Reviews for Kings Bounty Armored Princess Cap

78

Solid game

undercoverchad | July 3, 2013 | See all undercoverchad's reviews »

Never played the first game King's Bounty, but I want to, now that I've played Armoured Princess. Can be very challenging, and you really need to plan your battles carefully, especially if you don't want to lose any units, as there are limited amounts of them to be found. The world in-game is bigger than I expected, and provided many hours of exploration (and fights). The battles don't get old as each one is unique due to the different mix of enemy units. Enjoyed the stories behind some of the smaller quests, although the overall story felt a bit lacking as it did not really engage my interest. But other than that, Armoured Princess is a solid game that will provide hours of entertainment.

95

Epic

kalil | June 20, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Wonderful world and epic story this make this game good, but add to this very entertaining fights and u get great game. The only disadvantage for me is that you cant play a quick scenario or something like that - only full campaign. It´s brilliant; as was the first one. The gameplay, balancing and story are all top notch. As a translation from Russian, the humour and interesting plot transfer perfectly into English. (Contrast that with a translation from a typical Japanese title and you realise the contempt those publishers have for the western market!). One of the best games

90

More than add on, less than sequel

Demilisz | June 11, 2013 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

Armored Princess is something between standalone add on and sequel to King's Bounty: The Legend. This time you play as Princess Amelia with quest to find her mentor. The most notably changes are lack of Rage Spirits (replaced by cute dragon) and possibility to evolve your horse into a Pegas. The rest are pretty much like in Legend: you explore world, recruit an army from every possible creature, fight enemies, hunt down wanted criminals (new feature, unavaiable in Legend) and level up using precious magical runes. The skill trees was slightly rearranged. For obvious reasons you can't have a wife (or husband, Amelia is princess after all and young one) here, instead you get a squire who has similiar function, just without giving you kids.

If you loved The Legend, you will love this as well.

84

Enjoyable lightweight fantasy strategy

mutsuriini | June 7, 2013 | See all mutsuriini's reviews »

This game is a standalone expansion to "King's Bounty: The Legend", and a spiritual successor of the "Heroes of Might and Magic" series. Personally, I found it more enjoyable than the later installments of said series (though it didn't manage to push Heroes of Might and Magic III off its throne). It stays close to the true and tested gameplay formula of its predecessors, but updates the graphics considerably. It offers exploration, epic turn-based battles, RPG elements (developing the heroes), and lots of different troops with unique abilities. The quests often include humorous elements, which may not be everybody's taste, but I found the game to be a good mixture of epic fantasy and light-hearted narrative. The main criticism I have about the game is that the AI isn't very smart - the game's difficulty is achieved by giving the AI bonuses in strength and numbers. The game therefore doesn't quite succeed as a serious strategy game, but it doesn't try to be one either.

79

Kings Bounty Armored Princess - review

carlyle | Jan. 2, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

They are fighting the focal point of King's Bounty: Armored Princess: the battlefields mentioned from time to time provide the strategic layout of the forces available, each with a certain amount of possible movements carried out in a checkerboard boxes hexagonal and then with statische and specific skills, to enable many thousands of possible combinations as well as an impressive level of depth. After the first few hours of gameplay, challenging but surmountable without too many uncertainties, the rate of challenge grows exponentially and with it the need to carefully choose each unit, or magic object, a process fortunately supported by the enormous job of balancing the fact, that make every encounter an inspiring run to the right move. Graphical style is cartoony and often does not hide the desire to make to the World of Warcraft, compensating for the lack of originality in a good yield also available to smaller configurations. Very good artificial intelligence, able to dominate the playing field putting in difficulty just enough to stimulate the continued use of gray matter, without giving the impression of cheating. The sound, finally, uses a pleasant soundtrack composed by catchy tunes while leaving less satisfied with the set of sounds that accompany battles and exploration, rather poor.

84

Good RPG/RTS with a fantasy setting

panz3r88 | Dec. 24, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Armored Princess is a standalone expansion for King's Bounty. Basically it's equal to its predecessor , but with a diffrerent protagonist. In the game you must use your armies against the enemies and gain experience to increase your abilities. Armored Princess looks easier compared to its predecessor.

86

Awesome standalone turn-based title

Cooberstooge | Aug. 19, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

The King's Bounty series is legendary for being a solid, old-school turn-based bunch of games, and Armored Princess is no different. The game has its own look and style, and quickly draws you in with original characters and great special effects.

This is a game for those into lore, since everything is told through written dialogue. There's hours upon hours of stuff to learn in here, and it's all accessible for even newcomers to the series. The combat is often fast, and sometimes unpredictable. Parties to hire, quests to solve, and monsters to slay, Armored Princess has it all.

I can definitely recommend this to everyone, since it's fairly new-to-the-genre friendly, and will hold your interest until the final battle plays out.

75

Better than The Legend, but still flawed

Zirun | July 30, 2012 | See all Zirun's reviews »

This game is undoubtedly better than the previous, King's Bounty: The Legend. The aforementioned game was a solid one in its own right; it lacked some features and had some issues, but it was a generally fun experience in the vein of Heroes of Might and Magic.

Now we come to King's Bounty: Armored Princess. An all new story, though it is easy to forget given how long it can take to get from one story element to the next. New features, better graphics, new items, new spells. All good, right?

Not quite. My main problem with Armored Princess is the problems that were present in The Legend that weren't even improved upon in this game. Things like a constant time-wasting journey between where the enemies are and where you get your troops from. It adds nothing to the game (compared to a Heroes of Might and Magic game, where troop replenishing is a part of the overall strategy one uses to win the game), and yet there are no rally points for troop hiring or anything of the sort; you have to remember and go to each place where your 5-7 troop types are found whenever you want more of them. These and other things (like the sometimes atrocious pathing) can really hurt the experience.

Ultimately, King's Bounty: Armored Princess is a good game. Just be warned, though, that you will spend a lot of time backtracking and trying to click on the right places to make your character more. It could be a deal-breaker for some that it has these problems, but for those who can live with those and other issues like them, Armored Princess is a great Heroes of Might and Magic-like RPG.

88

Great Expansion

Cynaris | July 20, 2012 | See all Cynaris's reviews »

...to an already beloved revival of the original King's Bounty. Armored Princess is all you would expect from a proper expansion. More of the same type of core gameplay, new spells, abilities, creatures, a new campaign. Also a lengthy one. You gotta love King's Bounty games for their value, it's just great. The game also introduces a new combat element, the Box of Rage is swapped with a Pet Dragon, which you can choose from the many in the beginning of a game. Works similarly as the Box, (using rage) but with different spells, and strategies. A worthy purchase.

87

Great Fun

ROKET | June 30, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

I bought this game at the same time as The Legend and was very pleased with what I got. The game was even more visually pleasing, had a more interesting story, and gave me awesome music along with the already great gameplay.

I had SO much fun exploring the islands and found everything I discovered to be very exciting. It was a great sense of progression to finally discover the map that allowed you to travel to the next island and intense when avoiding and battling your new enemies.

My only problem with this series has been its difficulty. There were times where I wish I could just push the easy button it was so hard. I didnt how I would pay for a new army if I lost and had to creep along in most areas just to make sure I could get anywhere.

The addition of the dragon to the combat board made the combat very fun. You could save up fury points throughout combat and at the right moments turn the tide of the match.

Overall I really liked this game and recommend it.

84

A fantasy Civilization?

madstalk | Aug. 25, 2011 | See all madstalk's reviews »

Armored Princess has a certain Civilization like quality that makes it very difficult to shut the game off. It is essentially a strategy game ripe with the micromanagement of a good RPG. Throw in a levelable pet and a hefty overall level of challenge and you have the equivalent of gaming crack. It has that one more turn gameplay that will force players to waste hours in Armored Princess universe. There are some drawbacks, however. The story is told through copious amounts of text that are often weighted down by inconsequential back story and mythology. Also, the difficulty of opponents doesn't really seem to match the level of your army. At times the game comes to a standstill as you search for an enemy army that you can actually defeat. If you can accept these issues Kings Bounty: Armored Princess can give you one of the best dollar values around.

85

Improved Ledgends

Woundead | Aug. 9, 2011 | See all Woundead's reviews »

New features added and a new race, Orcs. Otherwise very similair to the original, but improved. If you liked Legends, you will enjoy this as it brings an equal amount of gaming hours in the campaign. You could argue that it is enough to buy only this game, as it plays pretty much as the original, but improved. But if you are a fan I would recommend playing Ledgends first.

Recommended if your a fan or only think that you will enjoy at max about ~100-120 hours of total gameplay in the Kings Bounty series.

72

Neat in a way

hotmando1 | July 20, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

This addon doesn't feel like an addon at all but more of an expansion. For 20 bucks, it sure cost like one too. New additions to the game adds new life to it. So if you ever feel bored with Kings Bounty, get this. New skills,spells, and whatnot will surely reintroduce the features that made players love the first time. Although it's turn based still, it still holds as much weight as Heroes/might and magic. The "new" addictions aren't even reused models and such. The developers really put effort onto making this addon a great experience for those who enjoy the series. I recommend this to everyone who enjoys a good turn-based action game.

85

Good addon

kmpt | April 10, 2011 | See all kmpt's reviews »

This addon provide us with many new features, skills, spells and a whole new interesting campaing with the title Princess in lead role. Addon's campaign is even better than KB: The Legend campaign but there is still no multiplayer included. I recommend this addon for everyone who enjoyed KB: The Legend.

90

Great addon

keeveek | April 5, 2011 | See all keeveek's reviews »

Many new features, such a baby dragon which can level up and develop more deadly skills, whole new campaign which will provide you many hours of gameplay and more! The title hero (the Princess) is much more interesting than a hero from the basic version of the game. Youll have to encounter many new creatures that youll slain with new items, skills and spells. If you liked Heroes of Might and Magic and the first King's Bounty - you won't regret if you buy this piece of art.