Reviews for Alan Wake: Collector's Edition

100

Best deal ever.

MafuMafu | June 23, 2014 | See all MafuMafu's reviews »

This game is just perfect. It's like reading an amazing book. Sam Lake made an amazing job with this one. The storytelling is simply perfect. That's all I have and need to say. Buy it for the love of all the Gods. Buy it or I'll buy them all.

91

It's a game, not a book.

drakemirow | Jan. 17, 2014 | See all drakemirow's reviews »

... but it might be the only game that comes close to the excitement you can get from a book. It's narrative is astonishing, accompanied by beautiful graphics, well chosen musical pieces and overall an gaming experience you really should not miss out on.

The additional content in this collector's edition is worth the extra spend money aswell. you get new insights and to be honest it's the way the game was meant to be "played".

98

A great edition of a wonderful game

LightningMelon | Oct. 23, 2013 | See all LightningMelon's reviews »

Alan Wake is not a perfect game. But it's darn close! The story and atmosphere are top notch, the graphics are great, and it controls wonderfully. It's tense throughout, the combat is fast-paced and heart-pounding, and the characters are wonderfully realized in the voice acting. The Collector's Edition has all sorts of fantastic goodies, too, so if you want a great soundtrack and some other awesome extras, it's absolutely worth the extra cash.

However. The pacing can be a little off. Some sections of the game drag a little bit too long, meaning it can be difficult to play in long stints. If you can get through that minor problem, however, you'll be treated to an absolutely wonderful experience that you cannot get anywhere else. Don't miss it.

93

It's worth every penny

spycid | Oct. 19, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

Alan Wake is a beautiful psychological horror game. You are bound to love the game for various reasons, like amazing atmosphere, gripping storyline, sensational gameplay and soothing soundtracks.

The Collector's Edition is worth it as it has those awesome soundtracks, some collectible lithographs which you can print if you wish and finally a pdf file which gives you a backstory of Alan Wake and the characters in the game.

95

Collectors Edition definitely worth it

Qwertyfour | Oct. 3, 2013 | See all Qwertyfour's reviews »

The collectors addition is very very good. It gives you the sound track to Alan Wake along with a few other songs and if you've played through it, you would know that the songs are absolutely phenomenal, especially the songs at the end of each episode. After going through the plot, you'll definitely want something more, and this collectors addition adds everything you will need, especially the PDF book which adds a background and extra story. Overall, get this if you liked Alan Wake and enjoy the story.

96

An amazing story with great graphics.

rjb789 | Sept. 22, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

In alan wake the story really steals the show, but it is helped along by brilliant graphics and fun gunplay. I really cared about the two main characters and it is very rare that I do during a game (apart from the walking dead). The atmosphere truly is amazing and adds to the sense of place and the storyline. Every location adds to the feeling that you are being hunted by a dark force. Th ending is stunning, so much so that I sat at my computer for 5 minutes after, processing what I had just experienced. If you love shooters and games with great atmosphere this is a must buy!

92

Great story with great graphics

microsnitch | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all microsnitch's reviews »

This game is not like any other game. The plot of the story is very good and is divided into episodes. I was hooked. Will make one want to play episode after episode. Also, the story is not predictable. I like it. The graphics are all good and smooth and I've only experience minor lag on my 3 year old laptop on High settings. An excellent and optimized PC version!

98

Alan Wake from the pen of Sam Lake the writer of Max Payne

metalos1 | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all metalos1's reviews »

The Remedy's TPS games are masterpieces. The Max Payne, Max Payne 2 and the Alan Wake. Three games that are determinative in the video games's history. Unfortunatelly, the Alan Wake hasn't got the merited success, i don't understand why. Maybe, because of it was X360 exclusive, and not multiplatform game, maybe because of it delayed too much. Be that as it may, the AW is awsome. And this Collector's Edition includes everything what you want, soundtacks, 130 pages illustrated pdf document, documentary video, DLC's. AW is one of my favourite game. If you don't play till now, hurry, Alan Wake's horroristc world is just waiting for you.

91

Just amazing....

raeldrikp | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all raeldrikp's reviews »

I bought this title at a 75% discount, so I wouldn't recommend it at $35 (it drops to a few dollars every summer/winter sale). But as an experience it is just amazing. The darkness/light combat mechanic really makes every fight one to death, it keeps you on the edge constantly. As you witness different creatures charging at you, you have to train your flashlight to drop their covers for a few moments, but those few moments could be the ones that kill you. For as you're training your flashlight on them, another creature charges up alongside you on the side...and well woow.... I don't know how to describe it. But really the combat system isn't the reason you'll love it. Its the narrative that sells this title. While you might see the ending coming, halfway through the game, Remedy still does an amazing job of writing the dialogue, pacing, etc. Oh I also forgot to mention the pacing, essentially the "levels" are divided into two parts, day and night. During the day, you'll tend to get a lot of the conversations and investigations done, and they serve as a well received break from the anxiety of the night. The night.... well prepare to be constantly anxious, twitching, running, worrying about ammo/batteries. Don't know what else I could say, but you have to experience it for yourself.

95

An excellent pc port for an excellent game

Schizophriend | July 7, 2013 | See all Schizophriend's reviews »

Alan Wake is an excellent game with an excellent storyline with excellent voice acting. The gameplay is very different than any other third person game I've played and it takes a little getting used to it, but once you do you learn to really enjoy it as well. Its unique and beautiful and does exactly what it sets out to do.

90

An excellent game!

d2dcontre | July 2, 2013 | See all d2dcontre's reviews »

Alan Wake is a game that knows how to build atmosphere well. The sights and sounds of Brightfalls are oftentimes breath-taking. The characters are brilliantly written and animated as well, to the point where they almost seem like real people.

The gameplay is solid, too. Dodging and shooting are most definitely fun. The only reason why I gave it a 9 out of 10 is the aiming. It's a little janky. As a gameplay mechanic, the flashlight sounds good on paper--but actually using it feels really off and it's quite difficult to aim.

Still, it's definitely a game you will want to play!

88

Alan... Wake up

kalil | June 14, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

This game is unlike any game I've played, the first thing I want to point out is that there is a horror game is a thriller-themed paranormal. Alan Wake (a famous writer) that has not written anything for a rough patch and decided to go with his girlfriend Alice to spend a vacation to a small town, where supernatural things begin to happen that will go deep in a good story, with a touch of television series.

The pros: -Good graphics. -Very good sound and dubbing into our language (I love it, especially Barry's voice). -Good story. -The campaign is quite long.

The cons: -Little variety of enemies. -The gameplay you can play tricks. -A few moments of the game can be a bit repetitive. -No multiplayer.

I recommend it, because for me it was a pleasure to play something different, but beware of the dark!

96

Masterpiece

wildster30 | May 31, 2013 | See all wildster30's reviews »

I got this game as part of a humble bundle offer so I didn't really know what to expect. However I can safely say that this is one of the most gripping games I have ever played. Rarely does a game grab my attention so well that I don't want to put it down but this was like playing a novel. Simply a masterpiece of modern storytelling.

95

Absoluteness fantastic

harrykirkby | May 27, 2013 | See all harrykirkby's reviews »

Not had a game like this before. This game, literally kept me jumping out my skin with my headset on throughout the game. It's a great storyline about Alan and his commitment to his writing and finding himself, really digs you in and keeps you entertained for a long period of time.

92

Atmospheric

orb_outrider | Feb. 3, 2013 | See all orb_outrider's reviews »

Suspense. Alan Wake is all about suspense. Alan Wake is a game for those who appreciate story above all else. It's also a living testament (aside from the Walking Dead) that video games have evolved from just plain entertainment, but also the perfect medium when it comes to narrative. This is the perfect game for anyone seeking out an unforgettable experience. An experience both terrifying and beautiful.

98

Alan Wake will keep you awake

jbrown87 | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all jbrown87's reviews »

Ok,so maybe not from fright, although there is a very unsettling atmosphere about the game. But there is so much suspense in the story that you won't be able to leave your computer for hours. The haunting atmosphere, gripping soundtrack, excellent voice acting and superb story make Alan Wake seem more than just a game. The episode system at the end of each chapter make it seem like you are taking the reins of a blockbuster tv show, with each chapter ending with clips from the next and beginning with recaps from the past. The graphics are very nice and smooth with no bugs anywhere, and the audio is just beautiful. Controls can take a bit to get used to, but if you've played Alone in the Dark or the old Resident Evils the system is very similar. Overall this game is near perfect. You can tell alot of work and effort went into making the best game possible.

95

Alan Wake Collector's Edition

RoKkie | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all RoKkie's reviews »

Alan Wake was originally a PC Game and was cancelled because of Microsoft exclusivity, and it's finally coming home! It's a masterpiece, very great history, atmosphere and gameplay, the PC version received some love, plenty of graphics customizations, achivements and alot all DLCs released so far, it's a MUST BUY!.

97

This writer's favorite

Guardian412 | Jan. 26, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

Alan Wake is one of my favorite games, if not my favorite of all time. I have two reasons for that; #1, Just like the protagonist, Alan Wake, I'm also an author. #2, Alan Wake is a hell of a game from the beginning to the end. As an author I know how a writer's block look like and how the author may feel, especially when he and his girlfriend arrives to the quiet town of Bright Falls to take a vacation, just to be far away from the job and the daily problems. But even if everything is quiet, you can feel that the typical sleepy town is more than it seems for the first time. The mystery is in the atmosphere. That was the moment when the game grabbed me and didn't let me go until the very-very end (+2 chapters of DLCs included.). The protagonist and the co-characters are believable and lovable characters, even if some of them, especially Barry is a bit repulsive for the first time. Each of the characters have clear character development and their motives and actions are clear from the beginning to the end. But there is always more and more secrets you'll learn about each of them, be it Alan Wake or the other characters. This game is a story centric game, but the gameplay is also great. In Alan Wake a mysterious, spooky town with deadly secrets waiting you to discover, while the next book of yours what you've never written, yet somehow it does exists, will show the path in your 17+ hours long adventure to reveal the deadly secrets of Bright Falls. The great atmosphere, the polished combat, the clever, twisted storytelling and memorable characters make Alan Wake's quest thrilling from the beginning to the end. Highly-highly recommended!

90

Twin Peaks: The Game?

videopower77 | Jan. 25, 2013 | See all videopower77's reviews »

Remedy delivered another fantastic third person psychological thriller with Alan Wake. The PC port is perfect and the graphics are excellent. The game has a LOT of nods and references to the classic Lynch show, Twin Peaks, which is awesome.

Play American Nightmare afterward as it continues the story and features a more action focused gameplay. The soundtrack is also excellent. Pick this game up today!

100

Amazing game

lpmafiota | Oct. 19, 2012 | See all lpmafiota's reviews »

Alan Wake has to be one of the most amazing games I've played in recent years. The story, which is told in sort of the form of a TV show, is brilliant. The gameplay, while a bit repetitive at times, is rather fun. The atmosphere is impressive. And to be honest, while the main storyline was a bit easy to play through, even on Nightmare difficulty, the DLCs that are included really kick it up a notch. And not to mention the other goodies in the pack - the soundtrack is just amazing and the Alan Wake Files really expand the world of the game. Overall I really enjoyed both the game and the extra content of the Collector's edition, which was worth the extra bucks, so I totally recommend buying this.

91

Intense and Immersive

Stezizi | Sept. 22, 2012 | See all Stezizi's reviews »

After a long wait, the masterpiece of Remedy arrives on our computers. This game is a sort of tribute to the world of publishing, film, television and even music, suggesting ideas for readings, listenings and visions.

Alan Wake proves that videogames are a mature form of entertainement and can create titles that combine beautiful plots with treated game mechanics, although unfortunately no major innovations. In fact the game suffers slightly the long process of development, but it remains an experience that cannot be missed for any true fan of videogames, imho.

The terrifying atmosphere and the beautiful musics and landscapes will remain in my memory for a long time.

Highly recommended.

91

It's not a horror game, but an amazing mystery thriller

Kradath | July 4, 2012 | See all Kradath's reviews »

As a fan of Remedy due to their amazing Max Payne Series this was a must buy for me and I wasn't disappointed at all.

Storywise this game is one of the best single player experiences you can get at the moment. The storytelling is simply amazing and breathtaking, as are the nice vistas and the very good graphics.

The gameplay is very action oriented but in a different way than it was with the Max Payne series. This time evasion is your tactic, not bullet time. The enemies can become a bit repetitive with the time but the story will simply catch you and you won't mind the gameplay flaws at all.

A must buy for Remedy fans and those of Twin Peaks and the X-Files.

Very highly recommended.

87

After the long wait the game does not disappoint

kettels | June 13, 2012 | See all kettels's reviews »

If you are worried about another horrible port, don't be. Alan Wake is one of the best console ports that I have played. The only issue I had was fixed within a matter of weeks of launch.

Not only is the port good, the game is great as well. The atmosphere and the story to the game is top notch. The game is an action game, not a shooter. Although there are enemies to kill a lot of the game is spent roaming the world, exploring the story and soaking in the atmosphere.

If you are looking for a game to lose yourself in and explore the world and story this is a great game. Despite focusing on story, shooter fans will still get enjoyment and will not feel that it is boring or slow.

100

Amazing Storytelling and Unique Gameplay

nibblemonkey | May 14, 2012 | See all nibblemonkey's reviews »

There are two main things that make this game different to many other games, the main one being the heavy story that is told throughout the whole game through narration by Alan, the main character that you play as, and through Manuscript pages (Found around the chapters) that give extra detail to events that happen in the game. Together these elements create a heavy sense of mystery and keeps you wanting to know what is going to happen next. The gameplay is also a unique part of the game, to battle off the enemies you fist have to shine your torch at them to burn away the darkness that protects them and then you have to shoot them until they are defeated. You can also gain items, such as flares and flashbangs, that make taking on big groups on enemies a lot easier as well as being a way to escape situations where you may become trapped in a corner. The extra collectors edition features make this edition worth buying then the standard edition. One of the main things that will become available is Developer Commentary during the game, when it is time for one of these a small box appears in one of the corners and shows a video of one of the developers talking about something that has just happened in the game. The sound track is also good and contains all the created music for the game and all the only music that is missing is the licensed songs which I didn't expect to see anyway. The Alan Wake Files book also adds more information around the events in the game which can't be found in the main game. Overall this is a worthwhile purchase and the extras from the Collector's edition are worth the extra money.