Reviews for Total War: Shogun 2 - Fall of the Samurai

70

A Land Divided

xiluxpain | Jan. 17, 2014 | See all xiluxpain's reviews »

What sets Fall of the Samurai apart from vanilla Shogun 2 is most likely the uses of artillery and firearms.

When you step into the world of Fall of the Samurai, you are fighting in a divided Japan that is inevitably headed for modernization. Even though one side fights against such modernization, you see the inevitable coming of it. The side that is slow to modernize will be engulfed by the advanced units of the other.

The one thing that makes Fall of the Samurai unique is the more numerous numbers of random events. These events will most likely affect the game long-term. Examples are random recruitment of agents, which may go over the limit of having 5 agents. Another could be letting your students study abroad in another major nation. In return, you may find yourself with a little gifted unit that is superior.

My personal score of the game is affiliated majorly with the uses of range weapons. I'm not a fan of a game that focuses on only range. But anyone who plays Total War for the management, this game will put you to the test. If you are a fan of Empire or Napoleon Total War, this will have a very familiar feel.

Anyone who loved Empire or Napoleon, this can easily be 90 minimal score game.

99

A good expansion

PrecisionUnknow | Nov. 19, 2013 | See all PrecisionUnknow's reviews »

This is a nice expansion to Shogun 2 Total War. Fall of the Samurai takes you to the mid to late 1800s when the Empire of Japan was at war with the Shogunate of Japan. While you have a choice to be on your own side or one of the two. The game brings in new features not introduced to the other series. Like the ability to control artillery guns, shore defense guns (which also meant you were able to have shore and navy battle), as well as controlling a ship. You would be able to determine where and how often (primarily the Gatling gun). In addition, trains have been added, allowing faster travel of units and yielded other benefits in the designated provinces. What was most appealing however was Samurai soldiers fighting against modernize troops from that era.

The major downside to Shogun 2 and its expansions are that they big consumers when it comes to your CPU and other specs. In which it could be more optimized. Specifically its game engine (the same as the one in Rome 2 Total War) needs to be fixed, which you will noticed significant differences in just the game engine alone if you compare Rome 2 with Shogun 2. (Rome 2 loads faster and runs faster).

Shogun 2 FOTS is however worth a shot. It is a very worthy expansion adding new stuff and even expands the map. A must have for both RTS and Total War fans.

80

Very Enjoyable, not without flaws

CISphil | Nov. 18, 2013 | See all CISphil's reviews »

Fall of the Samurai is a great addition to Shogun 2. It takes place during the Boshin war in Japan between the Tokugawa Shogunate and the Emperors forces (imperialists). Typically, the campaign will progress with the imperials being mostly gun armies and Shogunate forces mainly traditional (melee) armies. When you select a clan, they will already have pledged allegiance to either the Shogun or the Emperor but you may change this decision at any time or, when powerful enough, make your own power play and seize Japan for yourself. Sea battles are quite fun too but can end quite abruptly/explosively sometimes in ways that seem to make no sense. There are also more historical battles which I found very enjoyable.

There are some problems that arise in the campaign such as traditional clans not accessing some higher level units making them easier to defeat or many clans of one allegiance turning to another making the game either painfully difficult or ridiculously easy (barring being forced to betray an ally just to meet the territory requirements for winning).

Overall, the gunplay is a nice change of pace and the campaign is worth fighting again even if it is more focused than regular Shogun I highly recommend this DLC.

90

An exciting expansion

domenthechief | Aug. 4, 2013 | See all domenthechief's reviews »

Fall of the Samurai offers an amazing action-packed gameplay and a fun campaign that is set in the time of the rise of the Japanese empire. This expansion is much better than the Rise of the Samuri expansion since it offers completely new tactics and demands different approaches when facing certain dilemmas.

It also introduces new unique units, new playable clans with different traits, railway lines for economy growth and more. And on top of that - Fall of the Samurai campaign could just be more interesting than Shogun 2 original campaign. Definetly a must-buy for all people who love Total War franchise and the era of Imperial Japan.

94

very good

odren | July 22, 2013 | See all odren's reviews »

there's stuff exploding, lines of men dying in seconds, charges falling apart beneath a hail of bullets, all quite exciting. other than that the gameplay is good, the maps are quite remarkable to behold, the models are beautiful and it's a great extension to Shogun 2 so you should probably buy it

70

Very complicated game.

sittinghawk10 | July 15, 2013 | See all sittinghawk10's reviews »

This is a standalone expansion pack. I did not get the base game and am a beginner in the Total War series. It has very in depth mechanics and some people might not be into that. I had some fun with it, but it's not my cup of tea. Combat is pretty fun though.

85

Really fun

yoonsj2 | July 11, 2013 | See all yoonsj2's reviews »

I didn't expect much from this expansion pack. Guns and total war series just did go well together. For that reason I didn;t like empire total war series neither. This game is very very well polished and thoroughly made. I was surprised how well guns and total war game mechanic went together in this game. Although campaign feels a little short, historical battles and multiplays are very well made and worth playing.

90

Best TW To date!

whizzy | June 10, 2013 | See all whizzy's reviews »

The original Shogun 2 was great, but the Fall of the Samurai expansion takes it to a whole new level. The AI is great, and the ability to control individual artillery pieces in the battlefield is really cool. I like that the AI has been tweaked so that it will actually attack and not sit and do nothing. Great graphics! Multiplayer can still use a little bit of work though.

85

Bringing the best things together.

Linkinchris | May 21, 2013 | See all Linkinchris's reviews »

This was a much needed and welcome addition to the Total War series. This expansion was well worth the price and it provides hours upon hours of entertainment as you watch legions of Samurai charge into the fray while the battle becomes thick with smoke from the rifles shooting to prevent their relentless charge.

These new additions to the game change it completely, new tactics have to be formulated, sacrifices have to be made if you ever want to force the opposing army to route. So if you are a long time Shogun 2 player and pick this up, be ready to be pushed back to square one as you learn the ropes once again.

80

Excellent addition to the Total War series

Maniacal | May 16, 2013 | See all Maniacal's reviews »

Total War: Shogun 2: Fall of the Samurai is an excellent stand-alone expansion and addition to the Total War series. The game starts off with a mix of traditional Japanese units and technologies and Western rifles and technologies which you must find a balance between as the people are not always happy with change. Naval warfare is also much more important, with ships capable of bombarding coastal targets and supporting your armies in battle with deadly barrages. The AI will also frequently raid your shipping routes and they must be protected.

Unlike Empire and Napoleon, FotS has excellent models of steam powered and iron clad ships in the game that are simply gorgeous to behold and a fearsome sight upon the ocean in the naval battles.

The agent system is the same as Shogun 2's, and being able to upgrade your agents and generals is a lot of fun and they are extremely useful in subverting the enemy and providing buffs to your own regions, although their actions can be expensive.

Religion is replaced by which faction the populace supports, be it the Shogunate or the Emperor, or even yourself if you choose to go for complete domination of Japan.

The AI has improved a little bit over previous games, especially when it comes to sieges.

89

Great expansion

Lord_Walker | May 12, 2013 | See all Lord_Walker's reviews »

Originally, when I saw this expansion, I was a little bit dissapointed. I wanted the visceral combat of the original game, not soldiers standing in lines shooting at each other. It just seemed a little to far from the hand-to-hand combat of traditional japan. Once I played it, though, it was clear to me that this was an excellent expansion. I had no problems with it feeling like it wasn't Shogun. In fact, I think that they did a great job of showing the clash between the traditional values and the western influences. Right now, my only qualm is that some of the modernized things like railroads are overpowered.

82

Game in itself

skagit | May 11, 2013 | See all skagit's reviews »

I bought Fall of The Samurai as a Total War fan-boy who happened to skip Shogun 2. As a result, I am dying to buy Shogun 2. Fall of the Samurai contains all the features I would have hoped to have found in Empire. The AI is fairly competent, and better: aggressive. Rather than stay in formation and take shot after shot from your artillery like in past games, the AI takes the fight to you, even if it's not to their advantage. The graphics are a major improvement, and the map, while more linear feeling than previous installments, is beautiful and full of strategically important locations and resources.

90

Best in the Series

ROKET | May 11, 2013 | See all ROKET's reviews »

Shogun 2 was the first time I was able to play a TW campaign to the end. I lost, of course, but didnt regret getting there. I looked forward to starting Fall of the Samurai and when I did I found a game that reflected CAs best. The series had finally grown to include everything it was supposed to have and provided a gameplay experience that was solid.

Gameplay:

As you know, this is a stand alone game and still includes Total War's signature RTS and TBS hybrid elements. This time around you get a plethora of new units, buildings and missions. The gameplay is streamlined and relatively faster than other campaigns. You take either the Pro Emperor or Pro Shogunate side and fight your way to dominance. Gone are the needs for specific regions besides the capital to win and this time around allies are very useful and helpful. You get the feeling that a huge struggle is underway and you must pull your own weight. Naval dominance is extremely important and you constantly have to battle with your people to maintain order. Modernization just sucks. lol.

Presentation: This game is very well optimized and I had no problems running the game. Its also the best looking and while some in games settings are crappy and require outside tweaking I still had a good time. Nothing beats the glint of iron shining off of your ironclads and nothing feels as good as seeing your riflemen pepper the enemy in distinct explosive volleys. I love it. The new units and buildings are great and CA tried hard to add variety this time around in terms of battles.

Overall I really liked this game and it felt very refined:

90/100

92

Excellent, Could Easily be a Stand-Alone Game

cybrxkhan | May 8, 2013 | See all cybrxkhan's reviews »

Fall of the Samurai is arguably one of the best expansion/DLC campaigns in the total war series, if only because of the large atmospheric difference between the original Shogun 2 campaign and FotS. FotS captures well the time period it represents, the end of Tokugawa Japan; though it hints at the stereotypes horridly displayed in the movie The Last Samurai, it thankfully portrays the era in a much more accurate and morally dubious light. There is, firstly, a question of whether modernization is worth it, and what types of modernization. Secondly, there is the question of whether to support the Emperor or the Shogun. Unlike the movie The Last Samurai, both the Shogunate and Imperial factions are more accurately portrayed as using modern weaponry, and it is mastery of this weaponry - as well as the new tactics that go along with it - that will be key to victory in FotS. Other than the new style of warfare, the overall campaign mechanics remain the same, except for one main difference - the clear division between Shogunal and Imperial factions (or a third way, Republican faction if you so desire), which gives the later stages of the campaign some focus and purpose other than all-out conquest.

The only complaint I have about FotS is that archers have greater range than rifle-armed units, a completely inaccurate and ludricous mistake on the part of the developers. Other than this minor issue, however, FotS is worth the money. While it shares many mechanics with the original Shogun 2, it feels like an entirely new and fresh experience - almost like another game.

86

Great game, very replayable, easily get your money's worth

murgo23 | March 4, 2013 | See all murgo23's reviews »

Another great Total War game. Fall of Samurai and base game are one of best games I ever played. Epic battles, great graphic and much, much more.

...oh, and you can take third person perspective and use Gatling Gun...pretty sweet!

Love the changes they made with the navy, which is now is as important as it should be. It is now very difficult to beat the game without a respectable navy. Multiplayer is tons of fun esp on campaign. AI could still use some improvement on the battle maps but I can't complain about it too much since I like to often exploit their weaknesses to win battles I should have otherwise lost!

Waiting on them to introduce multiplayer with more than just co-op. Still bummed that I can only include one friend at a time, 3-4 player campaign games would be gorgeous!

95

An Amazing Stande-Alone Experience

Narazumo | Dec. 28, 2012 | See all Narazumo's reviews »

This game is exactly what an expansion needs to be. Not only giving you more of the original goodness, but expanding it and evolving it.

A great added feature is the ability to command the weapons of artillery pieces and ships through a first person camera, maximizing their effectiveness.

Definitely a must-buy if you have the original or if you want to get your feet wet in the series.

95

Very Greatu addon !

zhack075 | Nov. 27, 2012 | See all zhack075's reviews »

This new Era brings a lot of new challenges in Shogun 2. More guns, less sword fight, new alliance and strategic possibilities, better naval battle...

Moreover, it's great to play a game which is set in this era !

If you enjoyed Shogun 2 and you want to renew the experience, you won't be disapointed !

79

Awesome addition to the Shogun 2 experience

schroff | Sept. 15, 2012 | See all schroff's reviews »

This add on features guns and cannons for the Western powers. You can shape your clan's future by being more friendly with the Westerners and gaining some tech or be a traditional clan with familiar weapons of war. The great thing is that it is all balanced, you can win even with the samurai factions against the gun toting western one. Only negative is the humungous download size at 28gb for the whole thing! whew!

90

A great expansion

gibbsy24 | July 23, 2012 | See all gibbsy24's reviews »

Shogun 2 was already an excellent game, Fall of the Samurai adds the latest time period in a Total War game, new units, buildings, maps, everything is new. The combat is a good mix of classic melee and riflemen and artillery. As unbalanced as it sounds you'll find your samurai more than useful in some situations. If you're already a fan of Shogun 2 or just starting. This is a excellent place to begin.

95

Amazing Expansion for an amazing Base game

Kradath | July 4, 2012 | See all Kradath's reviews »

This expansion is not only huge contentwise but also filled with many smaller improvements to the already amazing base title.

It gives you the option between going a more traditional samurai focused war or opening your clan towards various western nations which bring new technologies to the field of battle against your foes.

The atmosphere is simply astonishing and every Samurai Cinema fan will simply fall in love with this title. From sieges to normal battles and the campaign mode everything is simply well done and if you got a friend to play with the cooperative campaign will bring you hundreds of hours of pure fun.

One of the best strategy games of the last years and my personal favorite.

Very highly recommended!

91

Astonishing add-on...

Finka_Karfein | June 17, 2012 | See all Finka_Karfein's reviews »

It is so awesome that it could be a separate game. I am not surprised to see it being able to run without the base game. The price may seem high but there is really much new content which greatly affect the gameplay of Total War: Shogun 2. A new era, new units, new tactics, new goals. It really takes some time to get accustomed to all the changes in the game. Graphics and audio are still fantastic though you may encounter some visual bugs from time to time. That add-on also repeats the mistakes of the base game: the same AI fails on the campaign map, no hot-seat and occasional multiplayer mismatches. To sum it up, do not hesitate if you are interested. This games offers tens or even hundreds of hours full of strategic gaming at its best.

91

Really Good Strategy Game

kalil | April 10, 2012 | See all kalil's reviews »

If you like the battles in strategy games, you will like this!, This game is really awesome, the levels, the battles, all is indredible ! I repeat if you like a battle with samurais and empires, this game is really for you :D