Reviews for Alan Wake's American Nightmare

70

Alan Wake's Groundhog Day

skymt | Aug. 13, 2014 | See all skymt's reviews »

Alan Wake's American Nightmare is a smaller-scale follow-up to Alan Wake, moving the action from a Pacific Northwest forest to the Arizona desert. The level structure is radically different this time around. Instead of Alan Wake's traditional linear design, American Nightmare consists of 3 large and relatively open areas, each of which is visited 3 times over the course of the game. Each visit has Alan tread a lot of the same ground. This repetition is the biggest fault of the game; unlike the original, I was growing tired of American Nightmare by the time it ended.

Combat has had some subtle refinements, including a few new guns and a flashlight that charges quicker but doesn't last as long. The addition of new enemy types is quite welcome and adds some variety to the fights. Subtle changes to the combat design add up to a snappier feel and faster pace. I would have liked to see these changes brought back to the original game in an optional mode.

As in Alan Wake's DLC episodes, little happens here to advance the plot. On the plus side, American Nightmare offers an amusing framing (the game is an episode of the fictional Twilight Zone-style show Night Springs) and a colorful, memorable villain (Mr. Scratch, Alan Wake's demented doppelganger).

In addition to the story mode, American Nightmare has a wave-based arcade mode. With the improvements to the combat, some players might enjoy it. I didn't find it engaging without the story there to push me forward.

A proper sequel to Alan Wake has been promised, and we'll have to wait for that for the story to pay off. Until then, if you want more Alan Wake, this will do.

80

Mister Scratch is back.

Obsessor | Aug. 1, 2014 | See all Obsessor's reviews »

I enjoyed playing another Alan Wake title, even if it's not a survival horror anymore. More like a third person shooter, but retaining all the mechanics from the original. Which is good.

Again you face the Taken, but this time your antagonist is noone else but Mr. Scratch, Alan's "evil twin". I really enjoyed watching him on television, discovering what new madness he would conjure. Even though American Nightmare is not a survival horror, it has very interesting main character(s).

As it is more of an action game you get more guns, and ammo never runs out. You can unlock additional weapons by gathering pages(thing we did in first Alan Wake). There is also Arcade mode which will make you stick to the game longer, trying to get higher scores in survival type missions.

Bear in mind - it's not a stricte survival horror, but another Alan Wake game with good characters, interesting plot and witty monologues of Mr. Scratch. Everything feels a bit like Twin Peaks.

Try it!

100

Stay into the light.

hateah | July 28, 2014 | See all hateah's reviews »

I can call the game more horror than action... It scares me every time i play it.. Shadows are chasing you behind every corner, you have to run into light or kill them with your flashlight, otherwise they'll kill you. You start by being chased by few shadow killers, and you have to reach a gas station where the light will save you from them. It's very cool indeed, but i found it pretty scary. The graphics are filled with reality, the movement is very good, the aiming and shooting too as well. The mainstory is well written and i can't complain about it. If you are searching a horror/ action game that's the game for you. It will drain every drop of safety if you decide to play it.

50

Repetitive and somewhat of a let-down.

PrimalHunter779 | July 26, 2014 | See all PrimalHunter779's reviews »

I am an absolutely massive fan of Alan Wake; it's one of my favourite games of all time, I've finished it countless times on the Xbox 360, and I have a blast every time I play it. With that said, I found this standalone sequel to be rather disappointing in comparison to the brilliant first game; bear in mind that I do not think this is a bad game, it just falls rather falt and disappoints after the first game. Alan Wake's American Nightmare is intended to play out as an episode of the fictional TV show called Night Springs, and is narrated by Lloyd Floyd, who provides an interesting narration to the story.The game has Alan Wake trapped in a sparse desert area, and who must find a way to escape the recurring nightmare he is stuck in. And that leads to my first problem with the game; because Alan is stuck in a nightmare which repeats itself, you are forced to endure the same hour of gameplay THREE TIMES in a row until you finish this game. The exact same missions and locations, repeated three times. The first time is fun, the second time is kinda uninteresting, and the third time is downright boring and repetitive. This is a lazy way to repeat locations in a game, and it also reflects the poor writing skill of the writers. The story is rather weird and disjointed. Throughout the entire game, you do a lot of things for unexplained reasons which aren't apparrently clear when you do them or even at the end of the game. The whole story is weird and quirky, but not in a good way, as it barely makes sense. The characters, apart from Alan and the absolutely BRILLIANT Mr Scratch, are boring and are just as quirky as the story itself. However, I found the live action cut scenes rather good, which was a surprise for me. The gameplay is exactly the same as the first game, except that you can use new weapons like sub machine guns and nail guns. That's it. Zero changes made to the gameplay. There's also a survival mode, which is actually quite fun. It's intense, challenging, and a fun way to compete on the leaderboards with your friends. I found this mode better than the campaign to be honest. Overall, this is certainly not a bad game; it merely fails to innovate, and doesn't capture me the way the first game did. I still love Alan Wake, but this game disappointed me quite a bit. If you don't mind an extremely repetitive story, even with the game's shining parts, then pick t up for $3 on sale. 5 / 10.

70

Alan Wake's American Nightmare Review

Darkpeing | April 14, 2014 | See all Darkpeing's reviews »

The Good: -Finalizes Alan Wake's story. -Improvement over previous game's combat and mechanics. -Good replayability thanks to Arcade Mode.

The Bad: -Gets really repetitive. -Lots of level recycling.

89

Action sidestep from the Original

AkiMatti | March 24, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

While the original Alan Wake series (the main game + dlc) was a fairly slow paced 3rd person horror adventure, this game takes a step to the side and offers you a more streamlined experience. The controls have been made a bit better and faster so that it is easier for you to dispatch loads of the shadow people.

American Nightmare is made in the spirit of B-list splatter movies or something similar, or at least gives away that impression.

There is also a possibility to play a sort of "From Dusk Till Dawn" game where you have exactly that long to survive in a chosen environment where more and more enemies will come for you while you run away and try to gather ammo and stuff to keep them away long enough. I actually liked this survival mode pretty much, the night doesn't last too long but just enough for there to be good tension.

Recommended for friends and newcomers of Alan Wake.

70

Action game?

cdp_star | March 17, 2014 | See all cdp_star's reviews »

Although Alan wake was only a writer who runs away from darkness, he became a strong soldier who handles several weapons in this part. Different from the first part of Alan wake series, in which we can enjoy the amazing story, the American Nightmare is pure action game. He does not get tired easily, and he can fight many enemies without fear. And if you want to play this to get the clear answer for the remaining questions, it might be not good choice. You should keep it mind that this game is perfectly other from the original game. If so, you will not be disappointed.

74

Still good

gforcesa | Dec. 29, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

Alan Wake was a blast to play through.American Nightmare is not as good as the main game but its ok.I don't like that it's so short and i could complete it in an hour or so.Still it was very fun to play and not a disappointment.The gameplay gets repetitive after a while because you are at the same location every time.It's an ok of a game but pick it up when it's half price off

87

More action oriented that the first, but still as good.

ADUAN | Oct. 19, 2013 | See all ADUAN's reviews »

The original Alan Wake was a Psychological Action Thriller, which had more of an emphasis on the Thriller part. This game, while still having some surreal and bizarre elements, is more action oriented, with new automatic weapons that make you feel like you are in an action movie.

The gameplay remains largely unchanged from the first, and the story is still engaging. The characters that Alan meets, as well as Alan himself, are all unique and memorable, and the storyline is also a neat concept. For those who enjoyed the original Alan Wake, they should get this one as well.

82

American (splatter) nightmare

MarcoCav | Oct. 2, 2013 | See all MarcoCav's reviews »

Alan Wake's American Nightmare confirms the good direction taken by Remedy. This chapter, which in many ways seems to be more a DLC rather than a full game, it shows character and care, as well as to provide the solid gameplay of its predecessor. The exploratory parts are reduced to a minimum and the structure could not convince everyone, but the story, the arcade mode and the fascinating Alan are appreciable. All this is topped by an atmosphere more "american-splatter".

67

Decent

rjb789 | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

Its the same kind of stuff you would expect from Alan Wake but with a slightly less developed story and more repetitive gameplay. If you enjoyed the gameplay of the previous one, pick this one up but if you preferred Alan Wake for the story, dont bother.

60

Good start, very disappointing middle and end

nightassassin1 | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all nightassassin1's reviews »

The game started off pretty great and I like some of the new features such as the unlockable suitcases of weapons and adding more than just 3 or so original weapons. The problem comes when you get a short way into the game and you return to the beginning of the game. This happens multiple times and was just annoying. Being required to do the same things over and over again is very boring and annoying in a video game. On top of this the size of the map is very small. It is limited to a small town equaling maybe 1/8th the size of the first game. What makes things even more disappointing is that the game play lasts about two hours if you play the main story and do not stray off course. The game could have been so much more and I had such high hopes for this game since the last was so great, but it was a major let down. Do not bother with this game unless you can get it for a very cheap price such as $5. It had potential to be an amazing game and the game is fun to play, but it is far from Alan Wake.

85

Not the sequel we wanted, but a great little spin-off.

crankafoo | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all crankafoo's reviews »

For a smaller title, this game looks fantastic and plays the exact same as its big brother. You'll control series protagonist, Alan Wake, as he battles through the darkness to find his way back to reality. This is, of course, a smaller portion than the man game before it, but is a great addition. You'll be dodging shadow men and taking them down left and right. It does get a little monotonous, but the story and characters keep you going forward to see what's going to happen. If you liked Alan Wake and wanted more after the DLC, get this. You won't regret it.

85

Pretty good spinoff

tomdoughnut | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all tomdoughnut's reviews »

I loved the first Alan Wake and I'm happy to say the game play is practically identical to the first game. The story is good but fairly short although they have added a whored mode which is very enjoyable. Overall the game is very good and It's an absolute bargain if you can get it in a sale of for a cheap price. Very enjoyable!

70

Its Okay for a dlc standalone

momoster69 | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all momoster69's reviews »

I only recommend this game if you have played the first game, so you understand the overall story and the jist of it. It wasn't as good but still it had me playing for hours.

68

Don't Expect Too Much...

Azralynn | July 6, 2013 | See all Azralynn's reviews »

After playing the original Alan Wake, I had high hopes for this stand alone DLC. To say the least, I was very disappointed. The feel and story that I loved in the original just wasn't there anymore. I actually found myself being bored with the "story" and it's repetition, and actually was glad when it was over.

I mean, it's not the worst game I've played, but it's certainly not anywhere near the best. Still, it's worth a play through if you have the time and are a fan of the franchise. Just don't go in expecting a whole lot, and you won't be as disappointed as I was.

86

Great story and graphics.

drafek | July 3, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

In this game you fight against the darkness, you'll have to survive. The graphics are amazing! I couldn't want more. The sound is done well, you sometimes get a shock because of the loud sound. The story is difficult to tell, but it's worth playing. This game is a standalone dlc in my opinion worth full price but the first game was more detailed and a more interested story but eventhough that this one is worth full price!

71

Spinoff that is not good

lok0812 | July 3, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

Compared to the original Alan Wake game, this spinoff is just not good at all. This game just move away from what Alan Wake try to do and turn it into an action game that failed miserably. The gameplay is very repetitive and generic. The game should last around 5-6 hours afterward you are pretty much done or you can give the arcade mode a try. It is not that bad of a game but it will be more enjoyable if it sticks to the roots of Alan Wake instead of moving to a new direction. Do give this a try if you enjoyed the story of Alan Wake and wished to know more.

85

Really good spin-off

TGAlan | June 29, 2013 | See all TGAlan's reviews »

Awesome spin-off of an awesome game. I hope Sam Lake and the guys at Remedy keep doing little stories like this one from time to time just to keep Alan Wake alive until they decide to make Alan Wake 2 (which I hope they do soon). It is less dark than the original installment but that's good, because it is another story to tell, with another mood. The idea of bringing Alan back, at least for a while, through the TV show Night Springs is awesome. If they made more like this with other stories that would be awesome.

55

A bad add-on to a good game.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | See all sergebelanger22's reviews »

Alan Wake's American Nightmare takes place after the original game. You are in Arizona and need to defeat Mr. Grinch, who is in fact your double. He uses your identity to be you in the real life. He has both your life, and your wife. You need to find a way to stop him.

If you have not played the original game, I recommend you to at least read the wiki to understand the story. It is very weird, and you will be more implied in the story if you already know the characters and why you are in this world.

The combat mechanism is exactly the same than in Alan Wake. I played the original game on the Xbox 360. I used my controller to play this game on PC, and the controls did not change a bit. You will be familiar in few seconds with them.

The atmosphere is quite the same than in Alan Wake. However, there is a lot more ammo. There are ammo caches everywhere and they regenerate by themselves. You will never need to run away for your life. The difficulty is also a problem. If you are used to these types of games, play it on hard. The medium difficulty gives no challenge. I think that I died only once throughout the game. It takes few hours to complete it, that said you will play the game 3 times! I will not tell more about this, but that is the main downside of this game. I would have like more to play a shorter game than a fake long one.

The graphics and sound is good. It has not change from the previous game though.

There is a challenge mode in which you have to survive the longer you can. That does not really interest me, so I will not speak of it here. I do not find it valuable.

Because that the game has been lengthen artificially, I cannot really recommend it. The survival feeling that you got in Alan Wake has been lost with the many ammo caches that can be found throughout the game. If you really want to know what happens after the original game, I would recommend you to read the wiki on it, that would save you precious time.

73

Not the sequel I was expecting

spycid | June 11, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

The original Alan Wake was a true psychological thriller game, however this game is more of an action third person shooter and deviated a lot from it's predecessor. Despite the game being a spin-off this game fails to reach the standards which was set sky high by Remedy Entertainment. Still if you are an Alan Wake fan like me then you would definitely want to try this.

90

Much better than the first

kalil | June 8, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Alan wake american nightmare is a very good game, is the beginning of what could become the second installment of alan wake. In this game you have many improvements over the 1: -Better graphics, on this issue is appreciated much faster game without a mega computer -Increased exploration of scenarios: not as linear as 1,, in this there is enough exploration NEWS: You can say that NO WEAPONS, not like the original was revolver.Aqui shotgun and can be found assault rifles, combat shotguns, submachine guns, new revolvers, the magnum, the nail gun and the carbine. We ask things to characters in the story (interacuar) (this could be a very good idea to put the second installment but is not as linear) -Variety possessed to face (that's very motivating) YOU CAN SAY THAT THERE A MONSTER BEST: ARCADE MODE: This mode is spectacular, there is nothing better than face to wake waves possessed, although not many places where you can play (just the inico of what could become an alan wake 2) -Alan's story is good movements are almost the same as above the sound is very very good

THE BAD: the game is short

CONCLUSION: For me it is much better than 1, but everything else shorter is better

84

Worth to try

LoudeRZz | June 2, 2013 | See all LoudeRZz's reviews »

I wanted this game for a long time and when i finally got him i wasn't dissapointed but i wasn't so excited.. It's a very nice game, there is some scary feeling in the game and the plot is nice .. i liked it ! For summary, the game is very nice and worth to try !

42

We want a sequel no this!

britishlad | May 12, 2013 | See all britishlad's reviews »

Alan Wake's American Nightmare - If you have not played the original game, I recommend you to at least read the wiki to understand the story. It is very weird, and you will be more implied in the story if you already know the characters and why you are in this world.

The combat game play is exactly the same than in Alan Wake - though it's more action packed and a lot more weapons to choose from (nailguns, assault rifles etc) Infact the biggest problem is that survival is too easy because the game gives you too much ammo and resources. So basically survival element of the original game has been removed sadly as it was one of the best features!

The graphics and sound is okay though the voice acting and facial animations are little bit of step down from the main game

There is a challenge mode in which you have to survive each round by fighting of various enemies etc It's quite fun for an five minutes

The Biggest problem with this game is that there are only three chapters and once you have reached the end you have go through the three chapters again which only some slight changes and then you do it again! This makes the game extremely tedious and boring and because that the game has been lengthen artificially, I cannot really recommend it. Try the original and avoid this standalone expansion pack

65

Repetitive

Stebsis | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

Alan Wake American Nightmare is a sequel to the great Alan Wake game, but unfortunately doesn't live up to its name. Only for the hardcore AW fans who want to get everything out of the game, but even still this comes as a disappointment.

You wake up in some odd town surrounded by darkness, and you try to figure out what's going on. Alan's writings start to take life and a character named Mr Scratch is the main villain. You basically play the game three times, you go to 3 different locations, and after the last one and you reset back to the beginning and do everything again just slightly differently. The first time was pretty ok, it had that Alan Wake style, maybe a bit more arcade-y, but it still worked. Second time it just gets boring and third time you're starting to wonder why the F are you still doing this. You meet with 3 girls, one in each location and they're as boring as shallow as it gets. It just becomes a boring chore to do all the stuff 3 times, and definitely not worth it. If you really want to play this, wait for a sale.

85

A fun episode, but not a true sequel

Guardian412 | Jan. 26, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

American Nightmare is spin off of the original Alan Wake, a Night Springs episode, which is less creepy than the original game and focuses more on action. If you can consider it as a spin off episode, if you like a Dusk 'til Dawn type of atmosphere, if you loved the orignal game, you'll appreciate and enjoy American Nightmare regardless of its flaws, as it has its moments and memorable characters, such as Mr. Scratch, and it is also a good and fun episode prior the true sequel. But if you'd like to see a true sequel, its better if you'll wait for Alan Wake 2. This game is recommended for Alan Wake fans, but if you're new to the series, start with the original game.

80

Please, don't review it as a sequel!!

abelfs | Jan. 14, 2013 | See all abelfs's reviews »

Hmmm not bad for a spin-off, but the problem is that it is much less immersive than the first Alan Wake (one of the keys of its success, but it's still really interesting to play. However, gameplay became more dynamic, and the storyline is good, Mr. Scratch is a perfectly-written character. In addition, it was really interesting to find out what happened with other characters of the franchise. Once again, it's a spin-off, not a sequel, and that's why a player can't expect something extraordinary from this game.

67

Lesser sequel

igzaustion | Jan. 8, 2013 | See all igzaustion's reviews »

Not much to say about this game except it does not live up to its predecessor. You buy this if you, like me, absolutely loved the first game and need your Alan Wake fix. You avoid it if you don't want to lessen your impression of the franchise and the Alan Wake character.

65

Disappointed

Lekes | Jan. 5, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

A serviceable, but somewhat disappointing, journey into the world of Alan Wake. American Nightmare is more of a fan service than a step forward in the tale of writer Alan Wake. If you haven't played the first game, the story will be somewhat incoherent in this. If you are playing this for simply a game-play standpoint, then you are much better off playing another 3rd person shooter. That's not to say that the game-play is bad in this game, it is actually much improved and more fluid over the original Alan Wake, however it is neither the strong suit nor main attraction of Alan Wake. Story, the main pull of the original game, is not quite up to par in this iteration. It is more of a cannon story versus a sequel. While it is nice to see into the character of Mr. Scratch (the main antagonist), the remaining characters are pretty lackluster and bland compared to the original A. Wake. The other big disappointment with this game is the re-use of levels. There are only 3 levels in this game and you retread them 3 times. All of these levels take place in the desert climate of Arizona, so there's not much diversity in the scenery. I didn't find the atmosphere to be anywhere near as creepy as the original game either. Despite these complaints, it is still more Alan Wake and players of the original will appreciate the details that are squeezed out of the story and provide some extra insight.

75

Some good things, some not so good...

Stezizi | Jan. 2, 2013 | See all Stezizi's reviews »

Alan Wake's American Nightmare is a good title, and for fans of the brand a product surely not to be missed. But the weight of a narrative structure that is repeated almost equal to itself it's big, not least in the condensed period of 4 hours, too short to not get out of breath at the end of the adventure. The greater emphasis being given to the shootings is not a defect, and indeed makes me enjoy a slightly different kind of Alan Wake, a little more hectic, but always punctuated by the incessant use of the torch. The production quality is always at the highest levels but Remedy should know that we are not yet satisfied. Recommended to the fans of the first Alan Wake.

78

Nice spin-off

Chack | Sept. 12, 2012 | See all Chack's reviews »

American Nightmare is not a direct sequel to Alan Wake. This game doesn't have a solid story or atmosphere, like the previous game, it focuses more on the combat, which has been improved with more guns and enemies.

This game has an Arcade style, which is why is cheaper and doesn't have a great story, but is still fun as a standalone. I think $15 is enough for this game, buy it if you like Alan Wake's gameplay.

90

Twilight Zone, anyone?

Cooberstooge | Sept. 10, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

In many ways, American Nightmare is way spookier than the original. The whole recently abandoned desert town thing is downright creepy, and the addition of far more firepower totally suits the environment. The actual combat, which people say has been modified and improved, still feels the same to me - it's still got that desperate, one more shot and you're toast vibe to it.

The story is quite good, but it sends you back through the same three environments multiple times - while that was a little irritating, that doesn't serve to lessen the story's impact in any way. The characters are interesting, and the twisted Mr. Scratch has a way bigger presence this time around. The cutscenes are often live-action, which I thought really added to the game. The "Survive 'Til Dawn" mode is pretty cool, and will keep you coming back multiple times for a better score.

Graphics, sound, and controls are mostly all good, with the visuals having been improved and optimized for this title. Controls are re-mappable, and the game works very well with my trackball. Some of the voice work from the supporting characters does sometimes come across as a little flat, though, but otherwise is good.

Definitely recommend this one, and it's at quite a decent price, too.

73

Second alan

maciej2601 | Aug. 22, 2012 | See all maciej2601's reviews »

Alan Wake: Night Springs is the second created by Finnish studio Remedy Entertainment action game set in a dark, dreamlike universe. Following the actions of the hero as seen from a third person perspective (TPP), players have the opportunity to further unravel the mysteries of this world. Alias: Alan Wake: Night Springs. Worth.

78

The Night Falls and Wake must Survive till Dawn

horebesoklibur | Aug. 18, 2012 | See all horebesoklibur's reviews »

This spin-off put Wake in the desert of Arizona where he found himself trapped in a time loop a-la Groundhog Day and in a game of cat & mouse with his "evil twin" called Mr. Scratch all the while starring in an episode of Night Falls (Wake's universe of Twilight Zone)

This game changed quite a lot from the original Alan Wake. Most notably from the setting which changes from the dark forest and hills of Bright Falls to desert of Arizona. This game span into three settings and a time loop events where things changes little by little each time. The atmosphere and style of presentation also change from the Twin Peaks' or Stephen King's darker atmosphere into something more similar to Grindhouse which can be seen from the get-go on the title screen and main menu then span throughout the game.

Another welcome change is the action part itself where this time take quite a turn into something more past-faced and brutal. The inclusion of full-auto weapon such as submachine gun or nail gun sure makes the combat somewhat easier but the new types of enemies manage to put some more challenge. For me, this change of pace was quite nice but maybe fans of survival horrors will cringe with the fact that there's a plenty of ammo lying around.

The story itself wasn't as disturbing as the original Alan Wake, in fact was quite a letdown due to the previously mentioned groundhog day style of storytelling and uninteresting cast of characters beside the amusingly wacky Mr. Scratch. The exclusion of the interesting tv series-style was a letdown too.

Other than that, this game was improved on both of graphic and sound department. The graphics was more crisp and nice to look at while still didn't eat quite as much resource compared to Alan Wake. Sound department also get their enhanced now the sound of the gun feels more meaty and makes you believe that the gun did delivers its intention to hurt Wake's enemies.

However, for a price of $15, you'd still get quite a package. The main story takes some times to finish, especially for dlc/spin-off. The addition of Arcade Mode, which dubbed Survive Till Dawn, is where the game faster combat really shines. The enemies were more brutal and more varied map really complements the overhauled gameplay.

In the end, this game was a nice change of pace, so if you're open to that and love the original, you'll also love this game.

77

Good, but could have been better

ENDOOO | July 26, 2012 | See all ENDOOO's reviews »

If you have played the original game, then you will notice that this game is more focused on the action and not so much on the story telling. Although this game has a story line, it is much more simple and not so exciting. The whole game takes place in only few territories which are looping numerous times while playing the game. Also, there is no daylight in the game and everything happens only in night. If you would rather spend more time on shooting than on figuring out the mysterious like in the original game, this game will suit you well. You get in combat scenes more often.

When you finish the game you can still play the arcade mode which gives the opportunity to show your surviving skills by staying alive till the morning. This game is great for people that didn't get enough of combat from the first game.

82

A good continuation of Alan Wake

Kradath | July 4, 2012 | See all Kradath's reviews »

This rather short and small game is a good continuation of the base game. While it improves on some flaws of the base game it is inferior in other aspects.

The gameplay is vastly improved, more various kinds of weapons, more enemies and tactics. The gameplay itself is much better than in the base game.

The aspect where this title is inferior though is the storytelling. It's still good but not as nearly as good as in the base game. The presentation of the story is again well done, maybe even a bit better. But the story itself lacks the punch of the first title and feels a bit too uninteresting, not much new comes to the "lore" of Alan Wake, it feels more like a stop on the way to the next big story.

Still it's worth the small price for those who liked or loved Alan Wake.

Recommended.

84

Different

Splodey | June 9, 2012 | See all Splodey's reviews »

Alan Wake's American Nightmare isn't a sequel to the original, but it isn't less disappointing. Rather than continuing the story of Alan Wake, in American Nightmare, this time you are trapped in the TV show called Night Springs. Alan Wake's American Nightmare focuses more on action, there are more weapons this time around, and the new Arcade Mode has been added in which you have to survive until dawn. As I stated previously American Nightmare isn't a sequel to Alan Wake, but it does have a story mode. The story mode might be a bit easy, due to more weapons than in the original, and ammunition not being scarce. Don't get me wrong, the story is a blast, but sometimes it feels a bit too easy. Alan Wake's American Nightmare ditches the creepy woods of Bright Falls, and is replaced with a Arizona looking location. The location is good looking, but it lacks the atmosphere that made the first game really shine. This also makes the game less creepy, because enemies don't have trees to ambush you, and sometimes you can even tell where the enemies will come from.

Overall Alan Wake's American Nightmare is a good spin off to the original, but it has a bigger focus on action this time around, if you enjoyed the original Alan Wake, you will enjoy this standalone too.

78

A Change of Pace, and it Delivers

POOTDISPENSER | June 8, 2012 | See all POOTDISPENSER's reviews »

If you have been playing the original Alan Wake and and hankering after more action, this is the standalone game to get.

The game switches pace from the horror style of the main game and pits you in Tarantino-styled levels with arcadey action gameplay. You are Alan Wake, and you are after your double Mr Scratch (who isn't a really nice person).

Paying $14.99, I felt a little cheated at first, since the missions are based around three settings and they are looped over and over in different ways and slightly different dialogues from characters.

However, the real meat lies in it's Arcade mode, where it's "survive till dawn" in various levels and gunning for high scores.

This game is a blast, if you can't get enough of the original and want a change of pace.