Reviews for Q.U.B.E.

80

Interesting game.

HerrDethnout | April 14, 2014 | See all HerrDethnout's reviews »

It is very interesting this game, quite reminiscent of the goal, an example, we are a test dummy, are in a strange place, among other things, in this game we is not shoot anything that moves, here you have to use your head , and think as games go, sometimes even the test are somewhat complicated, they are very funny, totally recommend.

80

Interesting game.

HerrDethnout | April 14, 2014 | See all HerrDethnout's reviews »

It is very interesting this game, quite reminiscent of the goal, an example, we are a test dummy, are in a strange place, among other things, in this game we is not shoot anything that moves, here you have to use your head , and think as games go, sometimes even the test are somewhat complicated, they are very funny, totally recommend.

72

Puzzle gamers are going to enjoy this.

Chack | April 13, 2014 | See all Chack's reviews »

The first thing you may think with this game is "oh great, a portal-like game", well actually is not really. This is a puzzle first person game, where you control different cubes and solve puzzles. The story is kinda not existent, although you could use your imagination, is a little like Portal, with the abandoned/broken laboratory. The graphics are quite nice to look at, very clean and polished, but it's too simplistic, although I don't mind that. One of the worst (if not THE worst) things about this game is the length, I beat it in about 3-4 hours, I kinda take my time playing games, so you can see is not a really long game, but I enjoyed it nevertheless. If you want to get it maybe wait for a little discount and go for it!

76

Puzzles!

Zagan | Jan. 4, 2014 | See all Zagan's reviews »

A friend of mine gifted me this game 2 years ago, and I really enjoyed it. It wasn't so long, and it did not have a deep story (in fact it doesn't even have a story), but you enjoy multiple puzzles for every type of gamer, so you won't need to be creative to solve them.

64

Just like Portal

penguinfizzy | Dec. 28, 2013 | See all penguinfizzy's reviews »

Graphics: 9 - Q.U.B.E. has to be cube. Audio: 8 - Has quite nice soundtracks. Story: 4 - In Portal, there is a decent story. But in this game, there isn't. Controls: 8 - Quite easy to learn. This game is in first person and from the screen, you can see both of your hands. Lifespan: 3 - Lasts you for only a few hours unless you can't figure out how to play.

This Portal-like game needs serious work to it.

65

Portal-like thing. Good Thing.

kwadracik | Nov. 13, 2013 | See all kwadracik's reviews »

Q.U.B.E (Quick Understanding of Block Extrusion) is a first person logic game. Familiar to Portal? No. In Portal there was very good story, but there is no story in Q.U.B.E.

"So, what can i do in Q.U.B.E?" you ask. You can solve tests by manipulating blocks. It sounds bad, but it 's very addictive. Every 5-years-old computer can run this game. So maybe you should give it a chance?

90

A new kind of puzzle.

daraya79 | Oct. 18, 2013 | See all daraya79's reviews »

This game sucked me for hours and hours. You are someone who waked up in some kind of sterile chamber and You have to get out of it. Chambers are built of blocks and designed like they were taken from hospital for insanes. This makes You feel more depressed and more motivated to get out of there. You can do that by solving puzzles somone created for You. First they are easy but farer You go, finding solution is harder. You can move blocks, jump on them, move entire chamber sections, and much, much more...

Game is very similar to Portal but it has it's own athmosphere... There are blocks, silence, You... and only one way out.

80

Great 3D puzzling

MorphysLaw | Oct. 8, 2013 | See all MorphysLaw's reviews »

This game offers some great 3D puzzling and introduces the various parts of its mechanics very well. It's essentially got no story, but gameplay and aesthetic-wise feels a bit like Portal. Don't let that comparison lead you to believe it's otherwise anything like Portal though! It's well-made, but different, and relatively short. It's worth the price, but some puzzles will really leave you figuring them out for a long time, which may cause some frustration if you're not usually the puzzling type. I know I had that problem. Greatly enjoyed the game, though.

80

You get sucked in immediately!

drakemirow | Sept. 13, 2013 | See all drakemirow's reviews »

And suddenly you are on your own. No help, no introduction, you just have to prove yourself. clever puzzles, alternating game mechanics. it's everything you want from a game that challenges you with new problems to solve from section to section. if you like portal at it's core you will most likely love Q.U.B.E. It's lack of story or direction might discourage some but it is totally worth it's time and price. took me some time and i had a blast!

76

Interesting Puzzles

DoomWarlordJ | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all DoomWarlordJ's reviews »

A very fun and interesting little puzzle game. There are a number of quirky game mechanics that add up to make a fun experience.

80

An Interesting Puzzler

ultrapwnd | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all ultrapwnd's reviews »

Q.U.B.E is quite an interesting game. The game-play reminds me of games like Quantum Conundrum and Portal. You have different commands that control different blocks. It can be quite challenging and fun. But do not expect the level of polish or quirkiness that would be found in Portal or Quantum Conundrum. Graphically wise, it's good and does it's job well. The soundtrack is also quite nice, and has a trance like feel. It sounds very good. The game is also easy to run as it runs on Unreal Engine. For fans of puzzle games. I would highly recommend Q.U.B.E.

81

Love the originality!

Fallenspartan | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all Fallenspartan's reviews »

This game really puts you next to the puzzle blocks. I like puzzle games but I always feel they lack that element that draws me in. fps games provide that perspective so combining the two in a well developed game is nothing short of satisfying.

My only complaint is the lack of environment effects. It sort of gives off a dulling vibe to me.

All things considered, I'd recommend this game to anyone who likes puzzle and/or fps games

78

Short and sweet

Azralynn | July 23, 2013 | See all Azralynn's reviews »

Overall, Q.U.B.E. is an enjoyable puzzle game. It offers some more complex features like gravity, rotating rooms, playing in the dark rooms, and painting balls. The puzzles themselves aren't that difficult, and there seems to be only one way to solve each puzzle. The gravity mechanic can become frustrating on a couple of the levels because of the twitch timing to make the blocks stop in the EXACT spot and if you miss, you have to start over. I did have fun playing minus a couple of the gravity levels, but I wish the game was longer.

67

A nice puzzle, but only that.

Learthion | July 21, 2013 | See all Learthion's reviews »

This game has no lore, no story, no deep characters, no nothing. Just puzzles. Some will think that a bad thing, personally, however, I think this is a good choice for puzzle games (unless they are called Portal 2). The puzzle part of the game is pretty good, and the game's minimalistic art style has some appeal to it.

70

Fun puzzle game

FuzzyMcFluffens | July 13, 2013 | See all FuzzyMcFluffens's reviews »

A fun puzzle game inspired by games like Portal. It doesnt have the same feel of freedom that you have with the portal gun in Portal, but that doesnt make QUBE any less of a fun puzzle platformer.

If you like games like Portal, you should try this game out.

80

Good Puzzle game but...

Elanigiro | July 6, 2013 | See all Elanigiro's reviews »

Q.U.B.E. is a good puzzle game, maybe a bit too short, but still a solid game. It is clearly Portal inspired but the lack of storyline and characters make it less immersive than it could have been. Moreover, sometimes puzzles are constrained to physical laws "unexpected" in a 3D gravitational world and the difficulty curve doesn't grow quickly enough. Nonetheless the game manages to be original introducing new kinds of puzzle elements (e.g. magnetism) and showing a design that sometimes reminded me of Dear Esther more than Portal. In conclusion it is not a perfect game but still one of the best puzzle games of the last years.

75

Challenging and well-made

Yahmig | July 4, 2013 | See all Yahmig's reviews »

During the first minutes of playtrough, the only thing I could think about is how this game looks like Portal : white and clean testing rooms, we have no idea what we're doing here. But when tests start, Q.U.B.E proves it is not simply a Portal-like. It is way more that that.

It has a huge potential, with a clever use of gravity and timing, and some testing rooms use these "tools" in a brilliant way. You start with easy tests, in order to learn the basics, then the game becomes more and more challenging, introducing new features and new ways of completing puzzles.

If you like puzzle games, especially Portal, this game is something you should play. The game is short though, but the few hours you'll spend on it are higly enjoyable

68

Decent!

Plasros | June 10, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

Q.U.B.E is a first-person puzzle game that tries very hard to be Portal. It's a decent game, but it falls far short of Portal's glory.

The decision to not incude any instructions is interesting. I was able to figure everything out after a while, but there are many moving parts and it's easy to forget which parts do what. Portal was elegant. Portals were the solution to every problem. In this game, you push blocks, pull blocks, rotate rooms, move balls, switch gravity, push wires, and more. Once you figure out how something works, instead of mastering it, new moving parts are thrown in. Combine that with non-resettable puzzles where you can get stuck, and it adds up to poor level design. The puzzles are somewhat entertaining and decently tough.

88

A must play if you love portal

jazzelmejor | June 9, 2013 | See all jazzelmejor's reviews »

At first sight, Q.U.B.E can remind you of Portal. Well, Q.U.B.E is basically a game like portal, but you don't have a portal gun, you control the size of cubes, that you can use to reach to other "test rooms". You don't have a tutorial, but if gives you easy, medium and hard puzzles thought the game. You don't have a story or a narration, so if you play games for the story this game may not like you.

A must-buy for portal fans or puzzles fans.

70

Portal inspired puzzle platfomer

lok0812 | June 8, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

If you enjoy the original Portal game you will find this quite similar to it except less thinking of portal setup and more using different colors to mix in new color to solve puzzles. Most of the puzzles aren't that hard to solve to begin with, the only one that are actually hard are probably the last few in the end but should be able to solve by thinking a little. Game length is less than 4 hours so it is a pretty short game. Worth a try if you enjoy 3D puzzle platformer.

75

No cake is a lie...

ccccp | May 20, 2013 | See all ccccp's reviews »

Q.U.B.E. is a good but fairly standard game of puzzle. This game is very similar to Portal, that is to say that the player is dropped into a building with a very sleek design and must pass the various rooms one by one to progress. The atmosphere is quite similar, but there is absolutely no narration and even less GLaDOS to accompany you.

The enigmas are based on different color blocks embedded in the walls or in the ground. For example, the blue block can blow whatever falls on it, the red block can stretch in a pavement of three blocks long, yellow blocks can turn into stairs ... You gradually learn all kinds of new "powers" t, which allows the game to be constantly renewed. The problem is that the challenge comes too late: half of the game is going smoothly, and only a handful of rooms (the last) are really difficult. It is a pity, especially as the game is quite short (between 4 and 6 hours).

Still, a good time spent with QUBE, and even if he suffers by comparison with Portal (which it is based), it is nevertheless a good puzzle game.

85

Quick Understanding of Block Extrusion

DanilaMaster | March 16, 2013 | See all DanilaMaster's reviews »

Q.U.B.E. is a brain twisting puzzle game that lets you extrude blocks to progress in the level. It is heavily inspired by Portal and has an intriguing albeit very brief story. The game is very atmospheric with its sense of solitude and isolation, minimalistic level design (similar to the sterile test chambers of Portal), dynamic lighting effects and ambient sounds. The pacing of the game is great. The puzzles are well thought out and don't get frustrating or boring.

Overall, Q.U.B.E. is an amazing experience. If you liked Portal, you totally should check out Q.U.B.E.

83

Imagine a different version of Portal...

MarkDeejay | March 16, 2013 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

Instabuy if you, like me, love the Portal games. It's almost an exact copy of Portal, except that you work with cubes instead of portals. Some of the puzzles are fiendishly hard though and I had to check YouTube once of twice to solve a couple of them later in the game. Unlike Portal it can at times become frustrating, but you'll most likely keep playing anyway. It's a fun, but short game (4-5 hours) without many flaws. There isn't really a story..., well, there is one. But it's very, very subtle. You'll only get glimpses of what happened. The graphics are clean and sharp and I'm a big fan of the minimalistic style. Sounds are minimalistic as well, but given the story, it only makes sense. This game is all about the puzzles and it does a great job at giving you easy, medium and hard puzzles (not necessarily in that order). And it keeps things fresh by slighly changing the environments and gameplay later on. One of my favorite games. Period.

75

Fun 1st Person Puzzle - Must bea ble to depict color.

Fusionx8 | Feb. 3, 2013 | See all Fusionx8's reviews »

I see some interesting reviews on this and almost did not get it. The game is fun, its more like portal one with no interaction from anything else. you just go about your business solving puzzles. Which is a good time waster if you want something that makes you think a little. ONE WORD OF WARNING: If you are color blind, i would stay away from this game. Every thing is cube shaped (minus the ball) and color coded.. now that being said, you can make out the difference between a few of the cubes by orientation to other cubes. BUT when you get to the color coding of the ball you have to mix colors to get the right pattern.. I would not suggest this to my color blind friend.. he sees things in shades of gray..

65

Q.U.B.E

maciej2601 | Aug. 30, 2012 | See all maciej2601's reviews »

A puzzle game with a view developed by the Welsh FPP studio based Toxic Games Unreal Development Kit from Epic Games. Players take the nameless character who must find a way out of a sterile environment, traveling through the sectors and solve logic puzzles.

68

Not Portal, but not bad.

Lunk | Aug. 6, 2012 | See all Lunk's reviews »

People often refer to Interpol as an inferior Joy Division knockoff, to which I say "yeah, but I like Joy Division and they didn't release enough music, so is that really that bad?" And that's more or less how I feel about QUBE and Portal.

It's pretty much impossible to look at QUBE - a game set in a plain, futuristic testing environment where you navigate puzzles FPS-style - and not immediately think of the Portal series, a comparison that does QUBE no favors. The quality storytelling is almost completely absent, the puzzles are more rigid and also occasionally bug out, the visuals are less polished, and the game is barely longer than Portal 1 (2-3 hours).

And yet, a game can be "like Portal, but not as good" without being bad. If you temper your expectations a bit, you'll probably enjoy QUBE.

67

Good puzzle game

CJV | July 26, 2012 | See all CJV's reviews »

This game is a very simple puzzle game. The graphics, the mechanics and the puzzles, they are all simple. Most of the puzzles will not take more than one or two tries to solve it, yet I found this quite entertaining. Also, this game is just a sequence of puzzles, there is no plot connecting the rooms, just some scripted events. It had potential to be a great game, yet it felt short in terms of level/puzzle design, but still, it's a good game. If you want some not very challenging yet entertaining puzzles, Q.U.B.E. is the right choice, if you want something more there are other games for you.

75

Had ideas, but never used them...

Babelfish343 | June 14, 2012 | See all Babelfish343's reviews »

You wake up in a mysterious white room with a coloured glove on your hand. Is this a test? Immediately similarities to Portal can be drawn, from the sterile environment to the layout of moving from test chamber to test chamber. However, this is as far as Q.U.B.E ever goes. There is no voiceovers or specific story, or any character building. There is almost NO incentive to keep playing unless you just love puzzle games for the sake of solving the puzzles. The white environments are eye-catching at the start, but soon become repetitive and boring.

Q.U.B.E had a lot of potential, but missed opportunities in design and innovation leave this to be just another puzzle game, albeit one out of the ordinary.