Reviews for Two Worlds: Game of the Year

95

Gothic 3, Morrowind, and a ton of Fantasy

yarow12 | July 16, 2014 | See all yarow12's reviews »

This review is only based on single player of the Game of the Year Edition with the 1.7b patch, which includes the Curse of Souls add-on, thus making it the Epic Edition. Be sure to read the very bottom if you used this method.

All I'll say about the multiplayer is that when I tried it last year, the server was empty. Get some buddies to join you if don't want it to be a singleplayer MMO that atleast lets you create your own character (face, body, sex, skin) and choose your playstyle (dualwield, etc).

First of all, the game looks a lot better (HUD, graphics) now than it did when the screenshots were taken. Those should seriously be replaced. Second, like many games that receive patches, probably every video review you find for Two Worlds will no longer be accurate.

Now for the review... I haven't encountered many problems with Two Worlds, and crashing is a rarity. Exploring the ridiculously huge map is worthwhile, but only in intervals. There's so much to see that I have to force myself to uncover it all. Enemies don't respawn, but the map is so massive that you'll encounter and ride past so many it will feel as if they're haunting you. In fact, some will. The reason why the seemingly never ending battles don't bother me, besides the fact that there are explanations for so many enemies waiting for a traveler like you to pass by, is because I can easily choose to ride past them and stop aiming to defeat everything. Just like in Fallout 3, which has completely unnecessary items that can be found just about everywhere, players can waste their time fighting enemies who have no need to die. And the best part? The game allows this. Two Worlds allows you to suffer (more on this later). The dialogue is well done, hilarious at times, and different from what I'm used to. Some people complain about 'terrible voice acting' when really it's the dialect being spoken that bothers them so much. The game 'Zeno Clash' is in the same boat. Some people like its dialect and some people don't. There are far too many side quests available. Completionists will suffer greatly by how much this game has to offer. I'm serious. If you have a problem with not doing every quest a game has to offer, this one will punish you for it. The side quests are interesting, though, and surprisingly add to the story and lore. I have yet to find one that's a generic dullfest. Most of the side quests are more interesting than the few main quests I've done so far. Speaking of which, I've heard that the main story can be finished in less than 5 hours. Harold Faltermeyer did an amazing job with the soundtrack. It's very diverse and surprised me at times. The three classes (Archer, Mage, and Warrior) can be used as pleased with very little restrictions other than the limit of skill point allocations, which can be bypassed by certain NPCs. I've found magic to be the most useful, melee to be the best option especially with its large weapon variety, and archery to be the most limited. Fair warning about melee: Attack, dodge, attack. The fun part is using different weapons and skills. This is no hack-and-slash; back jumping is there for a reason. Fair warning about ranged: Prepare to stand, fire, and dodge an oncoming missile from the enemy you just fired at. This is one of the only two dullfests I've experienced in the game, but only after having used it for so long. Fair warning about magic: Though there are many different spells (I like the system used), it's weak as hell. Truth be told, that may be because I invested a ton more into strength instead. I should probably reallocate those skill points and test that theory out sometime soon. The upgrade system of weapons, armor, and spells are are very well done.

The only real problem that I've experienced with Two Worlds is the inability to ride horses up and down hills. They can only be properly ridden on paths, but can be whistled (called for) on any piece of land. This took getting used to in the beginning, but the game becomes much easier as I learn more about how it works.

There is something about this game that may remind some of Gothic 3 and Morrowind. Anyone who enjoyed them will likely enjoy Two Worlds: Epic Edition aswell.

Even though my laptop isn't made for gaming, Two Worlds runs perfectly fine. Here's my hardware for those wondering if the game will run on their computer: Presario CQ57-439WM Notebook PC Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit Service Pack 1 HD Radeon 6310 Graphics (384MB) AMD E-300 APU with Radeon HD Graphics, ~1.30GHz 2048MB RAM (1642MB RAM available OS memory)

For those who manually installed the 1.7b patch for the GOTY edition, here are two useful fixes from propheet: "In console write: engine.lod0 950 and engine.lod1 1450 Or use the .con with both those lines. Search for instructions on .con usage.

The mouths move, trees look nice, golems etc. have full textures."

94

Gothic 3, Morrowind, and a ton of Fantasy

yarow12 | July 8, 2014 | See all yarow12's reviews »

This review is only based on single player with the 1.7b patch, which makes this version the Epic Edition and includes the Curse of Souls add-on. All I'll say about the multiplayer is that when I tried it last year, the server was empty. Get some buddies to join you if don't want it to be a singleplayer MMO that atleast lets you create your own character (face, body, sex, skin) and choose your playstyle.

I haven't encountered many problems with Two Worlds, and crashing is a rarity. Exploring the ridiculously huge map is worthwhile, but only in intervals. There's so much to see that I have to force myself to uncover it all. Enemies don't respawn, but the map is so massive that you'll encounter and ride past so many it will feel as if they're haunting you. In fact, some will. The reason why the seemingly never ending battles don't bother me, besides the fact that there are explanations for so many enemies waiting for a traveler like you to pass by, is because I can easily choose to ride past them and stop aiming to defeat everything. Just like in Fallout 3, which has completely unnecessary items that can be found just about everywhere, players can waste their time fighting enemies who have no need to die. And the best part? The game allows this. Two Worlds allows you to suffer (more on this later). The dialogue is well done, hilarious at times, and different from what I'm used to. Some people complain about 'terrible voice acting' when really it's the dialect being spoken that bothers them so much. The game 'Zeno Clash' is in the same boat. Some people like its dialect and some people don't. There are far too many side quests available. Completionists will suffer greatly by how much this game has to offer. I'm serious. If you have a problem with not doing every quest a game has to offer, this one will punish you for it. The side quests are interesting, though, and surprisingly add to the story and lore. I have yet to find one that's a generic dullfest. Most of the side quests are more interesting than the few main quests I've done so far. Speaking of which, I've heard that the main story can be finished in less than 5 hours. Harold Faltermeyer did an amazing job with the soundtrack. It's very diverse and surprised me at times. The three classes (Archer, Mage, and Warrior) can be used as pleased with very little restrictions other than the limit of skill point allocations, which can be bypassed by certain NPCs. I've found magic to be the most useful, melee to be the best option especially with its large weapon variety, and archery to be the most limited.

Fair warning about melee: This is no hack-and-slash; back jumping is there for a reason. Fair warning about ranged: Prepare to stand, fire, and dodge an oncoming missile from the enemy you just fired at. This is the only 'dullfest' I've experienced in the game, but only after having used it for so long. Fair warning about magic: Though there are many different spells (I like the system used), it's weak as hell. Truth be told, that may be because I invested a ton more into strength instead. I should probably reallocate those skills and test that theory out sometime soon. The upgrade system of weapons, armor, and spells are are very well done.

The only real problem that I've experienced with Two Worlds is the inability to ride horses up and down hills. They can only be properly ridden on paths, but can be whistled (called for) on any piece of land. This took getting used to in the beginning, but the game becomes much easier as I learn more about how it works.

There is something about this game that may remind some of Gothic 3 and Morrowind. Anyone who enjoyed them will likely enjoy Two Worlds: Epic Edition aswell.

Even though my laptop isn't made for gaming, Two Worlds runs perfectly fine. Here's my hardware for those wondering if the game will run on their computer: Presario CQ57-439WM Notebook PC Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit Service Pack 1 HD Radeon 6310 Graphics (384MB) AMD E-300 APU with Radeon HD Graphics, ~1.30GHz 2048MB RAM (1642MB RAM available OS memory)

85

Better than Oblivion

AkiMatti | April 15, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

Crashes less than Oblivion, the world seems more atmospheric and authentic, running around the world feels better and the battles feel also better.

For some reason, in this game I was more interested in the characters, too, than in Oblivion. It just feels like playing the character since you can see it all the time. Bandits are something to be afraid of and so are the wild animals. Even gathering the flora and mushrooms and stuff from the environments is more interesting than in Oblivion.

This is entirely a subjective feeling since I cannot do a precise reasoning why it is so but Two Worlds just feels so much better. Try it, even the demo, if you don't believe me. And see for yourself.

50

Not my cup of RPG

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

Originally I bought this because I thought it would be like Oblivion. I was wrong. I had already played Oblivion before buying this; which I believe is why I am so cynical about Two Worlds. In my eyes, it's a short sighted clone of Oblivion (obviously it isn't, but its how I see it). My reasoning comes from the poor movement and actions in this game. When you jump, your player moves into the air before doing the jumping animation - which doesn't look great. Plus movement is a little jumpy and haphazardly, not great in my eyes. I never actually got to do any combat, because the movement and inventory menu really did look and feel very poor. I think you have to be an avid fan of RPG games to enjoy this - so you should try it, but don't expect much.

80

Underrated RPG

Oblaque | July 30, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

This game may have had problems when first released, but I give it top scores for being a memorable and engaging RPG. The enemies were diverse, the world diverse, and the "mount" options fun. This game never got repetitive. I've played it twice, and am thinking about reinstalling for a third go round. I think this one got short changed because people compared it to Oblivion. Oblivion was a little prettier, but this game deserves a better rating than it got.

75

An honest RPG

MarcoCav | June 17, 2013 | See all MarcoCav's reviews »

Two Worlds is not an easy game, like it is not easy Gothic. It takes time to understand it, to get a view of the authors and start to get carried away by his fantasy, by its men, dwarves, elves and monsters of various kinds. Two Worlds is not the experience of about ten hours that immediately jump in the middle of the action as an Hollywood film. It's an RPG, and as such needs to be understood well.

95

Gothic 3, Morrowind, and a ton of Fantasy

yarow12 | June 2, 2013 | See all yarow12's reviews »

This review is only based on single player with the 1.7b patch which includes the Curse of Souls add-On. The computer used is a Compaq Presario CQ57-439WM Notebook with HD Radeon 6310 Graphics, 2GBs of RAM, and AMD E-300 APU with Radeon HD Graphics 1.30GHz (Dual-Core).

Not many problems have been encountered in this game and crashing is a rarity. Exploring is worthwhile and makes the world more immersive. The dialogue is well done and different. There are tons of quests available. The music is amazing. The three classes (Archer, Mage, and Warrior) can be used as pleased with very little restrictions. This is no hack-and-slash. Back jumping is there for a reason. The only real problem that has been experienced is the inability to ride horses up and down hills. They can only be properly ridden on paths, but can be whistled (called for) on any piece of land.

There is something about the game that may remind some of Gothic 3 and Morrowind. Anyone who enjoyed them will likely enjoy Two Worlds aswell.

55

not the best RPG

xydanus | Jan. 14, 2013 | See all xydanus's reviews »

Two Worlds is not bad RPG game, but it has many flaws. Some of those came from bad gameplay balance. Last thing I did in this game was creating immortality potion. It was not really everlasting, but i think i'm not playing this game for next 100 years. That was the time what my personally crafted immortality potion lasted. Other thing that made me see red was horses animation. Not really that beautiful.

Anyway it was decent RPG few years back when there was not many options for this kind of open world games. However Two Worlds 2 is very different game and anyone should not judge it after this one.

82

Solid RPG

panz3r88 | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Two Worlds: Game of the Year is a good action RPG. The story is not so original but it's ok. In this game you don't choose a particular class when you create your character but you can choose how to distribute the skill points. The conversation are one weak point of the game because in general you don't have many choices when you speak to an NPC. The quests are quite interesting and they have a good variety. If you like RPG Two Worlds is a good choice

55

Hilariously bad.

AppleMuffin | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all AppleMuffin's reviews »

This game makes me laugh. Honestly the game isn't that bad, but the animations and cheesy voice acting really take it to another level. The story about rescuing your sister is bland too. Oddly enough I sort of enjoyed the game, even through the bugs and crap AI. I don't recommend it but if you want a laugh, have a go at this.

70

flawed but still fantastic

boris73 | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all boris73's reviews »

this is one of those diamond in the rough games. its a bit rough around the edges, but the visuals are stunning, and the world is rich and exciting to explore; you can really lose yourself in the experience!

70

Two worlds review

carlyle | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all carlyle's reviews »

In this Two Worlds us play as the role of a ruthless bounty hunter, arrived in the lands of Antaloor not to save the world, but only to pull out his sister. Well, the similarity with Gothic 3 is absolutely clear, if only for the appearance of your alter ego, and the ubiquitous presence of the Orcs, however, I was pleasantly surprised to see that instead Two Words can deviate from its competitors, showing their own personality cured. Graphics simultaneously offers breathtaking views, with a very realistic rendering of water, mixed with low-resolution textures and visual effects very poor. The combat system is very well structured character not only is able to automatically block the blows of his opponents, but also to resort to dirty tricks like throwing sand in the eyes. Programmers have thought to implement the mount not only for ease of movement, but also for use as a "platform" of attack, unleashing deadly blows against your enemies, but unfortunately it was badly made.

96

Excellent !!!!!!!!!

Bolo | Nov. 17, 2012 | See all Bolo's reviews »

Excellent RPG, one you will love, has configurable keys, like, crouch or sneak, jump, menus + much more. A genius of, magic and fighting graphics, maps, inventory slots + slots for character, magic ingredient system, weapons, magic casting, item values + damage values, has handheld flame torch, quests + skills menu screen. A enormous vast fantasy world filled with humans, creatures + others. A world of pickups like, flowers for your apothecary making system, collect items from the world + from defeated enemies. Has intelligent NPC's, trading, interactions with real NPC speeches, you decide what to say with a mouse click. Brilliant graphics, sounds, menu systems, world environments, weather system, speeches, intelligent maps + quests that will amaze you. A third person perspective (3PS)(TPS) mouse any angle + any distance zoom in and out + keep moving, making control freedom excellent

72

Play only before the sequel

Finka_Karfein | June 5, 2012 | See all Finka_Karfein's reviews »

Because it is a worse game than Two Worlds II. It has some nice graphics (though far from being fantasy realistic like Risen and others), great music with soul, magic and folklore in it, interesting characters - especially the protagonist. At last he is a feared mercenary, not a 'zero to hero' one that everybody wants to beat up. The plot... here comes trouble. If you want to speedrun the game - do not bother playing it. The force of this title is in the side-quests. Take your time to get into the world and do not hurry. And mind you, this game has some bugs even if it is a final release.

80

Two Worlds 2

darkmajki | May 15, 2012 | See all darkmajki's reviews »

Dont rate a game by its title. Although this game has one of the most stupid titles it certainly is not a bad game. A sequel to a not so good predecessor, which had a few bugs, user interface, translate and resolution problem. The story isn't that good, basicly your mission is to save your sister. But the story isn't the game main focus. On the exploration and the beautiful open world. When you feel exhausted from the main quest, you can try multiplayer, it's a lot of fun with friends. You can also create your own spells which is a big plus. There are a lot of weapons to use and lots of classes to choose from. Two Worlds 2 is big graphical improvement from the first one which was released in 2007. Although the game is fun, there are some things which you should consider: half baked alchemy, not so good storyline, and not so good AI, makes this game good instead of great.