Reviews for Assassins Creed III

100

I really enjoyed it!

WestheadUK | Feb. 10, 2014 | See all WestheadUK's reviews »

This game is so beautiful that you won't put the controller down for hours. I got this game around Christmas time and I've been playing a lot every single day and I've being having the same amount of fun that I was having when I first started to play it. The game is full of awesome stuff to do, you can do the normal Assassins Creed things such as climb high buildings and free-run across rooftops at fast-speeds but Assassins Creed gives you access to some other exciting features which makes the game what it is. With the game you have full-access to the surrounding areas around the cities (like the other games) and you can ride horseback if you wish to quickly travel but actually travelling from city to city can actually be fun by travelling on foot as mid-way there are many different hunting locations where you can hunt animals such as deers, rabbits, wolves and even bear.

Let's not forget the ships also, the game introduces the ships into the game since it's set around the era. You actually get to take control of a warship and you take control of the men on-board. You sail out to sea and battle with rival pirates, it's a whole lot of fun.

This game is definitely a 100/100. Assassins Creed have made some changes and have decided to go down a different path with this game, and the changes turned out very well indeed.

70

I was honestly hoping for more

Takeshi_K | Dec. 3, 2013 | See all Takeshi_K's reviews »

Watching the various trailers and gameplay demos, I was definitely hoping this entry would shake up things more. But once again I was disappointed in an AC game.

The story this time could be very interesting and gripping, but bad gameplay mecanics and incredibly tedious game design just bogs it down. Missions that involve running around a small area warning houses of impending troops, stealth missions and worst of all; "listen in on a conversation" missions. It's hard to believe that the developers actually think that it is an interesting gameplay mechanic.

The best aspect of this game is the naval combat. The only thing that would make me come back after I've beaten the game. Not surprising that the next game was exactly that.

80

Pretty decent game!

DarthEaglePrime | Nov. 21, 2013 | See all DarthEaglePrime's reviews »

I actually liked this game a lot. Not my favorite in the series, but it was very fun to play. It has overhauled the graphics and a slight increase in the fighting however it is more of the same. It could have been much better. the multiplayer is where this game really stands out. It is very fun when playing with friends. That is why I am not that hyped about Black Flag where I think it will be more or less the same thing but with pirates. I hope I´m wrong on this.

82

worthy succesor

ruttenmurf | Nov. 18, 2013 | See all ruttenmurf's reviews »

Assassin’s creed 3 is a whole new overhaul of the assassin’s creed franchise. They update the hud and the combat system and a lot more. I personally love these new changes. The combat is much more fluent and not just blocking and countering. I also love the new sea battles it is an excellent addition to the game. Also the game has an exciting multiplayer with unlockables and a good leveling system. The bad part is it barely has any people playing it, at least on pc. Overall I love this game and it is a worthy addition to the series. If you loved the other games you will love this one.

75

An incredible disappointment

predatorpulse7 | Oct. 16, 2013 | See all predatorpulse7's reviews »

I absolutely love this series. Played all the titles before this and was amazed so naturally I was extremely hyped for AC3, even with the mild disappointment of Revelations. I can’t believe how much Ubisoft managed to screw things up with this one. First off, the good: Graphics are pretty much great and unlike others, I had few glitches, soundtrack is ok(though it never reaches the heights of the previous OST’s),multiplayer is still solid and the naval missions are incredibly fun. The bad: -Main character is one of the most boring protagonists I’ve ever seen in a game, made even worse by the fact that he follows one of the most charismatic in Ezio. -The setting does not gel that well with the previous AC outings, there are only a couple of tall buildings and even those one pale in comparison to the cityscapes we climbed in the Middle East, Italy and Constantinopole. -gameplay is even more simplified than before. You literally can’t fall off buildings unless you press space and combat is simplified even further by slowing down during fighting sequences that make it nearly impossible to lose unless you are somehow physically or mentally challenged. In short, there is no challenge even though combat looks pretty cool. -the tutorial sequence is wayyyyy too long. I understand that they wanted to introduce Haytham and young Connor but it dragged on too much for my liking. -the trading system is pointless because you can only earn money with it, money with which you buy weapons and such but you don’t need them because Connor can slay every man from west to east with his DEFAULT weapons. -the ending is one of the worst things I’ve ever seen, it was almost insulting. My conclusion on this game after 2-3 days of playing came after air assassinating a bunny in the forest and gathering my gazzilionth trinket(and there are A TON of collectibles in this game). I started pondering: WHAT THE HELL AM I DOING? Isn’t this a game about ASSASSINS? Why the hell am I doing pointless stuff in the frontier instead of killing important figures in sprawling urban centers? I mean, there were chores in AC1/AC2 and following installments but they didn’t feel so much like chores and they were somehow integrated into the story. The feathers you collected gave you a minor cutscene in the end and there weren’t as many pointless distractions as there are in this game. The game keeps distracting you from the main storyline to hide the fact that it is pretty goddam awful(and that’s saying something as far as AC games are concerned), serving more as a vehicle for cameos for the heroes of the American Revolution than an actual story where our hero undergoes some sort of life challenging journey. Buy it if you’re a fan of the AC series but don’t get your hopes up. Single player has the worst campaign since AC1 but at least the multiplayer saves the day somewhat. A playable disappointment.

92

One Of the best Franchise

danys92 | Oct. 7, 2013 | See all danys92's reviews »

I've played Assassin's Creed Since the beginning, the Universe, The history Is so attractive ! When you play this game you feel really connected with your characters and you never know what to expect. Multiplayer experience is also interesting and different from other multiplayer games. I strongly recomande this game and all Assassin's Creed games.

50

Disappointment Abounds!

Lleris | Oct. 7, 2013 | See all Lleris's reviews »

To put it simply, I expected more. Having played the entire PC franchise up until that point, I expected it to be much more of the same fun with new extras. Not only did they fail to do this, but they actually took away much of it! Whilst you get woodlands to traverse with your free-running, the buildings have all but disappeared. No more scaling buildings the size of the Pantheon and with most (if not all) of your time spent on the ground, a critical aspect of AC is lost. The storyline felt rushed and forced in some places, and it just felt completely disjointed in some places.

And my dear God, the glitches and bugs. Soldiers with no line of sight to me would frequently spot me, the main character would frequently have trouble climbing over what is otherwise an easy obstacle every other time, soldiers would often never lose alertness of me despite me being hidden (they just end up standing there forever with full alert over their heads telling me to show myself and whatnot). Character-relationship development was next to none, unlike the very charming Ezio and enigmatic Altair.

It's not all doom and gloom - it still retains some nice missions, most of which is reminiscent of its predecessors, some of which are actually more fun. Some of the new tools are pretty neat to work with as well. Navy warfare was amazing, which actually feels a bit silly, since it seems like it has nothing to do with assassinations (although this looks set to change with AC:IV coming out).

Overall, the only real reason to buy AC:III is simply to see the advancement of the AC series. In all due honesty, if you want to have fun playing the game, you're better off with AC:II, Brotherhood and Revelations.

My score is actually elevated, since I know I got extremely frustrated with the amount of nonsense I felt I had to put up with. As a result, I felt that someone who was just coming to buy a stand-alone game might still very well enjoy it had they not played the predecessors, but looking in the long line of AC franchise, AC:III felt unfinished and is just a general failure.

You might as well just read the synopsis on Wikipedia and keep playing AC:II+Extensions in my honest opinion. This game really isn't worth your time.

To phrase it all in a sentence: I found the mini-games inside AC:III (checkers and similar board games) far more entertaining than the actual game itself.

If you're thinking something like that, it doesn't bode well for the game.

90

Great game that met my expectations.

fussioman | Oct. 4, 2013 | See all fussioman's reviews »

I truly love this franchise and I played every AC so far. To me this is one of the best parts. The main character is really great, I really like Ezio but Connor is a nice guy too :) The game provides new gameplay mechanics that you will simply enjoy, the story is great and long ! The DLCs give you even more fun and I really recommend them if you will enjoy the game as much as I do. The only thing I didn't like is the experience of lags in Boston (the first city) other than that - the game is fantastic and if you are a fan of Assassin's Creed games then this one is a must have in your collection ! Why ? Because it's awesome man !

95

Nice game.

Lasiu2 | Oct. 2, 2013 | See all Lasiu2's reviews »

I like it. I definitely like it. It has great graphic! I love when game has good graphic. Plot is awesome. I really like Washington'n times. I love idea with DLC's. Season pass? Why not. Not necessary but you can buy it. Soundtrack is sooo good <3 .AC series is getting boring everytime ubisoft makes new part, but they try to make game better and give it more features. They did it. They definitely did what they wanted to. Its same assassin's creed but with new options that makes game more interesting. This game is getting better and better. But still i think i'll get annoyed if i here "next game from AC series is coming soon...". But as long as Ubisoft is able to do games in such small period of time and they are still cool i wont say anything bad! ;D I recommend it ;D

80

Value for money.

Numbi | Oct. 2, 2013 | See all Numbi's reviews »

I have to be honest and say that Assassin's Creed III was not quite as good as the previous titles but it was good enough to keep me playing for the better part of 60 hours! My favorite part is easily the ship battles which turned out much better than what I expected and actually added something new to the franchise. The character is not as good as Ezio or Altair but he grew on me. I hope that Black Flag can bring the series back on track!

84

Assassin's Creed III - review

Neapolis47 | Oct. 1, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

Assassin's Creed III can be considered the chapter more "free" of the entire series. If the actions to be accomplished to achieve a total sync with the sequences of the single player campaign follows a linear pattern based on the ability to achieve one or more objectives in stealth mode, a completely different story are the activities in which you can keep themselves engaged in parallel to the events of the main plot. The very presence of the Frontier opens completely new scenarios that bring the Assassin's Creed series to the gameplay of Red Dead Redemption. The naval battles are among the few elements of innovation "pure" a title that shows, however, to remain well anchored to the tradition of the past chapters. This, then, is a title to recommend especially to fans of the series Assassin's Creed.

78

Not as good as I hoped.

jackmorley | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all jackmorley's reviews »

The game fails to live up to the high standards it has come to set. I was happy to see them branching out of early modern Italy and into the New World, but the change of character hinders the storyline somewhat. The protagonist lacks the charm of Ezio and his great backstory. I'd say the game is worth buying, but don't expect too much.

85

Definitely an Assassin's Creed game.

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | See all asiersua's reviews »

If you enjoyed the last Assassin's Creed games, you'll probably enjoy this one. The fresh new main character is great, since Ezio was a nice guy but got kind of old already during the last game. This time we visit America, the land of freedom! Or, at least, it'll be after you help liberate it, right? It introduces quite a few new mechanics everyone will enjoy, be it an Assassin's Creed veteran like myself or a guy who just picked up this game to try out the saga. The good old hidden daggers are still here, but the combat system has been improved to give you more freedom (didn't I talk about this already? Oh, no, that was American freedom.). It's also a quite long game, so it'll keep you playing for hours on end!

87

Enjoy every moment of playing

Jimmysil | Sept. 19, 2013 | See all Jimmysil's reviews »

Definitely a candidate for the game of the year. You don't play for Ezio anymore but you will quickly adapt to the new character. Connor grew up in the woods and he learned how to use it to his advantage. Expect new enviroment, weapons, combat styles, and parkour moves. It is amazing how easily you can climb on the three or the mountain. You will also spend some time on the sea controlling your own ship. But there is really hundreds of other thing to do, you will never get tired of this game.

95

Buy it.. Now!

damaej | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all damaej's reviews »

So it's been a while since i played any of the AC games. A few months ago i noticed the trailer for Assassin's Creed III. And i knew, this was a game i wanted! ACR (Assassins Creed Revelations) was a game that i was abit dissapointed by. AC2 and ACB was great games, along with AC. However ACR wasen't really that good. It just felt, empty. But I borrowed AC3 from a friend (played it on PS3) and then i knew i had to get it for PC. And i must say, it really is a fresh breath of air. The movements and combat feels more natural. The climbing is ALOT easier. And the story is very rich. I really love the soundtrack in AC3 as well. Its predecessors had good music. But this is the bomb! Let's just hope that Assassin's Creed Black Flag can beat this one!

83

Worth it, but definitely not the best AC

Khaim | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all Khaim's reviews »

Despite the few new features which are unavoidable with each new AC game, it´s still a bit repetitive. Assassin's Creed, nothing less and nearly nothing more. Big improvements on the moving system though, it´s easier than ever to climb everywhere to jump on people with your blade out. The difficulty remains a small issue here. The game is globally far too easy, Connor being able to perform godlike combat moves against large groups of ennemies and kill all of them by pressing ... Well, 2 or 3 buttons. At best.

So, good but not a must-have. Still a nice experience anyway.

88

Certainly worth playing

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all DanJamesStone12's reviews »

This game is refreshing after the disappointment that was AC: Revelations, the movement has been significantly improved and the story is second to none.

One thing I didn't like was firing weapons, of course the reload time is slow- as they are flintlock, but the aiming and firing was just weird and awkward. Aside from that, good game, worth buying.

100

The best game ever!!!!

eitan462 | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all eitan462's reviews »

I I bought the game Including the season pass and downloaded it here, in Capsule, when it was released, so I want to say a few things about the game.

firstly, I received the key to the game one day before it was released, and when the game released day after that, the game was available to download in the capsule. after couple of hours, the download completed and i installed the game without any problem at all!!.

Secondly, everyone must have this awesome game because it is very fun, very Interesting and with new and very impressive graphic engine that adds alot to the game experience.

In summary, there was no problem while downloading or installing the game. the game is very fun and recommended to everyone.

GMG is a Good site to buy video games :)

92

Awesome game

tomdoughnut | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all tomdoughnut's reviews »

Although there has been mixed opinions on the newest instalment of the Assassin's Creed series, I totally believe that it is the best game yet. The new free running system, although possibly too easy, is extremely clean and enjoyable, whilst the new environment that you can do it through is massive, and stunningly beautiful. The new combat is harder than in previous Assassin's Creed games, but far greater, and there is a wider variety of ways to fight your enemies (however I tend to stick to the original tomahawk).

On the other hand there are a few little problems with the game, which is probably why it has contrasting views. The new menu is quite difficult to adjust to at first, and the new crafting/trading system is very confusing, and you don't even get a proper tutorial of how to use it. This is surprising because the tutorial in story mode is actually one of the longest for any games. The only other annoying thing about this game though is when you are randomly launched into the air and then dropped, killing you in spectacular fashion.

To sum it up Assassin's Creed III is an amazing game. The new engine which Ubisoft has used gives immense fighting and great graphics. The storyline is extremely gripping and at times even emotional (in a weird way of course). I think that Assassin's Creed III is the best game ever.

90

Movement and combat - Excellent!

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

The movement and combat in this game surpasses that of the previous games. After AC: Revalations, I wasn't sure I wanted to play Assassin's Creed games any more; which was due to the poor story and the extension of Ezio's life that wan't needed. Everything has been redefined in Assassin's Creed 3, and both movement and combat are amazing. You now have more fluid movement over objects, and the ability to cut through peoples' houses is very clever. The combat is also more fluid and counter attacks are easier to perform. All in all, this game has a better story and a better soundtrack than any of it's predecessors. Brilliant!

82

Fresh Variety!

Plasros | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

For me this is the best Assassin's Creed since the first game. Yes it's simple regarding combat and so on, but the story and game's world is so enrapturing I can't take my hands of it.

70

The New World is a little lucklustre

ConorEngelb | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

The shift in setting to America is exciting. Colonial America is a location seldom visited by games, and that is a real pity. However, AC3 fails at truly bringing the world to life. It feels lucklustre and bland; almost incidental, which jars with the rest of the gaming experience.

78

Good new direction for the series

TheImpZA | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all TheImpZA's reviews »

After finally finding the time to play AC III I must say that I was quite impressed with the whole new 'feel' to the game. Brand new setting, new characters, new time zone. It made me more intrigued and interested in playing the game after a lengthy Ezio Trilogy. The game starts off slowly and I personally didn't mind it as it gave me time to learn more about the characters in the game. The new and simplified combat system takes some time and practice to get used to but it is a much welcomed change. The tree-climbing is a great addition and is integrated quite well into the game. The game is packed with stuff to do besides the main missions and the areas that you visit are large and expanse.

Connor's story is gripping and gets you right into what's happening in his world. Whereas Desmond's story shows development but lacks an ending that the character deserves. Overall I enjoyed AC III but I think that more work could have been given regarding the endings of both characters.

67

Offers new features but lacks in polish

EagiZ | Aug. 4, 2013 | See all EagiZ's reviews »

Assassin's Creed III continues Desmond's journey in saving the world. This time he controls "Connor", a Native American on a vendetta.

The gameplay is good and it offers some new features like better movement, more challenging combat and naval battles.

The improved movement lets the player climb and jump between trees, features that sadly contains some bugs. I found myself jumping down into a haystack while climbing up trees in the "Frontier" area; this was irritating and made me stick to the ground more frequently.

Riding your horse in the forest is often a no go since the horse will often get stuck in trees and can't jump down a 30cm high stone.

The combat is more challenging since you can't parry and kill every type of enemy. Note that the combat is still easy but you need to think a tiny bit before acting in Assassin's Creed III.

The naval battles surprised me, they are really good and entertaining, a real treat. Sure, your ship might be a bit overpowered but who cares, it's a lot of fun sailing and destroying everyone in your path, and I do believe this is more challenging than the land battles (mostly due to lack of parrying I guess)..

The story is good overall and the story of Connor ends with dignity while Desmond's story does not.

Summary: a good, unpolished game with a good story and great naval battles.

82

A brilliant look at the American War

Kyrptoshade | June 16, 2013 | See all Kyrptoshade's reviews »

Assassin's Creed 3, though losing the charm of the Italian Renaissance, is still greatly inspiring to play, putting the character in the setting of the Civil War. The story is compelling, providing more play for Desmond as well as Connor, and having an ending making the future of the series harder to guess beyond Black Flag. The cities in the game, Boston, New York and briefly Philadelphia are again fantastic and provide the same detail and love as previous Assassin's games have, and overall this game is worth playing for any fan of it's play style.

86

The introduction of Connor

jackyboi1014 | June 11, 2013 | See all jackyboi1014's reviews »

Beautiful, strange. The one time 'Nothing is true, everything is possible' game has become something else. Maybe this could be applied to the multiplayer? Anyway, this game puts you on a strictly set path for the mission parts. And I mean it, jump slightly off the course in a chase scene and you de-sync (die). There is a lot of open-worldliness in the frontier and many achievements to go along with that side of the game. These two aspects are practically fractured from one another.

Multiplayer is fun, tons and tons of customization options for looks and abilities. Thankfully there is now a solid counter to the infamously op smoke bomb. You can spend real money to get stuff instead of using legitimately acquired 'animus points'. Bugs are everywhere in single player, I had a bear get stuck halfway underwater near me preventing me from looting tons of loot. I had a cannon ball get stuck in the air with its fast-moving air graphics all around it. The games you can play in bars and such are way harder than its worth to ever play them.

Overall quality is great with it still being very much the same game, a watered down story and a deeper open-world aspect as well as deeper multiplayer. When has this series ever not been mildly annoying? I love having to overcome something, but sometimes its just downright annoying. Worth playing if only for multiplayer. Despite some shortcomings on expectations I still have to say I love this game and got way into it this time around.

90

Brilliant Action Title worth every penny

MattyLB | April 28, 2013 | See all MattyLB's reviews »

Assassin's creed 3 is a brilliant new addition to the game franchise and every minute of this game was Enjoyable, with a in depth story and a Exiting new Multiplayer you will never be completely done with it, 9/10

91

Best assasins creed game!

hampusramen | April 23, 2013 | See all hampusramen's reviews »

You get to follow the continuing the story of Desmond as you will delve back in time to the American Revolution where you'll take control of Connor, 50% Native Indian and 50% half British Assassin who demands answers and seeks to protect his people.

The templars are closing in fast and Desmond and his crew are still on the run and are still looking to prevent the end of the world, so business as usual :).

In the past things are a little more volatile. the game is constantly overshadowed with the fact that just around the corner there is some huge battle raging on as the Templar-controlled British forces close in on the Patriots. So who will win the long fight for america?

70

Not the best one but still good

flani92 | March 8, 2013 | See all flani92's reviews »

AC3 is awesome, but you can't help but feel that the game is unpolished. It has some great new features (the naval missions are amazing!) and the story is good. AC3 also has a good variety of gameplay and a fun combat system (more challenging this time around). But it still comes down to the problem of the game feeling unfinished, a lot of small bugs, missions bugging out, animations, characters glitching and more small things that takes you out of the "feeling" of the game. The worst problem is the performance issues, 10-20 fps in Boston on a medium to high end PC which is really bad. I actually couldnt play this game beacuse of the poor performance (had a quad core 3,1 + a 6950), luckily I was getting a new computer anyways. With a brand new 1000 $ computer i couldn't max out this game, played on minimum settings to get max fps (got a steady 60 fps on low). All in all AC3 is a good game but could have been so much better...

75

Where's the passion ?

MarkDeejay | Feb. 3, 2013 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

For me personally Assassin's Creed III was a huge disappointment. The game starts off way too slow. It will take several sequences (and, therefore, hours) before you're actually able to freely move around. Add to that the uninspiring, sometimes frustrating and confusing missions, the boring, often cold and colorless setting in which the game takes place, the cumbersome way to fast travel, the (gamebreaking) glitches and bugs and there you have AC3. I can forgive the game for the smaller glitches and bugs, sure, because, let's face it, it's still a gigantic game world with lots of activity. But I just can't forgive them for the other mistakes, especially since 100+ people have been working on this game for at least 3 years straight. And now that the entire story has been told, it's time Ubisoft took the franchise in a different direction. It doesn't have to be groundbreaking, and there's no need to change genres, but at least come up with some creative and innovative things for your next AC games. I'm not talking about side activities here, there's plenty of that. Let's make the whole thing exciting again. Don't milk it like certain other franchises (guess that's a bit late since this is, like what, the 7th game or so ?). Well now, on to the good stuff. Yes, AC3 uses a new engine and it shows. It's pretty good. The environments look nicely detailed, as well as most of the characters. Some of the citizens and less important characters still have that low poly look though so it's not all great. Overall, despite the sometimes poor performance, the game runs and looks very well and I can only see it get better with future releases. There's more: hunting is a cool new feature that fits well in this game's theme. You could do nothing but hunt for hours and you'd still have fun. Hey, what do you know; I finally have something positive to say. Naval battles are also a great addition to the game. Granted, I didn't think they fit the theme that well, since your playing a Native American and all (have you ever seen one steering a ship ?), but they were fun to play and that's what's most important. Despite my ranting there were still times that I enjoyed playing this game, but ever since the brilliant Brotherhood I'm growing more and more tired of it with every new game they release. If I had to score this game right now it would have to be a 7,5. Judge for yourself if you can.

80

Could've been heck of a lot better

Stebsis | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

The leap Assassin's Creed 2 made from the first game was massive. AC2 is a prime example how a sequel should be made, real improvements and making every aspect better in every way. I was hoping something similar with AC3, but sadly it's bit of a disappointment, but not a bad game by any chance.

The main problem of AC3 is sadly the main lead, Connor, half native american and half british. It's awesome that he's voiced by a real native american, but unfortunately he's just a boring person to listen and Connor isn't all that interesting. He almost never changes his monotonous voice and he just sounds so bored all the time.

So, you play as Connor who's village is raided and burned down. Connor is directed to an old retired assassin who starts to train Connor as he swears revenge on the Templars who did it to his village. There are some really great twists along the way, and you don't even play as Connor all the time but someone other very interesting character who's backstory I would've loved to know much more than Connor's story.

Graphically the game is beautiful. Forests especially are a great sight and it's so much fun to climb in trees. Snowy areas are nice too, snow hinders your speed and you have to resort to going to trees. The two cities you visit, Boston and New York, are really detailed places with lots of rooftops, and secrets to discover. They're filled with people and the crowd mechanics of the game are superb, there's no slow down at all even though there's probably almost hundred people in the screen at once.

The combat is basically the same from previous AC games, and that means it's really easy. One added thing is that you can take down multiple enemies at once if two or three people attack you at the same time. It's satisfying to feel like a real assassin be you taking down enemies on the ground, sneaking up to them or doing air assassination from the roof.

Story is a bit boring, you don't really feel like you get to know Connor like for example Ezio Auditore from AC2. Ezio's story spanned 3 whole games but Connor's seems to end at this game, and the main story even feels shorter than in AC2. There's so much missed opportunity in Connor.

All and all, AC3 is a worthy game in AC series. If you're a diehard fan you will want this, but it's not as good as AC2 or Brotherhood. Som of the mechanics of the game, and especially story and characters could've used a bit more fleshing out.

95

Assassin's Creed III - story of Desmond continue

crazyspike | Dec. 25, 2012 | See all crazyspike's reviews »

Assassin's Creed III - next part of great game! Desmond as always will get the action ;) Main quest will get you a lots of historic and famous actions, and sea battles are so sweet! This time they give players TONS of side quests, items to find. Multiplayer finally balanced and corrected (stuns and other skills). Graphic and sound as always in Assassin's Creed very good. If you played before in AC - MUST play this, if not then you have a loot to catch up ;)

95

Evolution of the creed

Angeluzian | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all Angeluzian's reviews »

It's by far the best game of the series. Their evolution of combat is something I greatly enyoyed. The storyline is suberb. There are some minor flaws in the game which really annoyed me and made it so I wouldn't have it game of the year, and that is practiclly only the part in the homestead mission "The Fight". Also, the naval combat. is the best in any naval game. Ever.

90

The best of Assassin's Creed series

panz3r88 | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

This new Assassin's Creed is a good action game that contains many improvement with respect to Revelations. The game has a good story and the variety in the gameplay is good as usual with the possibility to do many secondary missions as usual.In this case you will have the possibility to command a ship and hunt. The fighting system has been improved: this time the enemies will sorround you and try to attack you at the same time. In Assassins Creed you can't heal yourself during fights, so you must pay more attention to avoid enemy attacks. Connor has many new moves with respect to Ezio and for example he can perform spectacular assassinations and keep running towards an other enemy. The part with Desmond are longer and more interesting compared to the one of the previous games. Assassin's Creed 3 takes all the good elements presents in the previous title of the series and adds many new feature. The only defect of the game is that some of this new features are not really good, for example hunting become boring and useless after some times