Reviews for Waveform

80

Acquired Taste

34243 | Dec. 25, 2013 | See all 34243's reviews »

Personally this game didn't do a lot for me, but i'm not really the type of person that enjoys these type of games. It is a score attack game where you try to collect most points in the shortest time possible. To it's merit it's control's really well. It's fluid and very responsive and the background music is great. If you enjoy these games you will definitely get a lot of fun out of it.

68

Quite good, while not immediate

thresher3253 | Oct. 12, 2013 | See all thresher3253's reviews »

Not a must for a puzzle/casual game, but Waveform flows like a charm and is capable to entertain without being too much complicated and difficult, if you're not the type that aim to 100% completition. Graphics are fine, ok-ish at most and soundtrack isn't really catchy as it should. Worth the low price, after all.

82

Can't get any better!

DanielZo0 | June 11, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

Indie games don't get better than this! Waveform launches you into space on sine wave which you can increase the amplitude and frequency by means of travel. Ride the wave while avoiding objects and collecting light particles is what it's all about. There are at least eight stages around a planet, plus the ability to post your high scores on the leaderboard. Each stage of the game gets progressively harder as you strive to unlock achievements and complete each 'wave' perfectly. The developers check the Steam forums on a regular basis and listen intently to everyone's suggestions and are constantly improving gameplay. There is even downloadable content available. It's reasonably priced and a great game to own.

82

A Nice Game for $7

crispy52 | June 7, 2013 | See all crispy52's reviews »

The game is nothing short of a fantastic casual experience filled with colorful visuals and a pretty amazing soundtrack. The concept is pretty cool in the way that you are told to change the waveforms of the map to collect orbs of goodness while avoiding the death contraptions. It is a very good game for those that would generally enjoy fighting it out and working towards perfect scores. Something that is generally very difficult to accomplish based on the concept that takes some time to get use to. The game lacks in a sense that it is rather short. I mean i only put about 30 minutes into the game and i am already halfway through. I'm questioning if it is about a 1 hour long game. Don't get me wrong, it is definitely a nice game to jump right into and play 1 or 2 levels of, but once you get a hang of the game, it is generally easy to play. The real question is, will $7 be worth a game that you could probably complete in 1-2 hours?

70

Lovely concept.

overburning | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all overburning's reviews »

A very simple game where you control your way through the level using sine (or cosine) graph. It has very little to do with maths however, just a very novel mechanic that is quite elegant in its execution. A simple drag of the mouse manipulate the wavelength and the amplitude, which can get quite difficult given the constant time pressure and obstacles through the level. The levels are short, making it ideal for a 5-10 minutes play section, though it can be quite easy to just keep playing. All in all, an addictive little game with a novel concept.

81

Fun and quirky

NeoXTrggr | Nov. 13, 2012 | See all NeoXTrggr's reviews »

I remember my friend telling me about this game and then playing the demo. I bought this on Steam and I will say its a fun puzzle game. The controls work great and the music is nice. Graphics are interesting and runs fine on my 5 year old laptop.

Pick this up if you want a interesting puzzle game!

80

Original simple game

oginer | Nov. 13, 2012 | See all oginer's reviews »

The game mechanics are very simple and straightforward, but it becomes a very challenging game, with enough small additions to these mechanics as you progress the game to keep you interesting. After you complete each planet you get access to an infinite random mode of that planet, with leaderboards, so the longevity of the game greatly increases. Getting 100% completion is also extremely hard and challenging.

Graphically it's nothing special but it's very polished and nice to the eyes. The music can get a bit repetitive and boring, though.

Overall a very good casual game.

79

Challenging and fun

panz3r88 | Sept. 14, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Waveform is a very fun game. The idea of the game is simple, you must drive a ball along a light wave in order to avoid the enemies and obstacles. In the game you must change the shape of the wave moving the mouse and sometimes you must manage to collect other light balls and reach the 100% completion in each level. The game is quite challenging and there are many levels, after many hours it remains fun because you will still find new fun elements

87

Brillant casual "music" game.

curta | Sept. 11, 2012 | See all curta's reviews »

Waveform is a fantastic casual game filled with colorful visuals and retro-symphonic soundtrack. Based on the concept of change width and modulation of a path of light to collect good items avoiding the evil ones offers an addictive gameplay experience. The downside is about the control method that is hard to manage at first till you'll be used to. Going on the game will soon become challenging and offers a good replayability. In conclusion Waveform is a really entertaining game that I must advise you!

90

Simple Concept, Stellar Execution

Tuttlebat | Aug. 29, 2012 | See all Tuttlebat's reviews »

This game has an incredibly simple premise and seems like a casual, leisurely-paced game at first glance, but once the game mechanics are introduced, it becomes clear that this game is quite challenging. The developers of this game have taken something simple and executed it very well. It is definitely one of those games that is easy to learn, yet hard to master. The first few minutes I started to get the hang of the game and thought that it would be no problem. However, as I went on, I realized just how hard the game can get. It can even get somewhat stressful at times, but the game's amazing soundtrack keeps you from becoming too frustrated. If you're taking a look at this game and think that it might be something you enjoy, you will find nothing short of a great and unique experience.

80

Unique experience

Wormy | May 20, 2012 | See all Wormy's reviews »

Based on screenshots of this game I was expecting a side scrolling shooter but what I got was definitely much more unique and enjoyable. Using your mouse you alter the wavelength and amplitude of the wave in order to collect items and avoid hazards. When I first started playing I struggled with the controls for a few minutes but once you get your head around them the challenge comes from the slew of mechanics and devious level design. The soundtrack is also incredibly catchy! This game is a must for anybody wanting a game like nothing they have played before.