Reviews for Aliens: Colonial Marines

57

Failure and Lies

mrminecrafter1 | Aug. 4, 2014 | See all mrminecrafter1's reviews »

After the game demo was shown, hype for the game massively grew. But then the game released and the doors were busted in to show a game that was nothing like the original demo. The artificial intelligence of your teammates and the aliens are dumbed down. Graphics are noticeably worse than the demo. Sound design is pretty decent. The multiplayer of the game is ok at best but for the most is pretty terrible. The story combined with the voice acting have one thing in common. Both are incredibly bland. Overall this is a game that I wouldn't recommend. It's a FPS game that is another forgotten title in the FPS bargain bin.

4

Lacklustre and disappointing

PrimalHunter779 | July 26, 2014 | See all PrimalHunter779's reviews »

Are you a fan of the Alien franchise? Are you one of the many gamers that eagerly awaited the release of this game since it's announcement in 2004? If yes to the above, prepare to be severely disappointed. Aliens: Colonial Marines is a first person shooter that acts as a sequel to the 1986 sci-fi classic, Aliens. The game follows a USCM Marine named Winter, along with his utterly boring and unmemorable companions. The plot has Winter and the Marines of the USS Sephora returning to LV426 to investigate the disappearance of Ripley and her companions from the original film. The story of this game is a senseless mess, and at times, makes no sense whatsoever. A character that was explained dead in the film makes an appearance in this game ( his magical reappearance isn't explained at all by the way) and ridiculous events will occur to keep the game moving at Michael Bay pace. None of the characters are remotely likeable or memorable, and they certainly frustrated me to the point of turning the game off. All of these problems could have been fixed if more attention had been paid to the writing process of this game. Or the whole game for that matter. The gameplay doesn't fare much better than the writing of this game. Most of the guns feel like airsoft equivalents, and the shooting in question feels tedious and lacks tension. The enemy AI is woefully poor, and most of the time you'll face off against human enemies rather than the xenomorphs themselves. The level design is boring and linear, and all the indoor locations feel like the same grey corridor you went through just a few moments ago. The outside levels impress you at first, until you realise they are just as linear and restricting as the indoor ones. This game's only saving grace is its multiplayer mode. There are a variety of game modes, many of which are creative and innovative for the FPS genre; but although these are alot of fun, they're let down somewhat by the overall poor gameplay mechanics. It's a shame this doesn't provide the quality that'd easily help it compete with the likes of Natural Selection 2. As an Aliens fan, I am very disappointed. Save your money eveyone, there's an awesome Alien game coming out in 2014 called Alien: Isolation. Save your money. 4 / 10.

75

Not a hit, but still better than average

RakuPL_Markolf | May 14, 2014 | See all RakuPL_Markolf's reviews »

First of all I was not hyped by announcements, so maybe that is why I am not dissapointed like most of people. this game is still good, nice graphics with good climate and of course aliens, aliens and aliens. Still worth getting, because of the patches applied by developer.

22

Horrible

DanMan64 | April 19, 2014 | See all DanMan64's reviews »

A horrifying experience of a game. I do not mean the atmosphere (if you like these generic shooters), but how bad this game is. I mean, it's not like Gearbox had to ruin Duke Nukem, but continue with the Alien franchise by putting another nail in its coffin. The game is buggy that I had a problem beating the first level (it wasn't a problem with DNF). Glitches are everywhere and Gearbox couldn't be bothered to fix the issue. Finally, the game alienated everyone with its fake gameplay trailers as if the DNF Gearbox team would use their online degrees to some good use. Don't buy this game unless you are curious or it is bundled with a much better game (I got this with Rome: Total War). If either the two, wait for a price drop to $1-2.

20

Not worth your time

MarkieeAi | March 18, 2014 | See all MarkieeAi's reviews »

I was hyped about this game, thought it would be a good Aliens game.

Sadly it is not, it has the most generic and standard FPS shooter mechanics, the Aliens A.I is so laughable, they don't even act like aliens. And they are not much of a challenge either.

The game is super linear that you might actually mistake the game for a Rail-Shooter. You are also never on your own, but have to follow either one or two other A.I controlled characters. There's no other paths than straight forward to take. And for some reason you also face other human enemies. Why? It's never really clear why.

The story makes really no sense, the whole Aliens Atmosphere isn't there. And remember how the graphics looked actually good? At least decent in the videos and screenshots? Well somehow they turned into the graphics of a 7 year old game. Not sure how they managed that.

It feels like a quick cash-in. They added a feature to customise your weapons, add red dot sights and such. Which feels a lot like something they added just cause other games do. Stay away from this game, it is not worth your money or your time.

If you really want a Aliens Game, Aliens vs Predator 2010 is way better.

40

BAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

TETfromLondon | Jan. 16, 2014 | See all TETfromLondon's reviews »

This game is a perfect example of how to waste a huge amount of time doing almost nothing. After creating a superb and enticing game demo that drew people in, they realised that they had to create an actual game, and set about making the demo graphics worse, creating horrendous texture bugs, making the alien corpses fizzle out of existence, and replacing all the awesome moment from the demo with generic fighting against human enemies. The AI is pitiful, and you'll need to play with friends if you want any kind of help. These problems are probably due to 50 different companies arguing over how to develop the game for a few years, then, once the gearbox staff had happily sat round flicking their ears and developing Borderlands for a while, we ended up with a bland, unfinished mess. Only worth buying on sale.

69

Not that bad

Mscigniew | Jan. 4, 2014 | See all Mscigniew's reviews »

Its a simple,old school,linear FPS,and as that its decent.The reason to all the hate toward this game is because the expectations were it gonna be "the Sh*" it aint.But as I said its decent simple FPS taking place in the Aliens universe and for all Aliens fans,it has some tasty bits.The game is really action packed aint the easiest out there,many times you gonna catch yourself with your pulse way too fast.If you lower your expectations toward this title it might surprise you.

60

Not worth it.

Darkrai64 | Dec. 22, 2013 | See all Darkrai64's reviews »

This game had a lot of potential. When it was first showed off, it looked amazing. Unfortunately, the end product is something that is much worse than what was shown. The singleplayer was extremely boring and the characters seemed quite flat. I did not care about the characters at all. The graphics were worse than the graphics shown in the first couple of trailers. The multiplayer is actually decent, but unfortunately, not many people play it anymore. Instead of having a server browser, they have a matchmaking system, making it tough to find anyone. I would recommend not getting this game since very few people play the multiplayer anymore.

65

A good action game...nevertheless

DavidSarif | Nov. 5, 2013 | See all DavidSarif's reviews »

Despite the recent bandwagon bashing trend regarding that game, I took the risk to buy it, and I am not disappointed at all.

The FPS mechanics, while not being particularly briliant, still serve the gameplay efficiently. Despite the lack of credibility and immersion of the cutscenes, the - sometimes - poor narration and the lack of substance the characters, the game is still worth playing as he classic, fundamental codes of that kind of hallway FPS are efficient - provided you can tolerate that angle.

Gameplay-wise, the weapons sound and feel ridiculous but they also look good. The ennemy AI is ridiculous - sometimes, again - but in the end, the artistic direction and atmosphere make it easy for the player to commit and, after a while, you might stop seeing the flaws and just enjoy the game for what it is, despite its reputation : a solid FPS set in a remarkable world.

The Alien franchise deserves much more, and I do hope one game will truly honor it someday. But this episode hasn't been completely spoiled, neither have the fans and players in general been betrayed. It should be enjoyable for fans as well as for regular action games amateurs.

71

It's a bughunt

Vitrugo | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all Vitrugo's reviews »

Nowadays games shouldn´t be judged only by they're release version; they are upgraded, improved, and sometimes become something completly different from what they started. Upon release, ACM was basicaly an unfinished product, having nothing to do with the game that was promissed years earlier from the tech demos. After a few patches gigantic patches, Gearbox managed to turn the bland inicial experience into something that could be enjoyable. But besides the good atmosfere, there are still too many broken elements that can´t save this game from beeing a miss; the story still lacks continuity from the Aliens movie and the multiplayer its still unplayable.

50

Worth a go.

Bobafett2k6 | Sept. 6, 2013 | See all Bobafett2k6's reviews »

(Review also on my Steam profile - Bobafett2k6)

Not a great game but as a fan of the Aliens franchise I enjoyed it. It's nothing too complicated, a run and gun shooter with a flimsy story and short campaign which I did in a rather relaxed 8-9 hours. You carry a huge arsenal of weapons to take on the aliens and Weyland soldiers but I stuck with the awesome sounds of the pulse rifle for best part of the campaign purely for nostalgic reasons. Visually it's ok, dark and grimy, tense and atmospheric at times but finds itself lacking with shoddy things like your allies teleporting from place to place. Enemy AI isn't up to mucheither with mindless standing about while you empty a magazine into them.

I haven't played MP, doubt I will as I rarely play any MP games.

Overall it's worth a run through for fans of Aliens. Would have been disappointed had I paid full price, wait for a sale.

75

Don't Listen to All of the Hate

PlagueofMidgets | Aug. 22, 2013 | See all PlagueofMidgets's reviews »

Sure Aliens: Colonial Marines isn't the greatest videogame ever made but it is far from the worst. I believe people were expecting something more like the first Alien movie with loads of atmosphere but this game takes after the excellent second movie of the franchise with lots of fighting.

Granted I did not play Aliens: Colonial Marines upon its release but after the numerous patches that not only have improved the game graphical but mechanically as well. The Bug Hunt DLC is also very enjoyable if you have a couple buddies to play with. All in all worth it's current price and a bargain on sale.

64

What happened to second squad...

Gojko | Aug. 20, 2013 | See all Gojko's reviews »

Have you watched all Alien movies, also those VS Predator? You wanted a game with very good graphic that will perfectly describe that world? To take a gun a start to kill those toxic aliens, than this game is just that.

The first thing you see is the gun and fantastic graphic that will very well describe all that you see in original movie from 1986. After first hour of playing you will notice, that game is only graphic and nothing more, game-play is very poor. There is no challenge in playing this game it so easy that in one moment you will ask your self, is this shooting range game, or FPS.

This game game had a great potential, which in the end was not used.

96

I think its decent

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

This game doesn't deserve all the rubbish reviews it has got, I would recommend any alien fan to get this game it has a great campaign with a good story to tell. the multiplayer is great but it did take some time to get used to, playing as the alien in multiplayer could of been handled better, the graphics I would give a 3.5 out of 5 because there not great but not bad, sound 5 there taken straight from the movie, gameplay 4 marine is very good and takes time to get used to the alien. Don't get put off by bad reviews.

65

Game over, man!

realnatedogg911 | Aug. 4, 2013 | See all realnatedogg911's reviews »

Though Aliens: Colonial Marines is getting a huge amount of bad reviews, it’s not an extremely bad game. Some of you may be thinking the whole point of the game was to kill a bunch of Xenomorphs and defeat the Queen, but it’s a little more than that. It may be lacking graphically, which sadly a lot of games are nowadays, and the story may be short, but it has some great points of nostalgia.

Yes, you have the Xenomorphs and the queen and every other iconic creature from the Alien movies, such as Facehuggers, but Xenomorphs aren’t the only threat in this game. There is also the Weyland Utani, and actually, the Weyland Utani play a huge role in the game, as well as adding some variety to the gameplay so that you’re not just fighting through hordes of Xenos. Easter Eggs, like Hicks’ shotgun, are sprinkled throughout the campaign and add a great deal of nostalgia, which I found to be quite entertaining. Sadly though, the story seems to end abruptly and seems unfinished, and considering the game was delayed that’s horrifyingly surprising.

The gameplay is fast paced, with occasional tasks taking a little longer than most, e.g. the dreaded “fetch quests”. AI are horribly programmed, with teammates blowing up explosive barrels every once in a while and setting you back to the last checkpoint, and checkpoints aren’t very abundant. Oh, and enemy AI can shoot through walls, which is super fun! (If you couldn’t tell, that was sarcasm.) Also, I played the game on Normal difficulty and the enemies proved to be semi-difficult at times, so I’d imagine they’re pretty hard on the highest difficulty. The multiplayer is also pretty fun, especially playing as the Xenos, they have some pretty cool abilities. You can also level up and customize your weapons and loadouts in multiplayer which allows for some variety. The multiplayer includes 4 modes: TDM, Extermination, Escape and Survivor which can be played on 9 maps.

“They’re coming outta the goddamn walls.” – Hudson

The games models, textures and animations are way behind the times. The cinematics are about 5 years behind and don’t seem to sync up very well, nor do they transition smoothly. While the rest of the game pretty much looks like it should have come out in 2008, oh wait, that’s when they announced the delay the first time… Although, I’d say the lighting is quite nice, and with the brightness turned down it’s a little startling when you’re pounced on by an unexpected Xeno.

Ahh, the sound effects, they’re awesome. The sound of the pulse rifle has got to be one of my favorite sound effects in any game and the Xeno hiss is up there with the Predator click as one of the scariest sounds of all time. The rest of the sounds though weren’t very memorable, there’s nothing really special about them. The dialog was a bit weak especially outside of the cutscenes. But I did find the stories that Audio Logs tell to be interesting, especially the one about Newt’s family.

“They mostly come at night… mostly.” – Newt

This game has little to no replay value when it comes to campaign, but multiplayer can be played for a while. With tons of leveling and customizing to do, the multiplayer rivals that of current games, especially the garbage that is MW3.

So, with a seemingly unfinished story, not so cutting-edge graphics by any means, and a laughably easy last mission it doesn’t have much of a chance. But, for a fan of the Alien franchise, this is one of the more authentic games out there. The multiplayer redeems the game itself by offering a Left 4 Dead-like experience, with Marines vs. Xenomorphs. And, the nostalgia was enough to make me buy the game. Overall, it was a fun game, but nothing amazing.

65

Not as bad as some say, but also not as good as others say

Kradath | July 14, 2013 | See all Kradath's reviews »

This game is purest mediocracy. And that is simply not enough for the studio that made Borderlands with the Alien licence. The Alien franchise absolutely deserves better and for the time it took Gearbox to produce this game the result is simply a shame. The Aliens are purely dumb, walking on rails and everything is scripted. It's neither scary, nor challenging and that is really a great shame.

It could have been so much better.

70

Enjoyable, but not what it was billed as.

HostileParadox | July 9, 2013 | See all HostileParadox's reviews »

The game is ok, not as good looking as the E3 and PAX videos promised though. Gearbox issued lots of patches to fix some of the looks and AI in the game, so it is now worth playing, and not as bad as when it first came out. The power loader is used once and poorly in the story, and not available to use in multiplayer. The game has canon altering retcon story twist that you may or may not enjoy, towards the end.

Multiplayer lets you play as Aliens or Marines in different game modes, you will die a lot until you lock some of the more useful alien and marine upgrades.

Overall if you are a fan of the series it is worth buying, but I would suggest waiting until it goes on sale or the game of the year edition comes out with all the DLC.

80

Enjoyable

TGAlan | July 7, 2013 | See all TGAlan's reviews »

The experience meet my expectation. I am currently playing it and plan to play 10-30hrs of it for 2 weeks on steam. This game better than previous game in Aliens series. It is because it has coop and better matchmaking. It is more action than previous aliens and fun. I felt i got what i paid for because it is fun and exciting than most of my game. I like the coop mode and many multiplayer modde. The co-op is fun because I have friends to help me. I dislike is the matchmaking is not as good as it should be. The drop-in drop out was not what I thought it meant because I was thinking l4d2 or something like that with AI. Otherwise it is not bad. I would recommmend my friends that want it to buy it because it is better than you think.

68

Enjoyable, but short

sacah | July 5, 2013 | See all sacah's reviews »

At launch the graphics weren't great, and if you lack imagination and need top notch graphics to get into a game, even with the patches this probably still isn't for you.

For the Single player/o-op modes, I found the atmosphere was pretty good, you were taken through a variety of situations, and had to alter your tactics a bit in certain areas. The friendly AI can get a bit annoying at times, and the cut scenes don't always make sense with the flow of the story. Overall I would say it's average, not so bad you can't focus, but not so good you can't quit when you're tired. The story is over in a few hours though, even on difficult.

Multiplayer is fun, playing as both races seems pretty balanced once you get the hang of the aliens, but finding a server other than TDM was difficult and TDM got old quick, same old tactics on replay game after game.

My biggest issue with this game, is the price they charged, it wasn't up to that standard in anyway. And add insult to injury they released a wrath of Pay For DLCs.

Grab it once it and the Season Pass is 50% off, then I'd maybe consider it worth it.

77

It looks and feels a lot better after the patches

feelingtheblank | July 3, 2013 | See all feelingtheblank's reviews »

We all know what happened with the long awaited, over-hyped Aliens: Colonial Marines. Even my 4 years old nephew heard the story. I don't want to reopen the old wounds. It was a really huge disappointment for all of us for sure.

What I want to say is; after all of those huge patches- total of 10GB- now the game looks and feels a lot better. Well, maybe still not close that we saw in E3 videos back in the day. But it's cleary a different game now and deserves the attention from all Alien fans.

First of all graphics are improved. The game is a lot more darker now, like it's supposed to be in the first place. And with the contribution of better lightning, better textures, better character models and a lot better Alien animations, the game feels really creepy. At least most of the times.:. Also the AI has been improved a lot. You can clearly feel that even at the first encounter. No more stupid Aliens crawling around waiting to get hunted. Now you feel that they are lurking everywhere and you are the pray now.

Story still makes no sense though. But there isn't anything can be done for that at this point. And it's not "that bad" at all, offering enough tension and mystery to keep you play. On the other hand multiplayer is alive and well...

65

Definitely a missed opportunity

MarcoCav | July 1, 2013 | See all MarcoCav's reviews »

I expected more from Aliens: Colonial Marines. The game has potential and is not scripted like some recent FPS, but at the same time suffers because of deficiencies more than marginal. I'm talking about the single player campaign, short and poorly balanced, the arsenal that is not adequately utilized and finally a technical achievement below current standards, made of "old gen" polygonal models and free of those particular (the death sequences, animations fitting) owned by a production which is not well finished.

65

Definitely a missed opportunity

MarcoCav | June 24, 2013 | See all MarcoCav's reviews »

I expected more from Aliens: Colonial Marines. The game has potential and is not scripted like some recent FPS, but at the same time suffers because of deficiencies more than marginal. I'm talking about the single player campaign, short and poorly balanced, the arsenal that is not adequately utilized and finally a technical achievement below current standards, made of "old gen" polygonal models and free of those particular (the death sequences, animations fitting) owned by a production which is not well finished.

66

Eh

lolnuts | June 19, 2013 | See all lolnuts's reviews »

The potential for this game was so high, but they failed at doing the simplest thing which was to just bring us an awesome aliens game. I'm not saying it's terrible, but it can be better a lot better. They even made a demo that was better than the game which is the worst part! I'm sure this would've been great in the right hands.

85

"Let's rooock!"

FreeMan85 | June 9, 2013 | See all FreeMan85's reviews »

Aliens: Colonial Marines probably not the best of the year, not even the best FPS, but I refuse to say it's a bad game. It has flaws, but it has potential. The campaign is an OK, gives a few answers for plot holes between Aliens and Alien 3, but also gives new ones. It's good to be back on LV-426 and Sulaco. See familiar faces like Bishop and Hicks, both played by their original actor Lance Henriksen and Michael Biehn. The game graphics after 2-3 patches looks very good now, it will not beat BioShock: Infinite, but looks good and doesn't require a high-end PC. I can run maxed out with a 1 GB GT 440! The campaign can be played alone or up to 4 players. I recommend alone for the first time, after that play with friends it has lots of fun! Sadly the game not very well based to co-op, the cut-scenes are always showed from the main character Winter perspective. You can't choose your Marine gender or looks and they doesn't have any comment or role in the game. They just Marines and they are there. Plus, if you lost the host player you will simply transported to his locations pulling through everything. The multiplayer modes are much better and that's where the game shines. Team Deathmatch are fun, has only a few maps, but still enough. Sadly there's no way zo set the game time which is 5 minutes. There's always to match, so you will be forced to play once in the Marines team and once in the Aliens team. Which is good. Escape mode is like 'run for your life mode' can be played 4vs4 teams the Marines must run through the map, open doors, reset breakers, etc. to reach the extraction point. The Alien team must stop them at any cost. A real adrenaline rush. Survivor mode is quite the opposite fixed location with various unlocks the mission. Like close door, open door, weld door, activate shelter. You must survive the Alien attacks and the Alien team must kill all Marine. The last game mode is the simplest and the least popular. In Extermination you must control certain point, these are some kind of explosive which kills/destroy Alien eggs. It's like control points game mode, just this one kills Alien eggs. The Alien team must stop the Marines to destroy their eggs.

If you a hardcore Aliens fan you will or you already bought this game. I just say buy it, if you stuck with groups and friends on Steam the game gives you many hours of fun, but the campaign is good fun to even alone on Ultimate Badass difficulty. And don't forget: we don't left behind Marines!

84

Not as bad as they say.

kalil | June 3, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Oh, what a horrible game, but bad graphics, animation, story! Pardon?? We are talking about a game of Aliens. When a game of this franchise has had the budget of games like Halo 4 (1,000 million) or Battlefield 3? Who is the producer? It is neither Microsoft, nor UbiSoft and Electronic Arts, all companies can economically. It SEGA.

It is true that technically the console versions are very tatty and rather worse than expected, but things change PC.

For starters, they have released three more patches (10GB in total) with high resolution textures, ambient occlusion introduction of anti-aliasing, grainy film ... and they can go out more. Graphically game may not be a pointer, but if it is average.

As for the sound is the best, is taken directly from the legendary Aliens The Return, and the soundtrack composed by Kevin Riepl interesting winking to the melodies of James Horner and Jerry Goldsmith, in fact the music plays everywhere Alien . Both weapons like the Xenomorphs hiss is perfectly recreated.

The Original dub features the voices (of those characters that appear, not spoilers) of the original cast of the film, and in Castilian, has a quality dubbing voices that give the trick. Perhaps less the protagonist has a voice over "child", but the actors are exquisite and the level of dubbing too.

The story is not incredibly epic, but has intrigue, suffering, mystery, tension ... and some unexpected twists. It is not "the film that everyone expected to see", but not "the greatest shit this year."

Regarding the enemies have already xenomorfos humans, including various types. The weapons are the classic series and the multiplayer is the most fun, much like "Natural Selection".

25

Major disappointment.

Zharwyn | May 16, 2013 | See all Zharwyn's reviews »

Never have I been so disappointed with a game like I have with Aliens: Colonial Marines. The disappointment is up to par with the ending of Mass Effect 3, which saddens me greatly because I am a huge fan of the Alien franchise. I was extremely happy to see that a canon Aliens game was in the making and after 6 years this pile of junk was released. For people who haven't been up to date with this game you may ask: It can't be that bad, can it?

Yes, it can. It IS that bad. With false advertising and the out-sourcing made by Gearbox, this is a product that went completely FUBAR. The graphics are outdated, the game looks incredibly bad and the cut scenes are terrible. The single player story is 5 hours short and stupid (especially the twists). It's also a generic shooter with incredibly bad AI. Your AI teammates keeps missing their shots, shooting into walls AND standing in front of turrets when they shouldn't. They sometimes stop following you and suddenly morph to your location when you reach checkpoints. Even the 3+ gigabyte patch couldn't save this game.

What they got right, however, was the Alien queen and the music in the game. The music is actually superb and I was happy that at least SOME Alien-feeling was present in the game since 40 minutes into the game it feels more like a really bad Call of Duty copy. A plus is that you can play co-op campaign, however, it's an easy game so you probably won't have much trouble if you're two (let alone four) playing the game. I also heard that the multiplayer is where the game shines but since I am not into multiplayer I never tried it.

This is one of the worst AAA titles that I have ever witnessed. You are better of playing the first Aliens vs Predator game than this one. But it does have co-op and it can bring a few laughs because of the horrible design of the marines and aliens (and the game in general).

35

It works, but that's also all it does

Borse1 | May 10, 2013 | See all Borse1's reviews »

I bought this game with very few expectations. I've loved the Aliens movies and the first AvP games as much as the next guy, but other than that I had no specific expectations of this game. And I'm glad I didn't because the blow wasn't that bad when this game turned out to be just another one of "those" games at the bottom of the reviews list. Technically the game works fine for the most part, and there was really nothing stopping me from playing the game.The graphics were bad, but normally this is something I could easily overlook for a decent game. Unfortunately this isn't a decent game and the graphics are just another thing to pile on the disappointments. The whole game feels unpolished, unfinished and doesn't have the feel of a good game. For the first 30 minutes the game wasn't anything special, but as I continued the little annoyances became bigger and bigger and in the end, they were too much for me. For a game that feels rushed and unfinished and gives the distinct impression that the developers did not care at all I rate it 35/100. Playable, but not especially enjoyable.

29

Oh, What Could Have Been

LTS55 | May 3, 2013 | See all LTS55's reviews »

Aliens: Colonial Marines could have been a good to great game. It had the potential. Unfortunately, poor management, and development by Gearbox, Timegate, Sega, and all others involved turned a promise into a wreck. The game is flat out bad. It's ugly. It sounds bad. It's glitchy. It's just not fun. If you can get this for bargain bin prices, then it might be worth your time, but otherwise, stay away.

30

It had everything to be good sqn.

espeditow | May 1, 2013 | See all espeditow's reviews »

There goes one more good opportunity, badly used, the game was in development according to Gearbox for 6 years, and it is what it seems, honestly, I played the game, even on top of so much negative critique, I like to see with my own eyes the "work" of a good producer, I believe ae who paid their $ 90 in the original game, has repented enough, the game is not nearly a strong point, one of the few things that "enjoyed" was the customization of weapons and there the sound track "Star Wars" is sad to see a series that could take a good course, be thrown in the trash, not enjoyed the game's graphics, textures shoddy bugs claims, and the sound of gun weird, recommend anyone to waste their precious time playing it, will not you go play in coop, which can be nice, speak evil of the game while playing;

30

Skip this Space tale

xNomaD | April 30, 2013 | See all xNomaD's reviews »

I was hoping for so much from this game after viewing all the game trailers the developers were putting out. A true aliens game taking after the cult classic films? Couldn't be possible, right? Of course not.

The game does not live up to its Aliens name, shoddy gameplay, graphical bugs, terrible AI, and a boring story ruin this first-person shooter. I did complete the game the first day it came out, but only by sheer hope that it would get better. This was not the case, it starts slow and ends slower.

The one redeeming trait of Colonial Marines, was the weapons. They sounded perfect and felt pretty good to fire. Sadly this is not enough to save the game or the marines at the other ends of said weapons.

If you are looking for a FPS to hold you over until the next Battlefield or Call of Duty game, pass on this one. Find yourself something better for a cheaper price with less problems.

45

Not worth it.

Ragman | April 30, 2013 | See all Ragman's reviews »

I agree with most of the reviews. I installed the game and played for a couple hours. Have not played it since. Concept is great, and multi-player has some potential. Would be great if it could have additional campaigns created like L4D2 by some diehard fans. =)

60

Fun distraction, but nothing more.

davisev5225 | April 29, 2013 | See all davisev5225's reviews »

I bought this game specifically to play with my friends. I enjoy the Aliens franchise, and have played a couple of the games in the past. I especially enjoy the movies, and was led to believe this game would be similar in story to the earlier Aliens movies.

Unfortunately, this is not the case. What you get instead is a rather generic action shooter with an Aliens skin. The gameplay is good enough, with only a few bugs here and there to interrupt a play session, but there's nothing really noteworthy to draw you in.

Playing with friends will help cover these shortcomings a bit, but if you're looking for a good Aliens story, you're better off sticking to the movies. If all you want is a quick "Aliens fix", though, then there are certainly worse options. Recommended only for people who are patient and willing to look past the surface.

70

Fun for the die-hard Aliens fan

bradysam | April 25, 2013 | See all bradysam's reviews »

Whilst this game has received a lot of negative feedback, admittedly most of it deserved, I still found myself enjoyed the game. The single player story was average but there are several sections where you feel like a true part of the USMC. Everyone wants to take down hoards of Aliens using the classic pulse rifle. The multiplayer is where this game really shines though. The Alien AI is removed as you're playing against other people and there have been plenty of tense, exciting moments where I have been struggling to survive as the last survivor against alien after alien. Similarly playing as an Alien is incredibly fun. Whilst it takes some getting used to, once you are used to it you feel like one of the deadliest predators in the universe! If you can play this game online then it's definitely worth checking out. The single player is average with some shining moments, but these would probably only come across if you are a huge fan of the Alien franchise.

42

Multi-player boosts the score but you will soon tire of it...

cheesyfishface | March 4, 2013 | See all cheesyfishface's reviews »

Single Player - Well this game was something me and a group of mates were really looking forward to with us getting ready to go on a bug hunt - here was a disappointment. The majority of the time when you play this game you will be fighting against HUMANS rather than Aliens in an Aliens game. The game is far from graphically stunning and features an non interesting story, the only part of the story that was interesting was when a character from the films emerges; however if you a fan of the films it will blow your mind as to how Gearbox think they could get away with it when they try to explain it in a sentence. The difficulty of the campaign isn't hard, me and my mates managed to get our way through the whole story on Ultimate Badass difficulty without much trouble until one point at a later stage.

Multi-player - This to a degree saves the game, we had a blast playing in the co-op which has two teams taking it in turns to become the Xenos or Marines. The marines gameplay feels very overpowered compared to that of the Aliens with flamethrowers able to put Xenos down in seconds, however a coordinated group playing as the Aliens can easily enjoy working together to stalk and butcher their prey. This is repetitive though due to the Marines over powered weapons so it's hard to separate them from one another however if you do then picking off a lone Marine by jumping on him and pinning him to the ground is great and the novelty of that doesn't wear off. We all got to around level 40 before we stopped we had, had our fill or the game and have not really gone back to it.

65

A marine die-hard

Neapolis47 | Feb. 16, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

I was expecting for a long time, Gearbox seemed the perfect house software to churn out a truly worthy of the title Xenomorphs, but the expectations of fans were almost thwarted by a bad job on the technical sector and the lack of courage of the developers, who have not been able to dare and you are limited to creating a linear FPS-style classic with a level of challenge than average. In fact, in terms of gameplay is a classic shooter with some uniqueness. The controls are extremely basic and allow you to shoot for a limited time, aim, and bend. There are acrobatic moves or original mechanical, and special features are limited to the presence of a motion detector, through which you can observe the movements of the Xenomorphs, and the bar points, divided into three sections that are regenerated but not individually in the group. The partial regeneration of health, combined with the aggressiveness of the enemies, makes the title of Gearbox more challenging than the average in normal difficulty. The situation takes a quantum leap in quality when the player dives into the multiplayer mode. Here you have the ability to play both marine and the Xenomorphs. The modes are few, only four, but against aliens controlled by human intelligence the voltage rises exponentially.

50

Stay away

celdiruen | Feb. 15, 2013 | See all celdiruen's reviews »

Some people may enjoy this game. If you're thinking of just giving it a shot for the hell of it, I won't advise you not to - just don't buy it full price. The AI is fairly bad, but at least the sound assets are good (used from the movies). However, the campaign is fairly short and uninspiring. On top of this, the demo showed to the press was completely different and much better than the final version of the game. It was a bait-and-switch, because the game looks significantly worse, is simplified, and just plain crappy in comparison to what the demo was like. Don't buy this based on principle. Wait for it to get cheap if you're really tempted.

33

Nuke it from orbit.... it's the only way to be sure

antjohnst | Feb. 15, 2013 | See all antjohnst's reviews »

This game was greatly disappointing, especially considering its price tag and the time it took to develop. At the end of the day, it is just a very generic and linear blast. There is no horror, no suspense, a lack of good storytelling, very weak AI, and sub-par graphics.

I feel like I'm just walking forward and shooting with no emotional attachment and little challenge or decision making. It is a really dull and mind numbing experience. Multiplayer is a little better but I can not justify buying it for that when there are better multiplayer games available anyway.

50

Nothing special here, move on.

fable2 | Feb. 15, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

Oh how I wanted to love this game, but I just can't. The campaign for the most part is a soulless, standard FPS with wildly inaccurate guns which make trying to kill mercenaries in cover a chore. The low res textures make the game look dated, attempts are generating atmosphere are a bit hit and miss, the dialogue is nothing special, and the multi-player is a guilty pleasure, but I got to the point where all I wanted to do was play the xenomorphs and got bored whenever I was forced to play as the marines. Leaping around the arenas and crawling across ceilings and walls is mighty good fun, but often the game can't understand exactly what you're doing due to the complex nature of the terrain and your character will start doing donuts a wall or something.

45

Aliens: How Not to Make an Alien Game

Stebsis | Feb. 13, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

I don't really know what to say about Colonial Marine outside of: this is not how you make an Alien or a modern FPS game, but I'll try.

So, the game takes place after Aliens, the second movie and tries to answer some questions but ultimately everything is just forgettable. Characters aren't interesting, dialog is your boring cliched military shouting and grumbling and it's just bland.

Even the shooting elements aren't that good. This is corridor shooter at its worst, nothing exciting ever happens and at one point you start to fight human opponents and you won't even know why. Wasn't this supposed to be an alien game? I think the developers themselves realised that xenomorphs were such a dull enemies that they have to throw some variation there, but ultimately it just feels like padding without any kind of ground to base it on.

The one thing the game gets right are the sounds. Sounds of iconic guns from the movies are there and they look and sound like they should. You also have your heartbeat sensor, but it's just a useless piece of junk because this is a corridor shooter and every alien just comes straight forwards running towards you like an idiot. Xenomorphs are supposed to be these smart hunters that stalk their prey and pick the right time to strike, not mindless zombies that attack people in packs straight towards you. Enemy AI is just horrible.

Multiplayer and coop save the game a bit and thanks to them am able to give this game a score as high as this. They're fun and with coop you might have some good time with a friend. Though in multiplayer modes xenomorphs feel a bit too underpowered as they're supposed to be able to kill a human in just one hit. They could've balanced this out nicely by giving humans more powerful guns and different gadgets like the turrets seen in Aliens. These would've made the game feel more like an Alien instead of some other generic shooter where you have to defend yourself from aliens/monsters/zombies.

And there's the problem, this doesn't feel like an Alien game. Bad gameplay aside, nothing here really says Aliens outside of sounds and some of the graphical designs though the level design is just horrible. Xeno's could've easily been replaced by zombies or some other generic monster.

I just don't understand what went wrong here. CM had so much potential, it looked like an awesome game and it's even from studio that brought us the superb Borderlands series. This just is not an Aliens game, and there is the biggest problem. I could recommend this off from very good sale as coop and multiplayer can get a bit fun, though I'm not sure how much longer people will bother with the mp, but if you want good FPS or horror,(which is almost nonexistent in CM because of predictability) I'd rather recommend F.E.A.R. trilogy, or for actually good alien type multiplayer I say get Natural Selection 2.

70

A non-mainstream review

Guardian412 | Feb. 13, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

Contrary to the popular belief Aliens: Colonial Marines is not a bad game. It won't change the world, it's not a miracle, but it's a game for Alien fans. I read the most of the mainstream reviews about the game, but I hardly agree with them. Reason; every single mistake they told is also available in other games. Bad A.I.? You won't see a different A.I. in a Call of Duty or Medal of Honor either (The very same what the A.I. of those games, mixed with scriped events. No surprise here.). Linear level design? We have the same in almost every single game since the beginning of the 21st century? The story is weak? It's not an award winning storyline, but it's authentic and not aimed for brainwashing propaganda, but aimed to entertain you. NPCs stuck into the walls? You also find this in every AAA mainstream games. So officially these are the bad sides of the game, the very same mistakes you may find every mainstream pushed AAA conveyor belt game. Now the only real bad side of the game is the graphics, as yep, it's ugly in 2013. I just wish there would be a texture or graphic update as the Aliens vs. Predator 2010 was much prettier. But it's very authentic. The Sulaco, Headley's Hope, the Alien Derelict, each of their corridors, rooms are recognizable from the movies. The story is a standard, average storyline, but what would you expect from a story where you know everything already. Do you want to be scared? How to scare someone if you do know who is coming at you and when? And still, the aliens may stalk and attack you unexpected. The controls are also no different than any other FPS games and comparing to Aliens vs. Predator 2010, this one is not that sluggish, but works better.

Did I enjoy the game? Yes, regardless the ending is disappointing a bit, but if you ever played with any of the AAA games in the past, you won't see any difference as those endings are disappointing as well. Aliens: Colonial Marines is not a long game, took about eight-nine hours on hardened difficulty, but I also love to go slow to explore and look around a bit, gather the collectibles and such. The game itself won't change the world. Should it be better? Yes. Definitely, especially as it was developed for five years or more. But is it a bad game? No, especially as all the mistakes you may find here, you also find in every single AAA games, one by one, highly praised by the mainstream media. The only two differences between those games and this one; #1; this one is not pretty at all, #2, this one is trying to entertain you instead to tell a propaganda storyline. But that's the essence of games, to entertain you and Aliens is capable to do that, especially if you love this universe. And Aliens: Colonial Marines feels more of a game, than a combat simulator. So, if you love the world of Aliens, if you love games, emphasis on games, I strongly advice to do not listen the mainstream reviews, but give it a try to this game. I know I won't win a popularity contest with my review, nor with my opinion, as these days it's trendy to trash everything what others are trashing, especially by the biassed mainstream reviewers. But reviews are about personal experiences and not about popularity. And regardless it has its faults, if I compare this game with other games, it has the very-very same faults as other AAA games have; from the glitchy, poor A.I., to the linear level design, to the short gametime and such. Personally I enjoyed Aliens: Colonial Marines and I'm bravely give 70% for it.

20

Good try. But no. Just no.

Coolicy | Feb. 13, 2013 | See all Coolicy's reviews »

The campaign is incredibly short... took me just under 6 hours to finish. For a game has both the backing of Sega and Fox (license owner) AND a 5 year development time, this game just doesn't make sense. Everything about this game just doesn't make sense because everything was disappointing.

Gearbox had the liberty to write canonical story and invent aliens types just for this game. Yet the new aliens are extremely easy to beat, even on higher difficulties. Aliens animation are terrible and slow, are does not resemble anything like the aliens in the movies. AI is incredibly bad, I lost count how many times my teammates ran into a room and starred at the walls. The story is weak, despite being considered "canon". Lame cameos are inserted forcefully. And the difficulty is almost non-existent, which makes coop extremely pointless.

DO NOT think of this like Borderlands 2 but set in Aliens universe... Gearbox really screwed up. Best avoid this title.

90

Great Game

fitrider952 | Feb. 13, 2013 | See all fitrider952's reviews »

Honestly, the only reason why I bought this game was because two of my friends wanted to do the co-op campaign the night it was released. After some thought I finally pre-purchased it. I was surprised at how fun the game actually was. The campaign was fun, the multiplayer is extremely fun. The only reason that I gave it a 90 was because of the occasional bugs that we ran into. Overall, if you love shooters or the Aliens IP, get this game.

50

Not what I'd hoped.

Lurion | Feb. 12, 2013 | See all Lurion's reviews »

Aliens: Colonial Marines could of been the one game that surpassed the marine campaign in Aliens vs Predator, it had the team, the story, the time, everything. None of that made a difference, this a linear CoD clone, just add a few aliens into the mix.

PROS: * Aliens franchise game: Has the sounds and look of the movies, as well as Bishops voice-acting by Lance Henriksen * That's about it.

CONS: * Treats SP like CoD MP with achievement unlocks and level ups. Also has hit indicators * Linear and boring levels which don't have that atmosphere or spook level you'd expect from a game of this calibre. * The story is somehow randomly added in-between Aliens 2 and 3, and has a myriad of plot holes that are plain annoying. * The AI is terrible, Aliens run all over the place or just stand still. NPCs look at you without shooting, or headshot you from behind cover.

Overall, the game doesn't keep you interested, sure there are some fun aspects that make this game playable, however I can't look past the horrible AI, and CoD-esque gameplay. There is no fear, no tense moments where you feel you will die any second. I'm playing on hardened and I massacre everything in my path. It's a sad edition to the franchise and one I hoped would bring it back to its fear dripping roots.

Buy it if you want Alien CoD

61

Disappointing

Laini | Feb. 12, 2013 | See all Laini's reviews »

The game starts strongly, your first Xeno encounter is great, very tense and really builds up the atmosphere. But once that's done with it quickly degenerates into a bog standard FPS with the Aliens license, rather than a real Aliens game. You gun them down by the bucket load within the first 20 minutes and it never lets up. Switching to a different enemy type later just exacerbates the problem.

Like FPS games and you'll probably enjoy this. It's far from perfect but it's competent. The multiplayer has shades of Left 4 Dead and could provide a lot of fun.

For fans of Aliens hoping for the "true sequel to James Cameron’s classic Aliens" prepare to be very disappointed.

The Aliens are never presented as a threat, completely missing the point of all the films. Even AvP got that right!

80

Quality title

auronkast | Feb. 12, 2013 | See all auronkast's reviews »

The game begins at the end of Aliens with a distress signal from Hicks, from them onward it's about a Marine unit just like the one in the movie investigating just what the hell happened at the derelict Sulaco orbiting LV-426, it's important to note that there's input from Ridley Scott and is considered canon to the Aliens Universe... Certainly better than Alien 3 to tell the truth.

The setting's nicely recreated down to the last detail, like the same sound samples from the movie for the weapons and motion trackers. The ship looks exactly the same and the blown up remains of Hadley's Hope evoke just as much nostalgia.

The gunplay is pretty good and every weapon that ever shown up in the movies is available. There's also a considerable level of customization for the weapons.

While the campaign is somewhat short, though arguably quality material, it really really shines on it's multiplayer version and the versus modes, including a Left 4 Dead like rush to safety which feels just right and the more classic deathmatch and objective based versus. The game is great fun but I recommend getting some pals for the campaign. I'd say this is a must buy for true Aliens fans.

72

Meh..

NiksBrotha | Feb. 12, 2013 | See all NiksBrotha's reviews »

I was very excited for this game the moment it was announced. Being an aliens fan and all. The game deserves a 7/10. I have played a couple of the campaign missions. It's not a great single player game by any chance. It was hyped up for sure. I purchased it simply because Borderlands 2 was great. If you are looking to purchase this, I hope you do so for the multiplayer.

The game is far more fun in co-op or multiplayer as you don't' face against mindless AI. The atmosphere isn't as scary as I anticipated. It's certainly a disappointment but multiplayer kinda brings back that feel. Just a little bit. The graphics are certainly outdated and there's very little room for customizing graphics. Overall I feel this game is just not really that great if you are getting it for Single player. Multi player is not as bad. I would recommend this game to you if you are an Aliens fan and are fine with an average shooter.

80

Diamond in the rough

pa_elimination | Feb. 12, 2013 | See all pa_elimination's reviews »

A diamond in the rough is exactly what this game is. I think the development cycle was far too long for it. It came out with too many hands in it's honey pot I think. A few patches and the game will be golden. On the other hand, this game was definitely made for fans of Aliens (the second movie in the franchise.). As fans know, Aliens was the action oriented movie out of the franchise, and focused heavily on Hicks and his marines, and a lot less on scare's and horror movie tropes as Alien, Alien 3, and Alien: Resurrection did. As such, in ASM you take the role of a marine in a squad and similar to the film, you shoot your way through dark and dimly lit areas where aliens and other things are creeping around every corner. The graphics are a mixed bag, the Aliens models look fantastic, where as the marines look quite dated. Textures in areas range from muddy to acceptable. Lighting effects are fantastic, and sound effects and music are stellar and way above par and fit with the Aliens theme PERFECTLY. I love the sound of my pulse rifle going off. The plot is dull in the first mission, but picks up quickly and steadily gets better and better as it goes. Multiplayer is truly where it's at with this one, tons of fun to be had through co-op and various player vs player modes which i can see being filled out even more with DLC in the future. As i said though the game is a DIAMOND IN THE ROUGH, and is in need of a few good patches. Some animations in the game, especailly alien ones, seem janky and disorienting, i've seen aliens get stuck in terrain and obstacles, or face the wrong way at times. Other times they crawl across walls and ceilings to drop down on you from behind which is fantastic. All these issues can be easily fixed with a few patches. Though it is frustrating when the game has been in development for over 6 years and still has these issues. Though who knows how much development actually went on in those years? In the end, the game is fun. It's a love-note to fans of the movie and the series in general, and those of you who are big fans will take note of the lovingly re-created areas, sounds, weapons, and characters from those films. It is a must play for franchise fans. If you are expecting a super polished 200 million dollar budget title in the vein of Battlefield 3? You are going to be disappointed. If you enjoyed aliens, or enjoy varied and robust co op and multiplayer (Left 4 dead fans look within!) you will find a lot to enjoy here.

Just wait for a few patches if you must wait! But it's already good times.