Reviews for Kane & Lynch: Dead Men

74

A good game that could have been even better

Matlair | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all Matlair's reviews »

Before I bought this game, I've seen a lot of negative comments on its behalf. But I must say that It surprised me. The game isn't perfect, but offers decent gameplay, good and engaging story and to my biggest surprise - very well done voice acting. This game isn't bad in any way, but it's sad to see how much potential it had that went to waste.

85

A good shooter

mcofdiablo | Oct. 7, 2013 | See all mcofdiablo's reviews »

Kane and Lynch is a wonderful game that has its own minor flaws.

The best thing about the game is protagonists - they are so different, and yet they are stuck together, thus it is so interesting to follow their adventures. Speaking about adventures, the story is very well written, and there are lots of interesting and memorable scenes (especially, bank heist). The story of this game is way better than that of the sequel!!

The game has some minor flaws. Sometimes it gets repetitive, and graphics don't look that good nowadays. But it is not that important, at least for me.

All in all, I recommend it to all people who like shooters with two badass guys as the main characters.

70

Runs out of gas way too early

jrod7405 | Sept. 22, 2013 | See all jrod7405's reviews »

I just finished this game and here's my fresh review. The game was fun in the beginning. Mid way through I begin to lose interest in both the game and the story. Also, the "cover" mechanics honestly don't work. It adds an extra 2-6 hrs of game time to overcome it depending on your skill level. The best scenes were the bank heist, getting the briefcase, and breaking the guys out of jail. The battlefield parts were harder, but more so because the game mechanics just don't work well. Finally, at the end I was hoping for a huge blow em out ending with either a mediocre cutscene or a farewell scene. You'll get neither. Just don't get on the helicopter or the ending is just terrible. The 16th level is a bad ending, but not as bad as the helicopter one. I not only did not connect with the characters, they sort of got on my nerves and the dialogue was not drawing me in. In all, the game is fun for awhile until it just gets confusing and what was in the briefcase anyway? So-so game for me. underwhelming.

80

Unfairly dismissed by gamers

nemesis44uk | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all nemesis44uk's reviews »

Do you remember the good old days, when you could buy Commodore 64 games on cassette in the petrol station? So many impulse buys and because of their price, it didn't really matter if what you bought wasn't that great.

Kane & Lynch Dead Men is like that, as long as you don't pay full price (£29.99) for it, that is.

Before Payday: The Heist, there was only K&L to play if you fancied indulging your darker side. You aren't an heroic cop or a super-soldier or mankind's last hope. You were an ethically challenged psychopath with a penchant for big guns and bad clothes.

It feels refreshing to play the other side of the fence and much like the movie "Reservoir Dogs," it is a lot of fun to be cornered by the cops and have to shoot your way out. The shooting is fun and with moderate amounts of destructible scenery, it doesn't get old.

The dialogue is as salty as you'd expect, but there is a charming interplay between the two main characters that elevates the level for voice acting.

Sure, the textures and occasionally the hit-detection are a bit iffy at times, but K&L is well worth buying, if only for the change in perspective.

73

Fresh Shooter

andrewchaudoin | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all andrewchaudoin's reviews »

Kane and Lynch Dead Men is what I call a diamond in the rough. Granted the shooting mechanics is not the greatest, but it is passable. What draws me to the game is the story and the characters. Kane is the selfish mercenary while Lynch is the psycho. I have replayed this game many times and somehow just like it. Get it when it is on sale.

70

This could've really been something memorable

KayFall | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all KayFall's reviews »

I really wanted to like this game. This is actually the spiritual successor of Freedom Fighters which in my humble opinion is one of the best games ever. So while I was expecting a direct sequel to that, I didn't mind a spiritual successor and really got my hopes up with this game, especially since it looked like they were going to put a lot of emphasis on story and characters (something that Freedom Fighters lacked).

And the beginning was really promising. The game features 2 great protagonists with serious issues that are forced to work together. They're really not likable characters at all nor do they try to be. And I really appreciated that. There's also a lot of F words, blood, guns, bad guys, shootings, and did I mention the F words? It's like a Quentin Tarantino game and that can only be a good thing, right?

Well for a while it is. You rob banks, break in and out of prisons, kill bad guys, good guys, find out Lynch is a psycho, get a little back story and say some more F words . It's really building up for something great.

But then, out of the blue you leave the city and go into the jungle to fight a small war. Pretty much all of the story is forgotten, Lynch's problems go out of focus and you're just fighting in a war. And while you're waiting to finish these jungle missions and return back to the city and the banks and the prisons and the shootouts in the middle of the city, you know what happens? Well the game ends.

One of the biggest disappointments in my gaming history. I finished the game in a little over 4 hours. Granted, the shooting is fun, the squad based mechanics worked nicely, the city missions were diverse and entertaining but it all went down hill from there, while I was expecting that to be only the bedrock of the game.

Apart from that, the graphics are still nice to this day, the voice acting is pretty solid, the story starts great then slowly dissolves into nothingness, the audio great and the music is still composed by Jesper Kyd but it's a lot more subtle than in other games.

The multiplayer could be great as there are some interesting modes available but unfortunately nobody seems to be playing it.

65

Mediocre shooter with story

lok0812 | Aug. 9, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This is one of those generic shooter shooting games that just have you shoot things as your ultimate goal. In Dead Man, you will be able to find this aspect easily but it also have a story which is very forcibly. It might keep you playing till the end but it can also make you abandon it since the gameplay of the game is very slow. The sound is pretty great with voice acting, but the enemy AI is pretty bad as they are just standing there waiting to be killed. Multiplayer host some interesting modes but the game only have 4 maps making the repetitiveness kick in really quick.

85

A Co-op Blast

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all lucaswrite's reviews »

I played this when it first came out, and honestly the bottom-line is this game was and is underappreciated. With a friend, this game is awesome! You control Kane or Lynch as you go through multiple scenarios such as escaping the cops, infiltrating night clubs, and my personal favorite: robbing a bank. One of the reasons this game comes off so likable is the fact that it's a down to earth, gritty, realistic possibility. Two criminals, with common weapons go crazy and wreak havoc. That coupled with the constantly changing environment makes this game enjoyable. One moment you're shooting out the back of the van, the next you're breaking into a highrise, then you're in shanghai trying to complete a drug deal.

Single payer is alright and is still a playable game, but the addition of a partner to your playthrough instantly adds at least 20 points to the rating.

Get this game if you have a friend to play it with, get this game if you want a 3rd person shooter to run through.

80

Dead Men are not long dead

Hunork | July 29, 2013 | See all Hunork's reviews »

In a year that has seen more than its fair share of outstanding titles in the action/shooter genre, Kane & Lynch manages to set itself apart with an outstanding compilation of levels that are a joy to play through. Therefore, it is all the more disheartening that at the same time, it manages to fumble some of the fundamentals, chief among them the broken hit detection. Eidos could have had a game worthy of the hype and its British Academy Video Games Award nomination

87

Gritty dark fps

spycid | July 28, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

Kane & Lynch is unlike any other third person shooter you have ever played. Gameplay is quite unique, storyline is dark as well as good at the time. The only con of the game is that it's short, still for it's price, it's worth it.

84

Great action game

darkyhbk | July 18, 2013 | See all darkyhbk's reviews »

Kane and Lynch Dead Men pays homage to both heist movies, guerilla warfare and basically everything which has stuff blowing up. You'll shoot your way through tough situations in diverse surroundings, ranging from urban streets and nightclubs to the jungle. You'll have plenty of weapons to choose from, and the game has a solid shooting and cover system that works well most times. The graphics are really good and detailed, with a lot of eye candy, and the sound is great as well. The music always fits what happens on the screen and the voice acting, especially for Kane and Lynch, is fantastic. The storyline is very mature and captures your interest right from the start. It is about indentity and vengeance, and has two memorable characters whom you'll really get to know and care about as you play. This is a very solid action game with a story that will have you hooked up until the end.

89

An amazing homage to mid 90's - early 00's crime films.

Area9268 | July 2, 2013 | See all Area9268's reviews »

Kane and Lynch is a well crafted homage to famous crime films such as Heat, Collateral and other films. The game offers a strong serious story driven campaign that can be played co-op. The PVP multiplayer I've never played but I'm sure is nothing special. For $10 this game is a steal. Even in 2013 the lighting and textures still look great.

75

Two Mad Men in Co-op

thegaminglyfe | June 18, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Kane and Lynch's story is pretty much 2 psychologically disturbed men working together to complete each of their problems. There isn't much of a story to keep you engaged while playing the game. There are parts that get interesting because of some great character development but not much else in the story. The graphics and sound are mediocre, not bad, but not that good either. The gameplay is fun with a big emphasis on cover. If you don't use cover and run around you're probably going to die very fast. The controls are frustrating at some points in the game but don't get in the way most of the time. The best part of the game is easily the co-op. The co-op is very fun and the team needs to work together to survive. If you don't work together death is very inevitable. If you have a partner to play with, this game is highly recommended. If not then think twice before buying it.

80

Good game

Lippe1989 | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all Lippe1989's reviews »

I think that the people have the same opinion about this game. The game is not bad, but it is not very good. Only good. The graphics are okay regarding this generation and the gameplay. The gameplay sometimes is the main problem. The aim bothered me a lot. It is not, realy not accurated. Unfortunately it will bother you sometimes, mainly when you need to have more precision. But it is not something very very bad that makes the game unplayable. The game sometimes seems like a movie and it is interesting. Very well done. The characters are the best part of the game. I think that is the most important of the game and the thing that people in general like. They are different, they are crazy. And Lynch is very very very crazy. It is a good bought. The price droped a lot and the price is fair for what it gives you. I recommend.

70

Interest game with some little problems on gameplay

antonioli84 | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all antonioli84's reviews »

This is a good game, not spetacular. The characters are really interesting. One strange and cold man and other psychotic man ready to do a lot of crazy things. Sometimes the game seems to be a movie. Very interesting. The dialogs, mainly with Lynch are very funny. Even if you are walking they start talking a lot of crazy things. The story it's cool to but the problem is the gameplay. A little because of the movements but mainly because of the aim. Sometimes are more difficult to fire depending on the accuracy needed but it's not somthing to care a lot. It's a good game and deserves to be bought and played!

75

A great game once you get past the bugs

StewartX | Oct. 4, 2012 | See all StewartX's reviews »

Kane and Lynch is a great game once you get past the bugs. I noticed that if you play this and the dreaded crash popup appears, ignore it, don't click it, just alt tab back into the game and you can continue on. Clicking it will completely exit the game. Sadly this has never been patched and the game support has been completely abandoned. Still, if you can get past this it is a wonderful game with a rich and brutal story with an end game choice that will tear at you one way or another. Also Lynch is CRAZY! :)

Gameplay: 7/10 Story: 7/10 Graphics: 5/10 Mulitplayer: Yes however no servers Overall: 75/100

80

Good in coop

Zinzun | Sept. 11, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

This game is really fun if you can play it with another human partner. The story is good, but if you play it on solo, is simply boring. Good multiplayer system too, but there aren't other players to play with at the moment.

60

average third person shooter

karnage10 | Sept. 8, 2012 | See all karnage10's reviews »

this game is an average third person shooter. it has interesting characters and a good storyline but with it's short size it's hard to recommend. The graphics in this game are quite good and they have many effect and little details that make this game look very good. Where this game shines is having the entire singleplayer game available for CO-OP,so if you have a friend that also enjoys a TPS this is a very good experience. The multiplayer has the normal type of matches and doesnt add anything new .

In short, if you and a friend are looking for a nice co-op game feel free to explore kane and lynch, if not pass this game or you will probably be disapointed.

75

Awesome characters, average gameplay

Cooberstooge | Sept. 6, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

If you're hunting for a game you can simply just get into and go, then Kane & Lynch: Dead Men was made for you. The accessibility and ease by which you can get into it, and how wacky and likable the characters are, help to hide what is, at its heart, a bare-bones shooter.

Shoot, shoot, and shoot some more is the Kane & Lynch motto, and there's not a moment that goes by where lead isn't flying in some direction. The guns all look and sound great, and there's plenty of motivation to empty those clips as fast as you get them. Underneath it all, though, I found myself somewhat bored with the gameplay roughly half way through - there's no innovation here, and some parts of the game do feel a little disjointed.

All in all, Kane & Lynch: Dead Men is an enjoyable shooter, but it doesn't offer anything new to the scene and, as such, gets a little old after a time.

66

Cool characters but poor gameplay

panz3r88 | Aug. 3, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Kane and Lynch is a classical third person shooter. The game is linear and ini each level you must go from point A and B and kill all the enemies. The game is quite repetitive. The best element of the game is the charisma of the two crazy protagonist, Kane and Lynch. The story of the game is good but quite short. The multiplayer mode is quite original: when you start the multiplayer map you and the other player are thief that must work togheter to steal every possible valuable object, but during the robbery each player can betray the other and steal their moneys. When a player dies he must help the police to get the thieves. Kane and Lynch is a game with a good story but with a quite boring gameplay

88

Kane and Lynch..

NoLove3827 | June 16, 2012 | See all NoLove3827's reviews »

Kane and Lynch: Dead Men follows the story of Kane, who is broken out of a prison bus on the way to deathrow. From there Kane fights side by side with Lynch, a psychotic maniac. The story is fairly interesting. The gameplay is great, the graphics are great. And the game is fairly long so the story is paced good, there are plenty of twists and turns in the games story. There are several multi-player modes as well, there is a "cops and robbers" type where you start as a robber, and you can choose if you want to stick with the pack, or try and run off with the cash they are stealing. If you get caught you come back as a police officer so you can get revenge on who killed you. All in all K&L: Dead Men is a great game.

69

Fun 2 play

simonsix | June 15, 2012 | See all simonsix's reviews »

You can run, crouch, throw some rubberballgrenades, aim and shoot. That's pretty much all. Kane&Lynch is so damn simple! It's nice to have a game like this, when you just want to relax and shoot some people

69

Fun, but repetitive

xgatto | June 15, 2012 | See all xgatto's reviews »

This game is just like the first. Shoot, shoot, shoot, and.. well, shoot. The game is fun, don't get me wrong, but if you play it alone, you'll probably get bored before the end. Although repetitive, the game its very well done. Everything about it works just as it should, it brings the typical gameplay of a TPS, aim, shoot and cover. To get the full potential from this game, you have to play it cooperative. In cooperative, one will play as Kane and the other as Lynch of course, the main story will follow the course of the singleplayer one, so if you didn't beat it singleplayer, its just the same if you beat it cooperative. Graphics wise now, the game is amazingly done. They did this new effect, that makes it feel like someone is carrying a camera, and recording Kane and Lynch. The glare, the lens effects, all makes it feel so realistic, it makes you feel like you're in the game.

All in all, good game, fun, repetitive (cant stress this enough, the game is very repetitive), but that can get somewhat fixed by multiplayer. Story is kinda short too, so chances are you'll spend most your time multiplayer, or cooperative with your friends.