Reviews for Max Payne 3 DNS

60

Plays great, doesn't feel like Max Payne

thefinalhope | Jan. 30, 2013 | See all thefinalhope's reviews »

Max Payne 3 isn't a bad game, it just does not feel like a Max Payne game if you've played the previous two.

The story is fairly straight forward in MP3, you're trying to rescue someone... in Brazil... in daylight most of the time, anyone who's played MP1/2 it does not have the same film noir feel as the others. That's the biggest problem I have with the game honestly, it just doesn't feel like a Max Payne game.

Besides that, it plays extremely well and looks great. Mechanics of the weapons feel and handle great, and feel 'realistic' while still maintaining that arcade-like feel the other Max Payne's had. Max is still voiced by the same guy and performs very well, it's just a shame his inner narration did not sound authentic. Sam Lake just has this great way of writing I suppose.

The score is also very unique, and for the most part, very good.

That's really all I can say, it plays great mechanically and looks fantastic (an incredible port), to me though it was not an authentic Max Payne game and easily could have been sold with another title.

76

Max Payne 3

georgecopos | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all georgecopos's reviews »

Finally a third person shooter that doesnt rely totally on the cover system. Rockstar kept the good gameplay, its very satisfying to kill 8 guys in an enjoyable 10 second slowmotion . The downside is that the game experience sometimes transforms into a generic rail shooter.

Remedy had a special style regarding levels, with an unique concept of taking breaks during the gameplay, like max's dreams or police station walking from the first two games. The 3rd game just throws you straight into combat after some long and uninteresting cutscenes. The charm of the first 2 games was the noir atmosphere in a Jersey where the night felt like never ending. Althought the locations are more varied in the Rockstar game, the series style has been lost; graphics are good but for 2012 are not impressive.

Max didnt escaped his past demons and tends to explain life sucks every 30 seconds...it becomes annoying at some point. The story is ok, but nothing more and the characters are nowhere memorable.

Overall Max Payne 3 is the sequel that nobody asked for and that nobody will replay it in a couple of years.

75

Good game, but just not Max Payne

Stebsis | Jan. 26, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

Max Payne was this dark, innovative third person shooter with awesome bullet-time mechanic which lets you slow down time as you leap forward so that you can shoot many bad guys at once. Max Payne 3 definitely got "rockstar treatment". This is not bad game by any chance, but this just isn't what Max Payne was. You play as Max Payne, ex-cop who's lost his wife and child. He gets in trouble back in America and he moves to Brazil, taking a bodyguard job, but things of course go wrong and people start to die as Max tries to figure out what exactly is going on. Story isn't anything that great but keeps you invested to the end. Game is also really cutscene heavy which I didn't mind as they were very well done with superb animation and voice acting. Graphics are great, locales are different and everything looks beautiful The problem I have with the game is its pacing. Almost everytime you go through a door there's a small or longer cutscene and at the end of it Max goes to cover as bad guys start to pile up. Every. Single. Time. There are very few instances where you can actually use the bullet-time like in previous titles, you run towards a door and leap through it, you see the doors open in slow-mo and behind them some dozen bad guys with guns, and you shoot most of them before they have any idea what happened. None of that here, you always see cutscene, go to cover, kill bad guys and on to the next room. It get really repetitive and monotonous even though it's fun, but it's just not Max Payne-y. I have really mixed feelings about this game, it's definitely good but it isn't anything like what I wanted from next gen Max Payne game. Rockstar does solid job, but they also have their own distinct style that just doesn't fit Max Payne.

82

The best and the worst Max Payne game

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | See all Jray264's reviews »

Let me explain the title. Out of all three MP games, Max Payne 3 has the best gameplay, sound, and graphics. But what I really liked about the Max Payne games was the story. Unfortunately, MP 3 has a weak and muddled story. Sure, Max Payne is still himself, but the story is not nearly has good as the other two. Max still goes through a lot of hardships during the course of the game, all while he talks to himself and makes up witty analogies, but like I said it's not nearly as good, What IS good about this game is the stunning graphics and gunplay. Bullettime never looked better as Max dives into the air shoots a baddy in the head. The game put a lot of detail into the game has Max carries whatever weapon he had in the cut scenes and you can see the flesh rip as the bullet exits the victim's skull. Fans of action games and Max Payne games should try the game out.

85

Max Payne 3

xydanus | Jan. 18, 2013 | See all xydanus's reviews »

Max Payne 3 is welcomed addition to the Max Payne series. Third game honors previous games, even though it is not made by Remedy.

Story goes like this: Max is an old drunk. He leaves from his apartment only to bar where he meets a friend that wants to help Max to get back to live his life by offering a job as a security person.

Max Payne 3 still has bullet time events, but it adds few new tricks to it. Graphics are excellent and accurate. Max can carry only few weapons and those weapons are not in Max's pocket, meaning that player can see weapons Max is carrying. Game has some weird glitches, like when Max gets stuck behind cover. Also random bullet time jumping may end in same result.

I recommend Max Payne 3 for those how like great story telling and have already played previous Max Payne games.

99

Totally, a real Max Payne

culefinslamort | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all culefinslamort's reviews »

Max Payne 3 is a great game and not really far than perfect. I loved the story, the astonishing graphics (and it's not needed a high-end PC to move it like smoothly) and the game play. Yes, you will probably die some times, but, like in the other 2 Max Payne titles, it's a pure action game and you won't be able to stop playing it until you finish it. The multiplayer is also great and there are tons of DLC's for it. Give it a try and if you're a Max Payne fan, it won't dissapoint you.

90

Unless you hate cutscenes, best shooter of 2012

Donrenegade | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all Donrenegade's reviews »

--Copied from my own steam recommendations page--

Awesome gameplay, great engine(easily maxed out), awesome graphics and the shootouts are one of the best i've ever seen in a game. The single player mode is great and lasts around 10 hours during your first playthough. One of the best games I've ever played. It's even worth it at full price!

86

Max, is that you??

abelfs | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all abelfs's reviews »

Max Payne is back and this is, without a doubt, the most intense and enjoyable 3rd Person Shooter of this generation. The shootouts are pure adrenaline, the physics system is impressive, great optimization, the characterization of Max as a broken man is really well done... HOWEVER, the Max payne essence was in the shadow of Remedy, not Rockstar. More than once I had the feeling that I was playing a game that is not Max Payne. That ironical and black humour present in the plot of the first two games is missing.

75

Not As Much "Max Payne" As A Max Payne Game Should Be.

Wootus | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all Wootus's reviews »

First of all: this game has cutscenes. Many, many cutscenes. The first hour or two are probably made up of about only 20 minutes of actual gameplay. I didn't time it but that's what it felt like. They seem to ease up as the game goes on but they remain consistently frequent throughout.

When the game actually lets you play it though, it's a great action shooter. Bullet time is awesome to behold and the gunplay feels and looks brutal. The addition of a cover mechanic is somewhat disappointing however, as I found I spent way more time hiding behind objects than vaulting over tables and sliding on the floor using bullet dodge. Simply because I'd die doing that. A shame really as that's kind've what Max Payne was all about before, but of course they HAD to add cover cause it's what's expected in games these days. It almost feels as if bullet dodging has been made into a gimmick rather than the method of survival it was in the previous Max Paynes. This IS a different game however, and so as it stands it's still great fun.

One major gripe I had was that the last couple of levels are pretty ridiculous in terms of the amount of enemies there are and how much damage they can take. It can get frustrating at times as it feels like the game is cheating instead of genuinely giving you a challenge through clever level design or AI.

The story is probably the best thing about this game. Everything about it is well done. The writing, the voice acting, the animation; all brilliant. The locations that the story takes you to are also great. Varied and beautifully rendered. Gone are the comic-style panels of the previous games though, which is unfortunate for long time fans such as myself but I suppose if they were included they might have appeared "cheap" by today's standards.

After all is said and done, this is a good game that you will enjoy playing if you liked Max Payne and Max Payne 2, but there are probably better games out right now that you should spend your money on before this one. The campaign took me only 8 hours to complete, and that's with taking my time to look around for the collectibles. There's really no reason to go back and play it through a second time. If you can get it on sale; go for it. Otherwise I'm not sure there's enough on offer here to make it worth paying full price for.

93

A surprising entry in the series

Damien_Azreal | Oct. 11, 2012 | See all Damien_Azreal's reviews »

A Max Payne game without Remedy developing, and it's actually a great entry in the series.

Max is now a darker and even more grim character. Having lost not only his wife, child and other love (Mona) but his purpose and direction. Leaving the police force and diving into a bottle Max almost willing wants death. The story is pretty bleak, even for a Max Payne game, but it feels true to the series. Showing a Max that is not only out of the city and his element, but that has lost his way. He's just as confused and lost as the player.

The gameplay is wonderfully invigorating and exciting. Almost matching the feel and flow of the previous games, and fine tuning it. Making the gun fights and encounters feel like dances with death. Beautiful to watch, and hypnotizing in how they flow and come to a conclusion.

It's also a gorgeous game. It runs incredibly smooth and gave me no performance or stability problems the entire time I was playing. For fans of Max Payne, this is a must have. Don't be put off by the change in location or the older, beaten down look of Max. It's a story that needs to be heard.

85

A game similar to the previous titles

panz3r88 | Sept. 7, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Max Payne 3 is like its predecessor a third person action game. The main element of the previous games are still present: the bullet time that allow to slow down time and the shoot dodge that allow to perform spectacular kill. The new Brazilian setting is good and mantains the noir style of the game and Max is till the same character with many problems but ready to fight to defend what is important for him. The singleplayer experience is equal to the one of the previous Max Payne titles. The game is linear and full of enemy to kill one after the other to reach the end. Even if there is a cover system, a feature typical of modern action games, you can't stay behind a wall forever, because the enemy IA is good and very aggressive. In Max Payne there is also a multiplayer mode, with many different game modes and very well done that add many hour of gameplay after the end of the singleplayer. Max Payne 3 is a good third person action game that doesn't disappoint the old fan of the old Max Payne titles

85

Great sequel. Too many cutscenes

UltraGT | Sept. 2, 2012 | See all UltraGT's reviews »

Max Payne is back in all its slow-mo glory. This is, without a doubt, the most intense and enjoyable 3rd Person Shooter of the whole generation. The shootouts are pure adrenaline, the physics system is impressive and the Noir feeling of the first two games is still there, despite the sunny Brazilian setting. Also, the characterization of Max as a broken man is really well done.

The downside to this is the excessive amount of cutscenes playing during the game. You can't walk through more than two rooms in a row without getting some annoying (and in most cases, pointless) cutscenes in the middle. In most cases, it breaks the flow of the action. A fewer number of them would have made for a perfect experience.

The multiplayer is quite forgettable, but you can have a nice time with it by unlocking the usual weapons and costumes.

If you ask me, I'd tell you to get this game whether you are a fan of the original games or not.

79

Nice game, but i expected a whole lot more

KlaymanInc | July 28, 2012 | See all KlaymanInc's reviews »

Well, you do get an action packed, bullet time game, but to me, the story on this one is not half as good as the original one. Feels to me like Rockstar really tried too much to make it work, jamming the game with countless enemies (Really ridiculous amounts at some of the levels), and driving Max through the story with no real motive, other than "I'm a drunk/junkie loser". The graphics are really lush and beautiful, and the sound is also top notch.

All in all it's a good game, but i would wait for a good discount before buying it.

91

A sequel worthy of the Max Payne name

POOTDISPENSER | June 18, 2012 | See all POOTDISPENSER's reviews »

The Max Payne series is built upon it's noir-setting storyline and frantic shootouts.

If you think the franchise took a wrong step in changing it's setting to Brazil, you are wrong. The bald guy on the cover is very much Max Payne we knew and love back in the previous games.

The haunting main theme is there, the witty and depressing narrative is also there. Shootdodging and Bullet Time is a joy to use more than ever. With the new graphics engine used here, it's a bullet ballad.

With the ease and grace of a ballerina, Max fights his way through various settings in the game, keeping it fresh and fast-paced. A new visual style that is somewhat similar to Kane and Lynch 2 is used here, and it's a love-hate thing but it won't affect much of the experience.

Long time fan of the Max Payne series? Get it.

Never heard of Max Payne 3 before? Get it.

75

Enjoyable

simonsix | June 15, 2012 | See all simonsix's reviews »

singleplayer reference : a different game from Max Payne 1 and Max Payne 2. it's quite a short game, about 8 hours (on medium). This game is like an interactive movie player. You can pause every millisecond of the action but you can not SAVE the game (auto save system) . Overall tthe game is really enjoyable. a lot of action and a lot of graphics options, high-resolution textures, animations etc.

95

Rockstar strike again

AtomicEggs | June 14, 2012 | See all AtomicEggs's reviews »

It seems that Rockstar have the ability to release great game after great game with Red Dead and GTA IV and it certainly doesn't stop with Max Payne 3. They may have used a bit of GTA in the design but then who doesn't, look at Fallout 3 and then Skyrim.

This game is full of everything, the graphics and sound are amazing, the game-play is full and action packed and keeps you on the edge of the seat and works in all areas.

Then there is the multiplayer which has the amazing ability to slow down time of the person in your aim which is an amazing feature once you know how and when to use it. It keeps a constant change and difficulty amongst all players.

Overall this game is amazing and fun to play, new to Max Payne or an old gamer of the previous games. However it is a hefty file size and an age to download but once you get there you'll be thankful with the amount of quality it contains.

98

VERDICT

cristiano171 | June 11, 2012 | See all cristiano171's reviews »

Max Payne 3 is certainly one of the best third person shooters generation. Rockstar's work was highly satisfactory in every way, from setting the state of São Paulo to the creation of a shooting extremely addictive and challenging at the right, with very customizable gameplay as well as the player wants.

Max Payne 3 is critical, is shooting deep, is sad, frenzied, vindictive and extremely well polished and with a physical to envy to many other games. Soundtrack that accompanies moments of a very well planned, with much higher level of dubbing in different languages​​, all quite closely, even if sometimes the Brazilian seems artificial.

Max Payne 3 is a game for those who want to challenge and make a nice reflection on society today.

90

You don't need to read it - just go and buy Max Payne 3!

LESZ3u | June 11, 2012 | See all LESZ3u's reviews »

With all boldness, I can say that the game met my expectations 100%. Gun battles are pure poetry, perhaps no game gave me so much joy to the extermination of successive waves of enemies. The whole game is very cinematic. There's a lot of cutscenes and they are very well-directed. It's remind me great cutscenes from GTA IV, but with comic feeling that we know from first two Max Payne games. Whole game look like a great action movie! There's still a heavy atmosphere, and the dialogue keep the class. But this is R* - we have nothing to worry about it. Animations are just excelent (I recommend to pay attention to the collecting guns from the floor or taking the painkillers), a variety of enemies fall also gives the mass of fun. The camera system in Bullet Time is also a small masterpiece. Add to that a great soundtrack and an interesting story and we got one of the most interesting action games of recent years.

What else - the game was surprisingly smoothly transferred to the PC. We all know how GTA IV and LA Noire was converted, but there's is totally differend. On my overclocked Pentium Q9550, 4GB RAM and a GeForce 460GTX I am playing it maxed (except MSAA). Great job!

85

Worthy max payne sequel

xgatto | June 8, 2012 | See all xgatto's reviews »

Max Payne is back, and don't let the cover fool you, that bearded, bald guy is still the same Payne that held the dead body of Michelle on his arms. The personality of Payne is the same as always, dark, always with something clever to say, and the narrative still works the same, you always know what Max is thinking. The only downside I have to say about this game, is that the story and setting (Brasil mostly) just doesn't feel like the old Max, on the dark alleys and snowy streets.

But aside from that, everything is well done and polished. Graphics wise the game is just outstanding, uses the euphoria system we've already seen on GTA IV and some other games, which makes characters animations feel very fluid and realistic. Soundtrack is still as awesome as ever, the main theme is still there ofc ourse, somewhat improved, while maintaining the original awesomeness

Game takes about 10 to 12hs to complete on normal difficulty, and afterwards you can play the multiplayer, which I can say its a great addition, and very well done.

So, if you are a long time Max Payne fan, don't doubt on getting this, and if you're new to it, but you like third person shooters, you should really consider getting it, as its a great game all around.

100

Perfect

Splodey | June 6, 2012 | See all Splodey's reviews »

Max Payne 3 continues the story of a former NYC detective, Max Payne. Max Payne 3 ditched the snowy streets of New York, and went for a sunnier place called São Paulo, where Max works private security for a rich businessman Rodrigo Branco. Everything doesn't go according to plan, when Rodrigo Branco's wife gets kidnapped, this leads to a new Max Payne story.

The gameplay in Max Payne 3 is really solid. The shooting is satisfying, with bullet holes you leave in your enemies, and really nice gun sounds. Of course Max's signature Bullet Time and Shoot Dodge are back. Bullet Time works like in the previous games, where with just a push of a button you can slow down time, which gives you a momentum to score some good kills.

Max Payne 3 is a beautiful game. The graphics are amazing, the attention to detail is extraordinary. The one thing that really amazed me was, when I shootdodged into the ground, and when Max stood up his shirt was dirty. As I said the game looks really, really nice. The cutscenes make a really big part of the game. The cutscenes are not like in the two previous Max Payne games, this time, still images aren't used and are replaced by motion captured performance. Though the comic book panels are still there, and they fit really well, even though the cutscenes are made in a different way. Rounded up the cutscenes are about 4 hours of the game, but they are not a drag to watch, the amazing voice acting and beautiful animations really make the cutscenes look realistic.

Max Payne 3 has solid gameplay, amazing graphics and great voice acting which make it an amazing sequel to the Max Payne franchise.

90

Looks and plays amazing on PC

kinanswer | June 4, 2012 | See all kinanswer's reviews »

Strong and compelling narrative that kept me invested in Max's mission (although perhaps too many cut scenes).

The single player story did sometimes bounce around with it's side objectives making it feel varied but a little like GTA. Saying that the story (with a little time for exploration for hidden pieces) lasted around a solid 5-hours.

Multiplayer is quite fun to boot (although I've already encountered a few 'glitchers'). A few patches and things can only get better.

On it's looks, weighing in at a massive 35gb, Max Payne 3 is packed with HD textures for the PC release. This makes the game look truly amazing.