Reviews for Blades of Time

72

Innovative combat

rachuros | March 23, 2014 | See all rachuros's reviews »

So I'd heard all about the hilariously bad voice acting, but I picked this game up on sale and figured, why not try it out? The voice acting IS bad. For me, it ruined the immersion a little, and the storyline was not hugely immersive or original either - but none of these things are the reason I kept playing.

The combat is outstandingly fun. It starts off very simple, left click and right click. Slowly it adds in middle click and number keys, then combos. It's all very gradual so it's not overwhelming, Some fights are really challenging too, especially having to use rewind time to kill things, another interesting mechanic. The combat also LOOKS amazing - right clicking a mouse and doing double backflips in the air? What's not to like?

The game is also really beautiful, once you get past Ayumi's strange wiggle walk and... pointed assets. I would have kept playing if just for the scenery.

I would maybe not pay full price for Blades of Time, but if you can grab it in a sale, don't hesitate.

80

Good way to kill time

Spatizzle | Oct. 23, 2013 | See all Spatizzle's reviews »

I saw this game so long ago and thought it looked good, but forgot the name then forgot the game. When I saw it pop up on GMG - I bought it (and for sale too!). The game does get difficult at times, but it's pretty fun. It's not relatively short as a game, but I was able to fly through it over a couple weekends. Recommend this game if you like hack n' slash games and are up for fun boss battles.

74

Fun hack&slash title

barniman | March 28, 2013 | See all barniman's reviews »

This is another hack&slash title from the creators of X-Blades, which i didn't really like. Luckily they learned from their mistake though, and this time around they gave us a more varied experience. Even though the combat is still the core of the gameplay, now we have much more puzzles, skills (like flying for example), more varied environments much better graphics and overally a superior experience. It's still not perfect though, some parts of the game maybe a bit too hard and the story isn't that interesting, but if you like fast-paced action games with a beautiful protagonist and challenging fights, give it a try.

85

Good game

xydanus | Jan. 24, 2013 | See all xydanus's reviews »

Blades of Time is interesting game. Simple gameplay with nice little elements that makes this game better than many other games in this genre. Player can travel back in time to make clones from character. This allows player to think different tactics. Combat is simple, but game was sometimes bit difficult and that is good thing. Graphics are beautiful and so is level design.

One thing I still miss is real cooperative mode. There is Coop, but it is only tower defence-like.

I strongly recommend Blades of Time. It is really entertaining game.

80

Huge improvement over X-Blades

puppymang | Jan. 24, 2013 | See all puppymang's reviews »

Prior to playing this game I decided to try out X-Blades just because they were supposed to be the same MC but truth be told both games are entirely unrelated and the MC, Ayumi, doesn't even have the same voice actor or look the same. The gameplay is pretty fast paced and the it stays true to the hack and slash genre, they also keep the gunsword which is featured in X-Blades however it's nowhere near as powerful as the regular sword attacks. Visuals in this game are very pretty, much brighter than X-Blades (that horrid brown and bloom), and the level design is also fairly good with almost no backtracking which is popular for this genre. Story is surprisingly a lot more interesting but it all feels short and rushed. Really hope they make a sequel for this game and if they do I also hope that it's a lot longer than Blades of Time as this game is probably about 8 hours long or even less which is actually a lot better compared to X-Blades which was about 4 hours long If you like hack and slash games I recommend picking this up especially for a reduced price.

70

Blades of Time - review

carlyle | Jan. 10, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

Blades of Time focuses much attention on the ability to Ayumi can rewind time. Ayumi, in fact, rewinding time, create one or more clones of herself that faithfully replicate its past actions, of course, the greater the number of aliases that are created and the weaker their life. This ability is useful and well used against some enemies with shield front that need to be worked around by keeping them busy fighting with one of our clone, or to meet the creatures of magical barrier that become vulnerable when subjected to sustained rate of fire more Ayumi firing simultaneously. The handling time is useful for solving some basic puzzles, including the best use of this ability occurs during a section of desert where the use of clones will allow the player to manage the shadows that protect it from the sun. Blades of Time is different from its predecessor and especially for the new design that characterizes the game, leaving the cell-shading. In general, the technical realization of the whole production is not a miracle, with one mole polygonal just enough and use almost spasmodic and invasive as part of the lighting system of the bloom and of a color contrast sometimes pushed to the excess. Unexplained are the frequent dips in framerate often unjustified by the presence of a few characters on screen and animations linked together in a rough and a little harmonica, and gratify the lighting effects that always accompany the abundant dynamic melee combat.

80

Its hard, its pretty, its interesting and very well made.

fable2 | Jan. 4, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

I didn't expect much from this title, but it ended up being a very pleasant surprise.

Its a fast paced action game with adventure/rpg elements.

Its like Bayonetta but with more complex skills/mechanics.

The game is hard, it requires fast response and good use of the skills/magic at your disposal, the monsters are tough and they hit very hard. The controls are excellent, very responsive and very well thought which make the combats hard but very satisfying.

Often you have to break your head to figure the way to defeat certain monsters and those screen filling bosses.

There are treasure boxes decently well hidden, that will give you better weapons and equipment.

The story starts out a bit silly but it gets interesting as you progress.

You get a lot of skills and magics at your disposal that you have to use inventively to get through the levels and past certain monsters and bosses.

The game is hard but intelligent, there is always a "smart way out" of seemingly impossible situations, and thats part of what makes the game so satisfying.

There is more to this game than meets the eye, its a very polished action/adventure game that will frustrate and reward you like the old school games used to.

There is no sandbox, no exploring and such (the game is on-tracks), but fast paced skill based action games dont get much better than this.

64

More like Lara Croft and the sands of time...

2wicked | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all 2wicked's reviews »

Loved the Xblades game and had high hopes for this one. Visually this game is great and the story is ok but the controls or game play mechanics are what bug me the most about this game. They seem to try to hard to make it a tomb raider style game and less of a fast pace hack-n-slash.

82

Yet another underrated game

Cynaris | July 13, 2012 | See all Cynaris's reviews »

I don't even really know where to start, the game is just so nice, and a pretty good value, it's hard to understand why is it so overlooked.

The game has solid gameplay, and it is a huge improvement over X-Blades. It is your average simplistic hack and slash combat, with a scantily clad heroine. But even if this sounds generic, the game itself isn't so much. Enemy designs, and story is actually quite good. Not fantastic, not great, but good enough to keep you going. There are surprises as well. The game also boasts a time manipulating mechanic, that allows you to turn back time, and copy yourself meanwhile, even multiple times, to let them do the exact same moves on the exact same enemies, except now with combined power you are able to take them down more easily. It is abusable, but that's part of the fun. It really makes you feel powerful.

The game also has a good variety in zones, and sets different challenges up ahead the player, such as avoiding sunlight in a level, as it can melt you in seconds.

Overall a nice game, and good value.

75

Worth the time if you like hack and slash

webbk123 | May 29, 2012 | See all webbk123's reviews »

Blades of time has qualities I both like and dislike. What I dislike about it is the voice acting as it is very poorly done and following closely behind the story is lacking too. However, there are things to like about it such as the gameplay and the graphics. For a cheaply made game (I assume) its graphics are fairly decent as well as the structure and layout of the world you get to fight through. The combat is fun (and challenging) especially with the rewind time feature where you get to do multiple combos on bosses or work your way through puzzles. If they gave this game an actually good story and some depth into some memorable characters this game could have been really good.

60

Pretty decent but nothing all that amazing

deadend | May 26, 2012 | See all deadend's reviews »

The combat is pretty basic. Not overly complex and so it is easy to pick up on, although it does feel a bit too simple at times. Aside from melee combat you also get a gun, which although isn't going to give you the experience of other shooters, is pretty decent considering sometimes you have to hit targets in the distance you can't reach yourself.

The graphics are pretty good. Again, nothing amazing but the environments look nice enough and the lighting and effects work, although some textures (such as crates and boxes) look very unrealistic (too simple and lack any detail). But overall its not a bad looking game as you play.

The story is pretty generic and somewhat confusing at first, and there will be many questions popping into your head about all the circumstances. I won't spoil, but it really didn't make any real sense to me, so I didn't pay any attention to it.

But the worst thing about this game has to be the sound. Not the music or sound effects, per se, but the voice acting. It lacks any real emotion to describe the events, and it is as if they just got the dubbing actor to say a bunch of lines as quickly as possible. Moreover, the character [you play with] is almost constantly talking and commenting on pretty much everything, from "Where do I go now, what do I do?" to "These ruins were built by ... and they say that ..." - All the while, she is apparently just talking to HERSELF.

Yes, it can give you quite a headache. I have yet to actually try co-op, so I won't comment on it.

I guess in the end, this game isn't bad if you pick it up for $10-$15 or something, but definitely not worth full price.

90

Awesome game

ruready12 | May 23, 2012 | See all ruready12's reviews »

This game is great! It is very similiar to titles such as God of War and Tomb Raider. The gameplay style isn't completely new but still is very unique. The graphics are great and polished with low system-requirements for old computers. The Time Rewind adds a whole new function to the game and the story mode is great. This game is a must-buy and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great game.