Reviews for Greed: Black Border

80

Impulse buy sucess

Derty | June 21, 2013 | See all Derty's reviews »

I bought this game as an impulse buy! Not expecting much especially with its $5 price tag. I have to say I am very impressed. It has everything you could want from an arpg. The sci-fi setting also gives it a nice change of pace from fantasy dominated arpg market. Drop the $5 on this, it's worth it.

51

Averege. Barley.

brenker99 | June 4, 2013 | See all brenker99's reviews »

average story. Good setting. Weak Gameplay. I looked forward to play this, looked really good, until the first minute of my gameplay. then I rage quited.

85

Excellent but so short...

lowg33k | April 27, 2013 | See all lowg33k's reviews »

I got the game for free during a sale and what I can say is that it's totally worth it ! The gameplay is quite nice, graphics are colourfull. We also have the choice bitwin 3 classes of fighters so we can make the game several time without taking the same soldier !

But of course something is sad, it's too short ! The game end as we think we are going to play 2 or 3 hours more... But I really think there will be a second episode !

Buy it and enjoy ! This game is amazing !

65

Play it in short bursts

Guardian412 | Feb. 3, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

Greed: Black Border is a prime example for the well known "take a little from here and a little from there" scenario, namely when developers take ideas from various games, and they develop only the half of it well, or don't develop it at all. This game is not bad, but not good either, especially if you compare it with the others in the Hack and Slash RPG genre, such as my all time favorite, Titan Quest. You may chose from three different characters, Sniper Lady, Tough Marine and Flamethrower Guy. The game is difficult, which wouldn't be a problem if it wouldn't be difficult because of the sometimes flustrating level design and the unbalanced game system; namely if you're playing with sniper, there is a chance that you won't be able to pass the first boss, which is almost impossible with certain sniper builds (I played twice with the sniper and I was able to defeat the first boss only for the second walkthrough, when I was prepared for it since the first level. And the first boss is around level four or five or around that.). The storytelling is the worst part of Greed: Black Border as its is almost none existent, regardless there are some trace of it, starts interesting and it had potential, but the very bad narration, the minimal story elements, the irritating NPC characters, regardless they're very few in numbers, and the story is turning very flat and boring pretty soon to ruin the overall experience. My other problem with the game that regardless what weapons you buy, its the very same in look, just with different stats. The game is not even intending to give an illusion that you're fighting with a different type of weapon. If you have seen your sniper rifle, you've seen all of the sniper weapons in the class. Only the armors are changing slightly, but not that much. Still, if you want to play a sci-fi hack and slash game, Greed: Black Border isn't a bad game, at least not that bad, and its still capable to give some fun, but foremost challenging hours. If you want a sci-fi hack and slash game with Dead Space like atmosphere you may enjoy it, at least if you play it in short bursts. Very short burst.

80

Torchlight in space?...

alphalegion | Jan. 30, 2013 | See all alphalegion's reviews »

GREED: Black Border - Some may call it a “sci-fi torchlight”, and they wouldn’t be wrong. Needless to say, that isn’t a bad point at all. - After recently buying this game, I have to say, it has a fairly good solo campaign, and is a very fun Sci-Fi-RPG dungeon crawler style game, however this game really shines in multiplayer.

With traditional Diablo/Torchlight style dungeon crawling gameplay, it is clear this game would be successful as a multiplayer, and is certainly a very fun experience indeed, especially when you have a team of 6+ (if you can) crashing through the levels on hard difficulty, it is both challenging and accelerating.

The only bad part about the multiplayer (as it currently stands, Jan 2013), there is no dedicated servers to play on, which means you either have to resort to port-forwarding or using a program such as Hamachi. This isn’t a problem if you are familiar with playing on your own servers, I can just see it being a pain for those less experienced.

Even so, a very solid and entertaining game, and well worthy of the score I gave it. It isn’t quite as polished as other games of its genre, such as Diablo and Torchlight, but it is nothing to be sniffed at, especially at that price! - Well worth the money, and loads of fun!

78

It's good and bad at the same time, but i like it!

jpbuntinx | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all jpbuntinx's reviews »

First of all, this is not an AAA-title. It's not a budget title either if you ask me. It has elements which make it a great game : a lot of upgrade you can mess around with, and the actual fighting is great. Top that off with good to great graphics, and you already have a pretty good game, with 3 very important boxes checked there.

The story, however, well....it kind of leaves you hanging a bit, but i'll let you decide that for yourself.

Keep in mind this is an Indie title, and also look at it like that. You'll be surprised on how much fun you'll get from this game.

52

Intriguing idea but poor implementaion

Maniacal | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all Maniacal's reviews »

I should have known by Greed: Black Border name and very lackluster description that it was going to be disappointing but unfortunately hind sight is 20/20. Don't get me entirely wrong, it is enjoyable for a little while, especially in co-op, but after we were done playing that for several hours there just wasn't enough to keep us playing it continually. The upgrades are very numerous but could have used condensing as many of them weren't particularly useful or quickly replaced. The lack of WASD support is also awkward, at least at first. The game does look great graphically though!

35

Seems fun at the beginning but..

dawe | Nov. 21, 2012 | See all dawe's reviews »

This is a game were there maybe was a good idea to it but the implementatin kind of sucks.. Teh 3 classes are all quite similar and the levelling system is straight out of diablo 2.. I wish they would have spent some more time in doing a game which was more original and less stiff. I remember playing other games like this in the 90s which handled much the same. If there would be a follow-up to it they need to rethink what they are doing, and how. Bottom line, good setting but a crap implementation of the gameplay.

65

Decent co-op experience

Vidiz | Oct. 25, 2012 | See all Vidiz's reviews »

For what GREED offers it's fairly fun, though I highly recommend playing it in online co-op. The game doesn't have a large amount of depth by any means, and this becomes more noticeable when playing solo. The graphics aren't a highlight but that doesn't mean the game is ugly, the art style is nice and clear which is what it's important. The main problem is as others have noted, the lack of WASD support. It slows down the combat a lot more than it would have if the game had WASD support. Overall though, the game is fun enough to warrant a playthrough with friends, but it doesn't have any lasting appeal.

70

Nice game.

MarvinUQ | Sept. 11, 2012 | See all MarvinUQ's reviews »

This game it's a fun space dungeon crawling, the gameplay is good with the mouse, the WASD is a handicap but it can be fairly played as all other point and click games with just the mouse.

80

A solid sci-fi shooter

Cooberstooge | Sept. 6, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

The sheer number of upgrades you can use in this little indie game is massively impressive, and the battles are truly awesome. The story, though, is pretty much forgettable and not that integral to the rest of the game.

Graphics-wise, the game looks great, and is on par with other similar shooters of the genre released around the same time. Greed: Black Border may in fact tax your system, even though it's not one you would expect to - I did encounter some lag, but not enough to scare me off.

The sounds are quite good, with battles being very lively in particular. I quite enjoyed battles especially, and often found small conflicts to sound far more massive than they were, which was pretty neat.

If you like such titles as Alien Swarm and Shadowgrounds, then you're sure to like Greed: Black Border. This is one nice little indie bug hunt.

30

WASD

kayvent | Aug. 24, 2012 | See all kayvent's reviews »

I try to like this game but I wish they incorporating WASD for movement.

It would be a good game, maybe even great, if it had WASD movement.

If they release a patch that adds it, I'll really like the game but until then I find it unplayable. If they release a Greed 2 and I see it, I'd consider buying it.

69

Not really deep, but...

setoraven | Aug. 16, 2012 | See all setoraven's reviews »

There are some thing I don't like about this game, first, the controller setup is just bad without the main use of WASD, but still, it is manageable while using the mouse alone.

Still, this game is pretty fun anyway, upgrading your character can be quite satisfactory and the battle itself can be quite challenging.

This game reminds me of Shadowgrounds because of the top view and general atmosphere, and that gives the game a few extra points. On the other hand, it's not really a very compelling experience overall, even if its played CO OP, again, because of the bizarre controllers, and also for the beyond-stupid story, but then again, who cares about that...

It can be good and fun for a short while but if you're expecting a top view shooter that will blow your mind, you might as well go and look somewhere else.

60

Looks good

KILLEROZSNIPER | Aug. 15, 2012 | See all KILLEROZSNIPER's reviews »

The graphics don't seem the best though. Game play wise it isn't bad and is actually fun but I feel it looks like a dated game.

65

It is alright

lok0812 | Aug. 15, 2012 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This game puts players into a dungeon crawling Diablo-like environment within space. You have the option to choose one of the three characters of the game then learned the story and are thrown into the game world to begin the shooting.

The loots of the game are nothing spectacular, weapons are similar to the one you begin with except better stats. Armors are just different by putting a number next to them for upgrades purposes.

The game will get tedious quick since all you really need to do is move around and left click. Think twice before getting it if you favor the dungeon crawling for loots genre.

71

Decent

Rzepak01 | May 17, 2012 | See all Rzepak01's reviews »

Greed is the same genre as Alien Swarm and Alien Shooter, which works against it. Its a decent game with everything you would expect from the genre and nothing more. The story is there but it might as well be absent, its weak and is not what drives the player. The sinlge player is simple and not too long. There is multiplayer, but good luck finding someone to play with. While the killing is fun the environments are really repetetive and bland, which is a shame because the game looks pretty good. There really isnt much to say. Its a very predicatble game. Run around closed environments utilising the various weapons to dispatch various enemies in a pretty uninspired manner. There are three classes to choose from and both the characters and weapons can be upgraded, which works well, but in the end does very little to keep the player invested. The game is decent, nothing more, if you passed Alien Swarm and Shadowgrounds and want more aliens to kill, then by all means buy Greed but dont expect too much.

65

Mediocre, but some fun to be had...

thekman | April 20, 2011 | See all thekman's reviews »

What this is: An Alien Breed / Shadow Grounds clone with small RPG aspirations…

Graphics: They’re ok, they do the job and there isnt any major problems with them, except variety… there isnt much of it.

Sound: Erm. See above! Sounds are ok, nothing to write home about.

Multiplayer: Online and Local Multiplayer Co-op…

Singleplayer: It’s a reasonably fun experience, but it’s not something that will hook you and make you finish it.

Co-Op: Makes the game much better, you can have upto 3 people playing together, again tho, it’s something to play when you’ve finished the Alien Breed x3 and Shadow Grounds x 2

Summary: I don’t like calling games mediocre, but this really is. Fun, but more effort required really…

Don’t be put off completely tho, Co-Op eeks much more out of this game…