Reviews for The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition


An Amazing Second Installment to "The Witcher" Series

SparkWave | Aug. 5, 2015 | See all SparkWave's reviews »

In this game, you are able to level up abilities as you please, pick up different weapons and completely wreck enemies with awesome witcher skills. The story line is definitely the best part altogether. You encounter many different types of enemies, like mercenaries and even dragons. You can walk around and talk to people, explore, do side quests, and much, much more. The game, once learned proves to be simple, yet there are many mechanics. There are lots of controls to learn and sometimes you may get stuck on certain parts of the game, but eventually you will figure it out and continue your quest for glory. The graphics are very impressive, detailing even the smallest items. Try it out!


Compelling story, true RPG depth

Sceyef | July 23, 2015 | See all Sceyef's reviews »

This one really blows you away in terms of quality. It's not true open world, but you don't notice it as much as you might expect - they give you all the space you want while playing. There is no teleportation to get around, but one would wonder if you would really want to skip through the beautiful maps to explore. The story is much better than other RPGs. Your decisions have a HUGE impact on what will happen later. Skyrim can't compare in terms of story or decision making at all, the decisions you make in that game may only change a few quests or who talks to you. I had a blast playing as Geralt of Rivia, and I felt that I was really into the game. Unfortunately there were many instances where I was confused about something and couldn't figure out what to do for a long time, plus the game has huge optimization issues (don't play the game without a fast PC).


Awesome addition to the series

Kveni | June 20, 2015 | See all Kveni's reviews »

Honestly, when it comes to a Witcher game, you know they are going to do it right. Based off of a book series, the dialogue and story in this game is INCREDIBLE, giving the player an in depth experience to absolutely every thought and action that is taken throughout the game. You can alter the outcome of the game with just some simple choice of words, and can have everything turn out okay, or completely opposite of what you wanted to happen. The combat is also awesome, brutal, and give a challenge to the gamer, not just ordinary hack and slash. The graphics are also beautiful, and worth stopping just to admire them. Honestly, this is a game worth checking out!


Time to gear up again, Witcher

nightninja | June 9, 2015 | See all nightninja's reviews »

Action, Adventure, and did i mention Romance (or at least the Witcher kind of romance). The Witcher 2 brings back the fun times you experienced from the first game. What, you didn't play the first game? Why are you here, go enjoy the experience from the first. While it is a sequel, it can still be played as a stand alone game (although i do encourage you to play the first to learn about some game-play mechanics and storyline). You'll be player as Geralt the Witcher, this time chasing after a man known as the Kingslayer. But who cares about that? (ok care a bit about the story) Witcher 2 follows the classic RPG mix: A solid main quest with varying paths, peppered with various sidequests along the way. You'll be able to learn new skills from swordplay to magic to help you along the way, and pickup new items and equipment to help in your travels. Characters are unique, hailing from different races and gender. Don't be surprised if you managed to remember names and faces, even without making any effort. DLC-wise, CD Projekt Red Studio has followed their mantra of making DLCs free, hence there you don't see a basic edition for this game. While the DLC here can be considered minor (1 quest and 3 equipment items), free DLC is free, and it's always a nice bonus to have.


Must be owned

nifeleki | June 7, 2015 | See all nifeleki's reviews »

if you ever thought that fairytales and fantasy creatures are just for kids then you didnt have the chance to take a glimpse of the world of the witcher where power corrupted politics meet dangerous bloodthirsty creatures. The witcher is an rpg game franchise with characters based on short story collections that later became a saga of novels writen by a polish writer Andrzej Sapkowski.Cd projekt red is the team that took this fantasy world into the pc.The story is about a witcher named geralt of rivia.Witchers are mercenaries,hunters of mythical beasts hired even by kings.In the second part of the saga, the kings of the north are slayed by mercenaries and one of them in front of geralt who is accused of the murder as he was found alone with the dead body of the king.The tale starts as he is trying to clear his name by finding and killing the murderer. The visual design of the game is plus moderate compared to 2014 games as when it was published was on the top of the rpg games.The lanscapes, the cities, the alleys, models everything on it made me feel as i was part of a graphic novel, living, breathing in it.The game as a whole made me explore every alley of it remembering every path of the map by heart. It resembles the fable saga in a significantly darker tone in a cruel world with nudity and teriffying creatures. It worked in general on high frames except the third act where i found it drop at 15-20 frames.It is still a heavy game.Ι also want to point that there is no support for 2560-1080 screens.I used the flawless widescreen app to play it on full screen. It took me 35 hours to clear the game but without some sidequests that i missed as it was my original first gameplay, so i think that it provides 38-40 hours of playtime. Surviving in this world depends not only on your sword skills nor your magic skills but as a combinbation of everything that is provided. I discovered that on the hard way as i died again and again on the first hours. I saw the game-over screen many times, the loading screen is the fastest i have ever seen and after finishing the evil within it was like paradise. Runes ,enchantments,oils,poisons,potions traps everything are essential for survival. I found myself using everythimg on my disposal for the first time.Υou dont play a witcher ,the game is made to make you feel that you are one and acting as one .The inventory menu needs some improvement though. Magic is just for support dont expect to make a mage character. Αs for the sword fight, is immersive but with some problems when it comes to multi-fights. Closing this review i want to add that choices does matter on this one and depending on what you choose, you affect politics and play different quests.So it provides different gameplay build everytime.Plus you can import your witcher 1 save and depending on your inventory and your story path you acquire some swords and coins on your witcher 2 start and in a few occusions it affects the game but dont except really big changes. Have fun !!! mediun to high hardware : sapphire r9 280x toxic intel celeron G1620 2,70 ghz 6gb ram sandisk ultra ii ssd 120gb sata3 lg 29um65-p running on windows 8.1 maxxed out + 1) wonderful visuals even compared to 2014 games + 2) resourceful type of combat + 3) choice-consequences system + 4) great videos and multiple ways of storytelling - 1) the story doesnt feel adequate enough, needs more depth - 2) doesnt support ultrawide screens


A Damn Good Game: Witcher 2

koticpaxx | May 28, 2015 | See all koticpaxx's reviews »

SHWING! SHWING! You are Geralt of Rivia, a badass sword fighter and monster hunter who is quite the lady killer.In this installment in the Witcher franchise, who are hunting down the assassin of kings, after he (or she?) brutally kills a king and frames you for it. The mechanics in this game is lovely. The heavy and fast attack system, and dodge and rolling, make you feel like every battle counts, whether its against humans or monsters, you'll still be kicking butt. The graphics are great. You'll need quite the system to run it, but trust me, it's quite worth it. This RPG game is one of the best games I've played in a while, and I've played my fair share. Be warned: once you start playing, you might not want to put it back down.


One of the best RPGs ever

Armannn | May 7, 2015 | See all Armannn's reviews »

The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition has been released in 2012. For a game that was released in 2012, this Witcher looks so great that it's hard for any other RPG to "defeat" it. I've been enjoying every single moment with this game and I am thankful for the developers for the great work on it. "Old fantasies" from the Middle century and such and creatures that you can hardly imagine these days make their appear here. They're modeled very nicely and that's what I appreciate (since I am a modder and look into details of the models). Definitely a game you should try.


An Epic RPG further expanding an epic world

Zaggeta | May 7, 2015 | See all Zaggeta's reviews »

I made sure to finish the Witcher 1 before proceeding to the Witcher 2 due to the ability to carry over choices from the previous save. My willingness to spend over 40 hours in an outdated game just to have control over a few choices is a testament to the importance of choice in this game. Much more than the previous game, Witcher 2 must be played multiple times to gain the full experience. There are a huge variety of factions and choices which will take separate playthroughs and they are worth it each time. Combat has become increasingly more fluid with dodging and attacks being much more dependent on player skill than in the previous Witcher. At the same time, the difficulty has risen as Geralt no longer automatically blocks blows. This rise of difficulty makes the game more engaging and challenging. The story is as great as ever but has become even easier to engage in with better character design, graphics and dialogue. There are a few (funny) glitches, but nothing game breaking. Definitely a must buy for any Action RPG fans.


Epic game, epic adventure.

Corax_E | March 17, 2015 | See all Corax_E's reviews »

It's not a classic RPC as you aren't creating your own character and have no stats beside assigning skill points to your character. But the game is properly better for it as it has a strong focus on story telling and most likely is the best story-driven RPG to date where you for once aren't saving the world. All the characters are interesting and game has a very mature theme set in a dark magical medieval world. Your choices in this game matters as the branching story will take you on completely different sides of a war in the second chapter and with 16 different endings it definitely has some replay value.


Great RPG

Gmen | Jan. 22, 2015 | See all Gmen's reviews »

Graphics: The game is a bit of a beast, so it will take all of what you’ve got, and probably more, to run it on your system. Even years after its initial release, it’s resource intensive. AI: I could find not much fault with the AI, although I will say that it’s rather easy to exploit enemies’ view range, and keep on the outside in order to avoid conflict. Perhaps this is intentional, but hardly realistic. Sound (inc. Music): The sounds in the game are all rather good and have a dramatic sense to them. Nothing is soft or inaudible. The music is fantastic and really does create the sense that you are taking part in an epic medieval adventure. Gameplay: This is an RPG afterall, so expect to run around doing a lot of chores, and speaking to people in order to pick up or further quests with a bit of combat thrown into the mix every now and again. You earn talents as you progress throughout the game which you can then use to upgrade your character’s abilities so that he may become more proficient in any area you choose. You can also earn gold coins which is the game’s currency. This obviously allows you to buy equipment and items. Controls: At first I wasn’t a very big fan of the controls or the camera. The camera can be altered so your view of the game world can be changed. The only viewpoint not available is first person – this lends itself to helping maintain the fact that you are playing the role of a deep character, and no some random custom creation. The combat isn’t extremely good or intuitive either, and takes some getting used to. Story: This is about the best aspect of the game: the story, the quests, the characters and the dialogue. All excellently presented and some very interesting plot twists. The story progresses based on choices you make during the game. Originality: This is almost like any other RPG around, like Morrowind or Oblivion, but somehow it’s also part Assassin’s Creed – maybe too much like said game if you include the combat. Overall, a must if you’re an RPG fan, and want a bit more depth than something like your typical Bethesda title. This is more of BioWare fan’s dream come true, especially if you’re into the likes of Dragon’s Age.


A wonderful adventure

BlockAgent | Jan. 11, 2015 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

Witcher 2 is the type of game that hooks you within the first hour and makes you want to play more and more of it. I started playing it not sure if I would like it, but then I became addicted to it. It's fun, easy to pick up and all of the quests are interesting and well done. Not even the smallest side-quests feel tacked on. They all feel like fully developed chapters in the story. The graphics are great as is the sound. Gameplay works very well and combat it very fluid. Voice acting and cutscene animation are all very well done. I highly recommend this game to anyone who likes action adventure games. After playing this I can't wait for The Witcher 3.


One of the best RPGs of the last generation.

heerox328 | Dec. 7, 2014 | See all heerox328's reviews »

Do you love BioWare storytelling? Do you love a dark, mature, and more realistic fantasy setting? Do you enjoy a game that offers morally ambiguous choices where there is no right or wrong option? The Witcher 2 is just the game for you. This is the story of the anti-hero Geralt of Rivia, the legendary Witcher, on a quest for answers and to clear his name. Witchers are mutants, humans modified through alchemy and mutagens, created to slay monsters. I will not talk about the plot, but as the title of the game suggests, regicide plays a large role in the experience. There are a lot of politics, a lot of war, and a lot of relationships that are built as the story progresses. You don't technically need to play The Witcher 1, but I would highly recommend it to be familiar with the characters and what is happening early on in the game. None of the choices in The Witcher 1 really impact The Witcher 2 in any major way, but the last moments of The Witcher 1 directly tie into this game. The combat, while loved or hated, provides a tactical and challenging approach to engagements. You must use your wit, your signs, your accessories, and your Witcher swords to successful obtain victory. There are also quite a few romances that are possible, and large environments to explore in every chapter of the game. I really do not have a criticism of this game as it more or less improves upon the original in every way. Definitely a must buy for all RPG fans. This game is on sale a lot, so definitely keep an eye out.


Some very nice extras.

scottnat | April 20, 2012 | See all scottnat's reviews »

The extras of the enhanced edition (or free ~11-12 gig patch for standard Witcher 2) really add some gloss. The new opening cinematic alone is gorgeous and makes it worth the download/buy if you're a fan of the game. I've only played a little of the extra mission content - tutorial, and some of main game extras - but what's there fits in very well with the non-Enhanced version content. Also, I'm not sure how extensive it is but it feels like the game is running a little smoother; as though some extra effort has gone into an engine overhaul along with the new content - though whether this is a result of this EE specific version/patch or prior patches that have been included in the EE version but were available prior to it I'm not sure.