Reviews for Zombie Driver

85

awesome for what it is

mirta000 | May 19, 2014 | See all mirta000's reviews »

Like to drive your car into objects? Like to see gore? Like destruction, but still want to do good? Want a story with a twist? Then this game is for you!

The gameplay is very simple - you drive over zombies for extra money while rushing to the survivors to save them from the zombie apocalypse before they get eaten. You also have to be mindful about your car - if you hit too many objects or zombies hit you too much your car will degrade.

Cons? The game is really short. Pros? It's an extreme level of fun!

70

Drive it Home Today

Autocyclist | March 7, 2014 | See all Autocyclist's reviews »

While not exactly groundbreaking, Zombie Driver still succeeds in being a worthwhile endeavour into the world of Zombie-related massacre-fests.

Take a few vehicles for a test drive through infested streets, upgrading their killing capacity as you go. You'll drive from point A to B, in a never-ending fetch quest to save the remaining survivors in the town. Eviscerate as many zombies as you can on the way!

While short, Zombie Driver offers a fair amount of replayability, both in being at it's core frenetic and enjoyable, and offering further levels of perfection to be attained.

Fun while it lasts, but don't expect anything astounding.

87

A nice change...

darkbreaker3200 | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all darkbreaker3200's reviews »

It was a new perspective on the zombie genre for me, birds-eye view car action. The missions were simple and short, but controlling the cars was the major challenge. Initially I got motion sick from playing, but I got used to it. Supports Eyefinity, a major plus even though it's kinda pointless for this game. All in all, a great example of an Indie game.

70

Kill insects

iamkyo90 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all iamkyo90's reviews »

The zombies look like insects, hahaha, it's very addictive, kill hordes and hordes of zombies with different types of vehicles that can be improved. It has several modes of play, it is not hard to master.

80

I never got enough

mahon | July 26, 2013 | See all mahon's reviews »

People are often surprised about the amount of time I devoted to this game. The concept is not very complex here - you drive around, smashing zombies and surroundings, sowing destruction and collecting upgrades to your car and momey to buy even more upgrades.

Can this game be any good? Definitely! It's one of the games that I spent most time playing. It has some storyline, but it's not the reason you play this game, is it? I play it when I feel the need for speed and destruction without excessive brain exercise. In fact you can freely relax your brain in this game, you will be using your eyes and fingers, but won't need to plan any complex strategies. But when you play a game that is all about driving into hordes of zombies, can you expect anything else?

80

Shame it was too short

Jonot86 | July 25, 2013 | See all Jonot86's reviews »

While it was fun and great with fun driving mechanics, it didn't feel long as it should be!

Upgrading and racing against time is fun but I do like to take my time to explore! Shooting guns, racing random cars while annihilating zombie hordes is fun.

I would definitely suggest to pick this up and hope for a sequel!

80

Cool for a moment

TGAlan | July 11, 2013 | See all TGAlan's reviews »

Zombie Driver is an fun easy going game that allows you to race, and smash, and shoot the crap out of tons of zombies. It's a simple, top down playing game. Nothing fancy, no bells and whistles, but has some online leadboards.

80

Great Fun!

Plasros | July 6, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

This game is simple is awesome! I have several friends who play and leader board competitions between friends keeps me coming back to defend my scores. The graphics are well done and the physics are excellent. Playing with a controller makes the game more enjoyable as well. Hoping for Zombie Driver 2 with multiplayer.

79

Mindless, Addicting, Zombie Slaughtering Fun

thegaminglyfe | June 11, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

The gameplay in Zombie Driver is incredibly fun with mindless fun. All you do is kill zombies while driving around doing objectives. It's a super simple idea but it is so much fun. The sound is so-so and the graphics are bland. The gameplay where the true part of this game. A great zombie casual game.

80

Fun arcade action

kairegister | May 30, 2013 | See all kairegister's reviews »

Top-down view and guns and cars is always an obvious way of saying "I'm going to be fun dang it". Offers 3 modes, a campaign where you need to rescue people like you're a taxi driver, another where you race and do tournaments with crazy weapons, and survival, which is always an arcade favorite.

At a sale price, this game will offer you quite a few hours of just doing everything. Then probably a few more hours just to have fun.

67

Zombie Driver - review

carlyle | Jan. 6, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

In Zombie Driver will be the sole survivor with a means of transport in a city completely overrun by zombies and closed in quarantine. The aim of the game is to save the few survivors holed up in the various buildings scattered around the map. To complicate life will only undead who will try to block the road: although only one zombie does not create any problem, the mass of walking corpses that Parera opposite danger of stopping the vehicle you are driving with the consequent destruction of the , thus causing death. In addition to the main objectives of each mission also offers sub-missions that will require, for example, make a clean sweep in an area infested or return to baseline within a time limit. In this way you can earn money to appear new weaponry and enhancements for your vehicle, or even receive new ones in case of special events. Zombie Driver is damn funny during the first hour of play the damn boring after. All the rest of the game is reduced to make the first mission seventeen times waiting to unlock some new vehicle, and nothing more. The city in which the story takes place is very small and the lack of a mini map interface takes players to follow the paths shorter already known to him returning a nagging sense of deja vu.

70

Drive cars, shoot and smash ZOMBIES!!

crazyspike | Dec. 25, 2012 | See all crazyspike's reviews »

Drive cars, shoot and smash zombies its essence of this game. Get money upgrade your weapons, car or buy new ones. Not so hard game, good graphic and sound. Main quest is not so important only KILL ZOMBIES and do as a "taxi" in missions. Game to take some steam, relax. Finishing - game is fun, and if you like kill zombies this is your game.

55

Fun game to pass the time with

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | See all StewartX's reviews »

While this game has no story it is a great way to pass a few mins. It is basically a top down car racing game where you are in a small map and you must undertake various missions to rescue civilians, slaughter zombies and unlock/upgrade various cars. Good fun for a few dollars. Wouldn't pay more than $5 for it though. Graphics: 5/10 (Indie) Gameplay: 6/10 Story: 2/10 Multiplayer: No

90

Original, to be entertained for a while

kalil | May 22, 2012 | See all kalil's reviews »

Zombie Driver, great, unique in its kind and highly addictive. Scenarios fully destructible, fully destructible zombies, a variety of cars to slaughter, even a bus, my favorite course. Too limited ammunition weapons, but a variety of these. The camera sometimes plays tricks, too upright. At the level playable, it's pretty simple, destroys whatever and how many zombies are to reach your goals, saving survivors and bring them back to base safely, and sometimes clean hordes of zombies in a particular area. Technology is not new, and the graphics quality is acceptable. The sound is in sufficient. Addictive to the limits.

85

Fun Game

lordzed | Sept. 22, 2011 | See all lordzed's reviews »

Kind of like Taxi Driver meets Left 4 Dead. You drive around completing objectives which usually entail picking up x number of survivors before they die and returning them to your base. There are secondary objectives that usually involve going to some other point and slaughtering masses of zombies.

The whole game is played out in your car and you can add various weapons and upgrades to it. There also seems to be a pretty nice selection of vehicles.

It's fun. It could use online multiplayer for the races and even for some of the other modes, but definitely worth the few bucks.

60

Simple Fun (Unless You Get Motion Sickness)

Korrd | Sept. 2, 2011 | See all Korrd's reviews »

Zombie Driver is the kind of game you fire up when you've got an hour or so to kill--mow down hordes of zombies with an assortment of weapons and various vehicle bumpers before dinner or homework or putting the kids to bed. It's quite mindless, but it's entertaining for short periods. I imagine it'd get repititive after a while, but this is a budget game with pretty limited scope. Enjoy it for what it is.

I, unfortunately, couldn't even do that much, since Zombie Driver triggered some sort of weird motion sickness. That's not at all typical for me--I like rollercoasters and rocking boats and have been an avid gamer for decades--but something about the camera perspective messed with my vision enough to make me dizzy and queasy after about 15 minutes.

Quite an oddity, and I'm sure your mileage will vary. Just a head's up to anyone sensitive to those symptoms.

80

Another way to kill zombies

faraany3k | Aug. 24, 2011 | See all faraany3k's reviews »

In recent years we have seen all sorts of zombie games. Some of the greatest games this gen like Resident Evil and Left4Dead have there own versions of zombies and zombie smashing. Zombie Driver is another one of those games which let you kill those poor things with a twist. Instead of machine guns and rocket launchers, your car is your weapon. Of course with the traditional road kills by driving over zombies you can upgrade your cars with all sort of mounted weapons. Game offer a single player campaign and a free roam option aswell. There are number of cars that you can drive which have there own feel and speed while you clear out the city from huge zombie infestation. After you clear out the STORY mode you can unlock different weapons and items to make your car more lethal. Game is reminiscent of the old GTA titles like GTA 1 and 2 where we control our car from isometric camera. I must add game is fun and features highly satisfying action. Game gives a lot of value for its price and a must have for the fans of zombie games. The camera and gameplay might put some players off but i personally suggest you to give this game a try. You wont regret it.

65

GTA with zombies

emperor20 | Aug. 23, 2011 | See all emperor20's reviews »

All you do is drive around town and kill undead while saving people. Better add a variety of cars and weapons, so it doesn't get too samey. Cars are differentiated by having either large carrying capacity or able to handles zeds like it is nothing. Be careful when you do decide to plow through hordes and you don't know your cars' limits with handling the constant slamming and slowness with getting gore in your grill. You also have weapons added into your car, which you can spend on upgrading. It will be needed since killing so many enemies will beat up your car. The story is the same of all of the genre and follows the usual tropes right up to the end. It would be refreshing to actually get out of the car and wander inside buildings, since you would die instantly with the numbers of zeds outside.

75

For a rainy day

Endyo | Aug. 19, 2011 | See all Endyo's reviews »

Zombie Driver takes your everyday isometric zombie shooter and adds a little original GTA to it. Many people wouldn’t remember (the now free to play) original GTA and how it started this whole crazy world we have today, but this game definitely took some design and functionality aspects from it.

Zombie Driver has a few different modes, the primary being the “story” mode where you travel around completing various missions, most of which involve going to a location, shooting/running over/blowing up a horde of zombies, picking up some people trapped in a building, and hauling ass back to your base before your timer runs out and also without getting your crazy death machine of a vehicle destroyed. Accomplishing this rewards you money you need to unlock weapons and modifications for your various vehicles. You can unlock new vehicles by completing tasks or by bonus tasks within missions. Each vehicle functions differently, some are fast and fairly fragile, others are slow and tougher, and some are just there to accommodate the largest number of passengers. Each has upgrades to make it faster, stronger, and more agile in order to accomplish your tasks. It’s up to you to decide which one is the best choice for the given situation. Obtaining weapons is done by finding pickups on the map. You can only hold one at a time so you have to be careful about randomly running over new pickups and losing your favorite zombie blaster.

The various other modes aren’t so vastly different from the original and the only way to unlock and modify cars is to do the “story” mode. The game itself is entertaining for what it is, but it’s not going to challenge you greatly or keep your interest for a great deal of time. I would however suggest using a game pad because the controls are a bit touchy and success in a mission often depends on avoiding as many obstacles a possible. It doesn’t possess any glaring problems (especially after some solid patches) so I can’t take off much for that, but it’s a simple game with a simple concept that is fun enough for a purchase if only to have around to wait for a long download to finish or mess with when you’ve got nothing better to do.

71

Interestingly captivating

trinest | Aug. 18, 2011 | See all trinest's reviews »

I like it. Someone else mentioned it as a time waster, and that is exactly what it is. If you can understand that it can take you from your work or what ever else you are doing to confined you to a game which just makes very little seance, I mean who wants to play a game which your running over hoards of Zombies in a car while picking up various powerups to escape the masses just in time? I know I don't- but this game, it has its ways of making you stay.

75

Fun in short bursts

Quizn0s | Aug. 13, 2011 | See all Quizn0s's reviews »

Zombie Driver is like a glorified flash game. It's a top down shooter/driver hybrid, where you control a car to run over zombies and rescue survivors. It's a great game to satiate your zombie killing needs, and it is quite satisfying slamming into a zombie at high speeds and see his gibs fly all over the place. There are three different modes: Campaign, Slaughter, and Blood Race. The Campaign is like a normal campaign. You're trying to escape the city, rescuing survivors on the way. Slaughter is like a Horde mode, where you have to survive waves of zombies, getting upgrades along the way. Blood Race is sort of like a death race; you race against other drivers, shooting them to try and destroy them and finish in first place. Overall, it's a fun game, but it seems like something that could be found on Newgrounds or something similar, just with better graphics.

74

Great little time waster.

Rzepak01 | Aug. 11, 2011 | See all Rzepak01's reviews »

Zombie Driver is another game in the recent trend of indie games. The game is very simple, but very fun and addictive. In short the game is about mowing down zombies using vechicles of which there are a few in the game. Each car can be upgraded to make it for example tougher or faster. There is a story mode, but really it is not the main focus of the game. It does give you an objective though, besides zombie slaughter. The goal of a mission is to rescue unmotorized civilians. Each car has a different capacity which is another factor besides speed and toughness that the player needs to take into account when starting a mission. There are a few types of zombie starting with dogs to huge ones that severly damage your car when hit. For such occasion there are powers up that show up on the map like miniguns or rockets that attach to the cars. The graphics are really good, especially considering the low price tag of the game. A word of caution to potential buyers though. There have been tales of the game giving players motion sickness, but the devs have since then patched in different camera options to help with that. So happy vechicular zombieslaugther.

63

Too shallow

pauljebe | Aug. 9, 2011 | See all pauljebe's reviews »

Zombie Driver is a very simple game with a very low price. In it you drive cars through hordes of zombies to rescue survivors and earn money and points. The money is used to upgrade to better cars and weapons as you advance through the façade of a storyline. The bird’s eye view allows you to witness all of the carnage but makes anticipating turns in some of the faster vehicles fairly difficult.

It lacks multiplayer but does have several different game modes to help extend its replay value. Essentially it’s mindless fun that gets repetitive sooner than you’d hope. I nice netbook game for quick on-the-go gaming.

74

Good game

Arthan | Aug. 8, 2011 | See all Arthan's reviews »

This game is simple is awesome! I have several friends who play and leader board competitions between friends keeps me coming back to defend my scores. The graphics are well done and the physics are excellent. Playing with a controller makes the game more enjoyable as well. Hoping for Zombie Driver 2 with multiplayer.

50

Fun at the beginning...

Muzicjohn | June 21, 2011 | See all Muzicjohn's reviews »

First look - woohoo, GTA with smashing zombies, this is so cool! Weapons installed on my car? Great!

Second look - ok, why all missions looks the same? You have new cars and a bit different objectives, but you have to do same thing all the time - smash zombies with your car. It's enjoyable, but when you play it 20 minutes every day, not more.

80

A nice retro flavoured game

GAMERamble | May 26, 2011 | See all GAMERamble's reviews »

A chemical accident has changed the cities population into hordes of bloodthirsty zombies. You are one of the few survivors left and your superior driving skills have caught the eyes of the military. Reluctant to get involved for some reason they make use of your services to rescue other survivors and clean out infected areas. The longer you work for them the bigger the suspicion that something is just not right. Welcome to the world of Zombie Driver.

A new downloadable game from Exor Studios, Zombie Driver is living (?) proof that games don't have to cost a fortune to be fun. This is definitely a game for all those people that had more fun in the original Grand Theft Auto running over pedestrians and driving like a maniac than actually getting out of the car and doing missions. Viewed from an overhead perspective much like the aforementioned GTA, you'll be speeding through the zombie infested city trying to get to other survivors in time while mowing down hordes of the undead and trying not to succumb to their overwhelming numbers. You will have a range of cars at your disposal and everything from a taxi to a bus can be used provided you have unlocked them of course. While splattering zombies with a ambulance or limo is fun I found the bus to be the most useful as pretty much all missions involve getting to a certain amount of survivors in time and the increased capacity of the bus just made it so much easier.

With only 17 missions Zombie Driver is not a very long game but each mission has a secondary objective that will earn you extra goodies and besides for the low price you get plenty of value for money. Be sure to check out the Zombie Driver website regularly as they promised lots of mods and expansions for the game. Visually the game looks very good in a retro kind of way. It almost looks like a high resolution version of the original Grand Theft Auto crossed with Carmageddon. The scenery is highly destructible and plowing into a crowd of zombies causes a lot of bloodshed. Everything is very detailed with lots of cool small touches that brings the gameworld to life. There are all kinds of different zombies so you will have to learn how to best deal with each type and stay on your toes during missions. Your vehicle of choice can also be upgraded to cause even more undead damage and weapons like the flamethrower and rail-gun will come in very handy. Sound quality is good with some nice eerie audio tracks and Exor Studios have generously made the soundtrack available as a free download so be sure to check it out.

Zombie Driver is a nice mindless arcade game with a very reasonable price point so there's not much I can find fault with. The camera is a bit confusing a times especially when you do a lot of turns causing it to spin all over the place but that's about it as far as complaints go. *Note even this was fixed in the latest patch update that added gamepad support as well. All in all I had a blast with this title and I'm looking forward to see what Exor Studios comes up with for their next project.

70

Brainless Enemies, Mindless Joy

Balon | April 6, 2011 | See all Balon's reviews »

Zombie Driver is a great game, when you don't have much time and you want to play something. Car upgrades allows you to suit vehicle to your game style, e.g. if you have fast car with very strong armour, you can cross through a crowd of zombies or fire weapons from distance. Game time is extented by Slaughter Game Mode and 50 nice achievments.

So, I'll recommend this game, if the price was lower. 9 euros is too high value for this title. If it ever will costs 5 euros, buy it.

65

Oddly unsatisfying

PharaohsVizier | April 6, 2011 | See all PharaohsVizier's reviews »

I bought this game thinking I'd get some grim satisfaction from slamming into Zombies. I didn't expect any depth to the game, I just wanted to hear some bloody screams. And somehow I was disappointed.

This game just didn't feel good. There was no feedback when you mowed into zombies. No screams, no shaking, no blood, it just felt like your car slowed down and that was it. I just can't recommend this game at all.

78

Get's a bit repetive

cra121 | April 5, 2011 | See all cra121's reviews »

Zombie Driver is a game where you play missions where you mostly rescue survivors and running over zombies. After each mission you get to buy upgrades for your cars. You unlock new cars through the story missions. The game gets a bit repetive and would have been better if it had multiplayer.

60

Very Good Graphics

GMGReviewer | April 5, 2011 | See all GMGReviewer's reviews »

The game is developed by EXOR Studios, the same devs that made the popular Half-Life 2 multiplayer vehicle combat mod, D.I.P.R.I.P. Warm Up.

Zombie Driver is a single player indie game, the graphics and physics are really good, the sound is excellent, the handling is prefect and the interface is nice as well (doesn't look amateurish like most indie games).

The problem is that the gameplay gets tedious. The city feels dead and the fun factor is just missing. It's a fun game for a little while, but the missions are what you expect: pick up passenger drive to a location, kill a certain amount of zombies etc. It's just not exciting as a single player game. The game has a lot potential though and it is one of the better indie games.