Reviews for Rayman Origins

95

Back to the past

Demilisz | March 20, 2014 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

Rayman Origins is very good return to series roots. After some romance with 3D graphics we are back to good old 2D challenging platforming. And while first Rayman was, with some exceptions, rather slow one, Origins is fast paced, especially when chasing the cage. Completing the levels aren't that hard, but doing this with the best score is a challange, even for veteran gamers. And there is a great co-op where every player control different character (but it is possible to change who you control even in single player, so you are not stuck with Rayman himself).

All platform fans - buy it. All Rayman fans probably already did.

100

A perfect 100.

MisterRay97 | Oct. 27, 2013 | See all MisterRay97's reviews »

I couldn't help myself not giving an hundred out of hundred to this masterpiece. This game is easily the best 2D platformer I've ever played. I haven't actually played the original Rayman games; this was actually my first Rayman game and I got hooked to it. You play as Rayman (or you can choose another hero, if you like) and your mission is to save The Glade of Dreams. The levels are challenging enough and the "Skull Coins" are placed in tricky places. The game is really cute. You'll spend your time enjoying every bit and detail of this game. The game engine is superior. The enemies and all are well made. This game also has amazing soundtrack. You'll enjoy your levels with the sound, I guarantee it. The gameplay feels smooth and not-annoying (even if you die 100 times). I couldn't find a single negative thing about this game (except full-online multiplayer, which kind-of not suits this game). The levels are well made, well detailed and well organized. The gameplay is really varied, making sure you're never bored. You'll find how amazing the developers have worked on the level design. The detail, the life and the colour Ubisoft has given to this game simply is very difficult to find in any modern-day game. It also has amazing 4-player co-op feature, grab more controllers and have fun! The boss fights remind you of the good old days and require you to use your brain to figure out their weak points.

I'd like to conclude this review by calling this game an innovation in platforming video game genre and as a masterpiece and also as a huge example of how enjoyable video games are made. This game is probably the best Ubisoft game ever made and will ever be made.

96

A great nostalgic game for those who played the original Rayman.

asiersua | Oct. 9, 2013 | See all asiersua's reviews »

I used to play Rayman when I was a kid, and I didn't personally like the Rabbids that much (the first game was alright, but then they went overboard with the damn squishies), so clearly this title has been a nice surprise for me. It brings back memories of the old Rayman games, adding new mechanics to an already great game. Definitely a must buy, especially if you manage to get it cheap during a sale.

95

A highlight of the genre.

Numbi | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all Numbi's reviews »

Platform games are one of my favorite genres but in recent years a good 2D title has been hard to find. There are of course plenty of great indie titles that offer all kinds of twists on the genre but to be honest I have been yearning for some good old school action. As soon as I saw Rayman I knew that the game that I have been waiting for has arrived!

The charming visuals sucked me in but it was the gameplay that kept me hooked right to the very end. I am so glad that Ubisoft has left those wacky rabbits behind and focused on a title with Rayman as the hero again. From the wonderful visuals to the catchy tunes and addictive gameplay, this is a title that no 2D fan can afford to miss and I give it two thumbs up!

94

fun fun fun

andyvercammen | July 18, 2013 | See all andyvercammen's reviews »

The look, the sound, the feel, the gameplay .. get this game, it is so much fun. And if possible play it with more people.

89

Very funny co-op

stalze | July 4, 2013 | See all stalze's reviews »

This game has an amazing art style and the way all the parts of the movement system fits together is just flawless. The enemies and the world is very creatively built and you see things that you would see in no other game than Rayman. The levels are fun to play and the whole mood of the game is quite cheery! With that said this game can be pretty hard at times if you haven't brought a pal to play with so be sure to do that! Besides from that you should really go check this game out!

94

Really origins

kalil | June 17, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Ubisoft did it again, Rayman Origins is, in short, a "masterpiece" An excellent gameplay, graphics that impress cooperative mode for up to 4 hours of fun person presented in this epic platform game.

Gameplay: The gameplay is really good, let it play smooth because of its basic controls. As for the game itself is very addictive and fun, multiplayer with up to 4 players that will offer hours and hours of fun devido to more than 60 levels presented, with bosses really incredible and imaginative.

Technology: A technology with spectacular graphics engine really shines; desarrolo tools used by Ubisoft distorting real-time images, leaving a world of animations really beautiful.

Graphics: The artistic aspect of the game is wonderful, totally accompanying playing style and consistency, creating a dazzling, long ago did not look much inspired by a section cradores to get so graphic.

Sound: Not much to say, just that the quality of the soundtrack accompanying exelentemente at the right times, soft at times and agerrido in others. perfect

Innovation: A truly innovative game, not long ago saw a game of this style and this originality really innovative.

CONCLUSION

Platform games are not as repercussions today, but certainly "Rayman Origins" is a game you can not miss in your collection. Really wonderful, suitable for all types of gamer and impresindible if you are after hours and hours of fun and a good multiplayer. A true "masterpiece".

89

Rayman is back, a bit different but still awesome.

Wolfear | Nov. 24, 2012 | See all Wolfear's reviews »

Rayman returns, and like many new oldies, he also went back to 2d. The game itself just look silly, it doesn't take itself seriously, and it works beautifully. Playing together is incredibly fun, racing to the other side just the other can survive or punching them in the enemy, it just works magnificently. If you just want to play the game without collectibles, it is quite easy until the latter levels, The last levels and actually getting everything, is hard and you need to do everything perfectly. Well done Ubisoft in bringing Rayman back

97

The best platform game in 2011

panz3r88 | Sept. 13, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Rayman Origin is the return of one of the best platform games, probably one of the few that can compete with Mario. Like the titles says, Rayman return to the origin and to the 2D gameplay of the first title. The game is really amazing with fantastic graphic and musics. There are many collectibles to get during the game and it's really challenging to find them all. If you can play the game in co-op you will have even more fun. For me this is the best Rayman ever made and surpasses even the old Rayman 2.

90

A game made with love

Cynaris | July 13, 2012 | See all Cynaris's reviews »

This game will grow to you in an instant. It's impossible to hate it. Great platformer with pretty aesthetics, fun characters, and the game just screams fun when looking at it. It doesn't tell you jokes, it outright projects them into your minds. It's that cool.

The game has co-op mode, so you don't need to have the fun all alone. Hopefully we'll see a lot more of this kind of Rayman soon.

89

Very enjoyable co-op

softwareo | May 23, 2012 | See all softwareo's reviews »

This really is a great game. Too bad the sidescrolling games are something from the past. They are great for spending time with your family. They are really easy to learn and even the young kids can play them. All these points match with Rayman Origins as well.

The game was a very well done local co-op. You can play with 2 keyboards for example. I’ve played it with my GF and she enjoys the game just as much as I do even though she’s not a gamer. It’s the part of the fun actually to play with someone else. I don’t know if I would like to play the whole game by myself but together it’s so much fun that you just must get this!

84

Fun game

RaTcHeT302 | March 27, 2012 | See all RaTcHeT302's reviews »

Rayman Origins is a really gourgeous and fun game, the developers decided to go back to the original 2D style with some major graphical improvements. The characters have all it's own charm and also the action is rather humorous with many silly animations and more. It is a bit overpriced ($40) for a 2D game but I still would recomend buying it.