Reviews for King Arthur II

80

RPG and Strategy Combined

Kveni | Nov. 11, 2014 | See all Kveni's reviews »

I was a little hesitant at first on picking this one up, just because I was so sure of what I was getting myself into, if it would be a good game, or you know, that OTHER kind of game. Well, it's one of the best RPG and Strategy game mixes I've ever played. It's so intense and immersive that you can play it for hours without getting bored. In fact, I HAVE played it for hours without getting bored! This is actually the sequel to the first game, and trust me when I say this, this game MASSIVELY improves what the first game skipped out on. The gameplay AND graphics are fantastic, and the game is extremely fun. If you need more reassurance, just check out the other reviews, they all have high ratings for the game!

72

A good sequel to a great game

Sganotak | Jan. 16, 2014 | See all Sganotak's reviews »

This game doesn't introduce a lot of new things and it's pretty similar to the first King Arthur game, which isn't a bad thing since the first game was a masterpiece...

The graphics are outstanding, the story and lore are impressive for a strategy game and the battle gameplay, while still inferior to that of the Total War games is very fun and enjoyable There are some problems with the game though, such as the lacklustre AI and some streamlined and removed features, like the morale system. .Another problem with the game is that it is more unpolished and buggy than it's predecessor, despite my PC being high end I had lots of framerate drops and several crashes to the desktop. However don't let this minor issues discourage you from picking it up as it's still a great game

73

A good strategy game

Jokin93 | Dec. 29, 2013 | See all Jokin93's reviews »

King Arthur II, as you may figure from it title, is the direct sequel to the 2009 gem: King Arthur: The Role-playing Wargame and it does its job right.

The RTS strategy platform is well polished and the RPG and TBS elements are properly integrated, creating a very fluid gameplay overall. The UI has also improved since the last game(although it will still take a while to get used to) and the graphics are perfectly fine for a strategy game.

Of course, King Arthur II isn't as well polished and homogeneous as the games in the TOTAL War franchise, but it succeeds in what it promises and comes at a price, so ridiculously low that you can't be disappointed.

90

Very good game

mcofdiablo | Oct. 7, 2013 | See all mcofdiablo's reviews »

Well, if you played the first King Arthur game you know everything about this one. I would say that the second part is just an improvement of the first one, which is actually good because the first one was and still is a great game.

The second one looks much better due to great visuals. It has achievements in steam which is very important for some people. Although, at the start it had a lot of bugs, now you can play it comfortably.

All in all, King Arthur remains unique game that tries to mix role play and strategy and actually succeeds. So definitely try it, especially when it is on sale.

77

Overall a true Alternative with fresh aspects for TOTAL War

Gwildor | June 4, 2013 | See all Gwildor's reviews »

Purchased this game on the Steam sales this last weekend, and have been hooked on this for a while now. For those of you who are familiar with the first King Arthur: The Role-Playing Wargame title, you won't find anything particularly new in this, in terms of core mechanics...which, for me, is a plus. I spent many hours playing the first King Arthur game. Drawn into the story campaign...and the fusion of Total War and Roleplaying Game elements kept me going for a long time, but never finished it since it was too much of a struggle due to the consistent barrage of the AI.

The game however, is riddled with problems to this day (Patch 1.1.07). Far too many bugs are being discussed on forums, as well as, instability of performance, and just general glitches in both, Campaign and Battles.

On a positive note. The inclusion of a narrator has improved the overall feel of immersing the player with the storyline in the campaign. Graphics are absolutely breath-taking (with some emphasis) to look at. Even though, I personally have performance issues on the highest settings, even if you set it to low, it still looks absolutely amazing...a joy to look at when ending your turn, moving from season to season.

Overall, I still think this game is worth a purchase when it's on sale next. People with 32-bit computers should stay away since it's currently not working at all (Should change in the future, so try and keep updated prior a purchase). I give this a 7 out of 10...would give it a 8 otherwise if it was more stable

81

For lovers of traditional RPG and strategy.

kalil | June 4, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Improving on the basis of the first part, King Arthur 2 reconquer proposes britania in a story set after the usual end of the Arthurian legend. And, for this, brings to the table mainly two kinds: first style strategy Total War battles, very entertaining and well run, and original additions like magic and flying units, on the other hand, the role-playing , which includes both the development of the characters and magical objects, like the adventures of decisions that often arise, and they are very interesting and entertaining, delving into history. At the technological level is not great, but it moves smoothly. And finally, the DLC Dead Legions is an interesting additive that adds many hours to the campaign, tells the story of one of the villains of the game.

90

An Underrated Game!

Plasros | June 3, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

This is easily one of the most under-rated games I've had the pleasure to play. All in all, this is a really impressive game and I'm sad that I let the negative reviews on metacritic stop me from buying it earlier. It's an absolute gem, that strongly built on the first game in every way.

I found the huge number of heroes and different paths to take their skills really quite enjoyable. Then there are the vast number of magical items you can find, craft or buy. The effect on the battlefield is substanital.

The battles are simply gorgeous, with easily the best graphics I've seen in this style of game. The landscapes play a good role in the game, but more could have been made of these interesting maps. There is much more detail on them than in Total War.

There is a decent mix of units and cavalry charges are working nicely. There are some interesting choices to be made on how you upgrade your units as well, as you can't do everything!

The diplomacy was a nice twist, not hugely complex, but yet more choices on how to customise your units, recruit unique ones, or gain other effects.

The story was solid and drove the game well all the way to the end. The campaign map is much bigger than in the first game and boats a deal more complexity in gameplay as well.

Research is similar to the first but upgrading buidlings is far more decentralised, it's not just at your strongholds that you need to do this.

The game did crash a few times for me, but I didn't find it really hindered things, it was just a case of replaying the odd battle. Yes, this was frustrating but I found the battles fun so no big issue.

82

Great game

yuppy | May 31, 2013 | See all yuppy's reviews »

This is good game, heard that better from KA I. The battles are mor dynamically, the atmosphere of game is more dark. It's another addictive game.

76

Engaging and enjoyable

chivshiv | March 5, 2013 | See all chivshiv's reviews »

King Arthur II has one of the most engaging and enjoyable story lines, voice acting, and game play in any RPG/RTS games I have ever played. I was very appalled by how Gamespot gave this game a rating of 5.5, that was downright slanderous in my opinion . The only downside to this game is the smallness of the size of its fonts; believe me, you WILL have a hard time reading those. Other than that, it is an amazing game and it, indeed, makes you feel as if you are experiencing the historical and fabled stories of King Arthur. If the developer fixes the problem of the game's fonts I think I will play it all over again some day. Yes, it is that good...

75

A hungarian answer to the Total War series

Cynaris | Aug. 1, 2012 | See all Cynaris's reviews »

King's Arthur is made by hungarian developer Neocore, they aren't much of a known developer in their current state, but they did make deep strategy games before. King's Arthur shares many similarities with the Total War series, but in a Britannian fantasy setting. It also uses RPG elements as it's title suggests, resulting in a truly deep highly strategic RPG RTS mixture, with large scale battles, huge armies, and magic. The visuals are really good, although very hardware demanding, and it was also quite buggy at launch with crashes and errors. The game is a lot better in it's current state though. The music is also fitting and nice.

A great game to rival Total War in my opinion.

67

A highly broken, but awesome game.

jeyko | July 3, 2012 | See all jeyko's reviews »

It's hard to judge a game like this, when its fps is limited to 30 and it has 3-5 minute loading times and a lot of bugs. After a bit of forum lurking, you will find that 90% of people are having some kind of problem. Not a good start. But if you do get over the technical problems, you realize how awesome the game is. The gameplay consist of moving your army around the map. You can do things in a lot of different approaches, but it doesn't really matter what choice you make - the end result is the same. The actual battles are really fun and chaotic, with a lot of characters on the screen. You also get a handful of magic spells to pick, which really help you in battes. This is a great title(if you actually get it running)! All strategy fans will enjoy it! A definite buy for me.