Reviews for SkyDrift

90

Fly, race, fight, crash ;(

Unbenannte | Jan. 24, 2014 | See all Unbenannte's reviews »

Can’t think right now of a game like this one, but it feels like if you have played it before, there is a lot of racing games out there, this one is very cheap and good. Another review says that it’s cheaper than Sonic titles, and yeah it is, but still it’s a good quality game that you should buy if you like to race with planes, controls are easy (not a realistic game), you can have a good time, it has multiplayer, DLCs for more content (planes), great maps. The price it’s ok for what it has to offer, you do feel the rush of going between rocks at a nice speed wanting not to crash.

It’s like dose Mario karts games, racing, grabbing guns, shooting others, BUT in the air, and that’s a nice twist because you have to control more than just left or right. I think it’s better if you get multiple copies and play with friends =P, showoff your skills. Remember, use the vouchers for cheap cheap games. Hope this helps you.

80

Intense racing action... in the skies!

Azrael360 | Nov. 11, 2013 | See all Azrael360's reviews »

SkyDrift, a game developed by Digital Reality, it's a racing game where you pilot an airplane and face intense combats against your opponents while racing against them. There's no place here for the faint of heart: the races are fast, the combat frenetic and the routes full of obstacles. What makes SkyDrift great, is the fun you'll get while playing it and its amazing moments where you'll be screaming "oh my god!" or "holy...!". With tight controls, you will be able to do some great stunts easily in these planes, especially with a gamepad.

Like any other "Kart" game, you will able to get items (weapons or bonuses) during the races to use against your opponents or for yourself, but also, you can convert these items in extra boost for more boost speed. The more you win or get to a podium position, more planes or skins are unlocked for you.

The closest game I could think to SkyDrift, is the flying segments of "Sonic All-Stars Racing Transformed", but SkyDrift in 10x more intense, faster and open. The graphics are very similar to that game too, everything is very colorful, nice and well designed, but not everything can be good, right? Exactly as "Bang Bang Racing", another game made by the same developers, you may find some graphical glitches or corruption from time to time that can be a little annoying, but luckily they are really fast, so they're not game breaking.

Others negative points are: not being able to change the game language from the in-game options, so it'll always starts in the same language as the one set in the operating system (the only way to start the game in another language is to change this in the control panel); and if you play with a gamepad, the controls on screen will show always keys, not gamepad buttons, even in the tutorial. So if you want to know what the buttons do, you will have to see the control scheme in the options.

But everything else is so good, that you will forgive those issues and just enjoy SkyDrift.

75

Get this if you haven't played aero-plane games recently

MisterRay97 | Oct. 15, 2013 | See all MisterRay97's reviews »

So, this is SkyDrift. An amazing airplane racer. Basically, this game is like Blur, but it has planes instead of cars. I haven't been into the game that much, but still, the game is really well made. You have many powerups to collect and shoot at your opponents. The gameplay is really good and easy to pick up. They have understood that airplane controls are difficult and hence put 'instant respawn' when you crash into something. And, I'd suggest to play this game with a controller. (I played this with the Xbox 360 controller for Windows.)

The graphics are good and not so GPU hungry. The gameplay mechanics might seem a bit dull and unrealistic, but the game is enjoyable. We do not see any airplane games these days, except for a few flight simulators. The concept of the game is really new and a bit different from your regular video game. The tracks are challenging and varied. You also have boost (like the nitro in your daily racing game), and you can convert a powerup into boost if you won't use it. The idea of the game is fantastic.

If you're looking for a casual airplane racer, then this is your best bet. And as mentioned earlier, you might require a controller.

90

Throwback In The Sky

JACarlington | Oct. 4, 2013 | See all JACarlington's reviews »

I'll admit, when I bought Skydrift, I had low expectations. But this game was a very pleasant surprise. A throwback to old arcade style racing games. Great graphics with beautiful scenery. The keyboard controls were a bit challenging at first but are a bit easier with some practice. You can use a gamepad, if you have one, to make things easier. Not overly complicated. You pick a race, pick a plane (and a skin if you like), then start racing. A fun game with a lot of replay value and at a good price.

80

Fun Mario-Kart-Esque Game

Devilsdance | July 4, 2013 | See all Devilsdance's reviews »

Fun arcade-flying game that you will waste some time playing. Very fun and easy to control (I used a 360-pad). Controls are very fluid, and gameplay is very fun. Usually really cheap on sales and definitely worth the cheap price.

86

Racing.. but in the sky

wfosnot | June 3, 2013 | See all wfosnot's reviews »

Don't want to pay for those over-priced Sonic racing games (yeah.. Sonic Transformed - I'm talking to you) - then Skydrift is a great alternative. It feels natural - like a regular racing game, except it adds the new dimension of being in the air. This is NOT a sim.. this is about speed and fun! Still best played with a controller.

70

Nice & fun game

furious_gamer | May 16, 2013 | See all furious_gamer's reviews »

This is sky-driving racing game, that i always thought not worthy enough. So wanted to give it a try since it is so cheap in GMG. To my surprise, this game delivers more than i expected. The graphics is so damn good and gameplay is addictive. Locations are good, and it is tough even in easy mode, but once you get used to, it will be fine. AI is ok, but not excellent. Still you can give it a try if you like sky-racing games much. This one will not disappoint you.

96

Awesome!

Grafos | Jan. 31, 2013 | See all Grafos's reviews »

This game is the racing game I always wanted to make! The gameplay is fast, exciting and well balanced. The visuals are stunning! Level design is very well thought out. Music/sound very atmospheric. There is not a huge variety of power ups, but they are varied enough to make the game even more exciting.

The controls are excellent too. It works well with the keyboard, but it really rocks with on my Logitech Attack 3.

This is purely for speed lovers. If you like spending hours before your race start, to tune your vehicle, buy parts (even buy a house and furniture in some racers), stay away. This in some ways, some really good ways, is old school racing. Just grab your vehicle of choice and GO! There is a large variety of beautifully designed vehicles to choose and unlock, with different features/characteristics anyway.

This game is the closest I've felt to being in an actual Star Wars style pod racing! I need to play this in 3D!

83

Exciting game!

praggi93 | Jan. 24, 2013 | See all praggi93's reviews »

Skydrive is the type of game you don't see much of on the market. This adrenaline pumping sky-racing game is what I've missed in a long time. Good graphics, simple and fun game mechanics and the thrill of winning that keeps you hooked on the game. It brings out a decent challenge too! The best of it is however the multiplayer. Get some of your best friends online and shoot'em up! All in all I recommend it, especially for all the sky-racing fans.

85

Wisely avoids over-complicating things

Lunk | Jan. 18, 2013 | See all Lunk's reviews »

SkyDrift isn't a particularly ambitious game, but it does pretty much everything it tries to do right. It's strength is that it keeps things simple as a no-frills arcade combat racer. The game features a variety of planes adapted to different play styles and a small set of power-ups that all serve useful purposes. There aren't many tracks, but they provide a nice variety of large open areas and tight spaces that reward precision flying, and there are a few different game modes that add some different twists as you replay the tracks.

My one minor quibble with the game is that the difficulty settings feel too widely spaced. "Hard" is very challenging (as it should be), while I found that I was able to finish in first with great ease even as I was just starting out while playing on "medium." However, that's a pretty minor issue, and if it's the worst thing I have to say about the game, that's a pretty good sign.

There's nothing remarkably surprising about this game, but it takes an old formula and combines it with modern graphics, responsive controls, and a cheap price tag without doing anything to mess up what's worked in the past. What's not to like about that?

82

An Amazing Time-Killer

aronater | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all aronater's reviews »

Skydrift is one of those games that no matter how frustrated you get, you keep coming back to it just because its so enjoyable. Sure, the controls take getting used to, but once you overcome that, you feel like you rule the skies as you shoot down your opponents with missiles, or successfully pull a tight turn through a small opening. The main challenge lies in some serious multitasking, as you simultaneously navigate your plane, pick up power-ups, and try to destroy your competition. As you advance and unlock more planes and more tracks, the game just keeps getting better and better. In short if you have any interest at all in the racing genre (and who doesn't, really?) this is one game you can't afford to miss.

78

Arm outs, wheeling around the playground, going "neeeeeoooow!"

cavalcade | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all cavalcade's reviews »

SkyDrift got a bit of kicking at review. A lot of the moaning was directed at the single player difficulty levels (either it's painfully easy, or near impossible), the fact it has balance issues (if you get clear at the front it's difficult to lose) and the fact it isn't as good as Blur (which it clearly takes a lot of inspiration from). All this is true, but you'd have to have a heart made of turnips to not see all he good stuff in Skydrift.

It's pretty for a start. Perhaps not as pretty as it should be. Or as fast. But still pretty. It's also fun. There are very few kart racers with planes that actually are much fun. Freaky Flyers was the last one that springs to mind that wasn't utter bobbins, but this works well too.

It's a challenge to make 3D courses that are challenging without being eyeball smashingly unfair. SkyDrift has a decent selection of locations, and while some are a bit on the simplistic side, others get the blend just right forcing you to think vertically rather than just horizontally.

One big criticism is the fact the power ups don't reset quickly enough on the track, and also the fact it's possible to pick them up and convert them to boost to stay in the lead once you're out of direct range of the other flyers. Now this is true, and it can be annoying, but it isn't a dealbreaker. The computer AI is actually pretty good, and sometimes displays traits that make it seem a bit more human. But it's fair to say, as with Blur, a majority of the enjoyment is to be found multiplayer, where these niggles and annoyances tend to fall away and be replaced by good old fashioned humanoid fun.

Recommended.

90

Wow.

Zache_ | Dec. 5, 2012 | See all Zache_'s reviews »

Instantly jumped onto my list of my favorite top ten games ever. Feels just like Mario Cart airborne.

Only negative thing i have to say is that it doesnt work well with M/K, but i play with joystick so that works out great!

Really great price aswell!

91

Very exciting!

PedroVarela | Aug. 20, 2012 | See all PedroVarela's reviews »

This is that airplane game everyone was expecting. Smooth controls, nice graphics, this game has it all, including a Bagger 288.

The game is unfortunately locked to 30 fps, so it's kinda sluggish. Nothing to grave though. It's still tons of fun, everything you'd expect from a fast-paced airplane race. The powerup system is very rewarding, as it's challenging to get them, and once you do, they do a serious ammount of damage.

Final thoughts: For 10€, this game has it all, it's strangely cheap, actually. If you have the chance, consider buying Skidrift

79

Nice flying racing game

tjfoo | Aug. 7, 2012 | See all tjfoo's reviews »

This is certainly a fun racing game, especially if you play with friends. Multiplayer is the main strength of this unique flying racing game. Very nice graphics and the power-ups during the race make this game really awesome. Having said that, you need a joystick or controller to enjoy the game. It is extremely difficult to control with a keyboard. Also, it is a little bit boring and repetitive if played as single player as you will race over again and again. Overall, I still like this game and will still recommend to those who are looking for a good multiplayer game.

84

Very fun

MENNONH | July 17, 2012 | See all MENNONH's reviews »

A very fun flying game, made much better with a joystick. Includes some arcades style flying fun.

94

Amazing fun!

Dinoienugget | July 7, 2012 | See all Dinoienugget's reviews »

When I first saw the trailer for this game, I thought it looked amazing but, from my experiences with games, looks like can be decieving. I bought this game and did not regret it, this game is amazing and so fun.

The graphic style is beautiful and the game gives you much more diversity than other car-based racing games. The power ups are fun and blowing up your opponents is satisfying, the courses are beautifully designed and the game modes are epic. There are tones of planes to unlock and race with and, as well as all of this, Skydrift has online multiplayer!

This game is amazing, I cant think of any flaws with it, you will just have to buy it and see for yourself how epic this game is, you wont be disapointed!

76

Fun, frantic high flying racer.

Rzepak01 | May 17, 2012 | See all Rzepak01's reviews »

This game is one of the more fun racer Ive played this year. The graphics are great, the sense of speed wonderful and tracks long and exciting. I dont really remember that many plane racing games so from the outset its a bit unique. The planes in the game fall into a few categories with ones that can take more punishment and more speedy ones. They control fairly well although it might take a while to get used to flying in some of the narrow areas of the maps. I suggest playing with a game pad because the kb/m controls make the game harder than it has to be. There are few race types in the game but the most fun is also the main feature. A race where you can scrap other planes using numerous power ups strewn around the tracks. There are both defensive and offensive power ups making for a very fun time. The worst thing about the game is that the online population is low. Its possible to find a game and have some fun against other players, but Id suggest getting some of your mates to get the game also.

80

Great

RaTcHeT302 | March 27, 2012 | See all RaTcHeT302's reviews »

SkyDrift is a really fun game, with it's amazing graphics and fun multiplayer it will conquer every player's heart. There are many locations to fly at also racing won't be enough, you'll have to take down your opponets by using powerups scattered around the track.

It also takes some time to get used to the controls, but after it's really fun to play!