Reviews for King Arthur Collection

90

Total War and RPG combined!

Kveni | Nov. 11, 2014 | See all Kveni's reviews »

This game has proven to be one of the most fun games I have ever played and will CONTINUE to play just because it is so fun. The battles are massive and epic, the graphics are great, and each of the games in this collection has it's own personality and gameplay mechanics that make it great. I've played this game for hours on end, and would totally play it longer if I had the time! There are so many great aspects of this game, such as the unique medieval weaponry that they give you to conquer your enemies, or the cities that they allow you to partner with, or take over. It truly is an awesome experience.

78

Total War meets Medieval Fantasy

Sganotak | Jan. 16, 2014 | See all Sganotak's reviews »

If you enjoy the Total War series of games you're also gonna love King Arthur. It closely follows the Total War formula (Turn based gameplay with epic scale real time battles) but it also features a lot of RPG elements and some nice little touches like text adventures. The graphics are top notch and there's a lot of attention to detail. However the game lacks some polish and can be unforgiving at times. In conclusion it's a great game

80

FYI about contents of collection

ColonelJack | Sept. 13, 2013 | See all ColonelJack's reviews »

For anyone wondering this. This is the first gmg sale I've been disappointed in, I do not fault gmg, they got stuck with these keys, but at $4 on sale I feel I got ripped off, because I would've happily waited for the "real" King Arthur Collection steam sells for $7.50 during a winter or summer sale.

This particular collection does work, but it is handled by steam in a weird way, your game in the library is NAMED "King Arthur: Collection" there's no DLC tab for it, so if you're curious you have to dig around in your game directory to figure out which DLCs it has. This is King Arthur 1 only.

IMHO these resellers really should either get refunded for products like this, or offered a cheap bump-up conversion to the modern-and-up-to-date King Arthur Collection(as seen on STEAM Store)

I don't even blame gmg for not listing the contents of said collection, because at the time the description was written and it was added to the store, this is all there was.

IMHO STEAM/Valve really dropped the ball on how this collection was handled, and lesson learned about buying older collections.

The game itself is awesome and refreshing in an otherwise morally ambiguous and relativistic age. 80/100 Why? Because Arthurian.

85

Good Game

mcofdiablo | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all mcofdiablo's reviews »

It is a really well done turn-based RPG wargame.

If you played Total War games, you will know what to do during battles. The mechanics are a little bit easier than in Total War games series, but there are some interesting additions, as capturing the flag gives you a perk.

The most interesting feature for me in King Arthur was text quests. They are pretty well done, interesting and have consequences/ rewards.

In general, it is a very interesting mixture of two genres, and I think it is worth your attention and money during the sale.

80

Fresh

YYS1995 | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all YYS1995's reviews »

King Arthur is an awesome game... mixing in historical elements (we seldom see King Arthur/Medieval themes being incorporated into such strategic games) together with a comprehensive strategic background (it's a good game with a mix of different elements, reminds me of Tropico to a certain extent) but with average graphics. Not too bad a game, in fact, rather enjoyable (and rare) medieval strategic game. Fresh.

90

RPG meets RTS

noobboy191 | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all noobboy191's reviews »

This game combines rpg mechanics of leveling troops and your character, while ordering massive armies against mystical creatures such as dragons! Very closely related to something like the total war franchise, after battle you have an overview of your kingdom allowing you to rule over more than just the troops on the battlements. Not up quite to par with the total war series polish, but it is a great game worth a try.

80

A very good game

Demilisz | June 11, 2013 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

While Total War is still superior with it's epic battles, King Arthur aren't far behind. The game takes you to the Arthurian myths universe. It have a nice quest mechanics, where you need to make choices and live with consequences. You can choose good or evil, worship Old Gods or convert to Christianity. You make your own Round Table and send your Knights to quests that are waiting all over the world. And with your enemies you will clash on 3D battlefields where special places like churches, towers or ancient ruins can give you powerfull bonuses if you can capture and control it.

Truly great mix between turn base, RTS and cRPG.

80

In some ways better than Total War. Great Storytelling

Gwildor | June 4, 2013 | See all Gwildor's reviews »

A really solid game with a fantastic atmosphere and setting thanks to the tasty audio and visual presentation. The unique take on the arthurian myth will leave you constantly wanting more, and the dynamic nature of the game world and the 4 possible orientations you may choose make sure you don't sit through the same game twice. There are some rough edges, mostly in overworld game balance when your enemies go through impossible technological advancements and just simply overpower you, or when you're showered with half a dozen random side quests all over the land every turn, but overall this is a very good game and the developer support has been fantastic so far, so it might very well become even better. If you ever wanted a crossover between Total War and Mark of Chaos, here you have it.

81

Good game

Bolo | Dec. 27, 2012 | See all Bolo's reviews »

King Arthur game is a game in the games from the series of "Total War" on the slightly more powerful thread role-play. "On a map of tactical gameplay is turowo. We have here the possibility to move units performing missions and side quests, leveling up the characters, climb buildings, etc. This part of the game in my opinion is what offers a series of "Total War". The legend of King Arthur-the climate, searching for the Holy Grail, the fight with the newcomers from the depths of the ancient forests make the game interesting and addictive. A bit less developed is the diplomacy, for this you have to be very careful doing the missions, because of their result depends on the ratio of the other rulers to our State.

75

Clunky

ROKET | July 8, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

I tried to like this game and relished the opportunity to mix up the TBS and Tactical RTS genre by playing with fantasy units in a brand new setting but when I played I ran into not only a clunky interface but into crappy performance as well.

Graphically I expected the game to be a little better having come out after Total War games like Medieval and the like but this dev provided a game that was somewhat inconsistent.

The performance of the game puzzled me as well. I couldnt understand why I had a hard time playing the game when the Total War games performed generally well.

This game may entertain for a while but doesnt have the mileage built into it to provide an experience worth your time. Id go with a mod for Medieval TW or something rather than this game.