Reviews for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

80

Same old multiplayer-focused shooter

Gmen | Jan. 8, 2014 | See all Gmen's reviews »

The first Call of Duty came out in 2003 and ever since there has been a CoD game every year. This title marked the first time where a CoD game was actually a sequel to one before it (CoD 4: Modern Warfare).

And this is the last Modern Warfare title I bothered playing. The graphics already started to look aged here, and it seems as though IW has been using the same engine for years. Thankfully there is a decent score with some work put in by Hans Zimmer that is worth a listen.

If you’re a fan of Michael Bay films, you’ll like this. This is the Michael Bay of games. Linear as it gets, plenty of explosions and effects, with nothing really that different to offer besides a change in scenery and only a few new game modes to extend the painfully short lifespan of the singleplayer campaign. Multiplayer fanatics will eat it up though, although having said that, it is a step down from the prequel, with no dedicated servers.

25

Meh

tommy255 | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all tommy255's reviews »

Modern Warfare 2 will be very familiar for those who played the original Modern Warfare...and that's because the game hasn't moved on much, and, in fact, gotten worse...

The first person story game is okay, I'll play it once...but the on-line multi-player experience is terrible.

Gone are the dedicated servers, the quick game joins, the glorious 40 player games, the occasional cheat (because the server admin kicked him and his winging mate...

All replaced with peer to peer hosting (read: laggy), automatic (read: poor) player matching, the maximum 18 player (9v9) games, and the occasional honest player, who, like you, has stumbled into a bot v. bot battle of the cheat...

I am now praying to the God of Honest Players that a dedicated server will be released, along with stronger anti-cheat measures, so that this emptiness I feel will go away....

But they have my money now...I don't think I'll ever feel as if it wasn't conned out of my pocket...

84

One of the best multiplayer games

gforcesa | Dec. 30, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 was and it still is one of my favorit CoD titles.Mainly because it didn't fuck shit up.The multiplayer was very enjoyable and so much fun to play.I always play CoD games especially for the campaign which is the good part of CoD games the last few years.I would've liked the game to have full co-op because most ot the missions were fit to play with a friend and that would have been fun.The graphics were ok and i didn't mind them.Also the guns in the multiplayer were good and very well balanced and you get used to them.I would recommend you buy this instead of Ghosts if you want good and balanced multiplayer.

74

Nice, enjoyable, but flawed.

cordin | Dec. 21, 2013 | See all cordin's reviews »

This game is a very nice crafted piece of work for a fps, but the ting that makes it shine is its multieplayer, this mode allows you to play so many modes like dominion, team death match, search and destroy, but it falls short when you actually really want a new experience, some people might of wanted to change that rules so much more then they were able too. Also, the story in this game is enjoyable, i just think it could of used a bit more polishing before it hit the shelves. the story mode is for the practice, or it could even be for the lonely sole that doesn't have a online pass on xbox. but overall, this game could be a bit flawed, but what game inst? If you like fps, pick up this game.

87

Action packed with fun and interesting levels

BlockAgent | Dec. 19, 2013 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

When I played COD4, I was disappointed, but this game, MW2 is a different story. I enjoyed playing this game. The action was intense, the environments of the levels were fun and interesting and the story kept you engaged from beginning to end. I recommend this game to everyone who enjoys first person shooters. I fun time is to be had.

75

MW2, the best cod of them all.

Miredas | Dec. 15, 2013 | See all Miredas's reviews »

COD MW2 (Call Of Duty Modern Warfare 2) is the best cod game, but its not the best game in the world. COD MW2 is a FPS (first person shooter) game and is the second modern warfare cod game, it is a multiplayer game where you kill other IRL (In Real Life) people to get EXP (Experience points). With these points you can level up with to get new weapons. The game is not that bad, but it is very old now so not too many plays it anymore, it is recommended to give this game a try.

92

The Top of True FPS

Stuman31 | Nov. 25, 2013 | See all Stuman31's reviews »

Run and gun isnt necessarily my style in gaming, the main thing i want from a FPS is a good story. I would say that The Modern Warfare games are the most action heavy FPS's that i play and enjoy. And what makes the MW series work is that they have a solid story to go alongside the action. Its pretty simple. If youve played and likes other Call of Duty games, or FPS war games, then you'll enjoy the Modern Warfare games. They are the top of the class. There is a lot to be fun in coop with this aswell. Especially when your partner is on the ground and you're covering them from thousands of feet up in the air

74

IWNet ruins multiplayer

stownd | Oct. 19, 2013 | See all stownd's reviews »

The story of MW2 is set about 5 years after the events from CoD4 and the game is a direct sequel. Imran Zakhaev is dead - the new bad guy is called Vladimir Makarov. During the very short (ca. 7 hours of playtime) campaign you change characters very often. Starting with Pvt. Joseph Allen (AKA. Alexei Borodin) from the USMC, Sgt. Gary Roach Sanderson (Task Force 141) and even Cpt. Soap MacTavish (the character you've played in CoD4). You visit many different locations - from the slums in Rio de Janeiro, over the freezing hills of Kazakhstan to the desert of Afghanistan. The whole campaign is very diversified and full of action. Modern Warfare 2 simply has one of the best and most impressive singleplayer campaigns of all FPS games so far.

Spec Ops: I think Spec Ops is really great. There are many different mission types and experiencing the game coop with a friend just makes more fun!

BUT: Why not make the whole game coop? There are only 2 missions in the SP campaign which wouldn't fit for 2 players!

Multiplayer: The multiplayer of Modern Warfare 2 isn't that great. Although you can choose your own killstreak rewards and create/customize your class-loadouts like in CoD4 the game is just filled with too much nooblike shit and plays more like a damn flight simulator than a real shooter. The gamemodes are basically the same as in CoD 4. Some new are: CTF (Capture the flag), Demolition and 1on1 Cage Fight.

There are lots of challenges to complete and 10 Prestige modes to master. The weapons are great and well balanced. Some of the new perks may be a bit overpowered and lots of the killstreak rewards just get annoying (after dying 5 times to a single harrier for example). You are able to customize your so called callsign with Titles and Icons unlocked by completing challenges.

IWnet really ruins multiplayer for PC gamers and the lack of private servers has a huge negative effect on eSports and competitive play.

82

Fantastic enjoyable game!

Dreamy | Sept. 26, 2013 | See all Dreamy's reviews »

This is a very enjoyable game and if have already played some of the games in the series this won't disappoint you.

it's a fast-paced game where everything is about reaction and knowing how to best your opponent. The campaign is where you learn the basic and a quite good story, but still with a few flaws.. The game got good graphics and varying maps to play on! from the dessert to the forest etc..
The best about the game is the multiplayer part where they offer endless time of fun! With a lot of different game modes. Search&Destroy, Domination and Team Deathmatch just to name a few.

85

COD:Back On Top

Shadow_Snickers | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all Shadow_Snickers's reviews »

A terrific first person shooter set in multiple countries from Afghan to New York . Discover and gain new Intel across the campaign to 16 player monumental rampage in multiplayer that closely resemble campaign missions in one map or scubba dive and even climb the stealthiest game released since all ghilled up.

75

Could be better

Simao20 | Sept. 21, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

I was a big fan of the first Modern Warfare game, that game changed the way shooters are on current gen. Modern Warfare 2 isn't a bad game technically, but its just more of the same fast paced call of duty action which is something I'm not big on. The multiplayer was ok , always easy to find lobbies thats for sure when it comes to virtually any call of duty game. The story is of course your typical shooter , wont take too long to finish. The one thing that I do give a great deal of praise is the leveling up system and customization of the weapons. You can put together any weapon load out you want basically , different skins and different sights . Plenty of game modes to choose from such as capture the flag, deathmatch, team deathmatch and search and destory you'll find something you like

95

The pinnacle of the Modern Warfare series

reconalpha | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all reconalpha's reviews »

While the first Modern Warfare was groundbreaking, Modern Warfare 2 fixed everything that may have been annoying to some players. The multiplayer is upgraded over its predecessor, and the immersion is plentiful. Leveling up in multiplayer is where this game shines, the maps are fun to play, the progression is second to none. The single player campaign is full of thrills and twists. If you have children, there is an option to disable some of the controversial violence in this game, specifically the Mall shooting level. This is the complete Modern Warfare experience down to the smallest detail.

91

Great Shooting Game

aznsnsn | Sept. 13, 2013 | See all aznsnsn's reviews »

The Call of Duty series has morphed a lot since it first started. This game has a wide variety of weapons and perks. The graphics are great, and the movement mechanics are very smooth. One of the best parts of this game is the multiplayer. The many different online modes adds a lot of variety to this game. With the many rank ups and prestiging, gamers will have lots of fun playing this first person shooter. The plot has many twists that will draw in players. Combining different weapons and perks can help to create a fun and versatile player to play with. Overall, this is a good deal.

76

More of the Same

phool | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all phool's reviews »

Another one off the production line of the biggest gaming franchises to date. Following the same formula as the first Modern Warfare game, MW2 ups the ante ever so slightly with the addition of snow! The games is pretty much indistinguishable from the first one and uses most of the same assets throughout and follows the same formula with the tiniest amounts of spit and polish to repackage it as a new game. That being said, it is a big budget release so expect great graphics, good voice-acting and excellent sound effects.

That being said, the game is fast-paced and quite enjoyable for what it is. The campaign won’t keep you occupied for too long, as you can speed through the missions with relative ease. Just keep moving forward and blast everything in sight. If you hang around too long in the same spot you’ll just have to fend off wave after wave of enemies. It is a fun game but pretty is pretty limited. If you take it for what it is, you should have a decent time with it.

95

Takes COD to a whole NEW level. [A couple of spoilers,be warned]

YYS1995 | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all YYS1995's reviews »

This is a great game. The single player allows one new and a variety of missions, some of which reflect missions from older CoD games. You get excellent graphics, storyline [that comes like a roller-coaster ride with ups,downs,twists and turns] - it must be noted. You have certain scenarios with rather high levels of violence [*Hint Hint - No Russian] that involves a massacre which is nicely portrayed. The multiplayer modes are great, when I tried it out the servers were rather active [So you do not have to worry about a dead game] Get this game if you like FPS games, especially if you are a fan of the CoD series ! [you do not need to be an old player of the CoD series to get this, this serves as an excellent intro to the CoD series on its own]

92

one of the best cods

mrboerenkool | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all mrboerenkool's reviews »

this is a really nice call of duty, maybe it is because in the campaign you will see cpt price back. i liked that very much. also there are som cons: like ghost dies with you in combat and you will see yourself and ghost burning on the ground but after all it is a must have !!!

90

if you liked cod 4 you defently like this!

chakad | July 23, 2013 | See all chakad's reviews »

great single player and even greater multilayer, spent hours of hours on the multi, the maps build is great, most weapons are balanced, and its fun to play (especially with friends) , the only problem i see in it is the hackers who ruins the game for the rest...but then hackers are poor players who have to cheat and they would do that in any game ;)

no realy beside the hackers its one of my favorite games especially the multi

94

My favorite shooter

amin_parazit | July 17, 2013 | See all amin_parazit's reviews »

this is by far my favorite shooter of all time, i have so many fun memories playing this game with my friends on both Xbox and Pc, I definetley recommend people to buy it, specially since its only 24 bucks :)

85

SP & CO-OP = AWESOME

TGAlan | July 7, 2013 | See all TGAlan's reviews »

It is an incredible game, offers countless hours of fun. Besides being a fantastic story that hooks you, the cooperative mode is great and has a lot of mission training, etc.. Anyway is a story with a plot worthy of the best movie of holliwood

90

You're probably familiar with this game

mugaro | June 26, 2013 | See all mugaro's reviews »

The single player is good. There's a lot of varied missions from earlier CoD games, beautiful scenarios, a good story with some twists and turns. This also has the infamous "No Russian" level, and I think it's worth looking at if you can handle that sort of ugly violence. Despite what they tell you, it actually does have some relevancy to the story.

The coop is the best part of this. The Spec Ops missions were spectacular. They replay missions from the single player with some different objectives, sometimes timed, and playing with a buddy is the best part of this game.

The multiplayer is still active as of Summer 2013, but obviously most people move on to the newer CoD games as they come out. I much prefered the IW versions of CoD multiplayer over anything Treyarch made (Black Ops) so this was a solid 30 hours of gameplay.

If you like FPS games and don't mind the fact that there are hundreds of them out there, this is probably one of the best of the 360/PS3 generation to play.

80

Very good FPS

lachking | June 25, 2013 | See all lachking's reviews »

MW2 is a very strong FPS both online and off. The campaign is quite good with a mix of different locations and objectives and the voice acting for the most part is sound. Although reasonably short, the campaign offers a good single player experience. The meat of this game is of course the multiplayer. There are a variety of different game modes such as team death match and free for all with several different maps to play on and classes to play. The progression system is effective and you will gain experience and levels as you play. You will also unlock goodies as you play such as dog tags. There are some pitfalls in the experience however. Some perks are very annoying, such as bombers and helicopters. There are also no dedicated servers meaning you need to search each time you want to play. Also, because the game is reasonably old now, newcomers can expect to get hammered by veterans of the game, ie level 70 players.

56

Needs more polish!

Plasros | June 19, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

The single player campaign wasn't as long as Call of Duty 4's but was still amazing. It is hard to say which single player is better comparing mw2 to cod4 but the results would be pretty darn close. Special Ops was a nice edition, with enjoyable challenges and missions to complete. Multiplayer for this game was awesome but not as great as Call of Duty 4's multiplayer. The only issues making the game not fun and frustrating at times is the overpowered grenade launchers and one man army "the perk" that allows you to reload classes so you can gain back your grenade launchers for instance. And, sadly no dedicated servers, using the same system of online as the consoles. But forgetting these issues the multiplayer is a masterpiece. Well balanced weapons and superb map design. Hacking is also an issue. Challenge lobbies bringing you up to level 70 or max prestiges are hosted almost daily, along with those little noobs ruining matches using aimbot, godmode, etc.

98

COD Done Right.

Demadizz | June 16, 2013 | See all Demadizz's reviews »

Infinity Ward hit a milestone with this one. The Story was flawless and picked up right where you left off. Added Co-op called Spec Ops which is an amazing addition. Added a new feel to some missions and made it a lot of fun with a friend. The Modern Warfare series is definitely worth a look into, because it is done right.

90

Excellent!!

kalil | June 14, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Gameplay: It is virtually identical to that of COD 4, but has some changes to time to control some of these changes are for the better and others worse, as with all sequels. But leaving aside control and focusing on story mode I have to say this COD is the one I was hooked over his campaign, is very good, frantic and with a good argument ... I say no more in case anyone has not played. They have added a way that was not in COD 4 and is the Special Operations also engage you shit, and especially if you play online with a friend. The multiplayer has been improved, and I have to say that engages much too streaky new low, can drive some vehicles obtained through bouts of low ... well yes, that is the shit.

Technology: This section has me a little disappointed by the terrible enemy AI ... But hey, not bad, has improved somewhat compared to COD 4.

Graphics: A improved from COD 4 although not brutally as in Battlefield 3 compared to Bad Company 2. Still I liked.

Sound: The Best of the game certainly sounds weapons have improved considerably and the soundtrack is ........ fucking brutal as any work of Hans Zimmer.

Innovation: Virtually no ... As with all games of this style.

Conclusion: I recommend you to buy it if you are FPS fans like me

84

True successor to Modern Warfare, perhaps the best gameplay wise

spycid | June 14, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

Since COD 4: Modern Warfare, entire COD gameplay has changed but this one brought the best of the series, whether it's stealth kill or driving jet-ski, this game raised the bar to new level which has laid a foundation for future games to incorporate vehicular warfare. It's a must play for every COD fan.

60

Tries to Hard and Falls Short

thegaminglyfe | June 11, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

This game is nowhere near innovative, it still runs on the same engine from Call of Duty 4. The gameplay is boring and much too easy, even on Veteran. No one knows what happened to Call of Duty, before you were just another soldier in just another squad taking out an objective. Now you're almost a god killing thousands of enemies to save the world. The story tries much too hard to be cinematic. In my opinion a game needs to be naturally cinematic as you play it, you don't need slow motion explosion and people getting shot. The graphics look bland in all the maps and are ugly to look at after a while. The music is actually very good and the gunshots sound good. Not recommended for old fans of the series, you'll be disgusted.

81

Call Of Duty,diffrent today,but this one is the good old one.

WildWest123 | June 6, 2013 | See all WildWest123's reviews »

Everyone knows Call Of Duty has changed both story wise and gameplay wise, but as an old COD fan, I can say this was a title that I've enjoyed.

It has an interesting story and a multiplayer that I could spend dozens of hours on. Nowadays the community is still surviving from what I know, so if you got friends playing this, pick it up and give it a go.

70

Modernwarfare 4.5

brenker99 | June 4, 2013 | See all brenker99's reviews »

This game , Like ANY other Call of duty game is the copy of he's previous one. This game is fun and all but it doesn't makes any major change from Modernwarfare 1,Call of duty 4. a great FPS tough. Fun gameplay Average Story . 7/10

50

Simply "meh"

SeverinMK | June 1, 2013 | See all SeverinMK's reviews »

It seems a lot of people really liked this game but for me this was actually the CoD that made me pretty much quit playing the series. I think I don't have to say much about the story, it was as linear as linear can be, the story was a bit unlogical and the characters nothing special. As for the multiplayer, for me it was a rather big disappointment after CoD 5 (which is still my favourite one) because of the amount of completly overpowerd killstreaks which even stack up on top of each other (get a 24/25 killstreak and be able to win the match no matter who actually has the lead), things like deathstreaks (getting rewards for dying often? Wut?) and other unbalanced stuff (I'll just say G18 Akimbo and OmA + Tube). The maps were decent though but all in all I can't understand how so many people actually liked this game.

85

Best COD-game there is- Also one of the best FPSs there are

Crazy4ever | May 27, 2013 | See all Crazy4ever's reviews »

Modern Warfare 2 is a brilliant game, and one of the best FPSs there are. It has the same great mechanics as COD 4, but it has made everything even better. The graphics are very good, and when the call of duty engine was fairly new these graphics were REALLY good, but they still work. The story is really exciting and I loved the connections with the old charachters and also seeing new ones, and playing as different people. The shooting mechanics are really good, and the "super auto-aim" is actually cool and a part of the COD-supersoldier excperience. The multiplayer is brilliant and I loved the level system with all the upgrades. Also, there are lots of coop special-ops missions which you can play with friends that are really good. In present day we know that COD has become quite repetetive, but when this game was out it was amazing!

92

A great gaming experience. A must play for everyone

rohitmitra5752 | May 26, 2013 | See all rohitmitra5752's reviews »

  1. Gameplay - Well the basics are the same for this game as it is for any other CoD game. The weapons are obviously better than before. As is the graphics. A lot of guns make it from CoD4 to this game. As for who you play, well it is hard to tell as you'll be playing a whole load of people. The characters whose shoes you are put in range from a Ranger-turned-CIA agent to SAS agents. Initially you find yourself fighting alongside Soap MacTavish, the character played by the player in CoD4. Near the end of the game you are able to control him for the final mission. A large number of additional weapons are available as are fancy attachments. Starting from the standard grenade launcher and Thermal Visions, they range up to Heartbeat Sensors. The game is set in Russia, US, Middle East and South America, probably Brazil. The level designs are marvelously done. Also there is a surprise weapon at the end of the game. That will be the last weapon you'll be using in the game. Also successfully completing the campaign unlocks the Museum Mode, where you'll be provided with exhibits showing scenes from CoD4 and this game. You'll also have a showcase of the weapons used in the game. You can even set the exhibit creatures on yourself to prove yourself (much like Night in the Museum).[HTML_REMOVED] [HTML_REMOVED]
  2. Story - The story continues from the last installment of Modern Warfare. After the death of Zakhaev, he has been recognized as a hero by the Russians. In the process of undercover operation, an American agent is killed implicating him of killing an airport full of people. With that the Russians have launched a full scale attack on the US. With the rangers protecting their country as best as they can, it is up to the SAS to find out the true culprit. And as time ticks away, they keep drawing closer to a first strike by Russia.[HTML_REMOVED] [HTML_REMOVED]
  3. Graphics - The graphics have been definitely improved. With a new engine powering the game, the level of detail in the game is truly remarkable. We may soon expect a graphics comparable to Crysis in a few game from now.[HTML_REMOVED] [HTML_REMOVED]
  4. Music and Sound - The sound effects of the game are great as usual. No CoD game has let me down --- yet. And I sure hope they don't.[HTML_REMOVED] [HTML_REMOVED] A great game, with the only downside of the story being a bit complicated. (Like when the nuclear missile is launched, it is unclear as to who launched it - the Russians or the deranged Captain Price. Though it is later assumed that it was the Russians, the nuclear launch was received by approval from the Captain). Moving on however, the game is short as well. An otherwise great experience, I would recommend this game to everyone.

92

A great gaming experience. A must play for everyone

rohitmitra5752 | May 26, 2013 | See all rohitmitra5752's reviews »

  1. Gameplay - Well the basics are the same for this game as it is for any other CoD game. The weapons are obviously better than before. As is the graphics. A lot of guns make it from CoD4 to this game. As for who you play, well it is hard to tell as you'll be playing a whole load of people. The characters whose shoes you are put in range from a Ranger-turned-CIA agent to SAS agents. Initially you find yourself fighting alongside Soap MacTavish, the character played by the player in CoD4. Near the end of the game you are able to control him for the final mission. A large number of additional weapons are available as are fancy attachments. Starting from the standard grenade launcher and Thermal Visions, they range up to Heartbeat Sensors. The game is set in Russia, US, Middle East and South America, probably Brazil. The level designs are marvelously done. Also there is a surprise weapon at the end of the game. That will be the last weapon you'll be using in the game. Also successfully completing the campaign unlocks the Museum Mode, where you'll be provided with exhibits showing scenes from CoD4 and this game. You'll also have a showcase of the weapons used in the game. You can even set the exhibit creatures on yourself to prove yourself (much like Night in the Museum).[HTML_REMOVED] [HTML_REMOVED]
  2. Story - The story continues from the last installment of Modern Warfare. After the death of Zakhaev, he has been recognized as a hero by the Russians. In the process of undercover operation, an American agent is killed implicating him of killing an airport full of people. With that the Russians have launched a full scale attack on the US. With the rangers protecting their country as best as they can, it is up to the SAS to find out the true culprit. And as time ticks away, they keep drawing closer to a first strike by Russia.[HTML_REMOVED] [HTML_REMOVED]
  3. Graphics - The graphics have been definitely improved. With a new engine powering the game, the level of detail in the game is truly remarkable. We may soon expect a graphics comparable to Crysis in a few game from now.[HTML_REMOVED] [HTML_REMOVED]
  4. Music and Sound - The sound effects of the game are great as usual. No CoD game has let me down --- yet. And I sure hope they don't.[HTML_REMOVED] [HTML_REMOVED] A great game, with the only downside of the story being a bit complicated. (Like when the nuclear missile is launched, it is unclear as to who launched it - the Russians or the deranged Captain Price. Though it is later assumed that it was the Russians, the nuclear launch was received by approval from the Captain). Moving on however, the game is short as well. An otherwise great experience, I would recommend this game to everyone.

92

Call of Duty – Should I say more?

DeaD | Feb. 23, 2013 | See all DeaD's reviews »

I do. But what could I tell you, that the title doesn’t? First of Modern Warfare II is the sixth one in the series. MWII is the sequel to the first one, set five years after.

Graphics are pretty much the same as before, there are some new weapons, and the gameplay is great. Still Call of Duty is more an arcade-style fps, and not a how-to-die simulator, even so, there are maps where you may experience difficulties and Veteran mode is pretty hard.

The multiplayer is similar, but there are new weapons, items, perks and streaks aaand cooperative! Love it!

I’m not a fanatic, but no way I could say baddies about it, Call of Duty rocks! Meet you on the front guys!

75

Railroaded singleplayer, mindless fun multiplayer.

lushteinas | Jan. 17, 2013 | See all lushteinas's reviews »

MW2 is a game trying to capitalize on it's prequels success. It has more shock moments than CoD4, a bigger scope and a wider selection of tools to get rid the world of your opponents. Yet IW failed to realise, that the shock moments repeated more than a few times lose the shock value, and the linear campaign gets cheap around the middle. The story falls apart right there and it all just feels like riding a train into the land of pointlessness. The multiplayer tried to do an upgrade since CoD4, and sadly -it failed. Weapon balance is as miserable as it ever was and the smaller maps encourage run-n-gun type of gameplay with bulletspam winning over team tactics. And while it has these problems it might still be a fun experience for some people, but it is just another plain, average shooter.

95

Masterpiece

Lekes | Jan. 6, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

Modern Warfare 2 was a masterpiece. It has incredible graphics, the storyline was gripping, making me play until the very end, my heart racing every time I turn a corner. The multiplayer is by far the best part of the game. You can never get bored as you never face the same person with the same guns every time. This game involves massive amounts of teamwork and coordination, and makes playing it a better experience than any other game I've played before. Infinity Ward has really shown that they can make a FPS equally appealing to anything Bungie, or Valve has.

93

Top of fps

Lippe1989 | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all Lippe1989's reviews »

What to say about Call of Duty? It is a classic from first person shooters. The gameplay is perfect for a shooter, the story is always interesting and the characters are always strong. The graphics are also very good. We know that every year will be launched a new Call of Duty game but we also know that they do it with a lot of care. It is always a well done game. The only problem is that all of them are similar to each other. The gameplay and time of story does not change too much. But it is not a bad thing. It sells a lot and does a lot success. It is strongly recommend to each one who played the previous games, not only Modern Warfare and liked. The experience will be good for sure. I think that anyone will like the game. If the person has minumum ability to play first person shooters I think that will play the game without problems and will be satisfied. Very recommended.

90

The Greatest Arcade FPS Ever

Brumbek | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all Brumbek's reviews »

The most polished and slick FPS ever made. The animations, sounds, gun mechanics, and map designs are world class. The original Infinity Ward guys were truly the best of the best. This game is so addictive with its expertly paced unlock system for MP. Moreover, the Spec Ops Coop mode is totally awesome, providing some of the most intense fun you can have with a friend. The SP is also very, very solid, even if the story gets totally nuts at the end. This game deserves to be played simply because it is the best of the best. Haters gonna hate but MW2 gonna go down in history as a nearly perfect arcade FPS.

92

One of my favourite

hannibal_king | Dec. 25, 2012 | See all hannibal_king's reviews »

As a Call of Duty fan, I got much more than I expected in Modern Warfare 2. Especially atmosphere of the game is incredible. You just feel the war as it's real. When you run after Captain Price you just listen his commands like it's a real matter of death and life. Chapter design is at top level. Graphics are very satisfying. If you haven't played Modern Warfare 2 yet, you should absolutely play as soon as possible.

88

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 - review

carlyle | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all carlyle's reviews »

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is the most played title of all time in the server world, so the single player is only a little more than a good appetizer to the real main course. The game also allows you to try out the Spec Ops, with which you can play cooperatively with a friend. If the single player works, but does not add anything to what is already seen, is in the multiplayer that the game finds its definitive consecration: The predefined classes are five, among these there are the overwatch, armed with a machine gun and bazooka team light and the riot control, equipped with machine guns and ballistic shield. The others are the grenadier, with assault rifle, the first recon compact machine gun and sniper that immediately brings with it the Barret. In addition, the possibility to create your own class: You can now carry two weapons "long". Not only guns, but also shotguns, rocket launchers and machine guns. The perk excessive response is no longer necessary to increase its firepower. the real news is the unusual death streaks and killstreaks. The deathstreaks are passive abilities that are activated after a certain number of deaths suffered, the first two are copycat, or the ability to steal respawn before the class of those who have killed and painkiller, a temporary bonus to the energy at the time of rebirth. The killstreaks are nothing more than media planes, but this time they are very many, about 15, and are unlocked at level rises acquired

90

One of the best shooters

antonioli84 | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all antonioli84's reviews »

Call of Duty has its identity, some particularity that you identify that we are talking about this best seller game. The environment, the strong characters and a lot of elements that translates this universe in what we know. Modern Warfare 2 it is a obligation to anyone who like first person shooter. The gameplay is fascinating, very accurated and enjoyable. There are algo a lot of tense moments, some of them playing more stealth, other playing like Rambo. The multiplayer is also superb. Any people who played Modern Warfare will know how it works but what I can say is that became better. Very recommended!

70

Bit of good and bad

MorphineBear | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all MorphineBear's reviews »

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 brings up old a new themes into the game. New guns, new maps, generally a new style... but not entirely. It has the same basic gameplay, wait. Actually, the exact same gameplay as Modern Warfare. Don't get me wrong, it's fun but as other has said, it's merely a "1.5" version of Modern Warfare.

There's something wrong with the multiplayer matchmaking and it's probably never going to be fixed. Games are extremely hard to get into and there's no "pick which server you want" type of connecting.

Word of advice: stick to the console version.

65

Not that good

israel_hlc | Dec. 13, 2012 | See all israel_hlc's reviews »

Modern Warfare 2 was launched with the hard mission to be the sequel of one of the greatest FPS of all times. Unfortunately, it failed to fulfill the high expectations provided by its predecessor.

The game itself is not bad. But sometimes it makes you feel playing “more of the same”. The gameplay is almost unchanged and the graphics are only slightly better, as it runs over the same engine of the first Modern Warfare.

The worst point in my opinion is the story. While the first game was impressive and cinematographic, this sequel lacks some basic fluency between the fragmented missions. There are also missions that don’t add value to the game at all, and even one that kept me thinking why has it been included in the final game: totally unnecessary.

Again, I’m not saying it is a bad game. It is just not as good as the two previous Call of Duty games: the first Modern Warfare and World at War.

88

A lot of fun!

jack11101 | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all jack11101's reviews »

Modern Warfare 2 was the first Call of Duty that I played. The single player is decent but that's not why you would buy this game. The multiplayer is a lot of fun and you can easily put in 50 hours and still have a ton of fun.As with other CoD's you level up and prestige to unlock new emblems etc. Some guns are more overpowered than others which shouldn't be a surprise when playing CoD but that doesn't ruin your experience unless your horrid at FPS's.

If you liked other CoD's (mainly CoD 4 and MW2,) then you will probably like this game.

90

A bit more action oriented, storywise

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

Great follow-up to Modern Warfare 1. More action-oriented if you ask me, and where the story in the first one was somewhat realistic this one takes an over-the-top approach (but it also has some great scenes). Multiplayer is still the same (and still great) with some slight tweaks and extra features. And then there's the co-op, which is kinda fun and sometimes challenging as well. The graphics still look pretty good and the sounds and voice acting are great. Not everyone may like this game, but if you like solid first person shooters this is a must-play.

83

Epic Single Player but Average Multiplayer.

crazyfm | Oct. 19, 2012 | See all crazyfm's reviews »

Note:The opinion of this game changes from person to person. This is the kind of game you either love it or hate it. But at the end let me just say you better buy mw2 than mw3. It is better and cheaper.

Three of the things that make me say this game is amazing is the single player, the co-operative value and how this game works in most pc. This game had the most epic campaign i have ever seen in a game and after your done, you are just begging for more (probably because it's too short) but after you're done you still have special ops and multiplayer. Special ops is really fun when you play with a friend on veteran (hardest mode) because you are always building strategies, discovering shortcuts , help each other in battle , yell at each other...oh the memories XD. And multiplayer...well...i am very generous when it comes to reviews so i have to say it was addicting and fun but it just gets boring and repetitive after a while, you are always waiting to find a modded server or something different at least. This could be fixed by either make a totally different online game or just add servers.

So anyways this is why i think the game gets a 83 except of a 100 -Single player is awesome but short -Special ops is amazing with friends but average on solo. -Multiplayer gets boring.

I still recommend this game for everyone out there who loves fps. At this price i wouldn't think twice. (I purchased the game at 50 euros)

30

I didn't liked it at all...

zhack075 | Sept. 3, 2012 | See all zhack075's reviews »

Yes... I dislike this game. I used to play a lot on COD 1 and I loved Modern Warfare 1, but this one is just way far from the fun I had on his ancestors. Michael Bayish Single player with useless and excessive violence such as the airport scene which is TOTALLY useless. I'm not against violence in video game, but it has to be correctly used to create the right atmosphere. The plot isn't good at all. I trully hate the weapons' feeling of this game. Moreover the game isn't hard, they send you as many stupid AI soldier as the game can handle until you reach a trigger zone. It's as simple as that. I disliked multiplayer but this is a matter of taste. I'm not fan of Skill-based FPS. And as i told, I hate the weapons' feeling of COD so...

66

Solid shooter with damaged multiplayer capabilities

Cooberstooge | Aug. 2, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

For a game that has such a good campaign and so much going for it, MW2 gets knocked on its arse by a severely messed-up multiplayer matchmaking system.

Call of Duty games are almost always pretty solid experiences, and MW2 is no different. The campaign has loads of "Did you see that?!?!" moments sprinkled throughout, and solid gunplay mechanics to keep you occupied between these moments.

But...and this is where I must ding MW2 on the score...the multiplayer is so bad. Not the actual matches, once you get into one, though. It's getting into one at all that's the problem. Having to wait 5+ minutes for a list of servers to load, only to join one and have lag worthy of 300+ ping, is not a fun experience.

For a series pretty well solely based around the multiplayer aspect now, Modern Warfare 2 needs to shape up or ship out, as soon as possible.

85

Fun game

gunpoint15 | July 22, 2012 | See all gunpoint15's reviews »

Okay if you have ever played a call of duty before you know for a fact the campaign is usually never the strong point in these games, you always look at the multiplayer since that is going to be what you're playing after you have finished the short campaign of the game. The multiplayer itself is pretty fun I had alot of countless hours of fun playing online with my friends in a team and even some nice private matches while using certain made up modes like cops and robbers and michael myers I will say this call of duty is actually for once worth the buy even to this day because of the active community that still plays it 85/100 enjoyed this game alot.

85

Was a Worthy Sequel But Ended My Investment in CoD

ROKET | June 30, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

This game wowed me at first. There was plenty of content, a decent campaign, a great multiplayer and great visuals to back it all up. It also ran very well on PC and for the most part IWnet wasnt all that bad despite being a bit clunky and slow to find games.

The story in the campaign wasnt bad and had you blasting through some very intense and interesting scenarios that kept you on the edge of your seat. I liked it, for the most part, but it was also very short.

Gameplay-wise the game was solid and very fun. I loved kicking ass in multiplayer and didnt find any clunkiness or glitches that broke the game until a few months later when IW basically dropped support.

This is where I explain my end of investment. I havent bought a CoD game since and that is certainly because of their crappy support of the game. Hacking became and epidemic and IW did nothing to stop it. By the time I stopped playing there was hacking in every game and I couldnt enjoy it anymore. IW could have done a better job but instead opted to screw everyone on PC.

For what it is - I recommend the game. For IWs crappy support - you best go with BF3.

88

An adictive multiplayer

simonsix | June 15, 2012 | See all simonsix's reviews »

Modern warfare 2 is a great FPS game. i loved the single player mode. and the multiplayer was amazing. This is simply one of the greatest shooters i have ever played and it never failed to amaze me with inspiring graphics, thrilling set pieces and adictive multiplayer.

90

Time Swindler

Lingwisyer | June 13, 2012 | See all Lingwisyer's reviews »

MW2 is a game that I'd recommend to almost any FPS player. Among PC shooters the MW trilogy has got to have the most interesting story out there. The story is immersive with crisp dialogue and controls are responsive. The sound palette is solid with weapons having a nice punch, except for nades which are sadly disappointing. The graphics are decent but are nothing to be amazed about. In terms of graphical options there are very few.

MW2 also handed us 69 brilliant coop missions ranging from a reverse of CoD4s "Ghille in the Mist" to supporting our buddy on the ground in an AC130. The missions were sharp and challenging enough to hook you in. Using a voice com while playing makes it that much more exciting.

For multiplayer, the game uses peer to peer hosting which often results in complaints over latency which in turn can ruin a game. With your general FPS you'd be looking at pings of <100, often <75. Here you'd be lucky if you find a host were everyone is <150 ping. Still, multiplayer plays smoothly and is addictive. There's a great variety of maps ranging from the radio active wastelands of Chernobyl to the ramshack mess of the Favelas, and even to some familiar maps from CoD4. There is also a create a class system that allows you to mixing up a large variety of weapons and perks letting you play how you want to play. With the release of MW3 finding a good game is substantially harder, more so if you prefer playing game modes other than the standard team deathmatch.

The main downside to this game is that it feels like a console port given the host system and the lack of graphics options. Given the number of ways to complete the campaign and the spec ops missions and the multitude of achievements to unlock, there is plenty of replayability in this game even without the multiplayer.

83

Could've been better.

ruready12 | March 12, 2012 | See all ruready12's reviews »

Lets me do a quick rundown of why this game is great yet lacking features.

First off, the lack of any dedicated servers makes it feel completely like a console port. The ping issues in most lobbies are drastically high and usually end up lagging every minute or so.

The gameplay lasts for hours upon days and is surely fun in its own "run and gun" shooter way. The game does get a bit repetitive once you hit the highest level in the multiplayer because the only option is to stay that level or restart with a new title and emblem. If you're looking for a decent shooter to keep you engaged in the game for a long time, this is it.

The graphics in the game are very nice for modern day standards and exceed what most FPS shooters look like. This game blends looking good without it being the sole focus as the gameplay is great too. Also, most standard computers can run this game quite well due to the suprisingly low system requirements.

In summary, this game is a good, mildy repetitive, graphically pleasing game that lasts for hours and I would recommend it to any FPS fan .

86

Highly Engaging First Person Shooter Experience

blade416 | Feb. 17, 2012 | See all blade416's reviews »

Modern Warfare 2 is a very engaging and fun game to play, whether solo or with a group of friends.

Gameplay:13/15

Modern Warfare 2’s gameplay is very similar to that of previous iterations of the Call of Duty series. Standard first person shooter, with very immersive environments. My only gripe with the gameplay was that it seemed very consolized. All in all though, the gameplay was good.

Graphics: 12/15

The graphics for this game were decent, though nothing special. This game looks similar looks very similar to Call of Duty 4, but with better animations. The graphics are good but not revolutionary.

Stability: 10/10

Game never crashed, always worked well for me.

Sound: 9/10

Sound is good in this game, especially the sound effects for air support. The integrated voice commands in multiplayer can get somewhat repetitive though. Besides that though, the sound quality of everything else is great.

Controls 8/10

Controls are your basic WASD first person shooter controls. . For the most part, the controls work well and feel responsive. There was no ‘lean’ function, and during driving sequences, the controls felt clunky; most likely because they were coded with a controller in mind.

Replayability: 19/20

The single player lasts at the most 6 hours. Fortunately in addition to the single player there is another game mode entitled ‘Spec Ops.’ This mode lets you team up with another player, and work through missions cooperatively. It is quite fun with a friend. The replayability in this mode is fairly high, as there are a lot of achievements and such scattered throughout both the campaign and Spec Ops.

Multiplayer: 15/20

Multiplayer is where this game shines. Points are gained by completing objects, killing enemies, and completing weapon challenges. As points are acquired, one levels up by rank. There are 70 ranks in the game, with the option of ‘prestiging’ which resets your rank to one, which sets you back to default classes, and lets you continue to level up. All in all a very fun experience. Unfortunately the developers opted to go with a peer 2 peer way of hosting this game, rather than your standard dedicated servers. (again, this was made with the console in mind) The ‘host’ is chosen supposedly by whoever has the best connection. Unfortunately, this doesn’t always work out as it should, leaving you with a laggy game experience. Also finding a game can sometimes difficult as there aren't many of people playing since the release of newer CoD titles.

Conclusion:

If you’re in the mood to play this game, I’d highly recommend it! Finding a game in multiplayer may take a few minutes, but it’s great fun once you're in.