Reviews for Tropico 3 DNS

81

Creative, intelligent, and most of all FUN

darksiders666 | March 5, 2013 | See all darksiders666's reviews »

This game can really be summed up in one word: FUN. Because of what others have said about this being a shallow game, I think this deserves a real explanation. I played the game for the first couple of hours, and it kept me really interested, even kept me up past midnight the first night of playing the game. I was a little disappointed at the time, and thought I had perhaps spent too much on such a shallow game. I went back at it later the next evening, and was just taken immediately by the breadth and immersion that the game provides. I really felt "attached" to my island and its people as well as its ultimate development and pursuit of a capitalistic society. Tropico 3 will provide you with hours upon hours of wonderful entertainment ... just give it time to grow on you!

80

just plain fun!

murgo23 | March 4, 2013 | See all murgo23's reviews »

First, let me state that I have Tropico and Tropico Pirate Cove and I think is by far the best Tropico game. I did try the demo, so please know that one is available if you want to check it out before you spend your money. What I found is that the graphics and music are great and if you haven't picked up the game in a while the update does add to a richer, just plain, more fun game. I do enjoy creating my own El Presidente and roaming the city declaring martial law, banning nuclear testing or issuing tax cuts - however I may feel like abusing my power! The game offers many scenarios and feel adequately different enough with varied challenges - but others might like the sandbox play more. Some may be overwhelmed by options but I feel like they did a good job of introducing complexity and if you're not sure and haven't played Tropico before there is a well done tutorial. All in all, i think this is a very, very good sequel to a great game.

78

Nice game

Lekes | Feb. 25, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

This game is loads of fun for those who like any type of city builder game. It's a very stable game and a relatively well optimized one too. The scenarios are great but not always the most challenging. Sandbox mode is good for those who want to have full control over how they shape their island but it seems to be lacking something...The variety of pain and suffering you can inflict as dictator of your island could keep one occupied for hours. Users will get the most out of this game if they select a president and then govern with some role playing, as they probably would govern. The game has its flaws (reliance on XL parking garages, dead slow construction workers, limited map editing, needs more building variety and late game buildings) but it presents an incredible value at its current price and hours of entertainment.

70

Great Town Builder

Wootus | Jan. 31, 2013 | See all Wootus's reviews »

This game can be quite an enjoyable town-building simulator. It doesn't differ that much from previous Tropico games, whether that is good or bad is up to you and how much you enjoyed those games. There are of course some neat additions to the formula, and the graphics are quite good and still hold up to this day.

After you've completed a few missions the game starts to get repetitive though, as there's limited buildings and edicts to actually use and once you've seen them all there's little reason to go back and do it again. There's also not really many different ways of approaching your little island paradise, so you find yourself building the same things in the same order once you figure out the best way to make your residents happy and make yourself money too.

Definitely worth a play though, especially if you can get it on sale. And might just scratch that itch for SimCity fans.

75

Fun City Sim

Scorpy | Jan. 14, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Tropico 3 is as good as its kind of game gets. Graphics are pretty impressive (for its time), gameplay is smooth and easy to learn (pretty intuitive UI) and the music is decent. Tropico has a lot of intricate game mechanics that make the experience great, but it often falters where it should rise.

Tropico 3 is great for a while, but ultimately it becomes stale very fast. If you can get past the repetitive environments, events and features then you will have a blast.

79

Great game, Highly enjoyable.

DonVercetti | Jan. 5, 2013 | See all DonVercetti's reviews »

This game is one that gives into the players wishes. You're left with an island you can build your society on and become a leader of your own taste of your own tropical Island. You choose how your towns and cities look, you set up your own rules and make your own decisions when it comes to problems that occur on your own little island. This is a title that has quite some replay value, I keep on coming back to it to get a little island, name your own dictator and ruin a lovely little island to bits!

80

Good political builder

lachking | Dec. 18, 2012 | See all lachking's reviews »

Tropico 3 is an interesting and engaging city builder with the added element of being a political simulation. Like other building games such as SimCity, you will create structures, roads and the like. The political aspects add gameplay mechanics where you need to win elections and implement various policy types. The missions are fun and varied, with many different ways of losing other than merely going broke: you can lose by getting beaten in elections and you can also lose by being invaded by the US or USSR. The game also has a quirky sense of humour with many different jokes such as the descriptions of some buildings.

In terms of presentation, the game is quite good. The graphics engine looks great and runs quite well. The music is also really catchy and suits the context of the game well.

70

Fun, but lacking

kennedyzak | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all kennedyzak's reviews »

Tropico 3 is a great management game where you play as El Presidente running a small tropical island. It has some really nice features as far as construction and politics go, but after a few hours of play these can become old especially as they game could be harder. You will find your self repeating steps in order to keep your people happy, and their building options are quite small. Overall its a fun game at first, I enjoyed it, but if you have the money I would recommend getting Tropico 4 instead.

76

El Presidente

das_regal | Oct. 11, 2012 | See all das_regal's reviews »

This game has a very steep learning curve. It's hard to figure out what's going on, what you are supposed to be doing, and the flow of things. Once you get the hang of it however, this is a robust nation sim that gives you the full flavor of politics. I especially like the re-election angle and the silly foreign policy decisions they have you make.

When the game starts you get to make your own leader. Whether he/she is a military dictator, a communist, or a "man of the people" there are benefits and drawbacks that will carry into your game and create unique challenges for you to struggle with and (maybe) overcome.

One of the best parts about Tropico 3 is the music. It is incredible.

80

Go For Gold

ROKET | June 30, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

This game is great but is even better if you go for the Gold Edition which goes on sale all the time. It comes with the expansion Absolute Power and expands on the buildings and other aspects of the game.

This game by itself is both hilarious and fun but may lack content compared to other games and the gold edition. Visually the game is nice and has great lighting but can be inconsistent with textures.

I still, however, vouch for this game and say that you'll be entertained for a good couple of hours at least trying to get your islands up and running.

Recommended but go for gold.

70

Enjoyed it.

arkantos | May 21, 2012 | See all arkantos's reviews »

I usually don't play managements games but this one kept me busy for a few hours of fun, i could say i found this game being similar as Tropico 4, if not even better, everytime i play it i dream about being leader of a tropical island far from the other country problem, with my own rules and decision, if you have a chance to get this game do so, cause it's worth the money.

70

Can be very fun, but mostly too easy.

Xonus | Aug. 24, 2011 | See all Xonus's reviews »

The game is really fun at first, with amusing humor, a nice setting, and even nice music. The gameplay consists of reaching specific goals without being hated too much (and thus voted against by the majority), or without your entire population dying.

The game looks beautiful, and has plenty of elements in it such as different factions, citizen happiness and thoughts and wants, the different edicts, the US and USSR influence, and all the different buildings and ways to make money.

However, the game simply gets too easy in a lot of the missions. The time they give you to do them is far more than enough, and in some of them it's just hard to lose. In one mission all that's needed to win is set up a couple of mines, and just wait until you earn the needed money. I tried to see what happens if I destroy any building I can in the beginning and build just statues (which is pretty amusing), and it took more than a few years to finally face some negative consequences (and I wasn't even voted out, the citizens died of hunger).

Some missions CAN get challenging though, and the city building aspects themselves are pretty fun. It's nice seeing your island flourish or just to design it in a way you like.

90

Alot of fun being "El Presidente"

Bertolli | Aug. 16, 2011 | See all Bertolli's reviews »

I have to say out of all the builder sandbox games I have played this is my favorite. The ability to control your own island nation from its government to farmland is crazy fun. The game has a campaign similar to most builder games where you have to complete certain objectives by a certain time period. Which is all fine and dandy but the game's core gameplay I believe revolves around the open ended "sandbox mode" where you can do whatever you want and not be tied down by objectives. So whether you enjoy being a glorious benefactor to your people or cruel dictator tropico is worth a buy.

75

Tropico a fine game, but it has problems

virtualflyer | Aug. 12, 2011 | See all virtualflyer's reviews »

Tropico 3 is really fine, I played the game for some hours without any problem. Surely it's well designed, it has stunning graphics for that genre of game, not very serious, but very nice to see, the gameplay is well balanced, but I find it a bit difficult for beginners. Nothing to say, nice game, it should only have less bugs. Else, it could have been a 80-85.

100

El Presidente here is your Island

killerofear | July 31, 2011 | See all killerofear's reviews »

Good morning Tropico this is juanito. That is something you will hear one this game. You are in control of your own island. You can place any building you want and make the economy how you want it. For example you can have an economy based with tobacco. Or a military one where everyone hates you but cant go against you haha. The United States and Russia could both attack you also if they start to dislike you. By far one of my favorite parts is the dlc absolute power. With that you can kill Juanito. And trust me play this game and you ill want to.

85

Excellente!

rubonx | June 24, 2011 | See all rubonx's reviews »

After initially purchasing and playing this on a console and enjoying i thoroughly, I had high hopes for the PC version. The game looks great and has a soundtrack that will set you dancing around whilst playing. The missions ease you in and the option for freeplay or god mode just add to it. It would be nice if there were some online competitive mode, but with Tropico 4 just around the corner who knows?

84

Great Simulation Game

drakaenae | May 29, 2011 | See all drakaenae's reviews »

Tropico 3 is a great simulation/strategy game. It is a great city builder with good graphics, good music and some humor. It also also somewhat historical based. It allows you to experience how a leader can change an island into a utopia or dystopia.happy.

The only problem I have with this game is the repetitiveness. After playing a few games from the campaign, when you get the hang of the game, everything you do would be the same; the campaign starts off challenging because you aren't used to the gameplay.

Overall, I would say this game is worth playing but if it had more variation in gameplay, the game would be much better.

80

Take a role of a 'presidente'

satyakun | May 24, 2011 | See all satyakun's reviews »

This game is good! Such campaign will tell you how to build your own 'paradise'. How to manage the run of your island production is also challenging, followed by some objective that some time make you thinking..

The music is good, its like having an classic music inside your computer. the voice actor is very good too, come together with the radio that cant make me stop laugh. For you who like management game and sims-like, i'll recommend this one very much. try it.

85

Tropico is one of a kind!

Andyman | April 26, 2011 | See all Andyman's reviews »

Being an absolute ruler has its advantages, especially in Tropico! The good and bad parts of this game reside in the economy. You really have to balance your spending and how much your island is making. Every month in the game you will receive an amount from both Russia and the States, and if you go into debt, you will start receiving less from your supportive countries. This game really makes you think how much effort and trouble go into an economy. It can REALLY get frustrating at times when your trying to meet quotas, and also trying not to go into debt. But once you get the hang of your little island economy you can REALLY start doing some fun things!

90

Tropico is fun

dottore_46 | April 13, 2011 | See all dottore_46's reviews »

This is one of last year's surprises. I've never played to the tropico saga before, but this game is just pure fun. The graphics are beautiful and colourful, but the best technical point of the game is the radio, where the presenter updates you about the status of your little country with the rythm of caribean music. The gameplay is really polished, overcoming other city biulding games such as as cities Xl, but not reaching the sophistication of Simcity 4. However, the amount of fun and references, such as El Presidente's Swiss bank account, will keep people playing and happy.

77

El Presidente! We need you!

Truegamer | April 7, 2011 | See all Truegamer's reviews »

To be frank i was unsure if i was going to enjoy the Tropico game, over the years I hadn't heard much about it outside its seemingly cult following, however over christmas when one of those oh so tempting sales take over your senses and your wallets (we have all been there) i thought id take a chance and dive in, and in all honesty im glad i did, the strategy aspect is very entertaining and well constructed, developed and logical, it has the ability to test those with more stratigical knowledge but at the same time with different options be relaxed enough for those who just want to have a fun time ruling over the country.

If asked whether i'd recommend it in all honesty i would say yes, there is plenty of replay value and can be enjoyed for a few days every few months, personally i don't often have the urge to dive into the game but those who love strategy its a must have, for those who love these or other similar sim/strategy orinated worlds with a combination of city building then its more than worth the current £14.95 price tag, for those who are unsure i would still recommend it on the next sale comes around, as who knows it might well surprise you!

90

Good Morning Tropico!

ElMundo | April 5, 2011 | See all ElMundo's reviews »

With turning from 2D to 3D graphic Tropico gains absolutely new quality - very good game becomes an excellent, real time strategy with tons of humour and unique climate. A world of banana republic immersed in strong, hot sun is encouraging to next visits as soon as possible. Don't ask - simply buy!