Reviews for Metro 2033 PRE

90

Fallout in the Metro tunnels

Hunork | July 29, 2013 | See all Hunork's reviews »

If you are a casual gamer, you will absolutely not enjoy Metro 2033; only the hardcore need apply. However, those who enjoy games such as Fallout 3, BioShock, and (especially) Half Life, will love Metro. It's a very difficult game, and the progression feels almost exactly like that of Half Life. Almost the entire game is told from Artyom's first person perspective, much like Gordon Freeman. The only problems with the game are, one, a very poor shooting mechanic. Most of the monsters feel like bullet sponges, and good luck getting through a big crowd of them. For instance, the automatic shotgun a weapon that should feel heavy and visceral, and also do catastrophic damage, does not feel drastically different from a basic submachine gun. The other problem is some troublesome visual glitches. It has some really bad screen taring as well as some frame rate slowdown and texture popping. The bad, however, pales in comparison to the good. The atmosphere is stone cold amazing. You truly feel like you are living in a true to life post apocalyptic world. All of the little things are what bring it to life, the requirement to change out filters in your gas masks, the sounds of hustle and bustle in a market square, the rowdy guffaw of men drinking, the frenzied screams of a man getting attacked by a monster, a telltale bloodstain on the wall, the ominous bark of a monster calling its friends; it's all of these factors melded into one that makes Metro 2033 one of the most immersive games I've ever played. Definitely a should-not-miss for the hardcore crowd. Now, if your child wants Metro (which, odds are, he doesn't), here's what I've seen so far of the content. There is blood when you shoot a person or a monster. Bullet holes and wounds show up on enemies. Action is tense, but not overly bloody. In fact, the fights with humans are quite slow paced indeed. The one part that can get fairly intense is when a monster pins you down and you have to stab it in the head to kill it. This is rather graphic. There is a point where you are propositioned by a prostitute, who you can buy. The language is rougher than I'd expected. There's a good many f--k's and s--t's, but that shouldn't be too big a problem. All in all, you're younger kids probably don't want Metro, but if they do, the difficulty will drive them insane, so only mature older teens and adults need apply.

91

Best shooter of 2010

MichalM | July 15, 2013 | See all MichalM's reviews »

Metro 2033 is based on novel of the same title. As every Post-apocalyptic game, Metro story starts at metro station called Prospekt Mira, where the antaghonist lives with his friends and stepfather Alex who saved him from rats that had attacked Artyoms home station, Timiryazevskaya. Story is just so great that everyone should just play the game or maybe even read a novel it is awesome, literally, AWESOME. About the game, the graphics is absolutely astonishing, maybe the optimalization is not so good (you really need good hardware to run this game at 1080p with ultra details and DX11 turned on to play at satisfing 30fps) but this game really bits Crysis from the throne of the best looking game created. Sounds are amazing, silencers are really silent but not too silent. The whole campaing is about 6-8h long and there's no multiplayer but that's great, it really give 4A Games chance to give the best SP experience possible. You have to play this. You really do.

85

Review of Metro 2033

vvhitevvolf | July 8, 2013 | See all vvhitevvolf's reviews »

Metro 2033 is a very good game. It has solid graphics, good controls and an interesting post apocalyptic environment and story that keeps you interested and moving forward to see what happens next. It reminds me of the Stalker series and that's because its from the same developers. It could have easily been called Stalker: The Metro Underground.

If you want a quick opinion then, I really enjoyed my journey through this game and recommend it. With that said the biggest downfall of the game is the fact that you don't ever feel like an unstoppable killing machine like a lot of other shooters out there. In metro 2033 you always feel like you are under powered and a few rungs down the food chain. This is not really poor design so much as it is excellent design that was purposely made to make you feel that sense of insecurity.

The game is very linear compared to stalker but that didn't bother me. It fits the story and setting. The environments are mostly dark and you will really feel like one of the survivors that live in the underground metro tunnels. Occasionally you meet other people and they are a welcome site after seeing what creeps around in the dark outside. These "camps" are nicely detailed and feel alive with people going about there daily lives. The details in the whole game are well done. After getting towards the end of the game the story gets a bit strange. Not to spoil anything but the ending is not what I expected. I will leave it at that.

If you are looking for a tense FPS that encourages a a more stealthy and "survival" approach then give metro 2033 a shot. Overall I give it a 8.5 out of 10.

89

Must Try!

acnicu | July 4, 2013 | See all acnicu's reviews »

Whether you read the books and you've come here to check out what the game has to offer or you're simply a fan of good shooters, this one is definitely a must have. It offers an atmosphere that rivals the one of any other popular game on the market.

Some problems with the optimizations and (still for some) high requirements will keep some from buying it, but I'd say even with those, it's still worth playing, even with lower quality settings.

80

A Fallout game, on rail.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | See all sergebelanger22's reviews »

Metro 2033 is a FPS, set in a post-apocalyptical world. It is based on a 2005 novel of the same name, written by Dmitry Glukhovsky.

The atmosphere is everything in that game. You have to put your oxygen mask to be able to breath when you are in radiated areas. You have a certain quantity of cartridges for it, so you have to hurry up sometimes, or scavenge some from the dead bodies. You will fight against mercenaries as well as against few types of beasts that were probably radiated.

I would say that the difficulty level is quite high. I played it at hard, and there are few places where I needed to try and retry in order to get passed them. When the enemies shoot you, your health decrease incredibly fast. You cannot afford to take several hits.

In this game, the money is in fact the military ammo. There are 2 types of ammo. The regular, which was built after the nuclear incident, and the military which were build before. These ones are stronger and are in demand in each city. So, you can use them in your gun, or keep them to buy some guns, upgrades, health kits, etc...

The story is a bit weak. You need to deliver a message to another metro station during the first half of the game, which was a bit too long for what happened in my opinion. The second half is where all happens. A lot of actions, and a better understanding of the story itself. There are 2 endings to the game, but they do not differ much from the other. I do not recommend to play twice only for that. So, expect to do only 1 walkthrough. There is no multiplayer mode to this game, so if you find it somewhere cheap, buy it. If not, you can rent it and probably go through it in one week-end.

The graphics sure look dated in Metro. Controls are a bit clumsy. You cannot go to cover with a button press. You can only get cover behind the objects by standing or crouching behind them, which make me feel like I was playing a 90's game. I did not encounter many bugs, only few dead bodies that were bugging. Nothing major. You can see your objectives by bringing on the screen a pad and use your lighter to see them if you are in the dark. You also have a timer on your wrist to indicate how much time you have left in your air cartridges. The sound is great, all along the game. You can hear when your character needs a mask as he starts coughing.

Globally, a well done game that did not have all of the shining that it deserved.

82

Horror in the Tunnels

DocNuka | June 26, 2013 | See all DocNuka's reviews »

Let me start off this review by saying that in the area of atmospheric tension, Metro 2033 is one of the best games I've played. The spooky lighting and range of terrifying monsters you know are on your tale makes this game one of the most sphincter-clenching experiences on the PC right now. However, as amazing as the visual effects are, there are still issues with shooting mechanics and AI, but not enough to draw you out of the bleak post-apocalyptic world Dmitry Glukhovsky created, later adapted by 4A Games. Overall, this game is good with the potential to be amazing, but held back by small mistakes.

95

An Amazing Game

thegaminglyfe | June 19, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Metro 2033 is one of the best games I've beat in the last decade. The atmosphere was amazing in every aspect from the graphics to the sound. The story is very engaging and is definitely well thought up. There are some bugs and some parts of the game that are very difficult. But this game is a must buy for any gamer. Highly recommended.

95

The gem of the missing THQ

kalil | June 7, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

A game that I liked a lot at his time gameplay I think it is an important aspect in this game can keep you aware of everything that happens in the game, one thing to remember is that this game is based on a book which is also very interesting and this will be the push that gives the game.

technology This aspect is a bit bland, taking into account that machines are not very good the game is not very fluid, luckily mine is not one of them and is fluent.

graphics The graphics I like quite considering it's the year 2010, but could have been more polished for what the game calls

sound I think this is the strong point of this game, the sound of the guns, Artyom's breathing, especially in this aspect I like

innovation While it is a game that offers great things I put a 9.0 in this regard because I think that there are few such fps, with good story and atmosphere

88

My cup of tea

roberz | June 6, 2013 | See all roberz's reviews »

Having read the book (which i thoroughly enjoyed) I had great expectations regarding this title, I was set to be dissapointed and was almoste certain that the storytelling would fail the story before starting the game up. And granted, if you wanted to relive the book by playing the game, you won't. But you will moste likely be impressed and have a great time!

The visuals are stunning and so is the sound, and you won't need a top-of-the-line unit to enjoy it. I've spent, hours i guess, just looking at the scenery from station to station and so on.

There are however some bugs that can be quite frustrating and the AI is not the greatest in the history of gaming. I'm rather fond of stealthing in games, and it can definately be done in this one as you often can choose your approach quite freely. But there are some issues with the AI which can lead to you being spotted once and never be able to reenter stealth (save for reloads or chapter changes).

If you like shooters set in a dark environment chances are you'll like this one. Play it on a difficulty setting that suits you and you will most likely be scared out of your mind, I know I was. Having died countless of times I refused to lower the difficulty and I really felt it being rewarded.

All in all it's a great game with it's ups and downs. One of my favourites of late.

88

Atmosphere with spme rough edges.

Frugl | June 5, 2013 | See all Frugl's reviews »

Metro 2033 offers a great atmosphere, and a rememberal story. The gunplay however has some rough coners, and difficulty spikes. This however should not keep you from playing this awesome experince.

98

fear underground

cristiano171 | June 1, 2013 | See all cristiano171's reviews »

I would like to start by saying that we have not here an 'old game "(quite the contrary), even as the age of a game is something very relative and variable (in addition, this FPS was released in 2010). The game of 4A Games introduces us to a post-apocalyptic world very impressive. The story takes place in Moscow, 20 years after a major nuclear disaster, and the Russians survivors with whom the player meets during gameplay live underground in old tunnels and subway stations. The game has good doses of action and survival horror his side is very strong. Not to mention the fact that we can also meet with various ghosts, during gameplay, some of which can be fatal. Even the figure of a child asking "- Mom, where are you?" Can scare us, in one of the tunnels, as well as a ghost train. We also have several mutant creatures to fight, including those Dark Ones (or Homo Novus), different from their "brothers" bestial. conclusion Metro 2033 is a solid FPS and introduces us to a post-apocalyptic world, oddly enough, extremely tempting. This may represent such a world, for some players, a source of great frustration, precisely because we have little contact with their dangerous surface. The 4A Games could develop a spectacular title, full of suspense and endowed graphics drives. Playing it is an experience, and after you start it, you can not settle down until I finished it.

87

Metro 2033 review

Neapolis47 | May 30, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

In Metro 2033 play as Artyom, a young inhabitant of the Exposition, a community in the underground of Moscow in an apocalyptic future where the residents of the Russian capital, now devastated by a mysterious nuclear disaster, they were forced to take refuge in the tunnels of the Metro, the whose stations are now the only safe place. Metro 2033 is a fps different from the others: the weapons are rusty, inaccurate and slow to reload, the bullets are scarce and every encounter be dealt with calmly. Often, you can choose a style stealth, obscuring the light sources and eliminating your enemies with throwing knives or guns silenced. The artificial intelligence of human enemies will give you great deal of trouble, often changing shelter or attacking with grenades. With the mutants will force you instead to a more instinctive, as they hardly manage to hide your presence at their animal instinct. Every fight, despite the slower pace than other securities of the same kind, will give you moments of great tension. The adventure will immerse you in situations that are very different from each other, alternating phases of shooting more classic, with other exploration or other more narrative, enriched with thrilling sequences that closely resemble the first FEAR.

92

Immersive FPS

mjdaw89 | May 29, 2013 | See all mjdaw89's reviews »

This game does have a few flaws, but the way in which this game draws you into the world of a post apocalyptic Moscow is amazing. You play a young man drawn into the fight for survival. The dark echoing tunnels of the Metro Stations are now home to make shift societies, and rival factions. While humans are waging war against one another there are mutants and entities attempting to destroy what remains of humanity. Homemade weapons, makeshift equipment and detailed environments add to the believability. The level designs are broken up nicely, with stealth , on rail, defense, alone missions, as we as missions with fellow survivors. Your not going to want to turn this game off. The feeling of wanting to know what's going to happen next we keep you playing this one! Don't expect perfect AI and shooting is good not great, but this game is driven by the incredible atmosphere and personally I think the flaws of this game are minimal and easily forgotten. I highly recommend this one.

88

Out of nowhere

mostnatebe66 | May 27, 2013 | See all mostnatebe66's reviews »

Metro 2033 is quite the surprise. I heard nothing about this game when I first saw it in the store so I checked it out and thought it looked interesting so I decided to pick it up, and I'm really glad I did. This is a really good looking game with an amazing game environment and character design. The level design is really good and there are a lot of cool weapons and game play mechanics.

The only part I was disappointed in was toward the end of the game. Not the way the game ended, which was really amazing and had some very innovative game play, but there is an area that you go to that is breathtaking and when I saw what was in there I got really excited about the potential for some very exciting moments but I was sadly disappointed. Maybe you can go back there in the sequel, hopefully there will be one.

I had never played any of the Stalker games, Metro 2033 was made by the same guys, and now I think I might have to go back and check some of those out.

Great game that looks amazing and was a lot of fun to play. If you're a Fallout and Half-Life fan, which I happen to be a huge fan of and have played through all the games many times, then this is the game for you.

86

Brilliant game

Dixie_Normus | May 25, 2013 | See all Dixie_Normus's reviews »

With the new release of Metro last light i thought it would be a good idea to get the first game before the new one. A great decision i made there, Metro 2033 is one of the best games I have played to date. Even though its a bit old the graphics still look great, and the gameplay is awesome. A must buy for survival horror fans.

95

Drama, Horror Drama

espeditow | May 25, 2013 | See all espeditow's reviews »

The game that went bankrupt in 2010 by THQ (may he rest in peace), was the target of much criticism due to its lack of good programming put the game gets to be heavier than Crysis '-' or even have problems even in settings monstrous, due to that fact a lot of people went away from the game, leaving to play one of the best shooters of the decade (ok my opinion), simply because the game is very balanced in the item quality and all, the gameplay is a bit locked, but who played Battlefield Bad Company 2 feels at home in Metro 2033, the game's soundtrack is worthy of the time of history.The interesting fact is that the game's story, which was inspired by the book Dmitriy Glukhovskiy is very immersive, ie if you have commitments following day, I recommend not playing: P, because every second that passes you want to know what will happen and everything, the game has several difficulty modes, reaching one where there is no HUD , and everything is scarce, the game has about 6 hours of high drama and horror, I recommend for those who have not played.

85

Great FPS

CaptionSnuggle | May 25, 2013 | See all CaptionSnuggle's reviews »

This games atmosphere is great, it portrays a post apocalyptic world caused by a nuclear war. The surface is soaked in unbreathable air so survivors are forced to live in the metro tunnels. Combat is typical of your average FPS with the occasional sneaking segment to break things up. Voice acting is good but I've heard playing the game in Russian with English subtitles is a treat though recommended for your second playthrough. The sound in this game always feels right. Where the game shines though is perhaps the story of the world you live in and hearing the tales of how life used to be on the surface and how hard it is to live down in the metro. I'd recommend this FPS to anyone who loves an FPS, post apocalyptic wastelands, and deep stories.

100

Awesome Game

gabumonbr | May 22, 2013 | See all gabumonbr's reviews »

I give 100 to this game cuz it really suck u into the game, the atmosphere is well developed, home made weapons give more realistic action in a future like metro 2033. The creatures are not so fantastic, like huge monsters or things like that, but what you fight is well placed in a nuclear disaster. You constant fight against other factions like nazi, where you must use your stealth skills and the game has a little touch of supernatural in the main character

90

Great game, fantastic atmosphere

OnesQuared | May 20, 2013 | See all OnesQuared's reviews »

This game is one of my favourite game out there as it has great atmosphere and game play behind it. The game is focused on making the right decisions, to make the shots count. Not to go guns blazing and shooting the living hell out of everything you see. Some encounters are meant for you to take it slow and steady and looking at the surroundings and making sure you listen to all the things the npcs have to say. Some of them will give you a great advice which will immensely help you on your journey. There are some flaws however, there are glitches but it was rare thing out of the few plays I've done but nothing too serious that would ruin the play through.

80

A great game

mitchear | May 18, 2013 | See all mitchear's reviews »

I must say I really liked how they designed the post apocalyptic world. Dismal, yet always a glimmer of hope for a better future.

The graphics are really awesome, and I must say that I prefer them to something like Fallout New Vegas, but I realize that they are not quite in the same category, as Metro has a much more linear story, and Fallout is open world.

I think my favorite parts of this game were the suspense of the attack, the story and always running out of ammo.

My least favorite thing was that I sometime wasn't sure whether the gun on the ground was better than the one in my hand. Perhaps there was a way to distinguish this, but I didn't figure it out. This game definitely kept me on my toes.

90

Great, but flawed

netloadkoko | May 15, 2013 | See all netloadkoko's reviews »

One of the most underrated games this generation. This game is not meant to be a free world, multilayer experience. Instead this game draws the player in with its intriguing story and gloomy atmosphere. If you can look past some of the minor criticism that other people complain about, it is a must buy.

85

Great atmosphere

sweetcuppincake | May 14, 2013 | See all sweetcuppincake's reviews »

Metro 2033 takes place in a world where humans have been driven underground and have a tough living. Everything about this game backs that up with gameplay. It's dark, you need a gas mask, there's deadly creatures everywhere. You really feel like you're fighting for survival. There's ample meat in the setting and characters. Graphically, it's not quite as good as other FPS games of the time, but that can be overlooked because of what the game does right.

95

Hit or miss

lazygamer559 | May 14, 2013 | See all lazygamer559's reviews »

This game undoubtedly has an amazing atmosphere, even if you don;t like the gameplay you can't deny it's fantastic atmosphere.

I love this game. some people say that the stealth is forced and at times too easy. I'm awful at stealth games, so this a good nice challenge for me. Now I can see why people don't like some of the gameplay. It's checkpoint system is a little bit off and this is harder then most fps games. Although if you life FPS survival game then I'd give this a try.

95

One of the best games ever made

sonarctica | May 12, 2013 | See all sonarctica's reviews »

Metro 2033 is a post apocalyptic game set in the year 2033 as the title might suggest, in Moscow. It's a mix of horror, adventure and shooter and it pulls it off great.

I've played through this game 3 times now and it's not because of any collectibles like modern games do these days do for replayability. The story, atmosphere and the experience overall is amazing. Everyone should play this, 10 euros isn't that much, and what I've seen, it's quite often on sale making it 2.49 euros which is great.

This game is also a great benchmarking tool, it just annihilates modern systems, so if you think you've got an high end system, have a go at this game.

90

Great Surprise

MauroR | May 12, 2013 | See all MauroR's reviews »

I was skeptical at first when I've hear about this game for the first time, it seemed a S.T.A.L.K.E.R. clone but I wanted to give a try, and people, I've never repented. This game has character, atmosphere, tension, you feel always in danger, constantly, every little noise, every little thing can make you jump from your chair. It's been a great surprise, If I skipped this game it'll be a real big mistake. You play as Artyom, the main protagonist of the game. The story takes place in a post-apocalyptic Moscow, mostly inside the Metro system (the game title says all), I won't say one more thing about the story, the best way to get the real feel you have to experience it by yourself. Before concluding my review I'll give you some tips to play the game to get the best experience:

1)Install it with the Russian language (setting the subtitles in English if you're not Russian like me) 2) Play it in Ranger Hardcore difficulty 3)Play it at night

So, are you ready, you did everything I told you? Fine, now it's time to go. Ah...and wear the gas mask! Don't forget it

P.S. The game is based on a novel with the same title Metro 2033 by Russian author Dmitry Glukhovsky, buy it if you want to get more in depth information about the the Metro 2033 story.

60

A Streamlined and Simplified S.T.A.L.K.E.R.

JimRory | May 8, 2013 | See all JimRory's reviews »

As an Eastern European game set in a post Apocalyptic Russia with monsters, dark underground facilities, and areas where all you hear is the Geiger machine nonstop beeping, Metro 2033 is a game whose strength should rely on its environment. The comparisons to games like S.T.A.L.K.E.R. are merited and should be taken seriously; the flaws of Metro 2033 come to light due to this comparison.

As someone who both hated and loved S.T.A.L.K.E.R., a game that had an incredible atmosphere but difficult to get into (let's face it, Eastern European gamers are uber hardcore), Metro 2033 was a mixed bag for me. Metro 2033 has many similar qualities to S.T.A.L.K.E.R., but it's differences help distinguish the two games. For one, it's much more streamlined; in Metro 2033, you don't have to reach all over the keyboard to play, the gameplay is linear, no health packs (S.T.A.L.K.E.R. had food, bandages, health packs, and super health packs, I kid you not, and I'm pretty sure I'm missing some), etc. However, while the atmosphere in Metro 2033 rivals many current games, it pales in comparison to S.T.A.L.K.E.R. There is no open world, there are scripted moments, and the world never seemed alive the way S.T.A.L.K.E.R. felt. There are no roaming scavengers fighting off packs of monsters and no random freaks of nature. The moments are I do pop out of the Metros felt more like scripted train rides with only one path. Compare this to S.T.A.L.K.E.R., where during nightmare inducing, thumb sucking in the fetal position, underground levels, you literally cannot wait to return back to the dreary, depressing Chernobyl wasteland or else risk soiling yourself for the third time. That's not to say every game needs this; what I'm trying to say is that there are alternate games with very similar ideas that are a better investment that Metro 2033.

The story is nothing to cry over, the gameplay is nothing memorable, and the graphics are fine. I never ran into any bugs (I can't say that about S.T.A.L.K.E.R.). I never really understood why people keep mentioning the time it takes to complete a game (this isn't a middle school essay, where the length matters more than the substance). Overall, a decent game, but there are better alternative games out there.

85

Excellent game - replaying whilst waiting for Last light

britishlad | May 7, 2013 | See all britishlad's reviews »

A game set in post apocalyptic Russia has an excellent single player campaign but features no multiplayer or co-operative. The game also also is only about six hours in length and is linear. The game being linear isn't a bad thing but I'm just letting other people know that this isn't a game for everyone and if you are expecting to hundreds of hours out of it you are gonna be very Disappointed! Here's my Pros and Cons for the game:

Pros:

Excellent atmosphere!

The attention detail is stagerring - Seeing large groups of refugees in the tunnels talking, eating etc is just brilliantly done

Fantastic soundtrack and Good voice acting

Interesting story (based on the novel by Dmitry Glukhovsky) Though you do have to pay attention as you can easily miss some important plot developments

Great graphics though you will need a high end system to play this game!

Excellent set pieces such as riding on a pump train or defending a position with other soldiers against the monsters

The idea of using bullets as currency (to other other/upgraded guns) is an excellent idea and searching areas/scavenging for ammo is addictive!

Two endings which are both satisfying - You achieve the good ending by gaining moral points (such as giving a starving bum a bullet so he can buy food)

It's not a horror game but it does have a couple of scary/creepy moments which are brilliantly done!

Very quick loading time! like two seconds!

Cons:

The monsters are quite annoying at times since they alway attack you in the same way (runstraight toward you and bite you)and them attacking you in numbers can be frustating

The guns are little underpowered (for example it shouldn't take three shotgun shells to a nazi!) which make the combat a little harder considering you have to save your bullets for trading

The moral system is never explained within the game! So if you didn't work it out and didn't gain enough moral points you will get the bad ending!

Overall despite a few minor flaws I really enjoyed this game

98

Never has a game captured such emotion

tusccar | May 5, 2013 | See all tusccar's reviews »

Played Metro 2033? No? Well you have to pick it up now.

The infinite darkness, muffled noises, and what you hope are the musings of mice scattering throughout the tunnels will keep your body tense and your nerves on end. Constantly checking behind you, to the sides, and relying on the AI teammates has never been so crucial. However it has never been done so well either.

In depth and emotionally engaging characters make you care for the outcome of your actions as well as your teammates well being. You will fight side by side with what has no become your brothers and family. The story is well written and will keep you from shutting the game off.

Amazing environments, thurough story, interesting and vast array of guns and weapons make this one of the best games. Never have I felt the attachment to a gun and realized that this piece of machinery And my teammates were my only hope in these tunnels.

This is a must play game and will keep you coming back for more. And with last light just a week away, now is the time to play this amazing game

85

New and refreshing

donut_palmtree | May 4, 2013 | See all donut_palmtree's reviews »

Metro 2033 might seem like just another generic FPS, but it is more than meets the eye. It has survival elements, shooting elements and even a little bit of survival horror mixed in for good measure. The story is based on the book of the same name and translates quite well to videogames with an intriguing moral choice system. The soundtrack is good but it's nothing worth writing home about. The DX 11 implementation is kind of fantastic and makes the game look better than most games on the market at the time of it's release. Great game, definitely worth a buy.

74

Cool Shooter

jimsteryo2 | May 3, 2013 | See all jimsteryo2's reviews »

Very linear gameplay which was totally unexpected but nevertheless the game is very easy to play and I happily churned my way through it and all the experiences it has to offer. The graphics are obviously amazing, in particular the lighting. I have some gripes with the decisions you make in the game and that they are very slapdash and not particular obvious , given that you have to meet so many subtle goals to achieve a good ending I felt a little bit cheated. The weapon physics are great but the enemies are ridiculously powerful and great use of a little kid in a game! All in all a great experience well worth playing and enjoying , just don't expect anything revolutionary.

86

Great Game Great Price

RookieVII | April 30, 2013 | See all RookieVII's reviews »

I purchased this game a few months back when steam was having a sale. Having not heard anything of this game I was skeptical of purchasing it. I decided to bite the bullet and purchase it anyway, it wasn't worth much so why not?

I was surprised to see how good of a game it really was. The story was original, I haven't seen anything that comes to it. It had a few surprises along the way for the protagonist ranging from simple mutants to psychological entities to simple bandits.

It is not all run and shoot this then rinse and repeat. Along the way there will be times where if you prefer, you can go stealthy and use silent weapons to take down your enemies, such as throwing knifes and silent pistols.

Although the rest of my review is mainly pros for this game it is not without flaws. As mentioned above you can be a stealth killer, but there are not very many instances where stealth is a viable option. Even when you do find a spot for stealth if you throw a throwing dagger and miss or it hits a enemies armor, every enemy in the area will somehow know your exact position. There is not a very big margin of error if you wish to proceed silently in those areas.

Story is at times hard to follow, or was for me at least, but I was able to slowly understand as I adventured deeper into Moscow's subway. Despite these flaws and a few others I still believe this game is worth the price it is now, and with the sequel around the corner. I think it is a perfect time to buy.

86

Some issues with gameplay, but overall a great title

sl1ck | April 24, 2013 | See all sl1ck's reviews »

Metro 2033 has arguably one of the best environments of any first person shooter I have played. Most of the game is spent underground abandoned, spooky Metro tunnels. The graphics are impeccable and only add further to the quality of the game atmosphere. Also, the campaign is rather long and fulfilling. It's quite refresing compared to many other current fps titles with 3-4 hour measly campaigns.

My main issue with Metro lies with the combat. The combat isn't as fluid a lot of times and the mechanics aren't exactly right at times. I almost stopped playing at the beginning of the game because of this. As the game goes on you get somewhat used to this and it isn't quite as much of an issue. But it still keeps me from rating this game as a classic.

81

Good Graphics Good Story

oneweaker | April 24, 2013 | See all oneweaker's reviews »

Metro 2033 has a good story, great atmosphere. It worth to buy. While i was playing, it seems its a movie. Characters are good. And this game is a good benchmark program.your can test your gpu skills.it has no multiplayer option, only singleplayer.Good but littler short campaign.Good price good game try it.

77

A diamond in rough

onewinged90 | April 11, 2013 | See all onewinged90's reviews »

Based on the novel of the same name by Dmitry Glukhovsky, Metro 2033 is a survival horror first-person shooter presented to you by 4A Games.

The protagonist Artyom does not really talk in game, but he speaks during loading screens, in between chapters describing how he feels when entering the new area. Metro 2033 truly emphasizes the atmosphere and the surroundings. It gives off the chill and creepy feeling when traversing the claustrophobic metro tunnels. Pay attention to your surroundings as trip wires, empty cans and broken glass might alert enemies to your presence if you want to go all stealthy.

The stealth mechanics of the game are somewhat problematic, it's not really perfect as enemies will clearly see where you are despite in dark places. More often than not you will find yourself going Rambo when your cover is broken, and not obtaining certain achievements in the process.

The A.I. of the human enemies are flawed, certain times the human enemies just do not know what to do, whether they wanna blow your head up or take cover. Mutants are more fun to fight, as they just charge on you in groups or lurking in a hole somewhere waiting to ambush.

Another complaint I have on the game is the sudden spike in difficulty towards the end level. Without spoiling anything, you will get what I mean when you reach that particular level. The game's currency of trading runs off the military grade bullets, which has a more shine effect to it on screen. It is fairly easy to long press the reload button and accidentally reloaded "cash" onto the gun and quickly burn through your life savings on one encounter.

Despite the flaws above, it is a good game to be enjoyed. Hoping the game will be further improved in the sequel - Metro: Last Light. Buy it, you will not be disappointed.

74

Decent game, good atmosphere

mkolp0 | March 16, 2013 | See all mkolp0's reviews »

This game is good, it immerses you in a post-apocalyptic world that shows a grim future that is quite possible. While I love the great atmosphere, the difficult feeling of just barely surviving, it still is missing something. The shooting mechanics is somewhat generic, though some of the gear and equipment used do make up for it a bit. Perhaps I was thinking of a game sharing many similarities with Fallout, as they have quite a bit in common. Maybe that might be why it feels like it lacks something. But It does a good job in creating a possible situation in the future that makes you feel the terror of such a possibility. While it does get quite generic and doesn't implement rpg elements as well as it could have, it tells a story worth listening to, worth experiencing.

73

Good game but...

MoronPL | March 13, 2013 | See all MoronPL's reviews »

Metro 2033 is a good game, but to me something is missed from it. It has a unique atmosphere, a good gameplay, an interesting story to tell, but somehow all these things can't fit well together. The levels are very linear and straight forward, like a nail, and while they're presenting interesting scenarios, offering some alternate solutions for some situations, and introducing an interesting gameplay and characters to you, the game itself can't do much thing with the world itself. It is leaving too many things open, especially in the story, while it is offering too many out of nowhere solutions, especially in the end. The atmoshere is unique and the gameplay is great however, so as the voice acting, the music and the presentation itself. And while this whole Metro, underground scheme is so familiar, as my native home city has a very similar tunnel network, with exactly the same blue Metros and stations you may find in the game, somehow the world couldn't pull me as much as other great games used to do. While in my eyes it was a highly linear semi-interesting 8-9 hours long adventure, with some interesting ideas, people who love FPS adventures and games in general should give a try for Metro 2033 to create their own opinion about the game itself as maybe this game wasn't meant for me, but maybe it was meant for you.

93

Criminally underrated and a great FPS

mugaro | March 10, 2013 | See all mugaro's reviews »

The story here is really good, based off of a Russian novel & it follows the story closely, along with using Russian voice actors for authenticity. Its a FPS, but its heavy stealth/horror/survival. The achievements are hard to get. The #1 thing about this game is atmosphere. The graphics are top notch and it paints a very intense atmosphere that really pulls you in. Multiple routes through a level, options to fight or stealth through. It's just a great game and it's a shame the publisher went belly up, hopefully the sequel delivers another great experience.

83

Great atmosphere

MarkDeejay | Feb. 17, 2013 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

Metro 2033 has some of the best atmosphere I've ever seen in a game. It's dark and moody which adds a certain tension to the game. It also looks great in motion, apart from the faces. The faces could use some extra work, but thankfully most of the NPC's you meet have helmets on so it keeps you (mostly) immersed. The fact that you can use ammo for your weapons or as a way to trade for stuff is a great idea, and gives the player a sense of freedom. That's all the freedom there is though; the game is quite linear. I honestly expected the game to be a bit more open. After all: you're walking around in the underground, you're frequently being shown a map of this very underground, but unfortunately, the game keeps you from exploring any of the tunnels that are not part of the story. There are also a few stealth levels. These levels don't work as well as you would expect. I had to restart quite a few times. The game's just not build for this sort of gameplay. Then again, it's only a few levels so it's not a big deal. But still worth mentioning. Metro 2033 was a pleasant surprise for me. I'm glad I finally decided to finish it, after a 2 year long backlog delay ;) (Also, the game's framerate is all over the place. I had to change it to DX9 in order for it to give me a stable framerate. So in case you're experiencing the same thing...)

85

Great atmosphere

Stebsis | Feb. 16, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

Metro 2033 is with Alan Wake as the most atmospheric games ever

World has been engulfed in war and nuclear bombs have been launched to Russia where the game takes place. People live in Metro's below ground in fear of monsters, the dark ones.

Metro's are great places to look at. They're dark and atmospheric and it's great to just walk slowly just watching everything around. Lots of things also affect the immersion of the world, like you put a gas mask when going above ground, and as the filter in the mask is running low the mask gets foggy.

Shooting elements are definitely the weakest link, it's not nearly on par with better FPS games and is really stiff. You also sneak a lot, blow out light sources to stay in the dark from enemies and take them out with silenced weapons.

Metro 2033 is really nice game with ok story and characters. Graphically it isn't anything that great, but lighting effects are really nice and really bring the dark metro alive.

74

Something is missing, something I can't explain

Guardian412 | Jan. 28, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

Metro 2033 is a good game, but to me something is missed from it. It has a unique atmosphere, a good gameplay, an interesting story to tell, but somehow all these things can't fit well together. The levels are very linear and straight forward, like a nail, and while they're presenting interesting scenarios, offering some alternate solutions for some situations, and introducing an interesting gameplay and characters to you, the game itself can't do much thing with the world itself. It is leaving too many things open, especially in the story, while it is offering too many out of nowhere solutions, especially in the end. The atmoshere is unique and the gameplay is great however, so as the voice acting, the music and the presentation itself. And while this whole Metro, underground scheme is so familiar, as my native home city has a very similar tunnel network, with exactly the same blue Metros and stations you may find in the game, somehow the world couldn't pull me as much as other great games used to do. While in my eyes it was a highly linear semi-interesting 8-9 hours long adventure, with some interesting ideas, people who love FPS adventures and games in general should give a try for Metro 2033 to create their own opinion about the game itself as maybe this game wasn't meant for me, but maybe it was meant for you.

65

A game from a book.

JMJqueseyo | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all JMJqueseyo's reviews »

First off, this game is very graphically intense so make sure you have a good video card. Now the review, I would only recommend this game if you were going to play the next one(Metro: Last Light) because I found it to not be a very great game like I thought it was and also,it didn't have many guns though it had attachments for the guns, but I do like the survival aspect and buying guns, helping people and etc. . The game has optional stealth routes sometimes ,you can loot corpses, The game is linear but it has achievements for doing certain things which are optional it has 2 endings which is weird to find in a linear game(that has choices) .

Bottom line get the game if your a fan of the S.T.A.L.K.E.R series or if your a fan of the Metro novels. The Metro 2034 book is free by the way(but in Russian) http://www.m2034.ru/

90

Underrated

captainstark | Jan. 26, 2013 | See all captainstark's reviews »

Metro 2033 does every thing right. The only fault here is the lack of including a multiplayer experience, but the single player is amongst the best I have ever played in my life. The graphics are top notch. This is as good as it gets, and won't likely be surpassed until Crysis 3 comes out. Even on DX9 this is the prettiest game to date. Sound is amongst the best in a video game ever. Once again top notch. The music is amazingly creepy and depressing which sets the tone great. The voice acting is superb. Gun sounds and bullet deflections are great here as well. I don't want to continue writing things that have already been said so I say buy this game immediately. It is by far the best experience I've had in a long time. I'm on my second play through and its just as great as the first. Cant wait for a sequel. It's like a movie, think Heavy Rain but ten times better.

60

Atmospheric yet little else

backslashio | Jan. 14, 2013 | See all backslashio's reviews »

This was supposedly an underrated game, whilst I'll admit it looks gorgeous, has promising characters & a decent introduction into the world of unknown it failed to hold my attention with an unfair checkpoint system that was vulnerable to losing a whole bunch of progress should you suddenly die. For whatever reason I couldn't quite get into it but perhaps you'll simply need to experience it for yourself to be a fairer judge. Its hard to fault, you'll either like it or you won't

93

Apocalypse done right

HeadCrabZombie | Jan. 8, 2013 | See all HeadCrabZombie's reviews »

This game puts fallout 3 to shame in terms or immersion and atmosphere. The voice acting can be a little off putting given that they're all Russian, but in terms of gameplay and graphics, it far exceeds Fallout 3. Stealth is also a part of this game, especially on higher difficulty levels, so be warned. Also, don't be surprised when you find yourself dying to a particular part over and over, because it WILL happen. This game is a must get for people who love a good challenge and an immersive world.

86

This game needs more hype

DonVercetti | Jan. 2, 2013 | See all DonVercetti's reviews »

Metro 2033 is without a shadow of a doubt an amazing game. The atmosphere is amazing, Graphics look amazing and Characters are amazing, Voice acting is done amazingly. This is one title that came from THQ which didn't get promoted well or didn't get through promotion well, as a friend of mine recommended it to me and I had never heard of the game before. I think this is a game that has a bit in it for every gamer. If you're really a fan of games like Amnesia for the atmospheric feeling, like if you're really there and blend into the situation. This is your game. You really get sucked into the deep underground systems and the dangerous landscapes above grounds!

84

Great story but riddled with annoying design decisions.

FreakofEat | Jan. 2, 2013 | See all FreakofEat's reviews »

I recommend this game to any other gamers looking for a good story but beware of the huge issues with the gameplay.

To start, if you're looking for a graphically intensive game to test your new rig, this is definitely the game. The game has heavy use of Shaders and Post Processing effects along with DirectX 11 features such as Tessellation. This game gave my GPU quite the stress when running it. The downside of this is that the game may be unplayable at regular resolutions for many users (including me for quite some time). There are 4 graphical presets (no customization surprisingly) and I found there to be a huge fps gain when switching to medium from high. The game looks far worse on this setting and it might negatively impact the overall immersion of the game.

The storyline is great. I found the atmosphere to be bleak and hopeless which made the journey all the more intense. The downside of this really nice storyline is the heavy scripting of all the events. This game is a VERY linear experience. I personally found that nice but I can see many people would hate this.

Lastly, the gameplay is what made this game annoying to me at times. The worst problem to me is the gun-play. The game in it's roots is an FPS but I found the several shooting segments of the game to be the worst. The guns feel light to shoot and there's barely any feedback that you've hit an enemy. At the lower difficulties the enemies are practically bullet-sponges. This issue is solved when playing on Ranger Easy or Hardcore but then you'll see the issues with stealth implementation in the game. The enemy's line of sight is difficult to predict and getting caught is practically an instant death with no chance of pulling through. There are more minor problems I encountered but are likely just unlucky. There is also a VERY annoying portion of the game near the end. You'll know when you get there. The only advice I have is to not shy away from using military grade ammunition at that point.

However, in the end I got a great experience out of this game. Personally I don't mind going through the worst of gameplay to get to a good story but if you have no patience for it, you might want to avoid it. It's a REALLY great game apart from this though.

80

Very atmospheric shooter.

owned2260 | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all owned2260's reviews »

Very creepy, claustrophobic FPS. Sound design is easily some of the best in recent memory, next to Dead Space and Battlefield. The shooting mechanics aren't the best, but they're not bad. Some quite interesting game mechanics, such as having to pump up your flashlight, or using a pneumatic pump to make certain guns stronger. Warning though, play the game in English, don't try to be some edgy teen, the Russian voice over is awful and you will miss out on some ambient dialogue.

80

not great, but not horrible

anonimokun | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all anonimokun's reviews »

The graphics are fantastic. Textures in great setting, characters well animated with motion capture, very realistic and frightening creatures, beautiful lighting, particle effects and smoke environment plus a very competent design. The gameplay is decent. You can not innovate in trying, but can enjoy the good variety of objectives. Set up a system that tries to include Stealth, Stealth and FPS but do not match due to the small field of vision as you have. Use of stealth is not required, but is always an option. Metro 2033 is a beautiful adaptation of a book for the games. I read the book and infelzmente, like in the movies, much has been cut, especially early in the game, leaving some events somewhat baseless. Still, the story remains a strong point in the game, plus the suspense and immersion provided, vai divetir all those who liked the rhythm of the game Half-Life 2 and the ambiance in the style Fallout 3.

85

Apocalyptic Beauty

jack11101 | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all jack11101's reviews »

If you've played horror games then you're probably used to conserving ammo and searching for items in a landscape ridden with things that want to kill you, but have you ever done that in a metro system? Not only are you underground most of the game which really makes it unique but the gameplay is original (You have to have to make sure you don't run out of oxygen while avoiding deadly traps and bandits.) If you like post-apocalypse horror games then your going to love this.

90

Amazing game, however a little short

999flame | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all 999flame's reviews »

The game itself is amazing and it's guaranteed to keep you on the edge of your seat for hours upon end, but the overrall campaign is too short. The first time I played it I finished the game on medium difficulty in just under 6 hours. For me, that's just not good enough.

83

Metro 2033 - review

carlyle | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all carlyle's reviews »

Metro 2033 is a FPS pure and raw, a first-person shooter without any deviation of the genre. Scripting is there but is reduced to a minimum, it is never intrusive or annoying and even the respawn is virtually absent, except for a couple of situations where it is required by the story. There are sections in solitary component with a horror greater or lesser degree, share of exploration where we move inside the tunnels underground perhaps without encountering any enemy, times when you will have to strongly defend a position in the company of other militia, or go to the assault of fortifications using a military structure of the group. There will also be some puzzle, or even a few moments platform based on small sequences in quick time event (unfortunately forget in a hurry) and the classical scenarios of track where you must shoot with a fixed turret mounted on some means of locomotion, and even with a flamethrower . The real problem of the game are unfortunately fighting, first missing a sense of feedback when you hit the enemy outside of a small spray of blood, there are no animations or textures that change to show us that we actually hit our opponent . He will continue to move as if nothing had happened, to attack or aggirarci, just all of a sudden fall to the ground after a certain number of shots. The result is like shooting blanks, and especially when the enemies are numerous, the result is pretty bad.

90

Most Atmospheric FPS Ever, Period

Brumbek | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all Brumbek's reviews »

This is the most atmospheric game I've ever played. Every single room, character, and environment is amazingly detailed. This highly under-appreciated game deserves your full attention. The little kids playing, the man strumming the guitar, the creaking floors…it is all so immersive!

While the masses enjoy their superficial BioShock's the truly enlightened will adore Metro 2033's artistic and technical brilliance. With its two endings and multiple difficulty modes and myriad of achievements, I’m now on my fourth playthrough and still loving it.

Some games are meant to be played and tossed aside, but Metro 2033 is meant to go deep into your soul and evolve you into the next level of gamer. So yeah, I liked it.

91

Absolutely a classic!

hannibal_king | Dec. 25, 2012 | See all hannibal_king's reviews »

Metro 2033's atmosphere is amazing. It keeps you nervous for whole playing time. But that doesn't bother you. Actually i love to have that feeling when i play this kind of games. But it's not easy to success that. And Metro 2033 is very good about it. It's not a pure horror game, or a shooter. It's a mix and it's a very good one.

81

Good Game

Mikagee | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all Mikagee's reviews »

The atmosphere of this game is amazing, though this game was poorly optimized, if your pc can run it then this is a good deal. The sound in the game is amazing too, at some points of the game it actually feels like you are part of the metro, the laughter of people and the breathing of mutants creeping around. The graphics on this game are truly breathtaking also and you will be stunned at every detail you will see.

As many other people have said , once you have finished the game there is no replay value . This game is a definite buy if you are getting last light

90

An Amazing Atmosphere...

zhack075 | Dec. 16, 2012 | See all zhack075's reviews »

I got this game recently and the first things that amaze me is the atmosphere. Those kind of little cities in the underground, the gasmask, crafted weapons, mutants... This game as a really unique Universe.

The game isn't really scary. Sure Mutant are ugly and really dangerous, but this isn't a survival horror or even an Horror game. The way you have to manage your gasmask and your light's battery is really cool. If you like post-apocalypse universe and FPS in general, this is a great choice !

81

Metro 2033

xydanus | Dec. 13, 2012 | See all xydanus's reviews »

Metro 2033 is STALKER-like post-apocalyptic game, minus the open world. First thing that gets my attention is FOV. I do not know why they woud set it 45 by default. Anyway you can change that without having a great issues within game. Game is GPU hungry as it is full of blur effects etc.

Game sets in Russia where dark creatures are lurking behind every corner. Player is sent to metro tunnels, where bandits and creatures dwell. Athmosphere is very creepy especially when you hear voices in those dark tunnels realising that you are out of ammo.

Overall, very good horror/FPS shooter.

70

Great Graphics, Pretty Mediocre Game

Wootus | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all Wootus's reviews »

This game is a graphical powerhouse. It looks amazing in almost all aspects. The atmosphere is great, very dark and depressing. Very suitable for the setting and really sucks you in.

The story is good but a little bland at times compared to something set in a similar environment like Fallout 3. The gameplay is very linear, you go from A to B basically from one settlement to another through metro tunnels and sewers. Sometimes you go above ground.

The enemies are genuinely scary thanks to the lack of ammo or powerful weapons, but that doesn't save the combat from becoming stale pretty fast. There are some sections where you are required to sneak but those are pretty boring.

It's a good game, not a great one. It's great for testing how powerful your rig is.

85

Awesome game.

Darder | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all Darder's reviews »

The story of this game is simply marvelous. Once you get in the game, you dont want to stop playing it. The game will keep applying pressure on you, as you struggle to survive and you are scared by what awaits you in the dark depths of the Metro. The ambiance is incredible! Plus, the actual universe is so interesting, I wanted to read the book it was based off!

Besides from that, the graphics are really good and the gameplay is nice and reactive. The game is pretty long, and if you settle yourself in the highest difficulties it will be even more enjoyable. The voice actors are really nice too, with those russian accents.

All in all its a great game , however it doesn't have multiplayer or modding capacity. The re playability is not that good. Still a must play!

89

Very tense shooter

cptalpaca | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all cptalpaca's reviews »

Absolutely amazing. The atmosphere is gritty and realistic with darkness playing a key role in the game. An amazing that forces you to conserve your ammo, micro manage your utilities and just tr to plain survive.Here's a hint, play the game on ranger easy, it makes the enemies and you much weaker and also severely lowers the amount of ammo in the game but it really forces you to use your brain and stealth.

Downside is this game is poorly optimized and theres little to no replay value.

90

Really fun to play!

Swift_Crazed | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all Swift_Crazed's reviews »

I bought this game when it was the Halloween sale, and I must say. It wasn't a waste of money. I highly recommend this game if you love survival horror. The graphics are amazing, the combat is fun, the scare tactics are scary in my opinion(I don't play that much horror.).

100

An Amazing Alternitive Reality to your own!

Fusionx8 | Dec. 2, 2012 | See all Fusionx8's reviews »

This game is currently my favorite game! Very well thought out and designed story the Graphics are amazing! I use my 3D Vision Glasses with this game and am blown away by the quality put into this game! In this game you go from Stealth to full on Hardcore Battle in point blank milliseconds. I fully support this Developer! If you enjoy FPS games and like a story/journey to go with it. THIS GAME IS A MUST HAVE!

From some of the complaints I see about this game, is what actually make this a fun game to me... YOU MUST LIVE WITH YOUR Decisions as if this where real... Example, I saw someone mad they used up there 'money ammo'... well if you are fighting for your life, you will use everything you have and also stumble and mess up in the heat of battle (where this real life)... So what I see people complaining about is the points that make this game GREAT! an alternative reality to your own... Alternative reality is what I play games for, to get immersed in a story, and this game does a fantastic job of that...

91

great game

trunks10k | Nov. 1, 2012 | See all trunks10k's reviews »

Bad ass game. Good graphics and nice story. Voice acting is top notch even has Russian voices if you understand. Very dark and scary atmosphere but has some vibrant lighting effects which blend right with the mood and theme of the game. My only complaint is the weapon mechanism. It may take a bit to get use to with the recharging and what not. They should also have add in a bit more weapon choices and wouldn't hurt to give you a full HUD to display all your vitals with the gas mask being needed to be replaced. Overall a solid FPS shooter with horror theme.

75

A game with a great story and great graphics

Tuttlebat | Oct. 31, 2012 | See all Tuttlebat's reviews »

This game is fun. It's not amazing to me, but it's fun. The graphics look great and require a pretty powerful GPU to look its best, but it looks good even on lower settings. I have to say that the shooting feels a little bit lacklustre and nothing special, but what really makes this game good is its storyline and ambience. The game is filled with ambience and reminds me a bit of Bioshock, and the story is compelling enough to want to keep playing it to find out more. If you're someone who wants to play a shooter for the sake of shooting things and killing them with no regards to a storyline, this isn't really the game for you. However, if you enjoy shooters and a good story, this game is definitely worth looking into.

90

Dark and gritty

V2lentin | Oct. 30, 2012 | See all V2lentin's reviews »

Metro 2033 is the game that will push your PC to the limit! That's a fact, because is not very well optimized. Still, Metro 2033 is one of the best FPSs you'll ever play. The story takes place in the year 2033, in Moscow, after a nuclear apocalypse that left most of the world uninhabited. A few survivors, buried in the ruins of the subway network, manage to create a working society, using military grade ammunition as currency. The player takes the role of Artyom, a young man sent for help when his home station is attacked by mutants. Throughout your journey' you'll encounter various people, some of whom will try to help, some who'll try to stop you, even thoough the final decision belongs entirely to you.

What sets the game apart is the dark and grim atmosphere, created by the few NPCs scattered around the stations, and the darkness of the metro tunnels. If you listen closely, you can hear interesting stories from the survivors of the russian metro, immersing you even more in the game's world. The graphics are awesome, with a lot of detail and very well chosen colours. Everything you see looks almost real, especially the outdoors, with beautiful lightning. A nice thing is the HUD, and by that I mean the lack of it. The only thing you'll see on the screen is the ammo counter, when reloading. Everyting else is cleverly blended on the weapon(the air pressure for pneumatic weapons or the bullets in the magazine) or the counter Artyom is holding. Also, the sound acting is mored than decent, especially when playing with Russian voices and English subtitles. Overall, Metro 2033 is a game that must be played, especially for the fans of the FPS genre, as a warm-up for the upcoming Metro 2034.

87

Amazing game, shocking graphics (even for the high end PC)

axeldna | Oct. 30, 2012 | See all axeldna's reviews »

I bought this game some time ago and got it for $3 (here at GreenManGaming, really nice deal) and I recently played it after a month of purchase.

Personally I could not stop playing after 3 hours, because story game kept me going, this talks a lot about game environment, although so far in the game I haven't seen day light (full underground game, maybe when I progress I can see the sun).

I have to say I have a very powerful video card, Nvidia GTX 680, and when I set all video settings to MAX (very high graphic detail, maximum antialiasing and maximum anisotropic filtering) with 1920x1080 resolution, I could never get 60fps. If you want to play with more than one monitor (at 2560x1600 resolution), you should consider getting two high end graphic cards to support this game at its maximum graphic details.

I totally recommend this game, especially to that people with powerful PC and powerful video card.

85

Dark and atmospheric FPS

crazybear86 | Oct. 27, 2012 | See all crazybear86's reviews »

In Metro 2033 you play as the 20year old character Artjom who lives in the undergrounds of moscow - the metro station. On your journey through the 7 chapter campaign you encounter a lot of different monsters and enemies which you eventually have to fight against.

Metro 2033 can most likely be compared to the game Stalker as it has a pretty similar atmosphere. The main difference is the fact that is a pretty linear game, it plays underground (or at least 95% of the time) and that is has a lot less bugs. The graphics are great, the voice acting is very good and the controls are modern standard of fps. The things that raise it off from the normal fps game are still really great atmosphere which definitely scares you more than once or twice, the interesting story and the cool and unused setting.

If you are looking for a dark and atmospheric first person shooter - i can fully recommend this game!

80

FPS with a great atmosphere

dark2025 | Oct. 22, 2012 | See all dark2025's reviews »

Metro is a post-apocalyptic game that takes place mostly in the Moscow underground. There's been a great deal of effort to make this game as atmospheric as possible. The presentation is top-notch, especially when you have to venture up to the surface of the obliterated city during your travels.

You'll come across many 'settlements' within the underground as well, where you can talk to NPCs or buy equipment with high quality ammunition. Yes, you have a choice of either save up the valuable ammo you find for trading purposes or you can use them in combat for some extra punch.

This game is often on sale for $5, so I'd definitely recommend you pick it up for that price.

92

Diamond in the rough

zombinja | Oct. 20, 2012 | See all zombinja's reviews »

This title, while a little unpolished (though considerably more polished for the PC with all the updates), is nevertheless one of the most engrossing gaming experiences in recent memory. Here is a game that sets itself apart from the banal FPS pack with a compelling atmosphere, believable characters, inventive weapons and mechanics and a gripping narrative that embraces fear and survival. I highly recommend that you play through this game on ranger hardcore, it is an experience that you won't get in any other FPS. Truly, a diamond in the rough.

90

a Great and Classical FPS.

fable2 | Oct. 18, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

With a new system this game runs smooth as butter, without the depth of field (did wonders to my fps) even better. Visuals are gorgeous, mixed with the perfect post apocalyptic setting that makes me want to stay in the game forever and just stare at the screen in awe. Feeling of claustrophobia, desperation, sadness follows you throughout the game. This makes for one of the best atmospheres ever in games.

Once i grabbed it I couldn't let go, I just kept going on wanting to see more and sink into this wonderful dark world. Incredibly addicting and definitely asks for multiple replays. I don't remember when was the last time a game made me so excited, especially when fps are in question. Among a pile of generic, boring copy paste shooters, this one stands out and it stands strong. Of course we have seen all of this before, but this time it actually feels fresh and unique.

This game hit all the right buttons in my opinion. Gameplay is good, mission progress fast paced and straight forward (linearity actually fits perfectly) story is decent and mysterious, very creepy atmosphere. Lack of ammo and fast enemies result in some hectic scenarios, a few times it made me almost jump out of my chair. Stealth elements are very well done, you can actually skip parts of the missions completely ignoring enemies or killing them from stealth. If everything else failed, setting alone would make me finish this game, luckily in this case everything works more then fine.

I enjoyed this game so much I will gladly consider this as one of the best fps games I've played. Maybe even right along my all time favorites Half Life 2 and Bioshock. Metro 2033 you are worthy.

89

Awesome Graphics and more

DukePaul | Oct. 15, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

I tested this game on my new computer and I can say this game at Max settings is impressive and with the enviroments of the game makes an atmosphere than can give you a unique experience, the underground is a very creepy place with their tunnels and subway stations and the NPC looks like real.

In terms of gameplay, its a FPS/adventure with stealth moments and survival moments, you will need kill the enemies with knifes sometimes or change your gas maks filter but this is a hard game and find these items is rare so do not waste them

For the plot, its 10/10, the main characters of the story will make you to beat the game to see this great script.

At the moment, I cant wait for the sequel: Metro Last Light

85

High quality FPS

Stefann | Oct. 2, 2012 | See all Stefann's reviews »

From a game that is called Metro 2033 you know that the game is gonna take you to many places. You get to travel around in the subway system of Moscow meeting people on the way sometimes you get the chance to help people at a location, who are dire need of help.

I must say this is a very dark game not only because its dark in the metro but also a dark atmosphere. No bright colors and unkind figures (Nazi's, communists) who try to kill you. You get an First Person Shooter who not only lets you shoot about, but makes you feel you spent your time well. No dumb let's shoot every guy/monster that you come across. This is why I suggest everyone to buy this game. You will have fun in the constantly changing locations, f.e.: tunnel, subway stations, houses,...

What makes this game so great ? - Variation in gameplay : you can play a level in stealth mode or shoot 'en all up - Different weaponry: AK47, handguns, grenades. - Realistic projection of the world, even the gas mask filters needs to replaced, and radiation on the surface. You can ascend from to subway you get to see some light. - Frightening sounds, monsters bad illuminated subway tunnels. - You can you a compass to guide you so you don't have to run around like crazy, hoping to find the right switch. - You are accompanied during your quest in the metro system. - High quality graphics even DirectX11. - The game keeps you going - Never boring

For what I payed for €1.5, this game was a real steel. My advice buy because you cant go wrong !

86

worth it at this price

cottonycandy | Sept. 16, 2012 | See all cottonycandy's reviews »

Maybe not the best fps ever but definitely worth it at this super low sales price. Its a survival fps game and is super fun, you are always thinking about your next move. It has a lot of content and the story is pretty good. I don't think its game of the year worthy or anything but for sure its an excellent game

95

A Beautiful FPS Adventure

Shai | Sept. 15, 2012 | See all Shai's reviews »

In Metro 2033, you are Artyom, a youth that grew up in the metro systems of Moscow. The metro system is both the home and sanctuary of many in this post-nuclear world, both from the threat of strange creatures and from that of the hazardous airs above. Your home is under attack, and, to protect it, you set out into the metro to find help.

It's a simple enough premise, but its execution was nothing short of beautiful. Each little settlement in the metro is a group of people on the edge. They're in bad shape. There's only so much you can create when locked underground, after all. The hopelessness of the situation truly does ring out when you stay around and listen to some of the conversations between NPCs. And when you finally step outside, into ruined Moscow, you get a beautiful and tragic image of the terror of nuclear war.

Moscow is frozen over, with creatures and flying monsters having taken control of the once-bustling city. Buildings are in ruins, and exploration of these ruins presents the player with a chance to get a better idea of the attempts survivors had made, over the years, to get by in that wasteland. The game rewards exploration with that, but also with supplies, as hidden caches are littered all about the place.

The money system in Metro is unique. Where other games have a standardized currency that serves only as money, Metro utilizes pre-war bullets. Because the production of ammunition in the metro presents lower-quality ammo, these pre-war clips are valuable, powerful, and treated as the primary form of currency. They can present a huge edge in combat, but using them in that way cuts into your reserves for supplies at the next safe haven. The choice is up to the player, and it presents a new form of balance between ease of engagement and supplying your journey.

The story is engaging. The gameplay is solid and easy to get a grip on. The scenery is beautiful and illustrates the dangerous end to a nuclear conflict. It is a wonderful experience from beginning to end, and, contrary to the system requirements, it runs pretty capably on even laptops, or with integrated graphics. It'd be worth it at the retail of $20, but, at the moment, it's 80% off. $4? That's a steal. Cheaper than buying it on Steam, since it's never been below 75%.

80

Great!

schroff | Sept. 15, 2012 | See all schroff's reviews »

This FPS has some RPG elements like currency, lots of NPCs and exploration. There are multiple types of ammunition and pre-war military ammo is the currency here. Despite the tall promises in the beginning it is a very linear game with two endings with some moral implications. Not bad at all in honestly. The AI can be awfully stupid .. running straight at your weapon or stuck at a wall going no where are common scenarios. Graphics are renowned .. as is its performance with DX 11. Worth your money.

94

Better than Call of Duty

sanyi777 | Sept. 15, 2012 | See all sanyi777's reviews »

Metro 2033 is a post-apocalyptic linear FPS with great story and gorgeous graphics. The story's main character is Artyom, who is a simple guy from the metro who has to travel between the staions. The fights, the sneaking, and the saving of ammo makes a perfect athmosphere. The game is recommended if you want a good FPS.

79

Great linear fps

Xibalba | Sept. 12, 2012 | See all Xibalba's reviews »

Is a first-person shooter video game with survival horror elements, based on the novel Metro 2033 by Dmitry Glukhovsky The story takes place in post-apocalyptic Moscow, mostly inside the metro system of the city, is a great atmosphere game with some nice elements like stealth, and a sort of moral choices that give points to lead in different endings.

75

A good shooter

Zinzun | Sept. 3, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

This is based on a novel, and it's a survival first person shooter. To buy weapons or ammo....you must use your bullets, but you will need them to survive too. When you will exit on open areas, you will need to use special air masks that consume filters. The game is hard, and there are some bugs and bad programming scripts (when you shoot enemies you will not know if you've hit them or not ,because bullets don't give any feedback when they hit something), but it's a really good game for the story and atmosphere. Buy it when it will be on deal.

86

Linear game with grat atmosphere

panz3r88 | Sept. 1, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Metro 2033 is a classic fps game with a story full of mistery and a great atmosphere. The game is linear, and in each level you must go from one point to the other of the map, but this doesn't mean that the game is simple. The resources are very limited and you must always think before shooting, because if you waste bullets you will risk to remain only with your combat knife. The military bullet are also the money you can use to buy weapons, medikit and other things from traders, so you can decide to not use them for buying something. Sometimes you can decide to use a stealth approach, in particular in levels where you must fight against human enemies, and spare some ammo. The IA of the enemies is not brilliant, but the level of difficult make them really though opponents, because they can kill you with a few bullet. The best part of the game is the scaring atmosphere you will face during all the game and the story, for most part of the game is hard to understand clearly what's happening around and who is the real enemy.

90

Must have game !

arkantos | Aug. 2, 2012 | See all arkantos's reviews »

Do you love scary games ? Then this is a damn good one, this game is what i call a jewel of the games, it has excellent graphics and animations, it even have the NVDIA PhysX, all the location will have a great atmosphere wich will make you feel like being there yourself, sounds is very good, i just got in mind the part of the city, with the winds and rest of effects, trust me that you will love this game, let's hope the sequel of this game will be as great as this, or even more.

91

A really great game

ENDOOO | July 27, 2012 | See all ENDOOO's reviews »

As with the novel's story, the game takes place in an underground subway in a post apocalyptic Moscow. The player play as Artyom who was born just after the apocalyptic events final days. Artyom has never stepped beyond the Metro Station City limits, but soon the adventure begins.

The weapons and tools in the game are really creative such as hand-rechargeable flashlight, air driven sniper rifle, gas masks and pneumatic bolt guns.I would recommend playing through METRO 2033 more than once to see the second ending and try the hardcore mod which offers to play without any hud.

There are plenty of guns, medkits and filters, it is all there, you just have to search and find it among dead bodies or abandoned houses on the surface. You can also buy these things at metro stations, where you are safe, but that will cost some bullets.

In Metro you can run like a drunken madman and shoot everyone in the head or you can take a more stealthy approach. The game also rewards exploration. Even if levels seem very straight forward, sometimes there are hidden tunnels, rooms or passages where you can find some goods. There's always new guns, throwing knifes, and new armor to buy.

Overall Metro 2033 is a creative game with lots of new stuff in contrast from the usual FPS

91

The game to the book

killlerkirsche | July 26, 2012 | See all killlerkirsche's reviews »

Well, if you didn´t read the book Metro 2033 you won´t miss too much. Even though Metro 2033 is based heavily at the book, you can still enjoy it even not knowing the book, but you will miss some hints.

You should also better prepare yourself for the game. To run it fluantly, you should have a good PC, but you will be rewarded with a wonderful atmosphere and graphic.

Even though its a stealth game and sometimes quite shocking, it has its own very style. The story is very close to reality, because the world has been destroyed by a nuclear war. Those who saved themselves fleed to the Moscow Metro. You are taking the role of Artjom who set out of the Metro and explores the abandoned surface of Moscow.

All in all, its a pretty good game, which will have its own sequel, which is not based at Metro 2034.

90

Recommended!

sYncz | July 26, 2012 | See all sYncz's reviews »

Metro 2033 is set in post apocalyptic world which looks absolutely stunning, one of the best looking games to date. You play as a survivor exploring underground metro tunnels and occasionally going up in the dangerous post-apocalyptic world. You struggle as the story goes along, search for spare ammunition, sneak past beasts and encounter unexpected obstacles. Gameplay is really good, story telling and voice acting is top notch. Variety of guns seem to be average, but it should be enough.

90

Great atmosphere

CJV | July 24, 2012 | See all CJV's reviews »

I really enjoyed Metro 2033. I wasn't expecting a great game, but well, I ended up surprised. This game takes place in a post apocalyptic Moscow, and its population it's forced to live underground due to the toxic air of the atmosphere and to the monster that live on the surface. There's a lot of nice touches, like you have to wear a mask on the surface and when enemies attack you it might break and you have to find another one before you suffocate. Also, the game currency it's military bullets, stronger than the ones used on the weapons and you can use it as a currency to buy stuff at merchants or you can use it against your enemies. Overall, the graphics are great, the sound is quite nice, the story is engaging and most of the levels focus on a stealth perspective, which I think it suits the game atmosphere very well. It's one of the best and more engaging fps I've played. Definitely recommended!

93

Money can kill

Cooberstooge | July 23, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

Nobody does post-apoc better than some of the small indie studios based in and around Russia. There must be something about that region that inspires this way of thinking, and it comes out like a fine wine in Metro 2033.

The subway tunnels are your home, the place where you grew up, and the place where those left sheltered from the toxic abomination that is the surface. Now, though, something has attacked this refuge, and you must fight for yourself and those around you.

Metro 2033 is a linear shooter, but it's one heck of a good one. In a society whose very survival is the only goal, your bullets are your currency. Do you shoot that bandit, or save those four rounds to buy an extra gas mask cartridge for your next jaunt on the surface? What on earth is crawling through the vent pipes above your head? And, most importantly of all, are you afraid of the dark? Because, if you're not, you should be.

80

From Russia, with love.

Stimpack | July 23, 2012 | See all Stimpack's reviews »

Absolutely astounding. It's amazing how well the Russians capture the post-apocalyptic feel. Incredible voice-acting only serves to compliment the complete immersion that's delivered via stunning graphics, story, and creatures. It is nerve-racking, pulse-pounding, action-packed, and surreal. If you were ever interested in seeing the beauty and sadness of a desolate wasteland, Metro 2033 has your number.

It's in my opinion that it's the little things that take a game from good to great. Things like using ammunition as the new form of currency, the feel of a gun and the sense of urgency given to a situation, the need to scavenge for supplies, the need for air filters to breathe above ground and in hazardous situations as well as the need to check your watch to see just how much time that filter has left. The developers seek to bring you into a world of their creation, and they make no plans to hold you hand. So, welcome to the new world, and try to adapt as best you can.

90

Great FPS atmosphere!

orange22 | July 21, 2012 | See all orange22's reviews »

This game is totally worth getting If you are one of those gamers who really likes playing an FPS game throughout the story. It has so many well detailed elements that make you feel like you really are in action along with others in the game. You can trade guns, buy ammo and more. I won't spoil anything more here because it's best for you to play it through for best experience! Graphics are amazing too so make sure you can run it.

Only downside of the game would be the performance, but if you meet the minimum requirements atleast, you should be fine.

80

Very demanding game

lok0812 | July 20, 2012 | See all lok0812's reviews »

Nice story-line, set in a post-apocalyptic environment. Nice horror survival element, you can always feel the pressure while navigating areas lurked with monsters. Also, on places with human enemies, stealth is very important and fun. Might need a decent PC, as the graphics are quite demanding. One of the rare games that the Russians are the good guys.

89

Best Stealth Game!

aristotaufiq | July 18, 2012 | See all aristotaufiq's reviews »

I don't really enjoy stealth game before. But this game is actually great. The story, graphic, everything in it is great. it's a little hard to sneak but you will get used to it.

90

Realism with graphics

Ninjer | July 17, 2012 | See all Ninjer's reviews »

This game is great, not because of the shooting part though, but because of the immersion. Metro did a great job making it feel like a true apocalypse was happening outside of the metro and the safe havens were really safe (but we know this is impossible to do later on in the story). The scarcity of ammo (which is also the currency in this game) and mask filters (needed later on) makes this game challenging. I was extremely immersed playing this game, and I felt like I really was playing my character.

My only problem is that the AI (humans) aren't the best. They can spot you from nearly everywhere (making stealth more useless) and they don't really use flanking tactics.

If you buy this game, make sure your computer can run it, as it's HIGHLY demanding (especially if you want the best graphics, dx11 maxed out, etc)

93

Unexpected pleasure

eeweathers | July 14, 2012 | See all eeweathers's reviews »

I have heard about this game for a while... since it came out. I remember a few podcasts talking about the ammo as money and the use of gas masks while outside. For some reason, I completely missed the fact that it had a supernatural bend to it. I was pleasantly surprised. Here I was just expecting a generic shooter with some unique attributes. Instead I found a game with a well crafted world and fantastic story. Highly recommended, this game is!

90

Heavy on your pc, heavier on your mind.

or808 | July 13, 2012 | See all or808's reviews »

Metro is a first person shooter/survivor horror. In it you can shoot your way through or you can try sneaking past your enemies. Although sneaking isn't the easiest thing to do due to weird AI of the npc's. Still the game tells a great horror story, a tale of Artyom who lives in an underground metro station, the last haven in a post nuclear war Soviet Russia. The shooting is very soild, the weapons feel very precise. The graphics are amazing but in order to see them you'd need a pretty powerful pc. Highly recommended!

89

Alone in the Moscow undergrounds

FreeMan85 | July 7, 2012 | See all FreeMan85's reviews »

Metro 2033 is maybe the best post-apocalyptic game I've been played years. I never been finished STALKER, the freedom is simply... confused me. But Metro is a straight and linear FPS action game with some minor choices. When I played the game's demo I instantly want to continue the game! The action, the story, the whole wolrd is nicly put together. If you a fan of post-apocalytpic games Metro 2033 will be your favorite. The gameplay is changing from map to map. Sometime you have to sneak over enemies, watch your every step not to ring any alarm or step some noisy. Sometimes you fight dozens of human enemies, but sometimes you fight with hordes of mutants. You can use knifes, shotgun, sniper, revolver just watch your ammonution! You can trade them in hubs for different type and quality of ammo. You can also find cashes through the game, most of them are hidden. But my favorite part of the game is when you just walk alone or a small team. Some scary noises, shadows, mysteries, but no action. Sadly I never read the book, but the game is great. Well written, hard, scary and interesting. Multiple difficulties and Steam achievements gives a good replayability. The game has a high sysreq, but luckily the game is optizimized well. Even, if has pre-set graphics settings like: low, normal, high, ultra. I can run smooth at Normal on a Geforce 8600 GT. The game also can played with original Russian language with English subtitle.

If you fan of post-apocalyptic genre you must play with Metro 2033. Or if you read the book and wonder how the game succesed or failed also worth a try.

95

Entertaining and scary!

Mixters | May 26, 2012 | See all Mixters's reviews »

The story is actually quite good and the atmosphere that the game builds up. You are Artyom, after a nuclear war you'll have to survive in the metro tunnels. The resources are poor, and you'll have to get what you can.

This game is very entertaining but also at the same time scary. There are ghosts in the tunnels that appear scarily. The storyline is pretty much linear but there are multiple endings which you can get depending on what decisions you make in the game.

The graphics are outstanding and the game requires a quite powerful PC to be able to run on the highest settings.

Overall a good game for fans of the STALKER series and people who wants a entertaining scary first-person shooter.