Reviews for Darksiders

97

A touch from the "Outside"

hateah | July 25, 2014 | See all hateah's reviews »

That game is amazing. The graphics, the gameplay, the mechanics and the storyline. There are bosses all the way, difficult stages where you have to do multiple things in order to make just one complete. Like collecting 4 swords from a burning room where different enemies attacks you. You can fly with your wings, throw hurricane, fight with sword, throw cards and there is even a quest where you are riding a dragon! Yes, a dragon.

The first main boss you'll meet is "Tiamat" a flying bat-rat like creature which is huuuge and ugly.There are also a lot of achievements which you can find hard to unlock.The character by races are 3: Humans , Demons , Nephilim‎ Old Ones‎ ,Ravaiim‎ ,Undead‎ Watchers‎,Wicked‎ . At the beginign of the game you fight with Angels in a crashed city, invaded by them and evil forces. The Characters(not by races, but the real Characters in the game) are: War, Fury, Strife, Death, Abaddon, Samael, Lucifer, Uriel. The combat system is amazing, you can upgrade new skills and buy them which gives you the chance to try a new combo, new skill against the enemies, powerful with ever upgrade you make. They can be made by collecting the souls of the enemies you killed.

85

A game that worth its price

ODDragon | June 23, 2014 | See all ODDragon's reviews »

With the story playing out on a war thorn earth between the legions of heaven and hell, the player takes control of one of the four horsemen of apocalypse, War. Through War's journey will you get answers to the root of this unfolding conflict, as well as to who's pulling the strings behind the scenes and chosen War to be the catalyst of it.

Being a hack and slash game the player will have a lot of opportunities to experience the game's fluid, combo based combat system. There are plenty of weapons in your arsenal to make quick work of your foes, each adding its own unique fighting style to the mass. This system gets even more varied with the addition of parrying, which leaves your enemies open for counter-attacks, and of course with some old fashioned finishing moves to spice up your dismemberment-spree. The more fight you dive into, the more souls you will gather, a precious resource that can be used to purchase new combos and items, as well as to raise the destructive power of your weaponry.

On the graphic side the game is on a solid standing ground. While it does not hold up to today's standards it is still pleasant to look at, more than enough to help you delve into the gloomy world full of enemies to send back to heaven or hell respectively. The maps your journey takes you through are quite varied in visuals, each area being quite distinctive in its own way. The same can be said concerning voices, showing a good amount of character that adds into the atmosphere, rather than take away from it.

I'd recommend trying it because even though its re-playability value might not be too high(Collectibles and achievements are there to somewhat help on this) it does what it was designed to do regardless: To entertain. A worthy investment if you are a fan of the genre, and like to slice your enemies up to pieces with style.

82

War SMASH!

AkiMatti | March 21, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

3rd person action game done right.

The story is a variation on the Bible's Revelation theme where no God exists. War is an instrument of the Council that tries to rein in the realms of Heaven and Hell who battle for dominion.

Someone ignites the apocalypse too early and War gets the blame. Your job? Find the real culprit and reclaim your power.

This game can be played on a gamepad as well as kb + mouse. Using a gamepad can be more relaxing, though. All the fighting moves and sounds are really gratifying and the environment look authentically post-human civilization.

The story has many epic moments and you will notice your own skills getting better also in time as well as War's. Some of the fights are very hard and will require a lot of retries, which might put you off a bit, though. Every challenge is surmountable, though, it just takes enough practice.

For the fans of the genre, a must buy. Others, I recommend trying.

88

Darksiders Horsemen adventures

dutchmause | March 19, 2014 | See all dutchmause's reviews »

You start the game as War. As one of the four horsemen (realy cool fact is that it's loosely based on the bible book revelations ) You are called to earth where you start to kill stuff. I will not ruin anything from the story but it is reasonable good.

The graphics were great. Nowadays it's fine but you will not get blown away.

Gameplay is really good. And because of all the changes in gameplay it stays interesting.

Just buy it you can thank me later! (it's way better than it's younger brother)

83

Zelda, with a touch of darkness...

damienjameswebb | Feb. 22, 2014 | See all damienjameswebb's reviews »

This is really what Zelda games should be. this game is focused around some very dark subjects and uses a good mix of hack and slashy stuff with good use of puzzles here and there. i wouldn't say that the gameplay is as dialed in as Zelda is, but the combat is much nicer for sure. the graphics are very well done and even though the characters and environment have that slight sense of non-realism... the world as a whole feels real is some aspect to allow you to become drawn even further into the story.

over all a great game,could use a little more length to it, but still a good, involving game.

85

The Wrath of War

Subj3ctLambda | Feb. 10, 2014 | See all Subj3ctLambda's reviews »

Darksiders has you play WAR - one of the four horsemen of the apocalypse! You suddenly find yourself summoned to bring about the Apocalypse (because the seven seals have supposedly been broken)! Only strange thing is that your brothers have not been summoned alongside you, and all seals were apparently not broken!
Now War appears guilty of starting the Apocalypse by himself, and his legendary wrath does not help his case! To prove his innocence, he must restore the balance that has been lost! He must fight both forces of Heaven and Hell all by himself during his epic quest and may find allies in the unlikeliest of places!
The story of this game is great, and War makes a great protagonist! Players will start out with a deliberately weakened War who must now regain his former powers by accumulating souls, which are the game's currency! The combat is quick and fluid and mainly designed around War's blade Chaoseater, aprt from the Scythe and Tremor Gauntlet! Did I mention there's also Ruin...War's horse?!!!
Graphics are also pretty good and only rarely did I suffer from low framerates! Enemies are also quite varied and you will have to dodge and attack with good timing to beat some of them! However, damage them enough and you can finish them off with the Chaoseater! Voice acting is also well done with a variety of characters!
Overall this is quite a great game, insta-buy if at a discount! Not to mention you play War's brrother DEATH in the sequel!!!

85

Solid game, super fun even if it is a bit of a buttonmasher

bullkrieg | Feb. 4, 2014 | See all bullkrieg's reviews »

Decent story, good visuals. Controls are pretty good. Combat gets a bit repetitive and kinda feels like you are mashing the same button over and over but it's still fun for some mindless beat em up action. The puzzles are the best part, progressing through the world with new abilities and items is very metroidvania like and becomes really fun when you have to problem solve to clear areas, find secrets and beat the boss fights. Definitely enjoyed the playthrough but after beating it not sure I would return to it.

82

Slasher and logic game

kontotestowe | Jan. 28, 2014 | See all kontotestowe's reviews »

In Darksiders you are one of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse. Your name is War. The mission of game is proving your innocent as you didn't make an Earth apocalypse. The only one thing what you start with is your sword. You can't even make a good combo with it. New moves can be bought is shop. But sword isn't your only weapon. There's a Scepter and Gauntlet which you'll get by playing. There are normal or legendary enchantments which can be put in your weapon. You dispose spells after buying them. Thing giving me the most fun was Demon form. You can get it after many sword's attacks. When your bar will be full you might transform to unstoppable Demon. The fighting items or magic is not only thing in this game. There's some items which you'll need to complete logic mini-games. They aren't hard but you have to be open-minded and skilful. The game is pretty good when you are playing it with pad, so don't forget to plug it in because in my opinion, playing Darksiders on keyboard is very uncomfortable and annoying.

90

You are WAR

commanderhavoc | Nov. 15, 2013 | See all commanderhavoc's reviews »

Its not often we get a game where you play as one of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse and then we all of a sudden got one. You play as War, who has been accused of starting the apocalypse much earlier then it was supposed to, but War was certain that he had heard the call and yet none of the other Horsemen showed up and now his powers have been taken away. He is however given a chance at redeeming himself by finding those who tricked him and bring swift and brutal justice onto them, all while being watched over by a shadowy entity, voiced by none other then Mark Hamil, who is to make sure that War does what he is supposed to do or else he will be severely punished. The combat in the game involves a lot of combos and while some of them are tricky to pull off, especially in the PC version due to the controls, it still feels really good when you manage to do one of them and wreak completely havoc on some of the demonic foes that await you on the ruined Earth.

70

Take it as a sorf of Dark Zelda with a superior combat system

Moraisu | Oct. 21, 2013 | See all Moraisu's reviews »

The title kinda sums it all up, it's a great hack'n'slash game, the puzzles are a little on the boring side, not hard, just boring. The combat is great and fluid, good environments and it's a good lengthy game, it's a steal for the asking price. However, I found some of the dungeons using the puzzles as a mean to artificially extend the game duration and when the game came out it had performance issues, but it's 2013 and if you are going to have performance issues with this game you might want to save up your money for a system upgrade.

As the game itself, you have a good combat system, not as robust as a Devil May Cry, but still very good and it works like a Zelda game, you have several dungeons, multiple weapons, powers and useful items and upgrades... it's more of a Devil May Cry meets Zelda.

Why "only" a 70? I don't believe in a 100 mark game, even Deus Ex (the first one) is only worthy of a 90 mark (the game had horrible performance issues and has a weak art design).

80

Better than I thought

Simao20 | Sept. 19, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

I didn't get this game for too much so It wasn't a big investment. But I went into this game with mild expectations, had gotten some pretty good reviews and heard it had some good combat. Well after all the reviews they were right. The game has very good combat system especially with the RPG elements included leveling up your character is incredibly fun and satisfying. The one thing I dislike about the combat is that there isn't an actual counter button or at least I didn't notice it. The graphics are good, not outstanding but good for a game that has cartoonish graphics and no real issues with it as well. The story is about War starting the apocalypse but he didn't actually, you find out what happens but throughout the game he tries to clear his name. The game roughly takes around 15 or so hours and well worth it as well

95

Superb game

Radovanh | Sept. 8, 2013 | See all Radovanh's reviews »

One of my favorite games I bought on GMG. Superb hack and slash with more and more gadgets through time. It is no mindless, you must use your brain to go through obstacles. This is genre missing on PC, only few games are so good and Darksiders is one of best games ever for me. Buy it, especially on some sales.

85

Zelda with a mix of theology and mature violence

Zilly01 | Sept. 3, 2013 | See all Zilly01's reviews »

Darksiders plays very similar to the Legend of Zelda games, but focuses more on the combat and violence aspect. The game has you go to several dungeons that will require you to obtain a new piece of equipment in order to solve the puzzles presented. There are items very similar to the hook shot the feel is very similar to Zelda. The combat is a mix of Zelda and God of War. There are execution type moves and quick time events, but the main element is lock on and hack away. I recommend picking up a controller for this game as it feels awkward to use the keyboard.

73

Combat!

DanteNero13 | Aug. 26, 2013 | See all DanteNero13's reviews »

I loved the combat of this game. firing out combos and destroying your enemies with amazing weapons of doom! The story was well made and cant wait to buy the sequel

96

An epic journey of awesome

PfantzyPantz | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all PfantzyPantz's reviews »

The word epic may be overused nowadays, but Darksiders is definitely the exception, as it is epic beyond bounds. The voice acting, the music, the art direction, and the gameplay all pull together to make an amazing experience that you shan't forget anytime soon. The boss fights are huge, daunting, and plentiful. The dungeons are fun to go through and explore and the story keeps you enticed.

There's a big problem though, and caution to all. Darksiders is one glitchy son of a gun. There are many minor glitches that won't really bother you, but there is an almost game breaking glitch that happens at end game (infuriating when you think you can't fix it). The mask glitch, you'll know it if you're unlucky enough to see it, just google it and you'll find the fix. Other than that, it's a must buy for fans of action and mythos.

91

Solid game with cool story line

nightassassin1 | Aug. 22, 2013 | See all nightassassin1's reviews »

So this game is pretty much God of War or Heavenly Sword with a World of Warcraft artwork and a different story line that follows a darker version of the 4 horesman from the Bible.

Essentially you are a protector of balance (one of the 4 horseman) and are blamed for the catastrophe that has happened to the earth during a fight between demons and angels.

I liked this game quite a lot. It had a similar feel to God of War and was pretty easy to beat, but the game was really good. A good game does not have to be hard and that is proven here.

The game graphics are dark themed for the most part, but are still well done. You don't need a particularly powerful graphics card to play and it still looks nice.

The game price is reasonable, however if you were lucky enough to have bought it in the THQ Humble Bundle you got the game for $1 along with a number of others. This game was a steal for me. Even at the price mark of $20 I would say this game is still a good buy, just grab a 20% off or more code when you buy it from Green Man Gaming to save a little extra on it.

I have not experienced glitches and crashes with this game.

Over all, the game play gets a 91 from me. It is a good story, good graphics, not so imaginative battle system, and slightly repetitive play.

A good buy for the right price. If you liked God of War, this is for you.

90

Darksider

fluiscs | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all fluiscs's reviews »

Darksider, action-adventure game in which we lead war, one of the four horsemen of the apocalypse in a world totally devastated after years of war between angels and demons.

The mechanic of the game is based on the fighting style of God of War with Unlockable movements, epic battles with 3 different main weapons and more secondary weapons throught the adventure, but with a system of puzzles typical of Legend of Zelda, all with a very good story that will make us go through the different areas of this game.

The game has good graphics considering the age it came out.

I recommend playing it with a controller for more comfort during the fighting, but its not strictly necessary.

It's a game that should be played and will surely leave you wanting to play the second part.

87

Darksiders review

balbo79 | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all balbo79's reviews »

We interpret War, Horseman of the Apocalypse, who finds himself in spite of himself accused of having anticipated the Day of Judgment, it put an end to the human race and to have again sparked the war between Heaven and Hell. The plot, very picturesque with biblical references, provides an excellent opportunity to personify this great character, well characterized by the design of Madureira. The character design of each character seems very inspired, from that of War, up to the secondary characters and enemies, including the level design, always very complex, varied and colorful. The combat system is very funny, proposing different weapons, many moves and a strengthening of the character similar to a classic role-playing game, while not abandoning the typical characteristics of the Action. Parry, dodge, hit, combo etc. .. Darksiders is great fun, especially for the fact that in addition to the classic combat, also tests the player providing the riddles be faced using the skills of War, very intelligent and well embedded in the context of the game (remembering the beautiful Soul Reaver), making the 'adventure enjoyable even to those who do not appreciate the fighting tighter and unbridled other securities.

85

a fun spin on the biblical 4 horseman

theunknowned | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all theunknowned's reviews »

its a good fun hack'n'slash that uses a lesser used art style that i always applaud for. It has a good progression system and an alright story. if you pick this one up i think you'll for the most part enjoy yourself

91

Action-adventure done right

zipnox | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all zipnox's reviews »

Darksiders is a game with various gameplay elements meshed nicely together and used in various puzzles and combat situations. It’s an action-packed adventure where you get to follow War in a thrilling story with plenty of exciting boss battles. The story is good and feels alive through the great voice-acting, graphics and animations, not to mention the excellent soundtrack.

The combat is satisfying and you can experiment with various unlockable combos to execute some nice moves. The overall pacing of the fighting is great but I felt that even on the hardest difficulty the game was slightly too easy and I wish it was a bit more complex. The game also felt clunky when I tried playing it without a gamepad, the game has been ported to PC and it shows.

If you have a gamepad available and feel like playing an awesome action-adventure game, then don’t hesitate to give this one a go!

90

Short, but Fun

PwnzoneX1 | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all PwnzoneX1's reviews »

I played through this game in a short amount of time, and noticed how this was a sloppy port from consoles, but if you are looking for a hack and slash, that has some elements from games like The Legend of Zelda, this game is a good pick, however, it has it's glitches. Highly recommended anyway.

90

Do you like GOW? i think this is better

simodeso | July 26, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

As i said in the title i prefer this game because it's perfect. It has an amazing story,that is quite long, it has many rpg's elements, good mechanics, good gameplay, quick time events are amazing, and the ending is fantastic. My advice is to buy this game at 100% if you love Hack and slash/rpg because it's pretty awesome. Help War in is epic journey of redemption.

81

Good Hack n Slash

34243 | July 20, 2013 | See all 34243's reviews »

Echoing all the other sentiments here, this game is good. Think of it as a darker version of legend of zelda, so if you like that you'll definitely like this one. It's extremely well paced, the combat is fairly satisfying and story is pretty good.

90

War is coming...

vvhitevvolf | July 8, 2013 | See all vvhitevvolf's reviews »

Darksiders is a fantastic hack n slash type game with tight controls, interesting level designs, some unlockable abilities and a decent storyline that lasts at least 15 hours. I personally liked the art style of the game and enjoyed playing through from beginning to end. I originally had this game for Xbox 360 and liked it enough to buy it again for PC. I won't go into much detail because others have done that already so I will just say if you are thinking of getting this game I highly recommend it.

90

Join The Darkside

Tripleforce | July 7, 2013 | See all Tripleforce's reviews »

Darksiders borrows some great ideas from some great games across different genres and combines them all with an interesting tale based on the stories of heaven and hell and the end of days. Great sound, animation, and an art style and graphical eye candy designed by Joe Madureira means there's some audio-visual meat on the gameplay bones. Borrowing bits and pieces from God of War, Devil May Cry, and heavily influenced by my favorite game series, The Legend of Zelda, Darksiders succeeds at being a melting pot of gaming goodness. There's even a little nod to Portal as well. It's awesome.

85

Good old adventure

malagchonga | July 5, 2013 | See all malagchonga's reviews »

Darksiders 2 is a modern Link, yes i said it. You have to find objects, go into dungeons to defeat Enemys with special Moves and a story thats simple but has an amazing twist. First this game is a bit older so the texture is abit old and looks not so good. Also the PC is a ripoff from the console so you have to use key bindings who would be never used when it was a PC only game. But for everything else its great and makes fun.

70

A well-paced, satisfying journey

Maghook | July 4, 2013 | See all Maghook's reviews »

It's easy to draw parallels between Darksiders and the The Legend of Zelda series, it would be no surprise if the developers at Vigil Games created Darksiders as an homage of sorts, especially to Ocarina of Time. Here you have a doppelganger to a basic run-of-the-mill puzzle platformer that we've come to expect from Nintendo: levels with an emphasis on the elements, particularly lava, water, earth, desert, dark, and light, where the only way to complete each level is through a set of challenging obstacles and various enemies, not to mention the cliché "third time's the charm" when it comes to boss fights.

Darksiders is a pretty solid game, it has its moments and it has its downfalls but its major defining element is its ability to deliver a well-paced experience with little tedium and monotony, as items that you collect along your journey are spread out enough to feel quite rewarding with an urge to instantly try out your new shiny device, sending you onto the next level only to stumble across another shiny device, ad infinitum. The enemies are also varied enough, and many are unique to their levels, which keeps things interesting.

There is a small amount of backtracking, which is heavily expanded on if you wish to collect every item in the game as there is a large incentive to do so. The levels are all well designed and can easily be returned to due to the prevention of the dreaded "point of no return" that many JRPG fans would be familiar with.

For me, the highlight of the game was the dialogue, simply because Mark Hamill is such a superb voice actor, as proven by his long standing career as the voice of The Joker. The sound design is pretty wicked and everything sounds as you would expect: ethereal and apocalyptic.

The only disadvantages to Darksiders are the myriad of technical issues I had, whether they be glitches with the game's mechanics or bugs preventing certain situations from progressing. One achievement failed to unlock when it was supposed to, and the game crashed no less than four times in one sitting. Twice, due to alt-tabbing and another two times simply because the game bugged out. There are very limited graphical options, sorely missing is a FoV slider as the default FoV is somewhat smothering and isn't suitable for PC standards.

Another personal parallel I can draw between this game and The Legend of Zelda is the drastic length of time it took to beat the campaign. I started playing Darksiders in September of 2011, finishing it in February of 2013. Similar to Ocarina of Time, where I decided to take a several year long break due to, you guessed it, the Water Temple.

85

Think Legend of Zelda meets God of War.

FLD | July 4, 2013 | See all FLD's reviews »

Darksiders is about as derivative as it gets. Overall quest structure is lifted straight from Legend of Zelda and the combat borrows heavily from titles such as God of War. But if you're going to be borrowing, might as well borrow from the best. The end result is a solid action games with decent dungeons and puzzles.

The story and art style is where the game really shines. Designed by comic book artist Joe Madureira, Darksiders has a distinct look to it that feels part comic book, part heavy metal album cover.

75

A game that tries to be too many others, and succeeds...

Sivisx | June 19, 2013 | See all Sivisx's reviews »

In the end of days the Horsemen will ride unto the earth and punish all. Only problem is the horsemen you take control of gets mixed up in some unrelated end of the world scheme and gets punished, being forced to return to earth a century later to undo his stupidity.

Taking control of War, that's right not the one you initially think of when it comes to the horsemen, you must wage war on the armies of both Heaven and Hell in order to kill the one responsible for the fall of the Third Kingdom in the likes of Devil May Cry or Ninja Gaiden. While on the subject of other games, this one has a massive erection for them.. You solve puzzles in the likes of Twilight Princess while sometimes even using a 'Gun' that shoots orange and blue portals on selected walls, you even half way through the game you get a pistol that Dante would scoff at.

These combinations of things deemed good enough to 'Copy' over onto here does make this well written and very well voice-acted interactive video experience worth the effort and hardship.

I recommend the game if you are a fan of fast-paced rage fests that sometimes leave you screaming obscenities at the screen. Even though the game is 14+ hours long it lacks a New Game + so be prepared for one playthrough or starting from scratch.

(My only other complaint is a sometimes delay in controls resulting in falls and deaths, I was using a controller however when I had these issues).

93

One of the best hack n slash in recent memory

spycid | June 11, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

Epic storyline, complex puzzles, variety of weapons kept the gameplay fresh and gave us a welcome change from a generic hack n slash genre. For those who crave for a good hack n slash game, this is a must play title for them. Since the content is vast and the game is intriguing that you won't get bored of this game.

77

Fun for a While Only

thegaminglyfe | June 11, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Darksiders 2 is a really generic game that gets incredibly boring and repetitive after about 3-4 hours. The gameplay is executed really good but to master it you just have to remember the combos. The sound is mediocre and the graphics are nice. Not recommended unless fan of hack and slash games.

80

Worth the buy

Bbozmen | June 10, 2013 | See all Bbozmen's reviews »

Darksiders is a fun game for hacking and slashing. With the variety of killing and doing puzzles it's a nice game which can keep you busy for 20 hours if it isn't more. In the game you can also find certain armor pieces which give you the so-called Abyssal Armor and finding all those pieces will keep you busy for quite some time if you don't know where to look.

The story is not really deep but if you are just like me and like the hacking and the slashing of enemies and doing some epic moves it's the right game for you.

65

The timing of the combat will leave you disappointed

Pitchdown | June 2, 2013 | See all Pitchdown's reviews »

I wanted to play Darksiders 2, and thought by playing this game first I'd get caught up in the story. This game is not terrible, but it's also not worth the effort to play through to unlock the story. In essence, the combat doesn't have any sort of rhythm.

As an example, let's say your standard combo is four hits. You connect with the first 2 hits on a single enemy. In the middle of the 3rd hit the enemy start to swing and while you may connect with the 4th hit, so has the enemy. The idea is you're supposed to dynamically dodge at a given notice (to add tension to the combat), but what happens instead is you never feel that "umph" from completing a combo. Instead of slashing through enemies, timing hits and wading through combat, you're just incessantly dodging after striking 2 hits. There's no sense of completion. As a result, the character you are controlling feels disempowered.

While you can get this game on the cheap via a random sale, you will regret putting hours into an otherwise forgettable combat system. Skip this game and go directly to Darksiders 2.

72

First half great, but second half is tiresome!

McDoenerKing | June 1, 2013 | See all McDoenerKing's reviews »

While the first half is much fun, the second half will get you annoyed. For example the last dungeon will be almost the half of the game with annoying puzzles and reoccuring similiar puzzles. Then you have to go through the whole world again to find some pieces just to get to the final boss.

The combat is great and you can upgrade your combos and skills. The puzzles are nice, but not really challenging. The first boss will get you annoyed, because the controls are just messed up for the fight. Other than this boss I very much enjoyed the boss fights in this game.

I'd say grab it when you want some mindless H&S game with nice graphics.

90

A nice mix between GoW and Zelda

lotratf | May 29, 2013 | See all lotratf's reviews »

I really enjoyed playing Darksiders.

The beginning is maybe a bit dull and almost put me off, but after the first 1 or 2 hours the game got better. The protagonist (War) is sometimes lacking some depth, but in the very end he is War. The story is ok (I don't want to spoil anything), but at some point I wish they had gone a different path. Nevertheless the mixture of fighting demon hordes and solving puzzles really did it for me. The bossfights were also really satisfying and the level design diversified.

It also allows for some replaybility through different difficulties and hidden stuff in the world.

I was satisfied!

68

A Weaker Devil May Cry

BlowitAllUp | May 27, 2013 | See all BlowitAllUp's reviews »

The game is solidly made, but there isn't anything new or better for DMC veterans. Gameplay feels stiff and slower paced. Controls don't feel entirely seamless, but are not really game-breaking. Upgrades work in very similar ways for your character, but the weapons are just boring and repetitive. If you like a darker gothic feel in regards to graphics, Darksiders will definitely not give you that. The world is colorful and "happy" if you like that sort of thing. Puzzles feel like a chore as there are many. Story is mediocre and not memorable.

I could not bring myself to finish the game because there is nothing unique or "feel-good" to pull me back. If you are new to the genre, then this game is worthy of recommendation.

85

Definitely worth it.

simpkinscm | May 21, 2013 | See all simpkinscm's reviews »

Darksiders is an amazing game that seems to have flown under the radar of many gamers. The story is fairly solid and the characters are well developed. Though the environments are a bit repetitive at times, it’s not enough that it’s distracting since the different zones provide more than enough variety. Boss battles are varied and satisfying, and upgrades feel like they make a difference without making it seem that they are required to progress. Additionally the game provides enough of a challenge that playing through areas gives you a sense of accomplishment. If you are a fan of games like Devil May Cry, they I’d highly recommend giving this game a try.

80

Great hack and slash!

Zharwyn | May 16, 2013 | See all Zharwyn's reviews »

Darksiders is an action adventure hack'n'slash type of game. You play as War, one of the Four Horsemen. Not a lot known is about the Horsemen, they're meant to bring the Apocalypse, so this game has an interesting take. The story isn't bad, it's very likable but perhaps a bit forgettable in the end. I felt like I was more enjoying the gameplay than the story itself. You don't really get to know the main character, which makes it harder to connect to him.

The gameplay is a blast and very much alike God of War/Devil May Cry. Combat is enjoyable and you have different abilities that you can buy/upgrade. It has a lot of platforming. You have different weapons, some of them can level up. You also use your weapons to solve puzzles. The puzzles are clever and not that hard to solve, a lot of them involves timing. The game also has a few references that you might find familiar. The first real big boss can be a pain in the ass but once you get past you will see that the rest of them are easier.

The game is meant to be played with a controller so I can strongly advice you to play with one. However, aiming with ranged weapons are a bit harder with a controller and can complicate things along the way. If you find yourself having trouble with aiming then I suggest that you use your mouse and keyboard when needed.

The art style is very fantasy-esque. The game looks good and plays good. The voice acting is pretty okay as well. It's a little outdated by now but it still looks rather pretty. The bosses are huge and they look pretty awesome, it's very satisfying to take them down!

I really liked this game and can warmly recommend it, it has a few frustrating parts but none that really ruins the experience. It's not a long game but it's not very short either.

90

Well Impressed

maddocks2379 | May 12, 2013 | See all maddocks2379's reviews »

Darksiders is an old school styled game which reminds me of the Zelda series (which isn't a bad thing) but with lots of blood (also not a bad thing )

Darksiders has good solid game play, its fast at times, requires button mashing + combos & some puzzles

The story is decent, the voice acting is great, the graphics are OK for a 3 year old game and some times the difficulty rockets which will give a good challenge. The game is only about 12 hours long but there is secrets to be found which should add some more hours.

90

The Legend of Zelda for PC....WHAT?!?!?!?!

ZinZano | May 6, 2013 | See all ZinZano's reviews »

A great action adventure game, you play as one of the four horsemen in a war between the three kingdoms, heaven, hell and humanity. Think of this game as a combination of Diablo II and Legend of Zelda and you'll get a good idea of what it's like. I like very much this game cause it has good mood (not many games is about the conflict between heaven and hell), comabt is very satisfied. Graphic is nice Only Black Throne frustrated me (too much thinking, less fighting) but I don't like many riddles. There are a few negatives, however. The game drags on a bit at the end, sending you through the same environments a couple more times on artifact-hunts, but it does give players a chance to find a few more hidden secrets with their new tools. Also, I found the puzzles and combat quite easy, with rare and annoying spikes in difficulty at 2 or 3 points in the game. The camera is also a bit picky. It usually stays at just the right angle, and the cinematic lock-on camera is fantastic, but you'll still find yourself missing the occasional jump or ledge when the camera randomly pivots behind a rock or into a wall. Also, don't even bother with the block and counter-attack moves. Darksiders is by FAR the most UNDERRATED game this gen! Its an amazing game.. I dont know why some people hate it, i recommend every "REAL" game to buy this AMAZING game

75

Throw Your Money at it, Now

Onefatcow | May 3, 2013 | See all Onefatcow's reviews »

This game is good, it's slashing, jumping, running good. The game is intense right up from the beginning, where you immediately take on angelic forces followed by a big, annoyed demon. There are a few flaws here and there (at one point everybody I've ever known has gotten stuck for a good ten minutes) but the game is solid, and its coupled with a storyline that is actually pretty good (if a bit cliche). The game is good, and although THQ may have fallen, it holds up to the standards of todays games.

97

Best Hack'n Slash 2010

espeditow | May 1, 2013 | See all espeditow's reviews »

The game that merges some moves and "other little things" games like GoD of War, Devil May Cry and Legacy of Kain, can make you stay long enough to finish it during the 13h and almost half it took to finish , the game in no time became massante / tiring as the Assassin's Creed series from Ubisoft, the end of the game is epic, making it clear that will have a sequel.

86

Great game, somewhat mediocre port.

BubbaSquare | April 25, 2013 | See all BubbaSquare's reviews »

The game itself has excellent gameplay: problem-solving elements like in the ever-so fantastic Zelda games, and combat that rivals that of the God of War series. This excellent game follows an interesting character in an overall interesting setting, and is a welcome addition to any Steam Library.

The porting from consoles, however, leaves some faults, such as not having as much options to tweak as one could in other games.

Bypassing all that, Darksiders is a game that all PC gamers should experience at least once!

80

The Legend of Zelda meets God of War at BlizzCon

BazookaSamurai | April 24, 2013 | See all BazookaSamurai's reviews »

Darksiders is a very interesting experience. You'll be playing as War, a horseman of the Apocalypse. You'll immediately recognize, what I believe to be, it's three most prominent inspirations: The Legend of Zelda, God of War and Blizzard's Stylized Art. However, Darksider's story twists and turns make this journey unique. The combat is built around combos, bloody, gruesome combos. Using different weapons and tools that you will find in Zelda-Esq dungeons and Temples, you will be able to chain massive combos together similar to Kratos in the God of War games. The dungeons never seem intensely challenging, but they offer just enough of a challenge to keep you from bolting through them. The combat is highly rewarding and fun, if you enjoy splitting Demons in two with giant swords, and the world is beautiful. War looks like an epic Warrior from World of Warcraft that just completed the latest tier set of armor. He looks awesome and the world is gorgeous. Pick up the game, enjoy the story, the world, the characters and the combat.

89

Get slashing!

CrysisX | March 9, 2013 | See all CrysisX's reviews »

The game didn't look fun to me at first but when I decided to play the other day I got addicted! The game's storyline is amazing and I like the combat system. At first glance, it may look like a simple hack n slash game but I was wrong. There are a lot of moves available in the game which some, are quite hard to perform. The graphics and environment in the game is nice and the sound is good. I would recommend this to anyone who's looking for a great, long adventure game!

85

Great Zelda substitute

Stebsis | Feb. 16, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

As the title says, Darksiders is great, and a lot gorier, Legend of Zelda substitute if someone doesn't own Nintendo's consoles. You go into dungeons, do puzzles, open chests, find the special item that you use to solve the puzzles and defeat the boss with it. It has that Zelda formula and is a great game to boot.

You play as War, one of the four Horsemen of the apocalypse. Apparently the seven seals that trigger the apocalypse have been broken and War is summoned to Earth, only to discover that the final seal hasn't been broken and your brothers haven't come with you. You're being put to prison for hundreds of years as the one responsible for for the apocalypse and in that time humanity has fallen. After his time War is sent back to Earth to kill the Destroyer who apparently is responsible for the destruction.

The biblical setting is interesting and the developer, Vigil Games, definitely have their own style and take on it. Story has some interesting turns and is all around enjoyable from the start to finish.

Combat is pretty great and really gory. You chop off your enemies heads, wings, horns and everything that sticks out. Monsters you encounter are varied and require different tactics. Combat does get a bit repetitive after a while, you only get 3 weapons, 2 to use at a time, a sword and either a gauntlet that lets you smash ice that blocks your way and throw enemies in the air, or a sickle that lets you deal damage all around you but it's not as powerful as sword.

Puzzles are ok, they're not anything that hard, nowhere near the hardest that Zelda games have, but they're enjoyable and make you sometimes think a bit, they at least won't stop you in your trails and take you away from the adventure for that long.

Darksiders is really enjoyable hack and slash, puzzle game with great and imaginative setting and premise. If you like Zelda type games and great action, Darksiders won't let you down.

89

A Real Jewel.

kokosabre | Feb. 3, 2013 | See all kokosabre's reviews »

This game surprised me for real. Once I found out that I will be part of the Four Horsemen I bought game at once and never regret it.Game is more than good.Graphics is great and combat system makes the game real pleasure to be played.

91

Don't miss it!

Daniel89x | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all Daniel89x's reviews »

This game was gifted to me from a friend. I told him I dont play this kind of games but he convinced me to give it a try. So I tried it and got surprised by how cool is it, time really flies away when u play this game, because it has a great story, nice gameplay, with many fighting skills and weapons to unlock, challenging boss fights, plenty of hidden collectables and puzzles. All and all for me was a great action game, glad that I didnt miss it, u shouldn't too!

89

Great action game

rstokes | Jan. 19, 2013 | See all rstokes's reviews »

While on the surface it may appear to be a simple button masher, the games hides a quite intricate combo system that allows skilled players to chain HUGE combos for massive damage. The puzzles are anything but trivial and the story is one worth listening to. Overall i would highly recommend this game

88

Surprise is the word for this game

Lippe1989 | Jan. 2, 2013 | See all Lippe1989's reviews »

Well, there are some games that we do not expect something. Really do not expect. A agame that we buy for a cheap price or buy without think a lot. Darksiders can be one of these games. Graphically it is very simple, missing some polishment. The art is beautiful but misss some things. But the story is interesting. The main character too. You will also like some of the enemies. The gameplay is cool. It is not something different, new or something like that. It is a basic gameplay with sword, chain and other things. But, we have to agree that this kind of thing is missing nowadays. We have a lot of shooters releasing everyday. A lot of people compares with God of War but I disagree. They are different and this game is not so linear. The gameplay is also different. Of course that you will see a 3rd person camera and will punch some bad monsters but it is different. The way you use the weapons for exemple is very different. But it is good to be compared with a great game as God of War. So, this game is very recommended for people who wants a cheap game that can give you more than you expect.

89

Darksiders - review

carlyle | Dec. 28, 2012 | See all carlyle's reviews »

As for the gameplay Darksiders although it seems at first glance an action, actually contains many more elements of adventure and puzzle than you might think. The primary purpose is to wander inside the game world to track various bosses and demons in order to reach the final and then punish him properly. To stand in the way there are, apart from the enemies, several steps are only accessible after acquiring certain items and abilities, as well as environmental rather large and intricate puzzle, which are often represented by large sections of the game to be solved with logic and with gadgets in possession of the main protagonist. The component of the fighting is in fact no more than 25/30% of the game, in addition to the classic sword the main character also has a number of secondary weapons and gadgets useful not only to get the better of the enemy, but also to overcome steps otherwise impassable. For example a kind of steel fist, able to break ice barriers which block the road, or the grapple, which is essential to reach places situated at a great distance. Continuing in the advanced stages of game balance between the action and the stage of exploration and puzzle becomes unbalanced in favor of the latter, providing pleasant sections in which you have to use the newly acquired skills to continue.

80

A unique game

antonioli84 | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all antonioli84's reviews »

There are some types of games that we expect nothing. We really don't care if it will be average or a masterpiece. We also don't look for a review or something. Some of them are garbage but others are very good surprises. Darksiders was one of these surprises. It has that king of game and gameplay that we are missing nowadays. Good characters, good story, good gameplay. The negative thing is the graphic. It's not that impressive we expect today, but it's not something that bother us. Very recommended.

80

Here comes War.

masterenric0 | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all masterenric0's reviews »

It's not without it's faults, but overall Darksiders is one hell of a game. A lot of reviews say Darksiders rips off a handful of other games such as Zelda, Uncharted and God of War, and they almost always use this as a negative point to the game. But honestly, I love all of those game franchises. For Vigil Games to combine aspects from all of those games into Darksiders is amazing. I highly recommend playing this.

92

What a sleeper!!

abelfs | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all abelfs's reviews »

This game was an entire surprise!! It starts as a commons hack'n slash like DMC or God of War, only to develop into a Zelda, a Soul Reaver, a Portal, etc. It's amazing the mixture of genres. However, it achieves its own personality. Hoping for Darksiders 3!!

85

Good game sure to be a classic

trunks10k | Nov. 21, 2012 | See all trunks10k's reviews »

Great game. I bought this on sale for $10 and I couldn't be much more happier. There are tons of games I buy just cuz they're on sale and most of them I rarely get to play they just sit in my library. Well Darksiders is a great addition and I'm glad to say I actually enjoy ending it n I'll work on my 2nd playthrough once they get some kinks worked out in the PC version. Sure it's not the best PC port but the story and gameplay adds up. Mix it in with smart side quests and puzzle you got yourself a great game. I'm still waiting fro pt. 2 to go on sale n imma hop on that like bleach on white =P

85

Mythology mash-up

V2lentin | Oct. 22, 2012 | See all V2lentin's reviews »

If you're expecting to see accurate mythology, then this game is not for you. It's a mash-up of all kinds of demons and gods from various cultures, but it's a plausible mix. The gameplay is rather simple, all you have to do is to kill evertything that moves, but the moves and the fatalities are really awesome, especially the Chaos Form ability. There are some puzzles too, some of which are pretty difficult, but nothing too hard to solve. four boss-fights are quite easy, each boss having its attack pattern that is quite easy to spot and counter. The graphics are pretty good, but nothing to impress. Also, the controls are well ported from the consoles, which makes the game easy to master with the mouse and keyboard. Overall, Darksiders is a game worth playing and I highly recommend it to anyone, especially when it's on sale.

87

A mature Legend of Zelda

Damien_Azreal | Oct. 10, 2012 | See all Damien_Azreal's reviews »

That's what it is. Legend of Zelda for adults. It's violent, dark, brutal... yet beautiful, expansive and engaging. Offering up a fresh take on the apocalypse and thrusting the player into the boots of one of the four horseman (War) you get to see this unique take on the end of the world first hand.

With plenty of dungeons to explore, new tools and gameplay elements to combine and try out, there are hours upon hours of gameplay to be had in Darksiders. One that really just came out of nowhere, but it's a game that needs to be played.

70

Original? No. Fun? Yes.

Lunk | Oct. 1, 2012 | See all Lunk's reviews »

Darksiders is a game that could (very charitably) be described as borrowing heavily from other games. Pretty much everything you come across in the game can be traced directly to another game, without much of a new spin placed on it. You've got your Panzer Dragoon-esque flying on-rails shooter segment, wall traversal that looked exactly like Prince of Persia, puzzles involving the placement and use of portals (paired blue and orange ones, no less), and the list goes on and on. There's very little originality in the gameplay, and the plot is passable but nothing to write home about (with a few great moments mixed in).

All of which begs the question: why did I give it a positive score? Well, because it's fun. The fact of the matter is they picked a bunch of good games to "borrow" from, and did a nice job of cobbling them together into an enjoyable action experience. The game should last you a good 20+ hours (more if you're a completionist), and the generally average plot had a pretty great conclusion that actually left me wanting more. This is a game I found myself wanting to dislike on a creative level, but honestly, how bad can it be if I had 20 hours of fun playing it and now I want the sequel?

85

Apocalypse Now!!!

curta | Sept. 27, 2012 | See all curta's reviews »

Darksiders is undoubtedly a very interesting and fun game to play. The story full of epic moment, the graphics are more that decent, the combat look and play great, the world is large and rich of puzzle to solve and monster to slash. In other words a very entertaining game. To get the full experience is best played with a controller, as you may expect from a game that come from console, but luckily mouse and keyboard are good enough to have some brutal fun. If you like God of War kind of games with Darksider you can't go wrong!

84

Awesome game

MtiC | Sept. 22, 2012 | See all MtiC's reviews »

Amazing game with good story. Killing enemies is becoming a pleasure with a lot of different options how to kill them, you can use finishing move or your best combo. To pass darksiders you need around 16 hours. Puzzles are in every dungeon. Sometimes are so easy but a few can drive you crazy. Overall its a good game worth buying and playing.

72

Move along if you're expecting too much of a story

schroff | Sept. 13, 2012 | See all schroff's reviews »

The protagonist is "War" in this one. With a protagonist like that it's fair to assume that the combat will be impressive and boy it delivers! It's spaced out with the usual puzzles and challenges to avoid monotony. Graphics are serviceable .. in the early part of the game the graphics and enemies look quite ugly but it gets better after an hour or two! Worth it for some hack and slash fun! It's not easy btw, you need to use combos and spells .. button mashing won't get you anywhere except the "You're dead" screen.

90

Buy this game!

Zinzun | Aug. 28, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

Seriously, it's a great game. It's like a God of War+Zelda mix, with a character design by Madureira that reminds me World of Warcraft. There are tons of things to do, like exploring dungeons, discover secrets, power-up your character ability and weapons. It's a thirty hours game, but you will never get tired of it. Even on the hardest difficulty, it's an easy game. You can activate in on Steam, but be aware that achievements are broken, THQ never released a patch to fix them. Great game, by the way.

100

We need more games like this!

Rubin1993 | Aug. 21, 2012 | See all Rubin1993's reviews »

Darksiders is an awesome Hack n Slash. It's like God of War, Gears of War, Portal and Tomb Raider combined altogether. The combat is simple but very good. We play a rule of War - the one of 4 Horsemans of Apocalypse. The story is also great. The game is quite long. It took me 20h to complete it.We need more games like this on PC!

80

Solid action/adventure game

CJV | Aug. 18, 2012 | See all CJV's reviews »

This isn't exactly a very original game, the most original part is the art by Joe Madureira. It's level design feels like a Zelda game, consisting of dungeons with various rooms, some of which are only accessible using the new item found in that dungeon and it alls ends with a boss fight that requires the item previously found. In terms of gameplay feels like a mix between Devil May Cry and God of War, you have to kill every enemy before advancing to the next room, you can finish them off with a finishing move, every kill gives you souls that can be used to unlock new weapons and attacks (or enhanced the ones you already have). Unfortunately the battle system does not have the depth of the two previous mentioned games and ends feeling like a button masher. You have access to various weapons but their attacks don't connect so you basically mash one button until the enemies are dead.

That said, the games manages to introduce some welcome variety and its ten-hour campaign is quite enjoyable, although the story is forgettable. Oh, and this game is best played with a controller. Overall, a fun game and well worth your time.

75

Good game

Dante003 | Aug. 13, 2012 | See all Dante003's reviews »

It's a good game, it becomes better if you think that this type of game is uncommon on pc. Its like God of War. The playability is fine, graphics are good, but it could have more options to personalize it.

90

Darksiders is a game worth playing

fable2 | Aug. 3, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

arksiders bring you a world where you can enjoy the scenery while killing demons a. astonishing atmosphere adds up to the entertainment. And the enemies and bosses that you can kill are just a blast. For this game is so varied, I try to separate it and talk about each part individually. Story: Driven by vengeance you are the horseman of the apocalypse who is accused of bringing an early end to the world. So the journey starts well. During your journey you meet demons, angels and even a guy from the "Great Ones". Azrael leads you to finding the reason of the early apocalypse. But sadly the ending is a bit regular: "Kill the bad guy and win" while it could have the player waiting for a sequel. Gameplay: Combat: The game play is so huge in darksider. Thanks to All the moves you can perform and all the new weapons you can add to you arsenal. And even if one weapon has not many moves, it can be a lot of joy enchanting it with a unique enchantment. For instance "scythe" has few moves but you can add an enchantment to it that lets you collect more souls (currency in darksiders) and use "scythe" as a finishing weapon. When you access to your horse, you can have much fun riding it and killing your enemies. This is a little unsatisfying that you don't have your horse at the beginning of the game. Varied enemies add up to the joy of fighting. Sadly, the counter-system is not very powerful and all your enemies have a different pace of attacking which makes you unable of countering the attacks in a satisfying range. Puzzle: One thing that Darksiders have been blamed for is its bad camera that sometimes makes solving puzzles a chore. While I admit the bad camera, I say a little mouse sensitivity configuration and a little practice can solve it. So basically I don't see any problem to that. Other than that the puzzles are so varied and none are that much hard to stop you. But some puzzles just take too long to get solved which may be good or bad. When you are tired of just fighting the enemies and killing demons, a puzzle (even if long) can be a great refresh. But normally the puzzles are continued by each other .

Soundtrack: Soundtrack is very satisfying. But there are some sounds in some points of the game that don't help the enjoyment. For instance the sound used for solving puzzles is harsh while it could be light. Graphics: Even Pc version does not include much configuration for graphics and the absence of AA is very noticeable. But the overall graphic is just fine.

70

Good game for the right price

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | See all StewartX's reviews »

Darksiders is a good third-person perspective single-player game in the action adventure genre. You control of War one of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse and engage in combat, puzzles and exploration. The combat side is gratifying and usually results in War tearing the enemy apart painfully. Currently only $5 so a must buy in my opinion. Graphics 7/10 Gameplay 7/10 Story 6/10 Multiplayer: No

83

Decent action hack n slash

xgatto | July 30, 2012 | See all xgatto's reviews »

Typical god of war game, if you played god of war or devil may cry and like them, chances are you're gonna like this one. Game is action packed, but also has a lot of puzzling moments, just like god of war, "how the hell do I get up there?" "how do I kill this guy?" which make the game more fun, but sometimes also kinda frustrating. Also it has some equipment customization, change weapons, improve armor, get more skills, to keep you entertained even after hours of campaign.

90

Amazing

Darkslayer16 | July 30, 2012 | See all Darkslayer16's reviews »

Darksiders in an amazing game and if you have ever had any interest in a Zelda game it's a must buy. The combat is fairly simple but satisfying, the story is great and you wont regret buying it.

80

Darksiders

BeyondGray | July 23, 2012 | See all BeyondGray's reviews »

Altough it has some ideas from various games, the playability and storyline are very intriguing. Its a must play for everyone that enjoys a hack n slash fest!

84

An absolute blast

Cooberstooge | July 23, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

Darksiders seems to have been one of those titles overlooked by the majority of the gaming community, but don't let that deter you. What you'll find here is a smooth-running, largely bug-free homage to the classic hack-n-slash games of yesteryear.

The story pulls you in, and the environments will blow your mind. The world starts out all nice and normal, but things soon change. Gameplay is fast, but not so much so that it leaves those new to the genre in the dust. The campaign is not overly long, and really feels "just right" in length and content.

90

Really Nice Gamer

nibblemonkey | July 23, 2012 | See all nibblemonkey's reviews »

Darksiders is an Action Adventure game where you play as War, who is one of 4 legendary horsemen, who is trying to regain his power and defeat the destroyer. This game overall feels very much like The Legend of Zelda, which is a good thing, as the dungeons challenge you with various puzzles as well as new items as you journey through. This creates a fun experience, this is helped by the controls that are easy to learn and aren't complicated. One small downside is that the game doesn't give you much of a range of graphics options, you can really only set the resolution, but this isn't a big problem as it doesn't stop you from enjoying the game as it is only a small downside. Overall this is a very enjoyable Action Adventure game that is fun to play as well as having an interesting story.

75

Action at its finest

IganX | July 23, 2012 | See all IganX's reviews »

This game gathers features from many top games and mixes them in a heavy-action adventure game, with open world exploration and a hack n slash combat system. Stunning graphics, some customization, this game is a great adventure to play. Still, dont look for many strong RPG features, for the game is more of an adventure type.

80

Decent game

Ninjer | July 22, 2012 | See all Ninjer's reviews »

I thought this game was decent. The story was interesting and the gameplay was similar to god of war with a mix of zelda (puzzle part). The more you play the game though, the more you get a little bored of it. It is interesting unlocking new skills and discovering the newer environments. I kinda wish they used the more "modern new york" environment though, I liked the beginning level.

If you buy the game, I suggest you play it with a controller. It does feel more like a console game and it's slightly more clunkier using mouse+keyboard.

It's worth a buy at a price less than $10, but any more, you should probably wait for the second one to be released and for the reviews.

95

A must have for fans of action games

panz3r88 | July 20, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Darksiders is in my opinion the best game released in 2010. In this action game each element is great:the combat system is deep and you can combine weapons and abilities to create good combos. The game is a free roaming, so you can freely explore the various areas of the game after you have unlocked them. Backtracking in this game is fun: every time you unlock new abilities or weapons you can go back to old locations and find areas you couldn't explore before. Boss fights are amazing and you must always find the correct strategy to beat them. If you love action game you must buy this game: it's quite difficult and very long, but you always have fun during all the gameplay

80

A Pleasant Surprise

Xtermi | July 20, 2012 | See all Xtermi's reviews »

I had read good things about the game, and many other "not so good" things, yet i picked this up in big part thanks to the awesome Sales here at GMG, and after playing the game for 15 hours, i'm now reaching the final stage of the game, and finally have my own opinion.

I was reluctant to pick this up because many people claimed it's a horrible console port. Well, it is no doubt a console port, but i wouldn't call it horrible at all. There are a few things that annoy me, the lack of Graphics Settings, which in my case aren't a problem as i'm getting a smooth framerate, and the controls are probably better using a Xbox controller, but i do just fine with my Keyboard & mouse.

I found the game to be a pleasent surprise, the whole "setting" is interesting, you are War, one of the four horsemen of the Apocalypse, and well, it's the Apocalypse. You'll be killing or interacting with all sorts of demons, with some names that will sound familiar to mythology lovers (or even Metal music fans) out there, like Tiamat or Samael. And the voice acting is not amazing, but there's a certain charm to it.

The combat is similiar to games Devil May Cry, and you'll have some puzzles to solve while you make your way to the story killing hordes of enemies. As for the graphics, as i said, there are really no "Setting", besides screen resolution, but Darksiders is a decent looking game, it's obviously not Crysis 2, but it doesn't look particularly outdated.

So, to sum it up, if you like Single Player games involving killing a bunch of demons on a post-apocalyptic Earth, than this is probably a good game for you, even though it's not the best "console port" ever, it can still be very fun.

100

Best game of its genre

PedroVarela | July 20, 2012 | See all PedroVarela's reviews »

It is one of my favourite games. You play as one of the four Horsemen, which means it's time to kill angels and demons!

The game is a proper RPG when looking at the map, it's enormous. Also, there are a lot of skills for the character, as well as weapon power-ups, that grant you a specific function, so use them accordingly to what you need to kill.

No pressure on the game's mechanic. It is quite simple and responsive, with the particularity that you can hang and jump on almost every ledge and crack in the wall. The graphics are normal for this type of game, nothing to showy and theatrical.

In my opinion, it is one of the many games that deserve to be played. I cannot wait to see the sequel.

Have fun!

83

More than just the sum of its parts.

GAMERamble | July 19, 2012 | See all GAMERamble's reviews »

The long foretold Apocalypse finally arrives and angels clash with demons with Earth as the battleground. It is the duty of the four horsemen to bring balance to the conflict and so when War is summoned he enters the fray without worrying too much about where his brethren is. Unfortunately it turns out that it wasn't really time for the Apocalypse and of the four horsemen only War made an appearance. With humanity not ready for the conflict and thus biting the dust War is promptly blamed for the whole mess and stripped of all his powers but manages to convince his superiors to grant him to chance of clearing his name. They agree but binds war to a "Watcher" who holds the power to take Wars life if he so much as strays from his mission. With all that done War is sent back to Earth where he has to regain his powers, unravel the conspiracy and clear his name by doing what he does best, cracking some skulls. This is just the first ten minutes of a twenty plus hour game so if you want a story to go with your action then you've come to the right place.

It is common knowledge that as well as being the talent behind comics like Uncanny X-Men, Ultimates 3 and Battlechasers, Joe Madureira is also a bit of a gaming geek. Now I have no idea how much direct input he had into the game besides his awesome art style but Darksiders is definitely not afraid to wear its influences on its sleeves. Depending on how long you've been playing games you'll spot elements from God Of War, Prince of Persia, Dark Sector, The Legend Of Zelda, Soul Reaver, Devil May Cry, X-Men: Origins - Wolverine, Prototype and even Portal. Some see this lack of innovation as a negative but I think Darksiders have combined all it's "inspirations" quite well and with the lack of decent action, adventure games on PC it would be madness to just dismiss this one out of hand because it imitates its peers.

Overall I was pleasantly suprised by Darksiders and really feel like I have received value for money. The game might be single player only but it spins an entertaining yarn and had me hooked all the way through. At twenty plus hours its well above the average length for the genre and with Steam achievements there's also a bit of replay value. If you are one of those people that loathe console style games this isn't going to be the game for you. Also don't buy this if you are the type to throw your toys at the mere sight of a jagged edge or low res texture. If however you can still appreciate solid and addictive gameplay with a nice mix of combat, exploration and puzzle solving then welcome to the world of Darksiders. It's not going to be a game that blows you away but its heartening to see this very underrepresented genre on the PC.

90

Finally Zelda can be played on PC!

gecko92 | July 17, 2012 | See all gecko92's reviews »

This game is heavily inspired by The Legend of Zelda games, which is not a bad thing. Its combat is inspired by games like God of War and Devil May Cry, which is not a bad thing at all. The result is a great game with an identity of its own. The story, albeit linear, takes place in an immersive and well-characterized universe. The graphics are very nice and comic-like. The gameplay is a lot like Zelda, with dungeons, bosses (to take out in clever ways), gadgets and horseriding. Combat doesn't rely too much on button-mashing thanks to lots of different combos and abilities that make fighting more engaging. There also is some basic but enjoyable platforming. Completing the game will take about 10-12 hours and there is a New Game+ option to replay it with all the gear and abilities from the beginning. Like all hack'n'slash games, it's better to play it with a gamepad. In conclusion, Darksiders is a great Zelda clone with an identity of its own. You should consider buying this if you like action and hack'n'slash games (and Zelda games, of course).

100

Fun fun fun!!!

PM_DMNKLR | July 14, 2012 | See all PM_DMNKLR's reviews »

Do you like to beat the crap out of demons? How about running around and just hacking the daylights out of giant beasts that are literally Hell-bent on crushing you and all of the Earth as well? This game may be rather linear, but it's far from a disappointment, and for the price it's set at (I picked it up on sale for $5!) you can't beat that with a stick (or sword either)!!! All I can say is that if you have yet to play it, quit wasting your time and throw your cash at this great opportunity NOW!!!

93

A perfect blend of genres

Cynaris | July 13, 2012 | See all Cynaris's reviews »

Do you like Legend of Zelda? How about Hack and Slash games? Exploration? This game has it all and more.

Darksiders is a very well balanced mix of gameplay elements influenced by many games that come before it. And even if that is the case, it still manages to retain it's identity through a very distinct art style, great characters, and by striking a great balance between combat and exploration. You can expect great bosses, a fair challenge, A fairly simple, but well working combat system, many weapons at your disposal, a flaming horse! (I mean how cool is that.. ) The game always manages to throw something new at you, there are new mechanics to be found, and you can even collect pieces for a really powerful armor, which I gotta say pays off.

The story is good, not necessarily the greatest, but a good setup, and remains interesting throughout. It was a sleeping hit, and I advise everyone to get it, if the things mentioned above are your cup of tea.

90

If Zelda and bucket of blood had a baby

danteveli | June 25, 2012 | See all danteveli's reviews »

Drksiders is one of best New IP served to us in last couple years. Its action adventure game "ripping off" many great titles (we even get something like portal gun!) but doing it with style.

We are War one of 4 Horsemen of Apocalypse brought down to Earth to finish it all off. Something goes wrong and we wake a bit earlier than our brothers in post-apocalyptic world where angels have different plan. Gameplay is a bit similar to God of War with that Zelda Dungeons and many items and abilities like riding horse, flying. Its a lot of action but there is also place for riddles and platforming sequences. Stylistic of Darksiders reminds me of that from Warcraft 3 human forces. War is big blocky and caries huge sword. Darksiders is really interesting product worth buying and playing. Its refreshing game using many previously known ideas. The trick here is doing it the perfect way.

85

A fantastic play.

flubadub1 | June 25, 2012 | See all flubadub1's reviews »

This game was brilliant, i found it to be a fun play with the PC. The layout of each area brings a very strong atmosphere to the player which i have not found elsewhere. The graphics are not to bad for being a few years old and the different types of weapons along with the mobility and the moves created brings a great feel of power which brings emphasis to your characters power and struggle. I was also surprised at the length of the game, i found that it didn't drag on to long with unwanted content, but not short enough to not be worth the money.

A strong action RPG which i would recommend to anyone looking for a detailed fun way to hack and slash.

80

A good copy of Legend of Zelda and God of War

simonsix | June 20, 2012 | See all simonsix's reviews »

This game combines all of the best elements from both Legend of Zelda and God of War. Anyone who was a fan of either two games will feel right at home with this game. I myself am nearly finished with the game, and I have thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience. There should be more hack and slash games of this quality.

90

Very Fun Action Game

ROKET | June 20, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

I enjoyed Darksiders from beginning to end and I can rarely say that about a game. The campaign - played on hard - took me 27 hours and I loved it.

You get action, platforming, puzzle solving, and great environments all throughout and the best part is that the game doesnt lose itself by giving you random crap to mix things up. From beginning to end you get new weapons, you environmental obstacles and even new ways to travel the gigantic world.

Presentation wise you get great voice acting and animations along with a great story and ending. I didnt like God of War as much as I liked this game. I recommend this game ANY time anyone asks. It was awesome...and wonderfully gruesome.

88

A More Intimate God of War

Endyo | June 5, 2012 | See all Endyo's reviews »

I'll be the first to say that I had never heard of Darksiders before I saw it on sale for $5. Some people recommended it so I decided that was reason enough to give it a shot. This was definitely a good (albeit frustrating) choice.

The comparisons to God of War are certainly valid. Even the dark demeanor of God of War is present in Darksiders, however I believe it presents a much more detailed and challenging game style that PC gamers may enjoy. Visually, it's a well crafted game. Details are not only in the models, but also in the environment... and let me tell you it is a very nice environment. I don't believe I've ever seen such a detailed close up view of a post-apocolyptic city-scape as in Darksiders.

The gameplay is very much centered around a hack and slash concept, however it does present a lot of scenarios for relatively complex puzzles as well as very difficult boss fights involving the use of all of your special skills. This is where the game earns it's difficulty rating. Boss fights are not something you just button mash through. Timing is extremely important and knowing what to do and precisely when is a matter of life and death. The difficulty aspect of Darksiders can really be the deciding factor in whether you quit in a rage or love the game. The gameplay also has some solid RPG elements that other hack and slash games seem to lack.

Darksiders was originally a console game and so gamepad controls are probably a necessity. I wouldn't even attempt to play on mouse and keyboard given the reactions you need to have to be successful. This is a game that has significant content and enjoyable gameplay, a definitely buy if you're looking for an action hack and slash.

83

Good game

ruready12 | June 2, 2012 | See all ruready12's reviews »

This game is pretty decent. It has nice graphics that unfortunately don't work well on older computers. The gameplay is great and there are many unlocks, abilities and weapons to play around with. The storyline is awesome and it feels like a movie throughout the entire game. The bad side of this game is the large amount of bugs and glitches, but it doesn't seem to make the game any less fun. I would recommend this game to anyone looking for a fun, exciting game with an action-packed storyline.