Reviews for Call of Duty: Black Ops

77

A Very Good FPS

cruzerblade271 | Dec. 27, 2013 | See all cruzerblade271's reviews »

The Singleplayer is good but it have the same problem, its too easy and the timeplay is poor, the multiplayer keeps the essence of the COD series with a fast-moving gameplay, but no one cares because all the players go first for zombie mode so the multiplayer was opaqued by the zombie mode, but is a really good FPS, enjoy it and enjoy the ZOMBIES! :)

61

I prefer Infinity Ward's CoD over Treyarch

mugaro | Dec. 22, 2013 | See all mugaro's reviews »

The single player campaign was the best part of the game.

I didn't really care for Zombie mode, Spec Ops in MW2 & MW3 were much better IMO. Zombie mode is like a really weird L4D mode, the guns are ok but you have to buy ammo, buy guns, etc and the waves are endless so there really isn't time to look around or shop.

Multiplayer is the big draw of any CoD game, but I think the MW series did multiplayer better. The "perks" really ruined any kind of competitive aspect. In other words, if you start playing and you're level 1, you're going to have a hard time fighting a guy who's lv50 with ultra super customized machine guns that you can't get unless you grind & level up.

The single player campaign had an entertaining story that had a rather predictable plot twist toward the end. Treyarch's CoD gameplay is much harder than IW's MW series, Black Ops & World at War single player is grenade spam & infinite respawning enemies on veteran, it's not really skilled it's just frustrating.

I can't ever see this or any other CoD game going to a reasonable price that I could recommend, let's all thank Activision for that. Take that for what you will.

70

While attempting to be different, it's the same old thing

Kalmado | Nov. 17, 2013 | See all Kalmado's reviews »

Just as the title suggests. Add some new skins, some new maps for multi player, and a few other things and you have the year's iteration of Call Of Duty. I understand most play for multi player, but even that felt bland and boring. Also, the level of frustration peeked as on numerous times I unloaded full clips into people only to have a knife kill me instead of 20+ bullets kill them. Graphics were what you should expect. This game is nothing to buy on day 1 unless you must have the new game.

90

Great !

BlueSharkTheOne | Oct. 1, 2013 | See all BlueSharkTheOne's reviews »

A lot of people will disagree with me... But in my opinion it is the best COD ever made. I started when the fourth was released so I have quite a long knowledge about this FPS saga which is probably the most famous one nowadays (along with his rival battlefield) The solo part is quite interresting even if it is not as good as modern warfare 1 & 2 were. However, the multiplayers maps are fantastic ! They're all great and interresting whatever your game style. Plus the zombie mod is very good and offer two great levels with a rising challenge.

79

Zombies return

Shadow_Snickers | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all Shadow_Snickers's reviews »

The best selling ps3 franchise of all time returns at a whole new means with 3 unique game modes to test the gamer inside of all of us with draw dropping single player, skilled technical 16 player multi action and tear it up in 4 player co-op zombies. The graphics are well suited to the game type and the player interface is unique to you. You set up play!

66

It's okay

rjb789 | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

CoD has constanstly dominated the FPS industry and continues to do so to this day however Black Ops is not that much of a stand out game. The gameplay is frantic and fast paced as usual with your character regularly taking down 100s of enemies at a time which although fun, can get boring. The graphics are also nothing to be excited about, muddy textures and poor anti aliasing make this game okay to look at but nothing like the graphical treat that other games offer up. The campaign is fairly short, although it does offer up some moments and the multiplayer is the same stuff over and over.

61

Start of downhill decline

Simao20 | Sept. 21, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

To me, the change from World War 2 to another regular modern shooter is whats helping ruining the call of duty franchise. Black Ops was overhauled completely in terms of setting. No more alternative Call of duty games, now you just get modern shooters which saturates things. Nothing has changed, everything feels just like Modern Warfare which is unfortunate because call of duty wasn't always this complacent. The online is what it is from call of duty, fast paced and addictive . Plenty of game modes to choose from and of course loads of customizations . You can't keep playing the same game over and over again, I wouldn't recommend it.

92

One of the Best in the series

aznsnsn | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all aznsnsn's reviews »

Call of Duty has progressed a lot from its origins in the second world war. There are many classes added, with a large variety of weapons to choose from. With many different add-ons and perks, this game is very versatile, especially in the multiplayer mode with ranking and prestiging. The story line gives a nice history lesson mixed with a lot of action. One of the best parts of this game is definitely the Zombies mode. This mode has people fighting it out and trying to survive against stronger and stronger waves. This mode also throws in many fun guns like the zeus cannon. This is a great game that many people will spend hours playing. This game is definitely worth spending money on.

80

One of the best

Avapolo | Sept. 3, 2013 | See all Avapolo's reviews »

This game was the first COD in a while to branch off from the regular time line of Modern Combat and dive into the Cold War. Black Ops has a very good campaign, something that has not been very prevalent in some of the other games. The multiplayer is one of the best and definitely something you will find yourself spending hours on, All in all i think this is one of (If not the best) COD games to date and definitely worth your money!

60

The decline of Call of Duty started...

Pradlik | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all Pradlik's reviews »

After very good Modern Warfare this is the decline of Call of Duty series. I was frustrated by the story becoming more and more crazy with rambo-like heroes. Also the linearity was bit frustrating where you couldn't proceed to an area until other characters progressed there. In Black Ops the story isn't bad at all but on the other hand not really great either. The graphics is just as by older games in the series, which is logical since new Call of Duty is released every year. But everyone prefers quality and not quantity of new games in series. What iritates me most is the price of every CoD game for which you get 6-7 hours of singleplayer story in exchange. This is where I'm saying bye to CoD series and playing only good old Modern Warfare.

88

Great title in the Call of Duty series.

balbo79 | Aug. 15, 2013 | See all balbo79's reviews »

After the masterpiece Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, the title of Infinity, Ward, Treyarch amazes thanks to a very original and well detailed title, Call Of Duty: Black Ops. The campaign is set between 1963 and 1968, during the Cold War, play as Alex Mason, a soldier special intent to avert an imminent threat by terrorists, the campaign consists of 15 missions that will not end up well in less than 5 - a 6-hour mode successful mainly due to a plot very engaging and never boring. Makes his return the classic zombie mode, already seen and appreciated in Call Of Duty: World At War, where a group of up to 4 players must repel a horde of undead, using all necessary means, including weapons, gadgets and secret passages, there are three main maps, including the arcade mode, which will allow us to defeat the zombies in a style a little dated in an FPS aerial view, a very original idea and very funny. Call Of Duty: Black Ops is a true masterpiece, one of the best first person shooters ever made, even higher than World At War but not very close to the majesty of the first Modern Warfare.

95

The Best COD Experience!

Thomazen | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all Thomazen's reviews »

By many, this game has been decorated to be THE best COD game made, and the story-line is also an amazing factor into this. If you ever want to get into Call Of Duty and not much into WWII (like COD 2), then this game is certainly the place to start. The only problem is, that your standards will get so high that any other COD game in the future will seem less entertaining.

89

Call of Duty: Black Ops - review

Neapolis47 | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

In Call Of Duty: Black Ops the player assumes the role of the soldier Mason, who under severe questioning, tell his story through a series of countless memories and flashbacks, letting us relive many incidents that occurred over a period of twenty years. Since the end of World War II up to the Cold War and Vietnam. The game mechanics are similar to those of the previous chapters, although with some innovation as regards the variability of the missions. The multiplayer segment, which has always distinguished the series, in Call Of Duty: Black Ops multiplayer mode was really made ​​in a masterly manner. The lag is almost absent, except in sporadic cases, and the games are finally more playable and enjoyable than the excessive frenzy of Modern Warfare 2. The vastness and variety of online modes and types of games can satisfy all tastes and needs of the player. In particular, to highlight the mode to bet as the Gun Game, in which continuously vary the types of weapons, and then also the component of the risk increases fun. As always through the killings you can earn points to unlock weapons and gadgets to use in battle or even badges, and backgrounds to customize our written symbol or the tag of our clan. Of course, the classes are customizable and the player can create different according to its needs. Even the weapons will be customizable as you will level up, in fact the player can choose the color or emblem to be affixed to his favorite shotgun. In short, the multiplayer of Call Of Duty: Black Ops manages to really satisfy all types of gamers. A sub online full-bodied, rich content, innovative, exciting and captivating.

90

Best COD since COD4

forgot2shave | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all forgot2shave's reviews »

While the series is known for its numerous entries, this one shines brightly among the rest. Set in 70s and 80s, the campaign offers a wild ride through one man's experience as a secretive soldier. The flashbacks to WW2 remind me of COD2.

The multiplayer is definitely what makes this one of the best CODs ever made. The old guns make it so that it takes more strategy versus it modern warfare counterpart. The attachments and killstreaks offer great variety of gameplay.

100

More focus on fun than realism

08woodh1 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all 08woodh1's reviews »

I have been playing Call of Duty since the start of the Modern Warfare franchise, mainly for the multiplayer, which I will focus on for this review. Despite a slight disappointment with Modern Warfare 2, I believe Black Ops is a great improvement to the franchise and have clocked up almost 100 hours since release. Black Ops, seems to cater more for casual gamers than previous versions, this however doesn't damage the 'hardcore' package for players that want to be challenged. Most of the guns in the game are fun to use despite some of them not very useful at all, and only a few can be used as a 'one gun does it all' style of gameplay, which hardly a game breaker, I presume will be patched and tweaked as time goes on. The special weapons are great fun to use also. The customisation, despite limited, is a welcome touch. I love aesthetic touches to my 'character' and Black Ops does a great job in allowing people to create an identity both with artistic skill and in achievement. Gold guns are back in Black Ops, previously seen in 'COD4 - Modern Warfare' and require a similar if not more level of dedication to unlock (Prestige 14), a great incentive to keep me hooked on prestiging, something 'Modern Warfare 2' lacked. The single player mode is well crafted if the player enjoys more linear gaming experiences, the story is gripping and well written although a little unbelieveable at times, the zombie mode is a nice touch and with all these extra's make the game definately worth the price. (There is even a 'full' minigame called Dead Ops - Arcade). No game is without it's shortcomings however, and this is no exeption, where the multiplayer is concerned, glitches have been found and are being exploited by players, they are also spreading faster due to the 'theatre' mode that allows you to watch players in every game you play. This mode does have it's perks however allowing you to gain evidence of foul play very easily, I forsee swift bans to be placed on accounts in future. Speaking of foul play, this brings me onto my next point, cheaters/hackers, they are in game, however not in the swarms that lots of people describe. Also as I have mentioned before, players using aimbots can easily be caught so it's not a huge problem. There are 'lag issues' for some, but the majority of issues have been fixed recently, lower-middle end PC users are invited to use the console command '/stoprecord' (without quotation marks) in game if they still have problems with lag. I run this game laggless on an i7-920 stock clocked, Nvidia 295GTX, 3GB system at 90-150FPS constant on full settings. The 'noob' weapons and perk(s) of the past games surprisingly return (without any noticable balancing) despite their usage being widely disapproved of in all incantations of the Modern Warfare franchise, these include the underbarrel grenade launcher, 'Last Stand'/'Final Stand' style perk and RPGs. I also find that normal mode requires far too many shots to gain a kill and needs to be altered as it will entice 'quick scoping' trends due to a sniper rifle being easier to kill with in close quarters than an assault rifle. (I already gain high kill death ratio's using only ballistic knives in normal mode and this shouldn't be possible) The pro's far outweigh the con's in my opinion however and I recommend this game to anyone that enjoys the 'Modern Warfare' franchise. Buy and join the fun :)

85

Love it, prefer it to MW2

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

The game is very good, however in retrospect, it is pretty much the same as Call of Duty: World at War - except a different scenario. The game has a very long story, which is slightly tedious and can be irritating at times. The multi-player is the best aspect of Black Ops and is definitely something to try! I like this game, but I feel it's just another Call of Duty branded game.

86

good story, great paced multip

chakad | July 24, 2013 | See all chakad's reviews »

I for myself play all the cod (mw and bo alike) each one of them have its advantages..

in Black Ops (the first on the BO titles of cod games) ,its the game paste - its game paste is much faster then cod mw - which makes it hard to sit (dig in), which in turn gives a lot of fast-paced action shooter!

add it a good story for single player and what else can you ask?

good graphics decent sound track a lot of action (mp and sp)

at a roll - worth the expriance :)

85

Pretty fun title

TGAlan | July 7, 2013 | See all TGAlan's reviews »

This is a great, mindless, good looking game. The skill point system works very well and is rather satisfying. The game has its flaws but since it tries some new things, it really doesn't matter.

If you like FPS, this really won't let you down so long as you turn your brain off while playing it.

50

Nothing New

Plasros | June 19, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

Absolutely nothing new, if you would update World at War's graphics, you could not tell which one is the 5 years older game. And speaking of graphics, they seem strangely bad for a "triple A" game, i kept getting vibes of "console port" and "outdated engine" Single player is defined by the word Boring. I did not even want to play the optional "RTS"-style defense missions after the first mandatory one.

85

Spinoff from Modern Warfare

lok0812 | June 18, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

After two Modern Warfare series, Activision came out with a spinoff for the COD franchise and it is this game. Not much things has change beside new setting for the story in single player. The game is pretty much at the same directions as the previous installment like MW and MW2. The pretty looking environment for single player campaign and the easy to pick up point and shoot mechanic for multiplayer. The zombie mode is not that much of a big deal since it is just another survival mode with not much of a story. Fan of COD might have already picked this up as each year COD base transfer from one game to another in order to play the multiplayer aspect of the game. If you are newcomer to the COD series just grab Black Ops 2 that is already out that is still a similar experience with minor change to the loadout system.

88

Essential

kalil | June 14, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

One more good CoD I've seen of all, with a very interesting campaign and profound that will surprise you at every stage of the game. From my point of view, the best campaign that has gone through Call Of Duty!

The multiplayer, fun and entertaining, much better than MW3 online, although they could get more out to improve it but it's not bad ...

Now with features:

-Gameplay:

The gameplay is very good till you entertained.

-Technology:

It has the AI so good but much better than some CoD you just caught recently (MW3 COF COF)

-Graphics:

The best graphics I've seen simply great and amazing: D

-Sound:

Very carefully worked, but not travel very far, but it's not bad the soundtrack ..

-Innovation:

The weapons are varied greatly, along with the online death streaks that makes it very appetizing, improved graphics, great truth: the gameplay better with zombies mode, a vice leave it at that xD .. No doubt this game MUST be marked as stay with it ..

66

Best storyline in COD ever, but not best gameplay

spycid | June 14, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

It's the same old thing being repeated again and again. Honestly it's not easy to bring out another game within a year of the most popular multi-platform franchise in the history of video game. They should just make the game MP only and release SP separately or completely do away with it. It is only recommended if you are either a COD fan or love easy shooters with a great storyline.

15

Call Of Duty is dead.

WildWest123 | June 6, 2013 | See all WildWest123's reviews »

This title made me close my game nad never buy another COD title.perhaps the new title coming(ghosts) will make me interested again,this game has foul mecahnics,bad graphics(in my opinion) horrible gameplay and wrost multiplayer iv'e witnessed,togther with the un-appealing story,I do not recommend.

60

Same Old, Same Old With Some Differences

Nuxaider | March 26, 2013 | See all Nuxaider's reviews »

It should be no surprise by now that each year, a Call of Duty game comes out, a year goes by, then a new one comes out. Despite this, this game is one of the few CoD I'll actually recommend to someone, albeit, ranked rather lowly.

Campaign - The story itself is bland, but how it's told is interesting. It suffers from the same dilemma as most FPS campaigns today: linear, bad AI, short campaign. It's mostly a time waster that you'd only want to play if you're really bored.

Multiplayer - After the disaster known as Modern Warfare 2, Black Ops brought the franchise somewhat out of the ditch. Core gameplay is essentially the same with some minor differences. Dolphin diving is included; it's a big change in the game but most players never use it which really is a same since it changed the meta game so much. Guns are relatively balanced and the maps are good but nothing special. Key gamemodes like Gun Game were a nice change of pace from gamemodes like TDM and Domination. The best thing to come out of this game is the COD points system. Basically, you get points each time you finish a match and you can then use those points to buy weapons, attachments, etc. This hands down beats the usual, "grind to get attachments" gameplay and lets the player customize their weapon as soon as they unlock it. This unfortunately didn't return in Black Ops 2 though.

Zombies - This mode, honestly, is only as fun as you make it. Playing with friends is fun, though that is largely due to the fact that they are your friends. The maps themselves are pretty good but only 3 maps is disappointing.

Overall, if you haven't played CoD before and want to try it out, I'd still recommend Call of Duty 4 over this game, but it is still an average game to try out.

92

Great Addition to the Call of Duty Franchise

THE3DDUNK | Feb. 2, 2013 | See all THE3DDUNK's reviews »

Black Ops is a great addition to the Call of Duty franchise, the guns are good, the equipment is good, and the maps are good. The game plays well for PC, and there are also some mods out there that you can spend some of your spare time in when you are not ranking up on multiplayer mode. The singleplayer has a great story, and is what I believe is one of the best campaigns in Call of Duty history. Zombies mode is also returning in World at War and is as better as ever. With a 3 maps to choose from, you will be playing a bunch of zombies trying to top your or your friends high score. The downside to the game though is that the maps are bland, and not very colored, and the story might get a bit boring at times to some players. Overall, the game is great and will not get old in a while for most, so what are you waiting for? Grab you copy and hop into one of the three game modes!

85

Black Ops - review

carlyle | Jan. 13, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

The big piece of Black Ops 2 is the classic multiplayer modes, and in this respect we note that few things have changed. We find, as always, the increase in the level of the profile, which allows you to unlock new weapons and gadgets, many modes ranging from Deatmatch team matches Domination, through fights only with his pistol, fighting with the crossbow etc.. most innovations are the gameplay.Per example, the "life bar" player seems a bit 'more durable than other Call of Duty but the novelty that we enjoyed the most is the revision of the Kill Streak, which are no longer based on the number of killings but on points. These may be obtained by completing objectives like capturing bases, killing an opponent from a distance, concatenate multiple kills quickly, survive several rounds, etc.. At the technical level, Treyarch did not take the "risk" to change the graphics engine of the various Call of Duty the first Modern Warfare. As long as it remains in motion the effect is altogether enjoyable, but if you stop to look at the texture you realize that they are seriously beginning to show their age. The animations of the characters and their modeling is natural, but when it comes to looking decorative elements or environments judgment is far less flattering. Colors blurred, details of the environment "cubic" effects of smoking prehistoric.

80

Black Ops does well...

Lekes | Jan. 7, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

This game does not do enough new things to earn a very high rating and yet it is not bad enough to be given a shocker. The positives are that the single player storyline is engaging and easy to follow, something which is a big improvement on Modern Warfare. However, the actual play itself remains linear and uninspiring at times. The multiplayer seems to have stagnated. It was done really well in Modern Warfare but I just found things lacking in this respect with Black Ops. Finally, the graphics engine is in major need of an overhaul. Crysis 2 has demonstrated what can be done in this day and age. The CoD series needs to catch up.

96

The best COD since the first MW

israel_hlc | Dec. 27, 2012 | See all israel_hlc's reviews »

Black Ops is the best Call of Duty game launched since the first Modern Warfare. The graphics are good enough, although the game engine – the same since Modern Warfare – shows signs of some limitations. It has a good point, of course, for those who don’t have high end machines, because it’s not that hard to achieve 60fps. The story – main point of the game in my opinion – is the best seen in the franchise so far, sucking you into the game. The variety of locations where the game is placed fits well with the weapons available each mission. Also, if you like the multiplayer, it is as good as the ones before it, although nowadays (end of 2012) there may be not many people playing anymore.

60

Could have been much, much better...

MorphineBear | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all MorphineBear's reviews »

I don't understand why they had to make a new series of Call of Duty.

The single player is decent, but really short. The multiplayer is in a sense an improvement from Modern Warfare 2 (Yes, I'm comparing it to that) but a hit-and-miss with weapon changes.

It requires a much higher end PC to play than MW2.

On the upside, there's the release of a better Zombie mode. Same as World at War's but just "better".

It's not worth $60.

75

Good but could be better...

jack11101 | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all jack11101's reviews »

As with all the other CoD's the campaign isn't the main focus which at sometimes is painfully obvious. Luckily CoD's usually have good multiplayers and this is no exception although it can become extremely repetitive. For me the best part about this game is zombies which could infact be a game by itself. Zombies is extremely fun and can be a challenge to see how far you can get. You can play with up to four people and progress through unending waves of zombies.

If you like zombie games then you might want to take a look at this.

92

best post COD4:MW entry

hugemouth | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all hugemouth's reviews »

better then MW2, MW3 and BLOPS2 and the only one that is close to having everything PC games should have. Still fun to play and now when all the kids are gone most of the players are really good. the SP is great, love the story and the voice work is amazing. zombies is fun but not a huge improvement over WAW. MP is solid, less laggy then other COD games, guns are great and you get a lot off game modes. Thanks to the modding tools you can also get some really cool content from the community, new game modes (zombies VS players and kill confirmed) and other crazy things. One last thing, and a very important one, you can have a 12 and even 18 players GUN GAME matches! even if you already own MW3 and BLOPS2 you should go back of this one.

85

Good COD.

Darder | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all Darder's reviews »

As with all Call of Duty's, this kind of arcade multiplayer game never gets old. The zombie mod added into this game really is fun to play in multiplayer, and the regular multiplayer is packed with action. The "Hollywood" solo campaign will please you, although it is quite short. A good game overall, definitely worth getting.

90

Much better than World At War

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

I liked the style in this game more than I liked the style in World At War. Less grey. Both are good games though but I did like this one better. It's over-the-top action with a good story, cool co-op zombie mode and fun multiplayer (way better than WaW since there are no vehicles). But it did feel different after all those hours playing Modern Warfare 2. I kinda expected the controls to feel the same, but they didn't (somehow it felt sluggish). But you'll adjust soon enough. Anyhow, the multiplayer will keep you entertained for months.

95

The best warfare game!!!

benyo555 | Sept. 17, 2012 | See all benyo555's reviews »

It's the best 2nd warfare game ever made. The graphics are wonderful, the gameplay is exciting and I can't get bored playing this game. Every day when I arrive home, my first job is turn on the computer and play Black Ops. The zombie mode is very hard if you play alone, but if you have a partner it's a good mode.

82

Cold War shenanigans

Cooberstooge | Aug. 2, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

Whatever you can say about the Call of Duty games, at least they do things most other FPS titles don't. Black Ops is set during the cold war, a time period largely ignored by the rest of the FPS developer community, and this is what sets this title apart from others.

Black Ops features weapons specific to this period, and has all the required goofy action movie stereotypes present. The characters are original, and in many ways more loveable than those in the Modern Warfare series - they just seem more human somehow.

Graphically, the game looks awesome, especially the winter levels - nearly slipping off the edge into a bottomless white nothingness is rather unnerving. The Vietnam levels are suitably dark and gritty, with VC hiding around every corner and intense urban combat aplenty.

Sounds and soundtrack are spot-on, with intense firefights often being upstaged by licensed 'Nam-era rock blaring away in the background. This game just feels so right in these moments, it's insane.

Multi is solid, with a steady community full of crazy players. There are cheaters here, but less now that Black Ops has gotten a little older and less popular.

All in all, a solid shooter I can easily recommend, and one that, for once, isn't set in current times.

75

Could Enjoy This Game

ROKET | July 8, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

I stopped respecting CoD games after MW2. I really like MW2 but it all became a gimmick after that. Sure BOps introduced a lot to multiplayer and set itself apart in a few ways but it was really just more of the same.

Graphically the game was generally unimpressive and unchaged from MW2. You didnt get much more detail and the special effects always had this fake vibe to them that showed you just how half assed the game was and still remains.

Gameplay was alright though a little clunky and online hackers didnt help the multiplayer - it became as stupid as MW2 and the devs and company didnt do much of anything to stop it.

The story of the game was also dull. I played through it but found my head spinning most of the time. There were some cool moments here and there but others you were left wondering wtf just happened and why.

Overall, dont waste your time.

Not Recommended.

77

Great game but the formula is getting old

simonsix | June 15, 2012 | See all simonsix's reviews »

Call of Duty Black Ops doesn't do much to advance the series or change up the 'winning formula' that Call of Duty 4 established. Developed by Treyarch, they have once again made only refinements to the multi-player experience. The removal of juggernaut and stopping power perks is a good idea, as well as toning the kill-streaks down.

79

More of the same...

albeenox | May 18, 2012 | See all albeenox's reviews »

Its fine.

From the score I've given it, it should be pretty clear that I didnt hate it - far from it, It was pretty decent... Its just that its the same old game that keeps getting released every year by Activision (regardless of developer or the games sub-franchise)

I mean this is text-book what you expect (and may want?) from a call of duty game. The gameplay/combat all work just fine, the aiming and movement feel just like they always have (which is to say it all works nicely), but at this point its just getting incredibly samey.

The storyline does get bonus points for being interesting AT TIMES (something it cant keep up the entire time, sadly), and there are some interesting setpieces, but it really does nothing to stand out or go in a new direction.

...actually, if anything, perhaps it even takes a step back in the area of pacing. Its just too frantic, to the point where things become a blur, and you find yourself just mindlessly going from point to point, without even really paying much attention, sadly... which isnt a great thing if you're after a good single player experience.

I also found the visuals to be lacking a bit... they weren't terrible, but nothing really stand-out either.

And the ending. Oh the ending... I know it was, apparently, voted the best video-game ending of all time, but thats just rubbish... it was just silly and pretty embarassingly cheesy and poorly handled.

So to sum up... a typical call of duty game. If you've ever played one before, you'll know what to expect here. It looks ok, and it plays very well, and while its pacing is rubbish, the story has brief moments of creativity that sparks a bit of interest.

Multiplayer was ok as well - I didn't play it much, but it was adequate, if nothing special.

89

Amazing

ruready12 | March 26, 2012 | See all ruready12's reviews »

This game is an overall amazing addition to the series.

 The story-line is wonderful and nearly every detail about the operations in real life are correct. It is hard yet maintains that a very fun, playable experience throughout the game. There are not really any parts of the story that are flawed at all.
 The Zombies game mode adds variety to the game and gives an extra multiplayer aspect to it. There are many weapons you can buy off the walls or in the Random Box and mixed in with over 8 different zombie maps for endless hours of fun!

The Multiplayer is very good and has many weapons to choose from and the in-game community is wonderful! Unfortunately, it's not very well optimized for the PC version so even if you have a beast Gaming Rig it will lag sometimes. Overall the Multiplayer is great though!

I would say buy this game to any shooter fan who is looking for a nice, enjoyable game that lasts for hours!