Reviews for Spec Ops: The Line dns

81

I wholeheartedly recommend.

DanielZo0 | June 11, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

Spec Ops combines mediocre gameplay with impressive visuals and a compelling story to create a must-play experience. The 3rd-person shooter gameplay is pretty unimpressive: the cover system is temperamental, the aiming sucks, the weapons are boring, and stealth is rarely possible. Moreover, the two squad mates which you are obliged to work with are rarely more than a liability. Thankfully the game makes up for these major shortcomings by placing you in a truly impressive setting: the sand-covered city of Dubai. Not only does this uniquely-opulent city serve as eye-candy (the attention to detail is as impressive as the models themselves), but it creates a truly memorable geography: the sand-dune you're fighting on might turn out to be on top of a skyscraper, or you might take refuge from a sand storm inside a hotel with a giant aquarium beneath your feet. Finally, the narrative told through the game and the emotional impact of the events as they unfold are very good. Spec Ops does a surprisingly good job of not only telling a compelling story, but of making you empathize with the characters and internalize your actions. It's a game that will make you question your own actions within the game and by extension, your attitude toward such military/shooter games. Despite its flaws, this is a game which I wholeheartedly recommend.

80

Is not a simple shooter

angel_zmz | June 11, 2013 | See all angel_zmz's reviews »

This is the first Spec Ops I play, and my impressions were good. Unlike as many think, not just another third person shooter military, Spec Ops offers a good story, better than many films of the same theme, with characters not as developed but equally interesting, the story has its corresponding twists, mysteries and even moments of tension. While it is true that the game does not offer much innovation to playtime, the gameplay is fun and comfortable, we have several weapons to use at home, and character movements (particularly at the zip). The graphics in my opinion are very nice, especially setting up the game while the game always shows mostly sand and ruined cities, all scenarios have very good detail, and are well designed. On the downside, would have been nice being able to use more than the environment, the idea of ​​using desert sand or water, would have been good if they just would have been possible to use it in many other situations. Finally, if you're looking for an action game and be entertained, and with a good story, Spec Ops The Line is your game.

90

Depressing. Introspective. Genious.

JuliusMonge | June 9, 2013 | See all JuliusMonge's reviews »

A pretty average shooter altogether. A couple weapons, a very limited squad tactical feature, and a brilliant yet underused mechanic including sand - explosions lift sand clouds that make it really hard to shoot precisely, sandstorms make targeting near impossible, environment allows you to bury your enemies - so many options, yet I saw so little of it. A shame. The gameplay is enjoyable, but not innovative or fantastic in any way. But it's not the gameplay you should be looking at: it's the story and character development that's groundbreaking. To say anything would ruin your experience, but let's leave it at "While it starts as a normal TPS, there's a clear turning point after which this game will repeatedly make you question yourself as a gamer and, maybe, as a person.". Character development of this magnitude in a genre like this is one of a kind. Pay attention to Cpt. Walker. Not just his looks, but his attitude, even during gameplay.Yes, this game takes the care to show you story and character not only during cutscenes. By the end of the game, you will be shocked at the change. By the way, the sand-filled landscape of Dubai is drop-dead gorgeous. It's difficult to talk about this game without spoiling it's major selling point. EVERYTHING has a meaning not immediatly evident. Even the STOP sign you see at the beginning of the game. I don't care if you put this game on Easy and brush through it in 4 or 5 hours: just play it. Pay attention. And once you're done, think about it.

85

One Can Almost Call it Art

Dark217 | June 7, 2013 | See all Dark217's reviews »

Here is a game that is incredibly unique, a kind of game that is rarely found throughout the medium. As a game alone, it has rather uninspired and generic gameplay that is made up for by a great story. However, what makes the game great is not just the story. The story alone, as tasteful as it is, is not completely original or exceptional when taken as just a plotline. However, when taken in context in how the developers present the game, one can almost call it art in the ways that it is expressed. An even higher level of meaning can be found if you take some of the characters lines and treat them as if they were addressed to you (which according to the writer, sometimes they are). The game breaks the fourth wall at times that I believe is very effective at getting a message across The fact that there is a whole book (Killing is Harmless: A Critical Reading of Spec Ops the Line) that is simply an analysis of the game lends to it's incredibly unique form of expression as an almost satirical, self-aware shooter that plays on FPS tropes, war, PTSD, and why we play shooters in the first place.

89

A great game

kalil | June 7, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Thi is an action game in 3rd person where we drive our protagonist named Martin Walker, will be accompanied by our platoon to be Adams and Lugo each with their roles where we can give orders. The plot is to rescue Konrad, a colonel in the American army disappeared in Dubai. We will atrevar from sandstorms to dilapidated buildings, clearing a path to clean shot with enemies, sometimes gives us to go in stealth. Also touch us choose decisions which will influence the plot as we do.

Gameplay: simple cover system, a story that will hook up to the last moment. The game gives us the opportunity to play with gamepad or keyboard and mouse. We will have plenty of weapons to choose from, scarce ammo sometimes we have to take weapons from enemies. The story takes an average for some is short, but very intense. It has moments of great action and tension, giving us the feeling that we are in a movie.

Graphics: Spec Ops: The Line, use the Unreal Engine, where we see a well made light effects, a richly detailed textures, physics has a right, but sometimes does strange things. Definitely has awesome graphics and has a good optimization.

Sound: The game features the voices dubbed into Castilian deescordinadas sometimes the image will also have the option to put it in English. The music fits each scene of the game and at the right time.

Innovation: Innovation is fair, the cover system is not new, because what we see in any 3rd person game. What is new is the place where we find that it is Dubai, little visited city in videogames, sandstorms are punctual ie do not happen randomly, Spec Ops has 4 finals.

In short novel is a video game in parts, a story that will keep you hooked to know what will happen until the end with our Captain Martin Walker and company.

94

Masterpiece

WildWest123 | June 7, 2013 | See all WildWest123's reviews »

This game is truy amazing,and yes,it is amazing because of the story,not because of the multiplayer or replayabillity,the first does not function and the second,well its a singleplayer based game,so obviously you can't play it forever the strong points are: 1)A game set in a country which is new to the eyes of gamers,its not the US or anything similar. 2)the mechanics are strong 3)good plot and good character. the only weak side I could find was the fact it lacks a functioning multiplayer,which would make this game a true 100/100. I feel like the 50$ I paid for the preorder were worth it,even though it went on 50% sale at day 1 of release,try this,do yourself a favour

85

Spec Ops: The Line

FreakDeity | June 4, 2013 | See all FreakDeity's reviews »

It's a campaign that merits multiple playthroughs, and a story as strong and daring as those of Bioshock, Shadow of the Colossus and Dead Space 2. Nevertheless, it must be acknowledged that it achieves this in spite of mechanics that are noticeably dated and bereft of innovation. For that reason, the game is best taken as a whole, and not as something that can be played simply on the strength of its mechanical composition.

85

PTSD: The game

SeverinMK | June 1, 2013 | See all SeverinMK's reviews »

At first this game might just look like your average military shooter with the typical over the top action, boring story line and overall nothing special but that's not the case with this game. It starts like most generic FPS games, 'merican hero soldier guys are here to save the day, but this changes pretty fast when you discover what's actually going and what your actions cause, I don't want to spoil anything though since this is a game one should experience, not just casually play. The gameplay mechanics are nothing more than serviceable but that's actually what the game wants as it criticizes other modern military FPS. The grahics are overall pretty nice and the ruins of Dubai look very good. I can't say anything about multiplayer since I never played it, but that's not important in a game like this anyway. This game is definetly a game worth buying.

95

Great story

Rapid81 | June 1, 2013 | See all Rapid81's reviews »

The game has a great story and a really challenging gameplay. Dubai is stunning in this game and either the outdoor and the indoor figths are really gripping. The AI is not bad and your squad neither. The replayability of this title is quite good because of the choices throughout the game and the different endings because of these. One of the top titles of last year.

90

Went in with high expectations on the story!

Blafflamm1 | May 30, 2013 | See all Blafflamm1's reviews »

And i came out more than satisfied. At first Spec Ops:The Line might seem like a regular run and gun shooter game with similar mechanics to other third person shooters. This is not the case in my opinion, even though the gunplay is not superb, the story is really what you are after. Even before i bought the game i had heard a lot of good things about the story in this game so when i got it my expectations were pretty high, in the beginning i did not think the game would deliver but it just got better and better. The story is even better than a lot of high quality books out there. Would recommend this game 90/100

77

Surprisingly Excellent

viBe | May 27, 2013 | See all viBe's reviews »

I find it difficult to write this review without echoing others. This is an excellent demonstration of how important good, engaging writing is to a single-player experience. While the mechanics of the game are a little uninspiring, the story and the way it is delivered are among the best I have seen!

88

Dark Mature Fun

ExpiredJordan | May 27, 2013 | See all ExpiredJordan's reviews »

When I first got this game I thought it was going to be a typical military shooter, a kind of Gears of War and Call of Duty blend. For the gameplay I got just that a bland shooter experience. The thing about this game is that it isn't about the gameplay, it is about the story. The story is dark, twisted and full of unexpected turns where by the end it makes you question your own morals, something very few games have ever made me do.

Back to the gameplay it is a over the shoulder military shooter which does its part to keep you going through the story. If I ever wanted to go back and play this game it is definitely not for the gameplay.

The Story alone is worthy of a full big budget film, but sadly the gameplay cant quite keep up. So I am giving this game an 88 out of 100.

80

A surprise!

onewinged90 | May 27, 2013 | See all onewinged90's reviews »

I have to say, Spec Ops The Line is a surprise of the year. When playing a shooter game, expect some generic shooter-style storyline but Spec Ops The Line differs from what Modern Warfare franchise has given us.

The level design is very well made, where glass containing sand will break when you shoot at them, drowning your enemies. Sandstorm will limit your visions and flickering lights can add to the tension as well.

Graphically it looks awesome, but do not expect it to run well at low to mid graphics card. Multiplayer of the game is completely generic, best to omit it and focus on single player campaign instead.

For a 6-hour story, maybe it's best for you to wait for a sale instead.

97

Mind Blown

Trajedi | May 26, 2013 | See all Trajedi's reviews »

Went into this game not knowing what the bases of the story was.. In short I can compare this game to the movie Apocalypse Now..

It was short but the story is great in the aspects of the story.. You control a squad.. There are choices to be made and either way you choose they're bad..

I would recommend this game..

75

You will love the hate

Deith | May 26, 2013 | See all Deith's reviews »

I've heard a lot about this game, but I've had to check it out by myself. People said it will grab your heart and squeeze it, making yourself feel like shit. And boy if it delivered. You start as a soldier, a proud member of special forces. But as the story unveals you just feel like world is a horrible place, everything becomes your nightmare.

Gameplay itself is textbook, weather effects in multiplayer as well as environment kills are really neat but on the other hand it lacks freshnes, if it just followed up the great story it tells.

85

Spec Ops : The line - Welcome to Dubai

eishun | May 26, 2013 | See all eishun's reviews »

one of hidden gem in 2012, welcome to dubai, earthquakes, sand storm and crazy people welcome you to.. Hell..

Graphics : it's great looking game, although you wont see more than sands and destroyed building. The environment looks great and it does shows how hell it is in dubai

Sounds : Great soundtrack, some even memorable. overall a great element in the game that builds up tension and atmosphere.

Gameplay : Arguably the most generic TPS as you can imagine. it's standard TPS game with cover system and standard weapon system.

Story : the strongest point of the game, it's a very good maybe one of the best TPS storyline i have experienced, if you expected a generic cawadooty military shooter, you are not in one

overall a great game, worth trying, the gameplay might turn you off but the story is the main meat of the game

70

Brilliant Enthralling Game

Linkinchris | May 26, 2013 | See all Linkinchris's reviews »

I stepped into this game believing it to be a casual third person shooter. I was wrong completely. From the get go you are introduced to a variety of personalities for each character, some you like instantaneously and others you may feel iffy towards. That being said, it is nothing compared to how engaging the story can become. It grips you completely, from your actions characters change completely, some for the better and some for the worse. So many moments in this game have things happened and I have wished to retry the mission to see if there is any way to prevent what had just happened.

The gameplay for this game is also commendable, using the sand banks that are held back by the fragile glass to come crashing down to suffocate your enemies. This is a straight up, take cover and shoot game but it does it well enough that it isn't too tedious and it maintains the engagement needed to enjoy this title.

So if you have the cash laying around and are feeling up for a shooter of some kind or good story, pick this game up.

85

Mature Look At War With Lackluster Controlls

LookAtTheBlood | May 25, 2013 | See all LookAtTheBlood's reviews »

I really enjoyed this game. I found its dark oppressive atmosphere in war torn, sandblasted Dubai to be captivating. It starts off a little slow in the early chapters and I can see players putting down the game before it really takes off. As I understand it was a conscious decision on the part of the developers to mislead the gamer into thinking they were playing another modern day military shooter before pulling the rug out and revealing the "Heart of Darkness" subject matter, but they paced themselves a little too slowly in the begging. Please stick with the game past chapter 8, this is the point where the game starts to shine in what is being asked of the player to do and what their role is in the story.

As far as the game play is concerned it is not the polished third person shooter experience games have presented in more recent years. Controls are sticky and a little clunky but I was able to get through it. I've heard it argued that this was also meant to be an important part of the experience, adding another layer of discomfort. I felt I had a few too many cheap deaths to buy into that argument completely but again, I did really enjoy this game as a whole experience.

For the story alone which is not something we see often I am recommending you play this game.

I can not rate the multiplayer portion as I did not play it and have no interest in doing so.

78

Interesting story, meh gameplay

OllyTrolly | May 25, 2013 | See all OllyTrolly's reviews »

If you're the kind of person who plays lots of games and would like to see a deconstruction of sort of the FPS genre, then this is worth a playthrough. I've personally heard a lot of critical analysis (see the book Killing is Harmless) over the game's narrative and techniques for carrying it, and reading these will also help with your appreciation. However, if you're just looking for a fun shooter, you can do a lot better. This is basically a bog standard Unreal engine cover shooter in terms of gameplay, aside from the occasional shocking imagery and a few interesting choices (with limited effects - think BioShock Infinite choices, mainly cosmetic and designed to get you thinking). There are no bosses, just soldiers to mow down, so if you're anything like me you will probably get very bored by the end (arguably this ties into the narrative though).

78

Awesome game

SeanEire | May 25, 2013 | See all SeanEire's reviews »

I love this game, it didn't get much attention in 2012 but it is a great game.While the gameplay is pretty average at its best, it's not what makes the game worth playing. Play this game for the experience, because of the story. this third person shooter has a focus on the story, and the choices are something really difficult to make. That's one thing that is really well made, you need to think before you choose or do something! The multiplayer is shabby and dead, the developers have even said they were forced to put it in the game by the publisher and could have focused on the story more if not for this.

70

Spec Ops: The Line - Review

Phant0mGMG | May 25, 2013 | See all Phant0mGMG's reviews »

Here's a short summary before I go onto the main part: -Good storyline -Good gameplay at time -Too short -Some of the mechanics are a bit simple

Now, let's broaden that summary a bit. I enjoy Specs Ops. The first thing you are gonna heard about the game is "it's not your average 3rd person shooter"

...well, it is. The mechanics of this game aren't anything we haven't really seen before, and I think if they brought some new things to the table I would of enjoyed the game alot more.

But the story isn't your average MMS story line. It's very interesting but a some parts it moves too fast and could of been expanded abit more. This leads onto my next part.

The games too short. I did the campaign in 4-5 hours on hard, without skipping any cutscenes.If they had better mechanics they could of fleshed out the gameplay and made room for the story to be expanded.

Overall good game, may be a bit of a negative review but I still enjoy it. It regularly goes on sale so it's worth picking up.

89

A basic 3rd person shooter with an unique story

candhgame | May 25, 2013 | See all candhgame's reviews »

The game starts like any other 3rd person shooter. You learn the basics, how to aim and how to take cover, you traverse different areas all built up specifically to support the cover-based gameplay. However, it does not take long until it all changes, drastically. You wont see it coming, and the best of it is that these moments repeat throughout the game, constantly twisting the story away from where you thought it was going. It's over all a very disturbing and sad journey, yet it's one I would recommend not missing out on. The game ties it all together with the biggest surprise of them all in the very end.

83

Spec ops

myposterior | May 25, 2013 | See all myposterior's reviews »

A really fun game with a twist in the end.

I am not really into multiplayer so i will not touch on that.

I am however very particular about the storyline and spec ops the line have a good storyline.

There are multiple endings as well determined by your actions. So there is replayability.

Finally, be prepared to be blown away by the ending.

80

Clever deconstruction of the military shooter genre

Novaova | May 24, 2013 | See all Novaova's reviews »

Spec Ops: The Line appears at first glance to be yet another in an endless series of tan and grey urban modern military shooters. In fact, the entirety of the game is a message from the developers to the players: the horrible things that take place in these games are all your fault. If you would put down the controller and stop playing, the simulated atrocities and war crimes will stop happening.

The game sends the player into post-catastrophe Dubai on what starts out as a noble rescue mission. Things promptly go off the rails, and the player finds him/herself spiraling ever downward into madness.

The gunplay, controls, and action are all the sort of thing modern shooter fans are used to. The selling point of Spec Ops: The Line is the story, and the meta-message.

Replay value is very low, as this is intended to be a story one experiences one time. The second time through, it's already been spoiled.

Overall this is worth purchasing on a discount. This may not be the best shooter, but it is one of the most important.

85

Short but Amazing.

brenker99 | May 24, 2013 | See all brenker99's reviews »

The game itself is short yes.3~6 hours Depends on the level you play on. The story is on of the best stories I ever seen. One of the few things I did not like on this game its the 2 Soldiers your with they help you in battles and all, but I didn't really liked that AI. a Great addition tough.

55

A short, not so great game

Jasinski | May 21, 2013 | See all Jasinski's reviews »

This game is really short, i beat it in four and a half hours. The gameplay is kinda boring and ofers nothing new in any way. The story is nothing special and the ennding is unsatisficing.

82

Intriguing.

Zharwyn | May 16, 2013 | See all Zharwyn's reviews »

This game was one of the hidden gems of 2012. However, I didn't play it until 2013. I regret waiting, because it is worth a playthrough. While the gameplay is pretty average at its best, it's not what makes the game worth playing. Play this game for the experience, because of the story. I can't guarantee that it will be the joyride of your life, simply because it's not a game you play to have fun. The game can make you feel downright uncomfortable and appalled. Don't let this discourage you, though.

The campaign is quite short but it sucks you in. It takes about 5 hours to complete. If this makes you doubt getting the game you then I can safely say that it has some replay value. There are 50 achievements and some are based on the choices you make while you play. There is even a co-op mode. I can't say anything about the multiplayer, since I didn't try it out, although I reckon it might be quite dead.

90

Fantastic look at war

sweetcuppincake | May 14, 2013 | See all sweetcuppincake's reviews »

I tend not to play military shooters because they're all the same at this point. The Line brings something new to the genre. On it's surface, it seems very much like every other shooter, but it's not. It offers compelling characters in your squad members, gives you meaningful choices, and most-importantly, a fantastic storyline. Fans of shooters should play to see how great the genre can be. Fans of solid storytelling should play because The Line does better than most games. It's pretty tough at times, and getting killed over and over in the same battle disrupts the flow of the game. Aside from that, I have no complaints. There's a reason why this unassuming game has been talked about so much.

77

Nice game, but you got to love it

BlueFireGaming | May 11, 2013 | See all BlueFireGaming's reviews »

I will come straight to the point: Spec Ops The Line is a nice game, but you got to love it. This third person shooter has a focus on the story, and the choices are something really difficult to make. That's one thing that is really well made, you need to think before you choose or do something!

The graphics and sounds are quite well, not the best but also not the worst. The multiplayer on the other hand is just a waste of time and money. It feels rushed in and shouldn't have been put in the game completely (maybe they could've improved the singleplayer in that time a bit).

If you are a story focused kind of guy (or girl), this game is great, but if you just want to shoot stuff, there are better games out there. The story is a one-time experience which you won't see in any other game in this genre!

78

Thrilling and engrossing romp down the insane rabbit hole

ElitistCuisine | May 9, 2013 | See all ElitistCuisine's reviews »

Spec Ops: The Line has a rather disappointing first half, due to the stereotypical "We are soldiers! We fight bad guys!" bravado that is exhibited constantly. Still, I pressed through and got to the halfway point, when the story really picked up. The story is an excellent exploration of soldiers and their dreams, and nightmares. It explores tough subjects like PTSD, as well as Dissociative Syndrome, and fleshes them out excellently. I cannot describe how well they do this without spoiling the game, but just remember to hold on, mostly for the story.

Gameplay: The gameplay leaves some to be desired. The guns feel very nice and weighty, and the enemies crumple in realistic ways when you shoot them. Not only this, but you are constantly running out of ammo, so it forces you to keep modifying your behavior in the middle of combat. And the sand mechanic does allow some creativity, other than the "blow up barrel next to bad guy" cliche.

Of course though, the controls are severely wonky. Tapping space sets you into cover, as well as starts you sprinting, and shift makes you vault over objects. I discovered on my first ride through, on normal, that half of my deaths were due to confusion in the controls, and jumping into the enemies bullets/grenades.

Simply put, The Line is a thrilling adventure, and will leave you feel mildly shellshocked when you finish. But just remember, this adventure is very difficult to maneuver.

90

Murder most foul

damodarko | May 8, 2013 | See all damodarko's reviews »

This was my hidden gem of the year, left aside as a mindless shooter and another dilution in the market. I could not have been more wrong.

I picked this up on a dry gaming month, GMG had it on sale and for dirt cheap, I figured i'd knock a few shots out of it. From the start, it had me hooked.

Without giving away anything, this game is action packed, fun and most of all, thought provoking. This game has the best story arc I have seen in a shooter in a very long time. The game play is basic and intuitive, letting you get on with what you're doing and pop in for some fun, what keeps you are the characters and their story.

Unsure of who your friends are, who your enemy is, you dig and dig with an ever escalating consequence to your actions. Three quarters in I felt myself having to justify my own actions and choices. I felt I had to race to the finish, that ends will justify the means, I needed something to alleviate the burden that I had placed, through my own choices, on my shoulders.

This game is a must play. There as some wonderful little dynamics added to environmental combat (Using your surroundings). The soundtrack is chunky and really elevates with aggression and tension. You feel for the characters and you want them to make it out alive.

Just to close, I loved it, it was original, it had it's own freshness to add to the market. It was the first shooter in a very long time, that as soon as I finished, I just hit play campaign again without exiting so much as the title screen. It can be picked up cheap, get it. My only regret is not paying more so the developers got as much as they gave.

TL;DR Cheap to buy, worth every cent and if nothing, love the story/soundtrack.

77

Worth it for the story alone

britishlad | May 8, 2013 | See all britishlad's reviews »

As a third person shooter this game is good - The gunplay is good, The cover mechanics are good and the AI is good. Both the graphics and and sound are very good. Everything in terms of the actual are good but not great - The campaign is only 3-5 hours long and the multiplayer and co-op are dead online sadly

However the game is worth for the story alone - I don't want to spoil anything but the story is amazing and has some excellent and shocking moments. I never thought a miltary shooter would have such a strong anti war message. You will never get this sort of stuff in a call of duty game

70

just for the story

bogmasia | May 1, 2013 | See all bogmasia's reviews »

a 3rd person shooter with slightly awkward controls that can sometimes make navigating cover a pain with the shooting being nothing spectacular or new.

But the story is what makes this game. The setting at first glance is nothing new being Americans in the middle east but suddenly the story takes a darker turn thrusting the playing into the often unexplored darker side of a conflict something missing from a lot of new games where shooting the bad guy saves the world and solves everything. the writing and character progression is great with a mature story held together with tried and tested mechanics.

I would recommend this game to anyone who enjoys a good story and can appreciate that war should be a horrible experience not running and gunning like Rambo

90

What an experience

Hysteroid | April 27, 2013 | See all Hysteroid's reviews »

From afar, this game looks like a generic 3rd person shooter, but it's so much more than that.

Game play wise, It's your typical 3rd person shooter. You can hold 2 weapons, and there is quite a variety of different weapons. You have a squad of 2 other soldiers that you can give minor commands to. A major problem with the game is the controls. It's a pretty bad console port, and doesn't take advantage of the many keys on a keyboard. 3 actions are mapped to one button, which can cause some awkward situations that can end in you getting killed. But these game play faults are out shined when the story starts developing.

This is war, and war is a terrible thing. This may be a typical shooter, but it doesn't treat you like a hero. The actions you make in the game will always be wrong, and you'll never feel like you're helping the cause. Captain Walker (Voiced by Nolan North), evolves from a proud soldier, to a fighter, desperate for answers. You won't feel happy at the end, but it's one of those games you will remember for quite a while. With multiple endings, and an amazing story, It's quite an experience.

Graphics wise, this game looks great. From minor details as your characters looking like they've been through hell by the end of the game, to the backdrops of Dubai skyscrapers is a nice touch.

If you're looking to buy this game for the multiplayer, don't bother. It was rushed and wasn't worth being put in the game.

Overall, this game is a masterpiece. They don't change much in the game play section, but this story is something everyone has to experience.

87

I don't feel like a hero

ANewRoom | April 23, 2013 | See all ANewRoom's reviews »

A fairly decent tactical shooter, with a well above average story that hit me harder than I could have expected. The stuff it starts to put on the loading screens towards the end alone provokes a lot of thought.

As awful as it made me feel by the end, I really can't recommend it enough.

89

Violence

SpartanTwo | April 22, 2013 | See all SpartanTwo's reviews »

Spec Ops: The Line is a very important game, both in terms of narrative and medium. While its third-person-shooter mechanics are nothing new, it could be argued (and it has been) that this is intentional, and that the game isn't necessarily made to be a fun shooter. What it most certainly is, however, is a critical look at contemporary video game conventions and an attempt at addressing the issues that other popular shooters, such as the Call of Duty franchise or the Medal of Honor games, fail to do. It makes the point that these sorts of military shooters should be horrifying. It is one of the most self-aware games out on the market. Its narrative is one of depth and introspection. Play this game; not because it's fun, but because it isn't.

78

Dark, gruesome modern shooter

d0nk3y2010 | April 15, 2013 | See all d0nk3y2010's reviews »

Spec Ops: The Line provides a slight change in the FPS genre that we have become accustomed to in Call of Duty and Battlefield games. Instead of focusing primarily on game play, the game takes a unique look at the face of war and how it affects those involved with a tight and gripping story line. The game offers little in new mechanics bar the feature allowing you to allocate specific enemies to your teammates to eliminate. The graphics are very good and help to draw the player into the mysterious story line involving the sandstorms which have taken over Dubai and the army battalion which have seemingly disappeared. The real reason to buy this game is the captivating story line which will be sure to engross you: not the game play or the common mechanics which have been seen in almost every other modern FPS.

75

Conflicted.

kaj100 | April 5, 2013 | See all kaj100's reviews »

Conflicted is the first word that comes to mind about this game.

It's 3rd person shooter. It's Americans shooting in the middle east. I'm already bored. Then something glints at me from the sand.

It's the story. Yes, buried beneath all the awful shooting, useless AI buddies and top of their class bad guys who will snipe you a mile away with a shotgun. Okay, maybe i'm slightly exaggerating but it's close. The gameplay works but is tedious, especially after rooms/arenas of just wave after wave. It's hard. Even on normal.

The true promise, is the story. The conflict and the character development. It's well written and you will enjoy it. Unless you're here for the mindless shooting, which is always present.

I'm not sure whether digging through the hours of shooting for this interesting narrative is worth it, but I'm all for it.

41

In the words of Charles Barkley, "Turruble, turruble"

mugaro | March 26, 2013 | See all mugaro's reviews »

As a 3rd person shooter, I used a gamepad and the controls are just terrible. Sprint & take cover are the same button (A on the xbox 360 gamepad), so a lot of times you'll be running & take cover when you mean to and other times your guy pops out of cover when you don't want to. The controls were very unnpolished.

Grenades are overpowered. You can't throw enemy grenades back, so you have to run out of cover and risk getting killed to avoid grenades rather than throw them back like in pretty much every shooter game.

All the levels look the same. The story is awful. The voice acting is basically just over the top screaming in a Kermit the Frog sounding mad voice. Nolan North voiced the main character (see also: Desmond Miles, The Penguin in Arkham City, Nathan Drake and many more) so I'm disappointed at his terrible performance here.

The story is also poorly explained and confusingly unrealistic. Some of the dialogue is so cliché and so bad. They give you some unsubtle hints toward the ending and some irrelevant choices that don't impact the story but give 2 alternate choices for achievements.

I can't imagine anyone playing this for multiplayer either, there's so many other better games for that.

I thought this would be some under-rated diamond in the rough and it ended up being a frustrating, by the book, poor experience.

84

A great story, with okay gameplay.

Crazee | March 22, 2013 | See all Crazee's reviews »

For the first quarter (maybe third) of the game, I found the story to be mostly boring and predicable. I felt like the game was going to be very short, for the first half of the game I was constantly thinking, "well this'll be the last chapter". The destination was always clear, the journey was a lot more entertaining than initially expected. Once I was hooked on the story I wanted to play to find out the conclusion. My total gameplay according the save file (I believe this does not include time in which I paused to chat, and does not count checkpoint restarts due to death) is 3 hours 44 minutes and 8 seconds.

The game looks fantastic. I've never been to Dubai myself, but have seen plenty of photos and videos and the game makes me feel like I'm there.

The controls are a real downfall. Whoever thought it was a good idea to have sprint and cover be the same button should be punched by every person who has played this game. Also, sometimes you'd move along a piece of cover, and randomly stand up

The game has a story to tell and isn't ashamed of being linear. I actually enjoy a linear game in an age where eveything's trying to be open-world. Kudos to the devs for doing this.

The bottom line: An enjoyable experience, with a refreshingly good story. Slight control irks let it down.

81

Men of Honor

balbo79 | March 20, 2013 | See all balbo79's reviews »

In an unspecified future Dubai is swallowed by a series of storms that flood the whole city, when the army left the place a man and his battalion decided to stay and defend the people and desperately seek salvation. Spec Ops: The Line is a third person shooter much like Gears of War, complete with roofing system, the gameplay is the most time robust and effective and well made and fits the narrative to support it. While not original, Spec Ops can establish itself as a game of good quality, offering an enjoyable way and very well done.

95

Great deconstruction of the military shooter genre

Knurek | March 8, 2013 | See all Knurek's reviews »

Also, a good game on its own.

Yes, the story can be said to be based on Apocalypse Now. But then, Apocalypse Now was based on Heart of Darkness. Nobody had any qualms about that, had they?

The game's story really gives you food for thought, when all is said and done. But fair warning, do try to come to the game unspoiled. It's not a new game, so spoilers are freely available everywhere, and the game loses a lot when you know what will happen to the characters.

Also, for an Unreal Engine 3 game, it looks simply marvelous. The art direction is wonderful, sand is given almost all the colors of the rainbow in the game. Great music too, totally fitting the game's tone on all notes (pun intended).

It's not the longest game out there, I have managed to beat the main campaign on Normal difficulty in about 6-7 hours. Honestly, though, I had fun constantly during that time, which I think is much fairer deal than 30 hours of filler many other shooter games tend to add.

Overall, two thumbs up. Highly recommended to everyone looking for something more sophisticated than the newest Call of Duty.

83

Crazy game!

CrysisX | Feb. 26, 2013 | See all CrysisX's reviews »

Spec Ops: The Line is a third person game set in the ruined city of Dubai. The game's plot is really interesting and may get confusing at times but nevermind that, it's still pretty good. The game is quite short though, took me about around 7 hours to finish the game. The graphics of the game is amazing and same goes to the environment. The cover system really helps a lot though there's not a lot of weapons to choose from. You have to make choices at some point as you play the game so choose wisely. Spec Ops: The Line is a great storyline based game that you'll definitely enjoy playing!

80

Unexpected diamond

PhyxionUS1 | Feb. 26, 2013 | See all PhyxionUS1's reviews »

You will play Spec Ops: The Line for the hard and gruesome story. The struggle and doubt about the events in Dubai for Delta Force leader Martin Walker are indeed excellent and compelling. Even without the story is Spec Ops: The Line a very solid third-person shooter - albeit with a few minor inaccuracies – although with very little original elements. The only addition is the creative interaction with sand, which enables you to surprise enemies. In summary, there is not much that Spec Ops: The Line is doing terrible and it is well worth it to play this game, especially for the story. People who adore graphics shouldn't fear, Spec Ops: The Line comes with very nice graphics, with a special feeling to it.

90

Awesome and cruel story about war

Stezizi | Feb. 15, 2013 | See all Stezizi's reviews »

This game is far more better than the Call of Duty series. Is a real gem, that tell us the drama and cruelty of a war. The moral choises within the game have a strong impact, the immersivity is at the highest level. And in my personal opinion even the combat system is fun and challenging at the highest level of difficulty. Trust me, this game deserve at least a try. Here on GMG you can easy find it during sale at 3-4 £.

91

It takes a strong man to deny what's right in front of him

Guardian412 | Feb. 3, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

Spec Ops: The Line is a solid and very average third person shooter with very memorable characters and a relatively short, 5-7 hours, but grim, challenging, twisted and grown-up psyhological story to tell, reflecting the true horrors and madness of war where you won't meet with heroes, only the casualties and the pain of war. In this game you'll experience and live hellish events which takes a strong man to deny what's right in front of him, so as one of the catch phrase of the game says. While the game doesn't offer anything new in the genre, the gameplay is polished, the visuals and design of Dubai are great. But the most important; the excellent storytelling is making Spec Ops: The Line to one of the most memorable and twisted warstories to play with. If you love games for the stories, Spec Ops: The Line is a mandatory purchase and it is highly recommended.

90

Little Gem

artropodo | Feb. 2, 2013 | See all artropodo's reviews »

A third person shooter that don't offer a lot of new stuff, but the little that bring is quite fun, the use of sand to distract or to kill enemies. The cover system work really well and is really helpful. The only concern is the length, like many have said, is around 8 hour's. But the story is great, if you like games for their story you will definitely like this game.

85

Average gameplay, interesting story

kairegister | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all kairegister's reviews »

This game is mostly a typical cover-based third person shooter. You use guns, hide behind things, you can blindfire from cover or poke your head out to aim. The game is pretty short (6hours for me on normal difficulty, which honestly was somewhat hard. You have low health, take your cover seriously), which honestly is a good thing. The game isnt fun enough to be any longer, you get your dose of action and ends before it becomes a chore. Also, the graphics and pretty good and some of the moments are pretty cinematic. This is "Sand everywhere" done right. What you'll truly enjoy is the story. It's not another "Kill them aliens!" or "Kill them [Nation]!" type of games. You'll go deep into the minds of the main character and the ugliness of war. Highly recommend for the story.

85

Raw but beautiful!

Raynys | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all Raynys's reviews »

A breath of fresh air in the genre, engaging in more touching moments, frustrating in others. Spec Ops is a title that everyone should have in their library for a variety of reasons, and one of these is the plot, three teammates thrown into a war set in Dubai, where everything is pretty damn gritty and violent, where you will, a few times to tell the truth, to make small choices that will alter the ending of the story. Graphically it is not bad and can be played even on computers in the media, the sand factor is interesting and would be more interesting if it proves more decisive in some circumstances. Longevity is not high, but, in my yardstick, in the FPS is not important if the story involves until the end, in fact, it leaves your mouth watering for a future after the series, or maybe some DLC. The only sore point are the controls, that at some point in the game, especially towards the agitated end, put a strain on your nervous system. So my advice is to play it, for those who are fans of the genre will not be disappointed.

90

A short trip, but well worth it!

Xeneize395 | Jan. 26, 2013 | See all Xeneize395's reviews »

I've been wanting to play this game for quite a while now, as I've read that the storyline was pretty damn good. So I finally picked it up a few weeks ago and it was well worth the purchase! The story kept me going forward and wanting to play it more. This was strange to me coming from a shooter being that shooters haven't really had much to offer in form of a good plot line without it involving terrorists and a missing nuke. Now, I know that's the case with most first person shooters and not so much third person, it's still a military shooter non the less; it being that style of game, I didn't expect a plot like this and I couldn't be happier that it was! The gameplay itself is mediocre. The same mechanics that one is to expect from a third person shooter is to be expected here. Run to cover, pop out and shoot, take blind shots, repeat. Occasionally you'll get to use a stationary machine gun and there's a few parts where you shoot from a moving vehicle. Visually the game is quite nice looking. About the same as most games out. The lighting when you're outside makes for some nice eye candy. Audio sounds are okay. Your standard gun sounds and footsteps, etc. The voice acting (to me at least) was great. I felt that every character was rightfully cast and the chatter between your squad mates was perfect. Slowly watching their attitudes and ideals change as the story progresses was really well done. The enemy chatter...not so much lol. All in all, great game, but maybe not at $30. If you're like me. It was roughly about 7-8 hours long and $5 to me for that length sounded just right. I had no interest in the multiplayer portion of the game and did not play the even shorter co-op neither, so I have no say in those to aspects.

95

Pleasent surprise

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | See all Jray264's reviews »

I really don't want to spoil anything at all. I just want to say "it's good" because saying anything else will spoil it. Everyone bashes the gameplay but I don't see why it was scorned so much. Maybe it's because I haven't played a third person shooter in a while but I thought the combat was decent. It was stupid of the developers to make the melee button the same button as the vault button which sometimes causes you to punch the waist high wall of concrete instead of leaping over it. Sound wise and graphic wise it's very good. Now go play it before anyone spoils it. And play it all the way through. Just trust me on this one.

91

Short, but well worth playing

DaiMonPaul | Jan. 21, 2013 | See all DaiMonPaul's reviews »

Spec Ops: The Line is a short game (roughly 6-8 hours) that doesn't offer much in the way of replayability, and mulitplayer is limited. I normally wouldn't recommend a game like this too highly, but any of those qualms go out the window after going through this game's story. This is a military shooter that makes you question the role of the military; without ruining the story, the game puts you into several situations and lets you deal with the ramifications of them, both to your characters and to yourself. I've never seen anything like it in a video game before. The gameplay itself is solid, although nothing really new in a 3rd-person shooter. The cover system and the gunplay work well enough, although neither stand out as unique. There are more than a few scripted sequences, and the game is relatively linear, but once you get to the heart of the story, none of that matters. Highly recommended as an awesome, underrated game.

95

Great Story

Mikagee | Jan. 21, 2013 | See all Mikagee's reviews »

Surprisingly this game had a fantastic story, this game was probably the most underrated game of the year! The story has great graphics, audio and visuals. You can hear the sand crunch under your feet and the wind gushing by as militia gets ready to ambush you. There are many great physics to the game as sand can bury the enemies alive and explosions can knock soldiers off roofs. This game also has a great multi player, there are no connection issues and the game overall isnt that graphics demanding. I would recommend this game to everyone as you have to play the campaign and its twisted story.

88

Short but engaging story

Rochard | Jan. 19, 2013 | See all Rochard's reviews »

I wasn't sure what to expect from this game other than yet another shooter but I was very pleasently surprised. I highly recommend not spoiling the game in any way shape or form. Just play it from the start and do so at a higher difficulty and let the game grow on you and be let the story be told.

Graphics are on par with current standards, audio is a bit meh but considering you'll be hearing nothing but RA-TA-TA-TA-TA from all the guns blazing it's not that big of a deal. The slow-motion mechanic when you get a headshot is incredibly annoying as it lasts for about a second and won't really do much for gameplay other than slow it down.

81

Thought provoking

backslashio | Jan. 14, 2013 | See all backslashio's reviews »

A solid shooter with more to it than meets the eye. One of the few games that'll make you wonder which person is the real bad guy in a dire situation of kill or be killed. The dialogue is slick, the voice acting is great and the gameplay is compelling. For those looking for something outside of the typical common cliche shooter you'll want to experience this for yourself! Recommended

70

Great story, nothing special about the gameplay

igzaustion | Jan. 9, 2013 | See all igzaustion's reviews »

Spec Ops is an average shooter at best. If you're looking for fun gameplay, look anywhere else. If you are looking for a good story, and feel comfortable playing a movie instead of a game, this is a definite purchase though. As you progress, Spec Ops will twist your stomach and screw with your brain up to a point where you just feel bad about the whole game, which weirdly is kind of great.

80

A wake up call to shooters of today

lushteinas | Jan. 7, 2013 | See all lushteinas's reviews »

When first playing Spec Ops, I didn't have any hopes for it. Any hype. And that's probably one of the main reasons it smacked me in the head so much and so hard. Without spoiling anything I can say - it has one of the best delivered stories of the year. And it delivered what was unexpected. It's a shooter that makes you question what you do. Why do you shoot. Are you having fun? The gameplay is an average run and gun shooter, but experiencing the story makes it worth your while. A definite buy for any third person shooter fan.

85

Great story with some decent action

Scorpy | Jan. 7, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Spec Ops: The Line isn't your typical action shooter. Get ready to have your pants blown off by the scope and ambition of the story. Spec Ops: The Line looks Call of Duty, Battlefield and other generic shooters look like the soulless cash-ins they may or may not be. It calls out the brutal and dramatic consequences of warfare in a way that really challenges the player and makes it pretty hard to think of shooters in the same way again.

The music is fantastic, consisting of classic rock and moody guitar stings throughout. The voice acting was fantastic and the characters feel whole.

Buy this for the story and not the shooting, or the tacked-on multiplayer.

85

Competent action, excellent story

Lunk | Jan. 7, 2013 | See all Lunk's reviews »

Spec Ops was my most surprising gaming experience of 2012. I'm generally not a fan of the military shooter genre at all, and nothing in the promotional material I saw for Spec Ops convinced me that I'd like it any more than the rest, but friends kept heaping so much praise on it (while being incredibly vague about WHY it was so good) that I finally caved and picked it up when I found a cheap enough sale.

I now understand both why they praised it so much, and why they were so vague. I found the gameplay pretty unremarkable - competent, but nothing special - but the game's strength is in its story, and the less you know going in the better. Whether you love or hate military shooters, this game is well worth experiencing at least once.

90

Whaaaaaat a great surprise

abelfs | Jan. 4, 2013 | See all abelfs's reviews »

After reviewing infinite games, I could get this one for free at GMG (thanks!!) and I decided to give it a try believing that it would be another shooter made for multiplayer. How wrong I was... The campaign is its most powerful weapon, with a story that keeps you playing until the end (with Jimi hendrix' A Merman I Should Turn to Be in the ending), a solid gameplay, and its atmosphere of madness and destruction (Dubai rules!!). Knowing the situation in THQ, now I feel guilty for not have paid what this games deserves.

89

Great singleplayer experience

RickWiz | Jan. 2, 2013 | See all RickWiz's reviews »

Just an average third-person shooter but with a brilliant story.

The voice acting is very strong, helped along by Nolan North casting the lead character. The story feels extremely well-written. It's dark and brutal the way it's told, with many moral grey-area choices to be made and you often end up wondering if you're actually the good or the bad guy. With all the brutality and difficult choices you clearly notice how the mental health and the mindset of you and your squad changes.

Highly recommended for singleplayer, multiplayer is a waste of space.

87

Captivating Story

DeeCodex | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all DeeCodex's reviews »

When i started playing this game i was really underwhelmed because the Gameplay is very generic, but after the first hour of the game i really came into the plot. It is for me until now the best Story that i ever had the pleasure to play.

97

Great story line

culefinslamort | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all culefinslamort's reviews »

I must be honest when I decided to buy this game: I thought it was going to be a "standard" third personal shooter, but I couldn't be more wrong. It's difficult (you can be low of ammo and some enemies are very though), with good visuals and a great story line. I couldn't stop playing it so I really recommend it, you won't regret!

80

Great storyline

Lekes | Dec. 24, 2012 | See all Lekes's reviews »

Incredible storyline, the Apocalypse Now for the next generation. However, I feel that I've already spoken too much. Gameplay is fantastic and a great story. Do not miss this game. However, one major gripe I had for the whole game was the controls. A game should be fun, the difficulty from the challenge on completing the game and each chapter. A game's challenge should not come from the cumbersome Console controls which Spec Ops The Line is from. Instead of life and death struggles, you'll have controlitis struggles, because your very life depends on whether you double clicked the same key for various commands. I understand Consoles have limited buttons, but PCs do not. Once again, Developers fail to polish what is probably one of the better games released in 2012. And for that, what would have been a perfect 10 is now an 8.

90

Using Gameplay and Story to provide an experience!

Sacred | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all Sacred's reviews »

Spec Ops: The Line is an intense game about the horrors or war and the effects it has on the people fighting in them, while also doubling as a criticism of the entire "military first person shooter" genre.

The story starts off simple enough, your squad is sent to Dubai to investigate what happened to an American Battalion after a sandstorm ravages the city.

As the game progresses, the effects of the gameplay will start to take a toll on both your characters and (surprisingly) yourself, with the gameplay starting to feel worn and tiring after a while and making it feel difficult to continue on playing.

Recommended to play as much of it in one sitting to maximise the experience. Though I can see that people just here for shooting will get bored quickly.

90

probably the best storyline in a shooter

asume4 | Dec. 13, 2012 | See all asume4's reviews »

when you first start the game you may think that it is just a generic shooter, but it is more than that, i can't go into full detail because it better to experience it yourself,

the shooting is solid with lots of choice of weapons, you have 2 teammates to help you out in combat, moral choices throughout the game that changes the storyline, and you start to see the phycological effects of war take its toll on the player, the game is intended to make the player uncomfortable in certain parts and does not glamorize war, the game has multiple endings which adds replay value to the campaign.

the multiplayer is very similar to call of duty in terms othis gamef loadouts and perks, one thing that does stand out in the multiplayer is that there are certain areas of the map that the player can shoot at and release sand onto a enemy, killing him, the multiplayer isn't innovative but is solid.

overall this the singleplayer is amazing and sets a new standard for shooter storylines but the multiplayer is more of the same. i highly reccomend this game

92

Intense and provocative

P5yL3nTG | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all P5yL3nTG's reviews »

Spec Ops is one of those games where game-play is merely in service of plot. What you'll find within is a competent 3rd-person cover-based shooter. The team AI spotting mechanic works well, and the use of sand as an offensive/defensive tool is refreshing, but apart from that, it's standard shooter fare.

The plot is the true selling point. Based on 'Heart of darkness', you'll question your motivation and sanity in a military shooter that flies in the face of tired genre tropes.

For a gritty, realistic, military shooter, there is some excellent use of colour, especially in some of the more elaborate building interiors.

Truly haunting set pieces and gripping narrative, the game invites reflection into the shooter genre, and just why we kill for fun.

Both Yager and 2K should be commended for releasing such a provocative and intense game.

One of my favourite experiences of 2012.

92

Intense and provocative

P5yL3nTG | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all P5yL3nTG's reviews »

One of those games where gameplay is in service of plot, but what a plot it is. Question your motivation and sanity in a military shooter that flies in the face of tired genre tropes. Both Yager and 2K should be commended for releasing such a provocative and intense game. One of my favourite experiences of 2012.

80

Great campaign, generic gameplay

overburning | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all overburning's reviews »

Spec Ops: The Line is a pretty typical third person shooter except for its story. The shooting and cover mechanic is everything you've seen before, which, combines with the relatively slow start of the story, can be quite discouraging. Yet if you stick by the game, the story is fairly interesting. It is not the standard military dudebro story, but a thought provoking one, whether it is an effective story is up for question, but that's more than most games provide us already. I would recommend this game to anyone interested in a story, but for those that just want a fun shooter, there really isn't anything special about its gameplay.

80

War ain't pretty

Madafix | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all Madafix's reviews »

Spec Ops: The Line talks about issues which most of the modern warfare shooters are avoiding. War is and never has been glorious. When the dust has settled everyone who has been involved in the war has changed.

Sure, at times the realistic portrayal of war zone falls short, when all you do is shoot someone in the face. What is changed is that now there is not just black and white. In this game we could talk about a lot of gray -- or more precisely -- bad decisions that the soldiers have to go through. It's either a bad or even worse decision the characters have to carry out in the game.

War is not pretty, It never has been. And for the sole fact that the developers have tried to show that to the audience I give 8 out of 10. It is really good, but at times it breaks the immersion/

86

Worth it for the single player alone

epoworker | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all epoworker's reviews »

The campaign on this game does something that not many other games on the market do. It tells a unique story that will leave you bewildered, and shocked. It questions the morality of everything you do, and hates you for just playing the game. One of the best single player experiences I have had in a long while, and a great fresh breath of air. Multiplayer, not so great. Just the same kind of thing you'd expect from a 3rd person army shooter. I would definitely recommend buying this game, however, as the singleplayer is truly phenomenal.

85

Great game!

Aneszej | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all Aneszej's reviews »

Spec Ops the line is one of better games of 2012. Graphics are really epic. I like the fact it's third person game. It has got some really nice features like putting on attachment (based on weapon) on gun, and a really nice cover based shooting. It even has got full controller support. What is kinda bad in game is controls, they have kinda wrong setup, but this is pretty much just for keyboard. It has got even a multiplayer. Multiplayer is amazing, classes, co-op with team, sandstorms appearing at random... About story, it's not the best, but it is really fun. They have some really nice effects, cut scenes, and some not that great destruction in it. Overall game is really great. 8.5/10

90

Worth it for the campaign

CJV | Dec. 5, 2012 | See all CJV's reviews »

Spec Ops: The Line may seem like a shallow shooter at first sight, but it's far from it. It has a awesome campaign that I will not spoil but I do really recommend this game for that alone. The graphics are great, with some awesome set pieces and some gorgeous views. The gameplay is solid with some nice touches like using sand to blind your enemies. Overall it is a damn fine game!

95

One of the best shooters ever

dark2025 | Oct. 30, 2012 | See all dark2025's reviews »

I won't say too much about this game because I think it's good to experience it for yourself. I will say however, that while disguised as a generic 3rd person shooter, Spec Ops really has a lot of things to comment on, and what it's commenting on can be debated - you might end up interpret it as saying something about the video game medium, and even about you the player.

Personally, I think the mask the game puts on is fantastic - it leads you to believe in just about every way that you're playing a generic shooter, but then somewhere in the middle you will start to realize it's so much more than that, and again you might interpret that in many layers.

Yeah the gameplay may not be the best, but this game proves that not all violent video games are mindless and stupid. You really ought to check it out for yourself.

80

Spec Ops: The Line

RyGiEl26 | Sept. 13, 2012 | See all RyGiEl26's reviews »

Spec Ops: The Line is a spectacular tactical action game view from the perspective of a third person, prepared by the studio Yager Development. In single player mode, the player takes the role of a small branch of a soldier who is sent on a mission to rescue damaged by storms Dubai. Developers tried to the epic story and great visuals. Completes featured multiplayer mode.

80

Easy to play,sinful,alternate endings and just jam-packed action

fable2 | Sept. 12, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

It is I think one of the first FPS to really have a multiple ending sort of gameplay. I don't remember any FPS that really has such deliverables. It is always the kind of happy-save-the-country sort of ending, but this game is really different...

The game just keeps you going on and on, despite 15 chapters. Guns wise, I think I really loved the carbine because of the silencer capabilities. Grenade launchers and SCAR just were guilty pleasure weapons to blow enemies up.

Among the 4 difficulties, I played the 3rd. It was quite challenging, but you will get the hang of it. I must say this game didn't hit the high rates in my books, because of the enemy AI as they were quite predictable, though there were many times where they flanked me :P The AI movement is quite choppy, easy to mark spots. Snipers put up a challenge, and the heavy troopers really made me replay many times :D AI throws very accurate grenades, which really lures you out of cover.

The animations were good. Very well timed and made. A good introduction of natural disasters to really spice FPS battles in the field. Lastly, a very good message which this game is trying to send out as well. War makes us crazy, till the point where you really start seeing things. Lugo Lugo?!? Blinking lights, heavy trooper teleporting around the room, eyes going mad because the player is seeing things...Very much like F3AR.

Lovely. I'm giving it 8/10 for a unique FPS experience and once I was glued, I really played all the way non-stop.

73

Worth checking out for the story

danteveli | Sept. 12, 2012 | See all danteveli's reviews »

There are not that many games I change my opinion about 2 hours in. There are not many games I'm hating at the beginning that I finish more than once. Spec Ops the Line is one of them. The game managed something thats almost impossible nowadays. It sucked me in with its story and paranoid atmosphere. At first glance its just another shooter but motivation and story as we progress gets us to that other deeper layer. I don't want to spoil much but fans of Apocalypse Now/ Heart of Darkness will find some similar vibes.

The game also has multiplayer but its same old stuff done million times in other production. Story is the best part of the title and its worth checking up. Its sad that rest of the title doesn't measure up to that part. With better gameplay it could be wonderful experience. Now its just ok.

73

Good story, generic mechanics

Fkpuz | Sept. 11, 2012 | See all Fkpuz's reviews »

First let me say that I highly enjoyed this game. It takes a genre which is generally known for cheesy and horrible writing and then flips that notion on its head. The story telling in Spec Ops: The Line alone is worth the price of the game. This isn't your generic RAH RAH AMERICA shooter, this is a game that will make you think more about war and the consequences that it has on everyone. You don't need to be American to appreciate this game.

Mechanically it plays like a generic shooter. If you're in it just for the gameplay then I would suggest looking elsewhere. The gunplay is average and the progression is average. Level design is average and the art is average. Story and writing is where this game shines.

90

Truly one of the best mature Plot for a third-person shooter

Xibalba | Sept. 11, 2012 | See all Xibalba's reviews »

I suggest to you to play this game not much for what it offer in the gameplay side (a third-person shooter with emphasis on cover and "squad-based tactics" nothing of new in this side) but for the plot and the story inspired by Joseph Conrad's novella Heart of Darkness and for some characters seem to come out from the movie Apocalypse Now. Another great thing is the soundtrack some good Alt. Rock. This game will prove yourself

88

The army in the desert.

maciej2601 | Aug. 30, 2012 | See all maciej2601's reviews »

Spec Ops: The Line is a spectacular tactical action game view from the perspective of a third person, prepared by the studio Yager Development. In single player mode, the player takes the role of a small branch of a soldier who is sent on a mission to rescue damaged by storms Dubai. Developers tried to the epic story and great visuals. Completes featured multiplayer mode.

90

Not another brainless shooter.

zhack075 | Aug. 29, 2012 | See all zhack075's reviews »

Specs ops isn't The best TPS in the world, in fact, even if it is pleasant to play, it remains a standard game. But this game is really good because of his storyline and the way it is told.

Besides the fact that many scenes are unrealistic, the events told in this games are toughs. Innocent people dies, you don't know who to trust. In fact you try to do your best in a situation that overcomes you. I think this game worth a shot because it's not another brainless shooter, this game makes you think of war and its consequences.

The only thing I can blame in this game is the fact that sometime, the game forces you to take bad decision even if you want to avoid them. except that, it's a great game.

98

A thought provoking ride

Cooberstooge | Aug. 28, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

Spec Ops was always a pretty ho-hum shooter series, but Yager has taken it and beat the heck out of it, then set it on fire. This is quite possibly the single best shooter I've ever played, bar none. Everything ties together so well, it's quite frankly a little scary.

The environment is arguably the coolest setting ever seen in a video game. I mean, who doesn't wonder what Dubai would look like after a massive sandstorm? Not that I'd wish that on the city for real, but curiosity is there. The sand is reactive in many places, and is both friend and enemy - use it to crush people, or get lost in it during a firefight and die.

Battles are fast, furious, and disorienting thanks to the calls of your squad and the enemy, with orders and battle cries echoing off buildings and unnerving the heck out of the player. This is a cover shooter, but not one the likes of which I've ever seen before.

The campaign story is without a doubt the highlight, and delves deep into PTSD and the horrors of war. There are choices given to you, but really none of them are good and right. Make no mistake, this game has impact in spades. The folks who wrote this deserve a medal, really.

Don't make the mistake of passing Spec Ops: The Line up. The demo doesn't really give the right idea of the game, and taking a risk on this one, even at full price, is totally worth it.

79

The shooter

cristiano171 | July 21, 2012 | See all cristiano171's reviews »

The shooter has support for multiplayer games (online or via LAN). Unfortunately, I could not find any online game available to date. Reviewed your PC version, do not know if the same occurs with other versions of the game, however.

conclusion

Spec Ops: The Line is a great shooter. A title in which the narrative makes the player maintains interest in the game despite any problems. With great competence are led through a whirlwind of emotions the most diverse toward an ending that even remotely resembles a "happy ending". A final, however, is fully consistent with the proposal of the game as a whole. While climbing the credits, we can even hear a question asked by John Konrad echoing in our ears: "Do you

90

Amazing.

aqnickdan3 | June 27, 2012 | See all aqnickdan3's reviews »

This game is great! It is actually quite different from all the other games that focus on war in countries that have this sort of landscape. The environment is very unique as in the sand is used in a way where it alters the gameplay either to your advantage or your loss. The environment makes this game very unique. Graphics are great, not the best, but very good graphics. There are also many hours of gameplay so this will keep you entertained.

85

First game in the world that uses the sand correcly

DrHouse | June 24, 2012 | See all DrHouse's reviews »

This is the first game ever made that uses the sand has a main gameplay element CORRECTLY. The sand is like any other player. You have to use it in intelligent ways to be able to play this game. The scenarios are dynamic, and full of details. The storyline is good, not the best but deffinetively better than many games out there. And the graphics and sounds are just perfect for this game. One of the best games you can buy this summer.