelf. The exploration and feeling of engagement in the world - it's level of detail - is excellent.

Besides all of which, I believe - whether it's good to reward whining or not aside - EA has assented and will be supplying an 'extended ending' patch soon.