Reviews for Hitman: Absolution - Professional Edition

85

Insane fun

Avesomeofthat13 | April 15, 2014 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

This game reprises the role of Agent 47, the infamous assassin from the original Hitman game series. You take on a completely original story, continuing on vaguely from the previous game - with all new sets of kill moves and finishing techniques.

Definitely worth buying!

85

Agent 47 is still the man

Jimmysil | Sept. 19, 2013 | See all Jimmysil's reviews »

Most intuitive hitman game so far. Even new fans of the series won't stay behind not knowing what to do. There are some big improvements in the gameplay, that makes game easier, but they did not forget about hardcore players, because you can turn these off with higher difficulty. Professional Edition is worth buying, because it brings you a lot more that just the base game.

95

The DLC's are worth it

spycid | July 27, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

If you wish for additional weapons and artbook then get this Professional Edition instead of the vanilla standard edition.

70

The old is best

iamkyo90 | July 14, 2013 | See all iamkyo90's reviews »

Nice game, but have more action to the olders versions, not is so hard to play. Howeaver, is a great game, nice graphics and music, and is Hitman!

90

Great Game

anc3stra | May 28, 2013 | See all anc3stra's reviews »

I never played any Hitman series before so i try this one.It is a good game where you were given multiple way to complete your goal. You can go for stealth, disguise or straight kill your target its totally up to you.

80

Great game, even for new players

Mikkomik | May 25, 2013 | See all Mikkomik's reviews »

Hitman absolution is a great game. This is for some reasons; -Easy to step in for new players. -Fun and original ways to finish a level.

The game does have some flaws in the AI, but I'll forgive them.

86

It's not perfect but I love it

TheDeathKiller | April 28, 2013 | See all TheDeathKiller's reviews »

Fun action packed as a life long gamer and an avid fan of the series the game was a hit to me. For some the lack of an in depth story line can be off putting but to me that is just another reason why I love the game. Your a hitman not a house wife it is not your job to know the details it is your job to get results.

85

Professional Edition, is it worth it?

onewinged90 | April 10, 2013 | See all onewinged90's reviews »

Got this awesome title from GMG in a sale a while back, and decided to review it based on what I think about the game. It has been six years since the release of Hitman: Blood Money, IO Interactive has finally presented us with Absolution. How will this fare against the highly acclaimed predecessors?

First off, Hitman veterans might want to play the professional (hard, expert, purist) difficulty right out of the box, as you might not like the Instinct (or guidance) system as it tarnishes the Hitman franchise. Well, the game got to appeal to both old and new players right?

Graphically the game is gorgeous, even on my mid-range laptop. Glacier 2 engine has done a fine job, even on crowd-heavy areas the engine does not falter and it runs smoothly. The HUD has undergone a overhaul if compared to Blood Money, much nicer to look at. The CGI cutscenes are awesome to watch.

The sound design of the game, the dramatic score is been a very strong focus by the developers from the very beginning. It really played a huge role in the atmosphere and some stages really does stand out in terms of music.

Every stages are highly replayable if you're after achievements and collections. Enemies can be dispatched in a variety of ways; killing them without anyone noticing and make it look like an accident? Done. Third person shooter-style guns blazing killing everyone in sight? Done.

What's the point of writing this review if I do not mention the bonuses bundled in the Professional Edition? One-hour making of video is a great addition to the collection, if you want to know how Absolution was developed into the game we know today. A must get if you're after behind-the-scenes of games. Although I prefer the physical artbook, digital artbook is not too shabby though. It's a PDF file with numerous high resolution artwork by the developers.

The Agency Gun Pack DLC features three weapons with customisable slots. Sadly you could not use these in the Absolution campaign, but in Contracts mode having these weapons early on may give you the edge while playing.

A note of reminder, this IS a Hitman game. So exercise patience while playing and no rush, only then you could claim the ultimate score. You may spend most of the time restarting from checkpoints because of screwing up too often.

All in all, if you're willing to pay an extra $10 for the bonus content, go for it. Although I highly recommend getting this on sale.

95

It's not a 10, but it's close

MAD623 | March 19, 2013 | See all MAD623's reviews »

Having played all the previous titles, I thought I knew what to expect. Fortunately, that went out the window with the first "woah" moment. And you'll find in Absolution plenty of them. The story is very well made and it feels like you're watching a good action movie. One of the most impressive features of Hitman Absolution is the voice acting. You don't see the same quality in most other games; really well done. Graphically, it ranks high when compared with games launched around its release time. Every frame of any cutscene can be transformed into a beautiful art piece to hang on your walls. The cutscenes connect the gameplay seamlessly. Gameplay-wise, it's a good improvement from its predecessors as 47 feels more natural than ever. The cover system is really well made even though sometimes your head is way above the counter you're hiding behind. Intuition, as a gameplay mechanic, is great. It will convince even the most brutal player not to kill every NPC and it also serves as a "tutorial" for new players or for those who want to get their hands on the highest difficulties. If you finished any other Hitman game, be sure to try the tougher challenges too. The multiplayer part of it consists in creating and completing contracts made by your friends. Not only will it challenge your friends but creating a good contract will also challenge you to complete it first, to prove that it can be done. If playing on PC, I highly recommend using a controller when playing Absolution. Not that keyboard & mouse aren't great, but you'll get the most out of its cinematic experience. In conclusion, a great game, polished and not a full 10 because of a couple bugs.

87

A fun game but series fanatics beware...

DrEugenics | March 3, 2013 | See all DrEugenics's reviews »

Hitman Absolution is definitely worth buying whether you are new to the series or have been murdering since Codename 47.

The old school will want to play on the higher difficulty levels to turn off the hand holding "Instinct" options and get back to the classic Hitman roots.

The missions are as fun as ever with many way to kill your targets, you can sneak in and back stab or load up and kill everyone in sight, definitely worth playing

45

Good but rubbish at the same time

PhyxionUS1 | Feb. 25, 2013 | See all PhyxionUS1's reviews »

In essence is Hitman: Absolution still the killing and stealth game you once knew. You can, as usual, kill in dozens of different ways, wear countless disguises and exploit the environment in your own way. The game is old-fashioned, but still feels like a refreshment to the series. This is mainly because of the changes in playability and action. Graphically the game looks great, the interface is fully addressed and protagonist Agent 47 is better to control than ever. Even though it is a good game in general, the artificial intelligence is mediocre and the levels are way too small for a real Hitman game. If only they removed the Instinct mode and made the artificial intelligence react properly to your actions.

82

A great TPS game!

Geforcer | Dec. 13, 2012 | See all Geforcer's reviews »

If you watch this game as another Hitman game, you would be disappointed. But that doesn't have to be a bad thing, on the contrary - it's a really good action game! It's more focused on the story than any of the other games in the series. You have a choice to do missions silently and make assassinations look like an accident or you can choose not to hide and bring out the guns. I was very entertained and had a lot of fun playing it. All in all, a very nice game.

88

Good but not the same as the other Hitman games

xyanide_ntb | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all xyanide_ntb's reviews »

The game is more fast pace and has a deeper story. The gameplay still has that hitman style to it but it is much harder. You can choose to run and gun or play it silent. The game overall is good, but doesnt offer the same feeling and gameplay as Blood money did.