Reviews for Quantum Conundrum

60

like Portal, with a twist. needs work.

damienjameswebb | Feb. 3, 2014 | See all damienjameswebb's reviews »

first off, it took forever to try and get this game to run smoothly. wasn't sure if that was just me or if the game just isn't optimized fully. but, when i finally got it going, wow was i impressed. it did feel a lot like portal. one room then the next then the next, but it wasn't at the same time. instead of portals, you use dimensions which radically change how things act in the world. it makes for some interesting a difficult puzzles.

the games engine, while innovative, is very slow (at least for me) if i had a more powerful pc, i'm sure it would have been better,but i can get portal 2 to run like butter, and this was more like a thick chunky poo.... i did get all the way through it, however, and the difficulty of the game with all its weird mind bending puzzles was well worth the effort.

this game would probably be better experienced on a console or better PC, but should defiantly be experienced.

78

Adorable in its own way

bibboorton | Sept. 21, 2013 | See all bibboorton's reviews »

The best way to enjoy this game is to probably not compare it to Portal. Because it is not Portal.

And yet, comparisons to Portal just won't end.

Take Portal and remove all portals. Then replace those portals with dimension shifts. So, think not with portals. Think with dimensions.

Yeah.. Maybe this is Portal. Only without the Portals.

In any case, it is an adorable game that is worth a play-through if you like relaxing puzzle games. There's quite a lot of gameplay here too despite the simple mechanics.

80

Cured an itch...

Leewom | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all Leewom's reviews »

After finally getting to play Portal 2, I needed some more physic based FPS puzzlery and Quantum Conundrum looked like it would tick the box.

Over a couple of evenings I became totally engrossed in the Uncles house of puzzles and enjoyed the quite humourus story. It may seem childish by nature (especially graphically), but do not let this put you off. It suits the game perfectly and believe me, can be quite a head scratcher.

I do remember certain elements being a bit frustrating to solve, from a gameplay stand point, but overall a pleasure to playthrough.

Though this never elevates to the same standard of Portal 1 & 2 it is none the less a pleasant gaming experience with a few nice touches unique to itself. Little ike being one of them...

BONUS: I was impressed with the implementation of the Alienware lighting. Each ability on the glove was assigned a colour and when in use, the lights on my m14x lit up that colour. A very nice touch -but not for everyone.

61

Not even close to Portal

RicBac | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all RicBac's reviews »

This is i puzzler fps like Portal. But the similarities ends there. Sure there is a tiny bit of humor a some puzzles are entertaining. The thing that doesn't quite make it for me is the atmosphere. It's just dull. And the story isn't that exciting either.

If ypu are looking for another Portal then you will probably be disappointed. If you are looking for a fps-puzzler and it's on sale, then give it a try.

68

Fun but a Bit Trite

bwrussell | July 8, 2013 | See all bwrussell's reviews »

This is a game a lot of people, including me, were pretty exited about when it was announced. Unfortunately it falls a bit short of the expectations it set. It just feels like the developers were to concentrated on making a game like portal but different and as a result it comes across as forced. Go look at the descriptions for Portal 1 & 2, nowhere does it talk about how funny the game is. As a result it catches you off guard and is quite hilarious at times. On the other hand you have QC which makes sure you know their trying to be funny which takes away the edge, the surprise. I eventually just turned the volume for the voices down. I feel part of the problem is it seems the dev fell into the trap of having a child main character causing the tone, and subsequently the humor, to tend towards childish. Everything about the game just feels like it was made for 8-10 year olds. All that being said it is still probably worth a play. The mechanics do make for some interesting puzzles and it is different enough from other games to be of value. Just don't expect it to be comparable to the gems that are Portal 1 & 2.

80

Enjoyable

odtuyurt8 | July 1, 2013 | See all odtuyurt8's reviews »

I really enjoyed this game, it is a good first-person puzzle game. You can sense that portal-ish style at first because of Kim Swift but when you go further you see that this game is quite original. Unfortunately there is no story in this game at all, I can say that is the only bad thing about the game. (And also it's a bit short) If you are into puzzle games, you should get this at this price! I can say it worths!

78

Don't expect another Portal, but just another fun puzzle game

MarkDeejay | Feb. 11, 2013 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

It took me almost a year to finish Quantum Conundrum. I'm not even sure why because I was really excited to play it. So I pre-ordered it back then, and when it was finally available I played it for 2 hours and then... stopped. I guess it didn't pull me in like Portal once did. That doesn't make it a bad game, not at all. It just lacks that certain charm. The puzzles, however, are pretty cool. So, I decided to continue the game just recently and I have to say the game actually gets a lot better near the end, when you have access to all 4 dimensions (fluffy, weight, anti-gravity and slow). Switching between them while solving these puzzles can actually be very rewarding. It's a great feeling. And while the game lasts only about 6-7 hours, it's long and challenging enough to keep your attention (for most of us anyway ;)). Now that QC2 has appeared in the Steam registry I'm actually really excited again ! I ♥ first person puzzle games.

85

Not too shabby ;)

PM_DMNKLR | Feb. 5, 2013 | See all PM_DMNKLR's reviews »

This game, Quantum Conundrum, is downright fun to play. It's moderately easy, though still a challenge at times, and the humor in it is just a great bonus as well. It's great fun, quite enjoyable and you may even find yourself coming back for more once you've completed it. Pick it up if you can, it's definitely worth playing.

87

A easy puzzle game

DukePaul | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

When you play this game for the first time you will see Quantum Conundrum resembles to Portal but it has his own personality, the puzzles have more variety thanks to the powers of the glove, it changes dimensions in the rooms of the game like, light gravity, heavy gravity, slow down, gravity inverted and you will need to use the items around to resolve the puzzles.

The only annoying thing is the voice of your uncle the entire game, he speaks too much, but if you can ignore that, the game is very fun and It has a leaderboard for scores and records so the replay value is great even if you know how to resolve the puzzles the second time you play them.

Right now the game has an incredible price, if you like puzzles in first person, you will enjoy it.

78

Good first person puzzle game

panz3r88 | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Quantum Conundrum is a good first person puzzle game that looks similar to Portal. In this case you must solve the various puzzles using a gloves with various powers that allow you to change the physical property of the objects. In the game there are four different areas where you will have to use mainly one of the four powers of the glove: you can for example slow down time or control the weight of an object. The game is not really long and in the first part the puzzles are quite boring. If you keep playing and you will arrive close to the end of the game you will see that the puzzles will be better and more complex and you will have more fun

78

Funny game

Xibalba | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all Xibalba's reviews »

This game is very fun and I would recommend it to anyone who loves a good puzzle. Probably because Quantum Conundrum's developer is Kim Swift, which was one of the minds behind the first Portal, this game actually feels like a casual version of Portal. Instead of targeted teleports and strange substances though, our weapon of choice influences ("shifts") the whole environment, making everything ultra-heavy, ultra-light, super-slow-motion, or gravity-inverted. It's actually quite fun. Like Portal, all puzzles are divided in rooms, and a sarcastic voice follows you throughout your gameplay.

75

Good, but not great.

masterenric0 | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all masterenric0's reviews »

Quantum Conundrum is a great experience overall, but it somewhat lacks in a few aspects. First of all, if you liked the original Portal you will probably like this game, considering it was made by most of the same team. The puzzles are good, not too hard, but not so easy that I could fly right through them. I see a lot of potential here, if they are planning a sequel, they should try to do the same thing Valve did for Portal 2. If you feel like taking a trip to Quadrangle Manor I would recommend that you wait for a sale before purchasing. But it is worth the price if you can't wait.

82

Cute puzzle plataformer

CJV | Sept. 30, 2012 | See all CJV's reviews »

At first sight Quantum Conumdrum may look like a Portal clone, and in some regards, that's a far comparison but in terms of gameplay they feel entirely different. Unfortunately I didn't feel the puzzles to be quite so well design like they might have been and they're fairly easy to figure out, the tricky part is to actually do it since most puzzles require some precise plataforming. Overall it's a fun game, but it could have been a great game.

100

if you like puzzle games

jim67 | Sept. 13, 2012 | See all jim67's reviews »

If you played portal and you liked this game is for you :) i think its better than portal, because the music the graphich , and good sense of humor ("every day iam shoveling" ). this game worth every penny.

76

it's Portal in a different custom, except it needs more puzzles.

fable2 | Sept. 12, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

I just finished it and would like to share my thoughts with you people. I will start with what I liked about this game then what I disliked on the other half.

The game has some potential but is not nearly as good as portal. The idea is the same as portal's except that it has 4 dimensions instead of portal holes. The puzzles are straight forward, except few offered a bit of challenge. The professor jokes were a bit lame beside his tone of voice which made me want to sleep (no offense). Also, what disappointed me in this game is that I've spent most of the time taking lessons than solving puzzles. Finally is the ending of this game which extremely lacks creativity.

What I liked about this game is the level design (i don't mean the puzzles, just the architecture). The pictures on the walls looked funny specially how they change when you shift dimensions. The cat-like mascot is really cute. Also the slow motion dimension which was the best of all.

In brief, the game isn't so bad ,if you like puzzles and jumping, and worth your money for the new experience. Even though It's a bit empty and lacks ideas. But If you expect a good story , you'll be disappointed. I hope my review was helpful enough.

80

Cute and astonishing

Moneyman | July 18, 2012 | See all Moneyman's reviews »

The game is a bit like the Portal games, in design, and puzzle variation. And it could be because one of the masterminds behind Portal made this game happen. The story is cute and the characters are adorable. You get the opportunity to shift dimensions and control slow motion and objects weight. This is the part that works best, and with that said lets go to the negative aspects. The major flaw is the plattform moments which only creates frustration.

But in overall I think this game is very good, a bit short but you´ll enjoy the ride atleast.

85

Where Portal and Psychonauts meet?

blue_award | July 18, 2012 | See all blue_award's reviews »

Not quite, but you cannot help yourself but draw some parallels. Some science, humor, special abilities, platforming, cartoonish aesthetics, scavenger hunts, extra challenge after beating the game (time trials and optimising the number of shifts...).

It's a fun first person 3D physics puzzle platformer, where you acquire up to four different ways to affect the physics and thus what you can perform on a given level (e.g. the first one is the "fluffy dimension", which makes everything on the scene lighter so you can e.g. actually carry all the normally too heavy stuff around; alas, the physics can get wee bit random at times, which may come in your way - on the other hand, try to throw something in real life pricesely exactly the same way a few times).

Be warned though, that very large part of this game is about precision platforming and it's just brutal and unforgiving. Perhaps third person perspective would work better for it?

Also, take it from someone who has finished the main game: you WILL want the DLCs. Trust me, if you're buying this early - get the seasonal pass. Or maybe even wait until the DLCs are actually released and get whole package then.

71

Decent Idea, modeled after Portal/2

Evilshallwin | July 13, 2012 | See all Evilshallwin's reviews »

Once you start playing the game, you can really see it is modeled after Portal and Portal 2, in terms of puzzles.

The game itself is not bad, and the way they used the idea of dimensional shifting in their puzzles is good. The problem is that some of the puzzles seem poorly done and a bit clunky in terms of delivery. What I did not like about some of these puzzles was the clunky and/or hard platforming in some of them.

Overall, I'd say this game is decent, and if you liked Portal/2, you'd probably want to give this game a shot. I enjoyed my first few hours playing this game.

75

Doesnt quite accomplish what it wants

xgatto | June 28, 2012 | See all xgatto's reviews »

Dont get me wrong, the game is fun, well designed, the idea is great. You get this device that allows you to change dimensions, between heavy, fluffy, slow-mo, and some others. You have to use these dimensions, to help solve the puzzles in the manor, to help find your uncle who has suffered an apparent accident, and got lost. The similarities to Portal start to show up, you have this device that can change something in reality, and you use it to solve puzzles in a staged environment. The environment is very well done, it has a goofy feeling about it, there are paintings around that change with the dimension, and the game overall feels really funny, with little gags and stuff, and the graphics help, they are somewhat cartoony, graphics arent that good but its not really like you need top notch graphics for a puzzle game. But the thing is, the game puzzles arent really that good. You have really obvious puzzles easy to solve, and then you have hard puzzles, which are just as the easy ones, but there is some strange plataform type gameplay involved that makes it difficult. Although there are some creative puzzles, the easy ones just outnumber them. Still, I think the game is good and fun, though it could've been much better, its still good, and if you played/like the Portal, this is really worth a shot.

66

Nice Concept

Wormy | June 22, 2012 | See all Wormy's reviews »

Quantum Conundrum's core dimension-shifting mechanic is definitely a nice idea and makes for some very clever puzzles but the writing of the game really lets it down. Conceived by Kim Swift, one of the brains behind Portal it's clear that they've tried to recreate some of buzz around the original game but the jokes are poor and the narrator (John de Lancie) does not deliver them particularly well. However, the game does have a very striking visual style that works well with the tone of the game. The puzzles are definitely this games strong point but the fun disappears when precision first person platforming is involved. Overall it's a fun little game with a couple of weak points and a tone much more suited to a younger audience.