Reviews for Warlock: Master of the Arcane

80

Fantasy Civilization.

Furrek | Aug. 28, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

If you could as short as possible describe Warlock: Master of the Arcane, "fantasty civilization" would fit perfect. I can say this game is a must buy for Civilization fans. Somehow it feel like you are playing a mod for Civ5, but don't get me wrong, it's a good feel. Warlock: Master of the Arcane is really an addictive game. If you ever found yourself playing a turn-based strategy game for whole day or/and night, you experience this on again while playing this game. What I can complain about this game is difficult level - only when playing on highest setting you feel like you can have some challenge. On something easier you will get bored quickly and see that AI in Warlock is not a best one. Anyway, I think this is a must play for turn-based strategy games or Civilization games fans. You won't regret buying this game.

86

If you want a game like Civ, look no further!

884okeoJ | July 2, 2014 | See all 884okeoJ's reviews »

Warlock: Master of the Arcane is a fantastic strategy game that is easily accessible to new players, as well as rewarding to veterans. The hex based land and "spell" research will be instantly familiar to anyone who has played any of the Sid Meier Civilization games. The main difference between this and Civilization is the lesser focus on keeping your citizens happy and city management as there is in the latter game. Warlock is more about exploring and taking portals into other worlds than anything else. The graphics of Warlock are fairly good, and the music is excellent. For any strategy fan, old or new, Warlock: Master of the Arcane is an excellent game.

80

A great strategy game.

Chack | Jan. 27, 2014 | See all Chack's reviews »

Warlock is a cool turn-based strategy, sort of like Civilization V (actually a lot like Civ V) but in a fantasy world. It doesn't exactly do anything new, but what it does it's enough to entertain you for a while. Also this game is played better in multiplayer, with friends or with complete strangers it doesn't matter. although the AI is not bad as far as I could tell so single player is not bad either.

If you enjoy turn-based strategy games this is a good game to have, but beware, if you actually play Civ V and you are looking for something different, remember this game is very similar in terms of gameplay with a few new stuff like spells and some magical units.

88

A World of Magic

xiluxpain | Jan. 13, 2014 | See all xiluxpain's reviews »

Warlock Master of the Arcane is a turn-based strategy game, much alike Civilization. For those familiar with Civilization, you will easily find yourself in a situation where you need to out-learn your opposition.

The key factors of this game are respectively food, mana, gold, and research. Excess food goes into gold. Mana is used for spells. Spells are obtained through a selection in your research. The more powerful the spell, the longer it takes.

You can deal with AI or other players and trade spells. With that said, this game is much more fun if played with at least one other person. But the downside to this is that you will need to take turns, and mid to late game, you will take quite a long time per person. Most players you should play with is around 3 or less.

There is no limit to the number of cities you create. In fact, each city will grant you bonuses. There is no penalty to cities what-so-ever. This is simply a game of rapid expansion, and out-do your enemies.

Although there is no method of permanent alliance, you can win the game without destroying everyone else. At a certain point, there is a spell you learn and cast in order to achieve victory with your friend(s).

This game is great for those who love warfare and magic. You will have random events and at points be devastated by neutral NPCs and random monsters spawning. The game is constantly changing with a huge randomly generated selection of maps.

This title is worth the money, and definitely a challenge at the highest difficulty regardless of whether or not you have allies.

85

Awesome turn based strategy

drakso | Dec. 16, 2013 | See all drakso's reviews »

Have you ever wondered what would it be like to play civilization in a fantasy setting? Well this is the closest you would get. Warlock: Master of the Arcane is a turned based strategy game made by paradox. If you are familiar with paradox games you would run across the usual paradox characters but if you are not, its a great place to experience the magical creatures of Ardania. The game has acceptable graphics and a very good art style. The time between turns is not too long and the movement and fighting plays very good. I would like to mention that the game does not have a story so you can only play on skirmish maps. Overall the game is very good and I would recommend it to any gamer that likes turn based strategy games.

76

Back in time

MarcoCav | Oct. 3, 2013 | See all MarcoCav's reviews »

Playing Warlock is like going back to the time of turn based strategic. It is a product without too many ornaments, which relies entirely on the ability to manage resources and troops. Too bad that the AI, which is not very shrewd, otherwise it would have been a masterpiece.

87

Magic, fantasy and strategy. In one!

Veniu | Oct. 1, 2013 | See all Veniu's reviews »

Yes, all of what you've heard is true, this game seems to be like a Civilization V clone. Well, is it a clone?

No. As it has only a few similar things, it actually brings us what's best from many strategy games that only INCLUDES Civilization V. Game itself isn't so easy. Yes, you do have magic, but its useless when... When you enter another world! There's the place where real hard fun begins. Sending even best heroes there is a suicide mission, no matters what boost's they have, you just need to send hundreds of your armies in order to create a city there, which will give you alot of benefits in the future.

Another great, great thing, that wins over Civilization V is.... Animation skipping! Everybody gets tired of watching enemy moves after a while, so now you can skip not only the enemy turns, but also your own movements! Neutral monsters included!

There is no tech-tree or anything like that. No. There's only a "spell tree". The only research, are to give you new spells and magic abilities, so later on you can unleash your rage on the battlefield, and bring down your foes with fearsome trickery and magic! Still not cool? Or too brutal? You still can boost your own farms and mines to raise the output of your food, gold or mana. Yes, there are only 3 basic resources. FTW!

Multiplayer included. No need to put more words to make it even more awesome. Period.

So, we said something about taking best advatages from other games and we've mentioned the obvious Civilization V... What are the other games? Well there's a bit of HoMM (yup, heroes.) and Majesty (models + the awesome voice of our advisor). 3 out of 6 best strategy games I've ever played.

So basically, they made a strategy game, based on the best fantasy (or not) strategy games. How it went? It's really sad, that the game isn't so well known as Civilization V, because its great. I think not everyone like's fantasy theme. But if you do, just get it, its flawless!

91

Great Game!

mathcat | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all mathcat's reviews »

A fantastic game. This game is fun and very addicting. It is just like Sid Meier's Civ 5 but with magic and skeletons and sorcerers. It is not an easy game but is still really fun. It is completely turn based and not very fast paced. Although it still gets your heart pumping when you are in battle. Magnificent game with good graphics. The only bad thing i have seen is that it is a bit laggy.

68

Looks like a Magical Fantasy Civilization Clone

momoster69 | Sept. 8, 2013 | See all momoster69's reviews »

just as the title of this review, its is kind of a simpler version of Civilization, nice and relaxing and could alot of quality of hours playing this game, i only recommend this game if your into straggly based games with alittle bit of magic

82

Good game on its own

Demilisz | June 20, 2013 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

At first, second and even third sight it may looks like Civilization V clone with fantasy setting. In some way it is - graphics are similiar, some of the mechanics also. Even combat system are the same. But Warlock has some twists that defends this game. The most important - this game is more about conquer than management. While Civilization focus on managing your cities and growing empire, Warlock focuses on building empire that allows to build an army capable of conquering whole map.

Unlike i Civilization series, here buildings must be placed on hex. And that means each city can have a very limited number of buildings. Because of this you must plan a role for city from the start. Because more advanced buildings requires others to be build first the decisions may be tough. Especially for military cities - the most advanced units demands a lot.

There is no technological tree - instead you research a new spells. sometimes a hero will pop out and join your cause or you find a magic artifact. As you explore the map you will meet other warlocks and clash with them or contrary - make (fragile) alliances.

all in all - a solid, enjoyable turn based strategy.

80

A seemingly simple strategy game

jcyuen7 | June 6, 2013 | See all jcyuen7's reviews »

I got this game on sale, and after reading reviews, my expectations were very low. There was a lot of comparison between this game and Fallen Enchantress. And while the gameplay in terms of diplomacy and city management isn't as in depth as other 4x games, the combat, fighting, and exploration, yes exploration, make the simplicity of the game entirely addicting.

85

Fun game that builds addiction

runnerx | June 4, 2013 | See all runnerx's reviews »

When i bought this game i was looking for a casual turn based strategy to supplement my usual doses of Civ 5. As a lot of people i was expecting a clone of Civ 5 just with a magical setting. Surprisingly it turned out to be a better game than i expected. The game features 3 races( 4 with the Return of the Elves DLC) all different from one another each with its one set of buildings, units and perks. Unlike Civ 5 where all the buildings are in the city in Warlock each new building occupies a tile around the city. You can run out of free tiles where to place building if the city is in a narrow place. Also certain tiles have special resources that could be used to create more powerful units, new upgrades or simply improve the resources of your empire. Since only the city with the special resources in its borders can produce the special units it makes for a strategic importance to protect those cities. Besides the main map there also alternate plains where you can enter via portals from the main map. Those areas feature a predominant climate( desert, tundra, jungle etc) that contain resources not found anywhere else on the main map. However conquering them it's a difficult task since it is full of powerful units needing you to bring a full army to secure such a place. The diplomacy menu it's not that developed and it often forces you into a confrontation with everyone else on the map but it makes sense since the only way to win is through conquest. This might be off putting to some who prefer more versatile approaches on how to win a turn based strategy game. The spell tree replaces the technology tree found in other turn based games and it gives you the option to research various spells that you might latter use on the battlefield or boost your cities with various blessings. Unfortunately as fun as the spells are i do have one negative thing to say about it. As a spell tree you can't see the full tree just 5 spells that you can choose to research at a time which means as a new player you have no clue what it as the end of each tier of spells and you must start off blind in that regard. In the end it was a great game for me maybe it's not for everybody but if you prefer turn based strategy and since this is a cheaper game than Civ 5 at this time it is definitely worth it.

75

Great strategy game

Prozac | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all Prozac's reviews »

I downloaded the demo and spent more time playing it then my full game of Elemental. For those of you not familiar Elemental is a turn-based strategy game that was horribly produced and delivered. Essentially it was nothing more than a shell when first launched, even though it sold for $50! After experiencing Elemental I was nervous about Warlock, but I played the demo and immediately pre-purchased the game. It was that much fun. Plus, it appears to be well tested and smooth running.

Warlock is a mixture of Might and Magic and Civilization. There is no small scale combat, like in M&M. All combat is at the one on one unit level, with units taking damage in turn based attacks. There are spells that can be used against enemy units and cities, as well as buff spells for your units. I really don't miss the small scale tactical battles as much as I thought. I think doing things this way provides a brisker pace of play, and forces more strategic vs. tactical focus.

The interface is nearly perfect, with reminders for all activities that need to be considered. The graphics are appropriate, and I like the unit variety. There is a fair amount of randomization, so that each game provides a new challenge, even if the basic map layout is the same.

There doesn't appear to be any grand story here, so if you are looking for that sort of thing then it might not be your cup of tea. Basically your goal is to setup a game, using the available parameters like map size, number of players, etc, and then win using up to four different ways.

In summary, if you like turn based strategy, I think you'll really like this game.

70

Oldschool Vibes I get

Angeluzian | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all Angeluzian's reviews »

This game gives me the oldschool vibes I enyoy in games, but not the upgrades I would seek from it like a game like Legend of grimrock. But it's still an above average game, and if your into strategies, it's a game you should try if you're willing to spend some money on it.

81

Good "CIV" game, with Majesty lore

Wizardino | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all Wizardino's reviews »

Warlock: Master of Arcane it's a turn based strategic game published by Paradox Interactive. The game it's similar tu Civilization: you must build cities, produce food, gold (and mana, it's a fantasy game!), recruit soldiers... and your Objective it's, obviously, to win against other opponents (up to eight). You can detroy them, conquer power points (place where you can build special temples, like in Majesty 2), or launch the Unity Spell. Because in this game you can use magic! Instead of reserching new tecnologies you must research powerful and useful spell that can helpo you during your match. Another interesting point it's the possibility to hire Heroes, special unit with great power and special objects A recommended game

90

Very enjoyable game.

sadachara | Nov. 20, 2012 | See all sadachara's reviews »

I don't like overly drawn out, and complex strategy games, and this one is quite enjoyable for me. I love the fantasy theme based on the Majesty world. The graphics, sound and music are very good for a 4X game. I like the unit promotion/leveling/power system that quite dramatically improves your units, and changes the gameplay.

Overall I am having a lot of fun with this title, and feel it has more of a 'come play me' feeling about it compared to Civ5 and Fallen Enchantress. The DLC's add quite a lot to this game, and I recommend most of them. Many games don't draw me in after the initial play, something feels missing about them. This game has a good feel that keeps me wanting to play it, and for that I consider it a very fine game with a lot of effort from the developers to make a streamlined, fun 4X with a strong fantasy element.

65

Interesting attempt, sadly this is all it is.

Wredniak | June 30, 2012 | See all Wredniak's reviews »

First thing that comes to mind while trying to describe this game is Civilization in fantasy settings. The similarities are numerous: hex grid, cities generating zone control which expands with city growth, only one unit per hex. Fortunately there also are differences that allows it to be more than a clone. To build an unit you need specific building in the city, some of them have prerequisites and they need to build around the city limiting total amount that can be constructed. For every citizen in the city you are allowed one building or "tile improvement" as some can only be build in the tiles with specific resource like pumpkins or silver. Some resources has alternatives for example silver offers free upgrade to the weapons or boost to the city income. Another nice touch is that each unit type has unique promotion on top of more general ones which some can be bought instead of earned after level up. The main feature of the game are spells that can be cast by your warlord and which replace technology known from similar titles. Sadly most of the are just addition that doesn't produce much impact. This is tied to the greatest flaw of the game: a constant need to expand and maintain huge battle forces. Most monsters spawn from their specific settlements that are generated randomly on the map, which sadly doesn't mean that single ogre can't pop up out of nowhere next your capital even if it's surrounded by other cities. This forces player not only to secure borders but watch over seemingly secure areas. The game offers several ways to win you will need expanded military just to survive which makes all but military conquest rather pointless. The game is part of Majesty world which is nice touch for the fans of the series. The multiple planes are interesting but require even more military might to explore making gameplay monotonous. I'd recommend the game for those that wondered how civilization would look with fantasy elements but if you are just looking for a good turn-based strategy I'd point towards Civilization V especially now with a new expansion out. On the other hand if you are looking for the interesting magic system and fantasy world it may pay out to check the Age of Wonders series. The main problem of this game isn't the fact that it is bad, most of it's drawbacks could be fixed by balancing patch, but the fact that there are better options that simply outshine it.