Reviews for Sonic the Hedgehog 4 : Episode II

85

Good old fashioned Sonic

Pit_52 | Sept. 10, 2014 | See all Pit_52's reviews »

As always Sonic didn't disappoint. Episode II is in some ways far better then Episode I, at least music and slightly improved graphics. This game is for totally everybody. Kids, adults, whole families. For younger players it will be memorable beautiful adventure, for grown up person just another tremendous nostalgic piece of sonic art. If you enjoyed previous episode, you'll fall in love with that one, or at least you'll gonna enjoy it the same way as before, depends on personal taste for sonic franchise. WARNING: Right before starting the game, remember to fasten your seatbelts, it's not ordinary side scroller you know, it's really fast stuff.

60

A honest try

re_watanabe | July 5, 2013 | See all re_watanabe's reviews »

Sonic 4 Episode II is not a bad game. However, it is not exactly what we were waiting for. Obviously, it is the game that is closest to its golden era (the first two Sonics), but it still holds a strange DNA from previous chapters. Sonic isn't as fast as he was before, the gameplay lacks precision when needed and the aim system fails too much. The graphics are nice, but nothing impressive. It's a good game for Sonic fans, but if you're looking for something that convices you to become a Sonic player, I recommend Sonic Generations first. PS: Play with a good controller (X360, for example). It's really annoying to play with a keyboard.

95

Modern-day, old-school and awesome!

PM_DMNKLR | Feb. 5, 2013 | See all PM_DMNKLR's reviews »

As has been said, way better than STHH4:E1, and in all the right ways too. There's better physics, better character design, better visuals all-around. You name it, it's better, and most of all... it's fun!!! Don't forget to let your kids play too, lol.

85

A very good improvement

Cavalieroscuro | Jan. 22, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

If you didn't like Episode 1, well, Episode 2 is completely a brand new game. The graphic side has been revisited and now is very good, there's a cooperative mode that's funny to play, the game now is FAST, and this is fantastic, a tryly Sonic sequel. And if you have the first game on the same platform you buy the second episode, you can use Metal Sonic from Sonic CD.

90

The Sonic 4 You've Been Waiting For

CrimsonWizard | Dec. 26, 2012 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

Sonic 4: Episode 2 takes place very shortly after the conclusion of episode 1, but it's clear in those few minutes that things have changed radically. Thankfully for the better! Episode 1 had the bones of something good, but clearly had too many faults and quirks to be a true Sonic 4. Sonic Team clearly looked at all of the complaints and suggestions and crafted together something amazing.

First and foremost, the physics and actual gameplay are vastly improved. When you move Sonic in this title, it actually feels like Sonic with plenty of fluid speed. You also have Tails helping you out this time, allowing for 2 player co-op. Or for those in single player, you can use him like an ability button to fly up and for combination moves, kind of like how Diddy Kong works in Donkey Kong Country Returns on the Wii.

Level design and theme is another firm improvement in this game. Unlike the previous episode which mostly copied or paid homage earlier Sonic games, Episode 2 uses mostly new locations for it's 2D fun along with new mechanics such as a level dedicated to tilting platforms or running along the sides of a wall. There are some callbacks to older games such as with the Sky Fortress stages and the Special Zones being based off of Sonic 2, but this time it's balanced out with new locales, and the bosses are all brand new and fun to fight this time.

The game is a lot prettier too with one of the weird quirks of Episode 1. When you run through the Slyvania Castle Zone, you'll be amazed at the beauty and detail that went into the level. While it's not quite on the level of Trine 1 and 2 in terms of graphics, it definitely looks great, even as you zip by at full speed.

The music is even a step up from before, with plenty of memorable tracks that would fit in with any of the old Sonic games.

And heck, for those who want more, owners of Episode 1 received a bonus mode here with Act Metal, letting you play as Metal Sonic himself and trying out some of the Episode 1 levels, but with the new physics engine and tougher hazards.

If my previous points did not make it clear, I'll spell it out. This is Sonic 4, the real one, 2D Platforming goodness and all. A lot of heart and care went into this one, and it feels like they addressed every problem with the first Episode. Actual new levels, better control and physics, wonderful graphics and music, Tails for fun flying, challenging bosses, and a good amount of gameplay hours. A fantastic title, and who knows, if you purchase this, there might be goodies waiting for you in Sonic 4: Episode 3.

80

Way better than Episode 1

kairegister | Nov. 30, 2012 | See all kairegister's reviews »

If you played Episode 1, you probably noticed bad graphics, bad physics, bad level design, bad music, the whole dang game is just bad.

Episode 2 however tried much harder. The game looks fantastic, and the physics is there this time. When you jump while running, you cant just stop magically in midair by letting go of movement. There's 4 zones with 3 acts each, followed up by a boss fight. Some levels has gimmicks using tails as a partner, where he helps you fly around or swim around, or go into a superball, or tails will fly a plane for you.

If none of this convinced you. Let me say this. Beating Episode 1 for me was a chore, i did not want to do that. but with episode 2, i actually went back to get the 7 chaos emeralds, collect the red ring in each act, get the steam achievements.

80

Way better than Episode 1

brandonl | Nov. 25, 2012 | See all brandonl's reviews »

10 seconds into this game, i noticed the graphics were actually good. and when i jump while running, i dont suddenly stop in midair if i let go of my movement stick.

There are 4 acts with 3 levels and a boss, then the final zone. The level designs are pretty good, tails is actually useful. Physics is great, levels are lengthy (around 2 minutes at least). Time trial for every level to compare records. multiplayer.

Episode 1 was so bad where i didnt even want to finish the game. Episode 2 however, i wanted to finish the game, and now i want to get all the chaos emerald and the red ring in every level.

Also: Xbox360 controller works perfectly if you're wondering.

85

This is the real episode 1

panz3r88 | Sept. 13, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Sonic The Hedgehog 4 Episode 2 is the game that brings the fantastic Sonic gameplay of twenty years ago in 2012 and cancels completely the bad episode 1. This time the graphic and the music is amazing. The introduction of Tails allowed to introduce some original gameplay elements that consist in actions where Sonic and Tails cooperate to avoid obstacles and fight enemies. This time the boss fights are amazing, in particular the fights against Metal Sonic. For me the last two level are really amazing like the old ones of twenty years ago

67

Better then Episode 1 does not stack up to the classics

croze343 | June 1, 2012 | See all croze343's reviews »

Average game but if you're dying for a classic sonic game such as Sonic 3 or Sonic & Knuckles look for Sonic CD. This game forces CO-OP gameplay between Tails and Sonic rather then Tails being an alternative co-op game play. Somehow they haven't figured out that we wanted the physics from the classic games because they haven't implemented it yet. So if you haven't get sonic CD before this one, otherwise try the Demo before you buy.

Game is a lot better with 360 controller.

75

Large improvement on Episode 1

Wormy | May 22, 2012 | See all Wormy's reviews »

Episode 1 was a mess when it came out, no dancing around it. Thankfully Sonic Team have learnt from there mistakes and created a decent addition to the 2D Sonic games. Gameplay is as always with the addition of some double team moves between Sonic and Tails. They don't really add a whole lot to the game and they seem like an excuse to shoehorn Tails in there. The music is fantastic, sounds like it has been pulled straight from the 90's. There's a reason this is called "Episode 2" and not Sonic 5, it's a short game with only four zones. I'd say pick it up on sale if you're a fan of the series. If you're not a fan, stay away. There is nothing revolutionary going on here.

87

Back to the origins!

kalil | May 10, 2012 | See all kalil's reviews »

Sonic returns to the origins, who saw him run on Megadrive, with the second episode of its fourth adventure numbered where reunited with Tails and with old enemies as their particular nemesis of metal (Metal Sonic). Retains the essence playable 2D which characterized the series since the 90's. It is preserved so that pleasure SEGA arcade to devise short but intense phase, where the speed of our hedgehog invites us to complete levels as quickly as possible, finding the best routes to achieve the highest score. Finally, like the sonic games, this will not be the exception because of its features so similar to previous games