Reviews for Dead Space (NA) DNS

84

Mouse Control Problems Hinder the PC Version

videopower77 | Jan. 31, 2013 | See all videopower77's reviews »

For whatever reason, Visceral Games dropped the ball on the PC port. The graphic options are limited but can run well on a weak machine. However, the biggest problem is that the mouse control in the game is slightly broken. There aren't many known fixes but the game plays fine with an Xbox 360 controller.

The game has plenty of scares and gives the player a lot of the dread from the Alien films. As a matter of fact, this is the closest to a game based on the original Alien yet.

For survival horror/action fans, the game is a must. Check it out!

58

Jump-Scares: The Game

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | See all Jray264's reviews »

Looking for a horror game? Then look somewhere else. Dead Space is a third person shooter that tries to be a horror game. Tries. Doesn't succeed. Sure, I jumped when a giant white space monster with sword-like limbs played dead then grabbed me by the foot when I walked near it, but after the third time it really got old. It's a one trick pony in the horror department and offers nothing else but jump scares. As a third person shooter it's solid I suppose. There are better games out there that you can spend your money and time on.

75

You're Stuck on a Tin Can of Monsters, Get Shooting Engineer

CrimsonWizard | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

Dead Space is the first of a survival horror series made by EA, putting you in control of engineer Isaac Clarke. You're sent on what you assume to be a repair job, but are quickly trapped on the U.S.S. Ishimura, a giant spaceship with little chance of any immediate help against the infesting threat, named the Necromorphs.

Unfortunately, there isn't much to the story as Isaac is little more than the repair robot the side characters ask and/or demand to run around this hell in space to fix the ravaged Planetcracker. You're completely silent (unless you count the text only messages), with the only real character development being a growing sense of insanity, and most of the other characters are somewhat bland.

However, I can at least praise the game play. At first glance, you'd think you're playing Resident Evil 4 in space, and while that is the base skeleton of the game, Visceral Games made sure to craft weapons and mechanics to take advantage of the sci-fi horror setting. Zero gravity and oxygen deprivation areas are peppered through the game, you have Statis powers to freeze enemies and obstacles, and most of your weapons have a useful secondary mode such as proximity mines from your spread shot laser.

The Necromorphs are also not zombies, but abominations that will have lunge at you quickly with bladed limbs or try to drag you away to the dark depths of the ship. Something that may throw you off is that you must aim for the limbs, not their heads, which at least makes some sort of sense. The monsters are in a way like a parasite or virus, they wouldn't need their victim's brain, and shooting away their means of attack make them useless. While fairly gruesome looking, it's hard to call them scary, with the monsters relying on jump scares or brutal death blows.

Dead Space is fun if you're seeking more Resident Evil 4 and were disappointed with Resident Evil 5. There are actually some puzzles in this game, the environment hazards along with the monsters and weapons are a refreshing change, and exploring and looting is a good bit of fun. However, the game isn't very scary, supplies aren't really limited enough to be considered much of a survival game, and the overall plot and characters are forgettable. If you can get a decent deal on this, I would give it a try. I would also give Dead Space 2 a chance if you liked this one, improving on the some of the faults of this one.

70

Horror at its best.

MorphineBear | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all MorphineBear's reviews »

It's one of the best horror games I have ever played, mainly due to its use of over the shoulder 3rd person shooting. There's an amazing plot and has great use of effects around the character.

There are some problems that really suck. It's (in a sense) made too realistic by limiting the amount of ammo in the game. What I mean is, once you're out of ammo, you're literally out of ammo. You cannot get anymore and you have to start over. There's one level (the asteroid one) where you have to shoot multiple asteroids in the sky before hitting you and it's extremely hard.

You're going to want a good PC to play or you're going to have a bad time [with mouse sync].

73

Good game

dark2025 | Oct. 11, 2012 | See all dark2025's reviews »

You're in space, trapped in a ship full of misshapen monsters. To beat them, you'll have to try and dismember their limbs one by one. It's a nice idea and is pretty atmospheric. The action is intense, but I wouldn't exactly call this game too scary. The game overuses horror cliches so you pretty much know when something bad's about to go down. There's a vent coming up? You can bet something's gonna drop out of there.

Still, not a bad shooter though, I'd recommend it on sale.

100

Amazing experience.

Damien_Azreal | Oct. 10, 2012 | See all Damien_Azreal's reviews »

Dead Space. A game that wears it's inspirations on it's sleeves and is very proud of it. Dead Space is a survival horror, action game set in the future on a mining ship. Playing as Isaac you and a very small crew respond to a distress call only to discover hell. The ship desolate and empty, the crew murdered... only thing left to do is discover what happened.... if you can survive.

This game drips with atmosphere. From every room and deck of the giant mining ship there's always a sense of tension and dread. Filling the air and keeping you hooked into what's happening around you. And story is solid, and the few supporting characters are voiced and animated wonderfully.

Anyone who's a fan of the Resident Evil 4 style of survival horror... has to buy and play Dead Space. Has to.

77

Freaked Me Out But Crap Port

ROKET | July 28, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

This game was good looking, had tons of atmosphere and scared the hell out of me but didnt have the performance to back it up.

The story in this game is awesome. It has atmosphere, horror, and mystery all throughout and has you creeping through each corridor hoping you dont run into one of the freaky creatures you see in the game.

Gameplay-wise the game has some great features but the controls were clunky and slow. I didnt like having to pray that I could turn around in time to kill off a monster.

On top of the clunkiness the game also didnt perform very well. It had frame rate issues and didnt have many graphics options to tweak and that on its own was very annoying to deal with.

Graphically the game was alright but had some rough edges such as bland textures and general lack of antialiasing.

Get it if you really want to play it but only on sale.

65

Great game, fair port.

Stimpack | July 23, 2012 | See all Stimpack's reviews »

I never experienced any issues when running Dead Space on my PC, so take everything at face value! Although I did play it with a gamepad, so I can't directly speak to its keyboard configuration. Solid frames, no input-lag, and no screen tearing on my end.

Now, down to the real stuff. Dead Space is all about capturing that eerie "monster in the closet" atmosphere. Throughout the majority of the game you're running around from area to area blasting limbs and taking names in as gruesome in nature as you can imagine. Solid controls, minimalist HUD, a variety of interesting enemies, and an engaging storyline makes this game an excellent purchase. I would personally say that the feel of the game is on par with Resident Evil 4/5, so if you've played those you'll know what you're getting into already.

I spent a good 10 hours on my first play-through, and a bit less on subsequent runs. I didn't find the game to be too difficult, with the exception of a fairly frustrating.... turret section... Also, there is a reason to replay it, due to some areas being unlocked on a new game +.

For $20, I would say this game is worth a buy if you haven't already.

19

Great Game, Weak Port.

ANeM | June 13, 2012 | See all ANeM's reviews »

While Dead Space is at its core a fairly enjoyable survival horror, the PC port is hindered by numerous bugs and flaws that can occasionally make it nearly unplayable.

In my experience the game suffered from two rather game breaking flaws. Illness inducing screen-tearing, and rage inducing input lag. Neither of these problems could be eliminated entirely, only made slightly less terrible, at the expense of making the other worse.

Enabling V-sync to eliminate the Screen tearing only reduced it, there was still significant tearing. However, it also increased the already frustrating input lag by over a second. In a game that requires fast reaction in the form of quick-time events this is unforgivable. With V-sync on I was required in some situations to hit the QTE buttons before the prompts came up.

The game is alright, but the fact is that I ended up buying a used xbox copy rather than finishing it on the PC, as the port was so poorly made.