Reviews for Zeno Clash

77

The play to take your

cristiano171 | Aug. 22, 2014 | See all cristiano171's reviews »

Gameplay and combat

The gameplay in Zeno Clash is somewhat complex. Learn all the controls of the game takes some time. But after dominating them, pleasure becomes elusive. The game is a mixture of action, adventure, and fight in first person. The player can perform different moves and combinations of different attacks, and can execute combos that literally burst with enemies. You also have bombs, which can be thrown at enemies and cause havoc. However, the artificial intelligence of the enemies is very well developed, and it is very difficult to catch them off guard. They run the pumps very often, when you spear. These pumps, it is worth mentioning, are shaped like skulls: well according to the ambiance of the game. Other game modes

The title of Ace Team has some additional game modes besides the campaign mode (Main Adventure). In Zeno Rush, you can play the levels that already released, racing against the clock. Finalize them as soon as possible. In the Challenge Tower, you enter a kind of arena and fight against hordes of various Corwids: very good to train your skills. And there is also the online cooperative mode, which is also very interesting and entertaining.

There is also, within the "Extras" option, the item "Character Gallery", through which you can check out and get more information about all the characters that have come across in the game, including própro Ghat and the Father-Mother.

finishing

Zeno Clash: It's a very fun and cute title. Despite the campaign mode is short, the additional game modes and the beauty and fun afforded by own way "Main Adventure" can quietly make you play the game the Ace has a second and / or third time, for example (or more ).

This is an XBLA that, in my opinion, can provide great moments of pleasure to those who get carried away by the surreal world of Zenozoik and all its peculiarities. This is a game that I recommend to those who enjoy action, adventure, and fight in large doses. This game, in fact, some surprises, for whom the end.

88

FPS Brawler in a strange, enjoyable universe

radenthefridge | March 25, 2014 | See all radenthefridge's reviews »

In this land of strange buildings, weird people, and anthropomorphic critters, your best solution is punches!

All joking aside, I had a ton of fun with this FPS brawler/shooter! The story is strange, unique, and it'll stick with you for years to come. The combat is fluid, and using weapons adds an interesting layer to combat. While the sequel was a bit of a letdown, I would say this game can stand on its own merits and deserves your attention, if only to play something quite-unlike anything else.

90

Punk fantasy? Punk fantasy!

Neonberry | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

To be honest I didn't know anything about the game but the setting of a "punk fantasy" world sounded intriguing so I picked it up. The game itself is a first person brawler and to be honest I am not really a first person kinda guy so I struggled a bit in the start and it was only the artwork of the game that kept me playing. About at the half of the game however, when I got used to the controls and gameplay the game turned from struggle into enjoyable fistfights in one of the most original worlds recently created. When you picture the punk world you shouldn't think of Blink 182 or Green Day but more like something that happens on the back alley at a GG Allin concert told you by Rudimentary Peni. The game IS twisted so if you are weirded out easily then you might want to skip this one - however in every other case I highly recommend it. The story itself is pretty good, for some reason it reminded me a little bit on House of the Dead: Overkill, though far less extreme. The only sad thing about it is that it is really short, but hey, as Blag Dahlia once said, it's better if a band rocks for 10 minutes than if it sucks for an hour.

84

FPS Beat'em'up done right

Raideoul | Nov. 14, 2013 | See all Raideoul's reviews »

Since FPS became popular, there has been a few attempts to use the 'first person' part on other genera. With woeful results almost ever. Zeno Clash presents a first person combat system solid and fun to play, something i never thought i should see. Oh, and a great story inspired by the early works of Alexandro Jodorowsky, and stunning visuals near in concept to some Silvio Cadelo works.

85

Game one of a kind

Rubin1993 | Nov. 3, 2013 | See all Rubin1993's reviews »

Zeno Clash is pretty good game. You play a role of Ghat and must defeat some of his family members. This game is very bizarre. None game have world like that. The combat is simple, but very well made. The game ends in about 3 hours (story) + you can beat challenge tower which should take about 1-2 hour(s). Overall this game is very decent and one of a kind. Unfortunely it's very short for a game and don't have multiplayer.

80

Really good but really short

sheogorath98 | Oct. 10, 2013 | See all sheogorath98's reviews »

This game is bizarre. If you like stuff that doesn't make sense then this is the game for you. The controls are excellent and the action is amazing. The character design is great, but the voice acting and story come up short in my opinion. Great indie title and totally worth 10 bucks.

92

A classic all should own

deatonis | Sept. 26, 2013 | See all deatonis's reviews »

Some games honestly never get the due they're owed. Zeno clash is one such title. From the beginning to the very end I loved ever piece experience, every plot twist, every turn of the game.

Fps games that promote control of the character (such as games like mirrors edge) tend to be gems that do not disappoint and this title is no different. The controls feel fluid and if needed the title even supports a gamepad.

The game is a little wonky, with bizarre landscapes and totally stunning in concept areas. The graphical appeal for areas is there as well, not being the greatest especially since it is an older title but being crisp and colorful.

All in all if you're thinking about getting the game just go right ahead and purchase it. It is not a purchase you will regret, the world is fascinating, the controls work well, there is definitely challenge to the title and the story is otherworldly, a game of the ages.

75

Weird, yet fun while it lasts

Twisted1410 | July 27, 2013 | See all Twisted1410's reviews »

First off, this game is flat out weird. Everything about it. The story,levels, weapon design and especially the enemy design. There are a number of totally bizarre looking creatures in this game and it might creep you out a little. Luckily, any feelings of uneasiness due to that is covered up by a pretty fun combat system. The game provides you with some varied combat manoeuvres to use against your opponents and stringing them together can be very satisfying. The enemies provide a pretty constant challenge too. The game never really feels too hard but it's definitely not easy. The level and mission design is also quite varied, so you won't get bored by the same things over and over again.

However the game does have a couple of flaws. The story for one makes little sense, however in a way it fits in with the world and not knowing what the hell is going on just feels right. I said the game doesn't get too hard but some battles can get pretty frustrating. There is also one pretty boring level where you ride in a boat shooting at the occasional enemy on the sides of the narrow river that just seems to drag on forever.

Regardless of that the game is pretty fun and is worth the few hours that you'll spend with it.

85

AMAZING combat system!

TGAlan | June 29, 2013 | See all TGAlan's reviews »

An excellent and original mix between fight and shooting, with a superb art which got it nominated for 'Excellence in Visual Art' at the Independent Games Festival, and with good reason. Like sci-fi and fantasy? Like brutal combat? Then what are you waiting for?

80

Excellent Combat

DanielZo0 | June 11, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

The hand to hand combat is excellent, and works flawlessly - or it would do if it weren't hampered by needless and clumsy lock-on system. Fighting over a weapon on the ground becomes a fight with the controls as the button that cycles your targets is the same button that picks up weapons when you're looking at them - making it near impossible to pick up a weapon when an enemy is near it. The shooting, while nothing special, initially detracts from the game, but becomes more fluid as it continues. It still amounts to nothing beyond average in this aspect, though. The game is short but challenging, and left me with an overall sense of enjoyment. I couldn't help but think that the surreal storyline and characters were often weird purely for the sake of weirdness itself. As a first person brawler, it is quietly revolutionary, but this shining aspect is muffled by the storyline, unecessary lock-on system, and mediocre shooting. I suspect that the developers lacked confidence in the brawling aspect, and felt some people may become disoriented by the pace of such close-up action - that would explain why they added so much needless fluff onto anotherwise great game.

90

Zeno what?

Bynn | June 10, 2013 | See all Bynn's reviews »

This game got me from the start, being made by a fellow Chilean and all. Bizarre, excentric, yet beautifully made, an amazing piece of art in terms of gaming.

85

Fantastic piece of art

andrewbeechwood | May 31, 2013 | See all andrewbeechwood's reviews »

When I played that first time I was like: Hey, what this is... But this is great game. You know, not bad storyline, the fighting system and the graphics with the celshading and that comics stuff. Overall, I had great time with that but... you can't go with that long because it's little boring. Cheers.

77

Zeno Clash - review

carlyle | Jan. 9, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

Zeno Clash is a real simulator of unarmed combat in which you have a whole series of moves to beat the opponent's turn, you can bring rapid but weak punches, punches stronger but slower, you can dodge, parry , giving his shoulder on the run, grab an enemy stunned, run it against his buddies, kicking him while he is still on the ground, grab a big bat and hitting, dropping bombs explosive skull-shaped and so on. More than levels by real, Zeno Clash is formed from arenas. The rooms are indeed very small and little explored in the sense that there is not much to be found apart from some flower power. Graphically, we are faced with a title fine, considering the price range and the level of production. Zeno Clash takes advantage of the engine Half-Life 2 and offers good dimensional models well characterized. The different maps are quite small, though some are filled with details that shape a world original and pleasant to watch. No shortage of spectacular moments as a battle at the foot of a whale stranded on a beach or a long trip on a river on which drink from the huge beasts.

75

Short but challenging

Lekes | Jan. 6, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

The hand to hand combat is excellent, and works flawlessly, or it would do if it weren't hampered by needless and clumsy lock-on system. Fighting over a weapon on the ground becomes a fight with the controls as the button that cycles your targets is the same button that picks up weapons when you're looking at them - making it near impossible to pick up a weapon when an enemy is near it. The shooting, while nothing special, initially detracts from the game, but becomes more fluid as it continues. It still amounts to nothing beyond average in this aspect, though. The game is short but challenging, and left me with an overall sense of enjoyment. I couldn't help but think that the surreal storyline and characters were often weird purely for the sake of weirdness itself. As a first person brawler, it is quietly revolutionary, but this shining aspect is muffled by the storyline, unecessary lock-on system, and mediocre shooting. I suspect that the developers lacked confidence in the brawling aspect, and felt some people may become disoriented by the pace of such close-up action, that would explain why they added so much needless fluff onto anotherwise great game.

73

If You're Looking For Weird, Look No Further

AkaRai | Jan. 4, 2013 | See all AkaRai's reviews »

Independent Chilean developer ACE set out to make a game that combined elements of first-person shooters, RPGs, sandbox games, and melee beat 'em ups. Soon into development they realized this was too ambitious, and scaled back dropping the RPG and sandbox elements. What remained was a tight and -if you're looking for something different- compelling adventure.

Set in the world of Zenozoik, the main character Ghat is on the run from his family, after falling out of favor with his mysterious parental figure "Father-Mother" along the way encountering numerous bizarre characters, and a forest full of insane people. The narrative may not be quite as clever as it seems to think it is, but it is nonetheless compelling.

Combat is fun, fast and fairly intuitive. The game does have some problems with auto-lock ons, and it unfortunately becomes near unplayable with a 360 controller (at least on steam) as you're no longer able to effectively move the camera.

This game is not for everyone, but if you like weird, alien worlds, Zeno Clash is worth a look. My one complaint is that the game is somewhat short, and can easily be completed in around 4 hours. The inclusion of an arena dungeon mode lengthens this out somewhat, but it will probably only appeal to trophy hunters.

85

Weird and beautiful at the same time

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

It's a weird game, that's for sure. But the combat (in first person) feels SOOOO good. I like how the punches feel, there's a certain weight to them. Add to that the fabulous (but weird) graphics and you have one heck of a game. Unfortunately, it's short (about 4 hours). But that's about the only negative thing I can say about it. It's so unique that I suggest you get this while you have the chance. Can't wait for the sequel (will it ever come ?).

82

Unique action game

panz3r88 | Sept. 14, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Zeno Clash is really an original game. It's a first person action game where the main weapons are your fist and kicks. The combat system is well done and you can try many different combos. There are also weapons, but they don't have many bullets and so they are not so important. The game is not so long and after some time it becomes repetitive, but you wil surely enjoy the original combat system

75

More than a game, an experience !

zhack075 | Sept. 3, 2012 | See all zhack075's reviews »

This game is unique. Graphics are good ( source engine ) and the universe is really pleasant to discover. However, gameplay needs a time of adaptation as the first person melee combat isn't really easy to handle in the first time.

This game should be playing once because I've never seen such a game before in my life !

61

Power fist!

maciej2601 | Aug. 30, 2012 | See all maciej2601's reviews »

The brutal action game in which event we observe first-person perspective. You play the character of a warrior as he embarks on the end of the world. Going down spectacular combat with monsters. Worth playing.

70

A truly surreal adventure game

FreeMan85 | Aug. 6, 2012 | See all FreeMan85's reviews »

If you ever meet a bizarre, weird and surreal Indie game is this one. Set to the dreamlike Zenozoic, Zeno Clash is an FPS action-adventure game. Our hero Garth has found out the secret of the myterious Mother-Father and for that his been hunted by his sons. You meet weird and totally mad characters throguh your journey on Zenozoic. The gameplay is a bit fresh hand-to-hand fights, but you can use many unseen weapons. The graphics is still great, powered by Valve's Source Engine. Looks bright, maybe too bright, colorful and detailed. The voice acting is good. And the game's story well done. Keep you interest to the end. Where the game technically starts. Anyway, you won't find ou the truth before the credits.

Well, I don't recommend this game to everyone. Only for a few brave ones who like that type of games.

73

Something different

xgatto | Aug. 5, 2012 | See all xgatto's reviews »

Zeno Clash is I think the only one, if not one of the few first person fighting games. Most combat is involved around melee, whhich is very different to what we're used to. These combat mechanics work well, but start to get boring after playing for a while. Since its always the same, dodge, punch, kick, repeat. The graphics are all-right, just another source game. And the story... well, its not BAD but, it doesnt feel interesting or anything. I give it this rating because even tho it innovates on something, the game is short and repetitive. But if you wanna try something new, go ahead and buy it, it can be fun if you like fighting games in general.

80

Original and unusual in a good way

ENDOOO | July 3, 2012 | See all ENDOOO's reviews »

This first-person-action game is underestimated for what it is. Zeno Clash combines intense fighting with shooting. It is a weird game in it's own way so some people may be frightened to try such game but it is really worth it.

Fight mechanics are brutal, though for more fun would require more fighting moves. Weapons add special feel for this game, as they are powerful but not overpowered as you can be very easily disarmed by your enemies. Zeno Clash is very unique with it's amusing world too. It is something you have never seen before. The world is colorful but at the same moment very depressing. People of this world are even weirder. From exotic birds to cripples. Same about voices. It is a great game if you are looking for something fresh and different from the usual point and shoot games.

86

An interesting and very odd experiance.

Rzepak01 | May 17, 2012 | See all Rzepak01's reviews »

This is an indie gem that I think too many people overlooked because of the rather mixed reviews it got upon release. I wont talk about the story since I dont want to spoil it. All I will say is thats unlike anything youve seen before. The game oozes wierd. The characters, environments, weapons and the story create an amazingly unique game. This Source Engine game looks and runs great with the art direction taking center stage. The melee combat is fun and satysfying. There arent alot of weapons in the game, but I did not find this much of a fault. The game is a bit short but its worthwhile. The worst thing about it is the terrible voice acting, then again Ive heard some claim that it just added to the bizzare atmosphere. For those who complete the story mode there is also a nice arena mode, which kept me playing for quite a while. I recommend this to anyone who would like to have a unique experiance and does not mind a short playtime.

83

Innovative

Rice77 | April 13, 2012 | See all Rice77's reviews »

Zeno Clash wouldn't work as a big budget game from an established studio; it's a different type of game, which would mean it's far too risky a project for them. It's a perfect example of how some of the best and most original ideas are coming out of independent teams that have talent and passion and can take risk because they're not gambling with tens of millions of dollars. Zeno Clash sticks with you long after you play it, and that's a compliment many games aspire to have associated with them.