Reviews for Binary Domain

40

Almost the definition of mediocre.

Belgand | April 18, 2014 | See all Belgand's reviews »

It doesn't do anything that hasn't already been done better before.

Shallow, dull characterization and a plot that can't decide if it wants to be serious (and typically luddite "humanoid robots are immoral") or goofy all wrapped in some fairly generic third-person shooter gameplay that cribs thoroughly from other games.

It sure throws in just about everything too in the hopes that a decent game will emerge: you've got the dismemberment mechanic from Dead Space (but without the concept of alternate weak spots that made it interesting), a light RPG system of character customization, selectible companions (with a "loyalty" system that will influence some of the cut-scenes and the ending), some on-rails shooting sections, and most awkwardly of all a speech-recognition system (that never worked for me) for controlling the AI companions and answering occasional questions. Except while they were throwing all of this together they never thought about whether it improved the game or added anything. So it just feels very mashed together.

The levels are deeply linear and the settings aren't anything new or exceptional (slums, factories, sewers, offices, etc.).

The story sort of tries, but again, the mood whiplashes between goofy and overly serious and I found myself sympathizing far more with the "villains" than the dumb, meathead protagonist. The later plot twists range from obvious to ludicrous.

The shooting itself is... decent, but it's unexceptional. If you absolutely have to play a third-person shooter there's nothing technically wrong with it and it will provide about 15 hours of generic gameplay, but you can almost certainly do better.

90

Truly a surprise...albeit a positive one !

EDGE1812 | March 22, 2014 | See all EDGE1812's reviews »

I bought the game here not expecting much from it but have to say this game totally sneaked up on me.The gameplay while being a little generic still is fairly enjoyable and satisfying while the boss fights feel grand in nature and deliver mass shots of adrenaline. The voice acting too is pretty decent which compliments its layered plot.Yeah, disabling mic is recommended as it isn't needed and can be done just fine through your controller/KB.

The game is way better than Inversion which came around its time (and which I bought on release instead of this which I now regret). Grab it asap is all i can say :)

74

Some Review after playing the game

Hi6Na3 | Feb. 18, 2014 | See all Hi6Na3's reviews »

Well the game play is overall fine though the it's better not using your microphone as your mates always responds to almost every single thing from your grunts to other background noises that will give them commands that can cause you to be a burden to them and/or fail the mission

The Multiplayer... well I'm unable to get a game, I was actually looking forward to this. I can't say anything else because the developers behind this are epic bunch of people. Now here's wishing that I could play some multiplayer!

83

Binary Domain review

alratar | Feb. 8, 2014 | See all alratar's reviews »

Well I got to say that this game surprised me! I really, really enjoyed it. The game is an cover-based, linear, sci-fi third person shooter. It have a very nice graphic and music and an interesting story. I don't spoil the story in any way, so don't worry I'll let you enjoy it when you play it. The characters are stereotypical but they seem to be alive. So all in all a good game that I recommend to everyone who loves sci-fi or TPS.

Now I have to touch on one thing that annoyed me a little bit. It is just a port. It is not unplayable but this is the worst port what I have ever seen. Besides that it i's a good action game with a very good story!

75

Fun game with issues

Mandemon | Feb. 3, 2014 | See all Mandemon's reviews »

Binary Domain is one of these games that, while not bad, isn't quite there in "good" category. Yet, the gameplay is fun and it's hard to say exactly where it is so bad.

Biggest selling points of the game are trust system and voice commands. Trust system, while good idea, is however not fully realized. Depending on how much your squad trusts you, certain points in the story play out differently. However, yet comes down to agreeing with your team mates and being a very good at killing enemies. It does not really offer chance to roleplay.

Other is the voice command system. Personally, I never really used it, since more often than not it picked a wrong command from it and squad members seemed to be capable of handling their own.

Now, enemy variety is good and since all your enemies are robots, it offers nice tactical angle. Merely shooting out the legs of a robot does not mean it's out of combat, quite opposite, it will keep crawling towards you Terminator style. Blast of the robots hand? It will switch to other one. Destroyed it's head? It's now blindly attacking it's allies.

Squad AI, while not terrible, leaves something to wish for. Allies will run in front of you and then complain that you are shooting at them.

Visually, game is stunning. Game offers wide variety of environments to fight in and they look beautiful. However, voice acting is not quite there and is downright bad in some places.

Single player is relatively short, offering mere 9 hours of gameplay on medium difficult. However, in that 9 hours, you won't get bored. Environments, combat and action keeps changing. It is quite enjoyable.

Game offers some replayability with it's trust system and how it changes things here and there, but the basic story will remain the same. There are collectables you can collect, but I never really went out for them. They do offer some interesting bits of lore of the game, however.

Control wise, it's OK. I played with XBOX 360 controller, which felt OK but sluggish occasionally.

Ultimately, the game is fun shooter, but one should not go into it expecting too much. It's something different from all the other shooters and will entertain you for at least one playthrough, but can't guarantee more than one.

89

One of the most Underrated games of 2012

RyannHUNN | Jan. 30, 2014 | See all RyannHUNN's reviews »

I heard about the game before and i bought it on the sale, and i have to say it's one of the hidden gems out there in the TPS genre.

The game is from the far East, so that means it's a bad PC port, not as bad as Dark Souls, but bad. The Optimalization is quite good, my old PC handled it very well Surprisingly the story is excellent, which I did not except in this kind of game. The graphics are also pretty good. The game has a 'Trust System' which I liked, but it's not a big deal. You gan trust points at certain teammates if you agree with them etc. and if their trust meter is low they wont listen to your commands. Meh. The game also has a voice command system, which allows you to give commands to your mates with your voice, which is a little disappointing for me, cause as a non-english speaker the game didn't recognize most of the time my voice. Other games handled it very well, so it left me unsatisfied

The gameplay is simple: shoot the robots. That's all. The cover system is not bad, simple as in Gears of War. The boss fights are cool, which is unexpected, these kind of games have boring bosses most of the time.

Verdict: It's a great Sci-Fi TPS game with an interesting storyline. I highly recommend it

86

Killing hordes of robots can be fun.

CrysisX | Jan. 29, 2014 | See all CrysisX's reviews »

A great third person shooter set in the world where lots of robots are used for various things. The story might seem boring at first but as you go on, you will find yourself wanting to know more and how it ends. There's not much info about the main characters and the voice acting is alright but not great. The unique thing about this game is the voice command system which is cool though it's not really accurate and not needed to fully enjoy the game in my opinion. Controls might seem unresponsive at first and your character movement might seem a little weird which takes quite a while to get used to. There are various guns to choose from and killing different type of robots feels great till the end. What I enjoyed most is the boss fights which are pretty crazy and keeps the adrenaline going when fighting them. Overall, don't expect too much from the game and you'll definitely have tons of fun! Hoping to try out the multiplayer one day if its still active.

65

Sheer metal mayhem with tin cans

sonicchaos | Jan. 26, 2014 | See all sonicchaos's reviews »

There's a ton to be said about this game and at the same time there's not much beyond its surface. The story features a cast of mostly cookie cutter characters within a plot that's been done before, although not exactly like this. I don't know if I can explain what I just wrote, but I'll try to expand.

The plot start with an android that look perfectly human. Well, in the future, after some big companies made robots, a convention of suits declared that a robot who looks and behaves like humans is a huge no-no. And through all that, someone decided to call them... hollow children? Seriously, don't ask. The thing is, these things somehow differ very much from their everyday mech brethren's by genuinely believing they are humans. I don't know how that can work out, but apparently it does. Time is not wasted as we quickly find out who the culprit company is that made these... abominations, and we're off to Japan with out main protagonist Dan Marshall and his stereotypical friend Ray Boateng. We find out we're part of a division names Rust Crew, comprised of a diverse multicultural team of special ops, as we meet the beautiful and the most likeable character Faye Lee, who is Chinese, a charismatic robot named Cain and is apparently french for some reason, and two british blokes, one of which is a female, but I think se was supposed to be a russian dude, then the devs couldn't find a voice actor and just said "hell with it, she's a british female." I don't know, it's just a hunch. Anyway, the characters aren't completely unlikable, nor very likeable. I couldn't seem to care much about any of them, with the exception of Faye, which plays a huge role late in the story, for some weird reason. So our Rust Crew is set to find the culprit and arrest him, that being the founder of the company mentioned earlier. The gameplay is basically: see robot, shoot robot. That's kind of it. The robots are interesting, but not that much diverse. They are cool though. If you've seen the movie "I, Robot" it's most likely that you'll be reminded of that. The robots are eerily natural in movement and destruction. I mean, we haven't really seen how these things move outside of fiction, but if you pay attention to this game you kinda assume that it's pretty natural. And the way the metal blasts off of them when shot, it's completely amazing. As such, I can only say great things about the visuals and combat. Graphics are simply outstanding and shooting tin cans never felt so satisfying. However, pump up the difficulty and challenge becomes frustration. Playing tag with huge robots and naming it boss fights? Yeah, that's not fun at all. And those on rails shooting mission from the back of the car? That isn't fun either. There is variety though in level design though, I'll give 'em that. So, the story gets very interesting at the very last part of the game, but the best part comes after the credits. Seriously, the best scene in this game is after the end credits.

65

Solid but feels like it could've been much more

Antix | Dec. 11, 2013 | See all Antix's reviews »

Japan making a dudebro shooter. Would you look at that. It's meathead Adam Sandler and his colorful bunch of international badasses going to kick some robot butt.

Looking at the robots falling apart is oddly satisfying. You get parts flying all over, they continue to crawl toward you if they still function but can't stand and will act erratically if their head is shot. The AI and the gameplay are nothing special though. The shooting itself is just mediocre. It doesn't feel bad but never feels as tight as FEAR for example. The AI is much worse. The robots are often pretty passive and your friendly AI moves on a scale of may as well not be there to downright trying to hinder your progress. There are bossfights and while the bosses look impressive and have some gimmick each time, the fights with them often drag on way too long. The level design is usually quite bland too.

The things that actually make this game above average are its narrative and its characters. Your team has a bunch of different personalities and they're really likable for the most part. Taking Big Bo along is guaranteed to put a smile on your face. Makes you wish you could spend more quality time with them which is unfortunate because the whole aspect of interacting with them in the few intermission areas and building up trust is very underdeveloped. There are also some customization items to improve each character's performance but this is another half-baked area of the game. There are some cool twists in the story and there are also different endings based on how you performed, but you most likely won't get the best outcome unless you know exactly what you're doing.

So in the end this is a bland shooter but has a lot of personality and charm going for it thanks to its quirky characters and the story. Pick it up if that sounds interesting to you.

65

Competent, Frustrating

UndeadRufus | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all UndeadRufus's reviews »

Binary Domain is a functional third-person shooter. Graphics and sound are terrific, and the sci-fi concept of a goon squad enforcing international robot law has some potential. As cover-based combat goes, the game fares quite well, with explosive gunplay and huge boss fights.

Voice-acting is lackluster throughout and just downright bad in places. I've heard worse, however, and it can be overlooked if you're sufficiently engaged by the more shooting-focused elements.

Sadly, things go off the rails early when the game's "trust" system is introduced. This is in effect the Binary Domain nod to role-playing games, wherein your squad-mates will gain or lose trust based on how you approach certain situations. The problem here is that the title of the game is very applicable -- it's one or the other, with little to no middle ground. Keeping your companions loyal boils down to just figuring out their personalities (or reading on a wiki), and then making sure you say what they want to hear. Much of the all-important banter is utterly childish. Through it all, you as the player aren't allowed to have a personality, because you have to constantly change based on who is in your squad. The characters are poorly-written, and their trust mechanics are far too shallow to add anything worthwhile to the game.

Additionally, the combat AI is atrocious. Squad members will wander in front of your firing weapon without a second thought. Oh, and if you hit them when they do stupid AI things, this also causes them to lose trust.

Take out the trust system, and you have a nice cover-based shooter in an interesting sci-fi universe. With the trust system, it's possible to still enjoy the combat and story, but everything soon reduces to a frustrating slog. Since the trust rating of each companion is fundamental and affects the endgame quite substantially, the system wastes little time in becoming an annoyance that, for me, offsets any good the game delivers elsewhere.

85

Solid & Serviceable Shooter

DPbrad | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all DPbrad's reviews »

A fantastic under-the-radar shooter that is undoubtedly one of my favourites of this generation. How the robot enemies react and respond to taking hits and being under fire keeps the entire gameplay feeling fresh, exciting and fluid. The satisfying 'ping' of chunks of metal flying off of robots, and the brilliant mechanic of where headshoting robots causes them to frenzy against their own kind makes battles enjoyable and fun.

The voice-command system is a little clunky and I could never quite get it to work consistently, although it can be ignored (and I would recommend it).

The story is serviceable and actually quite interesting, and I wanted to continue just to see exactly what the outcome of the entire plot was. It contained a few twists here and there which were well paced and written.

The boss fights were almost all fantastic, with a notable mention of the Tsar Runner which is one of the best boss fights (If a little crazy) I have ever done.

All in all, a great shooter with an interesting story and some cool boss set-pieces.

88

Good Third Person Shooter with Good Story

ADUAN | Oct. 19, 2013 | See all ADUAN's reviews »

As a shooter, Binary Domain is probably a serviceable one. I had fun playing through it, and the enemies and bosses that I fought were all a fun challenge to take down. The voice command system was a unique mechanic, although I rarely used it as the AI was quite competent in taking down the enemies by themselves. The trust mechanic was also a nicely implement gameplay mechanic in my opinion.

The story of Binary Domain, which involves a multinational spec-ops team going into Japan to arrest a man who is suspected in making human-like robots was at first glance, seem to be a generic story, although the plot twists that is revealed makes the story actually more complex than it looks.

If you want a good shooter with an engaging storyline, then you should get this one.

100

Game of the Year, Every Year

CoillyZ | Sept. 23, 2013 | See all CoillyZ's reviews »

This game was amazing. It was the perfect mix of Mass Effect, Gears of War, and Terminator. The gameplay is tight, the boss battles are epic, the soundtrack is inspiring; everything fits perfectly. The voice acting is believable, with a story to support it. All of the characters are lovable and the story blurs the line between man and machine. Pick this up now.

80

One of the best stories i have ever experienced!

Roydo | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all Roydo's reviews »

This game, first off, is super underrated and i dont know why. This game may not be my most favorite game but it is indeed a game to remember! lets make it simple with a list of pros and cons

Pros: Story Characters Graphics Weapons ENDING! my God I kid you not you will never expect it! Boss fights

Cons: Gameplay Controls Voice/mic Control Voice acting Multiplayer AI

With all these in mind, i dont care for the controls because i love me a great story! the controls are a problem but u get used to them and sometimes the AI are derpy. The thing i hated the most was voice commands i found myself yelling Yes! and it choosing no lol [and there are a lot of voice command moments]. and i would say my most favorite parts are the bosses they are fantastic! some rage worthy but great and the story is hands down original! or at least hardly used plot Great Game IT NEEDS A SEQUEL! i hope it gets the popularity it deserves

95

An underrrated masterpiece

mcofdiablo | Aug. 15, 2013 | See all mcofdiablo's reviews »

This game looks like an ordinary third-person shooter Gears of War style. But if you are into science fiction, movie "I, robot",and giant bosses, you will definitely love this game. The story is very interesting to follow, characters are memorable (there is even a relationship/ attitude system).

The only problem with the game I had was optimisation - the game lagged a few times.

In general it's a wonderful game to play.

85

Nice Shooter

simodeso | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

It seems the same shooter with an arcade style HUD but i enjoyed a lot playing this game! Even if the vocal commands are totally unefficient (maybe i have a bad pronunciation, but i tried a lot of times only to say YES, and I discovered that you had to say OK) It gives a lot of hours of fun, there is also the multiplayer and there are DLC's. It doesn't cost a lot, if you enjoy shooters in general this game can be good for you.

90

Nice shooter with a very good story

Fr4gHunt3r | July 7, 2013 | See all Fr4gHunt3r's reviews »

Binary Domain is nothing new in the world of shooter games. But the story makes up for that. The AI is a bit stupid (running in your line of fire or straight into the enemy fire) but the fun shredding the robots into pieces makes up for that. The voice commands are a nice litte feature but i turned them off after an hour or so (mainly because it was a bit awkward sitting there and "talk" to the game). The part that makes Binary Domain a good game is the deep and very interesting story (that makes you think about techology and its fast development).

85

Good game

roman9441 | July 7, 2013 | See all roman9441's reviews »

I try to this game on my brother xbox and found out that it interesting game. So i see it discount on the greenmangaming i grab it and play it on pc with my xbox gamepad. Then I'm found out that this is good action game from sega which give me good time. I think the story and decision you make affect how it end was interesting because first i don't care much about the answer i answer to the question but it the end i found out it affect the ending i replay this game again. Good game

75

A Solid Shooter but a (wondefully) Campy Experience

Arcadium | July 7, 2013 | See all Arcadium's reviews »

Binary Domain was one of my biggest surprises last year. Here we had a game with some decent shooting controls, some mediocre squad mechanics, and a tacked on multiplayer function. All of that doesn't matter though because this game was the equivalent of watching an entertaining B-movie with the amount of charm it oozes. Not only are your characters entertaining (Big Bo and the French robot specifically) but the story is just totally over the top in its encounters. You'll go from hopping on the back on a giant gatling gun toting robot to shoot the weak spot on its head to fighting gorilla robots and even ending up in a car chase where a massive robot that doubles as a motorcycle chases you. The game is thoroughly entertaining and shouldn't be missed by anyone.

90

Criminally Overlooked

wiper | June 9, 2013 | See all wiper's reviews »

Incredibly satisfying combat, which sees you tearing your robot opponents apart in brutal fashion; a squad loyalty system which rewards you for finesse and personability, combined with some of the most outlandish teammates you'll ever come across. Far more interesting than the Gears series, this game - like stablemate Vanquish - was cruelly overlooked for having sensibilities that are all too Japanese. Just not enough big, macho men for players to ogle, I suppose :(

An absolute classic of its genre, Binary Domain also happens to run fantastically well and look beautiful on any modern PC. Well worth a punt.

75

Generic shooter with new unique addition

lok0812 | June 1, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

Binary Domain is your typical TPS that sets in a futuristic world. The common gameplay style allow you to hide behind cover and shoot and working with your AI squad members. One unique addition is that player can communicate with your AI squad members through your mic and giving them command. If you stick alongside them the chance that they will listen to your command will increase but if you only using them as a shield their loyalty to you will decrease. Downsize to the game is the multiplayer, it is currently dead and almost none existence. The 2 DLCs of the game can be ignored since one gives the player OP stuff in single player while the other gives skins and maps in multiplayer. Regardless if you are into shooter give this a try but don't expect too much innovation as it is your average shooter.

80

A decent cover-based shooter with great plot

Shav | May 29, 2013 | See all Shav's reviews »

Binary Domain was a big surprise for me. I never expected to really enjoy it, especially after finishing Gears of War series, which set the standards for all the modern cover-based TPP shooters. However, after launching Binary Domain I got sucked into it with wonderful storyline, which kept me interested for the whole playthrough.

While the mechanics and shooting aren't anything new, the game features some interesting stuff. First of all, the whole friendship system - you actually feel responsible for your team members and you get used to them. Second - the voice controls, even though they lack some depth and sometimes my voice weren't recognized properly it is quite fun thing to do while playing. I can certainly see it used in future, in a bit improved version.

As I said, I haven't expected much from Binary Domain, yet I had great fun while doing so. If you can get it in some kind of promotion, then do not hesitate and get it straight away, you won't be disappointed.

90

This game would be a gamechanger...

Supraballs | May 28, 2013 | See all Supraballs's reviews »

If it weren't for the horrendous AI and dialogue. I actually like the story and the robots you fight are awesome looking. If you want a direct comparison, it's just like Gears of War, except with robots. I love GoW so this purchase was a no-brainer for me. It's nonstop action and the best thing about it for me, is it is very short. I think I went through it in 4 1/2 hours and loved it. I loved it so much that I can look past the AI and dialogue. The AI problems are having your own partners run right through your line of fire and not being in decent position ever and the dialogue is completely "bro'd out". Besides that, get this and love it. It's great.

75

Binary decision

eareboucas | May 2, 2013 | See all eareboucas's reviews »

Binary Domain is a textbook case of mixed feelings regarding a game. On one hand, it's derivative and has some of the worst teammate AI I've ever seen. On the other, its story is surprisingly interesting and deep, plus shooting robots in this game is just plain fun. If you can forgive a game that has some VERY aggravating spots, give this a go... if you find it on sale.

94

Pretty fun!

Profoundly_Mad | April 22, 2013 | See all Profoundly_Mad's reviews »

Binary Domain tends to be rather underrated. Most people just assume it's a cheap dime a dozen cover shooter and while it is a cover shooter, there is much more to the game than that. Shooting robots and dismembering them is a surprising amount of fun and you usually always have AI controlled squad companions to back you up, which builds up trust with those squad members which can affect which ending you get as well as how they respond to the player and their orders.

You can use a microphone to give your squad orders verbally but more often than not the voice detection doesn't work entirely right, leading to some humorous results.

Definitely get this game. Underrated and overlooked.

89

Surprisingly great shooter

barniman | March 28, 2013 | See all barniman's reviews »

This game genuinely surprised me, i wasn't expecting much, but what i got was an absolutely fun and memorable game. The shooting mechanics are rather basic, pretty much what players would expect from a cover-shooter. What really stands out in the game is the voice control for one thing, you can give orders to your AI teammates if you have a microphone (it's optional, you can also use the keyboard/mouse) and it works quite nicely. The other thing i really liked was the story, it's much better than what you would expect from an shooter. So all in all great game, recommended to try.

90

Cover-based shooting ain't so bad

Knurek | March 7, 2013 | See all Knurek's reviews »

Had a blast with this one, totally worth the price of admission.

The shooting is nicely realized, weapons feel quite good while going off, and shooting off parts of the robots never gets old. Graphics were very nice, very nice visual design overall. Framerate was almost rock solid, some slowdowns during the second chapter boss fight.

It certainly is quite story heavy, so take note if you have any problems with such games. Story itself is quite nice with that 90's anime OAV feel.

85

Not shabby!

PM_DMNKLR | Jan. 30, 2013 | See all PM_DMNKLR's reviews »

I can sum this game up in a few words: Robocop + Dark Sector + I, Robot. If you don't like the sound of that type of crossover, then this game isn't for you, and likely you're a minority, lol, but that's alright. For everyone else though, this thing is chock full of awesome. The visuals/graphics aren't exactly Cryengine or Unreal Engine 4 quality, but hey, it feeds the diversity. Overall it can tend to be a fun game, very challenging in a positive way, and action-packed. Suit up soldier, you're about to jump into the future and get your butt handed to you by a cog-driven metallic beast world!

90

Great

captainstark | Jan. 26, 2013 | See all captainstark's reviews »

I enjoyed this game a lot more than I expected to. Yes, the controls are a little wonky because it was a console port, but the story is fun, the boss fights are amazing, and there's a lot of variety, from your usual shoot-em-up to highway chases, jet skis and all sorts of other stuff. It's like a Michael Bay movie - lots of explosions and over-the-top action sequences. Best of all, I never felt like I was just gunning my way through wave after wave of enemies. They put enough changes in environment and boss fights to break up any monotony.

87

This Game is Great!

Stezizi | Jan. 25, 2013 | See all Stezizi's reviews »

Don't trust Metacritics, this game is a little masterpiece with a solid and immersive story, fun gameplay and great characters! The gameplay reminds me a little bit Mass Effect 2, and it's full of action with a lot of Boss Fights, everyone different from the others. The only real problem is the porting, not the best I've ever seen, but still not so bad to don't try this game. Really, you must buy this, it's worth every £ of its price.

86

Underrated shooter from the creator of Yakuza!

backslashio | Jan. 14, 2013 | See all backslashio's reviews »

I'm simply baffled as to why this game failed to get the media attention it deserved. Its a solid adrenaline arcade styled shooter with great characters, an engaging futuristic storyline and an excuse to whip out the microphone to dish out some commands or chat to your teammates. The graphics are polished and the gameplay has an incentive to be as destructive as you possibly can, shooting off individual robot limbs never gets old and metal shrapnel flies everywhere during the process! Guns can be modded and nanomachine technology can be added to your characters for bonus abilities

Overall, its a fast paced fun game with a refreshing range of charismatic characters that actually make you care about them - especially 1 particular female!

88

Nice surprise

Lekes | Jan. 4, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

I completed the game recently and I don't know if it's just me being weird, but I really liked this game. It has a very interesting story with twists, good characters and dialogue, awesome over-the-top action and really interesting and detailed robot design,the graphics look good (not the best, definitely not the worst, but very good). Now the thing most people here complain about- almost non-working controls has been fixed with the latest patch. The controls are still a bit iffy, but definitely nothing game-breaking, I was able to complete the game without any problems. It's a solid game, give it a try!

80

Robot blasting fun

rankftw | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all rankftw's reviews »

I was pleasantly surprised by how fun Binary Domain was after playing for only a few minutes. The story centers around a group of people sent into a hostile environment to unravel a the mystery behind something the human race thought impossible.

It's a third person action game akin to Gears of War and other similar titles however in this game you never actually raise your weapon against anything that isn't mechanical. The fighting and cover system are solid and when you shoot the bad guys you can see all the different parts of them fly off as they take damage and eventually become inoperable.

The characters are all well written and meld well with each other. You build relationships with your team mates by telling them what to do using voice communication during battles and also having nice conversations with them when the action has died down a bit.

8/10

78

A mixed bag, but overall good

RickWiz | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all RickWiz's reviews »

The bond with the other team members are not very deep nor satisfying, the shooting mechanics are mediocre to say the least. And don't bother with multiplayer because nobody's playing it.

The good parts about the game is the opponents; robots, however somewhat lacking in variety but the mission variety and the spectacular boss fights makes up for it. The damage models are by the way great (limbs falling off etc).

The story is good and builds up to a satisfying end with a lot of twists.

83

Binary Domain - review

carlyle | Dec. 28, 2012 | See all carlyle's reviews »

Binary Domain wheel all about taking out the dozens of robots of Amada and the Japanese government, these come with a design, or rather a mecha exceptional design and a refined artificial intelligence, able to skillfully diversify the routine attack by the types of units in the field. The game does not push to shoot blindly at everything that moves, but we are committed to try to aim for the limbs of the robot, there is in fact a kind of selective disruption of the enemy, as the blows to the legs or arms, as well as make enemies "helpless" rewards the player with more points to spend on upgrades, both for the protagonist and for the members of the party. Not forgetting that the blows to the head does not "kill" instantly scrap metal, but can damage their sensory centers, confusing them and causing them to shoot at random. Binary Domain suffers, however, the syndrome of the corridor repeated indefinitely, extremely flat, with shell diligently placed as needed and more generally little chance of movement of the team. Do not luck leads to a tedious repetition, but we are truly on the edge anyway.

88

Binary Domain - a game worth of playing!!!

crazyspike | Dec. 25, 2012 | See all crazyspike's reviews »

This is one of this game you hear small talks and that's bad. VERY GOOD game, great main quest, a dose of Humour then and there gives good vibes:) At main quest very futuristic (AI, robots), bout possibly one of those that can happens! Shooter from behind backs, lots of good action. Good graphic and sound effects. Finishing, worth playing, worth price.

80

Great surprise

Lekes | Dec. 24, 2012 | See all Lekes's reviews »

I was surprised but this one! Its a game that is just fun to play. True its just the same as on the consoles which is a shame but graphics does not make a game more fun. Story is ok and the dialog between you and you're squad can be funny at times. Story build up a bit slow tho. You can buy upgrades for you or a squad mates weapon with credits earned by killing enemy's and buy perks at a store which has a little lottery at the end. if you are lucky you will get an random item. When you 'die' you can heal yourself with a med kit or let a teammate do it for you...but they have a limited supply of them. The real fun is in killing the robots, they splatter all over you're screen.... robots part going every where. when you shot of there legs the crawl towards you or pick up a gun and continue firing ....very well done imo. I do recommend using a controller for this one and the voice recognition does not work for me at all, not that you need it. Its a solid 8 from me . Very happy that the game made its way to PC. If you like third person shooters you should check this game out or if you hate robots this game is for you! Shooting robots in this game never gets old!

90

Solid and entertaining

Guardian412 | Nov. 9, 2012 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

While it is a standard third person shooter, Binary Domain is successfully mixing the atmosphere of "I, the Robot", "Blade Runner", "Gears of War", "Terminator" and "Metal Gear Solid". The believable setting, the memorable, even sometimes stereotypical characters with good and well timed humorous dialogues, an excellent, enthralling, believable and long sci-fi storyline, well directed cutscenes and the intriguing detailed world of rises the game above its conventional third person shooter appearance, making it essentially the best "I, the Robot / Terminator" game ever made. One of my favorites in this year. Highly recommended!

70

An average third person shooter

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

Binary Domain starts off with a truly interesting story which becomes a bit over the top near the end of the game. Up until that moment I honestly thought this could be good movie material. The ending did ruin it a bit, but I liked it, nonetheless. The graphics are nothing extraordinary; they get the job done (the faces are actually done very well), and even though the voice acting is wooden near the beginning, it becomes very acceptable later on. Gameplay wise it's just another third person cover shooter, like Gears Of War. There are some on-rails scenes too, so there's a bit of variation, but it still comes down to killing enemies. The squad mechanics are poorly executed; your squad shoots (and kills) enemies just like you do, but I hardly even had to use the squad menu to command them, and when I did it seemed to make no difference at all. The idea behind it was good though. Same goes for the loyalty system. It seemed to make no difference. At. All. So... an average game.

85

Great Third Person Shooter.

DukePaul | Oct. 16, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

I like a lot this game because of this four facts:

1.Enemies are robots and that means a lot of destruction, they blow up in different parts if you shoot them in the legs or arms, but also the bosses, they are Huge, it is an amazing experience to see them.

2.Voice command, you are the leader of a team and you can command them different actions with the voice, so if you have a mic is very immersive but if you do not have one you can use the keyboard.

  1. The story!, I love these characters, sometimes they are cheesy but you need to have a good relation with them and select the correct answers and get different endings for it, this bring a lot of replay value,

  2. The gameplay, is like another TPS like Gears of War but here you can upgrade your weapons and make them powerful.

For me it is a great title from Sega that it needs to be played at least once.

88

much overlooked game - beyond your brown Shooter

mindnoise | Oct. 1, 2012 | See all mindnoise's reviews »

Some may say that Binary Domain is just another Cover-Based Shooter. While that may be true, one cannot cut out the fact how rock solid the gameplay and action pacing actually is (maybe exactly because of that). And it's tons of fun with good controls. And compared to those other 'bown 'realistism shooters'-copies that all look the same this games plays out in a much more interesting setting, with a much more interesting story. In fact this, the ambience and presention, reminds me a lot of the anime classic Ghost in the Shell. Well it's cyberpunk after all AND it's Tokyo. Atop of this, there are robots as big as a house to take down layer by layer - like a tactical puzzle. There are really few other FPS games, besides Hard Reset, that does allow you to do that. Even then, they don't dismantle their enemies piece by piece in such a satisfying way as Binary Domain does. Honestly, how much cooler can it get? For the complaining about lack of Multiplayer, well it's like a self fulfillung prophecy. If everybody says there is no one there, no one will come. There are nice groups on Steam e.g. Binary Domain Multiplayer Players with about 300 members with mostly a dozen people always online. I am not saying this is much but it doesn't have to stay this way. Though I have to admit that the campaign is superior to the Multiplayer experience. There is a Demo on Steam, so be sure to try out Binary Domain!

71

Not bad

dark2025 | Sept. 26, 2012 | See all dark2025's reviews »

Having just finished Binary Domain a few weeks ago, I must say it's a fun game and raises some moral questions in its story, but unfortunately it keeps falling short when the chance was there to be something greater. For example, the robots will slowly disintegrate when you shoot at them - losing limbs but still operating, and only headshots will ensure a quick kill, but there's a lot of repetition of the same kinds of robots that ends up making the feature's uniqueness fade rather fast.

It's a nice third-person shooter with some pretty intense parts that's sure to satisfy fans of the genre. Could have been much better, but still very good for what it is.

88

A sleeper hit?

Cooberstooge | Sept. 13, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

Binary Domain takes your average squad based shooter and flips it upside down, then replaces its appendages with bionic bits and pieces. I honestly can't see why this title has gotten so much negative publicity from the gaming public - being able to command your people with your own voice is something that never gets old. Those of you who don't have microphones need not worry, either - you can use keys to issue orders as well, and the squad responds the same to them.

The story is awesome, and definitely worth more than just one trip through. The multiplayer is good, but at this point is mostly underpopulated. You'll still be able to find a few matches each day, though, and the games are often busy and fast-paced.

The game looks great, and manages to have a style all its own, even with the similarity of how most games interpret the future. I've never once encountered lag while playing it, even though it almost always gives my graphics card a good workout. Sound is fantastic, and hearing your people call out back and forth to one another, and to you during the heat of battle, just never ceases to amaze. Controls are fairly good, although I did have to re-map a few of them due to weird choices for the keys that give orders.

I can certainly recommend Binary Domain. It's an awesome shooter, a great way to spend a few hours, and a decent excuse to go grab that microphone you've been meaning to get.

82

not bad game

jim67 | Sept. 13, 2012 | See all jim67's reviews »

Its a gears of war for the east . If you like robots and games from japan you will like the game. If you dont have gamepad if strongly recommend to buy 1 to enjoy the game. And you have to complete the game 2 a time because the achievements :)

70

Another clone.

maciej2601 | Aug. 22, 2012 | See all maciej2601's reviews »

Fighting in industrial climates in which human conflict was presented with robots. One of the authors of this position is Toshihiro Nagoshi - the creator of the Yakuza series, known mostly Sony console owners. Not too interesting game actually is another Gears of War clone, however, but with a very compelling story.

75

Somewhat fun

xgatto | Aug. 2, 2012 | See all xgatto's reviews »

Game is sorta well done, the plot at first seems to be very good, the whole cybernetic war, and the cannot differentiate humans from robots. But all of this just gets teared apart by awful animations and script. The main character lines are so cheesy, you'll want to play with your audio off. Aside from that, graphically speaking, the game looks alright for something from 2012, something I really liked tho, was the whole killing robot system, you tear their armor dynamically so it feels very fluid always. As for gameplay, I really DONT like it, its just your typical TPS, the same thing we've seen before in the first gears of war, well all of that its still there unmodified. I wouldnt call it a great game, but its certainly fun if you're looking to shot things mindlessly.

80

Surprisingly good

Darkslayer16 | July 30, 2012 | See all Darkslayer16's reviews »

Binary Domain is a surprisingly good game with a decent story and fluid combat. It's fairly unique the way you interact with your squad mates and a few of them are actually good characters. Sadly the game doesn't have a co-op campaign and the online is fairly dead tho.

94

Cool game

satyakun | July 13, 2012 | See all satyakun's reviews »

this game is a third person shooter with unique gameplay. The enemies here are robot, which every type of enemies have their own strength and weakness. It's make us think how to battle new kind of enemies. the voice acting is really great. The only problem is about a strange feeling about control, if you usually play FPS game. this game also have a great storyline about Robotics in our world. A must play game!

84

Surprisingly fresh

Finka_Karfein | June 14, 2012 | See all Finka_Karfein's reviews »

People responsible for Yakuza could not make a bad game. But they overdid it a little here and there when it comes to story - as in Yakuza, some moments are not probable. Apart from this, I must admit I was thrilled to the very end. Binary Domain offers a new approach to the topic of robots and androids. I was worried that it will be a cliché but Binary Domain defends the plot very well. Dialogues are fine and characters are interesting. Gameplay is very similar to what we know from Gears of War but here the port is worse than in the case of GoW. The consequence system works as it should be and affects the ending so the player has to be up to the challenge to achieve the best results. Giving orders is also good but you have to watch your tongue - if teammates flatter you and you reject it, they will not like it. It is also not good to repeat too fast orders. Voice recognition is a sad story because you may say one word and the game will understand five others. Graphics and music are fine, especially boss fights look dramatic. Voice acting was did nicely and it was good to hear characters talking. Multiplayer offers some interesting modes but it does not reward you much, therefore you will not enjoy it for a long time. Still, the game is good for the single player campaign only. I recommend Binary Domain to all players who like any kind of shooters with a good story to tell.

86

Fun and Honest...

kalil | May 10, 2012 | See all kalil's reviews »

The most suitable for the genre lovers. It offers everything you expect to see in a game with these features: fast-paced action with lots of shootings, different situations, humor easy, memorable moments, bosses and a fascinating history and atmosphere much better than most games of this type.

While taking advantage of the basic elements of third-person shooter in place some years ago by the majestic title of Epic (undisputed king of shooters), not content to be one that takes its successful formula and it's all in a particular way just acquiring its own idiosyncrasies. The title serves a fantastic cocktail Gears of War themed Vanquish and SOCOM order system, taking the best references from each of them, and this gentlemen is too big.

A risky proposition that is not without its faults (the incomprehensible lack of co-op campaign hurts a lot), but I sincerely believe that could be forgiven as it is a new franchise, for in its comprehensive set them out a title more noticeable and most important, and forgive me repeat, really fun.

75

flawed port but a solid and entertaining game.

albeenox | May 9, 2012 | See all albeenox's reviews »

An insanely fun and addictive game - the core gameplay mechanic is being able to strategically damage your enemies (robots), and it is a lot of fun to do - especially later in the game. The game is unfortunately a very straight forward and lacklustre port, meaning its very basic and far from perfect, but at least the core game behind it makes it worth sticking to. The story is interesting, but somewhat mismanaged at the end, though the great characters and dialog go a long way to make up for it. Its overall a fun game, with a not-so-great pc port, but still well worth a look.

80

Binary Domain a welcome take on squad based shooters.

IzayoiKagemaru | April 30, 2012 | See all IzayoiKagemaru's reviews »

Binary Domain takes a very Japanese aproach to the squad shooter formula, now you might think this is bad but its not, it's Japanese game development done right, original and not attempting to emulate other games.

This game comes as a surprise specially since its developed by the team behind the Yakuza series for the Playstation and shows that Team Yakuza is capable of jumping genres without loosing their prime qualities.

The story isn't anything "out there" but it is well told and as the name of the game implies it does it takes a jab at the Robotic apocalypse but in a very original way.

The player is presented with a game that tends to cut to the chase by picking up the action early and right from start it pits you in combat, most noteworthy are the Boss fights which require some strategy from Boss to Boss as each behaves differently like a giant Spider Crab Robot or a Robot Gorilla.

Game play is fun despite using simplified cover and shoot mechanics it gets the job done.

You can upgrade the main weapons, purchase ammo, nano machine enhancements and secondary weapons on various vending machines trough out the game, the way you apply the nano machines is interesting to say the least you have 6 slots to which you can apply them and each one takes different amounts of slots, the higher the level and its buff more expensive they are but less slots they will take up and each team member can be upgraded individually.

You can also pick up the enemies weapons including the weapons of "tough" enemies like a chain gun or in some instances use mounted guns.

The game also gives you the ability to issue orders to your team which behaves a bit differently from your typical squad based shooter.

There is this "Consequence System" where the team mates amount of trust towards the player changes their behavior, their opinion of you improves or deteriorates based on your responses or sometimes your actions which potentially leads to them flat out denying your orders and even changing outcome of certain sections of the game.

You can reply using standard button presses picking from a small list of possibilities or expand your communication with them trough use of voice recognition.

A fair amount of words are available to be used both for issuing orders or dialogue responses. Now this actually works better than one would expect, the game has a Voice Recognition setup where you tune and test your voice with all the recognized words but despite this occasionally team mates end up failing to understand you or the game will recognize the wrong words despite this however it can still be considered well executed.

The team AI sometimes acts awkwardly when left to act automatically, however this may happen due to poor player performance rather than "bad" AI where this might simply equate in the AI not taking care of everything for you when you just sit there lazying it out in cover.

Voice acting is spot on for the most part and in the audio effects and music department everything feels very appropriate. The animations both of the team and enemies including Bosses are impressive and hit reactions are very well done, enemy armor breaks away as you shoot it and they will fall to their knees or even be rendered unable to walk and will still attempt to attack you.

Visually the game has your typical Japanese futuristic design style going from slums to skyscrapers and sky ways. Graphics are what you would expect from such game, clean and not over done yet the PC version is fairly better looking than the console counter part.

The Multiplayer though not spectacular it fits the Binary Domain world well, portraying the conflict between 2 of the games factions in a series of team based game types like Team Deathmatch or Domination and it also features a cooperative survival mode.

Players will drop into "last stand" when not shot in the head or destroyed by grenades or mines and can trough use of med kits "revive" themselves or revive team mates.

There's a point system which allows purchasing weapons before spawning and there's "classes" which give you a class weapon and some nano machine skills, these skills can be changed on every class prior to joining a lobby but not the class main weapon and there is a leveling system as well.

Weapon and tool purchases are per life only, as soon as you die they are gone this makes the point system more rewarding as you require them every match for improving your odds.

This being a console port it has its cons which some might be questionable:

-No mouse usage on menus, both main menu and in game. -Need to thinker with mouse sensitivity substantially due to the mouse movement being awkward and appearing emulated from analog stick settings rather than traditional raw input settings. -Game is made with a 16:9 ratio in mind and may cause letterbox effect on certain monitors or resolutions. -There is no text chat on Multiplayer. -Multiplayer uses a P2P matchmaking service rather than dedicated servers and there is no way to force a match start unless 6 players are in lobby.

With 27 hours already put into it I believe it is a must play and there's nothing that could prevent anyone from enjoying this game unless your not a fan of the genre.