Reviews for Shank 2 DNS

72

Fast flowing game

DanielZo0 | June 11, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

This was the first game of this type of genre that i have and it was a great introduction to the genre for me. The only problems with the game that i had was the i played it on the pc, and to me, the controls felt a little clunky, but this problem can be easily ignored by simply using a gameingpad.Shank2 was a fast flowing game that had stunning visuals, the types of enemy where numerous and introduced to the player though out the game meaning that it didn't get boring and also with the addition of the ability to customize weapons this means that the combat style can be varied up again adding to the longevity of the title.

78

Shank 2 - review

carlyle | Jan. 11, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

Shank 2 begins with a fascinating introduction, after which we quickly fell in action. The goal has remained the same, through eight long-scrolling levels, chaired by dangerous boss. Klei has enriched formula by inserting an interesting vertical and numerous platforming sections, but much more tours, and a number of prisoners to be released in order to obtain special weapons. These include the ubiquitous chainsaw, a shotgun, pistols and a pair of deadly machete. Shank on the other hand is anything but unarmed, having the default two knives that allow it to perform a vast array of combos, throwing grenades and Molotov cocktails and even their weapons from defeated enemies. Technically Shank 2 is a small wonder with a look and feel almost indistinguishable from a cartoon. Animations extremely fluid, style to spare which is expressed in a successful mix of violence and humor, and a really cool protagonist as appropriate to the situation. The plot is highly specious to send our hero in the most unlikely locations, from military camps in burning villages, jungles and ancient temples. There is a bit 'of everything not to bore easily.

85

An improved Shank

CJV | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all CJV's reviews »

If you played Shank then you know what to expect of Shank 2, a side scrolling slash'em up with some crazy violence scenes. The graphics have a little more detail than its predecessor, but apart from that it basically looks the same. The gameplay is improved, feeling a more varied, but the core mechanics is the same, which means, it is a lot of fun to play. The single-player campaign is very short, about 3 hours long, but after that there are several achievements and survival mode, which can played online with a friend. A game worth your time, recommended.

79

More of the same, but better

abelfs | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all abelfs's reviews »

If you liked the first one, you will enjoy this one too. An old school hack n' slash. It improves the mechanic and you'll have the chance to play with a female character. If the story wasn't one of the strong points in the other Shank, the plot in this one is nearly invisible. Play it with a partner and the satisfaction will be bigger.

72

Shank 1 Plus

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

If you ever played the first Shank, then you pretty much know what to expect from this sequel. It improves on some of the frustrations the first one had, but unfortunately not all. First of all there are more weapons included in this Shank adventure, which makes killing more fun overall. Second, they have included counter-attacks, meaning you can press a button when a red exclamation mark appears above your enemy. It looks cool in motion and works really well. On to the stuff that isn't quite alright... it's short. But I don't see that as a downside. When you finish the game (about 4 hours) you've probably seen it all. The game doesn't overstay its welcome, thankfully. And then we have the difficulty. One moment it's easy as I-don't-know-what, and the other moment (which can be seconds later) the difficulty ramps up making it practically unplayable. It's a good game nonetheless, and if you love beat 'em ups you'll love this one as well, I'm sure.

85

Good action game

Zinzun | Sept. 25, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

Shank 2 is bsaically the same of Shank 1,but it's much way better. The developers removed overly hard sections (like the train in the first game) and focuses on pure action.In this sequel you can control two characters during the campagin (5 hours long),and several characters during the coop part of the game,that is very funny and challegingig.They removed the coop from the campaign,but the game is still worth it, much like the prequel.

81

Bloody...

maciej2601 | Aug. 30, 2012 | See all maciej2601's reviews »

Shank 2 is a continuation issued in 2010, a bloody 2D platformer by the Canadian company Klei Entertainment. The title character, a former mafia assassin, tries to atone for his sins and protect their loved ones from the dangers threatening them. Good game.

70

The same as Shank 1

jeyko | July 2, 2012 | See all jeyko's reviews »

Klei returns with a sequel to the awesome Shank. The problem - it's the same as Shank one but with added coop. The combat is a little better than Shank 1, I guess. But it IS essentially a map pack for Shank. That does not mean it's bad. No, it's awesome, but no innovation. I would recommend it, but it is not a must-buy.