Reviews for Company of Heroes THQ

89

Band of Brothers

Guardian412 | Jan. 31, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

Company of Heroes is a real time strategy game I can relate mostly to the World War 2 TV series, Band of Brothers. Whoever seen that series, that one will find the atmosphere and even some of the missions very-very similar. The game mechanics is a bit different than the mechanics of the games in the genre, yet its just fairly unique; you have to capture critical points to have a chance to get new people, supplies and resources, or to build buildings, but whoever ever played with Warhammer 40k: Dawn of War, that one will find the system very similar, especially as the developers of the two game are the one and the same. The game has great graphics, a very good gameplay and good to great missions. The campaign is relatively long and it is always providing something new to keep your attention and also to provide some challenge, especially during the last missions of the game. The story told in the game is nothing new or unique, especially as many missions are based on real operations, but it is told well enough with good stylish cutscenes to keep you entertained during the campaign. Company of Heroes is an old game, but it is still one of the bests in the genre. It is highly recommended for those who want to relieve and play some of the episodes of Band of Brothers.

93

Great strategy game

Lippe1989 | Jan. 2, 2013 | See all Lippe1989's reviews »

I am a big fan of strategy games, but I confess that most of them starts making me bored because they become repetitive, the graphics also start to bother me because of the time. But the strategy game that I most like is Company of Heroes. It is an amazing game that gives you the oportunity to play both sides. So, you will have a lot of options of men and machines to use and have fun. The artificial intelligence is also very good and will not disappoint you. The machine does not do stupid things but go to the right places to detonate you. It is also a very good game to play with partner in cooperative mode or to play against them. It is very cool with a lot of maps. You will have different game modes with different goals. The game is very good and I play it until now. Look at the year that the game was released: 2006. A lot of time passed, but the game stills interesting. Very recommended.

85

One of the best strategy game!

antonioli84 | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all antonioli84's reviews »

I'm not a big fan of strategy game but I can say that Company of Heroes is special for me. I really like it. It's a great game with very good environment. You can play with the two sides of the War and each of them has different peolple and veihicles. It's amazing. And even though a 2006 game it's very beautiful. I recommend if you like or not this kind of game!

80

It's a decent RTS

MorphineBear | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all MorphineBear's reviews »

I've played a lot of RTS games in my day, mostly Starcraft and Warcraft (which are some of my all time favorites for games) so this game is probably outshadowed by a whole lot.

The game play can be a bit odd, because it was so different than those "-crafts" and it's hard to understand the controls. Sometimes you'll forget a key and then you're out of luck.

The levels on the otherhand are really well thought out. There are AIs that come out from hidden areas and vehicles you need to destroy with mines and grenades... there's more to it than just clicking Attack.

91

Company of Heroes - review

carlyle | Dec. 18, 2012 | See all carlyle's reviews »

Company of Heroes is a RTS set in World War II. A feature of the game is the system of management and micromanagement of troops has created a much more tattica.Il player must take control of the points on the map. The more points you control, the more resources you earn. This concept requires a continuous expansion of the territory. These points are connected to each other as a supply line, and then, if another player interrupts winning a point, island points and dramatically reduces the resources produced by the enemy. The units are very expensive, so Company of Heroes distinguishes itself from other real-time strategy, where it is easy to see many units deployed in the field. The interaction with the environment is almost complete: you can use walls, wrecked car, bunkers and so to hide their troops making them more resistant. Some houses in ruins can then be transformed into barracks where recruit units on foot, without her forcibly from the base camp. Company of Heroes uses the Havok physics engine that gives the game a more realistic ever seen in an RTS game. The buildings can be destroyed by grenades, satchels or mortars, and tanks can destroy walls or fences. Smoke created from explosions is programmed to behave realistically and react according to the wind. The debris is affected by the explosion, a stroke of the tank can fly a barrel and a splash mud troops, leaving a large crater. When the infantry is under artillery bombardment, the bodies are dismembered and the limbs are lost. Bridges and buildings can be destroyed by engineers with the demolition charges.

95

RTS Strategy at its best

Cryz91 | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all Cryz91's reviews »

What the title said, it needs no intro. It's Company of Heroes, great graphics, effects, explosions, battles.

It's all about tactics, how to build a base, recruit, dominate and conquer, an explosive bundle in this game, MUST-HAVE.

94

HArd but Great RTS game

icedragon15 | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all icedragon15's reviews »

Companys of Heroes was worth my one dollar. I play it a lot and it made me buy the expansion. The skirmish was really hard but it was fun and it takes time to win. U would recommend it to any RTS player. This is fun and it is fun to play.

90

great!

trebuchete | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all trebuchete's reviews »

This game is so addicting. It's one of the best RTS games I've ever played and holds up well after a few years. It's really fun and if you're a casual gamer, easy to pick up. I can't believe this game is six years old!

90

Fantastic game

dark2025 | Oct. 11, 2012 | See all dark2025's reviews »

This game really gives you a feeling of actually being there on the battlefield commanding your troops. The graphics do a nice job of conveying the destructiveness of war, and the action is equally intense.

The game focuses more on tactics than resource gathering and base building. To win you must be aware of the battlefield, take advantage of covers and execute flanking manoeuvres whenever you have a chance. It's not a speed-based strategy game like Starcraft, so even if you're not normally interested in this genre due to the speed factor you should still enjoy CoH.

93

Great game even for non WWII fans.

curta | Sept. 27, 2012 | See all curta's reviews »

WWII another WWII game you may say. Yes, but this time (in rality some yars ago :D) the game is an exceptional one. A really very good RTS. One of the best I've played so far, may be the best one. Outstanding (for the time but still now) graphic and sound. AI that is really "Intelligent". Deep strategy. Minus like the high how request are no more a problem nowadays. If you never try you have to do. Or like me if you find it on sales on GMG you can simply have a DD version in your "library" just in case you'll lose the original CD. Trust me and you don't go wrong with Company of Heroes!

100

Bets RTS ever

Sharptap | Sept. 17, 2012 | See all Sharptap's reviews »

Hours and hours of multiplayer fun and extensive single player campaing makes the game really good. The Second World War setting is great and the graphics are super-b even that the game is old. The single player has no story so it´s not memorable but the multiplayer is really fast-paced making the game really good and challenging.

90

Great RTS

Zinzun | Sept. 17, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

This is one of the most brilliant world war two strategic games. The single player doesn't have a great story (like Call of Duty series,for example) but it's very fun to play. Multiplayer has a fast matchmaking system that grants you hours of fun. Graphics are very beautiful (the game is old,now).Buy this now its on sale!

90

A great RTS that as no equal.

zhack075 | Sept. 16, 2012 | See all zhack075's reviews »

This game is a must have if you love RTS and WW2.

Graphics are beautiful even if the game has been release several years ago. The gameplay is very similar to Dawn of War 2 but more realistic. Campaign is good even if i mostly play coop online against computer players (which can be really challenging, I even suspect them to cheat... ) The cover system is great and add a real tactical aspect to the game. Morevover, this is a realistic game. Infantry are very useful but very weak and can be easily suppressed for example. Tank shells can bounce against tanks sometimes as they can rip off the canon. Randomness add realism.

I recommend you to play this game with the addons even if Tales of Valor isn't as great as opposing front it can be found at low price since the game isn't really new.

97

An RTS for everyone

Cooberstooge | Sept. 13, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

There's nothing out there RTS-wise that's quite like Company of Heroes. Every piece of the game just ties together and forms something that's more experience than game. It's got that little something that even haters of the genre will be able to look past.

The amount of time and effort the developers poured into the graphical capabilities of this title is unmatched. Every unit is so well-detailed it's kinda disturbing. Effects like bullet holes and scars on the landscape from shells landing are fully realized, and each and every unit has ragdoll effects attached to it, making even a unit death something to pause and watch. The sounds are fantastic, and being able to hear your troops while a firefight rages all around them is extremely cool - I found the voice acting itself to be quite a notch up in quality from the usual drivel one hears in most RTS titles, too. Controls are very good, and the various functions, commands, and whatnot you'll need to make use of to succeed are always found exactly where you'd expect them to be.

The single player campaign is nice and long, with a solid story to back it up. Replaying through the campaign is an easy thing to want to do as well, since the destruction engine contained within Company of Heroes easily makes each and every battle unique - different structures get blown up, explosions happen in different areas and destroy different units, and so forth. Multiplayer is very active to this day, and is the big selling point of the series - matches can last ages, yet never manage to get stale.

Company of Heroes is such an easy game to recommend, and really, even if you totally hate or absolutely suck at RTS titles, you'll love this one.

90

War Made Fun

theamazingshala | Sept. 7, 2012 | See all theamazingshala's reviews »

Company of Heroes is the type of game you so often wish other RTS games could be. It has atmosphere, depth and a still stunning look about it. Instead of focusing on resource gathering, your main focus is pushing forward and capturing supply, and fuel lines. Doing whatever you can to halt the enemy advancing.

With only two factions to play, you would think the nature of the game play would get stale but the environment every time allows for new and creative play through. Destroying certain structure, blowing up bridges. The chaos and destruction is what sets it apart from so many other RTS games.

100

Best RTS I've ever played.

xboxer | Aug. 10, 2012 | See all xboxer's reviews »

The best RTS I have ever played. In campaign, the story captures the mood and events in WW2's ETO quite while.

The tactical aspect is ahead of it's time and nothing else has ever come close to COH.

MP has many modes to keep you entertained for a long time and there is no lack of players.

90

RTS at its best.

IganX | July 22, 2012 | See all IganX's reviews »

Company of Heroes delivers an experience which very few RTS manage to reach. Its fast-paced gameplay and high replayability make it a must have for those who like action / RTS games. Its online game is still standing though being several years old, but where the game really shines is in its single-player mode. Totally a must have.

94

Exceptional RTS game

VietViking | July 22, 2012 | See all VietViking's reviews »

I am not much of a big fan of RTS games, but Company of Heroes got me hooked. The visuals look great from birds eye view mode, not so much in cutscenes though. However, that is only a small negative, and the mechanics in this game like the cover and squads make this game really fun.

95

The Greatest WW2 RTS to Date

Bertolli | July 21, 2012 | See all Bertolli's reviews »

Even nearing 6 years of age, Company of Heroes continues to create a awe-inspiring experience as a RTS.

The graphical detail place into units and surroundings are beautiful and amazing for its age. Not to mention how bullet details and explosions rip holes into the beautiful landscape creating a atmosphere of a long drawn out battle the longer games continue. Hell even the units themselves have ragdolls!

The sound makes you feel like you are right there in the thick of a WW2 battle. Explosions, gun fire, you name it it sounds like it was taken directly from a battlefield. While the voices may sound cheesy, the voice acting brings a light-hearted feel to the battlefield as units react to your commands and the ongoing battle through their voices.

Game play is solid in both multiplayer and singleplayer modes. The singleplayer story mode is enjoyable but really has no "story" in terms of character development which sadly holds the game back. But singleplayer is only a portion of this wonderful game.

Multiplayer is where CoH shines. Games are very fast paced and yet may take upwards of an hour to finish and throughout that creating adrenaline fueled mayhem.

90

The Definitive Tactical RTS Game

ROKET | July 20, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

This game is in a genre of its own. It boasted Tactical RTS combat, great graphics, and several great campaigns. Relic put a lot of love into this game and while the multiplayer isnt as active as a game like Starcraft 2 - you still get a great and very well built game that defined and entire sub category of RTS games.

In this game you dont focus on your base, you do build structure to enable new units and build heavier stuff but in the end its all about the map and the control points. You HAVE to go out and capture the map if you want to succeed. If you just sit around in your base - you get decimated.

The graphics in the game were superb for its time and STILL are with great particle effects and brilliant combat effects that make for an intense and very entertaining experience. I simply LOVED the explosions.

In addition to great graphics they also had great mechanics such as a cover system and a fully destructible map that really added a great dynamic to games.

If theres any gripe I had with the game it was the poor support for hotkeys. I couldnt get a feel of them as well as I did for SC2. The game also had a good but of balance issues with the Axis side simply tearing things up most games.

All in all - this game is amazing and well worth your time even if you just play the singleplayer campaigns.

HIGHLY Recommended.

100

The best real-time strategy war game.

tjfoo | July 20, 2012 | See all tjfoo's reviews »

I love every aspect of Company of Heroes. The graphics, music, story and gameplay are simply awesome! The covering of the units is one of the distinctive elements of the game and, IMO, that makes the game a wonderful strategy game. This is the game everyone should play. Highly recommended!

85

Best RTS ever

RaTcHeT302 | July 15, 2012 | See all RaTcHeT302's reviews »

Company of Heroes is just one of the best RTS games I have ever played, it's intuitive, easy and fun to play. Everything is balanced and it offers lot's of interesting challenges troughout the game. The multiplayer is lot's of fun with some friends too.

It is graphicaly amazing too for an RTS and the price is reasonable. Get it while it's hot!

87

Great modern RTS game

panz3r88 | July 14, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Company of Heroes is one the best modern RTS game. In old school strategy games the key element is gathering resources and build structures and units to destroy the enemy. In Company of Heroes you don't have to worry about these things: you have a limited amount of units and resources and you must use all your knowledges to use them in an efficient way. With this type of gameplay the focus is more on strategic elements: you must always think to what unit you must use in a certain situation and how to move them in the battlefield . The single player campaign is long and challenging and the graphic is great for an RTS game.

90

Outstanding RTS

Jelley | July 14, 2012 | See all Jelley's reviews »

Although it belongs to a highly conventional genre, Company of Heroes strays from the strict conventions of the genre to offer an experience rarely seen in games. The emphasis on tactics and positioning rather than base management is a welcome relief and ultimately makes Company of Heroes stand out as one of the top RTS games. As a WW2 RTS, Company of heroes offers several well executed and varied factions that have offer vastly different play styles and ultimately areas of strength and weakness. The campaign features great looking cinematic cut scenes as well as an overarching storyline that truly makes the effort rewarding and satisfying. Company of Heroes is arguably the best looking RTS to this day with great model detail and realism which is exaggerated through destructible environments and witty voice acting. However this realism is also its biggest fault, as game play especially on-line can be rather tedious, and balance is sometimes questionable given the focus on mimicking the WW2 battles. Despite being 6 years old, the on-line community still endures and on-line matchmaking in all its game modes is a breeze.

100

Y u no have this game?!

PM_DMNKLR | July 14, 2012 | See all PM_DMNKLR's reviews »

On a serious note now... BUY IT!!! If you're into war games, RTS', or just plain fun games to play period, this series is a definite must-have, seriously! Plus, COH 2 is coming very soon, and you really should prepare for it's awesomeness, trust me, it's going to be epic piled upon epic!

86

RTS

artropodo | July 13, 2012 | See all artropodo's reviews »

Great RTS, Singleplayer is really good, AI get a little too challenging sometime but nothing impossible to counter attack. Great unit variety and roles. The graphics and sound are superb. I have not played the multiplayer.

87

Awesome game

NoLove3827 | July 13, 2012 | See all NoLove3827's reviews »

This game is probably one of the best RTS games made, It is a more arcadish RTS than some others, but it is still a great game, has good graphics for its time as well. Definitely recommend this game!

90

Superb RTS Experience

lachking | July 13, 2012 | See all lachking's reviews »

Six years old but still has a large player base. Company of Heroes is a superb game that brings many innovative gameplay mechanics to the table that are rarely seen in any other RTSs, such as infantry cover. The game is focussed on fast tactical battles as resources are obtained through fighting over control points, rather than merely turtling at base (a mechanic also used in Relic’s Dawn of War). The game captures the WWII feel extremely well through both the unit design and maps. The dialogue and sound is also great: there is the occasional ounce of humour as well as vibrant effects such as footsteps and bullet sounds. Despite being a six year old game, the graphics still look great. Advanced lighting and shaders really capture the WWII feel, and the graphical effects released from explosions look impressive even by today’s standards. If I was to criticise the game, it can get a bit tedious as there is no large diversity in factions- it is always Allies vs Germans, and so it can get a bit repetitive. Also, the expansions did upset the balance a tad (even with just the vanilla Company of Heroes you may still verse those with the expansions). Multiplayer games can also be very long sometimes, even 45minutes+ due to the large amount of tickets (500) each player has in a standard online match, but then again, long games may appeal to some. Overall, superb game. If you like RTS, this is one of the best out there.

90

This is why I still own PC

danteveli | July 13, 2012 | See all danteveli's reviews »

Relic is a studio that can do great RTS games Company of heroes is great example of that. On first look this is just another World War 2 strategy game. But its not like that. We get something else with squad based structure of the game. No longer we have to waste time with boring resources gathering and building base. This is true to gritty realities of war where we have to storm enemy encampments with what we have and truly plan our moves. no more unit spamming to win. Graphics is superb for a strategy game. We can zoom in and see details on our soldiers and explosions leave craters so destruction looks amazing. This is best strategy game set in realistic setting. Innovative and satisfying.

90

Masterpiece of modern strategy games

ZippaLip | July 12, 2012 | See all ZippaLip's reviews »

This game, released in 2006, is one of the most important RTS ever. Based on the gameplay of the first Dawn of War (2004), COH add more innovation: better realist graphic, historical accuracy on the missions-places-weapons-vehicles..., depp control of the units wiht covers, aim, fire rate and more. The multiplayer games are also well implemented. If you love WW2 and RTS take it!

96

Arguably the best RTS ever.

jeyko | July 5, 2012 | See all jeyko's reviews »

Company of Heroes is a World War II RTS by Relic - the guys who made Dawn of War and Dawn of War 2 (two of my favourite real-time strategies). The gameplay is stellar and the graphics still stand up to this day. There aren't a ton of factions or maps, but the game is focused on being historically correct and doing what it's good that. This may look like a typical RTS, but it's not. The buildings get destructed real time within the engine; artillery makes holes in the ground, which can be used as cover. Almost everything can be destroyed, and that greatly affects the gameplay and strategy which you can use. Talking about that, the audio is amazing, you feel like you are in the middle of the battlefield. Also, your soldiers constantly report what's happening to you, which isn't seen in all that much games. Everyone should get this amazing game!

90

Great RTS game

Gh0st233 | July 5, 2012 | See all Gh0st233's reviews »

Company of Heroes is a realistic, immersive and quite big WW2 strategy game. It has great graphics for its time, the gameplay is quite good, and the campaign is quite long. And, also, there is a multiplayer mode, which will surely bring 50 or more hours of fun, easily. It is definitely one of the, if not THE best World War 2 strategy game. Recommended.