Reviews for Hitman: Absolution - Professional Edition (NA) Overflow-

77

A More Cinematic Hitman Experience

templetonpeck | May 12, 2013 | See all templetonpeck's reviews »

If you've ever played any of the Hitman series, you know all about their ability to allow for freedom of choice and to let you really get creative with the way you performed your Hitman duties.

This latest game tends to stray away from that a bit and opts for a more on the rails experience in exchange for better graphics and story line.

The game is still a lot of fun and there are multiple ways to accomplish each mission (in fact going back through the same mission to complete challenges is a staple of the game). There is also a contract mode where you complete contracts made by other users and you can create your own, to extend game play even more.

If you are looking for an open world experience you won't find it here, but what you will find is a really fun new Hitman experience.

84

Not the usual Hitman game, but great nonetheless

ZinZano | April 25, 2013 | See all ZinZano's reviews »

I found that initially I was ticked off that the game didn't allow me to save how I wanted. After an hour of play I didn't care. The check points were evenly spaced to allow for trial an error with out much punishment.

The cover system was smooth, the combat system was ok. Allowed for great variation even with out using firearms. If a person cannot play this game on easy and dies continually it's not the games fault you're just bad at this game. I died maybe 7 times through out the whole game. It was easy. Blood money was the only well made hitman game. The others were clunky. I loved them but they were horribly clunky. I felt this change in direction could have been how i wanted hitman to be all along. I wanted that greater interaction. I wanted smoother transitions between hunting, hiding and execution of the target. I hated waiting 15 minutes around corridors for soldiers to move out of the way in uninteresting environments. (Hitman 2) This is not the same as Blood money. It has changed game play style and sometimes that can cause reactions and have a backlash from people who cannot handle experimentation in a franchise. However there is nothing deeply wrong with this game. Visually its pleasing. The game play moves more fluidly and it feels like an execution. The story line doesn't add or detract from this game in my opinion. Its there. It was really all about doing the task and finding a way to do it through experimentation.

If you start on easy it's not hard at all. Compared to the other Hitmans where it was always hard even on easy. I am convinced that this was a good move for Hitman and that if you could bring the current game mechanics inline with more of the old games ability to plan hits, Hitman will continue to be a vibrant franchise. The hitmans story was average, the gameplay was involved allowing players to perform tasks how they wished. Problem is hitman never really did have a storyline that was delivered exceptionally well. It was ok. It certainly was very interesting conceptually. I felt this game did make me more interested in the storylines compared to the previous onces with the exception of the original.

I would not have wanted this game in any other way. It was what I wanted in a Hitman game.

86

Best Hitman game

dohboy15 | April 23, 2013 | See all dohboy15's reviews »

Despite what others say, this is my favourite Hitman yet! It is easy to understand what is happening, but hard to master everything going on. I've beat the story twice and haven't stopped playing Contracts mode yet. Buy this game!

85

A great stealth game, and a decent Hitman game

solowingrazgriz | April 16, 2013 | See all solowingrazgriz's reviews »

I’m pretty new to Hitman. A long time ago, I saw a lengthy gameplay walkthrough for Absolution, which honestly made the game look pretty damn rad. So, partially out of interest in the series and partly out of interest in Absolution, I picked up Blood Money during Steam’s Summer Sale. It’s a great game, though flawed in minor ways. There’s something really satisfying about the open nature of Blood Money, where you’re spawned in a level and asked to seek out and kill one or more NPCs however you see fit and make it out alive. Hitman games challenge you to be more than a simple mercenary though, gunning your way to your query. They encourage subtlety, making your kills discreet or even look like complete accidents. As they describe the game’s highest score ranking, Silent Assassin, the best Hitman is one who leaves no effect on the world around him. Hitman: Absolution is not like Blood Money. And from what I’ve seen of previous Hitman games, it’s not like Hitman in general.

Just as in all previous games, in Absolution you play as Agent 47, a top tier hitman employed with The Agency, some sort of paramilitary organization that contracts hits on the scum of the world. 47’s been tasked with killing Diana Burnwood, who has betrayed the Agency by making off with one of the organization’s vital assets: a young girl. The problem is that Diana was 47’s former handler, and the closest thing to a friend he’s ever had. As someone who was also raised in a lab, the normally all-business hitman takes pity on the girl. Swayed by Diana’s attempt to save the girl from a similar upbringing, 47 goes rogue, taking her with him to safeguard her from the Agency. Seeking to find out precisely what it is that makes the girl so important, he soon finds himself in trouble with the law and chased by a sinister industry magnate who also wants her. What results is essentially an international manhunt, where everybody wants both the girl and 47’s head.

But let’s face it: the plot of Absolution isn’t really that good or interesting. It does a great job stringing together gameplay segments, but you’ll never find yourself expecting much more than that. Instead, Absolution’s narrative strength resides in its presentation. The game takes place in a serious world filled with dark themes, touching on corruption of the law, drugs, and the seedy underbelly of industries and corporations. This is not a cheerful setting in the slightest, and yet there is an element of mature humor that constantly permeates the game experience. You meet a corrupt sheriff who spends his free time on the receiving end of a whip from his dominatrix, for example. One of your targets—due to an unfortunate childhood experience—hates pigs, and has taken to doing his job testing landmines by releasing a herd of pigs to run across a fake setup and get blown to bits.

This humor is more evident than ever in the many NPC conversations you’ll overhear. The very first one you hear is from a guard talking on the phone, overjoyed to hear from his doctor that he does not in fact have prostate cancer. He happily claims that nothing can ruin this day before you pull him out of a window, sending him careening into the rocks below. While on the lam, you might overhear a cop making a vain attempt to question a mentally retarded hobo about your whereabouts. Midway through the game you’ll encounter a wrestler who fervently believes that his stuffed teddy bear is a lucky charm, and will whine and complain to his coach and managers if you steal it.

Absolution’s presentation extends to its visuals, which are phenomenal. There is an ever so slight filter applied to the graphics that gives the world a constant and subtly oppressive look. On PC, the game does lighting and depth of field like no other game I’ve ever seen. When you open a door from a deserted alley and find yourself facing a hugely crowded plaza, it feels just like it would to have all this new information suddenly flooding your eyes. There is a moment midway through the game where you find yourself emerging from a desert cave in broad daylight, and as you pass through the cave’s mouth, you’re temporarily blinded by all the light hitting your face. Textures are also detailed and the modeling work is very good. The only facet that is weak in comparison is the animation, which is good but not exceptional like the lighting. It is overall a very good looking game, however.

The core of Absolution—the gameplay—doesn’t shine as brightly as its exterior elements, however. To begin with, Absolution is structured differently from its predecessors. Whereas in past entries you had the entire level open to you, and your only goal was to accomplish your objective and take the designated exit before moving on to the next level, Absolution is generally more linear. Levels are fragmented, and there are plenty of gameplay segments where your objective is simply to get to the end of the level alive (and ideally without being seen). Furthermore, levels vary wildly in their construction. There are some levels that could have been plucked right out of Blood Money, so similar are they in structure to Absolution’s predecessors. Some gameplay segments task you with killing someone, but many do not. In many segments you’re simply passing by, or trying to accomplish something else, like disabling security measures or evading law officers. This gives the game a feeling of inconsistency; like they knew what direction they wanted to go in with the series but didn’t go all the way through it. It should be noted that I’m not really saying that the levels themselves are bad. In fact there are some that are downright brilliant, such as one that has you hunting three targets across an entire neighborhood, or another that has you stalking targets in tall corn fields under a clear starry night. It’s the overall structure of the game that comes off as feeling slapdash to me, not its components.

This issue is nonexistent in the game’s Contracts mode, however. Separate from the main campaign, in Contracts all of the game’s environments and scenarios are available to play through individually. The difference is that here you can play through them however you like. You kill whoever you want, using whatever tools and disguises you want. These parameters (who you killed, what you used to kill them, etc.) are then used to set up a custom mission, or contract that other players can then go through, attempting to one-up your score in the process. It’s basically a combination of a level editor and H-O-R-S-E. Not only is Contracts a brilliant twist on the concept of creating and sharing your own levels, by focusing on individual levels it escapes the inconsistency present in the story mode.

The game’s structure isn’t the only thing that’s changed. The core gameplay has been refined in some ways and revamped in others. For the most part, I like what they’ve done. Absolution controls better than any other Hitman, for one thing. The series has always had trouble wrapping its gameplay mechanics around a decent control map, but I think with Absolution they’ve managed to change that, and largely without relying on QTEs, which is admirable.

Furthermore, as a stealth game Absolution does a good job of keeping you informed about your situation. UI elements like an arrow indicating NPCs that are onto you are standard, but you also have a minimap that color codes each NPC by their level of suspicion, so you know at a glance how information about you might be spreading. You’re able to summon tooltips telling you things like the current capacity of storage containers (they’re able to hold two bodies now), the access level for areas you’re looking at (in case you’re about to cross an invisible line), and even what a disguise is, before putting it on. The new Instinct mode—not unlike Detective Vision in the recent Batman games—allows you to see enemies through walls, and will even trace the path an NPC is walking, allowing you to immediately predict their route. The Instinct mode also allows you to use Point Shooting, which is a feature lifted straight out of games like Splinter Cell Conviction and Red Dead Redemption, allowing you to mark and execute targets with increased precision. Finally, Instinct mode makes you immune to having your disguise detected; causing 47 to discreetly pull down his hat or hunch his shoulders, deflecting suspicion. This last bit is pushing suspension of belief, but alas, videogames.

Instinct mode sounds like and often is a crutch, but its use is limited. How limited depends on what difficulty you’re playing on, but in general you’ll find the ability to use Point Shooting and hide your disguise limited by a meter, which depletes during use and is regenerated mainly by accomplishing objectives. However, the higher you go in difficulty, the more restrictions you’ll find placed on not only Instinct mode, but the play experience in general. The highest difficulty—Purist—does away with both Instinct mode and the UI (only the crosshair is spared), in addition to boasting the most enemies and the fastest detection rates.

Hitman has always been about a different sort of stealth than most in the genre. Whereas series such as Metal Gear and Splinter Cell required you to hide in the shadows and duck behind walls and around corners to stay undetected, Hitman’s is more of a social brand of stealth; being invisible in plain sight. To this end, disguises have always been an integral part of gameplay. In past games it was pretty difficult to get far without a disguise of some sort.

The disguise system has been changed in Absolution. You can still knock out dudes and take their clothes, letting you pose as them, but rules governing how NPCs detect you are different. Now, only NPCs wearing the same clothes (and thus likely of the same profession) will be able to see through your disguise. All others will be none the wiser. As GameTrailers’ review succinctly puts it, it makes sense…except for when it doesn’t. For example, it makes sense that, while infiltrating a laboratory using a scientist disguise, only fellow scientists would be able to see through my disguise. It doesn’t make sense however, that a street vendor would be able to see through a street vendor disguise, does it? Especially not when his stall is on the opposite side of a crowded plaza from my stall. Furthermore, NPCs are able to see through your disguise from unbelievable distances. Essentially, establishing line of sight tends to be all you need to be in danger of having your cover blown, even if someone is standing on the other side of a street. I found that all of these changes discouraged me from using the disguise system at all. It doesn’t help that it’s not often you encounter an area where it’s particularly difficult to just sneak through the old fashioned way.

Ultimately, I found it difficult to play Hitman: Absolution entirely like a Hitman game. The moment I stopped trying to use disguises and just played Absolution like a straightforward stealth game was when I immediately found the game to be more enjoyable. And frankly, as a straightforward stealth game it’s pretty great. But the problem is that’s not how you should have to play a Hitman game.

87

Of all the Hitmans in the series, Absolution Hitmans the Hitmost

mugaro | March 24, 2013 | See all mugaro's reviews »

Very different from the previous Hitmans. Compared to Blood Money where the levels are huge sandboxes, the story is irrelevant and the accidents require Machiavellian plans to achieve, Absolution is a lot easier. Absolution can have small levels, a story that is cohesive and follows along (the reason it starts is kind of silly, but forgive that) and causing an accident is much simpler than complex Rube Goldberg device schemes in Blood Money.

An accident in Absolution can be as simple as pushing someone off a cliff. In Blood Money, an accident is a a 15 minute investment and the tiniest mistake can throw it of.

The game plays a lot like Deus Ex HR, the cover mechanic and stealthing are very similar in both games. The digsuise system is pretty silly, it's not realistic but it makes sense in a video game world. The controls are much more refined and playable than previous Hitmans. Mistakes are forgiven, the larger levels usually have a checkpoint that you have to find instead of just giving it to you.

The challenge system is very fun to go for. You don't have to get every single of the 278 challenges for the 100 challenge achievement, but I went well over 100 because you get a sense of satisfaction getting all the different ways to accomplish a mission.

Contracts mode was a great addition. It really adds a lot of replay value and upgrading your guns there affects how you play in the main campaign. Play your friends contracts, there's a million different possibilities with each level that changes up how the main missions can be done.

Overall, Absolution is a great entry for beginners to the series, you don't have to have played the previous games to know what's going on at all. Of all the previous Hitmans, this was my favorite. I like where they've taken the series & hope a good sequel comes out .

89

Another great stealth action game

lok0812 | March 2, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

A great stealth game that is similar to Dishonored that allows the player to tackle objectives from different angles. The visual of the game is simply superb with the new engine. Great voice acting throughout the entire course of the game. The multiplayer form of the aspect is just contract mode that is similar to leaderboard system in many games but it is still fun to play to see which amongs your friends is the best assassin. Downside of the game is that it is very linear and not much freedom are given to you. All in all, a must have for fans that favors to stealth genre.

95

Best in the series

xxmsaxx | Feb. 4, 2013 | See all xxmsaxx's reviews »

I have played all the Hitman games since the first, and not only played them but obsessed over every lvl. Making sure to not make a noise and never remove my suit. This game should be played on Purist and if done so it offers hours upon hours of game play fun. While I do agree that there should be more hits and less level movement I disagree on the story. I thought it great and the bad guys very memorable..haha Limp D*ck Lenny! In short, if you like hitman games snatch this one up and you wont be sorry.

93

More story, less missions

jbrown87 | Feb. 2, 2013 | See all jbrown87's reviews »

Ok, so there are plenty of missions in Hitman Absolution, but the latest installment is moreso about the story. Rather than setting up missions like the old games, Absolution's hits are given as quests/mission objectives. Of course, you still get various ways to kill, ranging from stealth to all out massacre with a bit of creativity thrown in. Also newer to this game (unless I am mistaken as I haven't played the older ones in a few years), is the fact that the more the bodies pile up, the more security you face, and the supply of enemies seems to be unending at some points. By far my favorite addition is Contract mode, which lets players create their hits with their own objectives and submit for other assasins to carry out. The sound in this game is as great as always, though the biggest letdown being the replacing of 47's voice. Graphics are superbas well, with excellent shading and shadow effects creating and a chilling atmosphere when stalking our prey. Lastly, the controls. While there can be times when the controls seem to not want to respond, like climbing or activating, it is pretty solid. All around, this game is by far the best in the series.

70

Not quite the game we wanted

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | See all Jray264's reviews »

Here's the problem with Absolution: it wants to be an action game. It really, really, wants to be an action game. Sometimes the game pretty much forces you to shoot your way through the level. These are the low points of Absolution and sadly there are a few of them. Don't get me wrong, the game can really shine at points in the game (literally because someone went nuts on the bloom slider), like the Chinese New Year level where you blend into the crowd after poisoning your targets food, but most of the time it doesn't feel like a Hitman game. Another downside of this game is the story. It's stupid right from the get go. Not to mention the level near the end of the game that puts you against 7 or so rifle totting nuns. Yeah, nuns. If you need something to scratch that stealth itch then you could take a shot at this game. Maybe you'll like it. But don't count on loving it.

30

All flash, no substance.

thefinalhope | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all thefinalhope's reviews »

Let's get this out of the way first: Absolution looks amazing. High resolution textures, incredible lighting effects, great art design; the game is a looker, there's no two ways about that. Production values are high and the game sports often impressive voice work.

That's about it, though.

Hitman: Absolution has abandoned everything that has made the previous Hitman games special.

IO has opted to make the game linear to work with it's new emphasis on story. Missions (with a few missions that are more in vain of open ended Hitman levels) are now divided into sections that basically amount to get from this area to this area. On your way, there are enemies and areas that you must get to, and there is things stopping you from getting there. You must figure out how to get to your goal.

This is the issue. The game is called Hitman. 90% of the missions have no 'targets'. It fails to make you feel like a Hitman. The few missions that do have targets, for the most part, are decent. Map sizes are a bit small compared to previous entries, however the creativity is still there in terms of how to kill your targets.

Mechanically, the game feels and plays great. There are some broken mechanics though, such as the highly controversial disguises. Disguises in Absolution, are pointless. Everybody can see through your disguise, and if you get too close, your cover is blown. The only way to avoid this is to use the 'instinct' system, which allows you to 'blend in' while moving. This instinct vision also allows you to see through walls and where enemies will be moving.

Being a fan of the older games, I opted to play on Purist, which removes all help from the game (HUD, more enemies, instinct low, ect). I have never gotten any more frustrated with a game at points. The problem is, Hitman: Absolution is built around using instinct. Playing on Purist creates an unintentional artificial difficulty which makes the game unforgivingly difficult, but in the worst way possible.

Basically, Hitman has sold out. There's no other way I could describe it. There are remnants in the game that remind you of why you love the series, but they are short lived and hindered by poor design choices.

79

Good but not the best

LordCommander | Dec. 12, 2012 | See all LordCommander's reviews »

Absolution's story is much better than the previous titles but its still not all that good. The graphics are great the world is very detailed and colorful a lot of the AI characters are very bland looking and a lot of them look the same but 47 and some of the other big characters are very well detailed. The map sizes are really where Absolution fell short they just feel a lot less sandbox and some feel very short and pointless. Though my biggest problem with this game is not being able to customize your load-out before missions sure it fits the story with 47 being hunted by the Police and the Agency but this is 47 were talking about he has to have some secret hideout the Agency does not know about or at least a hidden weapon stash. Contracts mode is really where Absolution shines giving you a lot more freedom and choice and giving you a chance to compare yourself with other players. Overall Hitman Absolution is fun and is well worth the buy.

90

A near-perfect game

Scorpy | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Hitman: Absolution is not Hitman: Blood Money. Lets get that out of the way right now. It's no Splinter Cell: Conviction either. It's its own game. Hitman: Absolution is a unique blend of stealth, action, comedy and creativity. The gameplay is fluid, intuitive and quite deep. The story is cringe-worthy at times and falls flat more often than not. The atmosphere of Hitman: Absolution is engrossing and gorgeous, from the beautiful vistas to the dirty and gloomy alleyways.

Hitman: Absolution pits you against several foes. If you play your cards right, they will never see you coming. Thanks to unique level-specific challenges and achievements, the game gives you many ways of completing a level. How you play is entirely up to you.

The only qualm I have with the game, aside from the bad dialogue and story, is the scoring system. The scoring system does not dictate how you should play, but it does only work with one play style. If you gun everybody down and go balls out during a mission, your score will be abysmal. This will hinder your story progess, as you will not unlock new abilities and make the next missions much harder.

In the end, Hitman: Absolution is a fantastic game that pushes the boundaries of what a game can look like, all the while enabling a creative and comic atmosphere for the player to fool around and work in. Hitman: Absolution is a benchmark for all future stealth titles.

100

An Amazing Stealth Game!

Brainiac4397 | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all Brainiac4397's reviews »

Let me first start out by saying that this game is gorgeous. The visuals are stunning, and they lend well to the immersion factor. You are given the freedom to approach assassinations in any way that you choose, whether that be guns blazing, hiding behind cover, or utilizing disguises. If you enjoy stealth games, do not pass this up.

71

The Hitman's a rusty shot, but he still has it.

laitoukid | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all laitoukid's reviews »

It's been quite some time since the last Hitman game, so this one had to hit it off big. And it did. Sort of. The game itself is quite fun, if you know what you're doing. But that's the thing, only if you know what you're doing. Once you know the plan for a mission, it's quite satisfying to see it all come together. However, you won't know the plan until you've played the map a few times through, and without the ability to save where you want to, it's frustrating to go through the levels again and again. Sure, there are checkpoints, but all the enemies respawn when you use them, and that's quite a pain with some of the checkpoint placements. The story is okay, but the dialogue feels robotic, laughably so. The story is so-so; appealing to the humanity of a cloned perfected assassin doesn't sit well with me. However, even with this these shortcomings, the game is still a blast to play.

Try it out at a friend's house first, but if this is your thing, this game will be your thing.

81

More concentrated refined than previous entries

rstokes | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all rstokes's reviews »

The hitman series has always had some rather humerus aspects to it, for example people seem to instantly forget your face or suddenly recall you as a good friend when you change your clothes, which makes the A.I for a lack of better terms, seem more or less retarded. This game does well to add to the list by having 47 (yes that's his name) in a cut scene appear to cut off his bar code tattoo after leaving the agency only to have it still there but now it has a band aid covering half of it while the rest still happily greets every people standing behind you. As far as games go there are at best misdemeanor offenses and do little to dissuade you from enjoying the game as a whole.

The levels seem much smaller, giving you less options to make the kill than in previous installments, but honestly I did not mind a bit. The pacing is kept at a comfortable speed so you never feel bored, you are either planning, lying in wait, or killing. The games new "instinct" system is a nice addition to the series but at times seeing where everybody in a level is at all times takes alot of the excitement out of a kill. You know when and where that guard will pop up, and the game is all to happy to show you his exact path. I like how it can be used to blend in if you starting to be discovered, but im indifferent on it showing enemies behind walls.

All in all, Hitman Absolution is worth your time and money and will be a great addition to any action gamer's library

90

Fun Stealth Game

soulfire76 | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all soulfire76's reviews »

Coming from the great Metal Gear Solid series of stealth games to Hitman Absolution seems like a welcome transition. The game encourages a healthy dose of silent weapons, disguises, and various context sensitive game mechanics to complete a goal of talking out a target with the most efficient way possible.

The game feels like it lacks some polish due to limitations of the effectiveness of the disguise system but I guess that gives it more challenge for those who don't want the game to be a cakewalk.

85

overall a good game with some issues

eurohunk2 | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all eurohunk2's reviews »

I consider myself a Hitman fan, I played every game before absolution and loved how it blended stealth and creativity for your kills. So I was pleased to see that this game retained many of the core elements that made the others great, like the ways you can kill a target whether its dropping something on them, poison, electrocution, or dressing up like a chipmunk and stabbing them with a sword. But then there are things I don't like, such as the score system which almost makes it feel like the game is telling you that your play-style is wrong because you prefer to kill all the guards instead of sneaking past them by giving you negative points, or the challenge's displayed after each mission basically telling you all the things that are in a level that you can use to kill a target instead of exploring and figuring them out yourself like the previous game's. But despite those problems I had a great time playing through the game, going along with the story IO came up with, and am looking forward to the next in the series, hoping they change they few issues I had with it.

100

Incredible, Hitman Absolution delivers!

jpowell4900 | Dec. 5, 2012 | See all jpowell4900's reviews »

Don't waste your time on reading the less than stellar reviews. This installment is top notch. The new abilities are very exciting and the graphics are world class. Absolution has a much better story line than any of the previous installments.

Buy this one now. I have had it for 3 days and can't stop playing and replaying. So many choices, so many ways to take out the trash!

100

Excellent

foot1647 | Nov. 30, 2012 | See all foot1647's reviews »

It was worth the 6 year wait. They did make it more accessible to a broader audience as in things are more obvious objective wise, at least to me any ways, compared to Blood Money. The new contracts games are really entertaining as well. The more you discover in each level the more contract options and variable you unlock.

Well worth the purchase and with 5 difficulty levels for the main storyline you are left with many different ways to achieve your objectives. There are plenty of visual options so if you have an old system you should still be able to play just fine and if you have a high end system you will be amazed at the detail that has been added.

Highly recommended.

90

It's 2 am and I can't stop playing

elgatohombre | Nov. 22, 2012 | See all elgatohombre's reviews »

It's been a while since I've had to dust off my red tie, black suit, and leather gloves, but I still have a deep love for this series. The game retains the addictive formula of repetition until perfection from the previous games, but the world is significantly more populated and there are many more means of killing your targets. The numerous people populating the screen is amazing for suspension of disbelief, but it's annoying if you try to throw a bottle to distract someone and Agent 47 instead bludgeons an innocent bystander to death, leading to yet another restart. The story and the action are overblown, but that's not the point of this game at all. The point is to murder people in fun and creative ways. Though it's really early to determine what the community will become, but right now the Hitman version of multiplayer, "Contracts," is a blast. This mode is an open-ended challenge for other players. It allows the player to wander around a level, mark up to three NPCs for assassination and then kill these people with whatever means you choose. The game then tracks how you accomplish your self-directed goals and challenges other player to kill these people in the same outfit, with the same weapon, and escape in the same amount of time. There is also a monetary system that rewards beating other players' "contracts" with money that can be used to purchase weapons or disguises at the beginning of each contract level. I feel that this will remove the added challenge of obtaining a costume or weapon from an NPC in these levels. If you're a fan of stealth action games, this is the best example of this genre this year. Unless you actually are a professional hitman, expect to restart these levels a lot if you want to get any of the pseudo-RPG upgrades available for utilizing certain skills. If you don't like virtually dragging around dead bodies, then perhaps you're a better person than me, but you're definitely not having as much fun as I am. As I do with every game that lacks certain elements, I did knock off 10 points from my rating as there were no dinosaurs or lobster monsters in the entire game.