Reviews for Battlefield 3 (NA) dns

65

Don't play this game looking for teamwork and strategy.

ExtinctThings | Dec. 28, 2012 | See all ExtinctThings's reviews »

The best moments in Battlefield 2 were the one where the team really came together - squads operating together in order to achieve a larger goal, with armor and air supporting. However, those moments rarely happened.

I guess EA realized this as well, because they decided to make the shooting in this game like Call of Duty, and vehicles operate in that vein as well - everyone and everything is basically a one-man army that has the ability to take on the entire enemy team by itself. Not by great skill, but by sheer luck and the other team's blindness. Now, this is fine and all, but it feels too much like BFBC2 except with CoD levels of health and less recoil, and not like an actual Battlefield game.

Instead, I decided to pop on an SKS with a 1x scope and am having a pretty good time. Although this is a silly loadout and won't get me the score other loadouts would I have a pretty good time playing like this. Teamwork and strategy are still lacking but so long as I ignore the K/D ratio I can have a pretty good time.

90

One of the best FPS's

jack11101 | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all jack11101's reviews »

I bought Battlefield 3 after playing MW3 and became so enthralled in BF3 that I all but forgot about CoD. To be honest I never finished the campain but I've easily spent over 100 hours in multiplayer. I love how you can use vehicles such as jeeps, tanks, and planes which really makes the game a lot more fun. The maps for the most part are good (especially the bigger maps,) and the gameplay is great! Flying helicopters and jets are very rewarding to the talented player and wreaking havoc in your Mi-28 Havoc is tons of fun and doesn't get repetitive. The only downside to BF3 is that on PC you have to play through Origin which can be frustrating at times but besides that there's rarely any major glitches or bugs that break the game and you shouldn't be discouraged by some little bugs that don't effect gameplay. All in all it's a superb game and easily a 90/100.

56

A single player review...

Damien_Azreal | Oct. 12, 2012 | See all Damien_Azreal's reviews »

While visually, the game is true marvel. And easily one of the most gorgeous and awe inspiring games to view in this current generation. Gameplay wise, it's also one of the dullest, most uninspired trudges through a cliched and tired modern war themed story yet.

Standing on established formula and trying far too hard to be cinematic and tense the single player campaign fumbles about, flailing back and forth between played out set piece scenes and tired plot twists that anyone could see coming a mile away. And it's sad. As DICE have proven in recent titles that they do have a drive for single player games.

But their focus for BF3 is horribly misplaced as they try to capture Black Hawk Down... and instead only manage to recreate the poor mans Michael Bay.

92

One of the best online shooters

Kobex24 | Oct. 10, 2012 | See all Kobex24's reviews »

To put it simply, if you enjoy online fps games you will definitely have a great time with this game. There is a lot to like. First off the graphics are very impressive, if you have the computer to run it on ultra you'll be in for a treat. Secondly, the gameplay is just as good, if not better, than previous battlefield games. Everything is pretty balanced and the 64 player matches are really quite awesome. The campaign is ok but nothing special, and besides you'll be buying this for the online. The size, variety, and pure fun of this game make it one of the better online shooters I have played in quite a while.

85

Great game!

Ipeeongramaslaw | Sept. 30, 2012 | See all Ipeeongramaslaw's reviews »

The graphics are absolutely astonishing on Ultra mode. The graphics on Ultra make it look like real life. The game play is great, there are a bunch of guns and different gun attachments to choose from, and every gun sounds, feels, and is used entirely different! The controls may or may not be annoying for you. They were terrible for me. One control button wouldn't work, and one thing led to another, and afterwards I realized I spent hours trying to make my controls good. There are so many maps, guns, attachments, levels, vehicles, and DLCs that this game can almost NEVER get boring!

95

Best Shooter To Date

das_regal | Sept. 26, 2012 | See all das_regal's reviews »

This game simply plays, looks, and feels the best of any shooter to date. There's no better way to put it.

The animations are fluid and realistic. The lighting effects are so nice that they can even feature player gun-mounted flashlights that function just as you'd expect.

The maps are huge and inspired. They feel like real locales. They're polished, enjoyable, varied, and even have set-piece moments from rush stage to stage.

The gun play has improved greatly over Bad Company's, which makes the game a treat to play not just to look at. And of course the progression is amazing.

Battlefield 3 beats COD Modern Warfare 3 any day.

90

Pure online shooter perfection

Cooberstooge | Sept. 11, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

There is nobody who does all-out online warfare like EA. From the classic Battlefield 1942, through BF2 and 2142, and all the way to now, it's been one heck of a ride. There's a great single player campaign this time around that, while short, is a great few hours. But really, guys, what you're here for is that other thing, right? The playing with your buddies thing?

Sick of playing the guy walking? Why not drive a tank? Fly? Or just hop a ride and enjoy the sights from behind your mounted gun? There's no limit here, and all sorts of mayhem will ensue because of it. Firefights are fast, incredibly loud, and always intense. You'll fight to save your friends one round, then more often than not turn them into confetti the next.

You'll deal out all this death and destruction in glorious uber graphics too, with stuff in game looking more real than that car driving by outside. It'll sound better too, and will really benefit from a surround sound setup. What are you waiting for? Go buy this now!

95

WOW!!!

PM_DMNKLR | July 25, 2012 | See all PM_DMNKLR's reviews »

It's been a long time since I've had so much fun online, seriously. I just started playing this roughly a month or so ago, and all I can say is that it's just plain fun to play! My fave parts so far have to be when DICE does the 2x XP events, because leveling up and getting all of the special upgrades is a really nice and easy perk to accomplish then. Also, play the campaign, it's pretty fun as well. Lots of intense action going on, and with any current-gen or recent-gen GPU's, this game is just incredibly gorgeous as well! A little tip though, flying the planes and choppers is a royal pain to get used to, so have fun with it and don't get angry or frustrated when you (and you WILL) crash them. The other vehicles, on the other hand, are just great fun, especially the jeeps and of course, the tanks. A definite must-own game for the PC!

90

Great game!

raaedk | July 24, 2012 | See all raaedk's reviews »

While I'm not a fan of Origin, I can say for a fact that this game is a great buy. The multiplayer is great, and when you are starting to get bored of the same old guns and maps...you can buy the DLC and get more guns and more maps and even new vechiles. Teamwork is also well implemented into the multiplayer, something lacking these days. Overall, great game 9/10.

95

Extremely Satisfying and Rewarding

ROKET | June 22, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

Ive played almost every BF game to date with BF 2142 and Bad Company 2 being my favorites from titles past. I know many look back at BF2 as the greatest game on earth but I never really could get into or good at the game and dont have as many fond memories of it - it was good but not spectacular to me despite the revolutionary changes it introduced.

For me BF3 is everything I want in a shooter. Amazing gunplay, vehicle combat, amazing guns and satisfying customization that doesnt make itself the point of the game. Ive always loved Rush mode, conquest and just how large scale the battles can be. You DO have to work with each other and Ive never felt such satisfying combat.

The game is also absolutely beautiful maxed out and I still love just watching the physics and scenery as I trek through the maps. This along with Battlefield Premium make for a game that is out to satisfying the player and keep you playing for the long run rather than for just a year and then brush you off. I really enjoy BF3 and highly, highly recommend the game to anyone who likes online shooters.

93

A Few Pieces from Perfection

Endyo | May 31, 2012 | See all Endyo's reviews »

It's seldom a game comes along that has so much in it and does so much so well. Yet at the same time not many franchises have a track record as impressive as that of Battlefield. Coming from a long line of fantastic titles, you'd imagine they could only make perfection. Yet this title, they manage to neglect a few key aspects that really bring the game down from what could have made it one of the best of all time.

Let me begin though by telling you about what's good. The game is beautiful. Visually it's amongst the best looking games on the market even months after its release. This shines even more in the single player. However, to really take advantage of these impressive graphics, you'll need a pretty rock solid system. Otherwise you'll be turning everything to low and pouting over all of the beautiful screenshots and videos. Not only will you be seeing great textures, animations, and overall environmental glory, you'll also be able to enjoy the fruits of a fairly decently destructible environment. Buildings lose walls and ceilings in pieces corresponding to the damage. Cover can be gone in the blink of an eye. Barricades crumble and fences can be torn away. For a multiplayer game, it is a very exciting addition. It is amazing comparing a fresh map to the war torn battlefield is becomes as even the trees are knocked to the ground.

The different types of gameplay really make the game fun for a variety of players. Whether you enjoy the classic conquest mode with various control points to capture and defend that has been around since the original Battlefield games, or the more recent addition of Rush creating a push/defend style system for more focused combat. A new addition is the squad deathmatch and team deathmatch game types. In these you'll be playing in a style more like the recent Modern Warfare games. Running on small areas of the larger maps gunning down enemies with fast reactions.

While Battlefield 3 has all of the great vehiclular combat and glorious battles of Battlefield 2, it seems to be lacking some key aspects that made Battlefield 2 so great. First of all, it doesn't have in game voice communication (VOIP) and only allows you to voice chat with friends via the web interface. This makes organizing and strategizing a task that can only be done by people willing to commit to the web based system or use a third party voice server. Another seemingly needless thing to be removed was the Commander position. This, in Battlefield 2, was a position that one person on each side could possess where they'd receive a overhead view of the battle that allowed them to direct squads and individuals as well as calll down air strikes, UAVs (scouts to reveal enemies) and other useful tools. It made Battlefield 2 more authentic and fun. Battlefield 3 lacks these things and without them, it can't live up to its full potential.

Regardless of those things, Battlefield 3 is a must have game if you enjoyed any of the predecessors or any multiplayer shooters. Every person I know that has played it has enjoyed it for many hours... even if you have to deal with Origin.

95

Great game!

ruready12 | March 13, 2012 | See all ruready12's reviews »

This game is one of the best shooters I have played in a very long time. The multiplayer is amazing and the singleplayer is a bit short but it's overall a great game.

The graphics are extremely good. It almost looks like real life actually going to war with your teammates. The only bad thing about having massively high graphics is that the system requirements are very high. Old computers may struggle to run this game.

The gameplay is absorbing. The multiplayer has plenty of people playing and many weapons and guns to choose from. They have multiple dogtags and equippable items to keep the game original. This game does not play like any other shooter I have ever played. It's highly realistic, yet still manages to keep the fun in the game unlike some other shooters. Vehicles make this shooter unlike any other. The way you get to drive tanks and fly helicopters makes the game even more breathtaking minute by minute.

The only reason I would not recommend this game is because of EA's Origin client. You need to download it to play this game and it feels like a bad copy of Steam and the games are largely overpriced. After a while though, you'll get used to it.

Besides Origin, I would recommend this game to any shooter fan out there and it's definitely worth buying!

97

Great multiplayer, decent single player.

himeko | March 4, 2012 | See all himeko's reviews »

If you are looking for an exceptional single player experience look elsewhere. The single player servers as a stunning graphical showcase of the game, but really Battlefield 3 is all about the multiplayer online. You need have Origin (EA's version of steam) running at all times and the game launches from a browser. It may seem annoying at first, but feels very natural once you begin using it.

The gameplay is excellent with a number of classes and vehicles to choose from, each of which you can progress with and unlock further bonuses. This ensures longevity of the gaming experience yet does not feel like a hard grind. This game is fun when playing on your own, but it's much greater when played with friends; this allows you to experience how teamwork will win over the casual players on another team.