Reviews for Wargame: European Escalation

74

A great game, but very difficult

Sneakybastad | Oct. 31, 2013 | See all Sneakybastad's reviews »

This game is NOT very user friendly, and I would not reccomend purchasing it unless you are very comfortable with fighting an incredibly tough an adaptive AI. The visuals and sound effects are very amazing, and the moral system is quite awesome, but also very easily abused. All in all, not my cup of tea, but for any hardcore strategy gamers out there, this one is deffinitley something you should consider picking up.

90

Just amazing

Demilisz | June 5, 2013 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

Previous game of studio responsible od Wargame, R.U.S.E., didn't impress me to put it likely. I was amused when reading review after review about "innovative" ruse mechanics and great gameplay as I didn't saw any of it in actual fgame. what I saw was a dumped down game with rock-scissor-paper mechanic (that may be good for Total War and meele battle system, but not for modern combat). There was too easy and too much scripted campaign, autorepair and lack of difference between tank's rear and front armour.

Then came Wargame and it was everything that R.U.S.E. should be. Tanks have not only different arour but caliber and optics as well. There is expierience gained by units, repairing is still present but it is no automatic anymore and there is no base building. You actually choose a side (NATO or Warsaw Pact) and build your own deck from avaiable units belonging to UK, USDA, France, RFN (NATO) or NRD, ZSRR, Poland, Czechoslovbakia (Warsaw Pact). At first there is no much to chose from, but as you progress in campaign (much better than in R.U.S.E.) you gain a stars that can and should be spend to unlockl new and better units. And after you play campaign and vs AI skirmishes long enought there waits competitive multiplayer.

If you are fan of RTS modern combat game - take at any price.

94

Great Game

kalil | May 30, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

I would start by saying that the game is very good, and obviously very playable and fun. At first it's fine, but after a couple of weeks is something boring because of its monotone in the battlefield. I decided to make this analysis to discuss his new DLC (free), adds new maps (+ other things) that make technical monotonous have to change, which has eliminated the boredom in the game longer.

The maps are somewhat smaller (not much), but much more elaborate, with more buildings and new tactics to invent. This has changed a bit this game that was based on "who is the tank have more good", giving the opportunity to the infantry, tanks better tactically.

I think this is a good contribution by the company, which has largely eliminated the monotony of this game.

TIP: Buy it! is good.

91

Fantastic 'real world' RTS

Ratherbegliding | May 18, 2013 | See all Ratherbegliding's reviews »

Why this game is brilliant: - applies real world tactics and concepts accurately eg line of site, time spent in recon is seldom wasted, use of artillery to 'prep' an area, etc - the graphics are excellent - you really feel the pressure when the sh** hits the fan - units are real world, not some dreamt up sci-fi approximation - the game deals with a part of history which is neglected by the gaming world - if you like traditional hex-based wargames, this is a perfect introduction to the RTS genre - no resource collecting or building. It's all about the tactical picture and logistics. Installed seamlessly and performance is rock solid on my i7 laptop.

Now discounted following the release of its sequel Wargame: Air Land Battle (which I'm itching to try!)

Would suit anyone interested in modern military history, modern era battlefield tactics or anyone who's old enough to remember the Cold War!

Cheers and enjoy! RBG

80

The Modern RTS Purists Orgasm

pasinduthegreat | May 11, 2013 | See all pasinduthegreat's reviews »

Its like this, if you're into C&C RTS's or Company of Heroes and Warcraft, this may not be the game for you. That's because its complex. When I say complex, I mean borderline ultra realistic.

It's not a RTS; its a battlefield simulator. A battle in real life would work out almost the same way it would in this game.

Wargame's scale is epic. It takes even the fastest tanks multiple minutes to move from zone to zone on the map. This makes for a really interesting strategy game in which a single mistake or wrong tactic will not ruin your chances. It is like a chess game.

For some it will be overwhelming. But for others it will be the game that stands out from the usual crowd. Too many times have I tried to play Starcraft or Company of Heroes only to get spammed by boring macro tactics. You cannot rush on Wargame, and you cannot turtle. You have to adapt.

There's no rock paper scissors formula in this game. Play it and you will understand.

78

A great wargame

draculrosu12 | March 5, 2013 | See all draculrosu12's reviews »

I read some reviews on line of this game and it seemed a bit daunting at first. I watched a few youtubes as well ( make sure to search for gameplay to get a real feel for it ) and I'd have to say I'm blown away. I've been looking for a wargame with modern units ( though this is set in the cold war era so not today modern ) and this really fits the bill. It's got a great multiplayer segment, as well as skirmish, however with only a single AI opponent. Speaking of the AI it's quite challenging, I've played a few skirmishes and its always been challenging, the campaign is also great moving you though some different alternate history during the cold war era. All and all a great buy, the game sync's with steam as well and it was seamless. Runs well in windowed mode, however it seemed that it would crash in win 7 64bit, make sure to set your compatibility down to xp so it will use dx9

82

BUY NOW

cristiano171 | June 27, 2012 | See all cristiano171's reviews »

Here is a strategy game in real time where you need to plan each step with great caution. Areas of the map can be captured and it is even possible to let their tanks, for example, to perform certain "work" alone. Detected an enemy nearby, they can initiate an automated attack that can be quite long, depending on the terrain, visibility and distance from target. Getting them to move closer to nearby enemies can awaken, then, represent a greater danger. It is very difficult to predict what will happen to each drive, and the risk of losing one or more units due to poorly calculas operations is very large. There are some problems in relation to the operation of some units, however. Anti-aircraft units can get to attack a supply truck when a helicopter passes unscathed, or tanks of various types may simply refuse to shoot the target that the designated player, assuming the objective enemies that do not pose the biggest problem at that particular moment.

The artificial intelligence in Wargame: European Escalation is extremely sophisticated, and often the player suffers surprise attacks or falls into ambushes that are simply frightening because of the complexity of the enemy formations and their respective approach. conclusion Wargame: European Escalation is a strategy game in real time modern and realistic, which offers a passionate genre challenging and exciting experience, full of surprising moments. Its complexity can be a major problem for many players, and the lack of tutorial makes this an even bigger problem. However, the game is undoubtedly one of the best RTSS military today, and explores a very rarely seen in games like that.

90

A Great War Game

ROKET | June 18, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

There are a good few RTS games out there that play various roles within their sub genres Total War and Civ rule the TBS genre, Starcraft 2 rules the competitive RTS genre, and games like Hearts of Iron 3 rule the grand strategy genre. Wargame takes on a genre of its own in a sense.

Like games such as RUSE or World in Conflict - Wargame EE is an Tactical RTS that does away with base building and instead has you invest in unit management and tactical combat. Wargame is different though in that it doesnt give you infinite resources when it comes to ammo and fuel and units. It instead asks you to manage your front line while also managing your unit health, ammo, fuel and reserves. With all of that factored together you get a very satisfying and challenging game where you make sure to scout well before you push so as to ensure minimal losses.

I highly recommend this title for RTS fans.

86

The Game R.U.S.E Wanted To Be

jaxlancer | June 14, 2012 | See all jaxlancer's reviews »

Wargame: EE comes from the developers of R.U.S.E, labelled as the RTS for consoles. R.U.S.E was a very good game but it was held back by it's console foundations. Developers, Eugen Systems, ditched Ubisoft and decided to make the game they wanted to make originally. The result of that is Wargame: EE.

Wargame's scale is epic. It takes even the fastest tanks multiple minutes to move from zone to zone on the map. This makes for a really interesting strategy game in which a single mistake or wrong tactic will not ruin your chances. It is like a chess game.

For some it will be overwhelming. But for others it will be the game that stands out from the usual crowd. Too many times have I tried to play Starcraft or Company of Heroes only to get spammed by boring macro tactics. You cannot rush on Wargame, and you cannot turtle. You have to adapt.

I am a huge fan of RTS games, and this is pretty much the only one I play these days. That says it all.