Reviews for The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition

90

A Damn Good Game: Witcher 2

koticpaxx | May 28, 2015 | See all koticpaxx's reviews »

SHWING! SHWING! You are Geralt of Rivia, a badass sword fighter and monster hunter who is quite the lady killer.In this installment in the Witcher franchise, who are hunting down the assassin of kings, after he (or she?) brutally kills a king and frames you for it. The mechanics in this game is lovely. The heavy and fast attack system, and dodge and rolling, make you feel like every battle counts, whether its against humans or monsters, you'll still be kicking butt. The graphics are great. You'll need quite the system to run it, but trust me, it's quite worth it. This RPG game is one of the best games I've played in a while, and I've played my fair share. Be warned: once you start playing, you might not want to put it back down.

87

One of the best RPGs ever

Armannn | May 7, 2015 | See all Armannn's reviews »

The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition has been released in 2012. For a game that was released in 2012, this Witcher looks so great that it's hard for any other RPG to "defeat" it. I've been enjoying every single moment with this game and I am thankful for the developers for the great work on it. "Old fantasies" from the Middle century and such and creatures that you can hardly imagine these days make their appear here. They're modeled very nicely and that's what I appreciate (since I am a modder and look into details of the models). Definitely a game you should try.

94

An Epic RPG further expanding an epic world

Zaggeta | May 7, 2015 | See all Zaggeta's reviews »

I made sure to finish the Witcher 1 before proceeding to the Witcher 2 due to the ability to carry over choices from the previous save. My willingness to spend over 40 hours in an outdated game just to have control over a few choices is a testament to the importance of choice in this game. Much more than the previous game, Witcher 2 must be played multiple times to gain the full experience. There are a huge variety of factions and choices which will take separate playthroughs and they are worth it each time. Combat has become increasingly more fluid with dodging and attacks being much more dependent on player skill than in the previous Witcher. At the same time, the difficulty has risen as Geralt no longer automatically blocks blows. This rise of difficulty makes the game more engaging and challenging. The story is as great as ever but has become even easier to engage in with better character design, graphics and dialogue. There are a few (funny) glitches, but nothing game breaking. Definitely a must buy for any Action RPG fans.

98

Epic game, epic adventure.

Corax_E | March 17, 2015 | See all Corax_E's reviews »

It's not a classic RPC as you aren't creating your own character and have no stats beside assigning skill points to your character. But the game is properly better for it as it has a strong focus on story telling and most likely is the best story-driven RPG to date where you for once aren't saving the world. All the characters are interesting and game has a very mature theme set in a dark magical medieval world. Your choices in this game matters as the branching story will take you on completely different sides of a war in the second chapter and with 16 different endings it definitely has some replay value.

90

Great RPG

Gmen | Jan. 22, 2015 | See all Gmen's reviews »

Graphics: The game is a bit of a beast, so it will take all of what you’ve got, and probably more, to run it on your system. Even years after its initial release, it’s resource intensive. AI: I could find not much fault with the AI, although I will say that it’s rather easy to exploit enemies’ view range, and keep on the outside in order to avoid conflict. Perhaps this is intentional, but hardly realistic. Sound (inc. Music): The sounds in the game are all rather good and have a dramatic sense to them. Nothing is soft or inaudible. The music is fantastic and really does create the sense that you are taking part in an epic medieval adventure. Gameplay: This is an RPG afterall, so expect to run around doing a lot of chores, and speaking to people in order to pick up or further quests with a bit of combat thrown into the mix every now and again. You earn talents as you progress throughout the game which you can then use to upgrade your character’s abilities so that he may become more proficient in any area you choose. You can also earn gold coins which is the game’s currency. This obviously allows you to buy equipment and items. Controls: At first I wasn’t a very big fan of the controls or the camera. The camera can be altered so your view of the game world can be changed. The only viewpoint not available is first person – this lends itself to helping maintain the fact that you are playing the role of a deep character, and no some random custom creation. The combat isn’t extremely good or intuitive either, and takes some getting used to. Story: This is about the best aspect of the game: the story, the quests, the characters and the dialogue. All excellently presented and some very interesting plot twists. The story progresses based on choices you make during the game. Originality: This is almost like any other RPG around, like Morrowind or Oblivion, but somehow it’s also part Assassin’s Creed – maybe too much like said game if you include the combat. Overall, a must if you’re an RPG fan, and want a bit more depth than something like your typical Bethesda title. This is more of BioWare fan’s dream come true, especially if you’re into the likes of Dragon’s Age.

95

A wonderful adventure

BlockAgent | Jan. 11, 2015 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

Witcher 2 is the type of game that hooks you within the first hour and makes you want to play more and more of it. I started playing it not sure if I would like it, but then I became addicted to it. It's fun, easy to pick up and all of the quests are interesting and well done. Not even the smallest side-quests feel tacked on. They all feel like fully developed chapters in the story. The graphics are great as is the sound. Gameplay works very well and combat it very fluid. Voice acting and cutscene animation are all very well done. I highly recommend this game to anyone who likes action adventure games. After playing this I can't wait for The Witcher 3.

97

One of the best RPGs of the last generation.

heerox328 | Dec. 7, 2014 | See all heerox328's reviews »

Do you love BioWare storytelling? Do you love a dark, mature, and more realistic fantasy setting? Do you enjoy a game that offers morally ambiguous choices where there is no right or wrong option? The Witcher 2 is just the game for you. This is the story of the anti-hero Geralt of Rivia, the legendary Witcher, on a quest for answers and to clear his name. Witchers are mutants, humans modified through alchemy and mutagens, created to slay monsters. I will not talk about the plot, but as the title of the game suggests, regicide plays a large role in the experience. There are a lot of politics, a lot of war, and a lot of relationships that are built as the story progresses. You don't technically need to play The Witcher 1, but I would highly recommend it to be familiar with the characters and what is happening early on in the game. None of the choices in The Witcher 1 really impact The Witcher 2 in any major way, but the last moments of The Witcher 1 directly tie into this game. The combat, while loved or hated, provides a tactical and challenging approach to engagements. You must use your wit, your signs, your accessories, and your Witcher swords to successful obtain victory. There are also quite a few romances that are possible, and large environments to explore in every chapter of the game. I really do not have a criticism of this game as it more or less improves upon the original in every way. Definitely a must buy for all RPG fans. This game is on sale a lot, so definitely keep an eye out.

93

Some very nice extras.

scottnat | April 20, 2012 | See all scottnat's reviews »

The extras of the enhanced edition (or free ~11-12 gig patch for standard Witcher 2) really add some gloss. The new opening cinematic alone is gorgeous and makes it worth the download/buy if you're a fan of the game. I've only played a little of the extra mission content - tutorial, and some of main game extras - but what's there fits in very well with the non-Enhanced version content. Also, I'm not sure how extensive it is but it feels like the game is running a little smoother; as though some extra effort has gone into an engine overhaul along with the new content - though whether this is a result of this EE specific version/patch or prior patches that have been included in the EE version but were available prior to it I'm not sure.