Reviews for Mass Effect 3 (NA) dns

51

An unfitting conclusion

GordonFreechmen | Jan. 7, 2013 | See all GordonFreechmen's reviews »

While Mass Effect 2 took away from the first game, and was ultimately pointless, at least its story made some sense. In Mass Effect 3, you have to get new squadmates something you have already done three times. One of them is a prothean but looks nothing like the protheans in the first game. And despite Bioware saying otherwise none of your decisions really matter, and the ending to the trilogy comes down to a choice you make at the end of the game. I am not going to say more about the ending because that would spoil it.

Now as far as gameplay goes it is very similar to the second. You are going to want to raise your FOV because it is way too low by default. The gameplay more resembles Gears of War than Mass Effect 1, but then again you could also say that about the second game. At the very least they added back an inventory, it isn't as fleshed out as the first games but it is there, and I consider that a huge bonus.

The characters that were carried over from the second game seem to be the most interesting part as they were in the second game, the new characters don't really live up to them though, so there really isn't a lot of good added in that department.

The game may not be horrible, there are certainly worse games, but I had a lot better expectations for it when I first played Mass Effect 1, and found both sequels ultimately disappointing.

50

Worst Ending EVER but Good Gameplay

Brumbek | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all Brumbek's reviews »

What an annoying game to review...the gameplay is solid. The combat is fairly fun and some of the side quest stories are really great. Plus reuniting with old friends is VERY fun. You do feel like you are making a difference as you play to save the galaxy. This game easily packs 50 hours of content.

But then there's the ending. No spoilers here, but it is COMPLETELY MORONIC. It pulls a Deus Ex Machina and violates its own lore. If you hated the Matrix 2 & 3's lunatic (Architect) storytelling, you will utterly despise ME3's storytelling.

So yeah...the game is great until the end...and the ending is so bad, so utterly insulting to all intelligent beings that I cannot, CANNOT recommend ME3. Like Jar Jar Binks, we wish it never happened.

82

Solid Game

AppleMuffin | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all AppleMuffin's reviews »

The gameplay is a solid third person cover shooter, but I didn't really see anything particularly interesting about it. The story is pretty awesome, thanks to Bioware. I highly recommend playing the two prequels before starting Mass Effect 3. It allows for many interesting paths, though they usually all end in similar destinations. The ending was bad though. Very bad. Still, all in all, I recommend it.

70

Weakest entry for Mass Effect, solid fun and free multiplayer.

Dayonga | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all Dayonga's reviews »

If you loved Mass Effect 1 and 2, 3 is still definitely worth playing despite it's flaws. While many will tell you only the ending sucked, Mass Effect 3 as a whole suffered from relatively poor writing, boring level design, and overall a feeling of being rushed.

Since they've patched the ending from god awful to just disappointing, it probably won't ruin Mass Effect for you completely. Probably.

52

An unsatisfying conclusion.

Damien_Azreal | Oct. 11, 2012 | See all Damien_Azreal's reviews »

This game was a disappointment. It's a good game, the gameplay is basically the exact same as Mass Effect 2. Only a bit more stream lined. And they did bring back a very small amount of the more RPG like elements from the first game.

But, everything about ME3 feels rather rushed and unfinished. The majority of the side characters feel added either just because they were in previous games... or because they looked cool. The story arcs that draw them in don't feel well written or interesting. And I'm not going to comment on the horrible IGN character.

From how you get side quests (Shepard is now a creepy eavesdropper) to even how you complete them feels lazy. The majority of the time you just scan a planet, and even then the scanner makes it fool proof... guiding you directly to the spot you need to find with a giant white arrow. To the absolutely horrible ending that not only leaves you wondering "The hell?" but also ignores the several plot holes it created in the past few seconds.

I loved Mass Effect, and really enjoyed Mass Effect 2. I went into the third game expecting the best of both and to truly be wowed by the epic conclusion to the series. Only to be left feeling cheated. And not just because of the ending. I started feeling flat about a couple hours into the game. Some will love it, and defend it without flinching. Personally... this, like DA2, shows that BioWare are losing focus on what's really important in their games.

54

The multiplayer doesn't work.

das_regal | Oct. 3, 2012 | See all das_regal's reviews »

I don't have a whole lot to say about the single player aside from the fact that it is basically the same game as Mass Effect 2 with a continued story. They've done small tweaks like adding in melee weapons, but that sums it up so well that I don't need to say much else.

The real important fact that any purchaser needs to know is that Mass Effect 3's multiplayer essentially does not work on PC. The servers have been having problems for several months now. They drop connections before just about anyone can finish a match. Sometimes I can't even get past the load out configuration screens.

If it worked, multiplayer looks like a lot of fun, but it just doesn't. So many people have problems with it, that if I were you, I'd be cautious and look into this before buying the game if the multiplayer is a selling point for you.

85

The third game in an amazing series.

Xgoesrawr | Sept. 5, 2012 | See all Xgoesrawr's reviews »

I have no complaints about the graphics as they were shiny. The voice acting was once again great but I was a little disappointed that certain crew members didn't have many lines.

As for companions I had the Prothean DLC so I'm unsure what happens without him but I do admit he was interesting. I enjoyed the crew members stories and liked how they ended for the most part.

I think its worth mentioning that the quest tracking was a step backwards from the previous games.

The only thing I really disliked was the ending however I haven't replayed to see if the "extended cut" DLC changes my opinion on it.

Its a fun game but the ending should've been better.

70

That was it?

Suienreizo | July 7, 2012 | See all Suienreizo's reviews »

Don't get me wrong on my impression of ME3 first off, it was fun. It was enjoyable and it gave me some closure on a series I'd played since I'd left high school. The writing was well down, Garrus is still a bro, and non-party members from previous installments make cameo appearances. There are several of moments where I got to think 'Wow, so that is the kind of impact that choice from 1 had'.

The game has been made far more action focused and lost many of the rpg elements that originally snared me into purchasing bioware products. You might view this as a plus if you wanted the Gears of War style of running to cover then shoot model, but it felt to me like an attempt to draw people who enjoy other styles of play rather than an actual improvement on the previous systems. Just about anyone who purchased 1 and 2 was going to buy it anyway so it must have been a decision to try cashing out on the third installment by marketing more towards shooter oriented players.

The gameplay is smooth for the most part, some of the 'special' weapons seem to be poorly balanced in that there is little reason to utilize them over others.

Multiplayer is enjoyable for a time as it offers a means to pace the story that feels rather short, and necessary for your readiness rating towards the 'best' ending. My guess is that this was their form of DRM on pirates but really it made me feel as though my character wasn't actually making that big of difference when I needed to play as a random N7 agent class to go product some way points or kill certain targets in order to be 'ready enough' for the finale.

Ultimately I can't give it higher than a 7 out 10 due to what feels like limited replay value after experiencing the ending. I played ME1 at least 6 times through on my 360, ME2 perhaps 3 or 4, but this particular title I can't help but not want to go through it again. Even with the addition of the more clarified endings, this for me was a one and done to complete the story.

90

Left Me With a Huge Smile on My Face

ROKET | June 22, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

I didnt know what to expect with Mass Effect 3. ME2 had been an okay game and nothing had really lived up to ME1 so I had low expectations going into ME3. With the inclusion of a multiplayer mode and the onset of many pre-order DLCs I had relegated the title to a gimmicky mess.

Now, the only reason why I played the game was because I had actually won it through a competition. It wasnt that I didnt want to finish the trilogy but I wasnt going to pay full price for a joke. In the end, however, I was terribly wrong.

Mass Effect 3 proved to be an AMAZING ride with characters and voice acting that blew me away. The best comparison I could give is playing through a conflict in a good few episodes of Star Trek with the action and explosiveness of Star Wars. It was brilliant. You rally the galaxy and your choices truly do affect the races and characters you encounter.

The gameplay of the series was also greatly improved in this title and I really liked the new gunplay and cover mechanics. It was far less wonky than in ME2.

Now, its true that the end didnt reflect those decisions as much but the whole point of the game wasnt to have the ending vary that much. Thankfully, however, an extended ending is being released on June 26th, 2012.

From a multiplayer perspective the game is surprisingly good and high quality with FREE DLC being released on a regular basis.

All in all this title is well worth it and great from the beginning to the end. I cant tell you how much fun I had and highly recommend this title.

90

Awesome end to the trilogy

Sparmoro | March 8, 2012 | See all Sparmoro's reviews »

First off, I wanted to tell you that I'm writing this review after having spent about 20 hours in the single player as well as 4 hours into the multiplayer.

It is with a lot of anticipation that I've been waiting for this game and therefore I have to say that I had high expectations for it. So far, I've been very pleased and impressed with the campaign. It is everything you have been enjoying from the previous 2 games minus all the rince and repeat useless stuff from the previous games (like the in-game hacking).

It is of course sad that EA/Bioware weren't able to add the Frostbyte 2 engine to the game, but every gamer needs to go pass this and see what an epic ending to this trilogy this is.

I understand that people are frustrated of all the day 1 dlc stuff, but c'mon a great game stays a great game. Plus, they give you so many hours of gameplay compared to some other games.

It is interesting how choices made from both first games really reflect on the events of this 3rd instalment. Mass Effect 3 brings back the good and fun combat, the awesome dialogues as well as the epic story.

On top of that, I was impressed with the multi-player. To be honest, I really didn't expect much from it, but after playing it for 4 hours last night with 2 of my friends I had lots of fun. If you are a fan of cooperative games were you team up versus the computer you will be very please. It is so much fun to go through waves and waves of enemies and theirs enough difficulties that everyone can find their count. The item and levelling is also very well done, although it's not revolutionary, I think its a good start to the franchise.

Finally, I think its a must for every gamer to play this entire trilogy. If you've played the first 2 games and enjoyed them then go grab it and if you have never played the previous games I recommend starting with the first 2 instalments.