Reviews for Portal 2

98

My Game of the Year of 2011 was not Skyrim.

SnarfDash | Nov. 4, 2013 | See all SnarfDash's reviews »

"You may have a minor case of severe brain damage".My game of the year was what appealed to me the most, and seemed like a polished gem which I could not find any faults with whatsoever. Skyrim to me was nothing special, although loved by many, I just couldn't enjoy it, although the hype may be well deserved, I had my expectations high, and was dissapointed. First off, I'll say that it's recommended that you play through the first game (Portal:Still Alive) before playing this. But does it live up to it's predecessor ? Comparing the two, you will clearly see that Portal 2's predecessor is initially a demo compared to this. Portal: Still Alive showed us the basics of Aperture, yet Portal 2 throws in some new puzzle mechanics (Light Bridges, Alternate Weighted Cubes, etc.) to give you some harder and different puzzles. The atmosphere in the game is simply put, fantastic. The soundtrack suits the game well, and is also available for free download. But where the game really shines, is it's wonderful and humorous writing and dialogue. Without this, Portal 2 would not be the same experience, it'd just be boring. With the voice talents of Steven Merchant and Ellen McLain, you will find yourself laughing in the direst of situations. You're accompanied by a witty core, named Wheatley (Steven Merchant), as you are awoken to find Aperture in shambles, and discover the odd history behind Aperture Science and it's characters whom don't even make any appearances, yet you feel their presence through the intercoms. The initial approach of solving puzzles with portals is genius, and works very well for it's genre. The graphics, I do not have a problem with, as they are nice to look at and suit the atmosphere. It's a damn near perfect game, shame there's not much replayability... unless you wish to hear more of the dialogue you may have missed out on. There is also a co-operative feature for the game, which is plenty of fun as well. It's time you start thinking with Portals if you already aren't.

99

Fantastic Game

MC_Thomas_ | Oct. 24, 2013 | See all MC_Thomas_'s reviews »

Portal 2, my favourite game of all time. Its just brilliant it the only game I have played which has done puzzles good. GlaDOS is as funny as ever but Wheatly was just a charm, i can't say much more without spoiling this briliant game.

The storyline that goes on in the background has made many people thirsty for more, it fills the internet with conspiracy and just makes on of the best community in the world

Another thing i would recommend is that you read the labrat comic it tells you what happens between portal 1 and portal 2 involving that famous man Doug Ratman

The co-op it's the cherry on top, So much fun however the DLC is really hard and would only recommend for avid portal player

OVERALL Brilliant Game i would recommend any person who like a challenge to buy this game at any price for any system but PC is better.

This game gets a 99 out of 100

cause no game is perfect, every game has bugs.

100

Very good!

rjb789 | Oct. 2, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

This game is one of the best Valve games of all time. In my opinion is is TONS better than the first game as it adds lots more game play and much more humor. I think that this game is better than many other Valve games as it offers so much fun for the tiny price tag that you can now pick it up for. The puzzles are rewarding but also tricky. Glados adds plenty of funny dialogue and Glados is voice very well and this adds to the great experience you get when playing Portal 2. The game also looks very good when everything is cranked up graphics wise and the environments shine. If you like puzzles games with tons of polish this is for you!

94

Rather excellent

Glyndwr | Sept. 23, 2013 | See all Glyndwr's reviews »

Although I enjoyed Portal the surprise hit from the Orange Box I was rather sceptical that a sequel would work for this game. How wrong I was! The storyline and characters continue to be excellent, the puzzles are still fun with new additions to change the dynamics and add variety. It continues to have a very nice feel to it because all the components compliment each other. There are some minor frustrations but this game will keep you playing until the end. Thankfully after the single player there is more with the co-operative mode which gives a new dimension to the game. Mods and maps are also supported meaning new content is still being created to add to the experience.

100

One of a kind

08woodh1 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all 08woodh1's reviews »

A few years ago I stumbled across the original Portal when I bought "The orange box" in order to play Halflife 2 on Xbox. I was intrigued, amazed and finally delighted at what I found, Portal was fresh, clever and incredibly funny. It was a hidden gem in what I still believe to be the best value release on any console ever.

Portal 2 took me by surprise, Valve hadn't exactly hammered down the doors to push the game and it suddenly appeared amongst a fairly bland line up of recent games, but what an antidote to the poor deluge of games we've had recently. After the huge dissapointment of Dragon age 2, Black Ops, Bulletstorm, Fallout New Vegas and Crysis 2 I was beginning to wonder if Dead Space 2 was the only game to be released this year to really have me thinking "wow".

I found Portal 2 a joy from start to finish, the puzzles are satisfying, the voice acting is exemplary and the script and pacing are perfect. It is understandable how some people may not like the game, as there is simply nothing around of it's kind and it may seem somewhat alien, but I implore you to give this game a chance and put the shooters down for a while and enjoy what Valve has come up with here. It's hard to explain what the game entails until you've tried it, so I won't try other than to say it's a puzzle solver.

As Chell you will find yourself revisiting Aperture whilst discovering much about it's past, no narrative is required here, through brilliant scripting you will find out the answer to most questions you asked yourself in Portal as you go. Glados is back, as acerbic as ever and she is joined by Steven Marchant's excellent Wheatley, Cave Johnson rounds up a superb trio of main characters who will have you laughing like you never have before at a game whilst wondering how you can fall in love with faceless characters in a videogame.

Some people have remarked that Portal 2 is somewhat short. But, if you combine the solo and co-op campaigns then you have more than your moneys worth here, especially when you consider the length of many recent supposed triple A releases.

My only gripe is that I feel the puzzles could ave been harder. At times I was pulling my hair out in the original Portal, but here I found only one chamber had me truly scratching my head (chapter 8 chamber 16). But that is the only negative I can honestly muster.

Portal 2 is a work of art and game of the year already for me. It absolutely deserves to be tried by every 360 owner out there, there is simply no game that has ever matched the intelligence and ingenuity you'll find here. The cake may be a lie, but Portal 2 deserving a 5 star rating certainly isn't.

Buy the orange box and then buy Portal 2, you may well be at the least pleasantly surprised. At the most, blown away

88

Portal made better

DanoJS | July 8, 2013 | See all DanoJS's reviews »

I really loved the first Portal and this game is even better. Fantastic graphics, more testing and great characters. It is a lot of fun and gives you a huge sense of achievement when you first complete it.

The story is gripping and you find yourself wanting to play through the many twists and turns again, despite the fact it is a puzzle based game. Community maps also give the game a lot of replay value and these integrate with the game easily.

Wheatley is a great character with many funny lines throughout the game. The voice acting overall is impressive along with the music which compliments the levels very well.

Overall this is a highly recommended game and one you should definitely try out.

95

You can't go wrong with Portal 2

silentshade | June 21, 2013 | See all silentshade's reviews »

This is Portal plus a 1000 awesomes. Stephen Merchant is super funny as Wheatley and made me cry in laughter quite a bit. GLaDOS is as funny as ever and there are some great ideas thrown into this sequel. The story is pristine and the 7 to 8 hours you spend playing the story make up for the price. The game has replay-ability for sure and the puzzles like the first aren't to easy but not to hard either. MUST BUY!

100

you can fall into infinity with portals

g_reaper1666 | June 6, 2013 | See all g_reaper1666's reviews »

This is an excellent game which i got through the Valve complete pack in the winter sale for £24.99, i played the original game and just through the excellent game play that i experienced in that made me want to get the next game. I like how they developed more of a storyline right from the beginning while in the first game i did not feel like the storyline properly got going until about a third of the way through the game.

Features

The puzzle solving aspects of the original portal came out strongly in Portal 2 and if anything this has improved especially with the different forms of gels which can have an affect on the game world. Without spoiling the storyline for any prospective players i like the way how Glados comes back with a vengence in this game. I also love the different personality cores which are present in this game especially Space who memes have evolved around.

I also believe that the portal gun is vastly improved in this game by which i mean that the graphics that it produces are much more realistic. This could most likely be because of the fact that the source engine has evolved since the original game along with the orange box. Along the line of graphics i love the fact that with this game the details around the game world have also improved with the textures being at a much higher resolution. What i don't like about this game is the fact that the settings menu does not seem to remember that you have changed settings before.

Conclusion

I would recommend anyone who likes games which challenge you to play this game because of the way how it requires you to think about how to get across to the exit instead of most modern games which seem to be centered on running and gunning. This is what makes the portal world so interesting along with the fact that some elements of both Half-life and the portal world blead into each other with both Black mesa and Aperture Science being mentioned in both games. I have not played the co-op mode of this game much so this means that unfortunately i can't give you a reliable consumer opinion on this although from what i have played of it a new level of puzzle solving is added. This is because of the fact that you need to work as a team to solve the puzzle and not just a single person.

100

A hat-trick of perfection

Cakefish | May 31, 2013 | See all Cakefish's reviews »

This game has three outstanding components that make it truly shine as 2011's best:

1) The gameplay - delightfully complex puzzles that have been expertly crafted. There is no other AAA game that offers the same experience (apart from the original game - and even then this game expands on the previous mechanics and introduces many new ones). Travelling through portals to solve the many puzzles is as fun as ever.

2) The writing - the game's main story involves only 4 main characters. But these characters are so well written and so well developed that even the robotic ones are 100x more engaging and 'alive' than the vast majority of other game characters, which are completely bland and dull in comparison. You grow to love these digital constructs for all their many humourous flaws. Speaking of which, humour is a major part of what makes this game so enjoyable to play, by far one of the genuinely funniest and entertaining games you'll ever play. Also, it is important to note that the ending is one of the most satisfying story conclusions in a videogame (or any storytelling medium for that matter) ever - and the journey to get there is full of clever twists and fun surprises along the way.

3) The voice acting - the voice acting for all characters is exceptional by video game standards. The voice actors truly bring the characters to life and enable the script to truly shine. Not for a second could you believe that these guys and gals weren't loving their time working on this game and you can tell that they put all of their efforts into producing the best performances they could.

Of course, none of the above would be enough if the rest of the components of the game wasn't brilliantly crafted too. The visual design of levels and characters is fantastic. So is the music (especially at the ending which I mustn't spoil). Co-op mode adds an entire extra campaign to play through, with puzzles specifically designed to take advantage of the new potential mechanics that are made possible through multiplayer. Additionally, the game allows you to create your own levels, ensuring a never ending supply of new puzzles to try out, giving the game almost infinite replayability.

In conclusion, this is Valve at their best, proving to us once again why they deserve being recognised as one of the absolute best game developers out there today. All I need now is Half Life 3!

99

A Must Play!!

Noah1142 | Oct. 23, 2012 | See all Noah1142's reviews »

Anybody who has played the first Portal game will agree that its brilliant graphics, intriguing story and unique gameplay style molded one of the best puzzle games of all time and that valve had created a really successful game.. but guess what? that's right, they have done it again!!

the story in portal 2 is just as gripping and intriguing as it was in the first game, the voice acting is incredible with Stephen Merchant as Wheatley, a robot which appears throughout the game.

The graphics are amazing also, especially if set to the highest settings. Throughout the game vegetation is shown and you can really see the extreme care that Valve took to create the level of detail in the vegetation and surroundings

The game also includes a Co-Op campaign which is extremely fun and hilarious to play through with a friend, community levels have also be designed and can be downloaded easily which gives you hours upon hours of gameplay.

All in all the game is incredible and i recommend it to everybody - you will not be disappointed!!

90

Even better than the first!

ThomasG101 | Sept. 15, 2012 | See all ThomasG101's reviews »

I really didn't think it was possible because I thought the first portal game was perfect. But Valve has really outdone themselves with this one. I didn't realise that this game had co-op online when I got it so that was a nice surprise. The single player isn't as hard as the first in my opinion but maybe that's down to the fact i'm older now. Really I can't think of anything to fault this game other than it's length. My steam play time for the game is about 10 hours in which i've completed all the single player and all the co-op mission however I have yet to get involved in the community maps which extend the game time indefinitely. This is truely the best puzzle game ever made and you'd be a fool not to get it.

98

Easily one of the best games I've ever played

Mattiebo | Sept. 15, 2012 | See all Mattiebo's reviews »

Portal 2 is an absolutely incredible game with unique gameplay, an amazing story and fun co-op multiplayer. It somehow manages to top the original game, which is considered by many to be the best game ever made.

In the story you play as Chell; a mysterious woman who never actually speaks. After "killing" GLaDOS in the original game, you are awoken by a bumbling robot core named Wheatley (voiced brilliantly by Stephen Merchant).

Soon, Wheatley accidentally wakes GLaDOS, and you are forced to continue testing the portal gun and various other additions. The story features several twists which you won't see coming and the voice acting a humour is some of the best you'll see in a game.

In the co-op mode, you'll be playing as one of two robots; Atlas or P-Body. You can play co-op online and even cross-platform between PC and PS3. The co-op chambers are very challenging, and you will have to use both of your robots to complete every room.

Recently, Valve released a chamber editor for the game, and so your Portal 2 experience never has to end. You can install and play new chambers designed by other players via the Steam Workshop through a one-click installation.

Everyone should play this game, and the PC is the perfect platform to play it on.