Reviews for Alien Shooter

60

Generic top down shooter

asbath | Oct. 7, 2013 | See all asbath's reviews »

This is the first top down shooter from Sigma games, and for the most part is a good time killer. Graphics and gameplay are about as simple and generic as they get, but they get the job done. Character leveling is pretty standard fanfare (get XP and money, level up character and buy more weapons), and the weapon selection is decent when you consider what kind of game it is. Weapons begin from "too powerful for the weakest gun" to an IDDQD "come get some" plasma chaingun.

Is it worth the $4? You can decide on that, but if you can snag it on sale it's at least worth as much as a single coffee - because that's how it takes to get through the campaign.

68

Recommend it or not?

kalil | June 20, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

It isn't terrible. The graphics are below par. The gameplay is enjoyable as an arcadey, play-for-short-intervals type of game. It's very similar to the other games in the series of which I have also played and completed most of: Alien Shooter 2, Alien Shooter 2: Reloaded, and a couple more. They are all very similar and I can't help but think are basically all the same game. In this one and the others you simply walk around with a top down view and collect more powerful weapons than the previous, upgrade them along with your armor, and gun down thousands of enemies in huge groups at a time. It's very enjoyable to me because I've always loved old retro shooters, and I'm a sucker for most top down games. However I wouldn't often recommend this to, well, anyone, so in the interest of a community, and not my personal thought. It's a pretty personalized opinion on games that'll effect if you like this one, so do some research and try to think of what the game's like before buying it, maybe look at some gameplay somewhere.

30

About as abysmal as a cheap game can be

Scorpy | Jan. 17, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Alien Shooter's cheap price may catch many eyes, but do not be mistaken, this is not only a blatantly generic shooter, but also a broken and ugly one. With its outdated graphics, bad control and even worse story, Alien Shooter is probably one of the worst games I've touched in a long while.

Avoid at all costs.

45

Another tps

Cavalieroscuro | Jan. 16, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

This third person shooter is not really a good one. It has not a real plot, gameplay is boring like hell and it can be completed in three hours at least. There are many other games much better then this, like Alien Swarm from Valve, so avoid it because, even if it is cheap, it isn't worth it for sure.

65

Kill them all!

FreeMan85 | July 11, 2012 | See all FreeMan85's reviews »

Alien Shooter is real old school aracde shooter! You got a hero/heroine 10 missions, 9 type of weapon nad hordes of alien monsters. We got a bit info about the situation which is the usual B-movie kinda plot: unknown aliens infestated a secret laboratory and we alone must eradicate them. That's all. The gameplay is simple: you got a wepons and shoot the enemy. Nothing fancy, no weapon reload or jam, you got enough ammo from crates or dropped by the killed enemies. There's multiple type of enemies and their color amrk their level: green, yellow, red and blue. The ame also has a Survivor mode whic is what's you expect: infinite hordes and you must hold as long you can. The graphics is 2D, the animation is OK, but weird. The sounds generic, the music gives the tension.

If you like old school shooters, arcade games Alien Shooter is a must buy for you. A real old school mindless shooter.

30

Not worth it

faraany3k | Aug. 15, 2011 | See all faraany3k's reviews »

Even with its extremely low price, seriously this game is not worth it. Primarily because of how horrendous it looks. I am not usually the one who fancy graphics alot, but gameplay is equally bad. 3 words some it all Repetitive, clunky and boring. Game has no story or purpose. There are quite a few free2play games that you can try instead of wasting money on this game.

33

Shooting Aliens

emperor20 | Aug. 12, 2011 | See all emperor20's reviews »

An ill-made game that manages to have graphical errors that leave an overlay of a grid that partially obscures my screen. It ramps up in difficulty quickly with an army of acid-spitting crawlers, which makes the floor increasingly into a death trap. Imagine dozens of pools quickly covering the floor as you slowly kill them off with lots of backtracking. You meet some end game monsters after a couple floors and it is nothing but a race back to the start as you have weak weapons and the two dinos are shedding enough armor plating to cover a football field. There is no middle ground or build up in difficulty, unlike the other games.

50

Daka DAKA

hotmando1 | June 28, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

Enjoy mindlessly killing aliens! Then this is for you. If you don't care for deep immersive story lines and lore but more about plain old slaughtering for hours and hours. Then alien shooter is the best place to be at. Mind the graphics though, a little dated but bareable. Some rpg elements to fix it up a bit, but nothing more. Get your gun and start mowing.

45

Boring game...

matsza | June 24, 2011 | See all matsza's reviews »

Alien Shooter is weak and boring. Graphics is very ugly, sound is uninteresting. This game is too simple. In Alien Shooter is many weapons and monsters. Levels are very repeatable. Shooting at aliens with all weapons type is not fun. Game is too short (~2hr). I don't recommend Alien Shooter.

70

Simple, but...

Muzicjohn | June 21, 2011 | See all Muzicjohn's reviews »

This game is simple, graphics are bad, but I finished it many, many times and I still like it! Shooting at aliens with all this weapons is so enjoyable and fun, that I don't need anything more, for this price it is really good choice, just buy it! ;]

50

Alien Swarm is much better

drakaenae | June 11, 2011 | See all drakaenae's reviews »

This game is a lot like the free steam game Alien Swarm except its a lot worse. The graphics are bad, there isn't much of a plot and the game is glitchy. The only thing I like about the game is the title itself because in this game, all you really do is pointlessly shoot aliens.

The graphics of this game looks like the games that came out before 1999 even though this game was released in 2005. If you walk up to a wall, your guns with cut through the wall and you could shoot the aliens on the other side. Likewise, when an alien walks into a wall, their head passes through the wall and you could shoot them on the other side of the wall without getting damaged.

I really wouldn't recommend buying this game. Instead get the free game Alien Swarm from steam and experience a similar but better experience.

70

Let it rain

awesomedude2306 | May 3, 2011 | See all awesomedude2306's reviews »

Alien Shooter is a decent little indie title hat features a ton of shooting and gore. There are lite RPG elements mixed with standard isometric shooting. Of course, the game isn't too deep; the only RPG stuff you'll be worried about is how much many to spend on armor and weapons upgrades. The game is shallow to say the least, but at under $5, it's a decent little timewaster.

60

Kill'em all!

fearon | April 8, 2011 | See all fearon's reviews »

Fine relaxator. Bad mood? Put your brain in the closet and try Alien Shooter. You'll stand alone and fight with hordes of brainless aliens. And you'll have a good fun. Only if you didn't except more. Alien Shooter is the best title for such game. You shoot to aliens. Nothing more. Oh... Yes... There are small rpg features of course.

68

Good for one moment

neir45 | April 6, 2011 | See all neir45's reviews »

Mamy monsters, mamy guns, simply graphic ,good story ,simply rules this is recept for simply game for relax. Very good but for one monet. Later is borring.....

65

Good one for relaxing

mikim | April 4, 2011 | See all mikim's reviews »

I really liked Alien Shooter because - though it's lack of good story and bad graphics and audio - it was really relaxing. After a bad day, it was nice to just sit in front of the monitor and play it, release the whole frustration killing the aliens. But, the game doesn't offer much more than that. It's just a simple game with not big budget, which I don't recommend if you can spend your money on something better. And there are lots of better games than this one.